From Broadway to commercials…

Well, sort of. Check this out

I’ve got nothing. I mean, I guess I should be excited. He’s singing a new song, right? *rolls eyes*

77 Responses to “From Broadway to commercials…”

  1. Oy vey! Is all I got to say.

  2. HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAA!! What’s next, an infomercial??!?

  3. Celebs often do commercials for their home town nothing wrong with that.
    I think it’s good that his home town is showing him some love.

  4. casualfan Says:

    I think it’s cool that T is showing support for his home town. Fox News has always supported his career. Cool commerical!

  5. I live in Toronto….we have some really big names do promo pieces for the city all the time. I think they are honoured to be asked.

  6. casualfan Says:

    I feel the same way Anne. I think it’s a great opportunity for Taylor in continuing to keep his voice out there and great promo for Fox 6 news as well. I don’t think that Studdard or even Bo has done that.

  7. Ruben has a version but it isn’t nearly as good. Taylor has two versions. Did you all see the photo of Tay on the boat with the captain? He looked tan and his hair was longer.

  8. I agree a lot of celebs do these kinds of commercials and they don’t get flack for it I think he did a great job and looked so happy and gorgeous and sounded great! Guess with some of you nothing he does is right!

  9. casualfan Says:

    I did Rosie. He does look better with longer hair. He looks healthy and happy. =)

  10. hicksaholic Says:

    I think it’s great Taylor is doing this for Bham. My roommate from college who lives there has already emailed me telling me how cute he is in it. It keeps his name out there. Birmingham loves Taylor as does all of Alabama really so if Taylor has to come back here to be successful eventually I think he will be able to. He’s got that nightclub possibility in Bham that may eventually go forward. I see nothing but good from this. He’s not promoting this commercial as his new album.

  11. I love to see Taylor tooting his own horn. He got to show that not only is Fox news working for the people, but that he has recently done the same.

  12. Snowstorm Says:

    oh wow, Hicks wants to act on the big screen! But, he can’t give any details because it’s a BIG BIG secret. Can’t let his 20 fans know yet. *snickers*

    http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/story/CTVNews/20100408/ent_hicks_toronto_100408/20100408/?hub=EntertainmentV2

  13. taylorfan06 Says:

    Bravo, Rosie. But Idol STILL blows!!!

  14. taylorfan06 Says:

    Actually not a fan of FIX news, but good for Taylor.

  15. taylorfan06 Says:

    no typo,there, btw…

  16. mamaforpeace Says:

    Got it, TF6:) I wonder why Taylor can’t make better commercials. Nothing against him doing it, but the quality sucks, just not very well made. And don’t get me started on that awful Ford commercial he made just after AI5. I don’t think his reputation ever recovered from that one!

  17. taylorfan06 Says:

    I agree with you on the commercial mfp. Taylor didn’t “make” the commercial, but I think he might have envisioned it differently, or not. He may like it like many others (fans) have. I doubt he had final take approval.

    But the bottom line is that it keeps his (handsome) face out there and the locals (and fans) are probably aware of his work with for H4H. So I’ll look at it as a positive. Did Taylor write the song, btw? anyone know? A bit cheesy, but not bad. Always LOVE “new” Taylor music! A new cd… BETTER!

  18. It was the station’s theme song, but I’m sure it was Taylorized. LOL. And the station made the commercial not Taylor. I thought it was very good on the station site not so good on the rough TV captures that some of the fans did. The sound of course as well as the picture was much better on the station’s site.

  19. datilpepper Says:

    He’s paying the bills….it’s all good. We can carp,complain, second guess, and “if only Taylor would” til the cows come home, but they’re his decisions right or wrong.

  20. casualfan Says:

    Most commercials are cheesy, but that’s ok. He was a cutie in that commercial and seemed to have fun. Glad he’s doing something to keep his voice out there…that’s what the important thing is for me at least.

  21. Me thinks someone connected with the weather has special status. Moderation!

  22. taylorfan06 Says:

    hey cf. you really summed it up. i agree 100%. Totally!

  23. Snowstorm Says:

    Snow has melted. You won’t see much of me anymore, but it does snow in April. Try not to miss me. Don’t waste your life. Get out into the real world.

    Peace out.

  24. Just in case my moderated post never sees the light of day, I’ll repeat part of it. Taylor is still saying he has TV and or film/movie plans in the works, but can’t reveal them. I want to go pay my 9 bucks to see Taylor in a movie role. Should he do something on TV, I hope it is a channel on my expanded cable service. Also, Kris’ Ford commercials are on several channels and have been since late Jan. As I recall, Tay’s singing Ford commercial was only around for about 6 weeks. Why do some of his fans diss it still? I wasn’t online back then, but I and so many others I know loved it, including my buds who never saw AI. Speaking of the weather, it has been as hot as hell here for the past 4 days, and that makes me miss the Snow and whatever.

