What? American Idol plays favorites?

I know, I know. It’s shocking. But now the truth comes out. The American Idol producers manipulate the show, all the way down to the lighting. For those of us that have been watching for years, this really comes as no surprise.

Some highlights:

3. Listen for vocal effects. If the producers are pushing the girls, you can sometimes hear it in the singers’ voices. “On a couple of girls, you’ll hear reverb, delay,” Phil says. “All the guys will be dry.”

“Or, like they did with me on Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic, they’ll put a delay that is off-rhythm,” adds Chris.

Put in a delay? Make a contestant seem off rhythm? What? Say it ain’t so…

4. Count the lighting changes. If the producers really like a performance, they’ll trick out the light show. “Somebody will come on and have a thousand light changes,” Phil says. “Then the next singer will come out, and they’ll put it on blue. And it’ll stay there the entire time.”

or

Little bit of a difference, huh?

6. Pay attention to performance order. The “pimp spot” — a show’s final performance — is well-known (hello, Katie Stevens; hello, Andrew Garcia). And, according to What Not to Sing, singing first raises a contestants likelihood of elimination by 50 percent. But Chris believes there are other dead spots in the show.

“Say there’s a guy who’s an early favorite, but they start going in the middle of the lineup all of a sudden,” he says. “Middle of the lineup is where they put people to die.”

This is not news, people. The pimp spot is where the winners are.

At the end of the day, however, “they’re going to give the people what they want,” Phil says. “That’s why Kris Allen ended up winning. That’s why Taylor Hicks ended up winning. That’s why Chris Daughtry got eliminated.”

Hmmm…

190 Responses to “What? American Idol plays favorites?”

  1. casualfan Says:

    “Just Once” was pretty horrid and so was “Take Me Home Country Roads”. He redeemed himself out of the blue lights with his other performances.

    Not sold on all of Sleigh’s assessments but he does have the jest of it.

  2. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    Jist/jest, Wth, maybe jest is the better word…..this comes as no surprise to anyone who has half a brain…of course they manipulate the contestants, and the voting public. It’s all about the $$$$. I’m pretty sure they don’t tamper with the voting, otherwise, Chris Daughtry would have won AI5. But, they do everything else they can to pander to the chosen one…Only thing is , they change with the wind…Favorite today…gone tomorrow. Has anyone ever landed in the water while changing horses???

  3. Freckles Says:

    Well, that definitely puts a spin on what we’ve all said for years. At first Taylor was something to pull ratings, I think. And then…he gained this huge popularity and the producers were like WTF?!? You can tell by Simon’s comments. They went from good, to okay, to bad, to bordering mean, to wonderful again. They tried very hard to get Taylor eliminated, I think. And then they realized it was a lost cause. However, I am surprised they didn’t just eliminate him anyhow. I mean as much as we all loved and voted for him, they could have changed the votes any which way they wanted to. DialIdol isn’t any real proof, but they didn’t. Maybe some people’s theory is correct. They allowed him to win to set and example. You do what they want or else.

    I loved the song Just Once. Yes the lighting sucked, and Taylor looked PISSED, but he sang it beautifully. Also, Country Roads performance sucked, but actually if you listen to the vocals without watching, he also sings it very well. I’ve always said, the man can sing the phone book.

  4. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    I meant gist….;)

  5. The only parts that bother me in Just Once are the lower notes. I think the arrangement was a tad too low for him or Could have just been an off vocal day and the lower register just wasn’t there.

  6. Freckles Says:

    The song I absolutely hated on AI was “Not Fade Away.” My Lord, if he sang, “A-wAAAAAAAYYYYYYYY” one more time! LOL

  7. casualfan Says:

    Poke Salad Annie Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 10:12 am
    I meant gist….;)
    ===========================================
    LOL! I’m thinking that’s the word I was looking for…thanks 😉

  8. casualfan Says:

    “A-wAAAAAAAYYYYYYYY”
    ========================================
    That’s the southern draaaawl in him.

  9. Freckles Says:

    oh it was terrible… SERIOUSLY! I still hate that damn song.

  10. casualfan Says:

    This is for you Freckles….

  11. casualfan Says:

  12. casualfan Says:

    LOL! I had to watch that vid of T and it’s so easy to see why he won over the hearts of millions and the ratings were higher on five than any other season. I have to agree with Simon and Freckles to a point, but Taylor’s spirit, charm and charisma by far trump everything else and is totally priceless!

  13. casualfan Says:

    Oh and the lighting stayed red and orange so I guess that means they liked the performance. 😉

  14. Freckles Says:

    Damn girl, you just had to rub that in didn’t you? I had to relisten to it. I will say this, the very beginning was good. But once he starts with the endless AWAY’s I’m done. I effing hate it. And the skipping. I remember watching it at home and i just smacked my head in my hands and was like WTF Taylor!?! WTF!

  15. This is what Dave and VFTW have been talking about for years. Sligh knows this as he’s an occasional ‘guest worster’. NosPhilatu also has popped in from time to time. ha.

    We’ve had threads over there about this very topic, the pimp lighting, pimp spots, the judges manipulations… all of it.

    It’s just the first time anyone has come out besides VFTW and actually acknowledged what’s been going on all along. Coming from past contestants though, very funny.

  16. Freckles Says:

    I love VFTW. I like to read the recaps of the show because they are so funny!

