Hey Taylor..New Moneymaking Venture…come quick..

I listened to the Roundtable interview last night, and suddenly it came to me. We should be playing a drinking game when listening to Taylor Hicks interviews. It’s not really his fault. I mean, how many answers can you really come up with to “When did you first pick up a harmonica?” There’s really only one. I get tired of listening to the same old Q&A, I can’t even imagine how he feels. So, in the spirit of The Simpsons (Doh!) and The Brady Bunch (Marcia, Marcia, Marcia), I’ve decided that the only palatable way to get through these interviews is a drinking game. Here are the rules:

1. Every time he says something we’ve heard a billion times, you take a drink.
2. Every time he smacks his lips, you take a shot.

The thing is, I think I counted twenty four lip smacks, which means twenty four shots. That might be best for everybody involved.

Example:

Interviewer: “Taylor, how old were you when you started playing in clubs?”

Taylor Hicks: “I was about 14 or 15 when I started sneaking into blues clubs.”

DRINK!!

Interviewer: “Taylor, did the grueling Idol tour prepare you for touring in Grease?”

TH: *lip smack* “Yeah.”

SHOT!!

Interviewer: “Did you ever have harmonica lessons?”

TH: “No, I learned by playing off air conditioners and airplanes.”

DRINK!!

Interviewer: “Tell me about how you ended up auditioning for American Idol.”

TH: “I was in New Orleans for a friend’s wedding, and I ended up getting the last taxicab before Hurricaine Katrina. *lip smack* Southwest canceled my flight and gave me a free ticket anywhere. I thought ‘I’ve never been to Vegas’ so I ended up there. My brother called me and told me to go audition for American Idol. And here I am.”

DRINK!!
SHOT!!

You get the picture, right? We could totally market this to the Soul Patrol. They’ll buy anything with his name on it. This is a perfect opportunity for the shot glasses from the 2007 tour. Instead of gathering dust in the back of Clay’s truck, we’ll throw them in a box along with a bottle of Crown Royal.

135 Responses to “Hey Taylor..New Moneymaking Venture…come quick..”

  1. casualfan Says:

    LOL! When will we be calling our first AA meeting? 😉

  2. LOL. We’d be drunk all the time. Instead of a drinking game we should just offer to take turns doing the interviews for him. LOL. I think we could do them better than he does sometimes. LOL. Half the time he never mentions the Shadow shows so some people think all he has been doing is Grease. He hardly ever makes it clear that his song off the CD is AFTER the Grease encore and separate from the show as an added bonus. There are times when he could mention that his Dad said he might as well buy a lottery ticket when he was told Taylor was going to be on AI. LOL. I love that story and he hardly ever brings it up. I’d nix the Harmonica story. Everytime he says he learned Harmonica playing off of airplanes and airconditioners it throws the interviewer off because they have no idea what he is talking about. LOL.
    When they ask how old he was sneeking into Blues clubs he needs to add the story about when his Dad and stepmom were at a club he snuck into and she looked up on stage to see their 15 yr old and said “Whyyyy, theressss Taylorrrr” LOL. I’ll stop now but I could go on. LOL.

  3. casualfan Says:

    LOL! Yeah-we can have us a great time at this game!

  4. A really good post! Seriously, a fantabulous idea! LOL We could market it with other types of liquor, Padron, Jack Daniels, whatever, bev naps, shot glasses, pilsners and hell a nice little tea set too for those who ‘don’t’ drink. We could box it like a giant harmonica box.. his pic on the cover, of course… the imagination runs wild. I’m in! 😛

  5. Omgosh that is hilarious. I know, I almost hate watching the interviews because I know all the answers to the questions. But after a few shots, it would probably seem completely different.

    As an aside, I like the lip smacks. LOL But no “Just for Men” ads for me. LOL I get so tired of them asking about the gray hair…

  6. Dee, you are cracking me up!! We might actually do a better job at the interviews…ahahhahaa

  7. Welcome Freckles!!

  8. The lip smacks have begun to excced the you knows. I pretend he is giving little kisses. Listening to that long interview, last night, I was wondering if sports fans were pissed off that they weren’t discussing sports. Perhaps we could market a game to the SP, based on the fibs, exaggerations Tay engages in during his interviews. The other day he said he started playing the harp at 11. He has been saying he’s been on the road for 4 yrs for the last year. Now since time has past and it’s almost true, the 4 yrs, he needs to up it to 5 so the SP can take a shot of booze with a clear conscience.

  9. I think Taylor does these radio/TV interviews for the public who are not necessarily his fans. Perhaps he doesn’t realize that his fans keep track of his every move.

  10. casualfan Says:

    LOL! You guys are funny.

  11. I am pretty sure he is well aware of the SP keeping track of his every move. He’d have to be blind and dumb, and he’s neither.

