A view from the outside…

Just got home from the concert. Now you have to know that this auditorium is a pretty big place. When I walked in, I thought…oh, surely more people will be there. But no, there were probably about 100 people there. Other than the two kids sitting behind us, I’m pretty sure that we, in our mid thirties, were among the youngest there. That being said, it was a fun crowd. We took our seats in the front row and awaited the arrival of Mr. Hicks. My tickets said no cameras, and honestly I’ve been debating for a while on whether or not to take pictures. I left my camera at home, but since I had my trusty iPhone with me, I assigned my friend to picture and video taking duty. She’s used to it. She’s done it at more than a few Taylor concerts.

Taylor came out…wearing boots, might I add. 🙂 Oh, and skinny jeans. As we were leaving the concert, one of the younger girls there said, “Skinny jeans? Really? He wore skinny jeans.” I don’t think she was impressed by his attire! HAHA! He seemed to be in a really good mood. He was very talkative between songs and nobody can direct a band like he can. It’s amazing. I watched the signals he gave the band to speed up, slow down and sometimes take songs in a whole new direction. He cracked jokes, even if he was the only one laughing at them. He’s such a dork, but that’s one of the things I love about him.

It was kind of interesting to be there, though. I looked around, watched part of the crowd (kind of hard to do from the front row) and I watched the other band members play. My face wasn’t stuck behind a camera (okay, only because I had delegated that duty, whatever). What I’m trying to say is that I watched it as a fan, not as a member of the Soul Patrol. I’m not putting anybody down, because I’ve been there. I’ve followed that man all over the southeast and the midwest. But to be outside of the drama, to not worry about getting everything on video…it was nice. I enjoyed the music..and he is quite the entertainer. There’s no denying that. It was great to see Brian Less and Sam Gunderson there playing. Bill Will was running the merch table. It wasn’t my most favorite concert that I’ve been to of his, but it was really good.

But what was the encore you ask? Not Bulletproof. I mean really…I ask for one simple favor. Nope. No can do. No, we got Taking it to the Streets. Really Taylor? Really? Oh well…it was still worth the money.

Lots of tagging tonight, too.

Here are some videos..not the best quality since they were recorded on my phone, but here they are, nonetheless.

Maybe You Should

Love the One You’re With

Stay With Me

All in all, Taylor did make me forget my troubles for 90 minutes and in the end, isn’t that what it’s all about?

140 Responses to “A view from the outside…”

  1. Great post! Glad you enjoyed the show.

  2. taylorfan06 Says:

    “All in all, Taylor did make me forget my troubles for 90 minutes and in the end, isn’t that what it’s all about?”

    That’s it exactly!! Nice report iag. Sad to read about the small turnout though. Taylor is quite the entertainer and with those looks who better to take you away… And what a band he puts together! I do love the way he directs the band also. He’s a master with that. I’m looking forward to watching the videos and reading more reports in the coming days.

    I’ll be seeing him in San Diego on the 22nd, and I’ll do my best to bring back a fair, unbiased report back myself. Glad you had a good time!

  3. taylorfan06 Says:

    On a side note, I’ll never understood why MYS was never a single. Beautiful song, and performance.

  4. casualfan Says:

    Love your recap Grey. It was fresh and honest and greatly appreciated. I really, really appreciate your comment about enjoying the music not as a member of the Soul Patrol but as a fan. You have a deep appreciation for his music and you know what? That’s all he’s ever asked of us. 😉

  5. taylorfan06 Says:

    right on cf! i thought you’d be here first.

  6. casualfan Says:

    I just read on Twitter where someone has seen him in concert 70 times. All I can say is WOW! Taylor should think about giving out trophies. That’s quite an accomplishment.

  7. taylorfan06 Says:

    lucky bitch i say (pardon my french)

  8. Glad you had a nice time, IAG. Thanks for the recap & media – I’ll have to watch tonight. It is good that whether it’s 1,100, or 1,000 in the crowd, he still gives his all.

  9. hicksaholic Says:

    I guess college auditoriums won’t make the next tour’s cut if only 100 people showed up. Glad Taylor put on a great show and you enjoyed it, sad that more people didn’t come to see it.

  10. Was his prick uncouth last night, IAG?

  11. luv 2 b entertained Says:

    OMG! I just went on Twitter to investigate the “uncouth prick” comment (bored at work) and this girl penny was a waitress at the venue.

    According to her, Taylor was in the KITCHEN all night eating all the food and basically getting in the way. Plus, she said he had his roadies come in and take the leftovers back to the bus.

    Ahahahahaha….Taylor and Food…his real TRUE LOVE!!

  12. Only 100 people is very sad. Taylor needs to rethink his music to really have a career in music. He isn’t going to make it singing a bunch of covers and sappy songs. Hopefully he’s making some money on this tour, but I kind of doubt it. Something tells me if you wanted to see him for free, you probably could.

    That roll of fat in his mid-section on the first photo is unattractive. He really should hire a personal trainer.

  13. casualfan, someone who has seen Taylor 70 times has gone off the deep end and probably a stalker. I really can’t imagine. This person has apparantly abandoned her life and family to chase a dream, which will never happen. I hope the person gets mental help.

  14. Evidently it’s not just Taylor but the Venue has been struggling as well. Last season Brian Wilson was there for a rare appearence and the reviewer said he was great but too bad no one came! I guess this year the venue has cut back on programs but still having trouble.

