Compared to What?

I was browsing YouTube when I came across John Legend singing Compared to What. I’m always amazed how a singer can change up a song and make it sound completely different. Compared to What is actually an anti Vietnam song, recorded in 1969 by Les McCann. Here’s some different versions:

John Legend

Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck

and of course, Taylor Hicks

And here’s the lyrics…no wonder Taylor could never remember them. Ha!!

I love the lie and lie the love
A-Hangin’ on, with push and shove
Possession is the motivation
that is hangin’ up the God-damn nation
Looks like we always end up in a rut (everybody now!)
Tryin’ to make it real — compared to what? C’mon baby!

Slaughterhouse is killin’ hogs
Twisted children killin’ frogs
Poor dumb rednecks rollin’ logs
Tired old lady kissin’ dogs
I hate the human love of that stinking mutt (I can’t use it!)
Try to make it real — compared to what? C’mon baby now!

The President, he’s got his war
Folks don’t know just what it’s for
Nobody gives us rhyme or reason
Have one doubt, they call it treason
We’re chicken-feathers, all without one nut. God damn it!
Tryin’ to make it real — compared to what? (Sock it to me)

Church on Sunday, sleep and nod
Tryin’ to duck the wrath of God
Preacher’s fillin’ us with fright
They all tryin’ to teach us what they think is right
They really got to be some kind of nut (I can’t use it!)
Tryin’ to make it real — compared to what?

Where’s that bee and where’s that honey?
Where’s my God and where’s my money?
Unreal values, crass distortion
Unwed mothers need abortion
Kind of brings to mind ol’ young King Tut (He did it now)
Tried to make it real — compared to what?!

(Music break)

Tryin’ to make it real — compared to what?

125 Responses to “Compared to What?”

  1. LOL! I knew by the lyrics what the song was about. Although T always got me going with the cowbell on his version-I could never understand wth he was saying…LOL. My guess is that he mumbled thru most of it….ya think?

  2. Wow thanks for the lyrics. I never could understand the lyrics when tay sang it. Strange that he liked to sing a war protest song from before he was born.

    I prefer the cover songs he has sang the last 6 months over many of those he did prior. Won’t miss Hey Pokey Way & Rockin Pneumonia.

  3. Ha ha Rosie-that’s what I was saying above in my post. I swear I think he was just mumbling and not actually forming words. But the turn on for me was the cowbell, the jumping around he did on that song. My hormones went into overdrive indeed. 😉

  4. taylorfan06 Says:

    Make it a fantastic 2011 to all still here. A toast to Taylor for great new music and AIRPLAY in the New Year. Cheers!!!

  5. taylorfan06 Says:

  6. Hicksaholic Says:

    It really would be a Christmas miracle if Taylor got airplay.

  7. taylorfan06 Says:

    Amen Hicks!!! “i believe in miracles…. ypu sexy thing” la lal la la la

  8. casualfan Says:

    Wishing all a wonderful New Year! May 2011 be filled with personal accomplishments, nurtured friendships, healthy self and family and continued passion for the music. May we continue to explore the wonderful world of music and enjoy a wide variety of musicians and what they bring us.

    Cheers everyone!

  9. I had to buy a new computer yesterday, my first notebook. Been busy all day trying to set it up. Happy New Year everyone.

  10. Hicksaholic Says:

    Happy New Year!!! Already got a couple of Taylor concerts to look forward too.
    Hope the new year brings good fortune and good health to everyone.

  11. taylorfan06 Says:

    I guess everyone’s recuperating from New Year’s still.

  12. hicksaholic Says:

    Really…. pretty dead around here.

  13. casualfan Says:

    Life is beautiful…we all went out and got one! 😉

  14. Well cf..I’ve always had one ..this is just one part of it!!

  15. casualfan Says:

    RIP Gerry. Thanks for the music.

  16. taylorfan06 Says:

    Sad to hear cf. I always loved this one. I can still see the 45 spinning round and round. A real classic in my eyes. I bet Taylor’s sad.

  17. taylorfan06 Says:

    This one is also great. Finally found it on cd not too long ago. Enjoy all.

  18. taylorfan06 Says:

    1979 was a great year for music.

  19. taylorfan06 Says:

    Just one more. You know me with videos….

    RIP Mr. Rafferty.

  20. taylorfan06 Says:

    Another great loss from last year, and the #1 song of 1979.
    I give you Doug Fieger, and “My Sharona”. Great cd too!