  17. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    NFA was definitely not my fav…… CF, I do not thank you for putting it where my rogue fingers could cause me to watch it again… a sharp stick in the eye would be better. Excruciating…I remember thinking at the time the same as you Freckles..WTF, Taylor….just kill me now.

  18. casualfan Says:

    Yeah, but you gotta admit that Tay Tay is the only one who could have pulled that off. He didn’t even go into the bottom for that performance or any other performance. He rode the charismatic wave for all it’s worth.

  19. Freckles Says:

    He didn’t pull it off. I was scared to death he was going to be voted off after that. I think that’s the first week I voted for him.

  20. casualfan Says:

    Some people think that T would do go on DWTS. Personally I don’t think Gandhi would have the patience it would take to get Taylor in sync with any dance coordinating. The boy definitely hears his own beat and moves to his own groove.

  21. casualfan Says:

    LOL! You think T did a bad job…..Bruce Springsteen totally murdered this song…and I LOVE Bruce. I do love the drums in this though.

  22. casualfan Says:

    Freckles, You HAVE to LOVE this one! One of his best!

  23. casualfan Says:

    This is what got me!

  24. casualfan Says:

    Another mind blower-WOW!

  25. Freckles Says:

    CF~ After CLTCL I remember being so PISSED! Because his effin’ mike squealed. It’s AMERICAN IDOL how could they not prevent his mike from squealing during his performance. But I loved the ending. The ending made that entire song.

  26. Freckles Says:

    And you know, NFA, I just must not like that song. I think it just sucks no matter who sings it. LOL

  27. Wonder if this will start the beginning of more Idol behind the scenes articles? I’m kind of surprised it’s coming from Alumni. I know they sign a contract to keep them talking about AI in any negative way. They may be walking a fine line. LOL. Gee this brings all kinds of ideas of how the show could be manipulated. If auto-tune is possible what about auto-out-of-tune?LOL. I think they were using that last week on the guys. LOL.

  28. Freckles Says:

    Isn’t it sad how much I miss S5? Seriously, Taylor had so much potential. I don’t know how it’s possible to feel so apart of something that you have nothing to do with, but I did. I felt then that if Taylor didn’t win he would never get the chance that he deserved, and I voted my fingers off for weeks. I watched anxiously and hoped and prayed he was safe week after week.

    I don’t think I slept during those months. I was too busy on the AI board watching, waiting, reading for anything that would give me a bit more information. I don’t think I even worked during that time. I’m not sure how I retained my job or any sense or normalcy. I felt that this would be a major milestone in music history that I was witnessing first hand.

    And can someone actually pinpoint when it turned to shit?? I can’t, but it did. And now sometimes I wonder if my interest in Taylor today is just hope that I wasn’t wrong about him. It’s personal because I laid myself out there for someone I didn’t even know, boldly and without shame… And I proclaimed to the world that this gray haired man would change the face of music. He hasn’t. He hasn’t yet. But something inside of me won’t let me give up on him. Maybe it is his charisma. Maybe it’s because I find him so effing beautiful. He’s a flame and I’m a moth. And I’m be damned if I’ll never learn to stop getting burnt.

  29. Freckles Says:

    *ahem* I’ll be damned…a little better wording there.

  30. Oh Freckles, this:

    And can someone actually pinpoint when it turned to shit?? I can’t, but it did. And now sometimes I wonder if my interest in Taylor today is just hope that I wasn’t wrong about him. It’s personal because I laid myself out there for someone I didn’t even know, boldly and without shame… And I proclaimed to the world that this gray haired man would change the face of music. He hasn’t. He hasn’t yet. But something inside of me won’t let me give up on him. Maybe it is his charisma. Maybe it’s because I find him so effing beautiful. He’s a flame and I’m a moth. And I’m be damned if I’ll never learn to stop getting burnt.

    This is what I’m trying to stay. This is why I stay. I think it is personal. I don’t want to be wrong about him. For his sake and ours.

    You are awesome.

  31. Freckles Says:

    *blush* thanks. You are too. Thanks for giving me a place to be a burnt up fantard 😉

  32. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 1:39 pm
    Oh Freckles, this:

    And can someone actually pinpoint when it turned to shit?? I can’t, but it did. And now sometimes I wonder if my interest in Taylor today is just hope that I wasn’t wrong about him. It’s personal because I laid myself out there for someone I didn’t even know, boldly and without shame… And I proclaimed to the world that this gray haired man would change the face of music. He hasn’t. He hasn’t yet. But something inside of me won’t let me give up on him. Maybe it is his charisma. Maybe it’s because I find him so effing beautiful. He’s a flame and I’m a moth. And I’m be damned if I’ll never learn to stop getting burnt.

    This is what I’m trying to stay. This is why I stay. I think it is personal. I don’t want to be wrong about him. For his sake and ours.

    You are awesome.
    ==========================================
    You ARE awesome! Freckles, this paragraph sums up exactly what I’ve been feeling all these years about Taylor.

    WELL SAID!

  33. casualfan Says:

    Dee Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 1:22 pm
    Wonder if this will start the beginning of more Idol behind the scenes articles? I’m kind of surprised it’s coming from Alumni. I know they sign a contract to keep them talking about AI in any negative way. They may be walking a fine line. LOL. Gee this brings all kinds of ideas of how the show could be manipulated. If auto-tune is possible what about auto-out-of-tune?LOL. I think they were using that last week on the guys. LOL.
    ==============================================
    Dee-I never cared for Chris Sleigh and to me he’s always come across as a Grade A smart ass. Even if he’s hitting the nail on the head with some things, he’s also biting the hands that fed him and gave him the platform which has helped carve out a pretty decent career for himself. He should perhaps stop and think about AI having long arms and how they can send some not so nice Karma his way….know what I mean?