  15. hicksaholic Says:

    Raven,
    I think there are a number of people who have seen Taylor quite a few times. There are several who can afford to fly a lot of places to see him and take off work too apparently. I thought there was one fan who had seen him more than 70 times in one year.
    I have been to see him I think 12 or so times all within driving distance. I have never been to see another artist more than once but watching a Taylor concert makes me happy, it’s relatively cheap, and it’s a good opportunity to catch up with old friends. There is a big span between 12 and 70 but maybe the person has no real family and it’s just a source of entertainment for her. I think a lot of the real core Taylor traveling fans have become almost like a sorority or a club looking forward to their next adventure together. As long as they aren’t really “stalking” Taylor or bothering him or his friends I guess it’s harmless. One could argue they don’t have a real life but if they are happy than it doesn’t bother me.

  16. No, I stand by what I say. Anyone who has abandoned their life to chase a singer/band on the road, is in need of mental help. This person, no doubt, has also had 100’s of meet and greets, so it is not just the music. Her obsession has gone way beyond of what is acceptable. I hope she gets help.

  17. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    Thank you for the great recap IAG…I appreciate your candor. Sorry you didn’t get “Bulletproof”…it’s stuck in my head, too. I’ll be seeing him at Epcot. Hope he does it then. He is a master at band direction, isn’t he?…When listen to the change-ups on the pre-AI gigs we all downloaded, I’m impressed. His musicality is very evident.

    TF6 said:
    “On a side note, I’ll never understood why MYS was never a single. Beautiful song, and performance.”

    I agree with you on that TF6….still wonder why he didn’t release that as the single from “The Distance”

  18. As for MYS, he did say it was going to be released on a country album, but he didn’t say whose.

  19. Dee, I agree that the whole industry is struggling, venues and artists alike. However, I think taking a break with the Grease performance didn’t really help him when it came to his musical fans.

  20. casualfan Says:

    Now I remember that penny person….LOL! She’s the one who was tweeting about having to share her table with older SPrs and commenting on how fangirly they were. She didn’t seem that impressed.

  21. casualfan Says:

    dancin Says:

    August 11, 2010 at 4:54 am
    Glad you had a nice time, IAG. Thanks for the recap & media – I’ll have to watch tonight. It is good that whether it’s 1,100, or 1,000 in the crowd, he still gives his all.
    ==============================================
    AMEN dancin! But don’t you mean 100 or 1,000? 😉

  22. I’m so glad you had a good time and really glad to hear he was comfortable and at ease. It really is amazing the difference between actually being the fan of a performer and being a member if a fandom.

    I agree with you. In a way, being a fan is a purer relationship, free from the shackles of the expectations of others. Yay for you for gettng to enjoy him your way!!

  23. mamaforpeace Says:

    TITTS!!! Really! When there are so many to choose from. But he did a lot of tagging, so that’s good. How does it feel the day after, Grey? I find sometimes that on reflection, it seems either a bit better or not as good. What do you think?

  24. casualfan, I read Penny’s tweets out of curiosity. Penny is a waitress at this club and she waited on a table of SPrs that are 50+ and she was making fun of them. She did not share a table with them, lol.

  25. hicksaholic Says:

    That was an OUTSTANDING understated version of MYS. I think Taylor needs to pay for play or whatever is necessary to get his version of MYS on the radio. I guess it’s not that easy. HHe really deserves radio play with that song.

  26. IAG, I think the Grease gig might have stalled things for his musical fans BUT it helped put a different vibe out there about him. Sure he still got some failure comments and still does BUT the press was overwhelmingly positive. He made some really good contacts with TV and radio people. They knew his association with Grease was successful and now he is able to go back to these places to promote his music.
    When I wonder if he should have just kept touring and recording his music I think about Elliott Yamin. His first CD got radio play and his video was played on TV and he seemed to really have a momentum started. He seemed to be doing everything right. Now his career is stalled, having trouble getting radio play or filling venues. He is back recording now so we will see how this one goes. He has such a great voice and it’s sad that someone like him is having trouble when so many others seem to have their career taking off who rely on the computer to fix their voice.
    So who knows where Taylor would or would not be without Grease. It would be nice to have a crystal ball. LOL. I’m sure he will decide after this tour whether he still needs to inject his career with some TV or film in an attempt to raise his profile.
    CF- If I understood it right that penny person was a waitress waiting on the SPrs not sitting with them. She seemed to think Tay was in her way. LOL. I’m sure Taylor has been very familiar with this venue and didn’t think twice about being in the kitchen. Who knows he may even know the owners since he has a lot of friends in Chicago. I had to laugh at her though she sounded very typical of a young person who thinks anyone over 30 should stop having fun. LOL.

  27. taylorfan06 Says:

    Another great post there Dee. Good points there.

    Hey iag, do you have a set list for last night’s show?

  28. casualfan Says:

    Raven Says:

    August 11, 2010 at 12:24 pm
    casualfan, I read Penny’s tweets out of curiosity. Penny is a waitress at this club and she waited on a table of SPrs that are 50+ and she was making fun of them. She did not share a table with them, lol.
    ==============================================
    Ok, just re-read her tweets. LOL! I guess I got confused with the “at my table” comment. They were hammering him pretty good. I did find out that “uncoith prick” means no class.

  29. casualfan Says:

    Fat Fish Blue is NO style food so I don’t blame him for lovin it up. That’s some good cookin and northern food is alot different. Glad he enjoyed himself in the kitchen. Being called an uncoith prick could have been worth it. 😉

  30. CF- Being called an uncoith prick could have been worth it.
    ========================================

    LOL. Yes! I read some of her tweets and she didn’t want to be waiting tables before she even got there. So, I’m sure she wasn’t a happy camper to start with and then felt Taylor was in her way when she was trying to get out of the kitchen. Some of those kitchens are pretty small. We’ll give her a break. Sounds like she was having a bad day. LOL.

