Discovering some new music…Zach Chance

I’ve been thinking about this site and what I want out of it. I want to get it back to where it used to be. I want people to come here to discover new music, enlighten themselves on different preferences and have meaningful discussions. That being said…I want this site to be about the music, not about who Taylor’s sleeping with, who’s crazy in the Soul Patrol or various other things. I’m not saying that Taylor Hicks cannot be discussed here or even that his “personal life” can’t be discussed. I would just appreciate that it be done tactfully. Now, back to the music:

A friend of mine recently turned me on to this guy. This kid is good! He reminds me a little bit of Amos Lee for some reason. I think it’s just the tone to his voice.

Black and Blue

Check out his website here. Good stuff. πŸ™‚

154 Responses to “Discovering some new music…Zach Chance”

  1. Grey, I’ll try to do my part to improve the atmopshere. The two guys sound good on the first vid. The 2nd was a little too sleepy for my taste.

  2. Always interested in discovering new music. Not sure if I’m turned onto Zach yet, but I will give him a chance…no pun intended.

    Thanks for sharing and the intro of this artist. =)

  3. mamaforpeace Says:

    Thank you, Grey. I’m missing not coming over more often, but it just hasn’t been my cup of tea lately. More music… yes!

  4. Really like the first one…love the sound

  5. hicksaholic Says:

    Has anybody heard Walker Hayes? He has a song, country, “she can wear the pants if I can take them off her”? He’s actually pretty good and I’m not into country. Wish I knew how to post a link.

  6. Just for you hicksaholic πŸ˜‰

  7. blueberry Says:

    Really, really like the first video. This guy is from Texas – checked out his tour dates – kind of bummed I won’t be able to get anywhere close to where he’ll be playing. Here’s to him being around a long, long time.

    Non-music related – has anyone seen Waiting for Superman yet? Just saw it – very powerful documentary on education – my real life passion! Might be a bit grim or tedious (only because of a lot of statistics) for those not as obsessed as I am, but definitely recommend for anyone with even a passing interest in our kids.

  8. hicksaholic Says:

    Thanks CF!

  9. mamaforpeace Says:

    This guy blows me away!!! Captain Kirk Douglas:

  10. casualfan Says:

    Happy Halloween everyone!

  11. taylorfan06 Says:

  12. taylorfan06 Says:

  13. taylorfan06 Says:

  14. taylorfan06 Says:

    hope everyone had a nice halloween with lots of candy, and no rocks.

  15. taylorfan06 Says:

    keeping it “all about the HALLOWEEN music

  16. taylorfan06 Says:

    that’s it from me. good night all.

  17. taylorfan06 Says:

    Here’s a favorite of mine. Clint Black doing some Monty Python.
    You need to watch and listen for the last line. It’s SO true.

  18. taylorfan06 Says:

    i just found the version with the into..

  19. taylorfan06 Says:

    hysterical.

  20. taylorfan06 Says:

    here’s to true love…

  21. taylorfan06 Says:

    i’m kind of in a romantic mood. power reality in these lyrics. take a listen.
    from a great cd, btw “Inside Job”

  22. taylorfan06 Says:

    this one is very moving, for a number of reasons. LOVE IT!
    the single that never was…

  23. taylorfan06 Says:

    love and passion…. for music:

  24. taylorfan06 Says:

    no words needed here. mr stevie wonder *bowing in reverance*

  25. taylorfan06 Says:

    hello? hello? (echoing)

    i guess everyone is out voting today. i did this morning.

    hey did anyone know that Mandisa had her 34th b-day last month on Oct. 2nd? I just found that out and found it interesting. Didn’t realize they were born the same week back in ’76. just sharin’….

  26. taylorfan06 Says:

    happy belated mandissa. beautiful girl.

  27. taylorfan06 Says:

    Great song from a GREAT album. One of my all time favorites. I have my older sister to thank. A rock waltz. Who would of thunk it????

    ….don’t mind me. I’m just having some fun today. Beautiful here in CA.

  28. taylorfan06 Says:

    ..from the same great album. beautiful song. get a copy if you don’t have it.
    hard to believe that jim morrison didn’t think he had a good voice.
    one of the very best in my book. the same goes for the band. Enjoy!

