Silence isn’t Golden

Ok, I know I just posted a different topic, but I have to get this off of my chest.

Taylor Hicks actually made a blog post today. Well, I’m sure HE didn’t make the blog post, but there was actually information coming from his camp. It was just a couple of sentences, but it’s going to make a huge impact.

Live Show Policy

Please note that for all live appearances, there is a strict no recording policy. This applies to all video recording devices, including amateur and professional video cameras as well as cellular telephones. This policy will be strictly enforced.

Now? Now Taylor decides to do this? Now when his singing career is at it’s lowest point since before AI? Is this really a good PR move or is this because he’s restricted somehow? If that’s the case, then why not wait? Why not wait until the CD drops?

How’s this?

Dear Taylor,

Um, seriously? Of all the lame dumb ass career decisions you have made, this has to be one of the dumbest. Do you not see your “Soul Patrol” *shudder* crumbling before your very eyes? Where’s the music, dude? Where is the fucking music? We’ve been waiting two years. TWO YEARS. Oh wait, you did release a CD of songs that we already have 4574985 different versions of. Thanks for that, though. But now, now you’re having an intimate club tour. But will there be new music at these concerts? Well, who knows? Nobody is going to know because now it won’t be shared. What the hell are you thinking? What??

Yours in throwing my arms up in disgust and desperation,

IAG or Straw or “not a fan” because I’m sure some people will think that after reading this

P.S. Keep this shit up and this is who you’ll be playing to:

utah7

35 Responses to “Silence isn’t Golden”

  1. I think you are over-reacting. He just doesn’t want poor audio quality versions of the new music out there before the CD is released. A totally intelligent move. A lot of people need to consider that what they think is best for Taylor is really only what is best for them. And JMHO, no one really ever has the right to share music from a live concert they attend…your ticket allows you to listen, its not payment for the right to record or broadcast the show over your cellphone. Taylor has been very generous about this in the past, I don’t think he is being unreasonable now.

  2. Well I think this policy has set in motion the final SP implosion. Maybe that was the plan. I wouldn’t doubt it.

  3. I have to agree with Grey here. I find it very curious that in the past, Mr. Hicks actually ENCOURAGED the sharing of all sorts of media from his shows. Now, with the SP practically foaming at the mouth over this shadow tour, he announces THIS?

    Honestly, I’m starting to feel like this CD is going to sound more like his major label debut, than anything original, blues-y, or modern whomp-ish.

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    The difference this time he is introducing new music. I have heard very good fan video and have also heard distorted video/audio. I don’t think it is unreasonable of him to ask that the music not be recorded, it hasn’t even been released yet. BTW he has been telling fans at Meet & Greets that he is requesting no recording of his new music, I knew about this las week. I believe he wants all to hear the music the way he is presenting it, not what might come across in a cellecert or a video, he wants folks to hear a clean version of his music.

    JI

  5. brightlite Says:

    Perhaps Taylor will be making a motion picture of some sort or a made for TV movie in the near future and he does not want unauthorized recordings of the new songs out there. Also, I have been to a few concerts in my life, not that many, but for the bigger stars like Billy Joel, Bruce Springsteen, Anita Baker, Madonna, that I have seen…I recall on the ticket stub it was written “No recording devices” or something of that nature. I don’t recall exact phrasing but it isn’t a surprise that he is enforcing that as well. His new CD, “The Distance,” is going to go just that.
    You will laugh at this but I see his newest “baby” as not only having a hit or two, but I see it becoming a legendary work measured against any standard. He thinks so too, and probably anyone else around him who has heard it or who has worked with him thinks it as well.

    It is just his time to shine now. Forces beyond our immediate senses and earthly control are driving Taylor and his future right now. Just sit back and enjoy but do not think it can be stopped. His destiny is not in our hands but in the power of the greatest driver.

    Everyone sees things differently. Many on this board see everything Taylor does as a negative, and that is your opinion, and you are entitled. But in the same vein, there are people who are entittled to really believe in him, truly be in his corner, and sincerely want to see him come out in front where he belongs.

    Have a beautiful day all! Smile and take a minute to hug someone you love.
    BL 🙂

  6. BL, you are a dreamer and a believer. And that’s not a bad thing, at all.

    I guess I’m just … not so much of a dreamer!! I’m shutting up now.

    Except to say that I really like your last sentence. Something we too often forget to do.