  12. Oh, thanks Grey. First time coming across this place. I like it 🙂

  13. casualfan Says:

    You bet he does. His ear is to the ground for sure.

  14. Snowstorm Says:

    Like you would know that, cf.

  15. casualfan Says:

    Thanks for making me laugh today everyone. With my sugar level being in the 300’s these past few days I haven’t felt well at all. This thread made me smile.

  16. casualfan Says:

    Not sure how many of you all know who Judy Trueblood is, but I just found out that she was killed in a car accident last Thur. She was a huge Taylor fan and will be missed.

  17. Laughter is good medicine. LOL. CF hope you feel better soon.

  18. Gray! I think we were separated at birth!!! The lip smacks drive me crazy!

  19. CF…who was Judy Trueblood? Did she post at Morph’s?

  20. spinshack Says:

    Apparently Daughtry has gone platinum 4x over, 20 #1 hits around the world. 20? That’s pure hype he’s not released that many tunes to have 20. AI they’re so funny.

  21. spinshack Says:

    I have a favorite finally on AI !!! Hot guy Casey James and he goes through to top 24. squeeee. rawr Biker guitar player who looks a bit like Charlie Hunnam. *yay*

  22. Casey barely made it to Hollywood. Simon so often turns down some who make it to top 24. Casey must have stepped up his game in Hollywood. I liked Haeley and she too is top 24. Bikini guy had some balls, but was dissed by the judges. So much for equal rights.

  23. CF, I’m in complete shock over the news of Judy’s passing.
    LIFE IS TOO SHORT!!! Petty differences over someone that FEW OF US ACTUALLY KNOW are RIDICULOUS!!

    Wow. 😦

  24. casualfan Says:

    Yes it is YKW. I met her once and she seemed really nice. Life is so fragile and can be taken away from us at any second. And you are right about the petty differences.

    Maybe I’m over emotional today because of my health problems, but I heard the news and took to the bed crying.

    FH-No, Trudy didn’t post at Morphs. But I do think she was part of that “Taylor’s Leggy” or whatever the name of that fansite was. She was a VERY devoted fan of his and booked some venues for LMBO back in the day.

  25. hicksaholic Says:

    I’m sad to hear about Judy. I’m not sure I know who she is. How old was she? Where was she from? Very sad.

    I think Taylor should change up his answers too It is pretty monotonous listening to his interviews. I swear I’d love to interview him just so I could correct him on some of his answers. Can’t you just see it? No Taylor, playing in a couple of malls in Indonesia is not “touring Asia”. No, Taylor you were actually 15 when you started going gray, not 12 or 13. I say take a double shot every time Taylor gives an incorrect answer.
    Katja could do the artwork on the game board.

  26. hicksaholic Says:

    Casey must have really stepped it up. He reminded me of a pretty Bucky Covington. I don’t think he has much experience so he may not last long but possibly long enough to get a modeling gig.

  27. spinshack Says:

    I loved how he stripped off the shirt. hahahaha My kinda guy. I can’t recall how he sang so will have to fetch a youtube. x-D Too bad they didn’t ask him to dance around that would have been AI Gold.

    For the drinking game, reading this interview would have you hammered by the time you got to the end of it. Hernandez on TH

    As far as Judy I don’t know her, I really have not been one to get into all the TH fans groups but it is sad she passed in such a bad way.

  28. My favorite part of that interview? This:

    What do you think when you watch some of those old episodes?
    I don’t think I would change anything musically but definitely some of my shirts that I wore I would have changed. I think the paisley shirt for ‘Play That Funky Music White Boy’ was probably the ugliest shirt I ever wore in my whole life. I went out on my own on that one, I picked it.

    Oh Taylor, but I have seen you in uglier shirts than that one. There’s a whole bevy of fugly shirt pics out there.

  29. On the first photo I was only looking st his legs. He sure did favor ugly, baggy, brown shirts with ugly designs. After he won he still wore a lot of brown, which is not a flattering color for him. He looks good in light to dark grey, blues and reds and black. It was sad when he said the buck stops after Grease. He met with his agents last week and I doubt they engage in bull. Anyway, he looks like a star now.

  30. Ha, funny post Grey 🙂

  31. OT. Thank goodness, Didi and Aaron, made top 24. I love AI.

  32. hicksaholic Says:

    I love Didi- I didn’t realize she made it. I knew Aaron did. I have got to go check mj’s.
    I treated myself to a new great big monitor which I love. Unfortunately, I neglected to notice the fact that there is no audio so I am missing all Taylor’s interviews. I guess the buck stops there was an indication he has no permanent gigs that will pay him continuously like Grease. That does have to be a little scary. I hope Taylor can find some things that will pay him adequately but not belittle his talent.
    Agree- Taylor sure does like different now, a lot better even though he was cute then. I am ashamed to admit the legs were the first things I saw in the first picture. Taylor has great legs.