  31. FYI, Taylor was on Cleveland TV that morning with the chef of Fat Fish Blue, preparing peanut butter pie and joking around, having fun and sampling other foods. Makes perfect sense he’d be back in the kitchen that night with the cooks as it makes perfect sense that a young waitress tweet as she di. Also it has been reported elsewhere that 75% of the 1000 orchestra seats were filled last night. So was it 100 or 750 there? That is a huge difference and one easy to tell by sight alone.

  32. Iag, perhaps you meant 100 when you entered. According to yet another source 2 day’s before the concert about 500 tickets had been sold , and the person who was there saying 75% is a reliable source. Peeps here are oft and running with the 100 figure and basing doom, gloom comments on that and his music. I saw 3 tweets alone last night from college students who were there and enjoyed the show. Anyway, I’m sick , fed up with the twitter gossip and fan fighting. Following a singer around the country to concerts is not stalking. It’s called following a singer.

  33. Ha. 75%? No frickin way. Not even close. I would say the first 8 rows were filled…and that was it. And there were empty seats in all of those rows, even in the second row behind me. There are like 3 balconies, too..and nobody was in them. This isn’t my first time to that auditorium. I even asked my friend to make an estimate…and she concurred with me. Afterwards, I said to her, maybe it’s really more like 150…and she looked at me and said “Um, no. I’m still going with a 100.”

    Honestly, I don’t care if anybody believes me or not. I was there…and I wrote about what I saw. Are these the same people that said that Chicago was sold out? Because it wasn’t.

  34. No, I don’t have a setlist, TF. Sorry.

  35. And Rosie, I got there about 7:25 and the show was supposed to start at 7:30. Unless 650 people walked in behind me and we didn’t notice…then I’m gonna say the 750 is a bit of a bloated figure.

  36. I think where I saw the 500 comment it was from someone who checked to see how many were tickets were sold. They were not there. I guess it’s possible they were sold but didn’t come. LOL.

  37. mamaforpeace Says:
    August 11, 2010 at 12:24 pm e

    TITTS!!! Really! When there are so many to choose from. But he did a lot of tagging, so that’s good. How does it feel the day after, Grey? I find sometimes that on reflection, it seems either a bit better or not as good. What do you think?

    I still feel pretty much the same. Not my most favorite concert, but not the worst one I’ve seen either. Want to hear something weird though? This is the first concert that I’ve been to where he didn’t sweat through his shirt. Told you it was weird!!

  38. Grey, I’m not saying your estimate was wrong or the person from the BB was wrong. As a fan I’d just like to know the facts. Grey wouldn’t you say he is not fat and that the first photo is not how his body looks in person.

  39. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    August 11, 2010 at 2:04 pm
    Iag, perhaps you meant 100 when you entered. According to yet another source 2 day’s before the concert about 500 tickets had been sold , and the person who was there saying 75% is a reliable source. Peeps here are oft and running with the 100 figure and basing doom, gloom comments on that and his music. I saw 3 tweets alone last night from college students who were there and enjoyed the show. Anyway, I’m sick , fed up with the twitter gossip and fan fighting. Following a singer around the country to concerts is not stalking. It’s called following a singer.
    ==============================================
    Rosie, No one is off anywhere and basing doom and gloom comments about anything. And no one is calling anyone a stalker. Step away from the bottle you are drinking from because it’s too early in the day to be drunk.

  40. I would say Taylor’s put the pudge back on…and yeah, that pretty much is how he looked in person. Maybe it was the too tight jeans, I don’t know. I don’t really care if he’s fluffy or not…doesn’t matter really. A few extra pounds doesn’t make him sing any worse.

  41. casualfan Says:

    Rosie, What difference does it make on how many was there? Shouldn’t make any difference if they were 10 or 1,000.

    If it’s so damn important to you, call the venue and get an accurate head count!

  42. casualfan Says:

    Grey-I think he’s cute as a button with a little fluff. People put way to much emphasis on how he looks. And like you said….it doesn’t make him sing any worse.

  43. Right, CF! 🙂

  44. casualfan Says:

    “All in all, Taylor did make me forget my troubles for 90 minutes and in the end, isn’t that what it’s all about?”
    ===============================================
    This is EXACTLY what it’s all about!

  45. Just stopping by to give my take on attendance at last night’s show. I was there and I can guarantee there were far more than 100 people in attendance. Even if what Grey has said about only the first 8 rows being filled, that’s close to 300 people right there. And just so I didn’t come over here and start flapping my jaws with out having the facts, I put a call into the Sangamon Auditorium. Though they aren’t allowed to give out exact figures, the woman I spoke to on the phone did confirm that there were well over 150 people there last night.

    I don’t know about other folks, but I wasn’t expecting a sell-out at the venue. The campus is in summer session, which means less students around to buy tickets. It was also a Tuesday night, which means folks aren’t going to make as much of effort to be there as they would had it been a weekend. I don’t usually care all that much about facts and figures when it comes to Taylor and his shows, but when I read something that I know to be wrong, I feel obligated to set the record straight. Oh and also just for the record, Reggie’s was no where close to selling out. But I wouldn’t have missed that show for anything. It was infuckingcredible!

    Having said that, I’m glad you enjoyed the show, Grey.

  46. casualfan Says:

  47. Okay, so I was wrong I guess…150 people were there. The point is, it doesn’t matter. I stated in my original post the number of people there because I knew people would want to know. When I said the first eight rows were filled, I misspoke. There were people in eight rows…with empty seats in every row.

