Happy Birthday, Taylor!

Sorry for the late post…I couldn’t decide what to give you. So, instead, I thought I would pick some of the favorite moments that you gave us.

1. Your live pre Idol recordings. This is the music that really made me appreciate your musical talent.

2. Tagging. I could listen to you take us on the musical journey in your head all night.

3. But these clips show us some insight into your world…love it.

Yes, Bill. You are.

Nice.

Ha.

So, Happy Birthday Taylor! Hope you’re having a great day…and here’s wishing you an even better year ahead, hopefully filled with new music and concerts!

Cheers!

121 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Taylor!”

  1. taylorfan06 Says:

    Happy 34th Mr. Hicks. May you have an amazing year ahead.

  2. taylorfan06 Says:

  3. taylorfan06 Says:

  4. casualfan Says:

    Haha-I remember the vid about “Justin made the cover” Those vids are priceless. “We be plain…real plain”….

  5. taylorfan06 Says:

  6. casualfan Says:

    Hmmm-Bill knew that was a Bird of Paradise on the table…interesting….

  7. taylorfan06 Says:

  8. taylorfan06 Says:

  9. taylorfan06 Says:

  10. taylorfan06 Says:

  11. casualfan Says:

    Props IAG for staying with the music in celebration of the Soul Man’s special day 😉

  12. taylorfan06 Says:

  13. Thanks grey for celebrating Taylor’s birthday.

  14. mamaforpeace Says:

    That is so perfect IAG! I was thinking the other day about your post on “new musical loves” (Michael Grimm for me at the moment). But there is something about Taylor that keeps me around. Look, I don’t think he has the best voice, he isn’t a great song writer, I’ve never liked any of his cds much (that goes for pre AI), he is really goofy (all IMO, of course), but man, the live recordings always get me. And seeing him live, the way he “drives” a song. And most of all the tagging: that’s when Taylor’s musical genius shines. I really don’t understand why he doesn’t have more of a following, though embrassing his goofy image and his goofy fans probably doesn’t help!. Hopefully, that will change with time, and he will get the respect he really deserves.

  15. taylorfan06 Says:

    “..happy birthday, baby…”

  16. taylorfan06 Says:

  17. OK TF06!!

    Let’s not suck all the bandwidth with all the videos!! 😉

  18. hicksaholic Says:

    Hope Taylor is having a wonderful birthday and has a great year next year whatever that may entail.

  19. taylorfan06 Says:

    that’s it! my gift to all here and especially TAYLOR!

  20. casualfan Says:

    LOL! TF6-Thanks for the vids, but I gotta tell ya…anymore and Youtube visiters would have to visit here if they want vids. 😉

  21. taylorfan06 Says:

    LOL here cf! Celebrate everything Taylor today! His music (and his influences) have been playing here since this morning and will continue…

  22. taylorfan06 Says:

    “…play the blues, play the blues…” and maybe some “Bulletproof.”

    i’ll let someone else put that one up since i’ve obviously passed my quota. lol

    “alabama state of mind people…” beware of those “crickets” spreading rumors…

  23. casualfan Says:

    TF6-I wish Taylor happy birthday but life calls and I have to get back to it.

    Cheers everyone!

  24. I just watched clips of him singing ‘Open Arms’ and ‘Thriller’ on Don’t Forget The Lyrics. He was so good live reading the lines, singing and performing. It will air in full Oct. 12th. Some on that show have been boring, but not Taylor. Woo hoo!

  25. hicksaholic Says:

    Rosie,
    I can’t wait to see Taylor.
    And I will have to say as many stars were on that stage the other night in Nashville, I’d have traded it for one Taylor concert.
    CF , back to the last thread, that today in history is a national thing not just for Alabama. I can assure you- Taylor still is treated as a semi rock star around these parts.

  26. casualfan Says:

    Good for him hicksaholic. Glad to hear that.

    Rosie-That’s a matter of perception. Heard the clips and as a hard core Steve Perry fan, I’m not impressed with T’s rendition. I read one comment where someone challenged another Idol to get near Perry’s Octcaves….Hello! Adam Lambert!!! Enough said.