  29. taylorfan06 Says:

    ironically, this song was not on the album, just like Led Zeppelin’s “Houses of the Holy” wasn’t on that album. was it the drugs? hmmmmmmm…

  30. taylorfan06 Says:

    oops forgot to add to the last post.

  31. taylorfan06 Says:

    definitely keeping it “about the “love” of music” today. i really LOVE all these male vocalists. legendary (taylor included) lost in the music… and loving it!

  32. PurpleButterflies Says:

    The Doors are one of my all time favorite bands.

  33. casualfan Says:

  34. casualfan Says:

    This guy has play with Zach Chance. I like his music.

  35. casualfan Says:

    Reminds me a little of John Mayer in this tune. Great stuff.

  36. casualfan Says:

  37. Oh good, peeps are posting. Last I checked it was stuck on 17 posts, and I was half tempted to suggest to Grey that she post her Z for the alphabet Tay. Z for fans snoozing.

    TF06, I knew that Mandissa was older than Taylor. So much was made of his age post his win. Bo Bice was the same age as Tay when he came out 2nd, yet little was made of it. Michael Johns was also the same age. Guess the gray hair and so called throw back music was the factor in highlighting Tay’s win and age. Taylor knew his music and so many of the songs of the 50’s, 60’s, 70’s and beyond. He knew current artists, such as R.L. when most did not. He knew what to sing and how and when and he was a winner. So many forget what they loved about him. But we know and rejoice and celebrate his talent then and now.

  38. taylorfan06 Says:

    right on rosie. so much of what you said is the reason i became a fan then and why i remain a fan now.

    i’ve made many a cd for taylor, which i was fortunate enough to pass on to him personally. i made those cds just to share our mutual love for music from decades past and today, and i truly believe i made great song selections that fit his taste.

    in some of the conversations we’ve had, i did get the chance to talk music, but unfortunately not for the duration i’d like. i’ll just look forward to his next gig in CA and hopefully another chance to talk more music. dare to dream, right???

  39. casualfan Says:

    So, does anyone reading this blog get the chance to listen to the vids of Jonathan Clay? I find his voice very soothing, sweet and talented. He reminds me alot of John Mayer-especially with the acoustic guitar.

    So much undiscovered talent out there. It’s nice going off the mainstream path and venturing on the little ones every now and then. Never know what one will find.

  40. Now some of that unknown talent can try out for X Factor besides America’s Got Talent. Perhaps a few could make a creative video and get discovered.

  41. casualfan Says:

    Looks like YouTube is serving both Jonathan and Zach well. They both have exposure, seem to be doing well in getting their music out there, networking and building up their fanbases. Not everyone needs reality show exposure to be recognized.

  42. casualfan Says:

    An interesting interview with Kid Rock regarding Steven Tyler judging on Idol and his view of Idol’s credibility in the music world.

    http://www.nypost.com/p/blogs/music/kid_rock_reveals_more_about_idol_WCrWuy456y1fJJCja9PZvN?sms_ss=twitter&at_xt=4cd1ce29ff05a2b1,0

  43. taylorfan06 Says:

    to be honest, i’m not listening to jonathan clay. if he’s reminiscent of john mayer, i’ll definitely pass. that guy gags me, don;’t care for him as a person, and his songs…. we’ll the words just fall out of his mouth, the counterpart of cheryl crow. NEXT…

  44. I disagree with Kid Rock and I don’t think he watches AI. Guess he doesn’t think much of Kelly Clarksen or Carrie Underwood. Also what he said does not apply to Taylor. I think he should mind his own business and not try to psychoanalyze Tyler.

  45. Wow. TF6, did you listen to Zach Chances music that Grey posted and started this blog topic with? Jonathan plays with Zach on some tunes.

    John Mayer has a lot of respect for Taylor and has written music with him. Would you not listen to that if and when it’s recorded? Curious to know what John Mayers personal life has to do with his professional life. There are many musicians who have a crappy personal life, but it doesn’t or shouldn’t take away from their talent.

    Rosie, He was talking about the process of how AI works and not the talent themselves and he makes that perfectly clear.

    Obviously Taylor had the same thought process because when he was on the show, he didn’t care for the process either and he tried to do something about it but failed. He talks about it in his book.

    I was under the impression this blog topic was about discovering and discussing new music and musicians. Obviously theres no interest.

