Dear Taylor…

As the new year approaches, I’m sure you’re starting to think of some new years resolutions. No? Me either. What I really want to know from you is…

…are you doing a shadow show in St. Louis? I would assume no, since it’s right around the corner and nobody’s heard anything about ANY shadow shows. Just remember you have lots of midwest fans who would love to see you in concert. I might even have to drag some of my non-Taylor friends with me!

There are lots of cool venues you could perform at…

The Pageant Looks like they still have a few openings in January.

Who wouldn’t want to play at a place called Pop’s Blue Moon?

And of course you could always play at Blueberry Hill…how cool would it be for Chuck Berry to sit in?

Anyway, just some ideas for you to think about….

Yours in please do more shadow shows so your fans won’t get so crazy,

Straw

134 Responses to “Dear Taylor…”

  1. Something may pop up after the first of the year IAG. Keep the faith and bring lots of friends to those shows so he can continue building his fanbase.

    Here’s to a brand new year with much success to Mr. Hicks! πŸ˜‰

  2. taylorfan06 Says:

    Right on cf. I share in your sentiment.

  3. hicksaholic Says:

    In Mobile, the first New Year’s Eve Ball is being held at the Convention Center. It’s getting a lot of press. I am almost positive I read that the music is by a band that includes two of Taylor Hick’s band members. I don’t guess Taylor would show up. I wish I knew. The cost is $50 a person which includes a midnight buffet. It’s open to the whole city so God only knows who will show up. I’d pay $50 if I knew Taylor was coming but otherwise probably not.
    Sorry this is somewhat related to a shadow gig.
    Good luck to Taylor in 2010!

  4. ha – I hope Taylor reads your letter! I vote for Blueberry Hill – just because I like the name~ and did you see the menu? I thik Taylor would love that too! LOL

  5. ooops – ‘think’ not ‘thik’….although the menu COULD make one THIK. ha

  6. A venue will not book you if you can’t draw a crowd. If you end up giving away free tickets (like many other times), that’s not a good sign. Fans just don’t understand.. it’s ALWAYS about money.

    I feel bad for these sad women who are spending all their 401K money traveling to see his shows. One day they are going to wake up and realize their money is all gone and Taylor Hicks still did not give them the time of day. What a total waste of time and money.

  7. Hahaha Snow, nice touch, 401K money. x-D Yeah well, it IS their money.

    Yeah the Blueberry venue looks quite cool. Well no word from the Hickster so who knows. I wish him well though, hope 2010 a good year .

    Time what will become of….


    “see what’s become of me…..
    Time, time, time, see what’s become of me.
    While I looked around for my possibilities,
    I was so hard to please.
    Look around, the leaves are brown,
    And the sky is a hazy shade of winter.”

  8. IAG…I hope you get your show in St. Louis and since we’re making wish ..fingers crossed for Toronto in April..

    I hope Taylor will continue to enjoy making his music and wish all the best for a great 2010.

    And to everyone here a very Happy and Healthy 2010 and my wish is that
    the men and women in peril in far away lands from both our countries come home healthy in mind and body. God Bless them.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR.

  9. It makes me laugh to think about Taylor sitting in front of a lap top reading any blog and posters comments. Grey, I did read on Idletard where one Hicks fans wrote songs begging him to do a music gig in Detroit. Then he did The Majic Bag. So your friendly letter above may just work. I read Chuck Berry is sold out at 30 dollars a ticket. Wonder if Chuck can still do his moves and I bet he would like Taylor.

  10. Magic Bag, not majic.

  11. Thanks Anne. I wish you and everyone else a wonderful new year. πŸ™‚

  12. Sunny, sure it’s their money and they can do whatever they want. Just offering my unbiased opinion. Opinions are not right or wrong.. something the Hicks fans just don’t understand because they take everything personally.

