This is just…wow…and random Taylor stuff.

I am absolutely loving me some Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. Her voice is absolutely amazing.



Yesterday he said my eyes
Were fading fast away
I said well what do you expect
You asked me not to stay and if it had all been for the best
I wouldn’t feel this way
And he said

Oh he said it’s crazy
How love stays with me
You know it hurts me
Cause I don’t wanna fight this war
It’s amazing to see me reading through this scene
Of love and fear and apologies

My love is like a blanket
That gets a little bit too warm sometimes
I wanna wrap somebody in it
Who can hold me in his arms
Cause when it got a little too hot in there
He was always stepping out for air and he froze
Oh he froze

He said it’s crazy
How love stays with me
You know it hurts me
Cause I don’t wanna fight this war
It’s amazing to see me reading through this scene
Of love and fear and apologies

Yesterday he looked at me
With a tear in his eye and said
I’ll always tell you you’re my friend
I hope i don’t have to lie
Cause it’s clear you love another man
I said you’re damn right

And he said
He said it’s crazy
How love stays with me
You know it hurts me
Cause I don’t wanna fight this war
It’s amazing to see me reading through this scene
Of love and fear and apologies
He said it’s crazy
How love stays with me
You know it hurts me
That i didn’t figure it out before
And now it’s too late for a soliloquy
It’s way too late for dignity
It’s time for apologies

On a Taylor note…I’ve been watching Celebrity Ghost Stories. Not for Taylor, but because I love that stuff. I have lots of stories from my childhood, but that’s for another post, or another blog perhaps. Anyway, I remember Taylor saying he taped an episode, but there’s only a couple of episodes left this season and he’s not on them. So, what gives?

And just because I know some of you out there enjoy some good pictures…take a peek at this.

And for Dee….check Jimmy Smith out!!

188 Responses to “This is just…wow…and random Taylor stuff.”

  1. Thanks for carrying over Jimmy Smith. He’s a nice kid. Paying his dues. Trying to make it. He tried out for Idol this year and got called back but was ulitmately told he wasn’t what they were looking for this year. Not sure what that meant? Other than maybe they want to stear clear of the “singer song writer” types this year. Probably looking for a Justin Beiber type. LOL.

  2. I have to agree with the Justin Beiber clone thing. I think with their ratings drop and Judge problems, they are now making it even tougher on the auditions.

  3. crazymomelon Says:

    Um. So, here’s what I’m seeing: This site is using an interest in Taylor Hicks as a vehicle for new (and some slightly used) acts hoping to get noticed. I can appreciate that, but I wish the resulting interest put some $ in Mr. Hicks’ pocket. Dude should really open a club.

  4. This site is using an interest in Taylor Hicks as a vehicle for new (and some slightly used) acts hoping to get noticed.
    ===============================================
    Not sure what you are talking about regarding “slightly used acts”, but I’m pretty sure that Taylor himself talks often of other musicians and has promoted a few himself.

    If Grey is really wants for attention to this blog, mentioning the name Taylor Hicks isn’t her best option at this point.

  5. If Grey is really wants for attention to this blog
    ==========================================
    That should be: If Grey really wants attention for this blog

  6. crazymomelon Says:

    Well, Taylor Hicks is the only reason I pay the occasional visit here. There are more than a few “new” music sites out there.

  7. Crazy not sure where you are coming from. This site is not being used as a vehicle for anything. I won’t even comment on the wishing the interest put some money in Taylor’s pocket because it is a ridiculous comment. This site is what it is… a group of Taylor fans who like a wide variety of music and like to talk about it. It’s just that simple …no alterior motives.

  8. mamaforpeace Says:

    Seems to me the great GC blog had a lot of sharing of artists other than TH. As a matter of fact, most TH blogs do, even the BB has a section for other artists. That is one of the great things about being a Taylor fan, b/c HE is so much into the music, what with the tagging and all. Sorry, as people often say here, you absolutely have a right to your opinion, but this comment makes no sense at all.

  9. Goodness gracious, heavens to Betsy, and Nellie put the damn mule in the barn before it storms!!! I’ve been posting comments, my thoughts, here since week 1. Now I’m afraid to write a damn thing about any comment or topic. I never thought that I, rosie, would be stifled. I had good intentions and was honest and Kinda Nice. I never felt mean, and the thing about fishing and baiting threw me for a loop. I did in retrospect, as a newcomer, eventually get why some on Morph’s thought I was a troll. But dang it why here? I’ve sometimes been the 1st to post on a topic. I don’t call peeps names, cuss out peeps or call them stupid or laugh at them. Heck I was one of the enthusiasitic, die hard regulars here. IAG, there is the possability you just don’t get me or like me or have read more into my comments over these many months than my intents, or purpose. Way back, over a yr ago, I stated to CF we were now friends. She said on this public blog, she did not like or trust me. WTH! The nonsense of grudges and put downs and anything else over Hicks, is just not worth it. How can anyone give a detailed honest opinion of him, his music, his career path since he won AI without some other super sensitive female taking offense? Wish I knew. I merely responded to the last thread topic, gave my opin about clearing the air, and meant no harm, hurt or insult. I don’t go over, come over anywhere and act innocent or naive and hope/wish someone finds it “cute”. Geesh! I’ve cleared my soul and damn, I’m proud of doing it and even feel a bit “ballsy”, but never ever will I = Tay’s balls and I’m talentless.

  10. mamaforpeace Says:

    I like you, Rosie, and I think you are funny:)

  11. crazymomelon Says:

    September 8, 2010 at 6:53 pm
    Well, Taylor Hicks is the only reason I pay the occasional visit here. There are more than a few “new” music sites out there.
    ===============================================
    Same can be said for Taylor sites crazymomelon. There are several fan sites dedicated to 100% Taylor…just sayin.

  12. Way back, over a yr ago, I stated to CF we were now friends. She said on this public blog, she did not like or trust me.
    ===============================================
    😉

  13. On another note…AI Ruben Studdard is getting his acting feet wet with an Independent filmed called “Lifted” which will be shown at the Alabama Film Festival this year. The little clip I saw of him doesn’t look bad.

    CONGRATS TO RUBEN!

  14. Taylor tweeted this a few hours ago…..

    ***sighs at the peeps who don’t care for us talking about other musicians on this site***

  15. hicksaholic Says:

    CF,
    Is that the same film Taylor has a cameo in? About a young kid trying to break into show business?