  21. I agree tf06 about 1979 being a great yr for music.

    CF, I’m still in deep with Taylor. Wish he would give some feedback on Jamcruise. It is so strange that none of the fans went on the cruise, but good that he has no one to answer to. He can be himself, while figuring out how to win over a new audience. There are a lot of 30somethings on board, but probably not very many AI fans.

  22. I hope Tay gets to sing some of his funky cover songs on the cruise.

  23. casualfan Says:

    Rosie, I was speaking mainly of the posters who posted here once upon a time. A few have went to the blog that’s all Taylor while others have went back to their lives. Those of us who have been there since the beginning, have experienced an awesome journey with the Soul Man but other things are now priority.

    I am a strong believer in things having their rightful place and time. Perhaps this wonderful blog was meant as the last stop out of Tay Land-at least for a few of us. It’s all good, but time to move on. I have spoken with many who have been there from the beginning that feels the same, so I’m not the only one.

    Looks like our dear blog owner is following the same path. 😉

    As far as him not reporting in from the cruise…didn’t he only board yesterday? Why don’t peeps let the man breath and enjoy himself? He will report when he’s ready. I’m glad there are no SP on that ship. He has seen more than his share of the same folks on dry land as it is.

  24. casualfan Says:

    Using wifi on cruise ships can be VERY, VERY EXPENSIVE. Taylor is well known for counting his pennies. He’s savvy enough to get someone else to upload on their dime and not his.

  25. hicksaholic Says:

    Glad to hear Taylor can enjoy himself on this cruise without a bunch of fans watching him. I am sure that can be irritating even though it comes with the territory. Maybe he will pick up a few new fans. He deserves more fans.
    There was a tweet reported on the Boogie Board about a couple of people already being busted for drugs. Hope Taylor is behaving himself.

  26. casualfan Says:

    A business partner of mine went on a blues cruise this past summer and she said that boat was a floating pot palace…LOL!

  27. casualfan Says:

    I know there’s at least one SP’r on board with Tay. She’s admiring from a distance, and reports that T is having a great time. Has pics and will post them when they dock. So all is good!

  28. I think it is just great that he has a brand new audience on board and has nothing to do but eat, sleep jam and party for 6 days.

    This was a great blog. Not long ago I went and read some threads from Oct. 09 and was amazed at all the different posters. We had some good discussions going.

  29. casualfan Says:

    I agree Rosie. This jam cruise is exactly what T needed and I’m thrilled that he was able to join it. Great way to network, observe and have tons of fun.

  30. hicksaholic Says:

    Sounds like the musicians on board are enjoying Taylor’s willingness to sit in. That’s great. Taylor deserves more fans. Hope he picks up a few on this cruise.
    Funny cf about the fan admiring from a distance- I have visions of somebody sneaking around hiding behind columns and potted plants following T around.

  31. taylorfan06 Says:

    I hope we’ll get some video/audio from the cruise. It all sounds like a good time for all.

    Wish I was on board ship instead of being bored at home.

  32. Haha, hiding behind potted plants and columns. How about just happening to dine at the same time and place as Hicks? You know fans would do those things, as well as telling others on board where Tay was performing and how great he is. Well it goes with the AI fan territory, but not so much on this Jam Cruise.

  33. So Grey, have you been following the Jam Cruise gigs? How do you feel about Taylor doing Jam Cruise? I assume you favor it over Broadway.

    Hope ya’ll follow Tay on twitter and tweet him on occasion. I resisted for quite awhile but now enjoy it. I have to give him props for being more real and responsive than most celebs. Like I said before, had twitter been around in 2006, and had he utilized it to connect with all those fans back then, he’d have tens of thousands more fans now.

    But those are the kinds of nitty gritty things we used to discuss here, all the what ifs and shoulda’s and coulda’s. Damn I miss that. I don’t think that the lack of posters here is due to lack of interest in Taylor over the past 2 yrs. I don’t have answers, just questions.

  34. I feel like a lonely stray wolf in Tayland. I gave a wolf’s howl and no camper responded or reacted. How does Taylor feel ? It has to suck grapes, and all & every kind of juice. Please respond here, if you are a fan of T.H. winner of AI5, or enjoy him as a person, musician, singer, entertainer, & performer.

    To do less than that, a comment about Taylor in Jan. 2011, is just lame. FH, et all. seriously, what gives? At least let us know you are o’kay. I, we, miss you.

