W is for Whomp? What?

Ok, getting back to the coveted alphabet series, I was thinking of a W that pertains to Taylor Hicks. All I could think of was Modern Whomp Records. Here’s what I want to know, Taylor. What the hell is whomp? Did you make that word up? So, I went searching the internet for definitions. Here’s what I got:

Super Mario-Whomps are large, walking stone-wall like enemies that are minions of Bowser. They debuted in the game Super Mario 64.

Or there’s this:

whomp up, Informal.
a.
to make or create quickly: to whomp up a new set of guidelines.
b.
to stir up; rouse: to whomp up public approval.

I know what he’s said…it’s a blend of soul, jazz, blues and funk. Okay. Whatever.

Here’s another thing that bugs me about the phrase. Tacking Modern on to the front of it assumes that there was old whomp, right? I mean, is there retro whomp? Try saying that three times fast. 🙂

Anyway, on to more relevant news, who wants to place bets on whether one of the winners is Taylor? Although he has told us that he wants to record a new record (if we could only be that lucky), act, and relax this summer, I just can’t see him passing up an opportunity like this. As long as it involves Taylor Hicks on a stage singing something other than Beauty School Dropout, I’m all for it.

143 Responses to “W is for Whomp? What?”

  1. casualfan Says:

    LOL! Actually, the word Whomp is connected to kids. I think there was a game called “Whomped” awhile back. There’s also an online game called “whomp!” that can be played.

    I have no idea what the hell Taylor was thinking when he said that Modern Whomp represents his fusion of music. I would have agreed pre-Idol, but now…..FAIL. Sorry, Tay but I don’t see it but hopefully you will “Whomp” us with your next CD. Ya think? 😉

  2. Well, that’s a different kind of blog.

  3. taylorfan06 Says:

    LOVE that picture of Taylor. Beautiful brown eyes and sheer confidence.

  4. taylorfan06 Says:

    His skin is flawless in person. And he’s also more handsome than Clooney.

  5. Some are saying the Vegas gig may be Ruben and Jordin. I’m always forgetting about Jordin.

  6. casualfan Says:

    Rumor is only a rumor till it becomes fact. That is why I’m not speculating. But for the record, I don’t see Ruben doing Vegas. I do see Clay Aiken though.

  7. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    March 8, 2010 at 11:10 pm
    His skin is flawless in person. And he’s also more handsome than Clooney.
    ============================================
    T is a cutie but something about Clooney melts my butter. He’s timeless and a class act all the way. 😉

  8. taylorfan06 Says:

    we’ll agree to disagree on that one cf. (george is a very close 2nd – just by a (gray) hair)

  9. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    March 8, 2010 at 11:57 pm
    we’ll agree to disagree on that one cf. (george is a very close 2nd – just by a (gray) hair)
    ==========================================
    haha-it’s a deal. 😉

  10. taylorfan06 Says:

    Maybe W can be for: What – a face! Is that stretching it??

  11. taylorfan06 Says:

    great choice iag.

  12. hicksaholic Says:

    I can see Taylor and Clay doing this. I would rather see Taylor with Fantasia or Jordin if it’s true but the reality is Clay would probably put on a much better show than Jordin. I can see how you forget her Dee. She’s pretty boring. THAT was a terrible AI year.

    Taylor likes to gamble so he’d be able to do that in Vegas. And if he likes fame I’m guessing he would be catered to there also. And good money to go along with it. And not having to travel all the time.


  13. I can’t help it; popped into my mind regarding Hicks and Vegas…

  14. Freckles Says:

    That’s funny because I really like little Jordin Sparks.

    George Clooney is hot, but did you see him at the Oscars?? He needs a hair cut, and it wouldn’t kill him to smile at a joke. He looked too stuffy for me.

    IAG~ You hit the nail on the head! WTF is a whomp. I hated it when he came out with it and I hate it now. But it’s a moot point. What’s done is done.

    I can see Taylor in Vegas. Maybe he’ll have more than one sparkly suit?? Ya think?? 😉

  15. cendrillon0308 Says:

    Speaking of sparkly suits, I could see Taylor totally rockin’ a Manuel or a vintage Nudie. Black or grey would be very flattering.

  16. Freckles Says:

    a nudie!! Can I get a picture of that? 😉 jk

  17. Yeah, the wardrobe probably wouldn’t be that much different. Makes me cringe to think about it though. He needs something manly to wear…like a suit coat or just a ratty old tshirt. Yep.

    I would hope that he would get to sing his real music and not some Vegas crap showtunes or something. Ugh. I think this show will be known as where the Idol winners go to die.

  18. mamaforpeace Says:

    Freckles, I think that Clooney was in on the joke actually!

  19. luv 2 be entertained Says:

    This type of Vegas thing is EXACTLY what the husband predicted would happen to Taylor.

    I, on the other hand, argued that he would be more like a indie artist touring with authentic, blues influenced original music LOL

    *sigh*

    He’s going to be impossible to live with now.

  20. I just can’t see Tay going along with this group thing of 2 winners and past contestents, who may be 8th, 10th or 12th place forgetables. Also Mr. SASSY PANTS, Norman Gentle, may mock them and steal the show with his comedy routines. Taylor must have had to pass up other offers these past 2 yrs of Grease, and I can’t picture him commiting to 4 months of this. He said Whomp was a play on Swamp type southern music, and it is just a label name in reality. When watching the Academy Awards, it occured to me That Taylor may be type casted already as a singer, performer and potential actor. He needs to try a more serious, and yes manly, acting role, even if it is a swarmy lover type, or a deceitful evil bastard.

  21. Rosie, 8th, 10th or 12th place forgettables? What about the winners that are forgettable? Taylor Hicks is either a joke or nobody remembers him. We remember him because we’re fans of him. I can’t tell you how many times Taylor Hicks has been mentioned when I’ve been out and about and people go “Who’s that?”