  33. Hicks…can’t you just hook some speakers up?

  34. casualfan Says:

    I thought T had a ton of stuff lined up for when Grease is done? The way some of the fans have been talking-his career on both Broadway and in the movie industry was blooming.

  35. CF, that’s the impression I got too. Maybe he’ll have to go back to touring…

  36. CF, No Taylor has just been talking about getting and looking at offers. It’s good that offers and interest is out there. But even if he takes an offer it could be a while before it comes to fruition. He really needs some down time too. So, it may be quiet in Taylor Land for a while. LOL.

  37. It’s been quiet in Tayland for a long time already.

  38. itsallgrey Says:

    February 4, 2010 at 9:56 am
    It’s been quiet in Tayland for a long time already
    ==============================================
    LOL! You got that right. I think we all know by now-or most do that it’s a wait and see what happens thing with T. I don’t take what he tweets or says in any interviews seriously. If he tell’s you the sun is out you can bet it’s raining.

  39. Taylor needs a better agent and management. Why is it that Kat McPhee has been everywhere lately? Just read she sang at that, “We Are the World” thingy where all the huge superstars sang in. Taylor has only managed that college football event and that’s about it. Teen Angel does not garner any attention and it look like the shadow gigs have stopped.

    If your agent is not working for you, you have to dump them!

  40. I was looking over this post again and there is something I have noticed. I absolutely abhor his photo shoots. All of them. He looks like a dork in all of them. They always photoshop him into looking ridiculous. That picture of him in the car is just ugly…

  41. PurpleButterflies Says:

    Maybe I’m over emotional today because of my health problems, but I heard the news and took to the bed crying.
    ———
    That’s how I was when Chelena (Nuchick) died. I think about her a lot and really miss her. It’s sad that I can’t talk to her any more or email her. But it’s comforting to know that she is in heaven. She was such a godly woman who had a great love for Jesus. She’s with Him, and really, there is no better place to be when you think about it.

  42. hicksaholic Says:

    Chelena seemed like such a fun person. Her video with Taylor was so cute and she was so excited. Such a sad thing she died so young.

    Yeah, IAG, I’ve got to check into the speakers. I have got to get them and figure out where to hook them up.

  43. hicksaholic Says:

    I guess if I get external speakers they will provide higher quality audio then if the speakers are built into the monitor right?

  44. Ange Bleu Says:

    Taylor should cater more to the musical tastes of the women more likely to be his fans. The vast majority of his fans are women over 40. He should do a study of what type of music these women like and are more likely to purchase. He is really not catering to women over 40 because if he did, he would have huge mega hits. Michael Buble caters to the women most likely to buy his recordings. Daughtry’s music is definitely for young male rockers. If he recorded another type of music they would not be interested. He should be more aware of who his fans are or could be and give them the music they want to hear.

  45. casualfan Says:

    Daughtry can also do country and I think he would be successful at it. I think Daughtry not winning AI was in his best interest.

  46. Snowstorm Says:

    Taylor needs to appeal to EVERY age group. Not just old women!

  47. Winning AI was in Tay’s best interest. David Foster likes Kat and may be helping her get things. She does seem to have better management the past 6 months. They all just have to make the best use of their exposure on AI. Bucky and Ace are appealing on their rewind interviews, funny and natural and humble.

  48. SS, you need to inform Taylor how he should do so ASAP.

  49. NotYourGrandMa Says:

    Maybe I’m a romantic, but I believe if you make music for yourself from your soul instead of “trying” to make a hit or make it radio friendly etc, your audience will find you. Before he was famous he made music for himself and it was good music. His post idol albums don’t have the same rawness and are much more contrived. Sorta like he knows people are listening now so the music isn’t personal anymore and he’s playing it safe.

    “When there’s joy inside your heart, I’ll share it. If you’ve gotta dream, reach for the sky” That is not “soul” music. I hope what I’m saying makes sense.

  50. casualfan Says:

    I don’t think Taylor winning AI was in his best interest. I think in many ways it handicapped him. Very few Idols have managed to make the title work for them and help them truly excel in the music world. If you look at Idol history you will see that only 2 crowned winners have actually made it work while it’s been the ones who didn’t win find huge success and surpass the winners of their season.

    Taylor had said many times that he only wanted his voice heard. He got it heard well before winning the title and I believe he would have still gotten a contract and would have had more creativity control over his music. When one becomes an Idol the stakes become much higher and more conforming is required with what the PTB want and not what the musician wants. Adam Lambert is thriving right now where Kris Allen is in Adam’s shadow. Adam would not have as much control if he had won.

  51. casualfan Says:

    Beautiful post NYG and so true. Too bad that no one is hardly around to listen anymore.