    🙂 <— for all my fellow posters

  7. Does anybody have a sense of humor anymore?

    When did this fanbase become so serious?

  8. spinshack Says:

    Grey, I had an expensive camera confiscated at a concert years ago, since then I don’t take anything I want to keep with me. Most concerts have a stipulation, no video or audio. Thing is he did say a short time back he wanted folks to feel free to… didn’t he? I may be wrong here.

    I guess after the message bearers from that last M & G got chastised and expelled from another board, word got out perhaps, which might have lead to the Hicks’ camp feeling the need to reiterate the statements.

    Regarding a sense of humor where Hicks is concerned, good luck with that… (lol)

  9. IAG, Sence of humor! When I read your topic I thought you got up on the wrong side of the bed, but maybe you just left your usual sense of humor in the bed.

  10. I’m with Taylor on this. It’s his music and he has has a time table in mind for release and doesn’t want it leaked out prematurely. Good for him that he made an official announcement. Hope the fans don’t act crazy and respect his wishes.

  11. Snow, Hicks fans acting crazy? What?

  12. spin, I’m glad he finally made it official. He’s clearly annoyed at the recording devices in his face. All you have to do is look at one of those YouTube vids, but his fans are either too crazy or to dense to notice it.

  13. Snow, I have to say I wasn’t impressed with that latest blog entry. Terse and boring. No blog since Dec. 3 and that’s all you get. Ah there I go being negative. I’m such a hater. 😉

  14. Taylor is not into blogging.. that should be obvious to fans by now. I guess you accept that or you don’t. It would be nice to get more communication from him.. but I don’t really care that much one way or the other. I’m just a regular fan and more interested in the music part.

  15. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, Yeah we finally agree, Cheers!!! 🙂 I think it is the right way to go, he wants his music heard the way he wants it.

    JI

  16. It’s obvious he’s not blogging, Snow. Did ya look at the MySpazz? Now he’s a 109 year old female. ha. Since he’s a self professed songwriter, you’d think he would occasionally have something clever to say on his sites, but guess not. Just an observation.

  17. Sunny….regarding the statement about Taylor having to reiterate the statements…do you really think Taylor cares about who got banned?

    I’m just not buying that.

  18. If he doesn’t want media out there, he should say it himself on an audio blog or vlog. He has no business sending messages through fans. Especially fans that made it their business to go out of their way to make sure Grease media wasn’t to be taken or posted.

    It does nothing but cause more friction within the fandom.

    If he said it, he’s a fool. Does he even realize the hit his fandom has already taken? The rest of them will fall by the wayside.

    It’s not that it’s unreasonable to ask fans not to record anything. But, it is a bit unrealistic and naive on his part. Not to mention, yet another bad business decision.

    Sunny don’t feel so sorry for her she’s no innocent. I hope I hyperlinked that right.. lol

  19. Well, the link was to SOS. I didn’t hyperlink it right.

  20. CS said:

    If he said it, he’s a fool. Does he even realize the hit his fandom has already taken? The rest of them will fall by the wayside.

    It’s not that it’s unreasonable to ask fans not to record anything. But, it is a bit unrealistic and naive on his part. Not to mention, yet another bad business decision.

    I really can’t agree with that sentiment more. This is the same guy that encouraged fans to record and post on the internet. The more that see it, the better, right?

    I don’t know what he’s thinking.

  21. It’s certainly his prerogative to not allow recording. But is it smart? Well I don’t know. His fans (what’s left of them) are chomping at the bit to hear something new from him. I feel this is just a way to get people to show up to his mini concerts instead of being able to watch them online.

  22. We haven’t heard about any additional shows being added, since the Ohio show was announced in mid-December. At an average of 300 attendees a pop, he is reaching out to less than 1,000 in the entire US, so far. And I would hazard a guess that those 1,000 people will be buying the CD no matter what.

    According to the SOS blog, the restrictions on media will be lifted when “he’s touring the album.” We have heard other murmurings that he will extend his Grease tour through the end of 2009.

    Wow . . . no pictures, no audio, no video until 2010?

    I’m just not sure what to think about that, other than to wonder what his business plan is. What is the intended outcome of that decision?