  22. I, on the other hand, argued that he would be more like a indie artist touring with authentic, blues influenced original music LOL

    *sigh*

    Me too, Luv, me too.

  23. luv 2 be entertained Says:

    IAG, if this Vegas thing is indeed true, we need to drown our sorrows with some cocktails.

    Pick your poison…

    Me? I’ma straight up shot of Jack Daniels…its the only thing strong enough to ease the pain ; )

    Cheers!

  24. luv 2 be entertained Says:

    Okay that would be HAVING a straight up shot…

    I sound drunk already…geez..

  25. Grey, lol “where Idol winners go to die”. Sparkly suits? Hah! like this?

    Or please Gawd no…


    Dig the sequin ties and instrument straps. 😀

  26. Nah, Taylor’s talking more like this:
    Gram Parsons: “She’s a Devil in Disguise” *love it* lol

  27. Snowstorm Says:

    Whomp was laughable. To this day, nobody knows what the hell it is or what sound he was going after. I don’t think he even knows himself.

    If he is going through with the Vegas lizard lounge act, I’m done with him and I will feel sad for him because that means the phone really did stop ringing. I will bet any amount of money that it’s him and Studdard. I don’t believe for one minute that any of the other winners would have the slightest amount of interest in doing this. Clay Aiken wants nothing to do with American Idol and no way is he going to appear on stage with other Idols and Norman Gentle or whatever his name is.

  28. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    March 9, 2010 at 9:31 am
    Rosie, 8th, 10th or 12th place forgettables? What about the winners that are forgettable? Taylor Hicks is either a joke or nobody remembers him. We remember him because we’re fans of him. I can’t tell you how many times Taylor Hicks has been mentioned when I’ve been out and about and people go “Who’s that?”
    ==============================================
    Grey-Sadly, I have the same problem. I always have to tell them that Taylor Hicks is the one who won American Idol 3 years ago. Then it never fails…..”What ever happened to that guy?”.

    Rosie-LOL! Bless your heart-You’ve got Taylor pegged as some kind of Diva.

  29. I think Taylor’s vision for Whomp is swamp/bayou blues infused with a modern sound ..he will achieve what he is looking for but it will take time and the very elusive radio play, With the music business so f*#ked up right now it may take longer than he or we anticipated, so if he keeps his name out there and being able to pay the bills while we wait… so be it.

  30. casualfan Says:

    Poor Elvis. All the man wanted to do was play HIS music HIS way but he had all these Puppet Masters pulling his strings and having him do what THEY wanted. He lost himself and it killed him.

    That is one of the biggest reasons I cringe when someone compares Taylor to Elvis. Taylor does NOT need to travel down the same path as Elvis.

    Maybe Clay Conner, Brian Less and all of T’s close friends and family should implement the “Taylor Made” formula again. 😉

  31. The 30 some million who watched AI in 06 know and remember Taylor Hicks. I wouldn’t refer to him as forgetable. A promoter had to have pitched this show idea awhile ago for it to be a reality and would have had to pitched the details, the players and format. Since Taylor has spoken of Nashville writing and collaberating, tv, and time off, I doubt he is involed in this. I can think of many past contestents who’d jump at the chance to be a part of this Vegas gig, but Taylor isn’t one of them. This is for people who need work and money. He does not. I would like to see him with a band open for someone in Vegas, but not a part of any AI revue. CF Taylor is a diva with regards to knowing his talent and capabilities.

  32. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    March 9, 2010 at 12:46 pm
    The 30 some million who watched AI in 06 know and remember Taylor Hicks.
    ============================================
    Ok Rosie. Congrats to him for all those peeps remembering him and purchasing his music. Looks like sound-scan failed to accurately inventory all those cd sales.

  33. Sweetay Says:

    I do not buy the idea for one moment that Taylor wants time off. He’s got nothing, and I doubt if he was even considered for Vegas. But if you want to believe that Taylor is turning down all kinds of stuff, just to make another CD for the tiny little Soul Patrol… dream on.

    The only thing Taylor whomped with his Whomp music was himself.

    my definition for whomp… the arcade game where the kids take a rubber mallet and bash the little critters in the head as they peak in and out of their holes… WHOMP!

  34. casualfan Says:

    This is for people who need work and money. He does not.
    =============================================
    Oh, ok. Thanks for clarifying this for me Rosie. I was not aware that this venture was for the desperate only.

  35. casualfan Says:

    Sweetay, Whatever gave you the idea that the SP is tiny? There are at least 30 million people out there who haven’t forgotten Taylor and no doubt they are all part of his fan-base. Perhaps you should pay attention to what Rosie says. She’s on top of things.

  36. casualfan Says:

    The view count is not accurate BTW. It should read at least 30 million.

  37. casualfan Says:

  38. Freckles Says:

    LOL I know. My husband teases me occasionally for being a total fanwhore for Taylor. And when he does it in mixed company, no one ever remembers who he is. And when they say, oh hey what happened to him? My husband says with great delight, “He’s the Teen Angel on Broadway!” The friends always say….Oh…

    *giggles*

  39. casualfan Says:

    Will the REAL Taylor Hicks please stand up! Here he is….F*****g Yeah!

  40. casualfan Says:

    This is for you Grey 😉

  41. casualfan Says:

    Ok, I gave it a shot and no one can say that I didn’t try. I attempted to watch the Grease vid and could only get thru 2 mins of it. ***sobs***

  42. taylorfan06 Says:

    I don’t know cf, it put a smile on my face. Seeing that performance live was great! The way the lights make that suit shine and the power of THAT voice… sweet memory for me. But I will be glad when the run ends and he’s on to the next stage, or should i say chapter, of his career. Bottom line: fan for life. That’s my choice.

    cf- can you find a video for Little Peggy March’s “I Will Follow Him” please?

  43. mamaforpeace Says:

    Ok, I’m going to be positive and say let’s hope NOT!!!

