My top 10 of 2009

These are my top played songs on last.fm of 2009. Some of these I would have never expected. Huh.

1 Reed Foehl – Turn Your Lights Down Low

Click here to listen.

2 Coldplay – Viva La Vida

2 Jon McLaughlin – Amelia’s Missing

4 Bonnie Raitt – I Can’t Make You Love Me

5 James Blunt – You’re Beautiful

6 Gavin Rossdale – Love Remains The Same

6 Matt Nathanson – Suspended

8 Ray LaMontagne – Burn

9 Will Hoge – Washed By The Water

10 Taylor Hicks – Maybe You Should

10 James Morrison – The Pieces Don’t Fit Anymore

65 Responses to “My top 10 of 2009”

  1. taylorfan06 Says:

    MYS is my #1 with this list. Bonnie Raitt? 2009?

  2. taylorfan06 Says:

    Did Matt Nathanson or Will Hoge ever open for Taylor?
    Those names are familiar.

  3. casualfan Says:

    Bonnie Raitt-Timeless TF6. Doesn’t matter what year…always at the top of my list. 😉

  4. TF, no, Matt Nathanson and Will Hoge never opened for Taylor. They are two great musicians that are finding their own way in the crazy music business. I’ve never seen Nathanson live, but I have seen Will Hoge, and he is phenomenal. If you ever get the chance, check him out. I think right now he’s in London, but this spring he’s doing a ten city tour all over the US.

  5. Yep, Bonnie Raitt was one of the ones that surprised me…but good songs never go out of style.

  6. casualfan Says:

    Another female artist that I love is Nora Jones. There’s something about her voice and style that sweep me away. She will never go out of style either.

  7. taylorfan06 Says:

    I do love Bonnie and that song, just surprised it was an ’09 list.

    A favorite female artist of mine, besides the incomparable Linda Ronstadt, is Basia. Not a fan initially, but with each release I got hooked more and more. Sometimes that happens. lI have all 7 of her cd’s and strongly recommend “The Sweetest Illusion”. It’s like buttah. A big stick of buttah. Trust me when I say that EVERY track will grow on you. Major highlights include “Yearning”, “She Deserves It/Rachel’s Wedding”, and “Third Time Lucky”. I could go on and on..

  8. I liked James Blunt’s song when it first came out but now I cringe every time I hear it. LOL. Don’t know why. Maybe it was just played so much on the radio and reached my breaking point. Kind of like to way Daughtry affects me now although I liked some of his songs to begin with.

  9. hicksaholic Says:

    Nora Jones is coming to the Saenger in Mobile in March. Got a lot of friends going but I don’t really know her music. People rave about her. I guess I should check her out.

  10. hicksfan7 Says:

    iag – some great songs on your list – along with some I haven’t heard of but will give a listen – Happy New Year!

  11. hicksfan7 Says:

    listened to the Reed Foehl – Turn Your Lights Down Low – niiiiice.

  12. What a nice way to spend an afternoon. Thanks IAG. Hey, I like Nora Jones and Basia too! Great singers.

    Viva La Vida – Ha ha! “us british singers have great singing voices” I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

    Awesome Bonnie Raitt and Bruce Hornsby performance

    Wow, I LIKE that Matt Nathanson- gotta check him out some more!

    I loved the last 3 selections very much. James Morrison’s song reminds me of REM’s Everybody Hurts, but it’s still a good song. 🙂

  13. casualfan Says:

    For Hicksaholic…

  14. casualfan Says:

  15. casualfan Says:

    She does Elvis proud =)

  16. casualfan Says:

    IAG-I love that James Morrison tune. I have to go fish out some more vids on him…Thanks!

    Agree with Sierra on this being a great way to end the long stressful holidays.

    Thanks again for another wonderful blog! 😉

  17. hicksaholic Says:

    Thanks cf. Knew the first song, just didn’t realize she was the singer. Love the Elvis tune, although loved the Elvis version more. She is very good, might be a little too mellow for me for a 2 hour concert. Thanks for the Nora lession.

  18. hicksaholic Says:

    Sorry, lesson.

  19. casualfan Says:

    Her music is perfect for lighting candles, pouring some wine and snuggling. She’s very relaxing after a hard day.

  20. PurpleButterflies Says:

    My beloved cat that passed away last year would stand up on his hind legs and lean on the entertainment center every time we’d play James Blunt’s video on the On Demand channel. The cat would stay in that position the entire time that the video was on and watch the video. When James Blunnt fell into the water, the cat would tilt his head and meow as if to wonder where he went. It was the only time he paid attention to the tv. Every time I hear “You’re Beautiful,” I miss my fur baby all over again.