    Also, it really doesn’t matter that college isn’t in session..obviously Taylor doesn’t attract many college kids anyway. The cold reality is that he will never sell out venues like that…hell, he’s having a hard time selling out small venues. But it doesn’t matter if he’s playing his music and having a good time. And to me at least, he looked like he was having a good time last night.

    This is the ridiculousness that I’m talking about in the Taylor fandom. It shouldn’t matter how many people were there…it should only matter what the show was like. And like I’ve stated, in my opinion, the show was good. Not the best, not the worst.

    Taylor was into the music last night, so whether there were 150 or a sell out, it doesn’t matter. His ability to make music doesn’t depend on the number of seats sold.

  48. casualfan Says:

    Ok Grey. Next time you go to a show, be sure to stand at the door and get an accurate head count. No doubt both Taylor and his manager would greatly appreciate it.

  49. Will do CF!! 😉

  50. taylorfan06 Says:

    CF said:
    “Step away from the bottle you are drinking from because it’s too early in the day to be drunk.”

    TF06 says:

    Cheers, everybody, CHEERS!!!

  51. taylorfan06 Says:

    Imagine T getting a crowd like that… (see above video)
    …he deserves that (in my world)

  52. casualfan Says:

  53. Grey: “It shouldn’t matter how many people were there…it should only matter what the show was like.”

    You’re right, it shouldn’t matter. So why even mention it? People are curious about a lot of things; that doesn’t mean they’ll always get the answers they want.

    Grey: “His ability to make music doesn’t depend on the number of seats sold.”

    Again, I agree. And, again, I ask, why even hazard a guess on the attendance if a guess is exactly what it was?

    Grey, I’m not here to stir shit. I read and generally enjoy your blog and I appreciate that you allow all kinds of opinions. If that remains true, then I hope you’ll take my comments for what they are: just another opinion.

  54. No worries, Wonder. 🙂

  55. taylorfan06 Says:

    psych!, cf

  56. casualfan Says:

    hahaha! Love Jimmy and Alan!

  57. casualfan Says:

    For the record, I’m guessing The Brewery where I’ll see T holds about 300 or so. Now if anyone thinks that I’m taking a head count, they are seriously mistaken.

    I’m sitting in the back, enjoying a nice dinner and conversation with good friends and enjoying a Taylorized evening of the MUSIC. 😉

  58. CF, I didn’t enjoy your comment implying I was drunk or stated something untrue. Raven went with the 100 as did others and she said he has sappy songs etc. I for one am interested in how he is doing on this tour, given he has been doing TV promo in just about every city . It drives me nuts when the SP say the shows are sold out ahead of time when they are not at all and then they tweet all over the place contratulating him. Tay must think they are nuts if he reads those tweets. No one should be tweeting about attendence be it a too low figure or a too high figure. The person who said 75% orchestra seats sold, also said 90% of those bought merchandise. I know damn well 675 people were not in a merchandise line, or someone would have taken a photo of that. My suspicion, for several reasons, is some of the SP tend to engage in wishful thinking. The fact there was deadly silence last night from the regulars, I took as a sign of low attendence. CF, Raven referred to stalker and others have in the past about those fans who go to many concerts. You need to read more carefully CF. If you had, you’d also notice I mentioned a visual estimate, not a head count. Perhaps you need to mix up one of your Long Island Ice Teas, and chill.

  59. casualfan Says:

    I would LOVE a Long Island Ice tea. Haven’t had one in years nor have I even had a beer to drink. Thanks for the advice though.

  60. casualfan Says:

    Rosie, for what it’s worth I do apologize for making that comment. It was uncalled for and I’m sorry.

  61. casualfan Says:

    Somone tweeted to Brian Less about a week ago that one of the shows were sold out. Brian replied back: “what’s sold out?” Now if the show was really sold out, he would know right? LMAO

  62. IAG. Here’s a gift for you.

  63. LOL. CF. I’m sure from Brian’s viewpoint a small club can always squeeze in one more. LOL.

  64. casualfan Says:

    No doubt. More money in his pocket for sure. 😉

  65. Bulletproof from Reggies is up on utube. It’s totally different from the first time he did it and while his banter was fun, I much prefer the way he did it 1st time.

  66. This is the song that doesn’t end
    Cause it goes on and on, my friend
    Some people started singing it
    Not knowing what is was
    And they’ll continue singing it
    Forever just because
    This is the song that doesn’t end
    Cause it goes on and on, my friend
    Some people started singing it
    Not knowing what is was
    And they’ll continue singing it
    Forever just because . . . 😛

  67. casualfan Says:

    On another note….Adam’s fans have come together for a wonderful cause by helping kids in need and supporting the music arts in the schools by raising nearly 60k! This is awesome!

    Adam Lambert Supports Art and Music in Classrooms

    Season 8 runner-up Adam Lambert’s Glam Nation tour isn’t just about performing – it’s also about helping students across the country. Throughout the tour, Adam is asking fans to “Glam A Classroom” through DonorsChoose.org, an online charity that connects individuals looking to make a difference with classrooms in need. To date, Adam’s fans have contributed nearly $60,000 to art and music classroom projects, reaching more than 57,000 students in need.

  68. I told y’all he had a muffin top! IAG saw it live and in person!

  69. And I bet she saw his uncouth prick too!

  70. I don’t want to talk about it.. but I was there too. (keep it quiet)

    lol Well, I guess maybe I can talk to you guys.

    IGA When you said the crowd was about 100.. were you referring to the average age of the fans?