  25. casualfan Says:

    Rosie-LOL! It’s been warm and sunny here. Enjoying the Spring. 😉

  26. Crap, never capitalize any local weather reports. Wish flowers had more status, now that it is spring and before ya know it roses will bloom. Fruits, flowers, veggies, skin blemishes, Tay fans of all degrees, the fair, wise and hopeful and just the regular Joes with their given names, and the sun, moon and stars are all = here. All colors are welcome. Shout out to missing charcoal… Yea, I’m a lame cornball and sometimes a posting freak, but I have fun being a fan. Hope you are working it all out IAG.

  27. hicksaholic Says:

    Received my cd today, cf. Thanks so much!

  28. CF, It has been summer here for about 5 days. Thankfully, we are in for a cool down and normal temps. I’ve had to kill 4 bees who found their way inside, in the past two days. The wimpy, post divorce girly me, used to spray them to death. Now, I hit them with a fly swatter. I so hate killing any creature; they do not die with the first, second or third swat. Killing just sucks, but they are too dumb to fly out the door and I don’t want to be stung.

  29. casualfan Says:

    hicksaholic Says:

    April 8, 2010 at 7:40 pm
    Received my cd today, cf. Thanks so much!
    =============================================
    Good! He autographed everything in there…LOL! He was busy talking to me and kept on going. There’s about 4 autographs at least!

  30. taylorfan06 Says:

    Speaking of cds, i was listening to a homemade Taylor “live” cd that i made sometime back today. It sounded SO goood! “Soul Thing”, “Happier With Him” “Hollywood Nights”, “Why Does Love Have To Be So Sad?”, “What I’d Say”, “Ain’t No Sunshine”, “Abraham, Martin, & John”, and even an early “Blues And Soul” aka “HAS” that kicks it! It has such an “unplugged” vibe and would make an A-MAZE-ING dvd. That “voice” (and talent) is just tops for me.

    GREAT songs! GREAT artist. Maybe it’s not commercial (…ok), but WHO THE FUCK CARES??? It’s Taylor Fucking Hicks!!! So much better than anything on the radio today. *scratching head why he never got airplay* (like anyone on AI9 has any scary talent… tisk tisk)

    Forever Taylor for me here! Anyone surprised???

    hey cf – what cd did you send hicksaholic? just curious…

  31. casualfan Says:

    The Distance

  32. taylorfan06 Says:

    Signed I assume. Cool experience to meet Taylor. It’s been over a year since I’ve had the honor. Looking forward to the next time…

  33. hicksaholic Says:

    I noticed he signed it several times. He must have been enjoying talking to you cf. Thanks again.

  34. Taylor teh Movie Stah? – not the most attractive photo ever of him.

    Wonder if he’s had more offers or he’s just fishing?

  35. taylorfan06 Says:

    I so agree with you Sunny. It’s a bit ironic to say that he looks “old” in that picture. Not real flattering of the “silver fox” we all know and love. But I do look forward to that acting “announcement” soon. It is coming, right?

    Hopefully that picture won’t be his next cd cover. Say it ain’t so. Say it ain’t so…

  36. I think he has on too much foundation for such a close up pic, makes him look a bit waxy. My sister says he has cute mouth and lips. I never thought of that til she said it, but the shape of his mouth is cute.

  37. Ange Bleu Says:

    I think Taylor has received tentative offers from TV and the movies, but they haven’t as yet gelled. He has been contacted about possibilities not actualities. He know what might happen but not what’s going to happen. This isn’t unusual. It happens all the time in those industries. Actors read scripts that may or may not be actually produced. Directors are changed, new script writers are brought in, lead actors bow out. Nothing is a sure thing until actual production begins.

  38. taylorfan06 Says:

    I think he’ll eventually have a “sure thing”, if not already.
    It appears that the camera LOVE him.

    Taylor teh Movie Stah? …well MOST of the time. LOL

  39. taylorfan06 Says:

    that was “LOVES him.”

  40. taylorfan06 Says:

    and so do i. (no shit sherlock!)

  41. Ange Bleu Says:

    Yes, he does appear a bit waxy in the pic, but still handsome – nothing to be ashamed of. The pic of him that I absolutely hate ia the one shown over and over on articles written about him. He’s wearing a black shirt & pants and a brown jacket several sizes too big for him. He’s hair is cut bowl style. He’s smiling & has a goofy look on his face. His nose is unusually wide & prominent (hmmm). This picture may be a favorite of some of his fans because they write about how handsome he appears. I see this picture as a detriment to his career & image. They see it as “hot.”