  44. CF… I’m sobbing along with you. Oh My God…. It’s just…. bleh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    IT’S EVEN WORSE THAN MY WORST NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    *collapses*

  45. taylorfan06 Says:

    isn’t a musical ” all about the music???”

    mfp “…let’s hope NOT!!!” ???????? & ykw …WORSE THAN MY WORST NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!” ??????? – can you both clarify your posts?

  46. Iag, said people don’t remember Taylor. People who watched AI5 remember him as that grey haired older looking guy with the moves and personality who won the show. Who said they all flocked to buy his music or know what he is doing now, or even give a damn? Not me. He has money and can afford to take time off and relax or do whatever in the hell he wants. Nick/Norman, and most of the also rans, top 12 each yr. do not have the money or the option of picking and choosing something in the music entertainment business. He isn’t played on the radio. He isn’t on magazine covers or all over TV or winning awards like Carrie Underwood. He is a memorable person, and he did prove himself as a draw to the box office for Grease. YKW, and others are not fooling me that they have not watched a Grease vid until now. SS, won’t cease critiquing Taylor or his fans, if he does Vegas. Better to try to whomp, then sit back and be whomped. Tay whomped on AI and sucked ya’ll in and others with his talent, smarts, personality and charisma. While most who voted for him, wanted to hear him do covers like he did on AI, most here wanted to sing songs like his pre AI stuff. I’d like to see him in Vegas, without the AI group, singing covers of great songs.

  47. I think Taylor has a pretty high name recognition or they would not have given him top billing for a Cameo in Grease. So obviously they felt he would be a draw. His name may not always bring the most positive thoughts to mind since some of the press like to keep him around as the least successful Idol.. But they remember his name first not Ruben or Jordin. Polarizing opinions both good and bad of Taylor only serve to keep his name out there. Not everyone knows what he has been up to but a lot of people don’t know what Ruben or Jordin have been doing either even though they have been working. And Kris even though he has been getting radio play my daughter saw his commercial the other day and only remembered him as being on Idol she didn’t even remember he had won or knew that he is on radio.

  48. Dee agree. Freckles and others should try polling non AI watchers about Archie, Cook, Kris, Jordin, and Ruben and even Daughtry and Lambert. Taylor is unique, although not nearly as well known by the masses, visable or successful as Carrie Underwood. She is by far the most visable of all AI winners and contestents to the general public.

  49. casualfan Says:

    YKW Says:

    March 9, 2010 at 4:46 pm
    CF… I’m sobbing along with you. Oh My God…. It’s just…. bleh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    IT’S EVEN WORSE THAN MY WORST NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    *collapses*
    ===============================================
    LOL! It does sort of throw a wet blanket on things-especially after watching the video of Hollywood Nights right above.

    ***collapses along with YKW***

  50. mamaforpeace Says:

    IAG, let’s hope TH does NOT do this Vegas show you were all speculating about. And I should add let’s hope he doesn’t do more Broadway, acting (what acting??? What qualifies him for that??? Not a cameo in Grease certainly), no reality tv, no more bullshit! Let’s get back to the music. I was listening to the Nashville tapes the other day. I want THAT Taylor back. He is in there somewhere. He didn’t just vanish in thin air. So, come on, Man, let’s get back to what you do best!

  51. casualfan Says:

    mamaforpeace Says:

    March 9, 2010 at 6:38 pm
    IAG, let’s hope TH does NOT do this Vegas show you were all speculating about. And I should add let’s hope he doesn’t do more Broadway, acting (what acting??? What qualifies him for that??? Not a cameo in Grease certainly), no reality tv, no more bullshit! Let’s get back to the music. I was listening to the Nashville tapes the other day. I want THAT Taylor back. He is in there somewhere. He didn’t just vanish in thin air. So, come on, Man, let’s get back to what you do best!
    ==============================================
    AMEN!

  52. I’m on top of things! Off to watch the best 8 female singers American Idol found across the USA.

  53. Ange Bleu Says:

    I believe doing a show in Vegas won’t affect his career one way or the other. It will have a neutral impact on his future career, plus performers in Vegas are paid a lot of money. However, I think this Vegas thing is pure speculation. Maybe yes, maybe no. In one way people not knowing or remembering him is a good thing because they won’t have any preconceived ideas about him. I think a lead part in a good Broadway show would help his career, but he should never do traveling second compay road shows again. In the end it won’t matter, because I sincerely believe in the next year or two his career will take an upward turn.

  54. casualfan Says:

    What ever happens next for Mr. Hicks I hope it has everything to do with his music and his career taking that upward turn. None of us disagree that he has extreme talent in both songwriting and as a live musician. Taylor has many, many wonderful gifts of music to offer. Hopefully the Muses will guide him back onto that path and it will be immensely successful.

  55. hicksaholic Says:

    I think it’s important for Taylor to have some career successes(and not just monetarily). I think he needs validation of his talent and all he seems to get from his music is negative comparisons to other AI winners and mediocre sales. If he really thought he could be even moderately successful just pursuing music, I think he would.
    I’m glad he’s starting to fight back in some of those interviews that question his accomplishments. That being said I wish Taylor could tour his music nonstop and I would absolutely love to hear him occassionally on the radio.

  56. Freckles Says:

    No offense Rosie, but I don’t routinely poll my friends about Idol winners. We just don’t have that kind of a relationship. LOL

    That was just silly. They can’t remember Taylor who is my dream man, you think they are gonna remember Kris Allen?? I don’t even know him.