  71. Muffins and pricks and centenarians . . . oh my! 😀

  72. Egad, all these haters attending concerts! Well I did use the wrong word, tiny, when I described how he looked when I saw him last week. I was to the side of him and up close when he performed and while he doesn’t have a six pack, he also doesn’t have a big belly as it appears on some of the photos. he always has the fat on his mid back and I find it sexy. Someone inquired about crazy fans. At Ramshead the only ones dancing in the aisles, were 20 and 30 something gals and not the regulars. I understand they went to a bar a few doors down and were still dancing to his songs. So he is impressing some new peeps on this tour. Anyone who likes classic rock or soul or a good singer/performer will get Hicks. Accept for Carrie, Kelly, Daughtry and Adam, I think Tay has the best chance of a long career. Who wants to go see Elliot, or in a few yrs Lee, Casey, Kris or Cook in concert? They neither have the voice or the pizaaz, or know how to last. Broadway was a smart move for Tay and as fans you had to be there to get his stage presence.

  73. Dee!! Thank you so much!!

    I did see the muffin top Fairhope…live and in person! hahahaa

    Sweetay…you were there last night? Where were you at? And yeah…I wasn’t kidding when I said I was one of the youngest.

    Soulaz..I love it when you come around. You know how to put everything into perspective!

  74. Crapsie, Except for—– not accept for—.

  75. But who saw the prick in all it’s uncouthness? Just no room for expansion in those pants.

  76. mamaforpeace Says:

    I just watched the vid of MYS. LOVE it! He is getting so much better at doing those more intimate songs. This particular song is one of my favorites that he put out. I love that he just sings it, no crazy stuff, no whipped cream on top, just his voice, which I think shines in this song.

  77. casualfan Says:

    IGA When you said the crowd was about 100.. were you referring to the average age of the fans?
    ===============================================
    LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  78. casualfan Says:

    Accept for Carrie, Kelly, Daughtry and Adam, I think Tay has the best chance of a long career. Who wants to go see Elliot, or in a few yrs Lee, Casey, Kris or Cook in concert?
    ============================================
    Same was said about Adam after his mishaps at the Awards show and now he’s thriving and climbing the charts.

  79. Thanks, IAG . . . 😛

    I just can’t take this stuff seriously . . . seriously!

    Oh, and you can put me down for wanting to see Casey James in concert in a couple years. Have you seen any videos of the current AI tour? That boy can shred . . . and I do mean SHRED. And I like his voice and his “pizzazz.” I’m looking forward to seeing how things play out for him.

    Oh, and Taylor is following Casey on Twitter, so I guess he likes his “pizzazz” too . . . me and Taylor are just cool like that.

  80. casualfan Says:

    I think Taylor and Casey are getting together-or trying to for the Fort Walton beach thing. Would be cool seeing that happen. I would love to see T jam with a fellow AIr.

    And u r right…..you CAN”T take this stuff seriously….seriously! 😉

  81. I heard that possibility about Taylor and Casey too, CF! I think it would be a pretty awesome blues-a-rama . . . 😀

  82. Seven Days Says:

    Grey, I’m happy you had a good time. When everything is said and done, that’s all that matters. Everything else is just nonsense.

  83. “But who saw the prick in all it’s uncouthness? Just no room for expansion in those pants.”

    Rosie, you cracked me up. LOL.

  84. Seven Days Says:
    August 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm e

    Grey, I’m happy you had a good time. When everything is said and done, that’s all that matters. Everything else is just nonsense.

    Amen!

  85. I just happened to mention Casey, who despite his fair, young looks, for me had no charisma or personality on AI. He can play a mean guitar and is a dime a dozen. Guess I’d prefer seeing Bucky in concert. Soulaz, et all I’m big on uncool, mouthy, opinionated and luv being an sob priclkly ass. And ain’t that fun. Fans who bother to post on blogs or boards or tweet must have some sort of motive or goal in mind, just must get something out of it, above glorifying Taylor Hicks. We either all have a need, passion or want attention or are wacked. Fun hobby or passtime. Some of us would be content at this point in time, to just feel his fat and comment or dream about same. Just keeping it real. Sometimes all the nonsense is ENOUGH.

  86. cf, sorry i’m replying so late – I see my post looked like I meant 1,100 or 1,000. What it should have been, is one, one hundred, or one thousand.

    Love the Bulletproof vid, still waiting for the hot HOTYL.

    Read Brian Gallagher sat in at the Dakota tonight.

    Can’t be bothered with the numbers, they are what they are, based on geo location/day of the week/venue/price, etc.

    I agree he’s put on a couple pounds again – he’s a yo-yo when it comes to weight.

  87. Ange Bleu Says:

    I have read so many different reviews & viewpoints of TH on this tour that I have to wonder what’s really what. He’s fat, he’s thin, he’s happy meeting his fans, he’s unhappy, the room was filled, the room was half empty., etc., etc. What goes? I realize we all see things from a different perspective, but someone can’t be both thin & fat at the same time, & the same room, at the same time, cannot be both overflowing and one-half filled. Doesn’t make sense. Suspicious me.

  88. casualfan Says:

    I agree he’s put on a couple pounds again – he’s a yo-yo when it comes to weight.
    ==============================================
    That’s all the good southern food and drink he partakes in while in Bama. He gets it off fast when he’s on the road.

  89. PS: Does “SHRED”, soulaz’s term/word mean gettin out of one’s pants quickly? If so, Tay is a real slow shreder these days.

  90. casualfan Says:

    Has nothing to do with pants Rosie. I’m guessing she’s referring to him being totally rad, awesome and can tear up the stage with his talent.