  16. Dammit!! I missed Ray LaMontagne on tv last night. Sucks.

  17. hicksaholic Says:

    September 9, 2010 at 6:46 am
    CF,
    Is that the same film Taylor has a cameo in? About a young kid trying to break into show business?
    ==============================================
    They say T is in it, but I haven’t seen a clip as I did with Ruben and someone tweeted that Tay has NOT been confirmed being in the movie. That is why I didn’t mention him. But if T is in it, then CONGRATS to him also!!!!!

  18. Chin up, Rosie…it is just another persons’ opinion..the only opinion of you that matters is the opinion you have of yourself

  19. Taylor was not in the credits so I’m guessing he isn’t in it. He was in Grease at the time so it would have been hard to fit it in more than a cameo. From my understanding it’s a small film that may not have much of a release but it’s a start for Ruben.

  20. The clip I saw of Ruben is pretty good. He’s a sweet heart. Met him a few years back.

  21. NotYourGrandma Says:

    Crazymomelon, thank you. You are absolutely right. You are the voice of reason and fairness. Thank goodness for you girlfriend. Everyone knows that Taylor Hicks’ fan base is extremely powerful and a major force on the internet and in the world of fan bases. It’s obvious this site is just a ploy to drive traffic to other artists that really need fans, since we all know Taylor Hicks does not need fans. Taylor has billions of fans and they are all reading this blog. Each time another artist is mentioned on this blog, that new and slightly used artist gets a brand new fan base. How is that fair to Taylor?

  22. It’s nice to see peeps posting again here and everywhere after the holiday lull. Tay is tweeting and watching vids. I Live On A Battlefield.

  23. ROFLMAO!

  24. taylorfan06 Says:

    Great job on this cover. I saw this performed for the first time at The Belly Up in Solana Beach last year. I spoke with Josh Smith before that show and he told me they something new planned for the end of the show. I remember many people groovin’ to it, including me. I love this very rousing version! There’s nothing like Live Taylor. He’s just fun, and talented! Duh!!!

  25. taylorfan06 Says:

    This pales a bit in comparison. Just not a fan of that voice. That’s my right.

  26. taylorfan06 Says:

    This is an excellent cover of another GH classic. I highly recommend the “Concert For George” dvd that this song comes from. The performance is just phenomenal. I feel that is truly an ultimate take of such a beautiful song with Paul McCartney and Eric Clapton on lead vocals and Ringo on drums, among other top notch talent. Check out the dvd. I’m due to watch it again real soon.. Enjoy all! (sorry the visual is not available)

  27. taylorfan06 Says:

    Taylor did a damn good job himself. I mean the guy’s no slouch.

  28. taylorfan06 Says:

    and what is “balminess?” that simon…. what an ass(hole)!!!!!

  29. Balminess must have a different translation in England. Ya don’t need to be Kelly Pickler to be confused by Simon’s use of balminess. Watching the AI5 rewind shows, I noticed Simon was an equal opportunity disser. Tay did great on all the above cover songs.

  30. I think Something is my favorite performance of his from AI. He did a very good job on that one.

  31. You know what’s so amazing about music? I can watch that Something video and it takes me right back to that time. I can remember the excitement of watching Taylor every week…to see what to see what he was going to do to a song to make it his. I can remember thinking how he had such great things in store for him.

  32. Guess I don’t have to miss Ray L on Leno:

  33. That was top5 week and his other song was Play That Funky Music from his birth yr. Taylor and Chris were my 2 favorites, but that week I voted for Tay due to Something. Now that I’m a huge fan I watch the rewind shows with a different perspective. I See just how good Tay was both in voice and presentation. It is no joke that he was meant for the stage. Everything he did in the Something clip including his reactions to the judges and interaction with Ryan was perfect. I also have noticed via the rewind shows, how genuinly happy his friends seemed to be for him. I hope Tay reclaims some old fans and draws new ones, as he deserves it.

  34. And I forgot to mention how much this cracked me up!!

    If Grey is really wants for attention to this blog, mentioning the name Taylor Hicks isn’t her best option at this point.

  35. LOL. Grey. Good one.

  36. taylorfan06 Says:

    watching that “bulletproof” video, which was so fucking great, especially since i was there just 10 feet from Taylor, makes me wonder how this would sound if he ever did a studio recording. we all know how most of what he does plays better live, but it would be great to have a studio version in my ever growing music library.

    also what happened to the string he used to have on his wrist. wasn’t he looking to wear it until he achieved a certain something? it seems that there was something about that back in the day. anyone remember?

  37. taylorfan06, the string has been gone for a long time. He never revealed what it meant or who gave it to him.

  38. taylorfan06 Says:

    that’s something i’ll (or someone should) ask about. i wonder if he accomplished what he set out to do? it did signify a certain goal i think.

  39. taylorfan06 Says:

    that’s when i see him next… god knows when he’ll be back in SoCal.

  40. Maybe he wore it until he had a million dollars free and clear in the bank. I think it disappeared in late 07. String is a funny term for it as it was an elastic band. Remember when he was on the Chelsea Handler show to promote TD cd and he had a string and tag hanging from his pants? She either didn’t notice or lost her snarky sense of humor that night.

  41. TF6-That piece of string was a black hair tie which stands for “support original music”. John Mayer wears one also as do many musicians.

  42. Who’s John Mayer??

  43. Casual, what ever happened to your SLO vids? You could be a SP hero by posting them on u tube. The only vid that has shown up from that show is Back To Louisana and he played lots of harp on it. The crowd seemed into it.

  44. taylorfan06 Says:

    Who’s John Mayer??

    _____________________________

    Very funny Rosie. Don’t understand his appeal?

  45. Enjoy!

  46. Since these aren’t well known and are slightly used musicians, bringing them over here on the Taylor Hicks fan blog for exposure. 😉

  47. luv 2 b entertained Says:

    Thanks CF!! Slow Dancing in a Burning Room is one of my favorites from JM. Beautifully painful lyrics and that guitar….Oh MY!!! Of course those lyrics just can’t compare to New Found Freedom ; )

    If I knew how to embed, I’d add “Edge of Desire” from the new cd. Brilliant!

