Music

As much as this blog is about Taylor Hicks, it’s also about music. Music is a constant in my life, and right now, if there’s one thing I need, it is comforting things around me. I love how music can take me back to a place in my life…good or bad. There’s not really any other medium that can do that. I don’t see a rerun on television and think, “Wow. I remember what I was doing when I saw this.” Or read an email and be transported back to that time. It really is amazing. Right now, I just want to share a couple of my favorite songs at this moment:

Love me some Colin Hay…

And this is one of my favorite songs to run to:

And this…l grew up thinking I was going to marry Rick Springfield. Okay, so he was a famous singer/actor and I was 9 years old, but still. The first concert I ever went to was see him!! So, a few years ago, when he brought some new music, I was pretty excited. It didn’t quite measure up to his old stuff, but I love this song. The lyrics are just so true.

Theme song for me right now.

Music can comfort, excite, depress and mesmerize. It can make you happy, sad, lonely, or make you feel like you belong. When you can relate to a song…you just know that there are people out there who have the same feelings that you do. It’s just too cool.

31 Responses to “Music”

  1. taylorfan06 Says:

    Music does have such a strong power on so many levels.
    A line from Clint Black’s “State of Mind” sums it up pretty well.

    “Ain’t it funny how a melody
    can bring back a memory
    take you to another place in time,
    completely change your state of mind”

  2. taylorfan06 Says:

    btw, if you haven’t heard this song before, check it out. i included this song on a “clint black” cd i made for taylor the last time i met him – a walmart cd signing.

    it has a killer harp intro that made me think of taylor. great song!

    cf, if you could find this one… many thanks. hope all is well iag.

  3. taylorfan06 Says:

    Very cool grey. You’re quick! I guess you knew this one.

    Clint really has a way with a phrase. LOVE. HIM!!!!! (and miss him.)
    I love for him to be on top again.

  4. taylorfan06 Says:

    Thanks grey. This is when country music was great!
    I met him at a cd signing for “One Emotion” which is another song, cd
    and video. (hint hint)

    He’s a sweetheart, has a killer smile, write memorable songs, and is VERY easy on the eyes.

    Hmmmmmmm… does that remind anyone of someone else????

  5. taylorfan06 Says:

    i meant to say “…which is another GREAT song, cd, and video”
    (hint hint) …indeed!

  6. datilpepper Says:

    This is why I come to this site….I love Clint Black….evidently a lot of you do,too….I haven’t been able to find a video of Clint and Glen Campbell from a tv show a few years back…they were playing “This Night Life” Two master guitar pluckers…it’s hardcore country, but dang it’s good. And yes, Taylor and Clint are similar. Talented to the max!!!

  7. Music and the emotions it evokes can be so powerful. I remember driving in my car after Jackson’s death and the song “Ghost in this House” by Alison Krauss came on. I had to stop the car and just cry, the lyrics were my life at that time. I had a friend who was constantly telling me I needed to get on with my life…. I burned her a cd of that song and told her “that is where I am right now… I will get on with it, but right now I need to lick my wounds and just grieve”. That song helped her to understand. It was Taylor and his songs on AI that dragged me back into the living. And through music I healed, the songs kissed my broken heart and ignighted the spark of joy back into my life.

  8. hicksaholic Says:

    Legacy,
    You truly have a way with words. Very insightful and descriptive.

  9. taylorfan06 Says:

    Legacy – you said a lot in your post. You expressed such a powerful sentiment. Taylor and his music have been a positive force for many, myself included. Isn’t that what it’s all about in this thing we call life?

    “We’re only here for a little while.” That’s a line from a song, but i can’t think of the title for the life of me. Anyone?

  10. taylorfan06 Says:

    Speaking of Alison Krauss, her duet with James Taylor, “How’s The World Been Treating You”, really hit home for me when I had a breakup a few years back.

    Definitely the wrong song to listen to at such a vulnerable time, but it’s what i needed to do to work thorough the pain. Life is great now, but that song spoke to me then.

    It really is a beautiful song (but sad) and i just love their harmonies together. I’d love a duets cd from them. I remember seeing the video on cmt when it was first released. I was really surprised it wasn’t a bigger hit on country radio. I guess a good song doesn’t always get recognized.