    Now, I’m not an Idol watcher and haven’t been for a few years, but I know who Adam Lambert is. I think most do. Also almost ALL of my friends have Daughtry’s Cd. Just sayin’

  57. Okay, I’ve never watched him do Grease, and I sure in the hell am not starting now!!

  58. Freckles Says:

    IAG~ LOL *hugs*

  59. Yes Freckles my 24 yr old thought Adam won and not Kris. LOL. She never watched AI other than a little last yr. She says she doesn’t like Taylor although she hasn’t given him a chance by listening much since her mother is a fan. LOL. She Has listened to Daughtry and hates him. She says none of her friends are Daughtry fans. She does have some Kelly CD’s and likes her.

  60. I don’t think anybody can deny the impact that AI has had on pop music and culture. Like it or not, it’s spawned artists like Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood, Daughtry, Adam Lambert, Kelly Pickler. They have all had success on the radio thanks to AI. It can definitely be a way to a career, and you obviously don’t need to win for that to happen. You just have to play your cards right. Some know how to do that, others apparently don’t.

  61. I should have done “W is for Where in the hell did this guy go?”

    *cries*

  62. This is interesting…”All the songs I performed on Idol, the last 30 seconds, I wrote.”

  63. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    March 10, 2010 at 9:36 am
    I don’t think anybody can deny the impact that AI has had on pop music and culture. Like it or not, it’s spawned artists like Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood, Daughtry, Adam Lambert, Kelly Pickler. They have all had success on the radio thanks to AI. It can definitely be a way to a career, and you obviously don’t need to win for that to happen. You just have to play your cards right. Some know how to do that, others apparently don’t.
    =============================================
    Exactly!

  64. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    March 10, 2010 at 9:29 am
    Okay, I’ve never watched him do Grease, and I sure in the hell am not starting now!!
    ==============================================
    hahaha!

  65. casualfan Says:

    Freckles Says:

    March 10, 2010 at 8:15 am
    No offense Rosie, but I don’t routinely poll my friends about Idol winners. We just don’t have that kind of a relationship. LOL

    That was just silly. They can’t remember Taylor who is my dream man, you think they are gonna remember Kris Allen?? I don’t even know him.

    Now, I’m not an Idol watcher and haven’t been for a few years, but I know who Adam Lambert is. I think most do. Also almost ALL of my friends have Daughtry’s Cd. Just sayin’
    ==============================================
    Freckles, What you are saying is logical but some don’t get logical.

  66. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    March 10, 2010 at 10:03 am
    I should have done “W is for Where in the hell did this guy go?”

    *cries*
    ===============================================
    ***intense sobbing***

  67. blueberry Says:

    I don’t like to force anyone to do anything, but how can someone criticize that which you don’t know? And no, I am not talking about the big, important stuff – I know you can have opinions on things you don’t yet know (like on parenting before you actually become a parent), but on a video? How does that work?

    And it is no surprise people don’t remember Taylor’s name! We tend to be a flavor of the month society about a lot of things.

    About Vegas – don’t fret if he does it – we all have to do what we do for a myriad of reasons, not any of which we all have to approve, understand or even know about.

    By the way, I have enjoyed the whole alphabet thing.

  68. casualfan Says:

    It’s a gift 😉

  69. Ange Bleu Says:

    From what I’ve read, most of Daughtry’s fans (appox. 70%) are male ages 15 to 35. Basically Adam Lambert is famous for being famous. Although he’s the darling of the media, his commercial success has been only mediocre.

  70. casualfan Says:

    One of the things that impressed me about Daughtry is when he was on AI last year to perform. After his performance, Ryan was asking him some questions and Daughtry fully acknowledged his band as his Team and gave full credit to them. To me that is impressive and he won me over as a fan of both him and his music. Not many musicians will give credit where credit is due.

    Lambert has a lot of learning and growing to do in the way he handles himself publicly. He’s a very talented Artist and I still believe that he will do great. All the pieces of the puzzle are there…he only needs to put them together. Now I totally see Adam on Broadway and being hugely successful at it. He’s a born entertainer and has never said otherwise.

  71. Ace appeared nude, front and center, last night in Hair. Wonder how ya’ll would react if Taylor did that. CF I thought Taylor was a born entertainer and has said he loves to entertain many times.

  72. I am on a TH listening frenzy today. Not sure what’s wrong with me…thank God that somebody had the forethought to record his pre AI live stuff. 🙂

  73. casualfan Says:

    haha Grey-that’s how I felt last Monday when I posted all those videos. That was fun!

  74. casualfan Says:

    That’s awesome that Ace has the self confidence to go nude on stage. It’s almost worth a trip to NY to see that. He’s got a killer body on him.

  75. casualfan Says:

    CF I thought Taylor was a born entertainer and has said he loves to entertain many times.
    ============================================
    Rosie, why does everything have to be a comparison with Taylor? My post wasn’t remotely referencing him or comparing him. Someone posted about Daughtry and Lambert and I responded accordingly.

  76. hicksaholic Says:

    I saw that about Ace and thought God only knows if it was Taylor. I can’t see Taylor agreeing to it. I’m a little surprised at Ace but glad he’s ok with it. He certainly has no reason to be ashamed of his body. Can you imagine if it was Taylor? There’d be lines drawn from here to there all over his body to prove what was real and what was photoshopped.

  77. casualfan Says:

    There’d be lines drawn from here to there all over his body to prove what was real and what was photoshopped.
    ===============================================
    ROFLMAO!

  78. Ange Bleu not sure what you heard is right about Daughtry Fans. I have read several concert reviewers that blasted Daughtry just like they do Taylor sometimes by saying the audience was made up of lots of middle aged women.

  79. Fairhope Says:

    I want to see Ace’s tackle…

  80. spinshack Says:

    Off topic, passing through to squeee over Casey James he was terrific, no Jessican Simpson hair. *love*

  81. okay, seriously. I can’t stand mullet boy. He did not do Trouble justice. He sounded like a gerbil. Just sayin’…

    Not like these boys can.

  82. taylorfan06 Says:

    i will continue to stick with T “through thick and thin”. And why not? Simply, he’s worth it! Who today is really exciting on the charts, or is worth paying to see live, right now?