  34. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    Bravo, Freckles…you did indeed hit the nail on the head…that’s exactly why I’m still here…hoping that I wasn’t wrong to be so taken in by this gray haired “bama” boy who made me feel alive again.

    Oh, and CF, thanks for putting “Easy” up for our viewing pleasure…that has always been one of my favorites even though the judges tried to throw a little water on the fire…he was getting too many votes, so they were snarky in their critique.

    I’ll stick around. Ya just never know when the promise might be kept.

  35. casualfan Says:

    Yeah, I was a little peeved at the way the judges snarked at him, but I LOVED his facial expressions when Simon was babbling on. The message was clearly a “F*** you Simon”! Priceless.

    Easy=One of my favorite T performances indeed.

  36. casualfan Says:

    Another Taylorized moment 😉

  37. casualfan Says:

    Guess this is my Taylor Tard Monday!

  38. casualfan Says:

  39. casualfan Says:

    Dear Taylor,

    Get you ASS back in the studio and make that soul driven music that we all witnessed and know that you were born to do!

    Love,
    A frustrated supporter of the music of Taylor Hicks 😉

  40. casualfan Says:

    Ok, pass the tissue please ***over come with emotion***

  41. taylorfan06 Says:

    Thanks for the above cf. SO one for the vaults!!! Classy performance. Great to see again!
    Oh, I love all the other videos too. Always fun to watch.

    And freckles, I’m in total agreement with your statements. I’m definitely sticking around!!

  42. taylorfan06 Says:

    DEFINITELY!!!!!

  43. taylorfan06 Says:

    Loving “Taylor Tard Monday”, Casualfan. Many thanks to you.

  44. taylorfan06 Says:

    I SO love TITTS – OMG. That performance was gold. I was smiling from ear to ear the entire time. I love the “uninhibited” Taylor. He had so much fun during that performance and it was SO infectious!

    He deserved the positive comments from the judges, but what else could they say?

    I was curious to what Simon was thinking as Randy and Paula made their critiques. For Simon to say “that was definitely a radio performance”, it just goes to show what a bore he really is. It’s just his nature to throw in a jab whether it’s necessary or not. I just HATE that side of him. JERK!!!

  45. I can’t stand Chris Sleigh. He whined on the show and has become a bore and a fame whole. He most likely blames his obesity on blue lights. The only pimp spot I’ve noticed is the top 12 girls and guys night. They want to keep people tuned in to the end of the show to see one of the more popular and interesting contestents. After the first night they take turns with different spots in the line up. Tay had great lighting and was allowed to do most everything he wanted and I doubt they wanted to sabotage him week 6, since had he been voted off the interest in the show would have waned. Sleigh seems to think he has street, idol and music creds, but I see nothing in him. He is trying to hold on to his 15 mins by running his mouth.

  46. taylorfan06 Says:

    cf, PTFM also “got me” too! more grins from ear to ear.
    thank you! thank you! thank you! LOVED the end with Ryan.
    Good times… yes, indeed.

  47. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    I loved , loved, loved “Living For The City”….dancing fool he was…LOL,LOL, now I’m thinking maybe Dancing with the Stars is not beyond the realm of possibility….if that cute little Chelsea could whip cowboy Ty into some semblance of dance, think of what she could do with Taylor…and he loves cute little blonds….My head hurts. 😛

  48. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 3:24 pm
    Loving “Taylor Tard Monday”, Casualfan. Many thanks to you.
    =============================================
    So do I TF6! It is most fun on this site because we can do it because we WANT too and not because we feel like we HAVE too.

    Many THANKS to Grey for allowing us to express ourselves freely-even when we get out of hand at times. Freedom of self expression and being able to express opinions is most important and one that Taylor himself no doubt appreciates.

    And TF6-You are MOST welcome…it is truly a pleasure….I needed that trip down memory lane…..TRUE AUTHENTIC TAYLOR! 😉

  49. taylorfan06 Says:

    The first time I saw (and met) Taylor LIVE at the Grove in Anaheim, I made some CD’s for him which I was lucky enough to give him in person. It was a great first meeting and I still cherish the pictures of that day.

    Anyway, one of the songs on the cd’s was , “You Really Got A Hold On Me” by Eddie Money (my favorite version – EVER! Complete with sax, to boot.) If you’ve never heard it, check it out (BUT IT!) on iTunes. That song sums it up regarding my thoughts of the talent and stylings of Taylor. (but not in a stalker way – “no one” go there ok?)

    I think he actually has a “hold” on many of us here. “Not that there’s anything wrong with that!” Would any of us really be here other wise?
    Just happy to be a fan here. Plain (and simple) folks.

  50. taylorfan06 Says:

    OOOps! CORRECTION: …”BUY IT!” (from my previous post)
    Eddie Money’s “YRGAHOM”

  51. casualfan Says:

    TF6-I love Eddie Money. “Baby Hold Onto Me” is another one of my favorites and I can totally see T singing that tune. Eddie has soul and passion in his voice and that’s my attraction to the man.