    Peace out….

  46. taylorfan06 Says:

    to respond to you, cf, i’m just not connecting to any, or much, new music these days. and yes i did actually listen to the 2 posted videos. none of it is inspired, or moves me to listen to more. just not feeling it… plain and simple. different strokes, i guess. i’m looking for something that makes me say, “WOW!”, and that’s just not it for me. i’m sure one less fan won’t matter to them.

    re: jm, i just hate his breathy voice. i heard that wonderland song this past week and it couldn’t end soon enough for me. again, what i’ve heard from him just doesn’t move me either. with all eclectic range of many styles of music, his just doesn’t fit my mold. i think with him it’s primarily about his voice. there’s that lazy sounding delivery of his that just doesn’t work for me.

    good for him that my little opinion makes no difference in his level of success. end of story.

    the lead singer of the fray is another voice that i can’t stomach. is it me or is that guy tone deaf?

  47. taylorfan06 Says:

    should have read:

    with my eclectic range of many styles of music….

  48. I'm a hottie Says:

    taylorfan06, you stuck in the past and I tink nobody click on vids you post. Nobody care about old musc.

  49. taylorfan06 Says:

    hottie – i listen to a lot of new music, but i’m just not digging it. i know i’m not alone on that subject. i want to like it, but so many of today’s artists are just boring to me. JM honest O.

    on an unrelated note, is it too soon for some holiday music? i hope not.

  50. taylorfan06 Says:

  51. taylorfan06 Says:

  52. taylorfan06 Says:

    i love the “i love you too” part. good one taylor.

  53. taylorfan06 Says:

    hottie – good music is good music. i know it’s all relative, but i just know what i like. if people choose to watch, or not watch, the videos i post, that’s their call. i’m just trying to stay away from the drama that can occur here, and keeping it “all about the music”… videos included. i think i’ve made some fine choices since i’ve started posting here.

    in my opinion, some of the songs, even though they may be “old”, may be new to some. with that being said, that would make them “new” to them. or they may be favorites to others here. i’m just trying to enjoy the site and add some good music in the process. i say feel free to add music that works for you hottie, new or “old”. it’s all good here….

    i really love the vibe of this song, even though now it may be considered “an oldie”… i just can’t seem to win. LOL (that was a joke)
    i was referring to my statement, not the song. I REALLY LOVE “UPRISING”

  54. taylorfan06 Says:

    as great a song as this is, and a cool video as well, it is a little disturbing to watch the lead singer sing. JMO (again)

  55. taylorfan06 Says:

    here’s another “newer” song i love. also written by the lead singer of muse. (i should find out his name, i guess) LOVE this one! the best song on adam’s cd. Enjoy all!!! I do hope you’ll decide to watch. hehehehehe

  56. taylorfan06 Says:

    the 2nd best song from adam’s cd. IMO. i DARE you to watch….

  57. taylorfan06 Says:

    …should have been a single. nice melody and hook. that’s what i like.

  58. I'm a hottie Says:

  59. tf06 I just listened to and watched the Soaked video. My daughter has been after me to adopt a kitten from Pet Smart. I have never owned a cat but that vid just enticed me to get a kitty.

  60. I’ll be back later to check out the other vids.

  61. taylorfan06 Says:

    happy to oblige rosie.

  62. taylorfan06 Says:

    hottie – nothing wrong with the oldies in my book. kid rock did a good job mixing sweet home alabama and werewolves of london to have a hit. more power to him. he was definitely influenced by the 70’s there. groovy!

  63. taylorfan06 Says:

    well if no one else watches this, maybe rosie will.

    great song, cd, and video. I LOVE Green Day! One of the few newer artist of today that DESERVES a spot in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame when the time comes.

  64. taylorfan06 Says:

    their music deserves more airplay. definitely worthy.
    you have to admit that they stand out from the pack anyway?

  65. taylorfan06 Says:

    definitely not shy about showing their beatles influence on this one.
    take a listen…

  66. tf06…I hear you about the new music…most of it is not my cup of tea either…I have been listening to some of the new country..(never thought I would listen to country by choice LOL) but I just can find any soul in the new stuff and like you I have tried…Nothing wrong with liking what you like..new or old….I am also on the same page regarding JM his voice doesn’t do it for me either.