  35. taylorfan06 Says:

    I’ll ALWAYS be part of Tayland in some way, shape, or form Rosie. Taylor made such an impression on me from the start, and some of that is still there. Enough to keep lurking and posting here from time to time.

    I enjoy all Taylor sites, and the many fans that continue to stay devoted to him and his music. He is a talent, and it’s a shame that his style of music isn’t mainstream enough for radio today. I personally, think his music IS more mainstream than he gets credit for.

    Comparing so many of his songs to hits of todays, I scratch my head at the appeal that these “hits” have on the general public. I cringe at the blandness, and sameness that radio plays today.

    I’ll continue listening to Taylor’s music, I look forward to more new music, as well as (hopefully) catching a live show sometime this year.

    Bottom line, this one here will definitely remain a Fan4Life. Taylor RULES!

    …so who else is with me?

  36. I agree tf6…. I love the music Taylor makes , I will be a fan for life and make as many live shows as possible and not just to support Taylor but to bring happiness to me. The music makes me happy and the wonderful friends I have made as a result of following Taylor’s journey have been an added bonus in my life.

  37. taylorfan06 Says:

    Nice post anne. T’s music still brings a smile to my face, especially in concert.

    Taylor LIVE is definitely a treat. He ALWAYS delivers! Again, he is a talent and he definitely knows how to find talent when performing. I think I still prefer the ’07 lineup from my first T live experiences. But seeing Sam Gunderson and Jeff Lopez with him on the last tour was amazing. Thumbs up all the way!!!

  38. casualfan Says:

    Taylor has his dawg pound properly trained to fetch, retrieve, roll-over on command. Not only did he have them fetching recipes for him, he sent out a command to the hounds to send MJ’s blog the link to his jam cruise pics-something that his publicist is paid to do.

    Maybe a scooby snack will be their reward…=)

  39. I'm a hottie Says:

    casualfan, she funny girl. I laugh at her post.

  40. taylorfan06 Says:

    ZOINKS!!!

    Forget scooby doo…. where did all the posters go?

    get zelda(?) and daphne on it STAT!

  41. casualfan Says:

    haha TF6. My favorite was always the one with the glasses…can’t remember her name. Of course Scrappy was super cool too.

  42. casualfan Says:

  43. taylorfan06 Says:

    maybe even inspector clouseau????

  44. casualfan Says:

    OMG! I fricking LOVE the Pink Panther….thanks for the find!

  45. taylorfan06 Says:

    …or inspector gadget?

  46. taylorfan06 Says:

    ditto on the pink panther cf! have a great day.

  47. casualfan Says:

    Never was an Inspector Gadget fan.

    You have a great day too TF6. 😉

  48. I’m so happy Taylor was a part of this cruise and could just hangout and be all about the music. He deserves it.

    Did anyone see Brook White’s 2 hour “pilot movie” for her new show? I was prepared for it to not be good but was pleasently surprised. She was very natural and the camera loved her. As new shows go this one at least has a chance.

    Haven’t been here for a while but my interest in Taylor is not waning I still check in somewhere everyday for any news. Just haven’t had as much time as usual.

  49. Dee I didn’t see Brook’s movie. There have been so many pilots on lately. It wouldn’t surprise me that she can act. I think Kat was hoping for a bigger acting career.

    Cf, I think Tay just wants to keep the fans busy. Often his twitter looks like a paid publicity page with all the retweets of anything connected to him.

  50. Taylor has the devotion, dedication of time and money spent from fans. Much less so than in 06 and 07, for sure. Because of his celeb, win and good looks, I know many young pretty, gorgeous women come on to him. Some fame, money, power, and good looking sexy guy, is all many with a lack of morals and judgement need. Then there is the musician/singer thing, and even I, late to the fan thing, have seen how some befriend even band members and friends and aquaintences of idols.

    From what I’ve read Taylor has always been into the music first and his success in music. His sudden fame had to have made him even more into that and himself. Guess what I’m attempting to say is he may not be ideal mariage material, husband, friend and co parent for any gal at this time. Fans, younger than him and old enough to be his mom or even grandma or a sibling or friend, tend to idolize him on every level. He knows songs and music and can play and perform with the best of them. He does have a golden voice and delivery & interp of so many songs, some classic, some of his writing, some I never heard before.