    That video is so appropriate. These fans waste so much of their time. Time that could have been spent in the real world with real people, is wasted on chasing a fantasy or converting people into Taylor Hicks fans (cultish) or being drama queens (who keep saying they are leaving, yet they always show up). HA!

  13. Snow be careful: not so long ago you kept saying you were leaving and then you would show up again like a second later. It was quite funny actually. πŸ™‚ I wish you a wonderful new years and let’s hope we can all spend more time in the real world living and stop chasing these after these silly fantasies.

  14. I never announced I was leaving for good. When I did leave for long periods, I never annonced it, I just left.

  15. Show me when I said I was leaving for good…never happened.

  16. One of my NY resolutions is to not be so negative with T and look on the bright side…there-I said it! But that doesn’t mean that I will agree with each and every little thing he does. πŸ˜‰ There’s been way too much drama going on and with me anyway, enough is enough.

    Best wishes to everyone and may each of us prosper.

  17. luv 2 b entertained Says:

    Not caring as much as I used to, but still caring enough to post and to wish for a Shadow Show when he cruises through my city for Grease next year. Its kinda like being in a Hicksian Purgatory LOL

    Also, if I may, I just need to clarify that I never said Taylor WAS a Hack, only that forgetting lyrics (IMHO) could make him LOOK like a hack ; )

    Not that I don’t think its endearing and cute….but that’s coming from a long time fan. Someone on the outside of this fandom may not be so kind. So that’s it. That’s my only point with that statement.
    I must insist that he keep on “tagging” though!!! One of my favorite things he does.

    Here’s hoping 2010 is a great year for Taylor and the rest of us too.!!

  18. Yes indeed luv2! wooohooo!

  19. All this love and sweetness is rather overwhelming, but nice. So far no Taylor sightings reported. He just can’t be sleeping in his parents basement!

  20. I think it’s more of a nice corner suite at Rossbridge with a view of the golf course and a huge flat screen on the walls.

  21. mamaforpeace Says:

    A friend of mine posted this on her facebook page. Very inspiring! And guess what the background song is?

  22. Mama, that has almost a million views and I think it has only been around a few weeks. I love dogs and I love Do I Make You Proud. That single also put Tay on the charts for the decade, #1 for a week. Wish it had been on his TH CD.

  23. mamaforpeace Says:

    Rosie, I love dogs too. And as the grandmother of a very soon to be 3 year old grandson with cerebral palsy, and as a teacher who tries to see what kids can do rather than what they cannot, this was very meaningful to me. DIMYP was an added bonus. That song is kind of a guilty pleasure for me… I feel I shouldn’t like it, but I do:)

  24. Thank you mama! The video is so inspiring as someone who works with disabled youngsters. I also have someone close who has physical delays, so all the more touching this is : )

  25. My son is at a Lady GaGa concert in Atlanta tonight. God help me!!!!!!!!

  26. OMG! I have been deceived! No one told me this was a hate blog and y’all (never me) were all assholes!

    Guess where I’ve been reading…

  27. Fairhope Says:

    December 28, 2009 at 10:48 pm
    OMG! I have been deceived! No one told me this was a hate blog and y’all (never me) were all assholes!

    Guess where I’ve been reading…
    ==========================================
    shocking….

  28. Today is Morph’s birthday. Everyone together now….HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  29. Happy Birthday Julie! How is she doing FH?

  30. I certainly wish Taylor a very happy, prosperous & successful 2010. Hope WATW is a roaring success. I’ve been an admirer of his since his AI audition. I became a profoundly dedicated fan when I saw him at a local event surrounded by beautiful actresses. Some people were taking pictures and my friend and I were standing to one side. He turned, smiled and winked at us. That did it! Sign me off as – True Fan Forever.

  31. CF: SHe’s as crazy as ever. Gotta love her!!!

  32. Oh I love Taylor’s wink. I first saw him wink on AI. Those eyes were meant for flirting.

  33. FH, You picked a bad time to read. Just so you know I usually don’t carry tales from place to place. Besides I got my details wrong, abeit I didn’t write a retraction. I got bored earleir and clicked on Grey’s G is for Gray Charles, link above right. We were all so friendly then.