  52. casualfan Says:

  53. casualfan Says:

  54. casualfan Says:

  55. casualfan Says:

  56. casualfan Says:

    Jackson Brown-Another favorite on the “Taylor Hicks Tree of Inspiration”

  57. casualfan Says:

    Back to Taylor……LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! WOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  58. taylorfan06 Says:

    cf – you’re SO great! (and fast!) Eddie is the best and I would love to hear T cover him. That 1st “Eddie Money” CD is KILLER! His 2nd cd, “Life for the Taking” (also KILLER!) has a another great song, “Call On Me”, that I would LOVE to hear Taylor sing. Can you find that one?? (I also included that song on those cd’s I gave him – back in May, 07!) How time flies…

    I do wonder if it crossed his mind that either song would be a “fit” for him?
    I’ll have to ask him next time he makes it to CA. *fingers crossed*

  59. casualfan Says:

    TF6-Couldn’t find “Call on Me”…sorry.

  60. taylorfan06 Says:

    Another song (from those cd’s) was “Pay The Devil” by Knack. (God rest the soul of Doug Fieger who just passed on Feb. 14th.) That was a bit toungue in cheek for T. It also had some cool harp on it.

    Taylor did tell me back then that they liked to listen to music on the bus. I hope he got the joke and enjoyed the song. It is a good one! Good luck finding that one cf…

    Love the JB thing also. “The Load Out”, “Stay” – more good stuff!

  61. That Hollywood Nights performance is one of my absolute favorite performances of his. Love it.

  62. casualfan Says:

    Taylor LOVES the music of others and it captures his attention without fail when someones talks the music.

  63. casualfan Says:

    It’s mine too Grey. I just realized that he dropped the forbidden Fbomb twice. I always thought it was only once….THAT’S OUR GUY!

  64. taylorfan06 Says:

    Check out (BUY) “Call On Me” on iTunes. Only .99! SO worth it!!
    It’s a bit in the vein of “Run Baby Run” – but better! Taylor NEEDS to cover this one!

  65. casualfan Says:

    For TF6-;)

  66. taylorfan06 Says:

    busy highway here… LOL

  67. taylorfan06 Says:

    OMG! Thanks CF!!!!!!

  68. casualfan Says:

    Wouldn’t be complete without this one….

  69. It’s mine too Grey. I just realized that he dropped the forbidden Fbomb twice. I always thought it was only once….THAT’S OUR GUY!

    Oh yes. Most definitely. 🙂

  70. taylorfan06 Says:

    It’s definitelty “Funday” here today!

  71. casualfan Says:

  72. taylorfan06 Says:

    “aimed so high, shot so true…” PTD is a bit relateable to T (I think anyway)

  73. taylorfan06 Says:

    “Life’s a game played..” – D. Fieger

  74. casualfan Says:

    While not a fan of “The Runnaround”, This performance kicked ass! I was there and it seriously ROCKED!

  75. casualfan Says:

  76. taylorfan06 Says:

    IAG – i LOVE that pic of T from AI, BTW!

  77. casualfan Says:

    I was at this concert too…PRICELESS!

  78. taylorfan06 Says:

    cf – you’re on a roll today! keep going…..
    Wooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!
    LOVING! IT!

  79. hicksaholic Says:

    I was wondering what brought so many comments so quick. Luckily it was great videos not a screaming match.

    Freckles, you expressed my feelings better than I could have. I didn’t even sleep the night before finale results night. Absolutely absurd! You would have thought it affected me personally and it really did for whatever reason. And I was also one proclaiming what a commercial success Taylor was going to be. I still tell anyone who will listen how talented he is. But noI just keep my mouth shut about his success commercially.

  80. taylorfan06 Says:

    Jealous that you were in Seattle, cf. ANOTHER amazing performance! YES!!
    BEYOND priceless in my book!!!!!!
    i imagine you were at the warfield as well?…

  81. taylorfan06 Says:

    Hicksaholic said:
    “And I was also one proclaiming what a commercial success Taylor was going to be. I still tell anyone who will listen how talented he is. But now I just keep my mouth shut about his success commercially.”

    Unfortunately, I have to agree with you on that one. I’m just happy that we “get” it here. On the bright side, I guess you can’t call us sheep anyway…

  82. taylorfan06 Says:

    I’d like to request “Happier With Him”, cf. (when you have time).

  83. casualfan Says:

    Not sure if y’all are aware of it, but that famous “dancing queen tambourine” that Taylor was swinging around was successfully auctioned off a few years ago for $1,400.00 with all the money going to Kid One AND the winner of that instrument graciously donated it to the Alabama Music Hall of Fame where it rightfully is displayed. 😉 Cowbell he used that night went for $2,500.00 with monies going to the NO Musicians Relief Fund and the winner of that instrument asked for it to be donated where the music of Taylor Hicks is preserved. It also is in the AMHOF along side it’s “sister” tambourine, along with T’s harp and a set of Felix’s drum sticks signed by all of T’s band, managers, bus driver and Bill Will.

    This is all part of the music history of Taylor Hicks that found their way home, benefited several charities AND preserved the music of Taylor Hicks….Now That’s true inspiration. 😉

  84. taylorfan06 Says:

    What about “I Should Have Known Better” by the Beatles. More harp and another song I included on the cd’s I gave T. Those were some great discs T rec’d that day. Lucky boy. And LUCKY us!

  85. casualfan Says:

    TF6-didn’t make it to the warfield but here’s your request dear.

  86. taylorfan06 Says:

    thanks for that interesting info cf. you’re doing a fabulous job today!