    So what’s this about Taylor in a movie with Ruben?? Hmmm..is it going to be like Kelly Clarkson’s debut….”From Ruben to Taylor”?? Lol

  48. Nope…not fellin” John Mayer at all…no matter how much I listen..but the Eric Clapton/Sheryl Crow…good dtuff!!!!

    I’m afraid JM would put me to sleep at a concert

  49. LOL! Anne, I didn’t care for JM when I first heard him. It took awhile for me to develop an appreciation for him. Actually, (again) it goes back to Taylor. I started listening to Mayer after he expressed his deep appreciation for Taylor’s originality and talent on AI.

    That’s why I’m glad there is so much music out there for different ppl and tastes.

  50. Who’s Eric Clapton? Does he have any CDs out or anything? Maybe Taylor can play some harp for him and give him the boost he needs to really become successful.

  51. taylorfan06 Says:

    Taylor does Clapton very well IMO

  52. taylorfan06 Says:

  53. soulaz Says:

    September 10, 2010 at 7:10 pm
    Who’s Eric Clapton? Does he have any CDs out or anything? Maybe Taylor can play some harp for him and give him the boost he needs to really become successful.
    ==============================================
    Just some slag who’s passing himself off as a musician…I mean the nerve!

  54. I think No Name Clapton pawned some of his band off on Taylor in past shows to gain attention for himself. Loser….

  55. Taylor could give lessons to people on how to win American Idol, but of course they would have to already have at least as good a voice as him. There are so many famous successful singers who wouldn’t make the cut on AI. But we all know that. From watching the 2 vids TF6 posted, I noticed Taylor is more confident on stage now than he was in 07.

  56. taylorfan06 Says:

    Great cover of the Stephen Bishop classic from ’77. LOVE THIS ONE!!!
    I was just in the mood for it and thought i’d share. Watch and enjoy all.

  57. taylorfan06 Says:

    On a much more serious note…

  58. On and On is a beautiful song and he did it justice. That was the time, May 08, when I started checking out Tay just about daily. I saw the 3 songs he did that day and was blown away and went and checked out most of his past performances. Thanks for posting.

  59. Here’s hoping Taylor had or will have a feast at the Gala. I read somewhere that Mike Douglas is with him. I don’t get the need for him to have his lawyer attend things with him. Then again, I thought he should have hired an experienced “entertainment lawyer” as soon as he won AI. I know he and Mike go way back and that Mike may have given Tay free advice about the AI contract from the get go when he auditioned. However I thought it was like hiring a GP to do a vasectomy. Wonder if things would have turned out better if as soon as the AI tour ended, Tay would have capatolized on his celeb and announced a move to LA and teamed up with the big boys. Maybe the shadow gigs were a mistake in more ways than one. He pissed off the PTB, hung out with his Bama boys, and while thousands screamed for him and tried to touch him, payed big bucks to see him on the 06 tour, he was giving it away for free late at night in the joints. I don’t blame him, but perhaps he couldn’t after so many yrs of struggle, grasp all it should and could have been. I don’t know if Fantasia is a dunce or smarter than most think. I do know that her scandal, so called suicide attempt, has landed her on all the talk shows and her new CD is #1. Tay has always come across as a nice guy, and I think he thinks he was savy about the music business. Perhaps being naive or appearing so, humble, needy and vulnerable wins the game. And damn, who has ever been hurt in the last 45 yrs. by a scandal? A visit from any muse, can confuse…

  60. mamaforpeace Says:

    Fantasia has a fantastic voice. I think she should have been on top of the charts a long time ago. Maybe it just takes time to get away from the AI label.

  61. Here’s hoping Taylor had or will have a feast at the Gala. I read somewhere that Mike Douglas is with him. I don’t get the need for him to have his lawyer attend things with him. Then again, I thought he should have hired an experienced “entertainment lawyer” as soon as he won AI.
    ==============================================
    He IS an experienced entertainment lawyer. He has worked with other musicians besides Taylor and he has done work with the NFL commission.

    I’m glad MD gets to travel to events with Taylor. They are close friends and is always looking out for his clients best interest. Hicks is indeed in good hands with Mr. Douglas.

  62. I type, therefore I am. Mama, she has a great voice and the judges proclaimed her the best talent and voice on Larry King. Her genre was a bit more in than Taylor’s but not mainstream. Time to get away from the AI label??? How about time enough to prove to the doubtful, and the ardent voters that your just aren’t a Jen Hudsons, don’t have class or morals. Oh Yeah, Mama! For sure she got away from being the 3rd American Idol. My point was scandal =’s press and success and money.

  63. Learn something new everyday. I had no knowlege that Mike specialized in entertainment.

  64. I didn’t say he specialized in entertainment law. I said that he has experience.

  65. MFP-Agree with you on Fantasia. She has amazing talent.

  66. My post was not just about Tay’s lawyer friend Mike D. or about Fantasia. I hope other readers of my comments will read a bit more into it than zeroing into Fantasia as a talent and Mike Douglas as Tay’s lawyer of choice.

  67. hicksaholic Says:

    I had a brain freeze- when I saw Mike Douglas I was thinking Michael Douglas. I thought Tay had really moved up in the world if he was hanging at a cancer event with Michael Douglas.

    Rosie,
    I get what you are saying. I too wonder if Taylor made several decisions he wished he could do differently now. I doubt Mike Douglas is one of them though. Just my gut feel, no inside knowledge. But it is what it is and certainly he made a lot of right decisions because he’s a hell of a lot better off now than pre-idol. His decision making changes would have occurred post idol as you state.

  68. hicksaholic Says:

    I also think Taylor was not at all comfortable with all the LA types coming at him toward the end of his idol run and immediately afterwards when his popularity was thru the roof. He seems to keep a tight group of people around him that he knows and trusts. Maybe all those years of struggling made him very suspicious of people’s true intentions.

  69. So, if I am to understand correctly . . . Taylor’s career is not as successful as it should be because:

    1. He decided Mike Douglas should be his lawyer

    2. He decided play the shadow tour gigs with LMBO

    3. He decided to maintain close relationships with those who truly care about him instead of going “Hollywood.”

    4. He decided to NOT pretend to kill himself for attention.

    Okay . . . got it. I think there might be a pattern here, but it’s going to take much rumination and obsessive analysis to figure it out.