  34. Perhaps Tay is buying a house during his 3 week vacation. He has been hinting at doing so, and with Grease up in June he needs a home. He seemed to really like decorating that NY condo. Today was my sisters Birthday, she passed away Sept. 4th,2008, from cancer. Hope Morph had a good one.

  35. Sorry to hear about your sister rosie. A close friend of mine lost her partner about a month ago to cancer. I’m a cancer survivor myself.

  36. CF, thanks. She had hoped to live to this birthday, one of those roundstone numbers. She was almost 15 yrs older than me, but took excellent care of herself. She never smoked a cig. ate healthy, was thin, exercised and was a health nut. Just 3 weeks before she died she left me a self song singing, Happy Birthday message to me. Her voice was so weak. I saved it on my answering machine. Unfortunately a few months ago, the phone fell off the nightstand and her words and song were erased. As crazy as it sounds, my posting about Taylor that last month or so of her life, helped me deal. Caryl said posting about Taylor helped her deal with problems in her life. Perhaps he has helped many, by difusing pain from real life, be it a marriage going bad or whatever. You will be fine CF, you are strong.

  37. mamaforpeace Says:

    It doesn’t sound crazy, Rosie. We all need to escape pain from real life sometime, and this on line stuff, and music is a pretty healthy way to do it. Sorry about your sister. And CF, stay strong!

  38. No Rosie, it doesn’t sound crazy. I think T said once or twice if he can touch one person’s life then that makes it all worth while.

    Thanks for the words of comfort. My cancer was in 94 and so far hasn’t come back. I’m battling another illness right now, but I am a survivor and have went thru way too much in my life to let this get me. πŸ˜‰

  39. cf – I am also a cancer survivor, had surgery in summer of ’08, still on every 3-month check, (for 2 years) then progress to every 6 months for another two years. Takes a lot of time to remain NED. I don’t mind, since my younger brother lost his cancer battle at age 54.

    Taylor and a few fansites are an awesome distraction for me!

  40. Yes Fairhope this is the den of evil and deceit and blasphemy. Hanging out here will be your ticket to Hicksian Hell. Just ask the True Fans. hahaha!

    Surviving cancer is a big deal. My grandmother kicked it twice, double mastectomy, lymph nodes removed, etc. Every time the docs w/tell her it did not look good. She wound up having 8 kids and lived to be 95. Died a peaceful death cancer free, in her sleep.

  41. oooo – that’s the way I want to go….peaceful and in my sleep. (a long long long tme from now – ha)

  42. That’s how my grandmother went. Peaceful and in her sleep. God can be merciful that way.

  43. Grey, are you going to see Grease while Taylor is in St. Louis? I want more recaps of how Ace is doing as Danny. I promise I won’t Nag you to go see Grease.

  44. Nope. No Grease for me.

  45. I BOUGHT MY TICKET! Front row in the mez. I figure if Taylor is there that’s where I want to be!! Sure I would love a show at Blueberry Hill. I saw Chuck Berry there and he was really good. The food is great too! But I haven’t seen T for a long time now and Grease will be fun!

  46. I’m with you Grey. I will stick to the shadow tour. Not a huge broadway show type person anyway. Although I was tempted to go see “Wicked” but didn’t.

  47. I BOUGHT MY TICKET! Front row in the mez. I figure if Taylor is there that’s where I want to be!! Sure I would love a show at Blueberry Hill. I saw Chuck Berry there and he was really good. The food is great too! But I haven’t seen T for a long time now and Grease will be fun!