  87. taylorfan06 Says:

    thanks for the video speedy gonzales! lol

  88. Freckles Says:

    I love Taylor too! It’s crazy, but I absolutely can’t get enough of him somedays. (Like Today!) This is the bomb. Hollywood Nights is AWESOME!! I always thought Tay was Segerish, and damn if Bob isn’t one the greats.

    Also tf6 and cf I absolutely ADORE Eddie Money, especially the song “Shakin.” I don’t like the video because it has Apollonia in it, but def. an EM fan.

    Yeah, I showed a couple people the YouTube vid of “Maybe you Should” and they all wonder where he is too. He’s talented, no doubt about it, but something doesn’t add up. Here’s hoping eventually it will.

    Cheers!

  89. casualfan Says:

    You are welcome TF6. It’s important that peeps do know that some folks worked their asses off in helping to preserve a very important part of musical history in the state of Alabama and Taylor is very much part of that history. This is why I say that it’s ALL ABOUT THE MUSIC! 😉

  90. taylorfan06 Says:

    that intro kills me. the “power” of that “voice” (and the “soul” and the “passion”) – he still has that today. we’ll see it again!

    were you also “there” cf? go ahead… tell me. i can take it.
    *teeth clenched*

    how can someone not be a fan of this guy? *scratching head*

    there’s an amazing mini concert going on today compliments of cf.
    (she seems to take requests)

  91. taylorfan06 Says:

    i believe “the music” will return.

  92. taylorfan06 Says:

    Just like T, I could say something funny about that…. but i won’t (just like T)

  93. casualfan Says:

    RU referring to the Millersville concert? No, wasn’t there. I’ve only traveled as far as B’ham to see him. I’ve seen most of the west coast concerts and look forward to seeing him live again soon *fingers crossed*

    Yeah, today was loads of fun. =)

  94. taylorfan06 Says:

    Taylor will always be my “favorite”. From what I’m hearing about this year’s, ahem, “contestants”, AI is toast. Long live S5!

  95. taylorfan06 Says:

    well then, were you at the HOB on the Sunset Strip, The Roxy. or The Belly Up? I was!!! I was sorry I missed out on Pala

  96. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 5:24 pm
    i believe “the music” will return.
    ==========================================
    My faith is that it will……The talent-as we witnessed is undeniable and so powerful. I speak from the heart on this because I am a fan of Taylor’s passion and HIS music.

  97. casualfan Says:

    My roommate was at the HOB…even had a M&G. She was also invited to The Viper Room when T performed there. John Meyer was there in the VIP room. Great night (sniffles) missed it myself. =(

  98. taylorfan06 Says:

    I also met him at the backstage door at Grease in San Diego (great pic taken – great skin!) and at The Pantages. And a walmart cd signing. (more pics) the only time i missed out was at the HOB. *snaps fingers as head turns*

    …to be continued…

  99. blueberry Says:

    Wow, this is great! Was at the Millersville concert, great song CF shared here. Also love Dancing Queen for many reasons and the Hollywood Nights thing. Raw Taylor – the rawer (is that a word?) the better! My best is Tom’s River – reigns supreme!

  100. taylorfan06 Says:

    you had to bring up the viper room. …if i knew then what i know now.
    i heard such amazing things about that show and it was almost in my backyard… *reaches for a valium*

  101. Thanks for the memories, cf!

    “Hollywood Nights” always puts a smile on my face!

  102. casualfan Says:

    Jeff Lopez is the total kick ass sax cat on HNs. Anytime T and J are on stage together it’s pure magic.

  103. I love to revisit Taylor’s performances. I watched him on AI but I don’t remember at what point I discovered him since I just tuned in and happened to see him then was hooked the rest of the season. I never voted though for him or anyone else. I guess I thought it was a bit lame Still do. LOL.

  104. casualfan Says:

    Another one pulled out of the vault….

  105. casualfan Says:

    Not a fan of WRIR but I like this live version with the tag

  106. casualfan Says:

    Yay to Claudia for capturing this little gem

  107. casualfan Says:

    Some more branches from the “Taylor Hicks Tree of Inspiration” 😉

  108. casualfan Says:

  109. casualfan Says:

    sorry….

  110. casualfan Says:

    well damn, trying to put up a marvin gaye song…Grey feel free to delete the doubles on Sam Cooke. My bad…

  111. casualfan Says:

    I would have loved to have this as a single…one of my favorite songs off his Taylor Hicks cd

  112. casualfan Says:

    haha-In that last vid-It ain’t all about the music… 😉

    ***blushes*** I’m outta here.

  113. taylorfan06 Says:

    another winner – “what i’d say” – lots of energy there for sure! funky, dancing jam from T. I love it – never saw this one. when was that? what an entertainer!!!

    has anyone ever heard the “rehearsal” version? “i can fuck up the lyrics all night long if i like” & “arkan-sassss , yeah, yeah, yeah” . THAT was one for the vaults! Long live the “righteous Ray Charles”.

  114. taylorfan06 Says:

    hey cf- how about YSM taylor-styled?

  115. casualfan Says:

    TF6-I tried getting the rehearsal.com version but all Youtube had was a 30 sec teaser. I went to rehearsal.com but the site is under renovation-or at least the one I went too. I agree-that version rocks!

  116. casualfan Says:

  117. casualfan Says:

  118. casualfan Says:

    Another one of my favs from AI….