  70. Lol, Soulaz. you forgot that it was all the fault of TPTB. I was out dining and drinking with friends last night, and thus made less sense than usual. Perhaps Tay could pretend to flip out and rant and rave about TPTB wrecking his career, then swallow some sleeping pills and have Mike call for the ambulence. Then they could file a law suit against AI for hurting Tay’s career, spill all the AI beans and make the rounds of the talk shows.

  71. Grey, the final Ghost Story season 2 episode is on Sat. night. Hopefully, there will be season3 and Tay story will make it, but so far there is no information about a 3rd season.

  72. If Taylor ever did have second thoughts I’m sure he’s way past that now. The way I see it super stardom is like lightening. It can’t be predicted for sure. All the elements may be there but it may or may not strike. I think now that there have been several seasons of AI the super stars are the exceptions rather than the rule. Somehow the media got in a rut of thinking that winning AI brought huge sales and stardom. But let’s face it Kelly and Carrie are the only winners who are in that catagory. Ruben, Cook, Allen even Fantasia are not in Kelly & Carrie’s league. Daughtry had a big bust out & his last CD did well but not like the first one and his career is strickly song driven. If the hits don’t keep coming he’s not going to be seen as a success for long. Ruben did every thing TPTB told him too. The same with the others. It has not made a big difference. They all, like Taylor, have to keep out there working. The lightening bolt of huge success did not strike them but they are still in a good place they are working and making music. Who knows what is down the road for any of them.

  73. hicksaholic Says:

    Excellent post as usual Dee.

  74. hicksaholic Says:

    I wish Taylor was a prolific songwriter but I don’t think he is. And even if he was I doubt his songs would be in the genre that’s popular now. You’re probably right about Daughtry but he does seem to be a prolific songwriter and he’s country. If you can write commercially successful songs you have some power.

  75. Great post Dee.

    soulaz-As usual, you make me laugh! Thanks so much for posting again.

  76. mamaforpeace Says:

    Yeah, Dee!

  77. hicksaholic Says:

    Ray LaMontagne and Levon Helm coming to the Saenger in Mobile. I know Ray LaMontagne is great live. Anybody heard Levon Helm live?

  78. taylorfan06 Says:

    He’s like buttah! A BIG STICK OF BUTTAH!!! LOL

    The best! Buy those tickets H.

  79. hicksaholic Says:

    Thanks tf06- I believe I will!

  80. My boss is a huge Levon Helm fan. Levon has been doing private concerts at his farmhouse in Upstate NY, where my boss was a guest. He says Levon is an incredible performer and really down to earth, but is getting OLD! His lungs are really bad, and I think he’s sick…so this may be his last concert for a while. The BAND were epic! and Levon was a major part of the reason they were. Love, love, love Ray L, so if they’re in the NYC area, I’m gonna see them!

  81. Tickets on sale for Ray L yet, Hicks? Are you gonna go see Taylor in Biloxi?

  82. Hope y’all get to see Ray! It’s all about the music!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  83. Hicksaholic — I’ve seen Ray LaMontagne live (solo acoustic show) and Levon Helm live (at the Newport Folk Fest). Both were absolutely stellar, and this double bill should be phenomenal. It’s true that Levon’s lungs are shot, but he has other lead singers do the work, and his energy on drums and pure love for the music more than makes up for it. I wouldn’t be surprised if Ray did a lot of singing with Levon’s band. The highlight for me at Newport was a group sing of “I Shall Be Released” with all the singers who had performed at Newport that day. It was really emotional and wonderful.

    So what I guess I’m saying is go get the tickets if you haven’t already! I’d be there myself but it’s too far south and I don’t have the time or funds to travel this fall.

  84. Does anyone know if Tay has any more shows or is his “bad ass” tour over with? Doesn’t he have some kind of TV appearance scheduled this week?

  85. CF, The TV appearence was this morning. He mentions tour dates.

  86. Thanks Dee.

  87. hicksaholic Says:

    Thanks for the video cf. I’m definitely getting tickets. You ought to go with me Fairhope. The CLA preferred tickets go on sale Thursday so that’s when I will get mine.
    Oh yes FH, I will definitely be in Biloxi for Taylor. I can’t wait! Plus, I am talking to my broker and friend and he’s agreed to see if we can get him for the MOT ball in 2012. That would be unbelievable!
    I thought Taylor was doing a charity event in Bham in the fall. I was counting on that. He really needs to get his ass to Workplay.

  88. I’m gonna try for tickets Friday morning. I’m sure it will be a sell out. Do you know anything about Biloxi yet? I’m trying to convince my mother that we should just stay the night at the Beau Rivage.

  89. Taylor was goofy, weird on Wendy Williams. I didn’t like it. And I am sick of SMB!!

  90. Fairhope Says:

    September 14, 2010 at 6:35 pm
    Taylor was goofy, weird on Wendy Williams. I didn’t like it. And I am sick of SMB!!
    =============================================
    Well Damn! It’s about time someone else besides me said it 😉

  91. I would have to agree, the goofy act is getting tiresome and he’s not convincing people that he’s a serious musician. Singing SMB is only tiresome for his fans, but most people don’t know the song, so that’s the song he should be singing, since the song is actually very good.

    I don’t know why Taylor is following a skanky actress/model who probably sheds her clothes at the drop of a hat. She is also following him. Read her twitter and it’s embarrassing, full of porn. Let’s hope Taylor used a condom if he did her because it looks like she might have every STD known to man. Lol!

  92. Huh? What skank?

  93. Go to Taylor’s Twitter account and look under Following. Her name is TaliaRusso. She is also following him.

    Looking at her photos, she looks like a porn star. Icky!

  94. Maybe she is a stripper. I heard Taylor liked professionals.

  95. LMAO! You guys are funny =)

  96. hicksaholic Says:

    I thought y’all were talking about Crystal Hunt(?)