    Am I getting warm Soulaz? 😉

  91. casualfan Says:

    Shred: The art of Technically and rhythmatically hammering out amazing and lightning-fast solos on a guitar. 2. To play so amazingly fast on guitar you almost destroy it’s strings. “Shredding” as it is known is limited to the “True” Musicians and as such is not known to shitty Bands/Musicians of lesser talent, IE. Nu-Metal does not, can not and will not ever have shredding present in it’s down-tuned watered down style of crap called “music”.

    LOVE Urban dictionary!

  92. casualfan Says:

    Shred at it’s upmost perfection…..

  93. Mama, I am going to agree with you on how well Taylor is performing slower songs these days. That performance of MYS was outstanding…and Taylor really made me “feel” the song.

  94. Ange Bleu, I think you’re cool. I say he’s more toned in his upper arms and as trim and slim as when I saw him on Aug 15th 2008. I love his legs, but with the tight jeans they look more heavy then they do in person. He does look a tad older in his face then he did 2 yrs ago or 2 yrs before that. Grey said his tummy looked like it did in her first pic. Having seen him, I totally disagree. I still say he is barely 6′ 1″ and weighs about 190lbs, and given his legs and shoulders, he that is slim and fit and he looked so to me. The tickets sold seems to have to do with peeps perspective. When I saw him in Annapolis Md. only 70% filled, some die hard regulars tended to dismiss the reality when I spoke to them in person. They had reported it was sold out in Feb. 2009, during his Grease run in Balto. Don’t know if they lied about that, wasn’t there to see, but I take it with a grain of paprika.

  95. Cf, you and soulaz are just too cool. Guess my joke failed.

  96. Grey, I also “feel” Taylor on his current tour.

  97. casualfan Says:

    Thanks Grey! U R pumping me up for my turn with him. Looking forward to a great show.

    Rosie, I will check out his “shred” while there. 😉

  98. hicksaholic Says:

    I’m excited to hear Casey might play a song or two with him at FWB. I hope to go to that one.
    Thanks for the review Grey. I like hearing the opinion of someone who doesn’t think everything Taylor does is perfect. It keeps it real. I think some in the fandom think unless everything is always reported in glowing terms it hurts Taylor. Unfortunately some think not doing so
    I’m glad others agree with that version of MYS. Grey did some in the audience not respond to that song? I can’t imagine anybody wouldn’t think it was fabulous.
    CF can’t wait for your review.
    Rosie, I have to agree with you regarding Tay’s longevity. Taylor oozes charisma and that’s probably more important than talent over the long haul.

  99. hicksaholic Says:

    Sorry forgot to finish editing my sentence

    Meant to say Unfortunately some think not doing so makes you a hater.

  100. luv 2 b entertained Says:

    I just want to get myself, Casey, Bucky and Taylor in a room together with all that beautiful hair. *sigh*

    Anyway, Taylor’s muffin top issue: He needs a personal trainer and nutritionist. How’s he gonna land those movie/tv acting gigs with that roly poly jelly belly? (as cute as it is to us) Lol Maybe after the tour he can really settle into a routine and get “shredded”.

  101. Luv 2 b- No worry about Taylor’s weight and acting gigs. He’s a man the “Rat Bastards” can loose 20+ pounds in a couple weeks. LOL.

  102. I think Taylor has gone back to his pre-Idol starving artist days. Eat as much free food as possible at the small clubs he’s playing at because that will save him food money. It won’t be long till he’ll be crashing on some stranger’s couch. LoL

  103. I would have to disagree with hicksaholic. Taylor holds on to his Idol fame, but when the show gets cancelled, which it will eventually, all of the Idols, not just Taylor, will be forgotten. Only the ones who have super-star careers (Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood, Daughtry, Jennifer Hudson) will still be around.

  104. Yeah, most people that I talk to nowadays don’t even know who he is. He’s totally off their radar.

  105. Raven, I think you are too negative when it comes to Taylor’s future. He’s someone who can turn it on a dime.

  106. “Only the ones who have super-star careers (Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood, Daughtry, Jennifer Hudson) will still be around.”

    ————————————————————————-

    Raven – you can probably add Adam Lambert to that list too.
    Once his hugely successful US Glam Nation tour ends with two sold-out dates in Hawaii, he’s taking it international … Japan, Singapore, the Phillipines, Europe, Australia and probably New Zealand. Two of his three shows in Japan are already sold out, plus there’s talk of South American tour dates in the spring. His single “Whataya Want From Me” has been certified gold or platinum in several countries (including the US) and has been a Top Ten hit on music charts from Argentina to Russia. His current single “If I Had You” appears to be heading in the same direction.

    Back to Taylor … another “view from the outside” here … *waves*
    I guess I’m in the minority because I don’t think the “muffin top” is *cute* at all. Women who gush over Taylor’s double chin or his chub … acckkk!

    Fitness and a primal lifestyle are major priorities in my life and it makes me sad to see that he might be packin’ on the pounds again.

    Everyone says “it’s all about the music” (and for me it truly is because I’ve never found Taylor very attractive …. yeah, so shoot me!), but there’s nothing wrong with being fit and healthy while you’re making the music.

  107. Rosie, I hope Taylor can turn his career around on a dime…If he can, now’s a good of time as any!!

  108. quondam, yes I would add Adam Lambert. I’ll go on record and say that Adam’s second cd with Sony will far surpass his first, the same way Kelly Clarkson’s “Breakaway” made her into a superstar.