    1. “Cross promote” new music in three tiny venues in Illinois, Maryland and Ohio in January & February of 2009

    2. Release single January 20, 2009

    3. Release CD, “Going the Distance” March 10, 2009

    4. Video of single to be released on undetermined date

    5. Continue to tour with Grease through December 2009

    6. “Going the Distance” tour to begin sometime in 2010, a minimum of 9 months after it’s initial release

    Nine months is a long ass time. Interest in the album could have peaked and died away long before a tour could be launched. I’m just really confused by the chronology of events that I see coming up.

    I hope he’s planning on adding additional after shows, but I am honestly not holding my breath for that, most especially for an Arizona show. I’d love nothing more than to be proven wrong. He hasn’t performed in the Western United States since summer 2007. Maybe as Blues has said he wants to restrict media so that we will attend one of his concerts, but seriously . . . it would be nice if attending a Taylor concert didn’t automatically involve cross country travel and major financial commitment.

  23. If Taylor marketed Taylor with the same tenacity he sought the AI title……….ah well. Soulaz, I wish I could write as well as you. Absolutely…we said. What the Hell is Taylor doing? I do think there are quite a few who will try to get video anyways…and some will succeed. I’m sure we’ll see some footage before it gets yanked. Myself, Taylor got in the way of my life for a while after AI…it was fun, but I don’t post much any longer. Although I keep my foot in the door….if something doesn’t happen soon I’ll be gone. And believe me, I do love to hear that man sing…and he’s not bad to look at, but come on….enough already!

  24. Soulaz, brilliant post. I loved your stats breakdown, and you completely hit the nail on the head when you state that “most of those people at the shadow tour venues would buy the CD anyway.”

    WHAT in the world IS he thinking?? I honestly cannot even imagine.
    Here’s a crazy idea … Is Mr. Hicks purposely downplaying this CD, so when it bombs, he can become fully involved in his acting career?
    We can only wait and wonder.

    Oh, and Soulaz, you need to add a #7 to your list:
    7. Release “Whomp at the Warfield” in time for 10th Anniversary of Winning AI.
    😉

  25. hahahahahah YKW. If that thing comes out on March 17th, it will completely amaze me.

  26. Soulaz, I loved your post. 🙂

  27. Fuck. I’m just flomoxed.

  28. I agree with you IAG. This could be the end.

  29. Best case scenerio and one no one has considered: The CD has 4 songs that each become huge hits. When the 1st hit runs it course, a second single and video is released, then the 3rd and 4th which takes until mid 2010 and he is by then alreading touring on a big scale. It just could be that he and others, really do have faith in the quality and marketability of the the songs.

  30. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, Like your way of thinking, you make very good points. He and his people have a plan which none of us really know, he took his time with this one to make sure he stood a good chance of having a hit CD. I look forward to Tues and the release of the single and to March for the full CD.

    JI

  31. Rosie & JI,
    I really can appreciate your optimism in all things Taylor. I’ve been around since the beginning and have been to a few concerts. The Northeast has gotten a slew of appearances out of him. He is incredible live…really. But he already has us sold on him…something on a much larger scale has to happen sooner than later. I wish the best for him……and I would love, love, love to have you both say “I told you so”.

  32. Caro, I do try to be a realist where Taylor is concerned and I fully understand my scenerio is very far reaching. That is why I wrote BEST CASE scenerio . It did not happen after he won AI and was on top of the world with the win and such a big break and we all have given our opinions as to why not. Most right now would consider Taylor having one hit from this new CD a miracle. Caro, I recall your football debates with Morph and am glad to see you are still around and have some interest in Taylor.

  33. Morph’s blog was great. I enjoyed the hell out of her posts; I didn’t reply, but it was great reading and realistic, in my opinion, as far as Taylor was concerned.

  34. Thanks all. I have to apologize for calling Taylor’s CD “Going the Distance” in my comment here. I know, I know . . . it’s “The Distance.”

    But, my mistake has got me thinking about the song “Going the Distance” by Cake.

    As they speed thru the finish the flags go down.
    The fans get up, and get out of town.
    The arena is empty except for one man,
    Still driving and striving as fast as he can

    The sun has gone down and the moon has come up,
    And long ago somebody left with the cup,
    But he’s driving and striving and hugging the turns,
    And thinking of someone for whom he still burns.

    He’s going the distance.
    He’s going for speed.
    She’s all alone, all alone in her time of need.

    Because he’s racing and pacing and plotting the course,
    He’s fighting and biting and riding on his horse.
    He’s going the distance.

  35. Soulaz! I love that song!

Leave a comment