  97. Crystal Hunt was his fake red carpet date.

  98. I’m getting tired of hearing SMB But this was a really GREAT version of it and I think he impressed a lot of people. As for the Goofy Tay, this is his inner Goofy that sometimes makes me cringe. LOL. I know he felt it served him well on Idol by making him stand out BUT Taylor if you are reading this ( yea I know he’s not. LOL.) BUT if he WAS I’d say LOSE the GOOFY TAYLOR,You are already sweet and adorkable you don’t need Goofy. LOL

  99. hicksaholic Says:

    Dee,
    I have to agree with you that this was a GREAT version of SMB. I watched thinking it was not going to be but I thought it was a lot better than a normal one person version. He was a little goofy I have to admit but I thought he just seemed comfortable (or on something,whatever) with Wendy and at least didn’t look like he hated being there. It’s always good if he looks like he doesn’t hate being there.

  100. I’ll be one of the happy ones when he hops back into the caves with his inspirational Muses and does some serious song writing. Looking forward to new music.

  101. I thought Taylor did great on the show both singing and personality wise. Being a bit of a ham is who he is and no one wants to watch someone who is a bore. He made an impression and knows what he is doing.

  102. Glad to see him making an impression Rosie. It’s always good to have talent and a great personality. Hopefully the masses will agree.

  103. No. It was just weird. He doesn’t do a “sistah” impression very well and it doesn’t look like the real “sistah” was impressed. She looked put off. He looked more gay than ghetto!!

  104. I agree that Wendy didn’t look impressed.

  105. Okay..I have to admit..I just watched the clip for the first time.

    I’m a little embarrassed. Wow.

  106. FH-I seriously heart you my friend. You keep it real in your opinions and definitely a breath of fresh air. 😉

  107. FH, I did not get that impression about Wendy. She seemed to be going with it. I think they must have talked before the show or during the break for him feel comfortable enough with her to play it over the top. JMHO. LOL.
    But I agree with a few others “Over the Top” Taylor I can do without. LOL.

  108. Hope this goes thru as my first posting seems to have disappeared somewhere in hyperspace. It just never posted. Odd. Re: Wendy Williams show: In the beginning I don’t believe Wendy was too impressed at the prospect of having Taylor on the show. Every time she mentioned him she seemed to stammer & stutter with apprehension. She had never met him before & probably had never seen him perform in person. Also, she might have read or heard negatives about him. She seemed, however, to enjoy his performance & clapped along with the audience. She also stood and applauded at the end of his performance. Her question during the interview about him being cute & are you married, was probably coming more from her than a fan. His fans know his marital status. I have no doubt she liked him. I did notice, however, the weight gain. For his height Taylor is small boned. A bigger boned man could handle that weight – Taylor can’t. The first places his weight gain goes to is his chin & tummy. He still is handsome, though. Would like to have known more about the TV & movie offers.

  109. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    Excellent version of 7MB…and I’m also tired of it. He sang it better than I’ve ever heard it. As to his goofyness….didn’t care for it, but he is what he is.

  110. It’s getting harder and harder for me to defend him when he does crap like that. Maybe he gets nervous and can’t stop himself. Maybe it’s tourettes.

  111. Wendy is the host and acts impressd about all the talent as that is her job to help make her guest look good and interesting. When Taylor did interviews after he won AI, some in the press found him to be surprisingly boring. It either is or isn’t all about the music, but I think he made the most of his brief screen time yesterday and he wasn’t boring.

  112. FH, I also found your being open and honest refreshing. You said what a lot of peeps were thinking and you can even read between the lines on the BB to know that. Since so many said he did great with the song, I watched it 3 times and I have to agree it was his best version and he looked good singing it. His best version of The Right Place was on The View. So say what you will about Taylor, the guy knows his music and how to take the TV stage to perform and sing.

  113. NotYourGrandma Says:

    Um, so how many more years is he going to try to milk the Distance as his new album? Why doesn’t he just make a new album? I don’t get it.

    That interview came across definitely more gay than ghetto. His comments about “all those film and TV offers” are irritating. He’s been saying that for almost a year now, and nothing has panned out. Would bet both arms and legs he’s got no offers unless it’s like Celebrity Rehab. Kidding. Sort of. I don’t think he will ever make a come back because in order to do so he would have to make big changes and there are definitely no changes being made. The problem is not negative press or bad luck or TPTB, the problem is really just him. He’s clueless and frankly, insincere.

    I was watching some of the John Mayer vids, when he performs he comes across like a professional and a seasoned musician. Taylor just seems excitable and frenetic on stage. I find him hard to take seriously.

  114. NotYourGrandma Says:

    I also want to add, I’d never heard of John Mayer until I visited this blog. I’d also never heard of the Beatles, Eric Clapton or Elvis either. This blog really opened my eyes to these slightly used musicians.

  115. mamaforpeace Says:

    For goodness sake! I’d never seen Wendy Williams before, and I think SHE is weird. Taylor sings 7MB because it’s a good song and he is reaching out to non fans. He’s always been a bit quirky, nothing new there. Why is this a surprise? I’m not one to defend Taylor, I’ve done my share of criticism (especilally about Grease), but mainly I don’t care that much. But I feel like a bunch of bullies are kicking the nerdy kid when he is down. Not cool! He did a very good job singing the song, and he certainly wasn’t “excitable” or “frenetic”. He might have been in the past, but he’s improved a lot. And considering the behavior of some artists these days (well, it’s always been that way really), TH is downright mellow!

  116. Well, I just watched the WW video for the first time just now. His SMB was excellent. I didn’t see that WW didn’t care for him. She came across to me as enjoying his performance, but that’s just MO.

    LMAO! Looks like “Taylorina” was taking a peek from the closet…ya think?

  117. I think Wendy was a Wendall and I have an acquaintance who had a sex change from male to female and she could be Wendy’s double, boobs, skin color, height and affect. Wendy liked Tay’s song and playing but don’t know if she was impressed by his jive. I knew he was in rare form because they showed him before they went to break and he was being goofy. I agree with Mama and disagree with no one’s grandma, no surprise there. Taylor’s talent is huge and if ya liked him on AI and liked his voice and music, then that should be enough. He works very hard at his craft and I think he is a good guy.

  118. I’m sure Tay watched Wendy’s show a time or two after he was booked to be on it to get a feel for what it is like. The bama boys are not into air kissing or cheek kissing and it showed. I hate that shit.

  119. I think T is into a lot of things most have no clue about (or don’t want to see) and what most “Bama Boys” wouldn’t do. 😉

  120. LOL CF!!!

  121. The idea of Taylor in a closet seems to fascinate you CF. Didn’t you post that you ex husband was in the closet, before he came out of same? Could that be why you just don’t accept the fact that Tay is straight? Were you also the one who implied he was into various drugs post AI? Just to be real, no need to use Taylorina in your put down humor as Taylor is a unisex name.