    *** posted this previously. saw that comment was awaiting moderation. must be cause I typed my email address wrong..oops ***

  48. taylorfan06 Says:

    I saw Grease at the Pantages opening night back in March. Fun show, and as many of the reviews said, Taylor was definitely a highlight of the show. I was amazed how much that Teen Angel suit sparkles in person. Flashy!!! And THE voice! It was definitely a fun show and a great reason to get out the house. (I was back up in L.A. for The Roxy the following week. That was a great month.)

    I got a large majority of the cast to sign my playbill afterwards at the stage door as they came out. In addition to Taylor, I also got a signature from Justin Guarini, Mary Lou Henner, and Adrian Zmed, as well as the original Cha Cha who were there for the premiere. What a night it was. It’s hard to believe it was nine months ago!

  49. Speaking of Grandmothers and death, my Grandma went to the DR for a checkup, was given a clean bill of health… Went home… took a nap and died in her sleep that same day. So much for Dr’s. LOL. My feeling is when it’s your time IT’S YOUR TIME.

  50. mamaforpeace Says:

    “I’m in the middle of a long conversation with my audience. It will be a life long journey for both of us by the time we are done”
    Bruce Springsteen
    I like that!

  51. hicksaholic Says:

    Did you see Springsteen last night at the Kennedy Honors? They saved him for last. Ben Harper was one of the performers honoring him. I always love to watch that show- like seeing Caroline once a year.

  52. mamaforpeace Says:

    That’s where I got the quote from:

  53. mamaforpeace Says:

    Jon Stewart was pretty funny! Didn’t see Ben Harper, though. What song did he do? Loved Eddie Vedder and Sting. The whole show was very good. Oh… and I loooove Bruuuuce!

  54. Ben Harper sang with Jennifer Nettles – ‘I’m on Fire’ – I liked it a lot. ALL those tributes last night were so good – really enjoyed DeNiro’s too and funny man Mel Brooks too.

  55. taylorfan06 Says:

    I’m listening to Bruce right now (Streets of Philadelphia). He is definitely The Boss! What a career he’s had. Great show last night and great tribute to all, especially Bruce and Bobby D.

  56. taylorfan06 Says:

    Bruce has so many great songs. “Prove It All Night” has to be my favorite even though it only reach #33 on the Billboard chart. It’s obvious that chart position means nothing.

  57. taylorfan06 Says:

    Now listening to “Tougher Than The Rest”. Another Great Springsteen Song! (AGSS)

  58. TF6-I agree about Bruce. Never seen him in concert but it always touches me watching vids of him because he is genuine in his emotions in response to the audience. He’s very humbled by the love and respect he is given.

  59. taylorfan06 Says:

    Thanks for the video cf. Born in the USA was the first Bruce cd i bought – 25 years ago! i was 5. actually 19. Rock on Bruce!!!

  60. mamaforpeace Says:

    Saw Bruce in concert lots of time. It’s a very personal feeling between him and the audience. And you are right, he is always humble.

  61. Hope everyone has a safe and happy New Years Eve! Sending out happy thoughts to EVERYONE this holiday weekend. πŸ˜‰

  62. cendrillon0308 Says:

    Speaking of Bruce Springsteen, I got to see him at the Sommet Center in Nashville a month ago and he gave us an awesome three hour concert. I didn’t want it to end. On a fangirl moment, he’s still rockin’ the blue jeans too.

    Happy 2010 everybody!

  63. Happy New Years’ Eve, Straw, and everyone who hangs here at IAG!

    I do like Springsteen, he’s had a fabulous career. TheDMan has most of his albums with my fave the vinyl copy of Greetings from Asbury Park, N.J., from 1973. We picked up this copy, in pristine condition, at a flea market only a few years ago.

    I’m sure you all know Steven Van Zandt was in The Sopranos playing Silvio Dante. He’s quite good:

    Then here he is sharing the mike with The Boss:

    Likely doing something similar, mixing music career with a good acting gig what Taylor Hicks has in mind. Stress on ‘good acting gig’. lol

  64. Sunny-I use to have a crush on Steven Van Zandt when I was in high school. LOL! Never really watched The Sorpranos except for a few episodes.