  52. hicksaholic Says:

    I agree, NYG about the lack of rawness and connection to the music in his later cds. Even though I like them I still don’t hear the same emotion that Taylor put in his earlier music.
    Freckles I agree with you on the photo shopping. Taylor looks just fine without them narrowing his neck or chin. It just looks weird when they do it.
    Not sure what has happened with Katharine’s management but if it’s new they are great because she is all over the place. Maybe after Grease Taylor can get some of that great exposure.

  53. I agree with NYG and hicksaholic. The rawness is missing, that’s why I think he needs to release a Live album.

  54. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    Finally someone agrees with me…NYG…you hit the nail on the head…the rawness is gone…and the look he had when he first went on AI was JUST FINE!!! He’s been made over and it’s not flattering…his hair is too short. Ok, so he’s terrible at picking out clothes. what man isn’t except our gay friends? ( don’t throw stuff….some of my friends are gay) The reason I liked him in season 5 was his different,but attractive look, and he could sing like a sonofabitch….where has that gone? Where is the “In Your Time” and “Under The Radar” Taylor? He doesn’t appeal to everyone…and it’s a mistake to try. Let the ones who liked him for what he was in the beginning have that guy and to hell with the cookie cutter music loving public. Come back Taylor. I miss you.

  55. spinshack Says:

    NYG you nailed it.

  56. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    February 5, 2010 at 9:28 am
    Finally someone agrees with me…NYG…you hit the nail on the head…the rawness is gone…and the look he had when he first went on AI was JUST FINE!!! He’s been made over and it’s not flattering…his hair is too short.
    ===========================================
    LOL! I’ve been saying this very thing from the beginning and so has Grey.

  57. We could get quite loaded, playing a drinking game, based on a shot every time someone posts what Taylor should or shouldn’t do.

  58. I’ll start the game. He should have more photos taken of his legs.

  59. He’s been made over and it’s not flattering…his hair is too short.
    ===============================================
    LOL! I have to laugh at this. Poor guy can’t catch a break can he. I personally don’t give a rats ass if he has no hair or how his legs look. I just want the music I know he’s capable of giving us.

  60. Maybe I’m a romantic, but I believe if you make music for yourself from your soul instead of “trying” to make a hit or make it radio friendly etc, your audience will find you. Before he was famous he made music for himself and it was good music.

    True , it was good music but can you tell me just who was the big audience that “found him” during that time? They may find you but seems its a very small audience.

    Its sad, but it seems to me that if you want to be found, get on the radio, and sell millions of CDs and make money and win awards what works best is singing off-key garbage.

  61. If he turns into Taylor Swift I’ll have to hang up my hat and be done. I’m just saying…

  62. casualfan Says:

    True , it was good music but can you tell me just who was the big audience that “found him” during that time? They may find you but seems its a very small audience.
    ========================================
    Where’s his big audience now? Aside from Grease-he has none musically.

  63. casualfan Says:

    “When there’s joy inside your heart, I’ll share it. If you’ve gotta dream, reach for the sky” That is not “soul” music. I hope what I’m saying makes sense.
    ==============================================
    NYG-LOL! Sorry, but where the hell did those lyrics come from? Should I Google?

  64. Isn’t that from WRIR??

  65. Terrible, crap song…

  66. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    Casual Fan says:
    LOL! I have to laugh at this. Poor guy can’t catch a break can he. I personally don’t give a rats ass if he has no hair or how his legs look. I just want the music I know he’s capable of giving us.
    =================================================

    Oh, come now CF let’s be honest…if he had looked like Quasimodo would anybody have been interested in how his voice sounded??? I’m just saying if he had appeared bald and with bowlegs or knock knees, plus that spectacular voice, and that’s what appealed to the masses who voted for him, why change? If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. 😉

  67. casualfan Says:

    Freckles Says:

    February 5, 2010 at 1:29 pm
    Terrible, crap song…
    ===============================================
    LOL! Ok. I thought it was from some cheesy commercial or something.

    PAS-Hell, I thought what you said was funny. I agree with you-if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. My question is the hell did he try and fix something that wasn’t broken to begin with?

  68. I like his hair short. Of course, I think he’s just yummy no matter what he does. But that’s just me.

  69. And no, Quasimodo wouldn’t have done THAT to me. It was the combination of the voice, talent and sex appeal that did it for me. And the gray hair…YUMMERS!!

    I still drool when I watch his vids on the tube.

  70. casualfan Says:

    Happy drooling honey. There’s no harm in drooling and it seems to do good for the soul of some 😉

  71. I began to notice he was handsome when he sang Trouble, top 10 week. A few weeks later I thought he was sexy. So yea I’ll take a lip smack from him now and then.

  72. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    CF said:
    PAS-Hell, I thought what you said was funny. I agree with you-if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. My question is the hell did he try and fix something that wasn’t broken to begin with?
    ==============================================
    I think he had too many people telling him he needed to morph into someone he wasn’t…Sad. He was different…now he’s not .