  122. Um, so how many more years is he going to try to milk the Distance as his new album? Why doesn’t he just make a new album? I don’t get it

    —————————————————————————
    NYG….he put the distance out in 2009..How often do you expect a new album

    Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood also put their last album out in 2009..so even with large record companies backing and writers clamoring to give them music to record their songs they don’t pump out albums every year…be patient.

    I thought that perfprmance of SMB was one of the best I’ve heard..I love that song…but I don’t tire easily of songs, people or things that I treasure.

  123. Yeah Rosie, that’s it. No getting anything past you.

  124. Rosie: I think you just crossed the line.

  125. It is a bit frustrating seeing him doing the same songs, but he really didn’t have the chance to promote the cd properly during his Grease run by way of gigs. Maybe he’s doing his final push for it now then moving on to new material in the upcoming year. (Hopefully anyway)

    TV/movie gigs are a wait and see thing for me. I’m still waiting for the CGS episode to materialize….pardon the pun. If T is going in that direction and becomes involved in writing forwards to books, Broadway shows then so be it. He’s marketing himself as a rounded entertainer these days so anything is possible. Doesn’t mean that any of us have to agree all of it.

    The “Taylorina” comment was only a reference to his behaviour and not on who or what he plays with. Naturally some are crawling all over it because it creates drama for them to discuss elsewhere and they thrive on it. Any talk of drug use has been discussed by way more ppl in this fandom than me so that’s not news. Taylor himself talks about it in his book. It’s always the same peeps that shout out the “we know it” or “You are the one who said this” crap.

  126. Fairhope Says:

    September 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm
    Rosie: I think you just crossed the line.
    ============================================
    FH-She crossed the line a long time ago. I find her pathetic and troubled.

  127. I don’t understand why some on here just have to put Taylor down and make fun of him it seems to me if u think he is a joke and is so bad at what he does and just want to put him down why u even bother to mention his name! Taylor was just having fun and kidding around on Wendy Williams show and he sounded great always sings songs different each time!

  128. CF, I do enjoy and respect your comments and those of others who joke about or put down Taylor. I find more in common here than with some on the BB. who just seem to at times either be in fantasyland, make all sorts of excuses as to why he does not have a better attendance at shows and seem to be stuck in the past. Some still have to fight the Idol battles of season 5, a very sad thing and which has nothing to do with Hicks now or anyone else. I just like and enjoy his music knowledge and presentation and voice. I admire his courage and dedication to try to score fame and acknowedegement of his skills as a singer and harp player, and great entertainer. I do try to be open, honest and frank. I get misjudged as do others who speak out. I think some long time fans have gotten jaded by the fact they thought he was great, the next super star of the music world, and when that turned out to not be the case, they chose to attempt to put down Taylor. Others chose to put down TPTB, AI and even Chris and if all that failed then popular music, radio, the taste of the general public, his label, promos and the press. It is a web, a damn useless spider web, a circle of blame, just randomly caste depending on one’s point of view. Some are never going to like Taylor. Some who do are going to complain about his songs, his post AI Cd’s. his demeaner and personal appearances, and career choices. The gay thing is a whole other thing. With so many uphill battles, post his big AI5 victory, he does not need the stress or ?’s of same from fans. Anyway, as always that is

  129. just my opinion and thoughts at this point in time. My puter froze up.

  130. The gay thing is a whole other thing. With so many uphill battles, post his big AI5 victory, he does not need the stress or ?’s of same from fans. Anyway, as always that is
    ============================================
    The only ones making this into a big deal is you and a few others Rosie. Most take it all in stride because it’s not to be taken seriously. I can’t fathom anyone taking what is said on this blog so serious as to damage his career…that is laughable. His career doesn’t operate from this blog.

    Why don’t you contact Judy Katz and discuss this with her? Taylor is the one who presented himself as a flaming queen in front of millions of people! Of course it will be misconstrued as such. You gonna blame me or this blog for that too?

    Any damage that’s been done to his career has been at the hands of Hicks himself along with the few missing links in need of a life who continue to mother and bully others.

  131. I think there is another blog that is obssessed with us.

  132. Comment by Henry8 on September 15, 2010 8:08 pm

    Oh for craps sake, I hadn’t made a trip to the nutty spot.
    Here we go. Raven/Secret Stare is jealous of someone hes following. I liked that person thought her twitter page was quite interesting and shows what a normal man Tay is for following her. But then I’M NOT JEALOUS OF THE PERSON.

    We have people planning trips at the same time they hate his goofiness. I say you don’t like it , TOUGH SHIT. Most of us LOVE IT. Don’t watch , you’ll save yourself and the rest of us a lot of pissed off time.

    Staw is embarrassed by him. Just like she was embarrassed by his rhinestone suit and Grease. Her children probably embarrass her too. Frankly she embarrasses me. According to her own accounts Her behavior at many shows was extremely embarrassing to many people. SHE IS AN IGNORANT ASS. There I said it and I’m glad I did. Afterall they are glad when someone puts Taylor down. So they should be able to take it.
    Bluz with her constant , years old snide comments about drugs, gayness, and other stupid crap that hasn’t panned out. Its way past old…. meow, wink.
    These are the same bunch of dumbasses that hung out at mfoya and ripped him apart , its just a sport with them.
    They have no problem with saying hurtful, degrading things about Taylor why should I care what I say about them.
    No one gives a crap about them or what they think and they can talk among themselves for the rest of their fucking loser lives. Have at it ASSHOLES.
    If you don’t like how he acts then DON’T WATCH. Simple as that.

    His performance on WW was great, he looked great was being a little silly on a silly show, just like everyone else. Anyone that likes the man, enjoyed it.
    JUST SHOVE IT!
    ==============================================
    I had to post this here…too damn funny. Henry8 is infamous for spreading lies and telling stories about ppl herself. She told all kinds of interesting tales in Chill’s underground blog a few years back then baited the sisters to go out and spread the news. She’s now pissed off because she’s put into moderation here and can’t post what she wants too so IAG is up real high on her “dedicated fans” list. 😉

    Keep on going with it Henry8! You are a true model of what makes Taylor Hicks proud of in the Soul Patrol! ROFLMAO!