    Adam’s sold out concerts are very, very impressive and is a good sign the label will work with him to give him great songs.

  109. I think Taylor is far from an unhealthy weight. His weight does go up and down a bit so I’m sure it will be back down again soon. LOL. I think the weight issue can go both ways. Personally I liked Carrie Underwood with a little more weight on her but Kelly Clarkson’s weight looks pretty uncomfortable. Luckily for guys they get away with a little weight gain better than the females. Hollywood seems to want the female stars skin and bones.

  110. Taylor looks better in person than he does in photos. I’ve seen him in person and thought he was very attractive, however he sometimes does not photograph very well.

    On Idol, I thought he had lots of stage presence, but didn’t really notice him for his looks.

  111. casualfan Says:

    Exciting news about Adam Lambert going international. I can totally see Japan going bonkers over him. They love American artists, especially the flashy ones. Congrats to Adam! I never doubted his star shining bright!

    Rosie, every one’s been saying that Taylor’s career will be turning around for years now but hasn’t happened yet. Say what you want and believe what you want, but the only thing that Grease did was maybe get him more contacts, a little more PR. I don’t see any new fans, any radio play or talk about his music. The PR was to benefit Grease more than Taylor….Grease thrived because of the title of American Idol being on the stage. The name Taylor Hicks wouldn’t have mattered if that title wasn’t in front of it.

    And for the lurkers who come here to get information to drag back to their site, hear this…..my above comment is NOT bashing or hateful or anything else you thrive on calling it.

  112. I think for anyone in the music, TV or film Biz it’s true that one’s career can turn on a dime. All it takes is one hit song, show or movie. So no one should be counted out who is out there still trying. But that one hit can be elusive and may take years or never come at all. Nothing is written in stone just as for someone like Justin Beiber, who is all the rage right now, may find his career peak at age 18. LOL.

  113. For those who love HOTYL, there’s a great video from the Dakota last night. It’s over 7 minutes worth of tags and the build up to the finish. Now that is the Taylor that reminds us why we became fans in the first place, IMO. It’s on youtube, but can also be found on the BB. Sorry, but I don’t know how to bring it over. Maybe one of you can.

    I was there. I’ve seen four or five of Taylor’s shows, and this one was the best. I’m guessing that much more video will be available in the next day or two. Someone next to me taped the entire show from a great seat. Oh, and since it has been the subject of some of the posts in this thread, my estimate is that the venue was about 90% full.

  114. casualfan Says:

    Actually, it takes more than one hit song Dee. Hit songs are a dime a dozen and the industry is littered with One Hit Wonders only to not be remembered in a few years. Justin Beiber has a string of hits under his belt not to mention publicity appeal and the tween market. Hopefully he can grow in his career as he grows into adulthood. Not many child stars continue on that successful path when they outgrow the “cuteness” stage.

    No one is counting Taylor out but sometimes I do think that he’s hit his ceiling with the music industry. A few people described him here as more of a small venue, working class musician which he is and thrives on. There are many musicians who are at that level and are happy and lead comfortable lives.

    Taylor is NOT the worst American Idol by far. In fact, I would place him in the most successful category. He may not be selling records like Daughtry and the others mentioned, but there’s more to success than winner awards and having number one songs and playing in major venues.

    Hopefully T will build his fanbase from his music which is his passion.

  115. hicksaholic Says:

    Did y’all see Taylor will be performing along with Katherine McPhee at a cancer benefit in California on Sept 11th? Tickets are $1000 a piece. I think it’s a dinner/auction. That’s a good change of venue for him.

  116. mamaforpeace Says:

    Well said, CF. Super stardom has its downfall too, and I hope Adam Lambert is ready for it. I am glad to hear that he is doing well. If Taylor can keep being a working musician who makes a living off his art, I think that’s something to celebrate.

  117. CF- Yes, I know it takes more than one hit. But one hit can start a career off on a different path. I have no doubt that Taylor can have a career as a working musician but I do think he wants that next level. But, I’m with you in thinking that he may be at his level. I think that’s why be tried Grease and why he may try other things too. That’s why I did not get upset when he did Grease although it was not my cup of tea. My feeling is he’ll always be a working musician at heart even when he’s trying other entertainment areas.

  118. CF- Totally agree with you that Taylor is far from the worst Idol. I don’t really care if he ever reaches super stardom. I’d be happy if he could just shake the ” Loser” label that continues to haunt him. He just does not deserve that title. It’s not repeated as much as it once was but it’s still out there. I think if he just keeps surviving and working in the biz it will eventually fall by the wayside.

  119. Taylor is remembered as the Idol who looked older, had gray hair and lots of personality, quirks, dance moves and the winner with a big smile. It is those things which keep him in peoples minds despite not seeing him on TV or hearing him on the radio. Those same qualities that people recall help to draw people to things such as Grease and for some to his concerts in their city. They want to see that fun guy in person and there are long lines to stand next to him and have one’s pic taken when he appears at fairs. He is more versatile than most contestentents, besides being smart and driven. For those of you keeping track of successful Idols add Pickler to the list. Taylor also gets the sympathy vote for not being treated well by the machine.

  120. Ange Bleu Says:

    My, my I’ve been reading more than a few crappy comments about Taylor. Planning on jumping ship? Bye, bye! Please don’t count T out yet as a major performer. I believe he has a long way to go. but he’ll reach super stardom a lot faster than you think. So a lot of people don’t know who he is & may regard him as a loser. So what? A lot of important people do know who he is (Baz Luhrman, Quentin Tarantino, etc). He’s going to have a great career ahead of him on Bdwy, in country music, or movies. This I firmly believe.