    I prefer to see Taylor up on stage performing music but if the acting road is next on his journey I wish him well.

  65. Sunny – re: Stress on β€˜good acting gig’. lol

    yeah for sure – hopefully the good acting part will be presenting itself to him in 2010!

  66. Wishing you all a Happy New Year.

  67. taylorfan06 Says:

    Happy 2010 to ALL! “Cheers, everybody, Cheers!!!!”
    Let the Celebration begin… xoxoxo

  68. WOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  69. Top songs of 2009!….LET’S PARTY!!!

  70. Thanks Grey for turning me on to this video! LOL!!!!!!!!!

  71. taylorfan06 Says:

    My Top 5 for 2009:

    5. Wheels – The Foo Fighters (single)
    4. Soaked – Adam Lambert (cd cut)
    3. Uprising – Muse (single)
    2. Seven Mile Breakdown – Taylor Hicks (single)

    1. 21st Century Breakdown – Green Day (CD)

    Honorable Mention: Indiscriminate Act of Kindness – Taylor Hicks

    It definitely was not a great year in music for me, but I love my song choices. I’m hopeful that next year I can extend to a Top 10 list.

  72. tf6 – I would put your ‘honorable mention’ as my number ONE!

  73. taylorfan06 Says:

    I think you may be right hicksfan7. Good call.

  74. that one just ‘got to me’….
    HAPPY NEW YEAR ALL!

  75. Same to you HF7 and everyone else.

    I know that people have been looking back on all that Taylor has accomplished this year, but I hope that all looks at what they have done and be proud of their own accomplishments. I think we ALL have things to feel proud of. πŸ˜‰

    Take care and be safe everyone!

  76. mamaforpeace Says:

    Happy New Year everyone. May it be filled with health, love, happiness, and lots of good music. And yes, more Taylor Hicks’ shows!!!

  77. Happy 2010! πŸ™‚

  78. Here’s hoping Taylor makes some waves this year. On Wed. night and again last night people asked me if he was dating someone. Taylor, please find a girlfriend this year, or at least date some celebrity to get in the tabloids. Hope he gets some press and hope he gets a movie or film role. I don’t expect a new CD until early 2011, unless it is a Christmas one.

  79. casualfan Says:

    Rosie, I hope T continues to keep that part of his life private. Hopefully the publicity or “waves” is about his career and not about who he’s dating. πŸ˜‰

  80. I want him to make some career waves. That would keep him on the publics radar. The public pays attention to everything a celeb does, and that includes their love life. Perhaps I do want him to be a famous person in the limelight. What do you think he wants? For all we know, he may have wanted his May 07 beach photos, and the crazy fan repercussions to have been magazine cover news. Carrie, who was way more under the limelight and small town, went on AI and won. She seems to not mind at all the fame, fortune or being on the cover of magazines. It is funny to me how so many of the online Tay fans, especially those on the BB., act like he never wanted fame and all that goes with it. The mantra seems to be, Taylor is happy, way better off than pre AI, and or success is relative. The gal who had never been on a plane, pre AI and was from the midwest and seemed to lack charisma and showmanship, took well to dating celebs and all the fame. Me thinks Taylor wanted that times 1000.

  81. The word is, he was so agressive when trying to get gigs or to be heard by anyone in the business who had any power to help him. He had a master plan on AI once he made the top 24. The guy has balls to go with his talent, and thus I hope he does all that is necessary. “Not Fade Away” was one of his song choices. So yes, hair dye, scandal, ballsy career moves, and female linkings are all game to me when it comes to Taylor. Hope Taylor has game in 2010!

  82. Snowstorm Says:

    haha Rosie! Nobody cares about a D list celeb’s love life except his 10 grannie fans.