  27. Just saw both clips of DFTL and I think he did a pretty good job. I’ve seen some of the shows and believe me it’s not a singing competition. Sometimes when they have stars on you wonder how they got a recording contract. LOL.
    It’s a hard thing to do. They don’t know what songs to expect and then the music is an accompaniment track so if you don’t remember the melody it can sound pretty bad. LOL.

  28. casualfan Says:

    No doubt some will take offense in what I said, but it’s only my opinion of course. I have always been seduced by Perry’s voice and for anyone singing his songs, I’m a super hard critic. Very few-if any can do a SP song true justice. It would be a true travesty in the purest form if there is no one that Steve has passed that gift on to.

    I’m a firm believer that God created special Angels to walk this earth to share certain gifts, and Steve Perry is indeed one of them.

  29. Thriller was painful. Open Arms is better, but he seemed out of breath towards the end and had trouble holding the note. Taylor needs to do some aerobics.

  30. pattiebelle Says:

    Raven, give it up, its his birthday, can’t he get a break even today…jeez…

  31. Turned on ET tonight just as they were signing off with Birthday announcements and guess who was first in line? Taylor Hicks, followed by Toni Braxton then Simon Cowell.

  32. casualfan Says:

    Grey, I did go back and listen to it again and it wasn’t as bad as I thought the first time. As I said in my above post, when it comes to SP’s music, no one can compare. I feel the same way with some of Taylor’s music. Songs like The Fall, MYS are his and wouldn’t sound right with someone else singing them. But that’s just me.

    He looked like he was having fun and that’s the important thing. Mark what’s his name looked a bit silly though.

    Dee-Funny with T having the same birthday as Simon….LOL

  33. casualfan Says:

    ***waves at Henry*** Since you love reading here and can’t stop talking about what I’m posting…here’s something for ya!

  34. casualfan Says:

    LMAO!!!

  35. taylorfan06 Says:

    I thought T looked “handsome as heck” on DFTL. He has such an energy on stage also. It looked like he was having a good time, but that’s Taylor..

    I think he did great on Open Arms, even though it’s one of my least favorite Journey songs, but he sold it IMO!

    He missed the mark a bit on the falsetto of Thriller but somehow it was a bit endearing. I wonder if Taylor got to choose those songs. I could think of other “hits” I’d rather see him perform.

    I look forward to watching the show next week, as well as the other ‘idols” who will be making their way on the show.

  36. taylorfan06 Says:

    I put this on a “California” themed cd I gave Taylor last year when he performed at the Belly Up.

  37. taylorfan06 Says:

    would rather have Taylor sing this one:

    Yeah, baby!

  38. taylorfan06 Says:

    btw, Journey’s “Infinity”, and “Evolution” cd’s are classic rock masterpieces.

    SO lovin’ the 70’s!!!

    what do you say cf??

  39. taylorfan06 Says:

    ditto for “Escape” in the 80’s!!!!

  40. taylorfan06 Says:

    this one brings back some great memories.

  41. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    October 8, 2010 at 2:43 am
    btw, Journey’s “Infinity”, and “Evolution” cd’s are classic rock masterpieces.

    SO lovin’ the 70′s!!!

    what do you say cf??
    ===============================================
    100% agree TF6. I played the grooves off those albums.

  42. casualfan Says:

    TF6-I don’t think they have a choice in what they get to sing. I never watched the show, but it’s my understanding from ppl who do that they have to sing what is told of them and to “not forget the lyrics”.

    I agree with you and said the same on my post above. T was indeed looking as if he was having a great time, and that’s the important thing. 😉

  43. If it’s still the same they have two songs to choose from and that is it. I’ve seen it when the singer didn’t know the 2 songs at all. LOL.

  44. I’m sure it would be nerve racking!!!!!! Having to watch the lyrics scroll and try to hear the background music and keep your wits about you when the audience is right there close to you. LOL.

  45. casualfan Says:

    Sounds like fun! There was a really nice bar on Bourbon St in NO called “The Cat’s Meow” that use to do that. People were standing out in the streets and around the corner just to get in. They offered up really nice prizes and had “friendly” competitions. It’s a hoot-especially when contestants have a few Hurricanes in their system.