  121. Videos have been coming in from The Dakota Jazz Club. This was the best show yet. He and the band did some bad ass jazz. I was amazed at just how good they were. His versatily in music will keep him around for a long time

  122. pattiebelle Says:

    AMEN, Ange Bleu!!

  123. mamaforpeace Says:

    Not thinking that Taylor may not become a super star is not jumping ship. It is actually respecting his talent enough to stick around even if the rest of the world isn’t backing you up in your belief.
    Rosie, I haven’t seen the vids yet, but I always thought Taylor had a strong jazz bend to his music.

  124. mamaforpeace Says:

    Wow, double negative! Thinking that Taylor….. etc….

  125. casualfan Says:

    A lot of important people do know who he is (Baz Luhrman, Quentin Tarantino, etc). He’s going to have a great career ahead of him on Bdwy, in country music, or movies. This I firmly believe.
    ==============================================
    Knowing who someone is doesn’t ensure anything. And what is this talk about country music? Nothing he’s playing or any of the venues he’s playing at on this tour points to country. What he stated in interviews a while back about country certainly doesn’t look that way now.

  126. Country music isn’t his forte. There are too many male country singers.

  127. PurpleButterflies Says:

    I think Taylor has gone back to his pre-Idol starving artist days. Eat as much free food as possible at the small clubs he’s playing at because that will save him food money. It won’t be long till he’ll be crashing on some stranger’s couch. LoL
    ————
    My friend’s sister lost her job and her house. She is sleeping on my friend’s couch. She is a single mother of two and the kids have been uprooted from their familiar surroundings. The poor woman is going through hell right now. There is nothing funny about a person who can’t afford food or a place of residence. Not that I think Taylor is poor, because I don’t think he is. Just saying there is nothing funny about being in a situation where you have to rely on free food or someone else’s home to sleep in. It’s very sad and nothing to make light of.

  128. Ahh, Get a grip PurpleB. Raven was not making fun of homeless people. The comment was strickly about Taylor and his past. It’s nothing he hasn’t talked and joked about himself. Sorry about your friends sister.
    ============================================
    Mamaforpeace Said: Not thinking that Taylor may not become a super star is not jumping ship. It is actually respecting his talent enough to stick around even if the rest of the world isn’t backing you up in your belief.
    ===============================================
    Love this thought Mama. Exactly how I feel.
    ===============================================
    Ange Bleu said: I believe he has a long way to go. but he’ll reach super stardom a lot faster than you think.
    ============================================
    From your lips to Gods ear. LOL. If it happens for Tay Nothing would make me happier. But if he keeps going just the way he is then I’m still there enjoying the hell out of him.
    ============================================

    As far as Country music. Who knows. Nothing he’s doing now is remotely country. He’s changed a lot of his handlers so maybe he’ll not go country. Guess we’ll have to wait for the new CD To find out.

  129. casualfan Says:

    Good points Dee. We will see when the cd comes out.

  130. mamaforpeace Says:

    Wow! When they say, “Will the real Taylor Hicks please stand up?”, I want THAT Taylor. Thanks to MN Sue for posting this over at the Boogie:)

  131. Mama…you and I must be thinking the same thing…I just put up a new post with the whole video in it. 🙂

  132. hicksaholic Says:

    I’m really excited for MN Sue that Taylor apparently put on an unbelievable show in her neck of the woods. I bet she’s walking on air.

  133. the box office at springfield said they sold 500 tickets…..wonder where those people were?

  134. they were there I do believe. Someone else whose opinion I trust said the orchestra section was more than half full. That would be around 500

  135. I am not even sure why I’m responding to this. If you would like to believe that the orchestra section was half full…then that’s fine. Believe it. However, the orchestra section doesn’t hold 1000 people. There is a balcony, mezzanine, and loge section that had nobody in them.

    There is not just an orchestra section in this auditorium.

    Seriously? I really have to do this?

    http://www.uis.edu/sangamonauditorium/about/SeatingChart.htm

    Take a peek at this seating chart. You’ll see what I’m talking about.

    Better yet, look here…much easier to see.

    http://www.seatadvisor.com/cgi/lookup_venue_dyn.pl?venue_code=2192

    I’ve been called many things by the Soul Patrol…and that’s okay..I guess you coming to my blog and calling me a liar shouldn’t even faze me. 🙂

  136. after looking at the seating chart again and remembering where it was full (I was also in the front row) I think there was about 400+ people there. I’m not calling anyone a liar just stating that from my perception, there were more than 400 people there.

  137. casualfan Says:

    I’ve been called many things by the Soul Patrol…and that’s okay..I guess you coming to my blog and calling me a liar shouldn’t even faze me.
    ==============================================
    Would you expect anything less?

  138. I bet the School has never had so many peeps calling post concert to inquire how many seats were sold.

  139. I didn’t call you a liar, I simply meant that someone else who was there thought differently. Honestly I don’t give a crap. It was what it was.
    I’ve never seen it , how would I know? But from several accounts it does seem it was more than 100.
    Believe me, I did not call anyone. I just wanted it known that there was a definite difference of opinion. And since no one had a clcker its really just an opinion.

  140. Enjoyed reading your recap very much IAG. This comment made me LAAAUUGHH!

    this girl penny was a waitress at the venue.

    According to her, Taylor was in the KITCHEN all night eating all the food and basically getting in the way. Plus, she said he had his roadies come in and take the leftovers back to the bus.

    Ahahahahaha….Taylor and Food…his real TRUE LOVE!!

    OH MY! That was simply PRICELESS!!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