    Love the Kid Rock song and I like Adam’s voice . Not enough to buy their music but |I do enjoy it when I hear it.

  67. Thanks for the Edgar Winter, although it is OLD music. πŸ™‚
    Sadly, Taylor Hicks has now been officially been named a flop by MSN. The kindness is that he wasn’t pictured on the front page, but his photo is on the front page of the article when you click in…probably because he is recognizable amongst the unknown sports folks they’ve listed with him. Even sadder for the Justin guy from season 1, who does get the honor of the front page.
    Head scratcher, but I guess someone has to be a flop in this world to make other folks look good.

  68. And this will be harsh, but it is the song that came to mind.
    Replace the word “girl” for AI or fame when it comes to Taylor Hicks.
    No, I don’t think Taylor’s a loser…. just the world at large.

    “Although I laugh and I act like a clown

    Beneath this mask I am wearing a frown
    My tears are falling like rain from the sky
    Is it for her or myself that I cry

    I’m a loser
    And I lost someone who’s near to me
    I’m a loser
    And I’m not what I appear to be

    What have I done to deserve such a fate
    I realize I have left it too late
    And so it’s true, pride comes before a fall
    I’m telling you so that you won’t lose all”

  69. suze, Taylor is doing what he loves.

  70. it doesn’t suprise me that the media..in it’s delusion of self-importance..would print this ..because they think they are all knowing and don’t even have to check facts. Justin 10 years later is still seen on the interview show ..and i think does some small clubs..hasn’t done much in the recording area but hey he’s working and is name is out there. And Taylor is doing fine..now if either of them could go out and get arrested for DUI or slapping people around or get caught with a sh** load of illegal drugs..their careers would skyrocket

  71. taylorfan06 Says:

    suze – wish i was such a loser like taylor. read on…

    http://www.famenetworth.com/2010/10…-net-worth.html

  72. taylorfan06 Says:

    …and yes, rosie, he is doing what he loves! and me with with my mundane sales rep job. i’d switch places with that “loser” in a heartbeat.

    what can I say? i lLOVE the oldies! SHOOT me already! LOL

  73. taylorfan06 Says:

    nice pic/article with nice comments, and maybe some bad ones too..
    “can’t we all just get along?” you tell ’em rodney! lol

  74. taylorfan06 Says:

    actually on this post, it says that Taylor is worth 3mil. either way…
    what a loser, right???? hehehehehehe

    to find taylor, click onto “go to blog homepage”, and click on the older posts. taylor is on the 5th page with betty white on the top of the page. i found it interesting to see what some of these “so-called” celebrities are worth. good for them all. jealous bitch here.

    http://www.famenetworth.com/2010/10…-net-worth.html

  75. blueberry Says:

    Yes, “loser” is subjective. I think it’s been reported by the US Census Office that the median annual income hovers between $50,000 and $55,000 (and that is median, folks, so many people are far below that). Most of us do not have glamour jobs, but we do these jobs with grace. Income can’t be the only criteria used to bestow the flop or loser crown; or maybe, surprise, surprise, income wasn’t verified. I think it has more to do with what Anne suspects – he hasn’t made headlines for bad behavior. It’s too bad we can’t just celebrate others’ obvious good fortune….

  76. Here’s a little “Simlish” music. Another avenue in getting ones voice heard. πŸ˜‰

  77. Here’s the real world version. I discovered this artist playing the Sims game. I sent this to a DJ who works for a clear channel and he’s putting it into rotation. Great song.

  78. I’ve been a bit under the weather. I caught a cold/virus from the touch screen voting machine last tues.

    Check out Tay singing the Border Song last night and any other vids. He’s a good guy for visiting the kids at the cancer hospitol and for his charity concerts and works.

  79. casualfan Says:

    No doubt he did a good job-he always does at his live shows.

    It’s always good seeing celebs helping out these good causes, especially kids. There are plenty of good guys-and women doing the same as Taylor. Cheers to all of them.

  80. Almost a million was raised for children’s cancer from that event last night. Unfortunately, I don’t get most of the info cause I’m not on the BB.

    Cf, I think Taylor has an extra soft spot for children.