  46. NotYourGrandma Says:

    Well as usual I will give my honest opinion. I thought both the performances were highly entertaining and hilarious. Thriller started off well and then he went off key a bit. Still fun to watch. But he did a great job on Open Arms. These competition type shows really seem to be his forte!

  47. Seven Days Says:

    Thanks for posting the birthday vids, Grey..it was fun to take a trip down memory lane. I have a particular affection for the twitchy kid in the pink shirt singing background vocals in video #2.

  48. NotYourGrandma- I have to agree with you. I’m starting to think maybe Dancing with the Stars would actually be good for him….

  49. taylorfan06 Says:

    Such a beautiful song and message. Miss you John.

  50. taylorfan06 Says:

    and another…

    we can ALL shine on!

  51. taylorfan06 Says:

    One of my favorite Beatle songs that John considered a throwaway.

    Love that guitar riff. Brilliant!

  52. taylorfan06 Says:

    more of john’s brilliance. (my last video for the day – promise)

    just keeping it all about the music…

  53. blueberry Says:

    Enjoying all the videos – Taylor and the Beatles – thanks IAG and t06! Yes, it is incredible the brillance that was John Lennon.

    I’m not a critic but thought Open Arms was pretty good. And Thriller was way better than I could do! Sometimes just fun works for me.

  54. taylorfan06 Says:

    Happy 55th David Lee Roth. (when VH was great!)

  55. Today we lost one of the truly great soul singers of all time. Solomon Burke,dubbed the King of Rock & Soul, He was one of my favorites since I was a teenager. Check him out on you tube. AMAZING SOUL VOICE

  56. casualfan Says:

    I know. I posted some of his vids on Twitter. He did some great stuff with Joss Stone.

    TF6-Wow-Didn’t realize David Lee Roth is 55. Actually thought he was older…LOL!

  57. casualfan Says:

  58. casualfan Says:

  59. taylorfan06 Says:

    it’s 3:00 in the morning but i’m wide awake and visions of you weigh on my mind…

  60. taylorfan06 Says:

    Taylor at Epcot! Woooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!

  61. taylorfan06 Says:

  62. So where exactly is home Taylor?

  63. casualfan Says:

    According to some FH-he’s now living in a mansion, with a yacht, private beach house somewhere in Bama. 😉

  64. casualfan Says:

    Vids from Epcot look nice. But that’s no surprise…T always brings it live!

  65. casualfan Says:

    “Truth, not negativity”~Taylor Hicks.

    It’s too damn bad that some of your SP can’t distinguish between the two.

  66. casualfan Says:

    Love it! If someone wants to talk sports with Hicks, they best know what they are talking about…LMAO!

  67. hicksaholic Says:

    Who was talking sports? What about? The almighty Tide getting knocked off?

  68. taylorfan06 Says:

    anyone remember this one?

    LOVE ME SOME CHEAP TRICK! they are rockin”

  69. casualfan Says:

    Hicksaholic-T had an interesting little sports tweet party going on. He’s quite knowledgeable on sports, so it was kind of cool. Seems he was a little bored with himself and was seeking some amusement.

  70. taylorfan06 Says:

    Here’s my “Sports” segue.

    Huey Lewis:

    Great 80’s song/video
    Harp
    Sax
    Has met Taylor
    From the album “Sports”

    ….and all about the music. where is “rock and roll” today?

  71. taylorfan06 Says:

    i got your “rock and roll”….

  72. Taylor must have had money on that game. He seemed a little “pissy”.

  73. taylorfan06 Says:

    some vintage r&r

  74. casualfan Says:

    Fairhope Says:

    October 12, 2010 at 12:13 pm
    Taylor must have had money on that game. He seemed a little “pissy”.
    ===============================================
    haha! He did have a bit of a bite to his tweets. Kind of endearing actually.

  75. It was strange.

  76. casualfan Says:

    And that is surprising? 😉

  77. hicksaholic Says:

    FH
    I’m with you- he was pissed, a bit defensive.