  73. He is the same person he was on AI. You just didn’t know him. Many AI viewers tend to idolize their favorite and project qualities onto them that they wish were there.

  74. casualfan Says:

    No Rosie he’s not by a long shot. The Taylor Hicks that was on AI was seriously into his music. He had passion, dedication and immense love for what he was creating that was part of his soul-his being. That’s what we’ve been saying from the beginning of this whole Grease stuff.

    Taylor Hicks WAS all about the music. Those were HIS words and not mine, Greys or anyone elses.

    Sometimes when people are obsessed and transfixed on someone they can’t see anything passed what they want to see. It’s a hard fall down alot of stairs when the blinders finally come off.

  75. He was not only all about music prior to AI but about trying to make a decent living from singing and having a band. He didn’t want any 9-5 job but he also didn’t want to starve. That is why he tried to get a record label and would call and pester people to listen to him. He wanted not only to make a decent living in music, but wanted recognition and fame. He got that, by winning AI. His dream came true and he had to be scared shitless by the time he parted ways with Arista. Must be hell to work for something for yrs. , finally get it and then less than 2 yrs later worry about loosing it. So he took Grease and I don’t think a single fan is glad he is doing it for 2 yrs. and Neither is he. It is keeping his name out there and providing him income to produce his own CD and have his own label and pay a team of peeps who work for him. If you notice, he is still calling and pestering radio stations around the country and still talking about music. He does not ever want to have a 9-5 job or a job outside of the entertainment business. Thus I see him as the same basic guy, pre and post AI. Some of you act like he wanted to only be a dirt poor singer and song writer, pre AI, which is so not true. He wanted to make it, he did, and he wants to keep it.

  76. Snowstorm Says:

    HAHA Rosie! If Taylor refuses to change and continues to do music which is hopelessly out of date, he will have to go back to a 9-5 job, because other than his small group of middle-age women, nobody is interested.

  77. If you ask any musician …they will tell you it’s all about the music and I believe for the most part it is..however like rosie has stated they still have to eat. We must remember the music we love pre AI …nobody in the music business was interested. in..Taylor had to reinvent himself and his music to some degree to even be heard.

    I have also heard Adam Lambert say it was all about the music…but clearly on the AMA’s it was really all about the shock..the music was the farthest thing from his mind.

  78. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    February 3, 2010 at 3:05 pm
    My favorite part of that interview? This:

    What do you think when you watch some of those old episodes?
    I don’t think I would change anything musically but definitely some of my shirts that I wore I would have changed. I think the paisley shirt for ‘Play That Funky Music White Boy’ was probably the ugliest shirt I ever wore in my whole life. I went out on my own on that one, I picked it.

    Oh Taylor, but I have seen you in uglier shirts than that one. There’s a whole bevy of fugly shirt pics out there.
    ===========================================
    hahaha-that must be why he donated it to the AMHOF along with his AI bathrobe.

  79. hicksaholic Says:

    I would love to be able to read Taylor’s mind if he ever read this blog. I bet it would be a hoot.

  80. Seriously what is with all those different designs on those various brown shirts? Some of them look like zodiac signs.

  81. Ha. I’m watching AI Rewind and it’s Top Ten week. It’s making me all nostalgic for old school Taylor. *sigh*

  82. I just watched it too. OMG he was good. I like his look better then. I really don’t like the super short hair either. But I also don’t like the “MO” bangs. Face it girls…you can’t ever go back, it’s never the same.

  83. casualfan Says:

    I know Grey. I love the old school T. He was so darn cuddly and cute.

  84. hicksaholic Says:

    Fairhope,
    What channel did you watch it on? I thought it was Saturdays at 5 PM in Mobile.

  85. NotYourGrandma Says:

    “True , it was good music but can you tell me just who was the big audience that “found him” during that time? They may find you but seems its a very small audience.”

    He would have been found if he kept at it, it just might have taken longer. The only reason he didn’t make it sooner is because no one knew who he was and he wasn’t going to get any real exposure in podunk. But he went on Idol and was found and did his thing, sang his old school tunes, and people loved it. And it was his original music that really drew in some of his biggest fans. The music didn’t need to change, but it did. It went from being really deep to borderline shallow. And I believe if he kept on making music for himself, expressing himself through his personal lyrics and letting people in that way, his music career would probably be in a much better place.

    “Its sad, but it seems to me that if you want to be found, get on the radio, and sell millions of CDs and make money and win awards what works best is singing off-key garbage.”

    That’s a generalization. There are so many artists that are hardly on the radio and have awesome careers. Ray Lamontagne, Amos Lee, Jack Johnson, Ryan Adams and so on.

  86. Since we’re talking Tay in the way-back machine, there were several factors that grabbed me about him. First, his choice of songs in the audition (AI) – no one had really done that, it was all pop music repeats. Second, he had this look when he raised his head and spoke, in his eyes a decided difference, almost an anger, decidedly determination.