  81. casualfan Says:

    Cf, I think Taylor has an extra soft spot for children.
    ==============================================
    That is why that when I read about a blog, board or group of individuals putting their funds together to send him a card, flowers, presents or whatever, I suggest they make a donation to a children’s charity instead and put the donation in Taylor’s name. When Taylor finished Grease, I donated-in Taylor’s name-to a children’s charity in NYC that gives free play acting workshops to kids from low income families. I do the same for his birthday every year for various kids charities that he has supported in the past. Never told him about it, just find it satisfying being able to give back to something that he is passionate about….children.

  82. cf…what a wonderful thing to do..Great idea…i will remember that in the future. I don’t feel the need to send a card or gift or anything to Taylor for birthdays..I’m sure he can’t handle what he already has ..but this is a very good idea to honour him. I have donated to St.Jude on his behalf but that was a few years ago. You have inspired me to revisit that. Thanks

  83. casualfan Says:

    πŸ˜‰

  84. As I said, I don’t consider Taylor a loser at all. I react when I see him put into these generic “lists”, lumped with so-called “flops”.
    There is a hard, cruel measuring stick, though that the world uses. It obviously has nothing to do with actual dollars made etc. It has to do with expectations met or not met, whether it is under that person’s control or not. Taylor has been subject to this measurement, and he, to the world, came up short.
    Sorry about the harshness…. I get punched in the gut every time I read things like that about Taylor Hicks. I still like the guy, but wish he could figure out an angle that would turn the tide of negativity in the media, that’s all.
    This is the only place I continue to visit having anything to do with Taylor, probably because I can just read at will…. and write whenever.
    I appreciate you all who hang in to continue the dialogue… he probably does, too. Ciao, all!

  85. Saw Ray L. in concert last night.

  86. Do tell, FH!! Love me some Ray L!!

  87. Ray was good. He sang mainly from his new album. It was very blue grassy. Not the more main stream Ray L. But here’s my gripe and oh lord I sound like the grannies……..This concert was in a beautiful old theater in downtown Mobile. The venue was selling alcohol and there were a BUNCH of drunks. They kept hooting and hollering and yelling out “TROUBLE”!! That is the only song they new that Ray sings. I swear I was beginning to think they took the worng turn looking for the Skynryd concert. I was waiting for one of the fools to yell out “Freebird!!”

    People kept getting up and going to the bar or the bathroom or what the
    f— ever! It drove me crazy!! I was so distracted!

    This would have been all appropriate if they were in a bar or a more relaxed venue. Ray must have thought “I am in ALabama for sure” Bunch of low brow rednecks!!

    My sister told me that I just hate people and maybe she is right!

    And on a lighter note…I bought my tickets for Taylor in Biloxi just now. The seats suck major!! Oh well, maybe I’ll get drunk and hoop and holler and piss someone else off!!

  88. God, maybe I am getting old. Lord have mercy!!! Ray’s voice was beautiful and sexy. He sang Let It Be Me and I just loved it (along with the “Awwww” and “Trouble” and other catcalls) He also cleared the stage of the band and it was just him singing an acoustic version of a beautiful song about strangers and curtain calls. Maybe you know what it is IAG.

  89. casualfan Says:

    Glad you enjoyed yourself FH. I would love to see him one day.

  90. hicksaholic Says:

    Fairhope,
    I was there too. Ray was great! I had really good seats, second row center logue(?)
    I didn’t like Levon Helm as well. In fact it was getting so late my friend and I left before he finished. I didn’t really notice the screaming but I was drinking, not drunk though. You must have been on the floor. The Saenger is incredible. I tried once a while back to request they get Taylor and finally gave up.
    The Saenger is really a jewel in Mobile and they are starting to get lots of great performers there.
    I wanted to step on that right foot of Ray’s he kept moving back and forth on. He’s a great vocal talent but has nowhere near the performance skills of Taylor. Sad to say, I’d pay double to see Taylor because he is more entertaining and his concerts make me happier although I know Ray is a much greater talent. But I am trying to broaden my musical tastes by experiencing different artists.

  91. blueberry Says:

    Hicks – Interesting what you say in your last paragraph. The same has happened to me wih a couple performers. I have and cherish their CD’s but the live performances left me wanting…something. And they should not have, because I knew the music, and while they were/are uber talented, I didn’t walk away on cloud nine. One in particular is a classic performer, but the show was totally him and his guitar; and while probably technically brilliant, I found my mind wandering. And I knew what to expect! Go figure. I can start a novel or a movie I know might not have me jumping in my seat, but for some reason, live music must or , silly me, I am disappointed!