    His version of “Trouble” remains to be one of the best songs he’s ever performed! NEVER get tired of this performance. Thanks gray. Loved T’s smile and enthusiasm afterwards. He knows he did good there. I totally want the next cd to be in that vein. *fingers crossed tightly*

    And screw Randy for his silly comments afterwards. Pa-leeeze! SO off base.

  83. The song seemed so short the way Alex did it. The only guys that had any performance skills tonight were Toderick and big Mike. Taylor just had it, the combo of the voice, experience, emotion and performing skills. Then there was that charisma and face. I hope Andrew and Aaron go.

  84. casualfan Says:

    My pick from tonight’s performance is Michael Lynche hands down. I haven’t watched AI yet this season because I usually start at the top 12. The only season I watched from start to finish was 5 because of Taylor. But from what I saw tonight, the white boys couldn’t carry a tune and Micheal Lynche stole the show.

  85. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    March 10, 2010 at 9:49 pm
    okay, seriously. I can’t stand mullet boy. He did not do Trouble justice. He sounded like a gerbil. Just sayin’…
    ==============================================
    LOL-Was that “Trouble”? The boy should be bitch slapped by Ray L himself for that performance. Dude sounded like he was high on laughing gas…just sayin

  86. hicksaholic Says:

    I have to agree on Alex Lambert’s Trouble. I thought he would do it justice but he didn’t convey any emotion at all. I’m going over to MJ’s to see what people are saying as compared to T’s performance a few years ago.
    Fairhope, not sure what tackle is but I might like a peek.

  87. luv 2 be entertained Says:

    Nooooo….don’t pick on my sweet little mullet boy. LOL

    I dunno…I just like the tone of his voice as it reminds me of James Morrison.

    He’s got some work to do on his delivery FOR SURE. He’s got to get over his nerves, but how can you not love a person that admits he feels like throwing up before he performs : )

    FWIW, I can do without Andrew Garcia and Lee Dewyze (sorry IAG).

  88. hahahahah…okay, luv2, I’ll try to be nice about mullet boy, but he can’t ever destroy a Ray LaMontagne song again, or the deal’s off. 🙂

  89. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    “Trouble”……this is what makes me stick around…If we could get a CD with those kinds of songs…sigh!!! I kinda know what Randy was saying ….it was like coitus interruptus….we were left hanging…I would love to hear him sing the whole song…without tags…just that song. and more like it. Thanks for the vid IAG. A reason to believe.

    The mullet/gerbil boy should indeed be slapped for attempting that song…in fact there’s not anyone on AI9 that stands out ….for singing ,that is….Casey is indeed eye candy for the ladies…and he’s a great axeman. But he’s just average vocally.

  90. We were left hanging. And I would love to hear Taylor sing that song…all the way through. But he doesn’t do any song justice on a recording. He needs it live, with it coursing through his veins.

    You know, I could compare Taylor to my cocaine…I try to stop liking him, but I can’t. I need Taylor rehab. Until that time…I’m here with all of you.

    As for Casey…eye candy? I know he’s what most people consider handsome, but not this girl. He’s nothing that would ever attract me. To each his own…

  91. Ditto, Freckles. Ditto on all of the above.

  92. spinshack Says:

    My favorite performance last night was Kara Dioguardi doing Paula Abdul. Made me realize the show did need Pauler. That was the best thing about Big Mike’s performance too, getting the spirit of Paula to show up. Regarding the singing itself, sort of a cross between dolphin cries and Reuben Studdard. His glory note at the end gratuitous and trite. meh.

  93. luv 2 be entertained Says:

    hahahahah…okay, luv2, I’ll try to be nice about mullet boy, but he can’t ever destroy a Ray LaMontagne song again, or the deal’s off.
    ____________________________________________________
    Destroy is such a strong word. I prefer the term underperform…!!!
    Okay okay, for you, I will telepathically ask mullet boy to never sing Ray again. But I can’t make any promises ; )

    Personally, I like to think that since he’s shy just like Mr. Lamontagne himself, that it will just take some time and patience to develop his talents. Therefore, I must insist that be included in the Top 12!! Lol

  94. blueberry Says:

    Off topic, but a “few” questions answered (new music to be written this summer!) Appearances might be deceiving, but for all our angst, he seems happy and content.

    http://kdka.com/video/?id=70123@kdka.dayport.com

  95. OMG. You should have warned me about the Grease clips. Ugh.

    I think appearances with Taylor are always deceiving. How can he possibly be content doing the same role over and over, while wearing a sparkling nudie suit? Makes my stomach turn.

    As for new music, I’m not holding my breath. Working musician, huh?

  96. blueberry Says:

    I think appearances with Taylor are always deceiving. How can he possibly be content doing the same role over and over, while wearing a sparkling nudie suit? Makes my stomach turn.

    ===============================================
    Maybe “content” is not quite the right word, but he does seem more content with his choices than some people I know. And really, what do I know anyway? Again, if taking what he said at face value, accepting the role and doing it over and over again was a way to gain knowledge about that particular segment of the entertainment industry. Seems like a no-brainer to me – a small role with a steady paycheck allows him to see if he has any passion for it or if he can even do it. It would be nice to have the luxury to try out a certain occupation for a period long enough that you really understand it and then be able to either pursue it or reject the field altogether. Time will tell the story.

  97. Up thread someone said Evlis just wanted to sing his music. Not true, Elvis wanted to be a serious actor, once he was caste in his first movie Love Me Tender, in order to sell tickets. His manager kept making studio deals for E to be in trite b movies while turning down some serious roles. Taylor may well have caught the acting bug. I looked at photos of Ace in Grease and he looks as happy as a pig in mud. Suppose somehow Tay could get and pull off real acting. He’d make big money he could use for touring. Jen Hudson does both. Money brings power and the freedom of choice.