  21. I think You’re Beautiful is the most overated song of the decade along with Mr. Blunt. I almost thought people were kidding and had him on all the TV shows. I can understand why a cat might be fascinated with the video. He/she was looking for the squeeling mice in the video. Wonder if that song and many of Lamberts hurt dogs ears.

  22. taylorfan06 Says:

    To James Blunt’s, “You’re Beautiful” I say – HATED IT!

    Actually on my dvr’s recording of WATW, there was some filler of James Blunt between programs and there was a song he sang that was “beautiful”. I’ll have to go back to listen again, but it just goes to show if you don’t care for one artist’s song, he may surprise you with another.

    I wonder if anyone would consider him d-list at this point…

  23. PBF, sorry about your cat, my daughter lost one last month. She just rescued one from the shelter, right before Christmas.

  24. mamaforpeace Says:

    PB, what a sweet story about your kitty. And very curious too. Our animal friends bring us so much joy and unconditional love, don’t they?

  25. PurpleButterflies Says:

    mama-Yes, they sure do. And talk about curious. He wanted to know everything! He spent two weeks in the bathroom sitting on a shelf. We had no idea why he was so fascinated with the bathroom, but he would not budge from that shelf unless he had to eat. He watched our every move in there. Well one morning my daughter was getting ready for school and went in the bathroom. She screamed at the top of her lungs for everyone to come in the bathroom. We all ran in the bathroom and the cat was going potty in the toilet! The kids and I were floored. Finally I said “Uh, I guess we all clap now like I did when you kids went potty.” LOL So the kids and I were clapping like four idiots because the cat went potty. LOL Then that was it. He left the bathroom and didn’t take up residence in there any more. But the litter box was eliminated. He would only go potty on the toilet from then on. He taught himself. I think he spent so much time in there because he was studying us to see how it was done. LOL I miss that cat so much. I also lost my 16yo lab on Jan 1 of last year. It is giong to be a long time before I get another pet. Two in one year was hard.

  26. casualfan Says:

    LOL! Looks like Lambert is having a familiar issue with fans calling into radio stations…

    Adam Lambert: Hey guys!! I love that you want to support my music and call in requests, but please be mindful of them. Open House Party is a great supporter of my songs, but when there is an organized group of fans calling stations it becomes obvious to those stations what is going on and it understandably upsets them.

  27. hicksaholic Says:

    Oh PurpleButterflies, your dog and cat sound like they were great pets. I hope you can get to the point of being able to adopt a couple from the animal shelter before too long. There are so many needing homes particularly with the economy the way it is. I know you get so attached to them that it is hard to go through losing one again. But when you think about the love they have to offer and it is wonderful if a responsible individual can accept that love and responsibility. Sorry, you can tell I am an animal lover.

  28. Taylor fans couldn’t have been as crazy as the Lambert fans. I read on Top Idol they are protesting to VH1 about his FYE no longer being in the top 20 videos. For anyone who tweets, tomorrow for the release of WATW, Tay fans are going to try to trend it. Sorry, I don’t tweet.

  29. hicksfan7 Says:

    rosie – do you know what it means to ‘trend it”?

  30. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    January 4, 2010 at 6:39 pm
    Taylor fans couldn’t have been as crazy as the Lambert fans.
    =============================================
    U R joking right? ROFLAMO!

    For anyone who tweets, tomorrow for the release of WATW, Tay fans are going to try to trend it. Sorry, I don’t tweet.
    ==============================================
    It’s funny that you said this in the same post. LOL!

  31. casualfan Says:

    hicksfan7 Says:

    January 4, 2010 at 6:42 pm
    rosie – do you know what it means to ‘trend it”?
    ============================================
    Not sure about Rosie, but I’m guessing the lines are getting blurred between trending and spamming. But this is not surprising and expected.

  32. Guess I meant that there are so many Lambert fans and I wasn’t around when there was a whole army of Tay fans. I think trend it means make a ton of tweets about it. Someone already received their copy today. The TV video promotion for the new season of AI shows all the winners except for Taylor. Daughtry appears in place of Tay and that is just wrong.

  33. casualfan Says:

    Speaking of trending on twitter-I love to read the #musicmonday trend. It introduces me to all kinds of music and different artists.

    Rosie, I saw a promo of AI yesterday and saw T’s pic up. They have several different ones in rotation I’m sure.

    I wish T great success with his WATWF sales and in gaining more fans.