  92. I saw Ray with David Gray at Jones Beach this summer and this was my al ltime favorite song of the night! Why he didn’t put this out as a single is a surprise to me! The one he chose is just a sleeper. Love this and thanks for sharing IAG, brings back the memories and the chills…

  93. hicksaholic Says:

    Thanks blueberry, I always feel like somehow I’m lacking a chromosome liking Taylor or that I’m really shallow enjoying his moves on stage but I have decided Taylor is entertaining. Your mind does not wander watching Taylor because it’s a visual and vocal performance and although Taylor is obviously an attractive guy I found myself drawn to him when he was not quite as attractive. Taylor Hicks may not have the “talent” some have but he has the “it” factor in spades. I think that will carry him far.

    I just wish I could get my husband to understand enjoying his concerts doesn’t mean I’m trying to jump him. My guess is the male mind processes things a good bit differently than the female mind.

  94. hicksaholic Says:

    All that being said, I think Ray LaMontagne would be interesting to talk to. He is obviously very deep and if he wasn’t extremely arkward (which he could be) he might be really interesting.

  95. casualfan Says:

    I agree with Taylor and his live shows. That is what really stood out for me when I saw in at the SLO show. As I wrote in my recap, his interaction and deep connection with his band was unique, upbeat and very intense. That’s what held my attention. It’s not his clothes, his looks. Taylor’s soul is exposed on that stage every time and that is the one private thing he shares-or tries to share with his fans.

    Someone wise quoted “Where words end, music begins”. I see that with Taylor. Very few performers have that-IMO.

  96. hicksaholic Says:

    CF,
    You worded that perfectly. It’s very difficult to separate Taylor into pieces- the voice, the looks, the performance- it all rolls into one package that is as you stated, intense, unique and soul baring. The oneness with the music might state it best.
    I have been to a number of concerts, less than some I’m sure but enough to know that what Taylor Hicks provides for me at least is an incomparable entertainment experience. I only wish I could have the same reaction to other performers because I could experience that feeling a lot more often than I do now since Taylor is not performing around here all the time and unlike some I don’t have unlimited funds to follow him around the country( I say that with a twinge of jealousy)

  97. Hicks: are you going to Biloxi?

  98. shitstirrer Says:

    Good grief. Will you please tell taylorfan06 and casualfan to put a kibosh on the video posting?

  99. hicksaholic Says:

    Yep,
    Got my tickets to that and to Workplay. My college roommate was supposed to go with me to Workplay but can’t go because she’s leaving for Washington that day. I have 4 tickets and no one to go with at this point. I have to figure it out.
    I got two for the Beau Rivage. They are not that great though so I will be looking for floor tickets. Seems like I need to find a high roller to get them if I remember correctly. I am very bad about buying more tickets than I need and getting stuck with them.

  100. shitstirrer Says:

    November 10, 2010 at 10:27 pm
    Good grief. Will you please tell taylorfan06 and casualfan to put a kibosh on the video posting?
    ==============================================
    dance…Dance…DANCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  101. Understand Taylor will be performing at the Museum of Tolerance International Film Festival 11-14 honoring Clint Eastwood. Have been reading that Eastwood himself requested Taylor. Tay will be singing Gran Torino. Wonder if this could be an introduction to something else. In other words, a buildup to something else.

  102. Or it could be that was simply asked to perform at an event. What mysteries to ponder….

  103. taylorfan06 Says:

    November 10, 2010 at 10:27 pm
    Good grief. Will you please tell taylorfan06 and casualfan to put a kibosh on the video posting?

    ______________________________________________________

    it’s all about the music, einstein. (videos included) kibosh? oy!!! LOL

  104. taylorfan06 Says:

    I’m definitely “in the mood” for a melody… so what’s new?
    a great song with the incredible phil collins on drums.’
    i understand he has a condition that prevents him from playing the drums anymore. what a damn shame… enjoy what life has to offer everyone.

  105. taylorfan06 Says:

    ladies and gentlemen, er ladies anyway….
    a true rock classic from the incomparable phil collins:

  106. taylorfan06 Says:

    another favorite from phil… fun video.