    But I do get he is just a talented man, driven with balls a plenty. No young, age appropiate female should have fantasies about hooking up with him for life. No one should worship the ground he walks on or attribute more accolades than he or anyone should merit. I do think he is a very decent human being. He is as complicated as all of his posters and fans. He is just one more human being with flaws, but with a talent we saw and enjoyed on AI.

  51. pattiebelle Says:

    Rosie, very nicely said… I think he’s a 34 yr old guy enjoying everything life’s been throwing at him…and thats been alot…he covers the gamut and thats his gift…he is an unusual man…but we know that

  52. PurpleButterflies Says:

    It is so strange that none of the fans went on the cruise.
    ——-
    Not everyone who is a fan posts on boards and tweets to him. My friend went. She was a fan since the beginning and used to post on tosp. She left and went on with life like most everyone else did, but she still enjoys his music.

    Also, how much traveling is enough? I stopped flying to Taylor concerts a couple of years ago. It takes time and money away from the kids.

  53. casualfan Says:

    I agree Purplebutterflies. When I speak of “tayland”, I’m referring to the crazed cyber part of this fandom. There are many that have left cyberland but still remain fans of his music. I knew there were a few that went on the cruise but would never get out on any boards to discuss it. They have stepped away from that part, which is a good thing.

    Speaking of traveling to see Taylor-I’m with you on “how much traveling is enough”? Taylor has an upcoming show in Coo’s Bay, OR and ppl are talking about going. I’m thinking….”do these folks even know where Coo’s Bay is”? LOL

  54. casualfan Says:

    That would be Coos Bay and not Coo’s Bay…sorry.

  55. There are several articles about the drug bust and they imply Tay was the headliner. One said the passengers were Hicks fans who got arrested.

  56. casualfan Says:

    Those article sites are looking for hits. They use American Idol winner as the bait. AI is starting their new season this month so it’s perfect timing.

    Hell, I see it as a little spice being added to the mix. Too funny.

  57. taylorfan06 Says:

    that’s some news. they say that any publicity is good publicity. so i say, “you go taylor!” LOL

  58. taylorfan06 Says:

    rock stars and drugs… who woulda thunk it???

    i bet T kept his “nose” clean. hehehehehehe

    but seriously, was it a passenger(s) or “boys” in the band???

  59. casualfan Says:

    Now that word is out about the drug bust on the jam cruise, the upcoming blues cruise peeps no doubt will be getting more creative with their packing. =)

  60. casualfan Says:

    but seriously, was it a passenger(s) or “boys” in the band???
    ===========================================
    LOL-I spoke with a friend today who had a friend of hers on that cruise who is an attorney in the Miami area. He got a handful of new clients he’s now defending on the charges. She didn’t provide names.

  61. taylorfan06 Says:

    good for that atty. sounds like this could cover the cost (and more) on that pleasure cruise…. attys. never come cheap. ka-ching KA-CHING!

    i wonder if T be questioned in any of it. “yes, taylor, this is perry mason, and we have just a few questions for you…” drama and intrigue on the high seas, and the high c’s that may have occurred on stage.

    i’m kind of in a silly mood today.

  62. taylorfan06 Says:

    a favorite of mine from the fabulous 70’s from the amazing Ann & Nancy Wilson. it seemed appropriate. the title anyway.

  63. I had to laugh at the phrasing “Little remembered”. LOL. Yea right he’s so little remembered that the used his name in the headline. LOL. Well, we’ve been saying he needed a good drug scandel to put his name in the headlines. LOL.

  64. Oh my goodness. I’m surprised this is not trending on twitter. This is showing up as being tweeted every few seconds by people and all kinds of news outlets. LOL.

  65. taylorfan06 Says:

  66. I think it is great press for Taylor. He will be on the Today Show weekend show on Sat. morning. Some fans think he will make an anouncement, career wise. He could just be the AI spokesperson for the new season. Who knows the drug bust could have a bit to do with it.

    He gave that Relix article in 06, then backtracked and became so guarded with the press. AI winners & AI itself, still had that wholesome all American image in 06. Clay was still in the closet, and Fantasia was viewed as naive, and even a victim of poverty and illiteracy/ school system.

    Tay is some ways was born 20 yrs too late. In other ways, he won Idol too soon for America to grasp that Idols could have flaws and vices. Egad, even the ones they dialed on repeat to vote for hours, to claim the the then esteemed throne of instant fame and riches, may not be perfect.

    I, 100% believe Taylor had and has something special. He swarmed that yr with such a weird charisma, and getting the job done & the votes week by week, against some attractive, outstanding and unique talents & some with personality plus.

