Spotify or what in the hell am I going to find myself liking today?

I know Spotify isn’t new, and I don’t know how many of you know about it…but it is definitely worth downloading. It’s similar to Pandora or Last.fm, but you can search any song and listen to it. There are a couple of annoying ads every once in a while, but compared to the music that comes out of the speakers, it’s just a very minor annoyance. The interesting thing about it is that I find myself listening to all kinds of music. A quick history of songs I’ve listened to lately show a range from Kelly Clarkson to KISS to Lionel Richie.

But what I noticed yesterday is that I found myself listening to Taylor Hicks. I haven’t listened to him in a long time, and as much as I still dislike The Distance, I do love his other works. There is something about his voice that soothes me. I’m not sure what it is, but I’m sure my therapist can tell you. Just listening to his voice takes me to a place where I can relax, think and just be.

So my question is…who do you listen to when you need soothed? When the outside world just seems to be too much to handle and you just need some peace? Whose voice takes you to that place?

“Words make you think a thought. Music makes you feel a feeling. A song makes you feel a thought.”

 E. Y. Harburg quotes (American Lyricist, Librettist and Song Writer, 1896-1981)

16 Responses to “Spotify or what in the hell am I going to find myself liking today?”

  1. When I need a little musical soothing I love to listen to some soul by Sam Cooke, Jackie Wilson, Solomon Burke to mention a few and of course some Taylor Hicks for a little feel good music

  2. First of all, I Love that you are back!! I can completely relate to why you needed to pull back, as did I… sooo….I just saw the Black Keys in Madison Square Garden and was blown away by them….just two guys with a Wall of sound…but as far as the music that soothes me…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOA-2hl1Vbc

  3. The late great Jeff Buckley had a fantastic voice. Hallelujah is just brilliant and has to be one of the best cover versions ever.

    Whenever I listen to that I am soothed!

  4. Have to agree with you Ethendras…thanks for sharing this beautiful piece of work.

  5. Hallelujah is one of my favorites…and of all the covers I have heard, Jeff Buckley is the best, in my opinion.

    Momo, thanks!! I’m glad to be back. Pachabel Canon in D is
    awesome. I will admit, I don’t listen to much classical music, but when I do, that one is at the top of the list! Have you ever seen this? So funny!!

  6. Love this too…

  7. My favourite Jackie Wilson song…soothes the soul

  8. Love the Jeff Buckley version of Hallelujah…my favourite version is kd Lang and ya gotta love a little You Send Me..Thanks for posting that

  9. I’m a New Age kind of gal myself. Keyboards have always soothed my soul when need be.

    Glad to see this blog again. Have always enjoyed it here and everyone’s opinion.

  10. Some great videos posted. They just don’t make them like this anymore. I appreciate all kinds of music, but New Age seems to calm my soul more than others.

    Glad this blog is back up IAG. Always my favorite.

  11. http://ethendras.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/compus-minkus-music-for-the-eclectic-connoisseur/ – You’ve spurred me on to create a Spotify playlist – please tell me what you think!

  12. Hi Grey! LOVE the Pachabel video! So funny!

  13. Nice vids, great tunes but I just stopped by to say “Viva Las Vegas!” x-)

  14. Gosh been so long on wordpress I had a bugger of a time recalling my password. hahaha! Going completely daft. Apparently. Hasta!!

  15. Ethendras…I would say that’s definitely eclectic.

    Momo..how are you? I know..I never realized how that song is EVERYWHERE until after I heard that guy talking about it.

    Sunny…my dear dear Sunny…I wrote a post about Vegas. Would love to hear your opinion!!

  16. jth…was talking to a friend the other day…he had never heard of Sam Cooke. Makes me wonder what I’m missing out there!

Leave a Reply