  78. taylorfan06 Says:

    wow! is everyone saying that that Taylor is human? that animal!

    …i think there’s still a “real” war going on last time i checked.

    don’t sweat the small stuff. can’t we rise above?

    i mean “what about the music” that everyone is always talking about.

    that’s SOMETHING that REALLY matters to MOI! JMO (don’t hate/gossip)

  79. taylorfan06 Says:

    ….yawn.

  80. casualfan Says:

    Get over it TF6. You can be a real drama queen at times. 😉

  81. Which flavor kool aid did you drink TF6?

  82. I’m home from my 5 days and 4 nights at Disneyworld. Tay put on great shows to a packed house on Sat. and Sun. The 30 -33 minute sets, while strange for me, fit the bill. My friend said he is very talented, she loved his harp playing and said he has a great band. Back To Louisana was her favorite, and I wish he had done that at all his shows instead of Nineteen. Nineteen gets a standing ovation each time and I get why he does it, but he just does Back To Louisana so well live. Brian, but moreso Jeff and Sam were standouts for her and I think the crowd. Crystal Hunt was there for all his shows and sat way on the far right so as not to be noticed. The first night she was dressed to kill and with the heels, but not much makeup and she sat behind us and I heard all of her conversation with her friends. Then they went into his dressing room without knocking. Sunday she was casual and wearing flats as if ready to travel. See some of ya’ll are still fighting. She and Tay are an item, and good for them. We did score the 5th row for one show. It was then and only then that my friend noticed Tay is cute and hot. I’m being truthful. Further back he looks heavier and u can’t see his expressions. I’m so tired and not making much sense, but good grief some of ya’ll are still all over the guy. Tay scores new fans when he has a ready made audience. He impressed the crowds, and take my word on that. The regulars wouldn’t know because they were front and center with other die hards.

  83. What is your proof that they are an “item”, Rosie?

  84. casualfan Says:

    Good for Taylor in having someone. He deserves companionship and I’m glad to see that he may have found it. Crystal is a cutie. Hopefully his privacy will be respected and the SP won’t go wild as they did when he was with CL.

    Congrats to Taylor! =)

  85. Yes good for Taylor…but cf I recall reading quite a bit regarding cf and most of the s**t was posted by another idol hopefuls’ fans..some poising as SP or would blatantly identify themselves as fans of “guess who”

  86. So, Rosie, you were allowed backstage to check out his dressing room? Really? You must be a very important person. With thousands of people there, that is quite a coincidence that you were seated near Crystal Hunt, so you can report back to the fanbase. I guess it was fate. You even sat close enough to hear her conversations? That must have been a very quiet concert. You mean to tell me everyone was sitting there quiet as a mouse? I don’t think I’ve been to a quiet concert, maybe because they don’t exist.

  87. casualfan Says:

    Don’t get your meaning Anne. You said “regarding cf”. Not sure who fans of “guess who” is. I’m really happy for Taylor in having a close friend. Life of a musician is a hard a lonely road and finding comfort and companionship is a wonderful thing.

    Micheal Douglas and a few of T’s other close friends were there also. He had plenty of friends surrounding him. No doubt that added to the enjoyment of the weekend.

  88. FH, I think they are an item for now. I saw and overheard things. I felt a bit dirty picking up the scoop. I had to clue my friend who knows nothing about Taylor. She agrees that for now they are an item and I made her laugh about getting bad seats, yet getting a scoop. Cyrstal paid no attention to any song he sang. She yaked to her friends there and texted the entire shows. Proof! I wasn’t in his suite. This is not a theory to prove. I just had so much fun, for not being front and SP center, and yet getting a good scoop. She just tried so hard to blend in with the 1200 peeps at each of the 6 shows. Sat. night they partied and Sun. night they flew. He did impress the Epcot audiences.

  89. Too bad that aren’t getting any press over this relationship. They make a nice looking couple and celebrities. One would think they would have been photographed together by some media-especially with all the events going on. It would be great exposure for both of them being photographed together….especially if that relationship has been going on for almost a year. Taylor needs to be seen with women.