    The SP he inherited, say 2 yrs down the road was not ideal, for a young artist to the scene. By then the press was down on him. I had not been online, one of the regulars and knew shit from shinola, about what went down or the SP. No need to get into all of that, again or now. I will say that any random newish fan, stumbling upon his twiiter feed, might well say what the hell is this. The votes on twitter walls, the retweets of any and every mention of him, the ?’s asked of him, a star and all of the fan promotion seems lame to me.

  67. LOL! Dee-I am surprised he did not trend today either. All those tweets were cracking me up.

    You have to laugh at this. At least now his name is attached to a juicy tidbit. 😉

  68. On the news front, it appears that Taylor is part owner of a restaurant venture in B’ham. Kuddos to him for investment in his beloved city and contributing to the local economy.

    Interesting that the company his part of is called “Royal Street”. That’s a famous street in the French Quarter of NO. Maybe the venture will have a N’awlins flavor.

  69. taylorfan06 Says:

    Good find cf. The restaurant biz is tough. all the best to T and his partners. i look forward to hearing more about this venture. bon appetit all.

  70. taylorfan06 Says:

    Benmont Tench is so amazing on the piano. And Tom is no slouch on vocals either. love love love those guys!

  71. taylorfan06 Says:

  72. taylorfan06 Says:

    “Turn it up!”

  73. taylorfan06 Says:

  74. casualfan Says:

    LOL-TF6, You are having your own party….party on with your bad self! 😉

  75. taylorfan06 Says:

    I do what i can….

    GREAT COVER SONG FROM THE EARLY 80’S

  76. taylorfan06 Says:

    and the musical question to all here…. or used to be.

  77. The media coming out of the Jam criuse is fantastic. Taylor really seems to be in his element. I’m wondering if he does have a clear career plan in mind or if he is just exposing everything he can do to see what sticks. LOL. I’m sure he impressed alot of people on the ship but I wonder if any of the music he has put out or the next CD he calls country will appeal to any of this crowd. Same with the concerts on the last tour. His songs in concert are so much different than his CD’s. Did new fans who went to the concert and bought his CD to get signed like the CD or say WTF when they played it. I know nothing about the music business and maybe Taylor knows what he is doing but seems to me he is giving potential new fans mixed signals as to who he is as a musician. He is so talented in so many areas of music that showing it all just might be holding back that next level of success that could come from some clearly defined marketing. Just radom thoughts on my part. LOL.

  78. casualfan Says:

    I think the music is Taylor’s first and true love with the other being secondary. His prize is his music and I don’t see that ever changing. However, the roads he chooses to go on at times is somewhat mystifying, but it all leads back to the same place….at least that’s my opinion. He was glowing on that jam cruise because it was indeed all about the music. He didn’t have that glow with Grease and won’t on dwts.

    Some of the tweeps in Tayland have taken what Taylor said regarding DWTS to a new level of ridiculous and are milking it for all it’s worth, but considering who the players are, it’s not surprising. He didn’t say that he was going on the show-only that it’s in the works. For all we know, he may be referring to performing on the show as a musical guest.

    I only wish for a high quality cd to display his true talent. All that other stuff means nothing to me.

  79. Agree Jam Cruise was a great experience for him. I don’t think he should care what any musician or fan or anyone thinks what he decides to do career wise. I get his confusion as to what to put on a CD. Part of the dilema is the AI type songs, the jamming funky Tay, all the covers he can do justice, or what might sell the best, as perhaps country. Must kill him that Gokey has done ok with country. Tay is too talented in so many things. Then there is the cost of paying good talent to fund his CD as well as the promotion.

    I’m one of the ones who think DWTS would be great for him money wise and for exposure to the masses again. He needs exposure and lots of older people watch DWTS, peeps who would get Taylor. He certainly has more charm and personality than 90% who have been contestents on DWTS.

    Cf, he requested fans suggest him for DWTS. At no time as he said more than it is in the works, which I took to mean he and his people have submitted his name and expressed interest in him being a contestent. Have no clue why some of the regulars took it to mean it is a done deal and went on to chat about costumes etc. They all know he said any career move would be announced via the media . That whole thing of telling him he should be on this or that show, as though all he has to do is book himself on, is nonsense. But I do get the enthusiasm his fans have and their desire to watch him on TV.

