Now this, I can listen to…Indiscriminate Act of Kindness

After hearing some of the songs that Taylor is going to cover on his album, I’m getting pretty excited about it. Obviously, I don’t know for sure that this song is the one on the album, as different songs can have the same titles, but I bet this one is the right one.

The first one I listened to was “Indiscriminate Act of Kindness”. This song is very soulful and I cannot wait to hear what Taylor does with it. Here are the lyrics:

She came in from the cold. Wet!
Dropped her luggage bags; looked the concierge in the eye
And said ‚I need a room for the night but I don’t got no money.
Will you take payment in kind?
He said ‚ alright. I’ve got a room here you can share mine.

Make the bed in the morning and that’ll do fine.
You can change in the bathroom, hang your clothes on the line‚
A tear came to here eye as she thought‚ How could he be so kind

She sat down on the bed with a needle
He said I’d hate to see you bleed
I’ll just fetch a warm towel and sit with you till your dry
She started to cry saying ‚Why‚ why, why

Consider it an indiscriminate act of kindness!

She was cold turkey. He was holding her hand.
She said I was ruined by a man‚ and this was never in my plan,
I dreamed of men who loved me together we’d see the world
But somehow I lost myself among the insults they hurled

I’m sure you’re a wonderful woman, and someday there’ll surely be someone
So just relax now. It’s important that you’re calm
She said‚ how is it you can see past me as I am

Consider it an indiscriminate act of kindness!

When you took your chances it was like you placed a bet
And sometimes this is the reward you can get
I was always taught when you see someone defiled
You should look them in the eye and smile
Take their hand or better still, take them home. Home. Home?

She awoke early in the morning made the bed gathered up her clothes to leave
Saw the concierge curled on the settee
And said what you did for me is hard for me to believe

I was just doing what was right.
No one that knows love could leave you out there on such a night.
If you can help someone bear this in mind
and consider it an indiscriminate act of kindness

Consider it an indiscriminate act of kindness!

This song is sung and written by Foy Vance, a musician from Ireland. He has toured with Bonnie Raitt and you can find more info on him here.

This is the kind of music I was hoping for. Something that Taylor can sink his teeth into and really get a feel for. It’s a song that means something, and I think Taylor could do a really cool version.

Here’s another one from Foy Vance…not on Taylor’s CD, but too good not to share.

13 Responses to “Now this, I can listen to…Indiscriminate Act of Kindness”

  1. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Both nice songs very talented man. I had never heard the one Taylor will cover, I’m sure he will put his own spin on it, and it will be great as most of the covers he does.

    JI

  2. spinshack Says:

    Very nice tunes, like this guy – what is it about the Irish anyway? LOL Hey after I listened I trotted my fingers to Youtube and went through some more tunes that may be ones featured on this CD.

    Is his song, “The Distance” the same as that one by Oliver James? Nice tune if it is.

    “I Live in a Battlefield” (title made me chuckle) that’s the Nick Lowe tune, right? Put that one up on the blog in a link.

    “Keepin It Real” is that Mason Jennings tune I think, found it too. (Of course there can be songs of the same name and be different as we’ve discussed in the past.)

  3. Hey, that tune is awesome! It has a Ray LaMontagne vibe to it. That’s the kind of music he should be doing…not easy listening, AC.

  4. Celestial Soul Says:

    I Live On A Battlefield Lyrics.

    I live on a battlefield
    Surrounded by the ruins of the love we built
    And then destroyed between us
    The smoke has cleared
    As I stumble through the rubble
    I’m dazed, seeing double
    And I’m truly mystified
    My new home is a shell hole filled
    With tears and muddy water
    And bits of broken heart
    All around there is desolation
    And scenes of devastation
    Of a love been torn apart
    I live on a battlefield
    I live on a battlefield
    I live on a battlefield
    The one where not one single drop of blood has spilled
    Is no less horrifying
    Sweet memories, memories
    Of a bygone situation
    Now shattered lord and battered
    Lie scattered all around
    My new home is a shell hole filled
    With tears and muddy water
    Yes and bits of broken heart
    All around there is desolation
    And scenes of devastation
    Of a love been torn apart
    I live on a battlefield
    I live on a battlefield
    Everything that can has gone wrong
    (I live on a battlefield)
    It’s gonna take spine to carry on
    (I live on a battlefield)
    Like a drowning man coming up for air
    (I live on a battlefield)
    I’m looking for another survivor
    But I can’t see one anywhere
    My new home is filled with muddy water
    All around there’s bits of broken heart
    My world is one of desolation
    And scenes of devastation
    There is no consolation
    For a love been torn apart
    I live on a battlefield
    I live on a battlefield
    I live on a battlefield, battlefield
    I live on a battlefield

  5. I see that the videos were made private. Can someone tell a newbie how to access these?

  6. Um, according to billboard.com, this song isn’t going to be on the new album.

    Now, that’s just not right.

  7. Bad Fan, you can email me if you want. 😉

  8. spinshack Says:

    What? It was listed on that one site. So what’s the real word on the tracks on the CD?

  9. Thanks much IAG!. I emailed you.

  10. What? It was listed on that one site. So what’s the real word on the tracks on the CD?

    From what I’m reading, that initial listing was 14 songs, 11 of which were scheduled to be tracks on the CD. Why they listed the additional songs, I have no idea.

  11. Maybe some songs will be bonus tracks on CDs that you buy at different outlets? Just a guess here. Kind of like HOAD was the bonus on the TH CD, if you bought it at Walmart.

  12. That could be, Bad Fan.

Leave a comment