  107. taylorfan06 Says:

    …and since it’s november, what the hell…
    i know it’s raining somewhere.

    epic song.

  108. taylorfan06 Says:

    masterpiece video. i forgot how GOOD that was. brilliant.

  109. Hicks: I think I am in section 305 row M.

  110. I love Phil Collins.

    Clint has good taste and Taylor has lyrics to learn and I hope he watched the movie. I heard Gran Torino was a good movie and one I’ll check out.

  111. I saw the movie- it was really good! Eastwood himself sings the song at the end of the movie. How cool that Eastwood requested Taylor to sing his song.

  112. Taylor is a walking encyclopedia of music. I can’t imagine that he’s not familiar with the song already and is well prepared. πŸ˜‰

  113. hicksaholic Says:

    Fairhope,
    I think I’m closer but not on the floor. They are saving allthose for the high rollers and Taylor gets some too. But rest assured it doesn’t cover the floor. Better seats will be out there. I had so much fun at this the last time he was there. It was reaffirming as a fan how great he is as a live performer when I saw the sellout and all the people wanting to meet him afterwards.
    Yeah no matter what if Eastwood asked Taylor to sing the song that can’t be bad.

  114. shitstirrer Says:

    Do you really think everybody watches all the shit you post?

  115. hicksaholic, You all are going to have a blast. Glad for both you and FH.

    I think its cool that T is performing for Eastwood and some of the Hollywood elite at this event. Clint is a true Hollywood treasure.

    SS, Submit a problem tkt to the management of this establishement. =)

  116. taylorfan06 Says:

    if they don’t…. they should. keep on smilin’, y’all.

  117. taylorfan06 Says:

    good one cf, btw… LOL

  118. Who has the proof that Clint asked for Taylor to sing the song?

  119. LOL! FH, you are a riot! Taylor himself tweeted that Mr. Eastwood personally asked him. Ask T for the proof…go on, I dare ya. Make my day…ROFLMAO! (just kidding;) )

  120. Michael Grimm, this yrs AGT winner, and Taylor were chosen because Clint Eastwood likes their sound. Clint chose Tay to sing the song because he knows Taylor will do it justice.

  121. Clint Eastwood likes their sound. Clint chose Tay to sing the song because he knows Taylor will do it justice.
    ===============================================
    Congrats to Taylor. Mr. Eastwood is one of my favorite actors and I do keep up on news of him. But I’m afraid that I must have missed that article of him saying that about Taylor. Care to pass on the link?

  122. I guess I missed that! Ha! Ha! I will go up to him and slap the truth out if him!!!!

  123. haha! It’s great exposure for him and I’m excited for him. To stand up in front of a legend and treasure such as Mr. Eastwood is a grand honor. No doubt T will do it justice.

  124. Such negativity…I am only guessing but I don’t think it would be anywhere in print that Clint Eastwood called Taylor and asked ..I’m sure he has people that get in touch with Taylor’s people…but I’m sure everyone knew that. Apparently CE”s wife is a fan of Taylors’. However it came about lets just celebrate the fact that it did.

  125. Such negativity…I’m sure that if Clint Eastwood requested Taylor for the song it was done by his staff to Taylors, management co. not in an articile in print…but I’m sure everyone knew that already. Apparently CE’s wife is somewhat of a Taylor fan..so isn’t it possible that she suggested Taylor to her hubby…However he is singing and he says he is honoured so can we not just be happy for him.

  126. Anne, where exactly are you reading all this negativity at?

  127. Eastwood could have had way more famous singers do the song, but Taylor is the one singing it on Sunday. Guess Clint prefers Taylor’s voice and passion and performance over just about any singers out there. The S P and other fans agree with Clint.

    Who cares when and how Taylor was contacted?

  128. Why are you so defensive Rosie? I only asked if there was an article about it is all.

    The SP would be happy no matter who T was singing in front of so that is no surprise. Who are the “other fans” you are referring to? I’m just curious about where you get your information is all. You are always accusing me of being “in the know” so now I’m questioing you…just as you and others have of me.

    It’s all good though. I’m in no way the village idiot and I see things as they really are…count on that. πŸ˜‰

  129. Cf, I for one am thrilled for Taylor. He tweeted he is off to LA. There are press releases about the gig. Theatermania in LA , gives Tay top billing after Clint.