  98. Everytime I think of Elvis movies I think of my daughter when she was about 8 glued to the TV watching an Elvis movie marathon. LOL. I think she was in love. I didn’t have the heart to tell her he died years before she was born. LOL.

  99. casualfan Says:

    http://www.elvispresleynews.com/ElvisVegasInterview.html

    Here’s an interesting rare interview with Elvis that I find intersting. What really caught my attention was the last paragraph. Very powerful stuff indeed.

  100. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    March 11, 2010 at 3:48 pm
    Up thread someone said Evlis just wanted to sing his music.
    ============================================
    That was me that said that Rosie-as I’m sure you are well aware of. The point I was making is that Elvis wanted to make a deep impact with his music. His true passion was making a difference-which he very well did. But he was misguided and taken advantage of by the people that were most close to him and ultimately led (in my opinion) to his death.

  101. casualfan Says:

    Suppose somehow Tay could get and pull off real acting. He’d make big money he could use for touring. Jen Hudson does both. Money brings power and the freedom of choice.
    ===============================================
    Jenifer Hudson has a natural gift of performing both as an actor and as a recording artist. Her strength seems to lie in front of the camera, but she can do both and has the awards to prove it.

    Taylor is a naturally gifted musician and I don’t see him being successful as an actor. He may be able to effectively entertain people and get a few laughs, but there’s a difference between being an actor and being an entertainer. One has to find that delicate balance in order to succeed in both. From what I saw of him in the vids of Teen Angel, he’s no actor, but more of an entertainer.

    Bottom line is that Taylor excels in music and I hope that he finds his balance and moves back in that direction.

    No doubt some will misinterpret what I’ve just said and spin into something else. But it is what it is and that’s my opinions.

    And as for your comment about how money brings power….money or power doesn’t mean anything if the people aren’t listening to the music.

  102. taylorfan06 Says:

    cf said:
    “From what I saw of him in the vids of Teen Angel, he’s no actor, but more of an entertainer.”

    CF – Teen Angel is a camp part which he obviously is excelling at based on the majority of reviews. Other roles he may choose (non camp) may be like comparing apples to oranges. I’ll let him decide what’s best for him and support his choice. Bottom line: It’s HIS life.

    IAG – no surprise that Grease was in the clip. that’s what he’s promoting right now, and very well i think. In that clip he does seem happy, and is enjoying the ride. Again, HIS choice, HIS life. we all know you don’t like it, but it is almost over…

  103. taylorfan06 Says:

    ..the role, not the career. lol

  104. casualfan Says:

    TF6-Thankfully, you are right…it IS almost over

    **breaths sigh of relief**

  105. casualfan Says:

    Looks like T isn’t getting much love tonight on Twitter. But then again, these opinions don’t count right?
    ===============================================

    MJsmileykitten: @madyxxo I know – @ChrisDaughtry is famous and @adamlambert – never hear anything from taylor hicks
    5 minutes ago from web

    ReplyRetweet GBmusicman: Who will be filling in for Michael English in the GVB tonight? Randy Travis? Duane Allen? Russ Taff? how bout Taylor Hicks? lol hmmm?
    30 minutes ago from TweetDeck

    ReplyRetweet photogirl52: @YaminaC I'm not a Taylor Hicks fan but yes, that was a good lineup.
    34 minutes ago from web

    ReplyRetweet NLeighH: @photogirl52 Season 5 was the season of Daughtry & Taylor Hicks. Season 4 was Carrie's season.
    about 1 hour ago from TweetDeck

    ReplyRetweet suboatto: @anitatristi i told ya, happens every year! season 5's winner should have been @CHRIS_Daughtry and that Taylor Hicks freak won instead!
    about 1 hour ago from TweetDeck

    ReplyRetweet Prima_Donna: Dont forget the one with Taylor Hicks.. RT @aditzNAGAra RT @Idol360 Today is the day American Idol season 3 stopped being the worst season.
    about 1 hour ago from TwitBird iPhone

    ReplyRetweet XoHannahBrooke: RT @betteroffalone: this is the same population that voted taylor hicks as idol and got sanjaya past the top 12.
    about 1 hour ago from Echofon

    ReplyRetweet chealion313: @jalyndani Or Taylor Hicks…damn, that was a scary season….
    about 1 hour ago from web

    ReplyRetweet kris10chumley: @Socal_kidd I was thinking…if looks matter as much, how did Ruben, Fantasia or Taylor Hicks win? Just sayin'.
    about 1 hour ago from web

    ReplyRetweet KalaAlysse: @tanishalatese hmm its corrupt. Been that way since Taylor Hicks won over Katherine McPhee. Haven't watched it since
    about 1 hour ago from UberTwitter

    ReplyRetweet joeyguerraAI: RT @etee: @joeyguerraAI I dunno… after all, we *did* have Katherine McPhee and Taylor Hicks. Also… SanJAYA! #idol #voters #headinass
    about 2 hours ago from Seesmic

    ReplyRetweet BonnieArko: Whoever “wins” this season of Idol will end up just like Taylor Hicks. Forgettable.
    about 2 hours ago from web

  106. taylorfan06 Says:

    Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Some agree, some don’t. The hate is still out there. And so is the love. But, like assholes, EVERYONE has one. I guess it makes life more interesting, and sometimes more infuriating. I know what I like, and like what I know. Taylor I like.

    And are people really STILL saying that D should have won? It’s been 4 years!! AI is a voting competition and his fans obviously didn’t vote. GET OVER IT! And if Katherine had won? Po-leeze. We saw how she sold, (or didn’t sell) right? Taylor won the title. Even though i don’t get D (unoriginal, sameness) he did win also. I can live with that.

    Again, opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one. Me too!

  107. casualfan Says:

    TF6-perhaps you should read all the tweets from certain SPrs who harrass and constantly remind those peeps that Taylor won the title. The hate and jealousy runs in both camps.