    I believe him when he said he thought it would be a blast to be on DWTS, he meant as a dancer. I can also picture him getting personal, up close lessons and working hard and actually doing pretty well. For those who worry about him being referred to as a D lister, he has a title win which ain’t shoddy, and millions tune in to watch B, Cs and Ds and unknowns to them.

  80. casualfan Says:

    Rosie, I know T suggested it. I read the tweet along with everyone else. It is what it is and that’s all I got for this subject.

    Cheers! =)

  81. casualfan Says:

    “How Taylor Hicks was a lot more calculating than his down-to-earth, good-time singer image might have suggested.”

    LMAO! Ya think????

  82. @rosie, Jan. 8
    Still a Taylor fan. Wishing him and all you the best in 2011.
    New album with a focused reboot of MYS for his own single, since it has the ability to still rip out the heart. Reboot of The Maze to be released as a single, too…. that song still rocks.
    Here is a vid of a college accapella group that sings “Runaround”.
    Happy New Year.

  83. Looks like they recorded a version of “Heaven Knows”, too!

  84. Last post: References to any new album were fantasy suggestions, to clarify.

  85. Won’t play Heaven Knows on here, so here is the link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEOpoy0USD8&feature=related

  86. Not crazy about their version of Runaround but love their Heaven Knows.

  87. Okay. I’m coming out of retirement to ask….In the audition room, was every Idol’s picture up but Taylor’s????

  88. Hasn’t come on here yet FH. IMO of course, but Taylor seems to have really pissed off those AI folks. LOL

  89. Yep. This is a real slap in the face. A blatant “Eat shit Taylor Hicks” slap in the face!

  90. Steven Tyler is a riot. He’s entertaining indeed. LOL

  91. FH-Taylor’s pic is up there next to Jordan Sparks.

  92. I read quite some time ago that Idol was like a tangled web with ties to management companies and several labels. Some have direct ties while other companies are not directly owned by Idol but are connected by webs of royalties and deals between individuals involved. It’s easy to see how any contestant signing with the favored companies will continue to be promoted. Taylor is the winner who removed himself completely out of the web and went Indie. They of course are going to make as little reference to him as possible. I think Taylor is happy with his direction and he may even be pocketing more money than some of the other winners. For sure he has more control over his career. Kelly has made no bones about the fact that she is unhappy with her business situation and longs for the day when her commitments are completed. Some think Taylor should have sucked it up and bowed to their every wish but I think he’d be just as unhappy as Kelly.

  93. casualfan Says:

    Well said Dee. Taylor got what he needed from Idol and has moved on. One can’t dispute that he’s much better off now than he was before Idol and I’m sure he’s grateful for the opportunity they gave him.

    Being upgraded to better golf courses alone was worth it. 😉

  94. I saw Reuben next to Jordan.

  95. LOL. Golf courses for sure. CF. Taylor would probably add in better restaurants too. LOL.

  96. I didn’t see Taylor’s picture at all..I counted the ones I could see and there were 8..I realize Taylor might have pissed them off (I don’t think it would take much to piss them off especially Simon..) However that does not change the fact that he won and they are behaving like spoiled children to leave him off those panels. It reflects badly on them NOT Taylor so ..I guess it is what it is. I could not vote for Taylor because I live on Canada ..but if I had spent money calling & texting for him as they asked the public to do and then saw that my vote meant nothing to them in the long run…don’t think I’d bother again. I am sure the vote meant something to Taylor but his season is over and I wouldn’t line their pockets after seeing how the winner of the publics’ choice is not considered worthy of their promotion and they do what they want anyway, Let them pay AT&T or whoever it is.

  97. AI brought Taylor into our world and opened up doors for him that would have remained closed if he wouldn’t have taken that leap of faith. The positives far outweigh the negatives between T and AI, but I find it sad that some fans continue feeding their jaded and myopic views on the vehicle that made it all happen for Hicks.

    Taylor made his choices and has taken the tools he was given from that show and carved out his own success story. Having his picture on panels, or even mentioned at this point on the show is moot. His contract is up, AI doesn’t owe him anything and vise versa. Fans who haven’t moved on are only feeding their own anger and hostility and not helping anything.

    Having that said….AI auditions are in NO tonight and that in itself will be entertaining.