  34. hicksfan7 Says:

    well that is what I figured it meant – hope too many folks don’t become ‘annoyed’ by it….

    Rosie – “The TV video promotion for the new season of AI shows all the winners except for Taylor. Daughtry appears in place of Tay and that is just wrong” – that is par for the course.

    I wonder when we will get the WATW DVD if we pre-ordered. hmmmm

  35. PurpleButterflies Says:

    hicksaholic, You don’t have to say sorry! I know what you mean. I want to spoil some furbabies rotten again, but I can’t take another one going. I do miss having a pet. But then I think of how two in one year passed and I say forget it. Maybe I just need some time.

  36. casualfan Says:

    PBF-A pet will adopt YOU and then you will know 😉

  37. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    January 4, 2010 at 7:39 pm
    I think trend it means make a ton of tweets about it.
    ============================================
    They can attempt to trend by putting #whompatthewarfield in their Tweets. That # sign signals Twitter to start keeping count of that particular phrase or word and once the threshold is met, it starts to trend.

  38. hicksaholic Says:

    Yeah, it’s like hits on Google. I’m afraid i can’t get into all that. It’s like voting over and over for Taylor on a random poll. It just doesn’t mean anything and seems to me at least to be generally a waste of my time. I would love for Taylor to be wildly popular again but I doubt a few of us tweeting about Whomp at the Warfield is going to do much. I did order it though and Amazon said I should receive it early next week.

  39. taylorfan06 Says:

    Did anyone catch that “so called” talent, Robin Thicke”, on Chelsea Lately last night. I’m even more less impressed. He really comes across as a tool and a poser. He seems odd. And as I had mentioned before, that hair of his is ridiculous. It’s not cool or hip. Why he has a fan base is beyond me. Different strokes… And does Oprah really listen to his music? I really doubt it. I would guess it’s VERY low on her priority list. It’s it obvious I just don’t like this guy. I tried to listen to his cd but it’s just horrible. That voice. …ewww! Chelsea even seemed awkward. I like SO many artists and can usually find some appeal with others, but this guy is just a flat line to me. I just had to get this out of my system. Sorry about the length here.

    I’ll finish on a positive by saying that Chelsea’s interview with Taylor was so much better. That I could sit through.

  40. Snowstorm Says:

    Sure you’re not jealous there, Grizzley Bear? Me thinks you got sour grapes because Robin Thicke chewed up Taylor Hicks and spit him out! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  41. hicksfan7 Says:

    dang it I missed that chewing and spitting thing – Hey SS do you have any video of that??? would LOVE to see it!

  42. Snowstorm Says:

    So, delusional soul patrollers are trying to get whompatthewarfield into the trending topics on Twitter? What a bunch of idiot women.

  43. Snowstorm Says:

    hicksfan, just use your brain. Do you see Taylor Hicks anywhere….um, No. Do you see Robin Thicke everywhere….um, Yes.

    The end.

  44. hicksfan7 Says:

    WELL sorry but I am a delusiional idiot and I see Tay all over the place and Thicke – never. Guess it is all in where one looks.

    :>)

  45. Snowstorm Says:

    “And as I had mentioned before, that hair of his is ridiculous. It’s not cool or hip.”

    Taylor Hicks was wearing his hair like that at one time after he won Idol. You losing your memory there, Griz?

  46. Snowstorm Says:

    Exactly where do you see Tay all over the place, besides in your brain?

  47. hicksfan7 Says:

    ALL over the internet, various websites, including his own, MySpace, on his CD’s, on DVD’s, iTunes, YouTube, emails, the Monthly Soul Connection newsletter, and sometimes I even look at his book again, or the older People mag with him on the cover! And my daughter gave me a Taylor Hicks deck of playing cards for Christmas – so that’s 52 more pictures! Woooooo!

    all so fun to me!

  48. hicksfan7 Says:

    do you begrudge peeps having FUN SS?? Or why do you care?

  49. Snowstorm Says:

    hicksfan, you sound like a cray-cray to me with no life. Fact of the matter is Taylor Hicks has done nothing except fly in an ice cone.

    The internet does very little to make a former Idol winner famous, but it does a lot to bring out the crazy in Idol fans, which reflects very badly on someone you claim to love. Do you understand?

  50. hicksfan7 Says:

    I don’t actually know the term ‘cray-cray’ but whatever. I am sure I have been called worse.
    I do have a life, but not one that you would admire. Good thing I like it and love the people in it.

    and no I don’t really understand – even Taylor himself said bad publicity is better than NO publicity. hahah

  51. hicksfan7 Says:

    oh oh
    was that supposed to be an explanation of why you care if others think it is fun? like – because you don’t want stuff to reflect badly on Taylor?