    This is the definition of a D-lister, in case you don’t know:

    “D-list is often used to describe celebrities is so obscure that they are generally only known for appearances on reality shows.”

    Here’s a suggestion for you and all the other crazies… get a life or find another AI contestent whose career you can wreck.

  83. hicksfan7 Says:

    Oh Heck No Snow – I prefer to continue wrecking Taylors career! LOL
    Speaking of getting a life – I wonder if that would apply to posters who sit around looking up the definition of D-listers….hmmmm

  84. Snowstorm Says:

    Ever hear of Google? haha, it’s so time-consuming!! πŸ™‚

  85. LOL. hicksfan7. I can always tell when Snow is going to comment because when a poster leaves the door open for a putdown about Taylor Snow never disappoints. She never seems to weigh in about anything else.

  86. hicksfan7 Says:

    that’s true Dee – and she just admitted to ‘Googling – ways to tick off the Hicks Fans” hahahhahahha

  87. Snowstorm Says:

    It’s fun to tick you off. Because I’m always right. πŸ˜‰

  88. Snowstorm Says:

    BTW, Taylor is a D-lister, whether you like it or not. Nothing wrong in that. There’s plenty of D-lister’s. But, people outside of his small fanbase, don’t give a shit about him.

  89. hicksfan7 Says:

    re: But, people outside of his small fanbase, don’t give a shit about him.

    Speaking for myself – the feeling is mutual.

    :>)

  90. casualfan Says:

    MHO of course but I have my doubts that Taylor cares what list he’s on. As long as he has a platform available to him to bring us the music, that’s all that really matters….isn’t it? πŸ˜‰

  91. Snowstorm Says:

    Not trying to rain on your parade, but D-listers have less opportunity to bring music to the masses.

  92. hicksfan7 Says:

    …as long as I am in the masses he is bringin’ it to! Woooooo

    (and you are SO = always trying to rain on the tiny little Taylor Hicks parade!)

  93. hicksfan7 Says:

    too funny:
    Van Morrison has denied he has become a father again at the age of 64. The music legend issued a statement saying he had been the victim of a hoax after his website was hacked. An announcement posted on his official web page earlier this week claimed he was the proud father of a new son, George Ivan Morrison III.

    http://www.nationalledger.com/artman/publish/article_272629746.shtml

  94. casualfan Says:

    haha!

  95. Snowstorm Says:

    Sorry, but you are not the masses. You are 1% of the population.

  96. Snow you are so full of it. For a few years Jen Hudson was on the D- list, as a 7th place reality show contestent. She is now on the A list. I’m sorry you rung in a new year with your same old tude and can’t look at the positive side now and then. Some of us like to root for Taylor and just try to get a discussion going. Seems to me you are not informed as to how many people of all ages enjoy meeting and seeing Taylor.. If you think so little of him and his fans, why do you post?

  97. hicksfan7 Says:

    ss – You are 1% of the population.

    OMG I am WAY less than that. (google it)

  98. hicksfan7 Says:

    GOOD question Rosie

  99. casualfan Says:

    On another note….Looks like Mr. Lambert is well on the road of recovery from his mishap…. http://new.music.yahoo.com/blogs/realityrocks/299516/adam-lambert-new-years-eve-thennow/

  100. Snowstorm Says:

    Jennifer Hudson wasn’t black-balled by the industry and the AI and 19E suits. Jennifer Hudson doesn’t have crazy AI fans. BIG differences between Jennifer Hudson and Taylor Hicks. As different as night and day.

  101. Snowstorm Says:

    Taylor needs to knock on doors again and try to convince people to work with him. But, it might be a lost cause. Something tells me he was a total dick.

  102. Snowstorm Says:

    I like to post to set you straight and face reality. I personally think Taylor’s career is in the shitter. The general public doesn’t like him and he’s a punching bag… hard to overcome. But, hey keep dreaming, cause that’s all you got left.