  98. cf….It is not a matter of AI giving Taylor his break and bringing him into the public eye…that is a given…duh!!! The point I was making is that THEY changed the rules.. in any business that is deplorable . They most definately get a kick back from the phone co. and used the voteiing system to their financial advantage and made more money on that venture in Season 5 than any other before that season from people who believed them when they said they wanted the public to pick the winner for them to promote..when the winner they weren’t expecting ..well they did it their way anyway!
    AI is not an honest and reputable franchise…Taylor had choices that were not illegal and took that route ,it’s obvious that the route was in the contract or they for sure would have sued Taylor’s ass…they gave choices to the winners but only honoured the choices they liked.

    You can defend AI until the cows come home I ain’t buying it..they showed me what they were all about when they put the boy with the cranium deformity through for the sole purpose of ridiculing him in front of millions.. yep…REAL nice people!! Don’t feel sad for me my “jaded and myoptic “views of AI have nothing to do with Taylor …like you said he made his choices.. it has to do with decent respect for others in which AI is sorely lacking

  99. casualfan Says:

    Of course AI is being paid by AT&T. They are a paid sponsor for Idol and they have paid the franchise millions for that privilege along with many others.

    I don’t care if you buy what I say or not. I don’t know you and didn’t post my comment specifically to you or about you. You yourself has personalized all of this and continue rolling around in your anger over the alleged treatment of Taylor from AI. AI didn’t owe Hicks or anyone else anything. They didn’t then and they don’t now. Respect for others doesn’t exist in the entertainment world of business. It’s cutthroat and always has been. People get into this business to make money. The hopefuls-such as Taylor want their voices heard and to find fame. It’s business and has nothing at all to do with personal. What part of this do you not get?

  100. casualfan Says:

    Sorry for the short sentences and lousy sentence structure. But it’s amazing that after 5 years, some don’t want to let it go. At this point, you have no one to blame for your anger but yourself.

    Cheers all! Hope some watch the show tonight. New Orleans will be great. 😉

  101. casualfan Says:

    words to live by….=)

  102. Hi FH and Suze and everyone. I wasn’t looking at the wall last night, but will tonight. The consenus is there were 8 panels and no Taylor. If that is true, it makes no sense. I do recall one yr. he was almost invisable in the opening, and he has never been front and center on the wall, but can’t believe they’d be stupid enough leave him out of the winners.

    Had they arranged for Tay to have radio play for his first CD and kept the stores stocked with CD’s for a yr., he would have sold hundreds of thousands more. However, he never would have outsold Daughty, because D is more mainstream.

    Hopefully, Taylor doesn’t dwell on any injustices or slights. I will be wall gazing tonight. LOL

  103. hicksaholic Says:

    I didn’t see Taylor on the panels. They definitely showed his winning moment in the beginning. I agree it’s not really fair but I understand where cf is coming from. It’s a business. Publicity on that show is worth a fortune. Why would they waste it on someone who decided not to sign with them or any of their associated companies. I can see it their way too although I think if the panels show all the other winners Taylor’s should be there too even if it’s in the worst spot.
    cf is probably exactly right- Taylor knew what he was doing when he cut off ties to AI after his win. It probably worked out for the best. I doubt he would have been happy if they tried to control him musically. I am guessing he would have been a real pain in the ass to deal with.
    Fairhope!!!!!!!!!! Going to the Beau? Or to Tunica?

  104. cf…I respect your opinion of AI although I don’t agree with it…Your right in saying that this show gives these kids a showcase..however without these kids showing up ( and please when they do don’t make fun of them or call them Bush Babies..that is where my anger lies ..complete disrespect for another HUMAN BEING )and working their assess off they would not have a show..so it should be a two way show of respect. Your are not right however is saying I am angry because Taylor’s pic is not there …I would feel exactly the same no matter who they had left out. Because if you show up deliver the goods and win (any of the winners) pettiness should not trump fact! You belong with the winners!

    I understand that entertainment is a cutthroat business but these kids when they try out are not in the entertainment business they just have a dream!!!

  105. casualfan Says:

    I agree Anne. Most of those kids have stars in their eyes and don’t see the other end of it till they have been sucked in. You are right about the making fun of part also. While I admit that some of it is funny as hell, they have crossed the line a few times and should edit more. But it still pails in comparison to what music producers, record company execs have said to many hopefuls in the privacy of their office. Perhaps this is the first line of reality check for those who wish to pursue their dream on a very public forum. Besides, the focus is on the competition itself and the other stuff fades from memory.