  52. casualfan Says:

    hicksfan7 Says:

    January 5, 2010 at 2:19 pm
    I don’t actually know the term ‘cray-cray’ but whatever.
    =============================================
    LOL! I think it’s the new updated version of the word “crazy”. 😉

  53. hicksfan7 Says:

    Oh hahha cf – well then I guess SS is probably right!

  54. casualfan Says:

    Mental health is over-rated.

  55. hicksfan7 Says:

    When I used to work full time, I occasionally would tell my boss I wasn’t coming in – ‘needed a mental health day’ – ha – she totally dug it too.

    always got paid for those….LOL

  56. taylorfan06 Says:

    “And as I had mentioned before, that hair of his is ridiculous. It’s not cool or hip.”

    Taylor Hicks was wearing his hair like that at one time after he won Idol. You losing your memory there, Griz?
    _______________________________________________________

    SpinsterSnow, I mean Snowstorm – I NEVER saw a picture of TH with a “power do” like RT. When was this? Pic please. And if he did “allegedly” wear his like that “one time” after winning after AI, he obviously looked in the mirror that day and changed it after saying eeewwww!!!

    No self respecting man leaves the house looking like that intentionally – well I guess maybe one does…

    RT debuting at #9 and dropping to #30 the 2nd week does not say superstar to me. It says FLOP. Can you say downward spiral? Will his “superstar status” keep him the Top 50 in week 3? I mean he’s all over the airwaves isn’t he, right??? No. My bad.

    I just do NOT connect with his scary talent, or his scare-do. Especially the scare-do!!!

    – my counterpoint to a previous post from… that one.

  57. taylorfan06 Says:

    And where did the “griz” thing come from?

  58. hicksfan7 Says:

    re: WATW DVD – I had pre-ordered mine from Barnes & Noble – just got an email from them saying the delivery is DELAYED due to – “Unfortunately, we just got word that the release date for this item(s) has been changed.”

    WHAT??? Has anyone else heard this, or is B&N just saying this because they don’t have them sent out yet?

  59. Snowstorm Says:

    That’s where Taylor Hicks went wrong… he catered to old cray cray’s. Can you say, SELL-OUT? It’s very sad, all the normal fans left and he’s left with cray cray’s.

    taylorfan06 is obviously griz, who is jealous of anybody doing better than Hicks. How in the world is bad-mouthing someone going to help Hicks, you nutbag?

  60. Snowstorm Says:

    That’s the beauty of it, griz. Robin Thicke gets NO radio airplay, yet he’s invited to sing on all the TV shows. Do you want to know the reason why? Because unlike Hicks, the demographics of his audience are diverse(not old women). You want to know the reason for that? Because unlike Hicks, that’s what modern soul sounds like.

  61. hicksfan7 Says:

    he CATERED TO OLD CRAY-CRAYS???? So you think Taylor should step up to the mic at a live performance and say I am not going to play a note until all you crazy old women get out of here????
    You are sick sick sick snowstorm.

    Seriously.

    And I would ask YOU YOUR OWN QUESTION – “How in the world is bad-mouthing someone going to help Hicks, you nutbag?” – which is EXACTLY what you do (bad-mouth his fans) every single time you post something here.

  62. taylorfan06 Says:

    taylorfan06 is obviously griz, who is jealous of anybody doing better than Hicks. How in the world is bad-mouthing someone going to help Hicks, you nutbag?

    ____________________________________________________

    Once again SS, you are so WRONG! I am not Griz, Columbo!!! I’m not sure how you came to that bizarre conclusion. You’re a bitter idiot! You really should stay out of the sleuthing business.

    I don’t think I’m helping Taylor by bad mouthing that hair style challenged “artist”. I JUST DO NOT LIKE ROBIN THICKE!!!! It’s so ironic that you just cannot understand that simple fact with your “thick”little skull!!!!!!!!

    You really do embar-ass yourself here frequently. Maybe you should take a vacation and re-group. See you back here on the 12th (of NEVER!!!) HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!

  63. taylorfan06 Says:

    RE: WATW. My copy is shipping today and will arrive within 3 business days. I’ll be “whomping” this weekend! WOO HOO!!!! Can you say, “CRANK IT UP”?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  64. taylorfan06 Says:

    Ordered at B&N, by the way.

  65. hicksfan7 Says:

    tf06 – that is so strange – wonder why mine is not shipped yet, and still haven’t received any further word today from B&N either. boooo

Leave a Reply