  42. taylorfan06 Says:

    beauty is in the eye of the beer holder.

    some think doltry is sexy. go figure… *scratching head as i walk away*

  43. Sometimes an actors role in a movie is edited down to one or two lines, and so many TV pilots aren’t picked up by the networks. I’m still not sure why Tay posed for pics in Toronto wearing a suit, but he had his chest hair peeking out as usual, so all was good for me. I know exactly what pix you mean AB. I don’t think hardly any fans like that pix.

  44. I think Taylor doing his own thing is sexy. Daughtry seems too caught up in posing as a rock star which I think, he thinks , makes him look sexy.

  45. casualfan Says:

    hicksaholic Says:

    April 9, 2010 at 5:20 am
    I noticed he signed it several times. He must have been enjoying talking to you cf. Thanks again.
    ===============================================
    😉

  46. casualfan Says:

    I don’t think Daughtry “thinks” he’s sexy. He’s very humble and down to earth. All the man wants to do is play his music which he’s very good at. He’s not that much into the cameras.

    On the other hand, Taylor does have the gift for being “eye candy” as well as the talent. Great pkg to have. Now hopefully he will be heading into the recording studio to let that voice shine.

  47. Rose, seriously you think Taylor wearing his shirt Tom Jones style is his not thinking he’s good looking? All he needs (Hicks) is a few large gold chains one with his zodiac sign on it.

    His lips? Man you can’t hardly see them. *squints* The man has some thin lips. That or that waxy bleached out foundation had covered ’em up.

    It’s just odd he’s in an article advertising he wants in flicks and turns up looking 50. Seriously TheD and all his salt and pepper looks younger than Taylor in that pic. (and he is 50)

    I did not even mention his girly hand pose… hahahaha

  48. casualfan Says:

    LOL!

  49. well, I was expecting to not like the picture , but thought Taylor looked pretty freaking good…I agree it’s too much makeup, but I was overall impressed and thought he looked very distinguished – his distinctive facial features are highlighted very well here. But yeah he do got some thin lips, LOL.

    oh yeah, I don’t find Daughtry sexy per se, but he sure can rock. I keep waiting for that dark, heavier CD he said earlier was on the way. Didn’t hear it on his newest one, save for the 1st song.

  50. On second thought, at least Taylor has lips. He could have pretty much non-existent lips like TN’s U.S. House Rep. Jim Cooper :-p

  51. taylorfan06 Says:

    For me, it’s all about that killer smile of Taylor’s. Those “caterpillar” eyebrows are sexy too.

    I got to thinking about the song “Have I Stayed Too Long At The Fair/Look At That Face” by Barbra Streisand:

    “Look at that face, just look at it
    Look at that fabulous face of yours
    I knew first look i took at it
    This was the face that the world adores
    Look at those eyes
    As wise and as deep as the sea
    Look at that nose
    It shows what a nose should be
    As for your smile it’s lyrical
    Friendly and warm as a summer day
    Your face is just a miracle
    Where could i ever find the words to say
    The way it makes me happy
    Whatever the time or place
    I will find when i love
    I’ll go far”

    Relevant, wouldn’t you say??

  52. Ange Bleu Says:

    Taylor has a way of pursing and tightening his lips that make them look thinner than they actually are. He sort of pulls in the middle of his lips and tightens them.

  53. He is certainly a guy who takes great pics and bad pics. LOL. Sometimes he will look really thin and sometimes fat even in pics taken during the same time period. So don’t know if it’s the lighting or the photographer or what?
    Most of his are good though. At least he doesn’t take ALL bad pics like me. LOL.

  54. casualfan Says:

    Taylor’s lips really aren’t that thin in person. At least when I met him he was relaxed, happy and obviously not in any hurry. His face was relaxed and I could see all of his lips and his pretty teeth. =)

    My guess is all the stress of everyone wanting a piece of him at times and being pulled into so many different directions at once takes it’s toll as it does with most celebs.

  55. casualfan Says:

    Ange Bleu Says:

    April 10, 2010 at 11:44 am
    Taylor has a way of pursing and tightening his lips that make them look thinner than they actually are. He sort of pulls in the middle of his lips and tightens them.
    ===============================================
    LOL! Gee Ange-You don’t pay much attention to detail, do ya? Just kidding.

  56. taylorfan06 Says:

    That crossed my mind too… Just sayin’… It’s all good.

  57. mamaforpeace Says:

    Did anyone see the half hour special “Adam Lambert Unplugged”? The dude is good!!!