    Who’s defensive? I just gave my opinion of why Tay is the one singing Gran Torino. We are allowed to do that here.

  130. I see that Rosie. A good publicist knows how to work a good press release.

    I see on the invitation that The Mike Melvoin Trio got top billing and that stands to reason. Jazz is indeed Mr. Eastwoods favorite music. He plays the piano himself and has been known to sit in on a few jazz sessions. =)

  131. Hopefully this link will embed properly. The lyrics are haunting. Jamie Cullum does a great job with this.

  132. Here is the orginal version with Clint singing in the beginning. Wow, very intense.

  133. taylorfan06 Says:

    thanks for the video cf. i love piano songs. nice song, and the melody is gorgeous. i could so hear T singing this one. looking forward to seeing/hearing his rendition. i hope a video becomes available. and maybe an audio download. good for taylor. it’s not a race…

  134. It will be interesting hearing him sing it TF6. The song is intense and beautiful.

  135. taylorfan06 Says:

    Is it too soon? One of my FAVORITE Christmas songs! I LOVE elton john and how fun this video is. EJ is in his heyday with Bernie and band. What a time that was… and continues year after year.

    ELTON JOHN = BEST IDOL EVER!!!

  136. taylorfan06 Says:

    …..oh that fabulous band: Dee Murray (RIP). bass, Davey Johnstone. guitar, and Nigel Olson, drums. Perfection! The 70’s rule!

  137. taylorfan06 Says:

    ..and NO, i’m not living in the past, it’s just ROCK AND ROLL! And i like it, like it! YES. I. DO. (and i miss it) *heavy sigh*

  138. taylorfan06 Says:

    another christmas favorite. i still have the picture sleeve single.

  139. taylorfan06 Says:

    so nice to see the faces of the original mtv lineup – JJ Jackson, Martha Quinn, Nina Blackwood… trying to place the others. great memories of what mtv USED to be. MUSIC television.

  140. MJ’s Blog has some nice pics of Tay at the Clint Eastwood event last night. He looks really good. Would love to hear audio of his performance but will be pleasantly surprised if anything is released to the public.

    http://mjsbigblog.com/taylor-hicks-performs-at-the-museum-of-tolerance-international-film-festival-gala-awards.htm

  141. taylorfan06 Says:

    good for taylor. nice pics. i’m always a sucker for that killer smile of taylor’s. what an honor to be in the presence of a legend like clint eastwood. gran torino was a great movie. i’ll have to put that on my to do list to watch it again before the holidays get too hectic. thanks cf

  142. He really did look good in those pics. You can tell he’s proud, nervous and excited to be there. Has to be a bit intimidating to be that close to a legend like Mr. Eastwood. **humbly bows**

  143. I'm a hottie Says:

    Why you delete?

  144. It appears he did a bang up job on the song and snuck in some harp. He looked so alone sitting on that stool in front of Arnold and Clint and admitted to the local Bham columnist that he was a bit nervous until he saw Mrs. Eastwood recording it on her cell phone.

  145. Mrs. Eastwood recording it on her cell phone.
    ===============================================
    haha! That’s cute Rosie. She’s probably texting it to all her friends. πŸ˜‰

  146. taylorfan06 Says:

    why does this one never get old???

  147. taylorfan06 Says:

    the beatles are FINALLY on iTunes. yeah! yeah! Yeah!

    here’s one of my all time favorites of john’s. groundbreaking.
    has it really been almost 30 years since he left us? so sad….

  148. taylorfan06 Says:

    ..and who doesn’t love this one?!!!

  149. taylorfan06 Says:

    that’s my two-fer for a tuesday.

  150. Thanks T06 – but I count three! The c2what song is addictive, mesmerizing, and to me, one of his best performances. The other being The Maze in Tom’s River….my go to video for any number of moods I am in! I vaguely remember a very spirited debate somewhere online regarding the meaning to the c2what song – and I haven’t settled on what I think it means – it’s just an incredible performance!

    And, yeah, the Beatles….it’s difficult for me to comprehend that level of genius. I didn’t realize it has been 30 years – you used the appropriate word – sad.

  151. taylorfan06 Says:

    blue – it was a beatles two-fer. and yes, sad. ..still.

Leave a Reply