  108. casualfan Says:

    that would be harass and not harrass…sorry

  109. casualfan Says:

    on another note….I’m going to see a true blues musician next Friday and looking forward to it. Jason Ricci is the true Blues Harmonica God! He’s playing at Harvelles in Santa Monica. TF6-if you live in the area perhaps you can check him out. He’s close friends with Josh Smith and LOVES Taylor. I’ve spoken with him on the phone not to long ago and he told me a cool story about how he almost met T and performed with him. Hopefully that will happen soon. 😉

  110. taylorfan06 Says:

    thanks for the tip cf. i will definitely look into the jr gig. it sounds real cool. and it is local.

    regarding “tweets”, i HATE twitter!!! i think that people are just passionate on both sides. those who follow and love t, and those who never liked him in the first place. it’s hard to change someone’s mind. they can only change it themselves.

    people’s taste can change though. i remember not liking abba, the carpenters, and barry manilow in their heyday, but i sure like them now. i’m itching to see abba inducted into the R & R hall of fame.

    so… things can change. but if they don’t, they don’t.

  111. casualfan Says:

    people’s taste can change though. i remember not liking abba, the carpenters, and barry manilow in their heyday, but i sure like them now. i’m itching to see abba inducted into the R & R hall of fame.
    ============================================
    That’s the truth. I was a huge fan of those musicians you mentioned when I was a kid but not into the Eric Claptons. Now I’m the opposite and appreciate the blues music more so.

    If you can get there to Harvelles next Friday please go! Jason is very colorful and possesses deep passion in his music.

  112. …and the relevance of the unflattering tweets is ???????

  113. hicksaholic Says:

    Anne, point well taken.
    There are a lot of positive comments about Taylor too. Some on MJ’s (I was one) compared Alex’s version of Trouble unfavorably to Taylor’s. Others have said unlike this year Taylor brought energy to AI.

    If Taylor paid attention to only the negative comments he’d never leave his house(actually his parents’ house).

    Actually, I was thinking last night that one of the reasons Taylor was so successful on Idol was he was very used to rejection but continued on doing things his way. Some of the AI contestants this year are not used to rejection and they are so scared of screwing up they won’t just let go and perform. I swear they better have a suicide watch for that little Katie girl when she gets eliminated.

  114. …and the relevance of the unflattering tweets is ???????

    Yes, Anne. There is always some unflattering tweets for all stars.

    Music tastes do change. I used to hate Willie Nelson. First song I heard him sing on the radio was Blue Skies. I asked my husband ” Is this a joke or for real?” I thought it was horrindous!!!! LOL.

  115. Yes Dee I am sure that they all get the unflattering tweets and we know Taylor gets his share…I just didn’t see what the relevance of bringing them here to this blog was…I didn’t see anyone discussing tweets,, just wondering if I missed something

  116. taylorfan06 Says:

    Negativity can sting. Taylor has most likely experienced plenty of it over the years. I was very impressed with how he dealt with it on AI. He showed a lot of class and was the bigger man for it. I think it added to his charm (in my case anyway).

    There will always be haters out there and what can you do about it? It’s life. Taylor seems to take it all in stride and not let it get the best of him.

    Others may not be as strong. Some celebrities say they never read reviews. I wonder how much Taylor looks at reviews/blogs himself. He keeps himself SO busy. Does he really have time for that?

    I think his focus is to just forge ahead and continue being the artist he is. He’s always in good spirits in his interviews. He’s keeping it real, positive, the way he should. More power to him.

  117. taylorfan06 Says:

    People Gonna Talk – Linda Ronsatdt (Get Closer cd)

    People gonna talk about the things you do
    They’re gonna talk, be it lie or true
    Night or day, day or night
    They’re gonna talk be it right or wrong

    People gonna talk about you anyway
    They’re gonna talk no matter what you say
    Night or day, day or night
    They’re gonna talk be it right or wrong

    It seems they’ve just got to
    Yakety yakety yak
    Though they know best, not to
    The minute you turn your back

    People gonna talk until they’re satisfied
    They’re gonna talk until they make you cry
    Near or far, here right now
    They’re gonna talk ’cause that’s how people are.

    This just seemed relevant. Great song btw. Check it out!

  118. taylorfan06 Says:

    I previously gave T a linda ronstadt compilation cd with this song on it at one of our meetings. he said he was a big fan of hers. duh!! i wonder what his thought were about the song when he heard it…

    there’s also some great SAX on the song.

  119. casualfan Says:

    TF6-LOVE Linda Rohstadt! She’s one of my idols for sure.

  120. casualfan Says:

    I meant Ronstadt

  121. taylorfan06 Says:

    Linda Ronstadt is my all time female idol, Elton John all time male.

    Can you believe that yahoo in Georgia with his “Elton John Must Die” campaign? These religious conservatives need to stop with the insanity.
    I was happy to hear that he was arrested.

  122. casualfan Says:

    Georgia is in the bible belt so it’s not surprising. Of course for a christian to wish someone to die only shows their true ignorance.

    They are saying that because of what he said about Jesus being gay. The man has the right to speak what his beliefs are just as they or anyone else does. Of course it’s the old “Do as I say and not as I do” mentality.

  123. blueberry Says:

    I will never understand that kind of thinking (referencing the Georgia guy) and I’m thankful I won’t. But hate does seem to be the preference of so many people…

    I am so bummed, tickets went on sale today for Sir Elton’s concert in PA and by the time I remembered , couldn’t get seats. I could get five floor seats for $750 plus, but I don’t want those. What to do?

  124. casualfan Says:

    So many people get hate and disagreeing with something or someone confused. There is a huge difference between the two. I’ve only hated one person my entire life and it tore me up inside. When I turned that hatred into forgiveness I felt an enormous amount of relief come over me. People who have true hate in their hearts should try looking in the mirror and then serious chair therapy-assuming they have the intellect to figure out what that means.