    On another note….I read elsewhere that some poor soul posted that jam bands don’t make good money off cd’s and touring alone…this is not true. Widespread Panic, Blues Traveler, Funky Sam,even the Dave Mathews Band are all jam bands and do very well. They may not be living in multi-million dollar mansions (well Dave may be), but that’s not important in the grand design of life’s happiness. The important thing is they are supporting themselves and their family while living their dream and enjoying themselves.

    The mentioned bands did not have to go on some reality show in order to become famous. They built their fanbase from the ground up via Internet and tons of hard work and many years of toil and sweat. Taylor went on AI and yes-he did gain notoriety and celebrity status. But in terms of success in the music industry, he failed. Those jam bands are doing far better than he is and have the fan-base to prove it.

  106. casualfan Says:

    Perhaps someone should do their homework #fail

    http://www.digitaldreamdoor.com/pages/best_artists-jam.html

  107. Since some of the jam bands have more fans and make more money from their music than T. is all the more reason I think he should venture into other forms of entertainment from time to time to earn money and keep his name out there.

    I don’t think he would lose cred with other musicians if he dances, wears sparkly outfits or whatever. Many fans think he should stick with music. He always is upfront about teen angel and his sequins, which is one more reason I respect him.

  108. I love seeing him hang with the Jam Bands. Seems to me their fans are more willing to accept him into their fold than the Country fans. JMO

  109. casualfan Says:

    That’s because he’s in his element with them Dee. At least that’s my observation. Taylor is NOT country and shouldn’t pretend to be. His star shined on that cruise with those bands. That’s his nitch. Now if he would trust in it and go with the flow, it will carry him to where he wants to go. At least that’s MO.

  110. hicksaholic Says:

    I was browsing the CMT website because the guy from Mobile, Walker Hayes, is apparently in the top 40 single chart for his song “PANTS” and was amazed at the artists on that site. Can’t imagine you would call Adam Lambert or Crystal Bowersox country but they are there although maybe not on the charts. Perhaps anything popular is considered country. Taylor could be more country than Adam for sure.

  111. I think maybe if Taylor had gone straight to Country it might have been different. Now if he still wants to try to break into Country he’s going to have to pay dues.

  112. taylorfan06 Says:

    I want a bluesy, soulful Taylor. What he was born to do! But he really can do it all. How many days (weeks, months) til that next release???

  113. He just tweeted he’s going to Jazz Fest. He is not on the performer list but he know a lot of the people so I bet he’ll get to do some sit-ins. There’s quite a lineup. These are the kind of people he should be with IMO.

    http://www.nojazzfest.com/

  114. hicksaholic Says:

    He may well be at the Hangout Music Fest in Gulf Shores then. It’s right after Jazz Fest. I would love to go to Jazz Fest. It’s a huge deal in NO. Lots of great performers. Just hard to get a room.

    I agee tf06 about bluesy Taylor. My point is it looks like almost anything qualifies as country these days.

  115. I think Taylor want to run away and sing and play with Jam Bands the rest of his life.

  116. casualfan Says:

    I think Taylor want to run away and sing and play with Jam Bands the rest of his life.
    ==============================================
    Nothing wrong with that. He’s a musician at heart and thrives in that type of enviroment. I would much rather see Taylor doing something that he loves to do verses something that he has to do.

  117. Adding to the topic of how much Country has changed. I just heard on Nixa a song “Gotta Be Somebody” by Bucky Covington and it was so over produced that I almost cannot recognize his voice. It reminded me of the computer voices so popular in pop nowadays. I guess the sound is invading Country too.

  118. casualfan Says:

    I think country music is falling fast into the americana roots music melting pot.

  119. casualfan Says:

    He may well be at the Hangout Music Fest in Gulf Shores then.
    ==============================================
    That would be great hicksiholic. Those festivals are great networking tools for the working musician. Going back to basic roots and building on that seems to work best for Taylor. He’s at his happiest and therefore at his strongest.

  120. No one can say Taylor can’t Network. LOL. He was all over that boat making his presence known. The media and the comments that are still coming out of Jam Criuse is advertising that can’t be bought. I bet he won over new people and made great artist to artist contacts.

  121. I’m surprised nobody paid homage to the man behind the song. Gene McDaniels who wrote it.

    But These Guys smoked this jam in ’69’ at The Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland.

    Les McCann: Piano, Vocals on “Compared to What”
    Eddie Harris: Tenor Sax
    Benny Bailey: Trumpet
    Leroy Vinnegar: Bass
    Donald Dean: Drums

Leave a Reply