    MEOW, MEOW!

  133. Oh and the gay rumors go back to his days at Auburn. I was talking to my Asst CEO who attended auburn and he said Taylor Hicks is gay. All the men in my office think it’s funny and make fun if him.

  134. CF and FH, I just read your comments. Got ya drift. Cf did post about her ex and I do get why you two think I crossed a line as in separating A personal experience from just a comment about Taylor’s sexual bent. Tay is just a celeb to poke fun of, whereas “we all are real peeps and being real and on line buds are special”. I know a celeb and they can and are hurt by press and so called real peeps comments, but given CF and the rest of us are just posters here, I did not mean to cross any line or hurt CF. “Pathetic and troubled”, is so not me. I just try to be real and get to the questions and answers, if there are answers or solutions. My suggestion is we not team up to diss anyone for stating any comment.

  135. CF’s husband is a private person, a “civilian”. He didn’t put is life out there like a celebrity. That’s where you crossed the line.

  136. If Taylor can’t handle us making fun of him, he’s in the wrong business!

  137. Fairhope Says:

    September 15, 2010 at 9:16 pm
    I think there is another blog that is obssessed with us.
    ===========================================
    They work as a team. 😉

  138. mamaforpeace Says:

    How sad that guys in an office would want to make fun of someone because they are (or are suspected of being) gay. So juvenile! Not to mention stupid and hurtful.

  139. Fairhope Says:

    September 15, 2010 at 9:27 pm
    If Taylor can’t handle us making fun of him, he’s in the wrong business!
    =============================================
    It’s not Taylor, it’s the fans who can’t handle it. Hell, he makes fun of himself.

  140. Did you see that psycho Henry 8 had a meltdown? What a nutcase! Lol!

    Anyone who is an entertainer is fair game to be made fun of, bashed or whatever. You are right FH, if Taylor can’t handle the criticism, he’s in the wrong business, but it’s not Taylor who can’t handle it, it’s his obsessed fans!

    Those women are idiots!

  141. Raven, I copied her post over here but it’s in moderation. LOL!

  142. Fair, if ya believe that, then why did ya even bother posting about inches you or no females will ever see even in a dim light? You and CF are in your own world of delusions and false rumors. Female Adam fans of all ages, post about how hot he is and I find it sad. If one wants to be about the body and sex, instead of the music, then at least go for someone like Ace. So much of what we post about here is about how Taylor looked and moved and performed on stage in concert. Where does that leave you 2 as far as being satisfied? You 2 must be 100% ga ga over his voice and song writing. But that’s OK. No one should care if he is gay or straight. They should refrain from falsehoods and rumors.

  143. I personally think that Taylor tosses out the catnip on purpose just to have the fans go at it. I mean seriously…..whenever the blogs go blah, all of a sudden he does or says something that triggers off the loons. Otherwise there’s nothing to talk about because nothing is happening.

    LMAO! WAY TO GO TAYLOR!

  144. No one should care if he is gay or straight.
    ==============================================
    Then why do you get so upset when the subject is brought up? You stated in an above post that you enjoyed my comments, but now in your last post you state that I’m in my own world of delusions and false rumors. Which is it?

    Regarding false rumors…prove which ones are false. Do YOU have any hard facts? Please show them to us. You are so convinced that YOU have all the answers.

  145. Rosie, all cf did was speculate. She didn’t say anything was fact.

    Now based on his interview with Wendy, do you deny that he acted goofy and gay?

  146. Wow…I didn’t know that I hung out at MFOYA. Thanks for the info, Henry!

  147. I AM Soooo damn relieved after watching the last WW video!!!! I read some posts at work above about how Goofy T was but couldn’t watch the video with internet controls, etc. After Grey and others said he was horribly Dorky and fat, I grimaced and swore not to watch! After a glass of wine and hubby being away, my defenses went down and I watched…..Alrighty!! As an EASTCOASTER, I know my Wendy Williams! She’s unique, she’s adorable, and this is her very first tv talk show. I’ve listened to her for years on the radio. Yeah, she’s very large and loud, but she’s also very kind, and, I think, adorable when you get to know her. To put the show in perspective, Wendy’s crowd is like a Sex In the City Fan Club…Big on fashion, NY and high Stylin’… Taylor’s 7 Mile Breakdown was like the Dukes of Hazard in NYC. While he sang it well, he missed his target audience.. That being said…. ; ) Taylor was not goofy or Gay in his interactions with Wendy. Hey, I’m his worst critic, and I think he played it VERY well… How Ya Doin’????

  148. LOL! IAG-I thought you would enjoy that.

  149. With nobody particular in mine (really!), I have found sooooo much enlightenment/relief from just stepping back and AWAY from the internet, that I can completely enjoy people’s input without taking anything personally. Breathe the fresh air!!!

  150. Yes, yes, yes… I have a friend who has only seen Tay once on AI and saw him on Martha and one other show and viewed some of the pics I showed her. She has said she knows he is gay and I’ve told her and told her he is not and why not. She’s a nurse with a very flexable 36 hr a wk schedule. When I watched him on W.W’s show yesterday, I was so pleased she did not call me, and thus did not watch. I do not think he is gay, but know that some here have fine tuned their gaydar. Heck, that is your problem not his. Whatever floats your boat and keeps you a fan. Just glad, that based on his most over the top TV appearance, that my GF and Hick nemesis did not view the Wendy show. I thought he song and preformed and looked great, and that his banter with W.W. was engaging.

  151. Rosie, I really did enjoy his performance of the song. Putting all the other nonesense and banter aside, we can’t deny that he is an exceptional performer.

  152. FYI-Just so you know….my husband died in April of 2001. Enough said.

  153. Hey Rosie, you started with name-calling, not me. Just remember that.

  154. CF, thanks so much and I do try to be honest and real and not offend. Sometimes I fail but I do mean well. I also make lame jokes and comments. A smilie is needed with a great wide open grin…

  155. A smilie is needed with a great wide open grin… 😉

  156. rosie, you are the biggest liar. You have offended so many people here. All you do is bait people here. You really should be ashamed of yourself. They say with age comes wisdom, I guess not in your case.