    When he went through to top 24 sites started popping up where I’d go hang out, WOOO radio, run by Gray-haired Dude and some other guy I can’t recall now, my favorite. That’s where I heard Hicks’ past music first, that and that NPR radio channel. I was captivated by his pre-Idol music and the potential I felt and heard from him.

    I’d contribute to WOOO radio by putting up links to some of the push pieces I wrote about Hicks on blogcritics.org and would turn on their juke box and let it run while I worked, loved that site. Those characters did a great deal for Hicks back then in my opinion. Too they hung out occasionally on the IDOL boards.

    There was no way he was going to lose that year, think about this though, he ran through that show with an ‘act’ the whole Gray Charles thing created and utilized and it was brilliant strategy for the market he was playing to on that show. Taylor created a “brand”, an identity. He played the Idol game much like a top notch Texas Hold’em player. It’s really quite a shame that the media has not really understood that aspect of Taylor Hicks.

    We might think some of the stuff he’s done since isn’t primo in decision making but seriously think how he won the show, it wasn’t just his voice, I mean some weeks were not that good vocally, etc. It was his entire strategy that did it. the development of his ‘brand’ – something one needs to succeed in entertainment. Aspiring singers are all over the place, the ones who rise to the top either really great singers or they have a marketing niche’ and “brand” development.

    Look at Lady GAGA, she has a ‘brand’. Is she that incredible of a singer? No. She’s okay, reminds me of Cher actually if I just hear her vocals and not look at her. She’s wildly successful because of Who she’s created.

    What I see Hicks doing is trying to morph somewhat into what might be perceived by his camp as moving forward to what People want. That’s where he’s falling behind. He needs return to the true – the brand that won him the show – the Alabama soulman. It worked. He’s deviated from the pattern of identity he started on Idol and that’s what has alienated the freaking hundreds of thousands that voted like mad for him.

    Can I blame him for wanting fame for wanting to be well-off financially? Of course not. I do think he’s lost his path that brought him to the point that he had celebrities and hundreds of thousands casting millions of votes for him in 2006.

    Dissertation over.

    I had one of my TH push pieces come back up in my email for a new comment; I’ll put the link here.

  87. Read some of the comments, cbcinvestigations added a long but insightful remark. (in that link)

  88. I agree with you on a lot of that Sunny especially about the establishing a brand but I think there might be more reasons he has deviated a bit besides the ones you mentioned.
    I think there is more that he could not control. Contestants were not supposed to use AI. Its supposed to be the other way around. He really shook up that show IMO.

  89. I will read that tonight, have to get out of here right now. running late.

  90. casualfan Says:

    NYG- 😉

  91. hicksaholic Says:

    Thanks Sunny for that link. I had read the article I believe but not the comments. Cbc’s comments were very interesting and seem to have some insider info as to what happened to Taylor as far as the lack of support.
    Unfortunately nothing has really changed for Taylor in the last 2-3 years. Daughtry and Underwood are doing the Super Bowl tomorrow and Taylor is doing Grease I guess unless he’s on vacation.
    Actually Bucky is doing a show in Bham this coming week at Workplay and I wondered if Taylor might be there.
    Oh well…. I believe in Taylor’s talent and I will remain a fan regardless of his commercial success or lack thereof. I can truly say attending a Taylor concert is my favorite form of entertainment. I am excited for days before and on cloud nine for days after. As long as it’s like that for me I’ll stick around.

  92. casualfan Says:

    Sunny-Interesting article. I’m sure you realize those comments are coming from mostly SPrs and “CBC Investigations”-LOL! I knew who that was into the second sentence. Whatever happened to those two anyway?

  93. Hicks: I saw an initial line up for the Gulf Shores Music Fest. More to come it said. The Ross Bridge thingy is the week leading up to the festival. He could do Ross Bridge and then come to GS for the music festival. Let’s give him a call…

  94. I have no idea, they just sort of disappeared into the ether. lol I was wondering too about that recent comment and it coming from a guy…

  95. Haha, The CBC investigator went back with her ex husband and has been shedding her love on him and not Taylor. Have no idea why her sister disappeared at the same time. I wish them both happiness.

  96. I miss CBC investigations. Even with their dramatic way of expressing things they did hit the nail on the head every so often.

  97. casualfan Says:

    Fairhope Says:

    February 7, 2010 at 10:13 am
    Hicks: I saw an initial line up for the Gulf Shores Music Fest. More to come it said. The Ross Bridge thingy is the week leading up to the festival. He could do Ross Bridge and then come to GS for the music festival. Let’s give him a call…
    ==============================================
    That would be cool if T performed at the Music Fest. They are always fun. I had a really good time at the Riverfront Blues Fest a few years back in Portland, OR. Can’t wait to go to more hopefully this year.