  90. Even if they were a real couple, nobody cares about a nobody soap actress and an AI winner who never did anything with the opportunity that was given to him.

  91. Raven, Cut the BS. You just gave yourself away on who you are. LMAO!

  92. cf…sorry that should have said CL not cf…and I’m sure you know who the the “other “idol is that I am referring to.
    However that aside I do hope that this is something that brings Taylor happiness . Nice for him to have someone special.

  93. mamaforpeace Says:

    Wow!!!

  94. Glad to know he won’t be falling in love with me Raven. My heart is all broken and tore up over that one.

    FYI-I don’t give a flying fuck on who knows who I am or not. That’s not a secret and never was.

  95. So, why did you name yourself casualfan? So, you can fool people, yet again.

  96. Raven, Why are you attacking? Anytime someone mentions a gf, you fly into a rage and get all crazy. You call ppl liars and are determined to start a fight.

    Seriously, none of this is worth it. Think and say what you want about me. I don’t owe you or anyone an explanation. This is cyberspace and it’s just not that important. 😉

  97. Can’t we have peace?

  98. Rosie, I’m glad you had a great time and got to listen to some great talent. It can’t be denied that Taylor is a powerhouse live and commands the stage.

    Hopefully his upcoming cd will amplify that and he will continue building his fan-base.

  99. I want everybody to know Crystal Hunt was no where near Epcot.

    Rosie has made up this story because she has no life and she gets a kick out of fooling gullible people.

  100. Gee, I don’t know why Taylor doesn’t come out and tell everyone he has a girl friend. Hmmm…… could it be because…. If he is seeing a beautiful girl and keeps it under wraps then someone says they are not REALLY a couple. AND if he appears with her on the red carpet or has photographers take pictures of them then he’s accused of being in a fake relationship for publicity only. Yea…. that must be it. I think he’s got the right idea… keep the private life as private as possible.

  101. Dee-All celebs have that problem, it’s not just Taylor. Sometimes I wonder if he is seen more with women-fake or not, it will give him more positive exposure and some of the craziness in the fan-base wouldn’t be so intense.

    If the girl doesn’t lead a public life I can see the privacy issue but they are both celebs and share the same publicist. There are tons of pics of Crystal with her ex’s out on the Net. Not a bad thing all the time.

  102. Raven, one thing you can count on is I do not lie. Are you impaired mentally? Do you lie and suspect others do the same on a regular basis? Just when I’ve begun to think you may have it together, you post some insane rant or accusation. WTH!

  103. Unless you come up with proof, your story is complete and utter bullshit.

    Of course, you can’t come up with any proof because Crystal was never at Epcot. You need a VIP pass to be backstage and anywhere near his dressing room and I strongly doubt they gave you a pass, so you are already caught in a lie.

  104. Girlfriend or not…the boy home the goods…as always.

  105. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    Rosie, thanks for your recap….I had planned to go to Epcot, but it conflicted with some family events, so they came first…I appreciate you taking the time to recount all you saw and the reactions of your friend. I’m sure it was a great show. And since you were there, and others were not, I think your statements take precedence..Good for Taylor if he has a relationship. I’m sure most everyone wishes him well , and will respect his right to a private life.

  106. My friend kept bitching that he wore the same outfit for the shows. I laughed and pointed out he has several long sleeved dark blue shirts and that he had a 40-45 min. break between each set. I never said Tay and Crystal are in a serious relationship. They are obviously still seeing each other and perhaps they all went out as a group. There was a door on the stage on the one side. She and her group opened that door and entered about 5 -10 minutes after his final show on Sat. night. We were not stalking anyone but had gone back across to buy something at the American Pavillion and happened to see it. Seriously, it is funny how some fans react to anyone he is seen with or follows on twitter. I was so surprised that he did not play his harp for his final set and that he sang an unfamiliar song. He seemed a tad worn out by his 6th set. We did score the 5th row for that set and could see Sam and Jeff do their thing. However, the best way to gage the general audience is to sit further back. The audience was into the band and Taylor for sure and seemed to like his tags and the harp and piano duels. He needs to do Back To Louisana at all his shows, as he does it so well and it is a catchy tune. He should perform at Epcot every year, since so many new people are exposed to him. I doubt my friend will pay to see him or buy his CD’s but she did say he is very talented as a singer and was most impressed with his harp playing and the entire band. I am now 100% certain this band is the best for Taylor and I love how he gives the guys the spotlight.