    Alison also did a great duet with Clint Black, “Our Kind of Love” off his “Nothin’ But The Taillights” cd which may be my favorite by him. Clint is a wonderful songsmith.

  11. casualfan Says:

    Another musician who evokes powerful emotion-at least for me is Sarah McLachlan. Her song “Building A Mystery” always sends me into a deep dimension of thoughts about my life and the people in it.

  12. taylorfan06 Says:

    WOW! i just watched the duet of “How’s The World Treating You” on youtube and was so moved. I love the tinkling piano on this track (my favorite instrument, next to the sax – (which is not a part of this song.)

    The song is so beautiful and the vocals of Alison Krauss and James Taylor are priceless. I just LOVE James Taylor! Since i don’t know how, could someone bring it over here please?

    Another great duet with James Taylor (and Linda Ronstadt) from her “Get Closer” cd is “I Think It’s Gonna Work Out Fine.” A great duet from 2 true masters/legends.

    Ike & Tina covered it in the 60’s but this is my favorite version. It takes me back to a gentler time.

  13. taylorfan06 Says:

    OMG! I just found “Down So Low” from Linda Ronsatdt on youtube. The passion, and purity she delivers with her voice is breathtaking. This was recorded in 1976, from “Hasten Down The Wind”, which is my favorite cd by her. Actually, it’s too hard to choose a favorite from her, there are just too many great songs from her! Check it though. Or better yet, bring it over…

  14. taylorfan06 Says:

    There’s just a treasure trove of amazing Ronstadt videos on youtube.
    I’m listening to “Blowing Away” w/ Bonnie Raitt right now. Linda KNOWS how to do it right. She is definitely a treasure! LOVE. HER!!!

  15. taylorfan06 Says:

    Did anyone know she also did a version of “The First Cut Is The Deepest”?
    WHAT a voice!!!! i just LOVE the 70’s!

  16. casualfan Says:

    Yes I did. I posted the “The First Cut” video by Linda R on a previous blog. 😉

  17. taylorfan06 Says:

    Just a little Linda trivia for ya:

    She formed a folk trio in high school with her brother and sister called The Three Ronstadts (very original)

    In 1971, formed a backing band with Glenn Frey, Don Henley, Randy Meisner, and Bernie Leadon (boy, i wonder what happened to those guys?)

    Amassed 14 Top 30 Country Hits (10 made the Top 10) on Billboard Chart from 1974-1988, including 2 #1’s – “When Will I Be Loved”, and “To Know Him Is To Love Him (w/ Dolly Parton & Emmylou Harris).

    She also performed in “The Pirate of Penzance” in NYC 1980, and the movie of the same name in 1983.

    On the Hot 100, she scored 21 Top 40 Hits, from 1967- 1990, including just 1 #1, “You’re No Good” in 1974. She did have 3 #2’s that just missed the top, “When Will I Be Loved” (’74), “Somewhere Out There (’87), and “Don’t Know Much” w/ Aaron Neville.

    Talk about your first major crossover artist, not to mention the amazing “standards” cd’s she released in the 80’s with Nelson Riddle. i LOVE those!!! It’s hard to believe she been off the airwaves for 20 years! That’s criminal!!!

    She has put out cd’s since then, which have been wonderful,unfortunately their not considered “radio friendly”. To hell with programmers!

  18. taylorfan06 Says:

    after i posted that one cf,(TFCITD) i did remember you putting that one up. your help is very much appreciated. she rocked that song!

  19. casualfan Says:

    Linda is an unconventional artist who is highly successful and has more than earned her place in music history. She is an excellent example of not needing to be “radio friendly” in order to be successful and a music legend. Her work has inspired many musicians-even Taylor. That’s what it’s all about IMO.

  20. taylorfan06 Says:

    I agree 100%. Good/real music was appreciated then. Different times.
    I wonder how she would do if she started today? Timing is everything. Thank god for her and her incredible body of work.

    How about Supertramp? “Breakfast In America” is a classic (their “Thriller”)
    I also love “Crime of the Century”, “Even in the Quietest Moments”, and “…Famous Lat Words..” Great music, amazing musicians. I wish I could have seen them live back in the day.