  98. Henry, but those investigations/ conspiracy theories, sometimes included other fans. As a so called faux fan, I felt the sting of their investigations despite the fact that a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.

  99. casualfan Says:

    Just caught this on Twitter…looks like Daughtry is having a great time and will be performing at a Superbowl party….he’s growing his hair out too. He looks good!

    http://mjsbigblog.com/chris-daughtry-superbowl-tailgate-party-videos.htm

  100. It looks like Tay will finish up Grease in May, as the Boston dates are now missing. Perhaps he does have something up his sleeve, but as usual we won’t know until the last minute. Off to watch AI rewind, top 9 country week. Can’t recall anything anyone sang but Tay.

  101. Oh but not nearly as good as Carrie.

  102. casualfan Says:

    That’s good Rosie. Hopefully he will give his fans something substantial soon.

    People are getting a little stir crazy and when that happenes target practice usually commences in some circles and things tend to turn ugly.

  103. casualfan Says:

    Carry does look great in that pic. She’s glowing no doubt about being in love and engaged.

    I love seeing the Idols doing things like this because they are out having fun and have opportunities they wouldn’t have had otherwise. I think it’s great and hopefully T is somewhere having a good time and maybe even doing a private show somewhere.

  104. Okay…so Taylor just explained his reason for singing Country Roads but I thought it was something else more controversial. Anyone??

  105. CF: I have my fingers crossed that I will be out your way at the end of this month. Cross your fingers too because I loooove California.

  106. casualfan Says:

    What part of Cali are you coming too FH?

  107. casualfan Says:

    Fairhope Says:

    February 7, 2010 at 5:10 pm
    Okay…so Taylor just explained his reason for singing Country Roads but I thought it was something else more controversial. Anyone??
    ===========================================
    I thought he sang that song in memory of his Grandfather because it was his favorite song. At least that’s what the Grandmother said.

  108. CF: LA, actually Beverly Hills. The Beverly Wilshire to be exact. My husband has put in to go to a conference. If it gets approved I will be his tag a long. I don’t want to jinx it!!!!!

  109. casualfan Says:

    You will not be that far from me. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm. I LOVE the Wilshire….been there and very, very nice. And of course Beverly Hills is da bomb!

  110. And it was his original music that really drew in some of his biggest fans. The music didn’t need to change, but it did. It went from being really deep to borderline shallow. And I believe if he kept on making music for himself, expressing himself through his personal lyrics and letting people in that way, his music career would probably be in a much better place.

    NYG, that’s what I miss the most…his pre AI music seemed very personal and that just didn’t happen with the last two cd’s. It seems like Taylor has a hard time “connecting” with the new music on an emotional level, in my opinion. And maybe it’s not connecting with the music, maybe it’s letting people in, like you said. It’s really kind of sad, because I see so much potential. When I heard his original music, I wanted more and more of it. That’s why I’m still here…I’m keep hoping that his next release is going to be fantastic.

  111. casualfan Says:

    CONGRATS TO THE NEW ORLEANS SAINTS FOR WINNING THE SUPER BOWL! MY HOME TOWN MAKES ME MORE THAN PROUD! WOOOHOOOO!

  112. NotYourGrandMa Says:

    CF, saw those Daughtry pics. I really like some of his songs but he’s just way too cheesy for me. His whole look is just a giant cheese-fest. That pocket chain went out of style when Bush took office. He should also get some white fillings if he’s planning on opening his mouth that wide. lol

    Grey, I think Taylor is disconnected from the music these days, even during his performances. Something is off. I think the pressure, scrutiny and lack of success has worn him down. And some might disagree with me, but I’d bet money that he hates doing Grease.

  113. Oh, I would bet that, too, NYG. Singing the same song night after night after night…ugh.

  114. and being stuck in an ice cream cone for 15 minutes prior every single performance. FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUN!

  115. I feel in my heart he waits that 15 minutes out saying to himself…WHY WHY WHY!!! LOL

  116. I’m sure he had high hopes for Grease helping out his career. Unfortunately, that really hasn’t panned out. Hindsight’s 20/20. All I know is that I wish he would start writing again…dig deep and bring the good music out. I bet it’s still in there somewhere!!

  117. I think the music Muses are long gone and the Broadway/Acting Muses are visiting him now.

    Not sure I even care any more.