  119. Where am I? Love it, this is great. Must admit I’ve read thru the posts and decided to watch the last vid first, due to CF’s promo. Am definately going to watch Hollywood Nights, one of my favorites and most of the others. I was not as invested as some of you during AI until the last three weeks. Looking back, I don’t know if all those people who watched and voted for him expected he’d be a hit on the radio. I wanted and expected to see him on TV. He even stood out doing Christmas songs later that year. He should be singing on TV where millions can remember how good he was.

  120. It’s no longer the last video. I meant Wherever I Lay My Hat.

  121. taylorfan06 Says:

    *thinking cap on* hmmmmm… what can i request next?
    how about a little “SWEET HOME CHICAGO”???? Now we’re talkin’

    tell me you missed that show cf. did you??

  122. taylorfan06 Says:

    welcome rosie. it’s a great day here.

    Hey cf, is there any video of LIMIN’??? Now that would be a find!!!

  123. taylorfan06 Says:

    Talk about your video countdown…. Now THIS is good stuff!
    Damn today’s music buyers. Their taste is all in their mouths.

  124. taylorfan06 Says:

    Another favorite from TH is “The Maze”. I wanted that for a single.

    Can we have “COMPARED TO WHAT” from Ohio 4/27/07. LOVE that version, especially, but open to other versions as well. MORE COWBELL!!!

  125. taylorfan06 Says:

    “Heaven Knows” could have been a bigger hit with a video IMO.

  126. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    “You Send Me”…that was the one that sent me over the edge…Every time I come back tonight, there’s more little treats to watch…Thank you CF…this has been great. Reminding everyone once again, what caused us to vote our fingers off…

  127. I’m having fun watching these. I hated Not Fade Away when he did it but since then I’ve grown to like it more. I forgot how much the audience liked it. He put on a good show with it and his dancing was just a part of him. I wasn’t a fan of Easy and think he was a bit pitchy on it. He took all the criticism well and kept that smile and positive attitude every week. People liked that about him.

  128. taylorfan06 Says:

    “Sock It To Me, Mama” Yeeeaaahhh!! That ’07 band ruled!

  129. taylorfan06 Says:

    Imagine being in the audience for ANY of those AI performances rosie.
    Now that would have been something. There’s a big difference from watching from actually “being there”. I think we all know what that’s about!!!

  130. casualfan Says:

    something about that cowbell……oh my

  131. casualfan Says:

  132. casualfan Says:

    A Rod Stewart favorite-oh yeah!

  133. taylorfan06 Says:

    More goodies! How about some “TROUBLE”.

    You are certainly heaven sent CF. Seen any “angels”????

  134. casualfan Says:

    Some of these I’m hearing for the first time. It’s amazing watching him grow on his journey down the musical road from his first audition of AI.

    Dear Taylor,

    WE WANT THE MUSIC BACK! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE! Get back into the groove and into the studio soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  135. casualfan Says:

  136. Freckles Says:

    CF~ Wherever I Lay My Hat isn’t all about the music, eh? I think I saw what you did, and I’m still wiping my chin. LOL!! Love ya girlie!

  137. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 7:42 pm
    More goodies! How about some “TROUBLE”.

    You are certainly heaven sent CF. Seen any “angels”????
    ===========================================
    No angels…although some swear elsewhere that I dance often with Satan. 😉

  138. Freckles Says:

    CF~ You ALWAYS need more cowbell!

  139. casualfan Says:

    Freckles Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 7:45 pm
    CF~ Wherever I Lay My Hat isn’t all about the music, eh? I think I saw what you did, and I’m still wiping my chin. LOL!! Love ya girlie!
    ==============================================
    Yeah-That kind of jumped out at me. 😉

  140. taylorfan06 Says:

    I totally forgot about “Young Turks”. I wish I could have seen that one LIVE! Taylor can kill on cover songs. It definitely worked for Rod Stewart, James Taylor, and Linda Ronstadt, not to mention Buble. Now that one, I just don’t get. Who’s buying those low grade versions? Everything I’ve heard from him pales from the original. …again, damn today’s music buying public. mmmphhhh! JUST. DON’T. GET. IT!!!!!

  141. Freckles Says:

    CF~ Well it’s supposed to be massive and angry first thing in the morning LOL

  142. casualfan Says:

    LOL! Simon said that T’s “Trouble” reminded him of Clay Aiken….ROFLMAO!

  143. Freckles Says:

    Trouble? Clay Aiken? OH PUHLEASE!! Anyone else remember the Onion controversy about the patch on his back pocket?? THat was a blast.

  144. Freckles Says:

    So hot it makes you cry… *sniff sniff*

  145. casualfan Says:

    Freckles Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 7:48 pm
    CF~ Well it’s supposed to be massive and angry first thing in the morning LOL
    ===========================================
    It’s the hot lights 😉

  146. taylorfan06 Says:

    Randy was SO far off base on his “Trouble” comments. ASS!
    He should have known better with his background.

    For once Simon “got it”, besides his “styling” comment. I liked that outfit, it was a good look. Let me just say “ASS!” to Simon as well. Who knew that Paula was really the smart one. Bravo, Paula.

  147. taylorfan06 Says:

    Freckles – you got be blushing. NOT! I like your style.
    So what was the back pocket controversy? I think I forgot about that.
    “massive and angry” – i think i understand. NO… I UNDERSTAND!!