  58. casualfan Says:

    I missed it MFP. Yes, Adam is very, very good! Seems like he’s finally coming into his own now which I knew he would. People are having fits because of Adam being mentor on AI but I think it’s great they asked him. He’s been in the business for a long time and will be a great source of inspiration. He’s got spunk, lots of energy and that is exactly what AI needs. He will do great!

  59. taylorfan06 Says:

    I recorded it earlier, as well as a hall & oates concert. i’ll have to watch them both tomorrow since it’s so late. looking forward to it very much.

    i also think it’s great for adam to be a mentor cf. he’s got a good head on his shoulder and can definitely give insight from his varied experience. he won’t be able to pass on charisma though. you have it or you don’t. both adam and TAYLOR have it. s9 – not so much.

  60. hicksaholic Says:

    When was Adam Lambert Unplugged on? I bet it was announced on mj’s but I skipped it thinking it was a cd not tv.

  61. mamaforpeace Says:

    It was late on VH1 Sat. night. I think I read about it in USA today, just a little blurb. It was done in a very controlled environment, small but appreciative audience. Some segments had AL talking about his music (he is very articulate). His voice is really amazing, and he feels comfortable with the audience. I think he is being marketed very smartly. Not qite ready for prime time yet, so these smaller exposures are giving him some exposure without too much risk.

  62. casualfan Says:

    Unplugged shows are great. I like them better than live albums. I’ll have to go on a treasure hunt to see if I can unearth any video.

  63. mamaforpeace Says:

    You go girl! I hope you find something:)

  64. casualfan Says:

    Not from last night, but from an earlier “Unplugged” segment. He has incredible voice control.

  65. casualfan Says:

    Love this song!

  66. mamaforpeace Says:

    You’re the best, CF! Can you find the last one… something about down the rabbit hole? I really liked it.

  67. mamaforpeace Says:

    Ok, I found it b/c you pointed me in the right direction:)

  68. hicksaholic Says:

    Adam IS very good in interviews, no stumbling around for words. Very good at expressing himself. I like him a lot. I think he is pretty much what you see is what you get. No trying to fool people into thinking he’s something he’s not. I do believe he has learned a lesson as to how much of his true feelings, emotions to reveal in performances geared more to the mainstream audience. But he’s not fake, he just reveals more of his thoughts if the audience can handle it.

  69. casualfan Says:

    I totally agree Hicksaholic and that’s why I like him too. He may have gotten a little full of himself right after Idol, but that was to be expected. He learns very quickly and I seriously doubt he will make the same mistake again. I see a bright future for Adam, I really do.

  70. Fairhope Says:

    When was this and where was it filmed? Anyone???

  71. I really like Adam too. But I’m not completely sure he’s not into fooling people. I’ve heard him say different things that seemed to contradict each other. For example I heard him say to begin with that he was totally gay and not into girls and then later start hinting that perhaps a female could sway him. Then after that he was more direct and said he would not totally rule out a relationship with a women. I remember thinking at the time that the PTB must have had a reality talk with him saying he needed to play the game and not rule out 1/2 of the fan population. LOL. I don’t hold it against him. I don’t expect stars to not SPIN. They all do it it’s part of being a celeb.

  72. casualfan Says:

    T has spun a few lies himself so that’s no surprise. Adam is wise to “play both sides” at this point. And who knows….he’s got women throwing themselves at him now and he may take a bite of an apple. He’s a hottie.

  73. I’ve liked gLambert from the first time I heard him on the show, then found his youtubes on what he did prior to the show.

    CF, regarding that apple comment, very funny. lol

    I got no problem with Mr. Hicks or gLambert spinnning stories, it’s all about marketing, they are the product.

  74. Adam may be a decent mentor and I’m looking forward to hearing the 9 cover Elvis. Hottie or hot mess, guess it depends on who you ask…

  75. taylorfan06 Says:

    They’re doing Elvis this week? Can you say S5 flashback?
    Hopefully, they start “grabbing the audience by the balls..”
    Bring on some entertainment. PLEASE!
    (Not that I’m planning to watch.)

  76. casualfan Says:

    I’m not having any S5 flashback TF6. I find comparing the seasons not fair to the constants in the present. Each season is different as it should be. When they all start sounding alike, there’s a problem.

    Adam being mentor on Elvis week is awesome! Looking forward to seeing his Royal Hotness again. 😉

  77. casualfan Says:

    If anyone gets into the mood of discovering some cool blues musicians, check out the Delta Groove Productions link here. You get greeted with some true blues music while you browse…this is the kind of stuff I love!

    http://www.deltagrooveproductions.com/music/artists.html

Leave a Reply