  118. Looks like Ace along with Diana Degarmo may have something good on Broadway down the line.

    http://mjsbigblog.com/ace-young-and-diana-degarmo-to-join-the-broadway-cast-of-hair.htm

  119. 🙄

  120. I can understand where some of you are coming from since you love much of the music Taylor wrote pre AI. He was writing those songs and singing in bars in order to be discovered and at least be able to make a decent living. I doubt that even in his wildest dreams, did he imagine being given the tv platform of a mega hit show, in which 30 some million people would tune in each week for over 4 months and watch him win the thing. You all have mentioned that you enjoyed his performances on that show, as well as his song choices, delivery, voice and ballsiness. Most viewers to this day still have never heard his pre AI music. I was enchanted by his enthusiasm and charisma and truly did believe he was the happiest guy I’d ever seen on a stage. He was the happiest person I ever have seen on AI, plus way more into music than someone like Lambert. So just remember, he said up front that he not only loved music, but preforming. Why still take only his words, it’s all about the music, and forget his joy of being on a stage, getting applause and attention. Maybe he will be able to hole up somewhare and write songs about breakups, soul music, or light funk music. Maybe not. Maybe he will put out a CD of cover songs, since he knows cover songs are how he won AI. Perhaps, he will try some way to get on TV or in a movie, to keep the celeb thing going and money rolling in, or take another role on Broadway. But ya know what, those of you who keep harping on his pre AI music, need to know, that he knows, 98% of AI viewers and voters have never even heard it. I never heard it until after he won and most still hsve not. So I voted for Taylor the guy singing and performing on my TV.

  121. But ya know what, those of you who keep harping on his pre AI music, need to know, that he knows, 98% of AI viewers and voters have never even heard it. I never heard it until after he won and most still hsve not. So I voted for Taylor the guy singing and performing on my TV.
    ===========================================
    How did you arrive at that percentage Rosie? That means only %2 percent has ever heard Taylor’s previous music. Doesn’t say too much for the “Early Works” CD does it? I think the whole point of him releasing that CD was so that the masses could hear his previous work.

  122. The majority of AI viewers and voters have never even heard a song from TH or TD Cd’s. The majority didn’t purchase those CD’s and they did not hear the songs on the radio. Most only are familar with DIMYP.

  123. I am harping on his pre-AI passion. It’s almost like AI drained him of it. It was there on the show, I know because that’s what I fell in love with.

  124. casualfan Says:

    Freckles Says:

    February 8, 2010 at 1:03 pm
    I am harping on his pre-AI passion. It’s almost like AI drained him of it. It was there on the show, I know because that’s what I fell in love with.
    ===============================================
    Exactly Freckles. He had the passion that drove the song writing and everything he put into his previous work. I think all those people who heard and watched Taylor during that season fell for his passion and how he came across as truly loving the music and “wanting his voice heard”. There was a ton of talent on that season but Taylor stood out because of what he felt and was able to illuminate that on stage.

  125. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    February 8, 2010 at 1:01 pm
    The majority of AI viewers and voters have never even heard a song from TH or TD Cd’s. The majority didn’t purchase those CD’s and they did not hear the songs on the radio. Most only are familar with DIMYP.
    ============================================
    That’s obvious by the sales on all his cd’s Rosie. Maybe T will be able to join his friends in “Hair” on Broadway.

  126. I guess what I find so frustrating is that it will only take one song. That ONE song that will get him airplay.

    I know the style of music is different, but you all remember Christina Aguilera, right? Well her first release ever was Genie in a Bottle. She hated that song. Absolutely hated it. She thought that it didn’t show her vocal talent or range, or even the kind of music she wanted to make. And it didn’t. But what did that song do for her?? It made her a superstar.

    Now, for all those you are quick to pick up on underlying meanings, I am not suggesting by any means that Taylor will ever be a “superstar.” His music just isn’t the kind that makes superstars anymore, but it would be nice if he could be a respected musician, instead of some broadway hack.

    I don’t know what I’m saying…hopefully someone here gets it.

  127. hicksaholic Says:

    Fairhope- I made my push for the Gulf Shores music festival getting Taylor Christmas Eve at my brother’s house. I was met with a look of complete disdain. It’s obvious they only want certain kinds of artists and AI alum don’t matter(at least I hope it applies to ALL AI alum not just Taylor). Apparently the target audience is 20 somethings to 50 somethings according to my nephew who is co owner of HUKA Entertainment and booking the entertainment. I think Taylor would be a great addition but I didn’t get any indication they were considering him. Really sad since his grandmother lives there and he spent all that time at the Florabama. I’m sure they would kill to have Dave Matthews and I bet Taylor could put on a show as good as Dave Matthews(at least based on what I saw on the Grammys). I get the impression they are AI snobs.

  128. Ok Hicks…then how bout Amos Lee?????????

  129. CF: I will let you know as soon as I know for sure about LA. I may need your expertise!

  130. casualfan Says:

    Not sure how much I can help you…but I can recommend a great bottle of water that’s a must have here. It’s called Bling complete with crystals encrusted in the lid and it’s about 15.00 per bottle. LOL

  131. NotYourGrandMa Says:

    Rosie, you say 98% of the people that voted for Taylor never heard his pre-AI music. 98% of them are also not his fans anymore even though they voted for him. Chances are they heard the post-AI music, maybe if they’d heard the pre-AI music they would have stuck around? Thanks for validating my point.

Leave a Reply