  148. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    March 1, 2010 at 7:58 pm
    Freckles – you got be blushing. NOT! I like your style.
    So what was the back pocket controversy? I think I forgot about that.
    “massive and angry” – i think i understand. NO… I UNDERSTAND!!
    =========================================
    😉

  149. casualfan Says:

    The Right Place indeed

  150. Freckles Says:

    Oh, our code word for Taylor sexy ASS was “onion” on the Idol board. And during the Trouble vid they go around to his backside and you see this red and white circular patch on his back pocket. Everyone thought he had an onion patch sewn on there as a joke to all of us fangirls. But alas, it’s just a namebrand patch.

    I’ve been an absolute die hard fangirl from the beginning. When I saw him in Vegas I wanted to rip his clothes off and see what faces he would make when he was…*ahem* enjoying himself. What can I say, he is a beautiful man after all. LOL

  151. Freckles Says:

    The Right Place is my absolute hands down favorite song he’s sang since AI. That is the sexiest most beautiful song. And it’s about lovin’ 😉

  152. casualfan Says:

    Tried to locate SMB from AI but can’t. Hopefully someone captured it. But here’s my favorite live version. I will not forget his management standing next to me at The Roxy dancing and screaming “Now THIS is how it’s done”! There were peeps from The Ray Charles Foundation or whatever it’s called having a complete blast.

  153. casualfan Says:

  154. taylorfan06 Says:

    TRP from “The View” was perfection. Why wasn’t that a single?
    I really felt that it would become his signature song back in ’07.

  155. Freckles Says:

    I did to tf6. That’s a song that could have been on the radio. It really was good and his vocals were so clean and growly on the cd. The only song I really like recorded over live.

  156. taylorfan06 Says:

    Loved Loren on the keys. What about his playing on the “warfield” dvd?
    The boy can play. I hope to see him with T again (along with Brian L)

  157. Freckles Says:

    well, i gotta take a cold shower now. you ladies have a great night 🙂

  158. casualfan Says:

  159. taylorfan06 Says:

    The first time I heard TRP (before the cd release), I was like O.M.G. My jaw dropped and only continued (after the cd release.) BIG mistake not to release this w/ an accompanying video, of course. Where were those videos from TH? I saw plenty of those songs as videos. An oooooops! moment of ever there was! tisk! tisk!

  160. casualfan Says:

  161. taylorfan06 Says:

    Enjoyed ALL the video (thanks again cf) and fun here today. I need to eat now. Be goood peeps!

  162. casualfan Says:

    Yet another branch from the Taylor Hicks “Tree of inspiration”

  163. casualfan Says:

    It’s time for me to go also. Glad all enjoyed today. It truly is ALL ABOUT THE MUSIC-at least for today 😉

  164. casualfan Says:

    Oh Taylor!!!!!! TWEET…TWEET…TWEET-Here’s the perfect song for you

  165. casualfan Says:

    A big branch from the Taylor Hicks “Tree of inspiration”

  166. casualfan Says:

    OMG! Lookie what I found…..LOVE IT!

  167. casualfan Says:

  168. casualfan Says:

    Dear God, I’m addicted!

  169. taylorfan06 Says:

    Thanks for Linda Ronstadt (as the videos continue). I never knew she covered “First Cut”. She always knew how to make those covers “her own”. She is definitely the Queen of Covers, and I LOVE her for that. She continues to be my favorite female performer EVER. Check out her “We Ran” cd sometime. She does a brilliant cover of Springsteen’s “If I should Fall Behind, AND a 7+ minute version of Dylan’s “Just Like Tom TRhumb’s Blues”. She is the master. I’d love a new cd from her sometime to add to the entire collection I have. It’s too bad there is no studio version of “First Cut”.

    OMG – and Boz Scaggs! His “Come On Home” cd is another must have. It hard to believe I bought that back in ’97 when it was released. I included a few of the songs from that cd on the cd’s i gave to T in ’07. Those include: “After Hours”, and “I’ve Got Your Love”. Seriously check out those songs and the entire cd. Seriously!! Taylor should be doing this kind of cd next!

  170. taylorfan06 Says:

    ..that was “Tom Thumb’s Blues”, btw.

  171. taylorfan06 Says:

    “Early In The Morning” is another amazing song from that Boz Scaggs cd. I saw him back in ’80 for the “Middle Man” tour (another great cd) when I was only 15. “Amazing” sums up that show! If you want to see another great concert dvd (besides WATW), I HIGHLY recommend “Boz Scaggs: Greatest Hits Live”. A+ indeed!!!! If nothing else just to see his performance of “Loan Me A Dime”. The band killed!! I watched this many, many times and it only gets better! You will NOT be disappointed!!!!

  172. taylorfan06 Says:

    Great artist’s on today’s board. What will tomorrow bring?….

  173. taylorfan06 Says:

    One last thing before bed, (since it appears that everyone has hit the hay), Taylor’s video of “Lowdown” was great. Haven’t seen that in ages! “All skate”… I lOVE it. He also used that phasing on Bill Wither’s (love him) “Use Me”. Got that one cf. Thanks in advance. Good Night all!!
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  174. mamaforpeace Says:

    Wow, what an active and positive thread. I’ll have some fun reading through it and watching the vids (thanks, cf) when I have more time. I’ve been watching the reruns of season 5 on AI Rewind. There was never a better season IMO. It wasn’t just Taylor. There was so much talent on that show! Chris isn’t my cup of tea, but I can still see how talented he is. And Elliot and Paris. Loved both of them. It’s really been fun to watch them all again, more fun I’m afraid than this season will be. Besides a very unexciting group of contestants (so far, I know!), the new judges team sucks big time!