  157. LOL. Had to laugh at your tossing out the catnip comment CF. You might be right. IMO Taylor is actually gay or so straight and comfortable in his skin that he is brave enough to act a little gay. LOL. I mean you got to have some guts to sing and dance to Dancing queen the way he did. LOL. The guy knows the rumors are out there but obviously doesn’t care.

  158. Well said Dee…well said.

  159. Raven, calm down. I’ve been a part of this blog for a long time. I do not try to offend people and have gotten to kinda know and undertand the personalities of those who comment here. Tay was a quite a bit goofy on the show and showed a persona some may interpert as gayish and for me I was a bit taken aback. Who knows or cares why. Hey girl, you were so wrong about tf06. I do not lie, or make false accusations about peeps who post here. I called you out about your very public mistake about tf06. Your FU thing and rant is a part of who you are as a person and has nothing to do with me. Peace to you.

  160. Yes Dee, he obviously does not care. The rumor was he was very upset when some posted he was gay when he wore the purple jacket, as he thought it may affect the votes. I appreciate his talent, but as you know I’ve always said he is ballsy.

  161. Rosie, as you yourself said…it’s just a rumor and that’s all. I personally believe about 2% of what is said about Taylor, that includes what comes out of his mouth at times. He’s an expert bullshitter and we all know it. He’s a manipulator and can generally play the game well.

    If T wants to perfect his snap and add the bend to it, that’s his right to do so, but I don’t recommend for him to dress in drag. He would NOT make an attractive woman. 😉

  162. “Amazed but not amused” comes to mind…..

  163. hicksaholic Says:

    I don’t think Taylor’s gay, not that it matters to me. I’m not dating him, just enjoying watching and listening to him.
    I think off his AI win there were lots of journalists(if you want to call them that) that dug extensively into Taylor’s past to find out about the gay thing and they came up empty handed. Also, Taylor seems to have lots of guy friends- straight guy friends it appears. Not that it’s right but in Alabama o lot of straight guys don’t normally hang with a gay guy.

    Lots of entertainers act gay in front of an audience and are straight in real life. Them there are those that can turn up the heat with a woman on tv or in a movie but are really gay. So the way Taylor sometimes acts is just Taylor being performing Taylor. I doubt he puts on the “gay” act when he’s around friends and family.

    After all of that why do we care anyway?

  164. hicksaholic Says:

    ignore the typos, you get the gyst.

  165. Putting all of that aside…would love to see more of the same performance from him regarding the song delivery. Hopefully he will be back in the studio soon to record some great music…HIS music. That’s the Taylor I adore and always will. He recently said that his music comes from the right place, and he’s right.

    On a gay note…I guess I’m the only one in the free world who believes that Ryan Seacrest is straight.

  166. I think off his AI win there were lots of journalists(if you want to call them that) that dug extensively into Taylor’s past to find out about the gay thing and they came up empty handed.
    ===============================================
    They didn’t find anything on Clay Aiken either…just sayin’

  167. taylorfan06 Says:

    i think you can figure this one out…

    have a wonderful day everyone!!! seriously!

  168. taylorfan06 Says:

    great live act too (pun inteded)

    it just goes to show how fame is definitely fleeting…

  169. taylorfan06 Says:

    intended. (always with the typos…)

  170. taylorfan06 Says:

    LOL

  171. Taylor gay??? LOL – what are you talking about? Although he’s not getting it as much as he wants, he probably makes more sex pit stops than his fans realize – and with women. Taylor sometimes looks at desirable, attractive women as though they are the main item on the menu. He’s first delighted to see them, then he smiles, his eyes go to half mast, he talks slower, his cheeks contract, his lips become thicker. He sometimes licks them. It’s subtle, but he seems hungry for them – almost as though he want to eat them.

    Most closet gays fake attraction to women and tend to exaggerate. With them it’s always external – never internal. They pretend, and some of them do a pretty good job, but they are never really “all shook up. ” They are never the hunter after prey. Taylor is.

  172. Ange Blue, your descriptive paragraph about Tay when he meets an attractive woman is the funniest thing I’ve read in ages. I need better observation skills . Where were you last night? Case closed, Tay is not gay.

  173. LOL! Well Ange solved the case and has proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that Hicks isn’t gay! wooohooo!

  174. NotYourGrandMa Says:

    Uhh Ange, that was some of the weirdest shit I’ve ever read.

    Anyway, I read some of the posts above. That rant written by henry whoever is completely nuts. Wow. Anyone who gets that angry and maniacal over some guy they don’t even know seriously has no fucking life. It’s one thing to defend YOURSELF and write fifty rage filled paragraphs, its another to write that shit about a dude who doesn’t give a rats ass if she gets run over by a truck. This behavior is so scary. The obsession is scary. If she was a teenager at least one could rationalize. But I’m pretty sure this is like a grandmother type. I read stuff like that and count my lucky stars that my mother was never such a loser. Hey, do you think their families are aware that they are writing stuff like this on the internet? I feel bad for these people. Their greatest joy in life is following Taylor Hicks. Sorry but hahahahahhaah.

  175. Ange Bleu, Your description reminds me of the TV show “Lie to Me”. LOL. That’s the show where the main guy is suppose to have observation skills based on science to tell if someone is lying or how they are thinking or reacting to sometihing. LOL. I love that show.

    On another note Kids….let’s get off the topic of bashing each other or other people on other sites. Don’t care who started it…. let’s end it… OK ….getting off my little soap box. LOL.

  176. Okay! Which one of you gave Taylor an anal exam????

  177. My mind went dirty when I read Angie post about the swelling lips, Tay’s contracting cheeks and him wanting to eat pretty women.

  178. Oh barf, gag!! I’m gonna have nightmares about eyes at half mast, thick lips and anal probes!!

  179. Fairhope Says:

    September 16, 2010 at 5:01 pm
    Okay! Which one of you gave Taylor an anal exam????
    ==============================================
    This reminds me of the time Taylor made the comment that he felt like he had a camera in his rectum. LOL

  180. lol, I don’t know what the anal exam comment meant, but I didn’t give him an exam. I think someone implied I was too busy kissing CF’s ass and calling Tay goofy while planning my trip to Epcot to see him. The fan thing is serious business, but I never received my rule book.

  181. *sigh*

    I’m closing comments now because I just can’t watch anymore.

Comments are closed.