  125. taylorfan06 Says:

    Turning to something positive, I just watched Idol Rewind, Top 5. Taylor sang “PTFM” & “Something”. Love him in purple, and I thought the disco shirt was great!It fit the era. Fun performances, as usual.

  126. Freckles Says:

    I love the “Something” performance. I missed last weeks. What did he say about his love song??

  127. Freckles Says:

    On a lighter note, tomorrow is my 30th birthday. So Taylor, if you are listening, or reading rather, if you wanna wish me a happy birthday, just get a hold of IAG, she’s got my email addy 😉

    Have a great weekend ladies.

  128. taylorfan06 Says:

    Happy Birthday, Ms. Freckles.

    Keeping on topic, can we get some reviews of “WHOMP” at the Warfield?
    Was anyone here there?

    I absolutely LOVE this DVD. It’s a great representation of our beloved Taylor. I missed this show, which was on a Monday, but made his Friday show at the HOB on the Sunset Strip, 2 days before, and my first TH concert which was 2 days before that at the Grove in Anaheim.

    I’ve talked about this great dvd previously, which I’ve seen more times than I can count, with friends and alone. The following is my Top 10 list of my favorite performances from the dvd. It was hard to narrow down, btw.

    Here’s my list:

    1. Hold On To Your Love/Lonely Avenue
    (love the base line, and the “Elvis” look on the intro, BG’s flute, Loren’s
    solo!)

    2. Heaven Knows/The Maze/(Van Morrison tags)
    (Taylor “in the zone” “I said FUNK!”…and the Harp! Brian on sax!)

    3. Naked In The Jungle/Dance To The Music/I Want To Take You Higher
    (Just WOW – Funky and Soulful in one)

    4. Soul Thing/East Bound And Down
    (Loren Gold’s piano solo – stellar! Rockin’ Out!!!)

    5. Heart And Soul/Brown Eyed Handsome Man
    (Josh Smith on guitar!!!)

    6. The Fall (My favorite version. I even love the screw up in the beginning)

    7. My Friend (Very New Orleans – Brian’s solo – OMG!!!)

    8. Badge (ROCK STAR!!! Josh’s solo – what a virtuoso)

    9. The Runaround/Willie Brown (Harp. On the knees!)

    10. The Deal (a nice shuffle)

    Anyone else have some thoughts on the dvd? Has anyone not seen it yet? I did hear about delays with shipping.

  129. Freckles…If you get any older your gonna have to start posting on the BB with the grandmas! LOL

  130. Yep, Freckles gives Snowstorm a run for her money youth wise. According to Snow she’d be about hitting the old 30 by now, cough, smile, and fan myself, and change pj’s due to a hot flash. Freckles could be a hot hook up for Tay. She needs to be front and center at his concerts and won’t bring a tub of cookies. Cf, you do know peeps were tweeting some negative Hicks things due to the shocking elims on AI Thurs. Just about a thread ago, you were posting Tay vids. You seem conflicted about the man, his talent and your investment/time spent on him. Some people need their opinions validated by others. I’m not one of them. Some others who post here don’t seem to need their opinions validated, including the blog owner/author, Iag. I hope you can come to feel at peace with your conflicts, with regards to Taylor. Heck, I have an opinion about everything he has said, sung, done and performed. I don’t need backup twits/tweets to bolster my opins. Pay attention to the fact that a few asked WHY.

  131. hicksaholic Says:

    Fairhope,
    Did you see The Hangout Music Fest added Grace Potter to their lineup. I guess it’s a pretty good lineup even if they didn’t take my suggestion to include Taylor. Apparently The Flaming Lips are a big deal to a lot of younger people. When I asked my daughter about them she said they do a lot of special effects. I don’t know what the music sounds like.

  132. Happy Birthday Freckles! Welcome to a new decade… lol

  133. casualfan Says:

    Happy Birthday Freckles! The 30 somethings are awesome 😉

  134. casualfan Says:

    I hope you can come to feel at peace with your conflicts, with regards to Taylor. Heck, I have an opinion about everything he has said, sung, done and performed. I don’t need backup twits/tweets to bolster my opins. Pay attention to the fact that a few asked WHY.
    =============================================
    Thanks for the non interesting assessment and I will certainly take it under advisement.

  135. taylorfan06 Says:

    Sarcasm can be very amusing.

  136. Fairhope Says:

    Hicks: So far the only performer that can pull me down there is Ray L. Add some Amos Lee and I may take the bait.

  137. hicksaholic Says:

    Fairhope,
    I’m debating on whether to go. It’s pretty pricey although not out of line with other large music fests. Apparently it looks like it will be a success at this point. Supposedly Huka hired the talent a lot later than would be the case in the future because it was so late getting finalized. Next year they expect unbelievable talent along the lines of Jimmy Buffett with a full year to book.

  138. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    March 14, 2010 at 3:35 pm
    Sarcasm can be very amusing.
    ==========================================
    Yes indeed it can along with everything else.

  139. casualfan Says:

    I love music festivals-especially the blues ones. The musicians are laid back and are having a great time. No doubt all who go will enjoy themselves. Mobile is a great place for music.

  140. Great segment on Taylor on the new 2010, Idol’s where are they now?
    They hit all the bases starting with Grease, Both CD’s and the DVD, as well as mentioning the shadow shows and doing his song after Grease show.
    They even showed a clip of Taylor singing Gonna Move from WATW. This was one of the few clips that you could hear one of the Idol Alumi singing. Most of the other segments that pictured artists singing had only narration and you could not hear the song. I was very surprised.

  141. hicksaholic Says:

    Dee,
    I watched the Where Are They Now stuff and Taylor got very good billing. In fact if I didn’t know better I would think he was one of the most popular idols.

  142. Yea, Hicksaholic I had to reach for the smelling salts. LOL.

Leave a Reply