    That holds true for Bob Seger also. BIG TIME! Does he still tour? I was listening to his live 1981 cd. “Nine Tonight”, and did that sound good in the cranked up?? One of my all-time favorites songs of his is “Brave Strangers” from 1978’s “Stranger In Town”. LOVE. THAT. SONG! That cd also includes: “Main Street” that Taylor covered (in my collection), ditto for “Hollywood Nights”, “We’ve Got Tonight”, and “Old Time Rock & Roll”, which I heard will be used on tonight’s DWTS – tribute to “Risky Business”, maybe Tom Cruise’s BEST movie. I think I need to do a “Seger” marathon when i go to the gym tomorrow.

    Speaking of which, his song, “Shinin’ Brightly” from 1980’s “Against The Wind”. LOVE THAT CD too. I included “SB” on a cd i gave to Taylor. It fits him to a “T”.

    Wow! I really got on a roll. And that leads me to “Roll Me Away”, from “The Distance”. Nice cd AND “title”. “Shame On The Moon” made it to #2 for 4 weeks AND #15 on the Country chart. Great song by Rodney Crowell. Bob has written great songs and knows how to pick some great covers (i.e, “Nutbush City Limits”, Mary Lou”, OTR&R, and “Trying To Live My Life Without You). Nothing wrong with cover songs.

    When will Bob ever be on itunes? I’m just glad I have all his cd’s. THAT GUY IS GOOD!. No… HE’S GREAT!!!!!!! “Let It Rock”, Bob!!!! Hard to believe he only had one #1 song – “Shakedown”, another cover song.

  21. casualfan Says:

    Don Henley-Another great musician.

  22. taylorfan06 Says:

    OMG! get your hands on his “Inside Job” live dvd. GREAT show. Amazing sound. Best in surround sound. His re-work of “Hotel California” will blow you away.

    Another great song from his “greatest” hits is “You Don’t Know Me At All”. Don is amazing an still relevant. Hard to believe “Inside Job”is 10 years old now. Where does the time go???

  23. taylorfan06 Says:

    I just missed out on seeing The Eagles at the Hollywood Bowl this past Saturday due to picking a friend at the airport. I am loyal. My friend had to rub it in how amazing the 2 1/2 hour show was. I watched “Hell Freezes Over” last night as a consolation. Another great dvd!! That one’s almost 20 years old. eeegads! *grabbing for the oil of olay*

  24. casualfan Says:

    I would love to see the Eagles in concert TF6. Paul Mccartney was at the Hollywood Bowl a few weeks ago. An acquaintance of mine went to see him and had a blast. She said he was in top form, communicated well with the audience and told stories for each songs about the Beatles and had endless energy. If I had known about the concert I would have gone. =(

  25. taylorfan06 Says:

    I actually had a chance to see that Paul McCartney show at the Hollywood Bowl a few weeks back also. My friend had an extra ticket. I had to take a pass because the ticket was $250.00!

    I knew I was going to owe on my taxes so I unfortunately had to take a pass. I so regretted my decision of not going after I had my taxes done. It turned out that I didn’t owe as much as I thought. OUCH!!

    I did read an amazing review of the concert which added insult to injury. The set list was wicked! Over 30 songs and I think a couple of encores. I can just imagine the roar of the crowd. And just the experience! I mean, Paul McCartney at the Hollywood Bowl! Hello, McFly? Anyone in there? As Dr. Phil says, “What were yooooou thinking?

    I shouldn’t be so practical. I mean you live once. Next time (like that’s going to happen), I’M GOING!!! *bangs head into the wall continuously*

  26. casualfan Says:

    I hear ya! You only live once and these legends aren’t getting any younger. 😉

  27. taylorfan06 Says:

    Tom Petty comes to the Hollywood Bowl in October. I’d LOVE to see him!

  28. casualfan Says:

    Oh my….now that would be a show indeed!

  29. hicksaholic Says:

    I saw Paul McCartney several years ago in New Orleans. He was great! You’re right about taking the opportunity to see a legend when you get it. I hate I will never see Michael Jackson perform. He was an incredible talent.

Leave a Reply