  107. So Rosie, anybody can open a door at Epcot and get it? Oh yes, there is no security at Epcot, especially around doors at the stage area! Riiiiiiight! Anybody can go wherever they want to, no questions asked. So, why did you say the first time it was his dressing room? LMAO at your utter nonsense & stupidity!

  108. One more thing, Rosie. Do you know what paragraphs are? Guess you weren’t listening when your English teacher tried to teach you about paragraphs or it was so long ago, you forgot everything you learned in school.

  109. Raven, give it a rest!!

    Yeah, paragraphs play an important role in our society, but, then again, so should manners. I’ll take manners over paragraphs any day. I’ve read many novels with quite lengthy paragraphs – it is okay, just a style of writing. Not the end of the world…..

    Rosie, nice to hear you enjoyed the show – the videos someone has so nicely shared are great!

  110. If you are going to post in blogs, I would say it is important to know what a paragraph is. Obviously, Rosie doesn’t know what a paragraph is.

    http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/606/01/

  111. I think Rosie is perfectly OK using conversational writing rather than formal here. Doesn’t bother me at all. Now… when someone has horrible spelling that bothers me. LOL.

  112. First paragraph will be all about Raven’s hang ups about ageing.

    Second paragraph will concern Raven being a bully.

    Third paragraph will detail Raven’s affinity for calling others liars.

    Final paragraph will adress Raven’s fears of Tay one day settling down with someone other than her.

  113. It’s hard to read Rosie’s nonsense without paragraphs. I don’t think anybody would disagree with me. Actually, it usually gives me a huge headache.

  114. blueberry Says:

    “You have absolutely no clue who I am, you dumb lady and you would be shocked if you knew.”

    Well, do tell! Maybe we’ll be shocked, maybe not, but let’s play and find out!

  115. Raven…Give it a rest..no one else had a problem with rosie’s story but you..perhaps the headache comes from such a small brain trying to process all those words.

  116. Seriously Raven, you must know by now I don’t care who you are, where , when or why. Your put downs don’t bother me. When I tease you back, you show by your angry rants that you have no sense of humor.

    I’m over the BB saga. I joked about it with some at Epcot. The only issue I have is that I wish that those who complained about anything I said on here or on Chills, would have had the balls to address me and the problem on either open blog. Seems some said I misinterperted what they wrote on the BB. Could be they misinterperted what I wrote here. The main purpose of the internet is to communicate front and center and not hide behind pm’s. But that is JMO.

    If you or anyone has any problem with the fact I mentioned Crystal was there both nights or that we saw her and her little group go in the door at the front facing stage right door, after the place cleared out, so be it. It is a white building right on the stage and I assume it is a dressing room for the acts.

    Lastly, I would surmise that some on the BB. may not have approved of me making merry over the fact that getting rotten seats had some advantage. I joke, I speak my mind and that’s it. I did not mention to any fans that I met there that Crystal was there, as I respect their privacy.

  117. casualfan Says:

    LOL! All this talk about security doors and going into private areas reminds me of The Roxy. Someone who isn’t welcomed to be around Taylor made her way up the stairs into where T was before the show. All of a sudden BW came flying out of a dark corner and up the stairs with a really big security guard. The unwanted guest was taken out of that area.

    BW can be loads of fun, but when it comes to security detail….it ain’t pretty. Taylor has trained his guard dogs well. 😉

  118. hicksaholic Says:

    Damn…. has Taylor made a lot of enemies?

  119. But here’s the thing Rosie: you had her dressed to go out with Taylor Saturday night and dressed to travel back to b’ham on Sunday. It’s like you had personal first hand knowledge of his private life. Which we all know you didn’t. So if you heard her convo maybe you would like to share with the rest of the class.

Leave a Reply