  175. hicksaholic Says:

    I can’t wait to look at all this videos. I like the song suggestions for Taylor. I can see him doing the ones suggested here. Taylor would be great covering some oldies that are less well known. I still have a glimmer of hope that at some point the world will recognize how much talent Taylor has.
    I’m guessing the lack of videos was Taylor’s decision to not invest the money. Not a good decision in retrospect, I guess.

  176. hicksaholic Says:

    these videos- sorry my computer typing sucks.

  177. casualfan Says:

    We know Snow. In the world according to Snow-only today’s music is cool. 😉

  178. Freckles Says:

    MFP~ I think rewatching S5 is more fun because during the show I hated EVERYONE else. I couldn’t focus on anything other than Taylor. It’s nice to rewatch and truly appreciate the talent that was on that season. It was a great one, one of the best…

  179. hicksaholic Says:

    I swear I thought I had seen every Taylor video there was but i missed the rehearsals “Lowdown’ Thankls so much cf.

  180. hicksaholic Says:

    I’m watching all these AI videos and can’t help smiling. Taylor just makes you so happy watching him. I love the Taking it to the Streets top 24. There is no way anybody this year got a studio reaction like Taylor got. He was like a runaway freight train on Season Five. Funny to watch how over the top he was. You can almost see the hunger for validation in his eyes back then. He just laid it all out there.

  181. CF.I can’t thank you enough for this trip down memory lane….on stage he is in his element…I love most of his recorded work. but this really is where he
    shines. But for Taylor Hicks I truly believe THE BEST IS YET TO COME..but it will come..no doubts.

  182. Freckles Says:

    oh hicks, that hunger he had was what made me a freakin’ FANATIC!! The look on his face when that performance was over was enough to make me melt. Right there. I melted into the floor. A puddle of goo.

  183. casualfan Says:

    hicksaholic Says:

    March 2, 2010 at 10:57 am
    I swear I thought I had seen every Taylor video there was but i missed the rehearsals “Lowdown’ Thankls so much cf.
    ===========================================
    I have never seen or heard of that video before either hicksaholic. I accidently found it on Youtube and had to bring it over. I love the last part when he says “Skate, skate”

  184. FYI, The top 10 guys are on AI tonight due to Crystal having a medical situation. Will watch and see if any of the guys have any pizaaz. Taylor had the eye of the tiger and the balls to match and I loved him for that.

  185. I hope if he does another concert before the end of Grease, that he does mostly covers. I know he is still trying to promote his CD’s , but we’ve heard all the songs so often.

  186. Random thoughts, to be avoided by Snow and others in the Know. Freckles, you are a breath of fresh air for we old timers. Tonight AI top 10 guys brought a whole new ballgame. I have 3 new favs amongst the guys. There is no Taylor or Chris in the group, but there is some talent. CF, thanks for posting all of the vids. Chris Sliegh, brought some humor to his season, did not have the voice, talent and charisma to win. His posts on VFTW and on his blogs and those that reach the media, have made me lose all respect for him He stated no more AI comments. Please stick to that Chris. You are arrogant and preachy and no expert on AI, music, or past contestents. In fact you are no Phil Stacy with regards to voice and talent. I’d rather hear the opinions of the current and past contenders on AI from almost anyone else but you. We , the general public, have done just fine, figuring out who to vote for each week. We can get that the position of the top group varies week to week, and that judges differ, and lighting and the backdrops change. The same general public decided to vote you off, and never wanted or expected or needed to hear you bitch, or preach, or post your lame comments and opinions. I have no clue as to why anyone would this guy the time of day, much less keep extending his 15 min of fame. I only posted this due to Iag’s blog topic.

  187. My 24 yr old Daughter saw the Ford commercial with Kris Allen tonight and said ” Wasn’t he on Idol last year?” I said,” Yes, he won.”
    To which she said, ” He Did?? I thought Adam Lambert won” LOL.

    She was serious. LOL.

  188. mamaforpeace Says:

    Well, tonight was a little better than last week. I liked 3 guys: Big Mike, Alex (a real surprise!), and Lee.

  189. hicksaholic Says:

    MFP,
    I’m right with you although Alex and Lee are way ahead of Mike to me. I think Jermaine is gone (partially due to his attitude) and probably John Park. I had high hopes for him but he was the second guy to perform and didn’t stand out. He might survive another week but Tim Urban sounded better than last week(it is impossible he could have sounded worse) and he has the cute pretty hair thing.

    Lee reminds me a little of Taylor but without the self confidence. He really seems to want it. Although it’s endearing that he and Alex are so humble they are going to have to toughen up or they will get eaten alive. That’s what makes this show fun though is watching how they develop. Remember Taylor early on in AI was a much different person than later in the season.

  190. casualfan Says:

    That’s one of the things I enjoy most about AI. I love watching the contestants soak in the advice, grow and come into their own…well most do anyway. I look back on those vids of T early in the AI process and watched him grow and develop and yes-he became more competitive mostly because he could see that he really had the chance to win.

    I’m sure once Daughtry got booted it was all systems go for Taylor. Daughtry was a true threat although some will not agree. Kellie Pickler was also another one who I thought would be in the finals with Taylor.

    I will never forget the night of the finale when Taylor first appeared on the stage. He looked so polished and was clearly serious and “in the zone” to win. I remember thinking “This man really wants to win this thing”

Leave a Reply