  103. taylorfan06 Says:

    So nice of snow to keep her resolution of negativity for another year.
    Everything was so nice and calm before the storm. *head shaking*

  104. hicksfan7 Says:

    ss – ‘I like to post to set you straight and face reality.’ you should be thanking us for providing you with that enjoyable past time for yourself.

  105. hicksfan7 Says:

    oh and hey – ‘dreaming’ is ALL I have had for a really long time – just a little old granny nobody in a great big world of know it all’s and A-listers.

    LOL

  106. casualfan Says:

    LOL Snow! You always know how to bring spark into a conversation.

  107. mamaforpeace Says:

    New ipods have this application called “Genius”. You click on a song by a particualr artist, and it creates a playlist for you. A bit like internet radio, but since it picks from your own ipod selection, it’s more geared to what you like. I finally got around to use a TH song yesterday (MYS) as my starting point, and I got Elliott Yamin and Adam Lambert (the usual AI suspects… I don’t have Daughty b/c I’m not a fan), but also a lot of Van Morrison (the most), Bob Dylan, Adele, Wilco, Marc Broussard, Annie Lennox, and more. Interesting! Anyway, a fun application. If you don’t have it on your ipod, you may just have to get a new one for the new year:)

  108. mamaforpeace Says:

    Oh, and if you do have it, I’d love to hear what your playlist includes if you start with MYS. Could be fun!

  109. casualfan Says:

    MFP-I have the Genius app on mine and you are right-it is fun! It’s also enabled on my ITunes on the computer so all kinds of neat stuff pops up when I start up ITunes.

    I find it interesting and cool that Taylor is in such good company. Any of them “D” listers? πŸ˜‰

  110. taylorfan06 Says:

    I have an array of obscure songs from various artists on my iPod, which I love. A good song is a good song. Some of these would probably love to make it on a “D-list.” Or not. Some artists just do what they love. I wish that I could say that I have a job that I love.

    Watching the video of the top songs of 2009, there was not one song that I really liked. I know it’s what’s popular and what sold for the year, but there was nothing there for me. That’s why I decided to write my own list. Maybe a don’t have to be all about the “A-list”.

    I love music SO much and I just pray that there are more songs coming out this year that I can add to my collection. I would like to do my part in helping to spur on the economy.

    As far as “A-lists” or “D-lists” go, it’s all subjective, and their just labels. I feel that labels belong on clothes.

  111. mamaforpeace Says:

    CF, I simply don’t have “D” list anything in my life… I’m way too cool for that, and always right about what’s the best:)
    And I was wondering… is there a “C” list? Or an “F” list?
    TF6, I was talking to my 18 year old niece recently about popular music these days. We agreed that a lot of it is more visual than auditory, if you know what I mean. A lot of theatrics attached to it (which is one reason I think AL might do well). And also very popular in clubs. I have never been into the club scene, even when I was young and hip. I always preferred, and still do, the little bar style “clubs” where you can sometimes hear some really good musicians (and sometime some not so good ones as well, but hey, they try!!!).

  112. mamaforpeace Says:

    And TF6, there’s always been good music, and always will be. I was watching “The Soloist” the other day (a very good movie by the way), and I thought, “Damn, I got to get back to listening to some classical music!” For me, it can just transport me, fill me with emotion. And jazz… got to listen to more jazz. Haaa! So much music, so little time!

  113. Paris Hilton and Lindsay Lohan are still on the A list as far as the public and press being interested in their comings and goings, but they haven’t done anything worthwhile for years. I think Taylor will do something notable in the entertainment field within the next 18 months. Adam Lambert’s AMA shocker has paid off for him celebrity wise. I rather enjoyed the bit of Daughtry I saw with Seacrest the other night. I felt sad seeing Dick Clark.

  114. mamaforpeace Says:

    Rosie… for years??? Have they ever?

  115. taylorfan06 Says:

    mfp – i totally agree that there is, and will always be, good music. this year, and a few other years this decade have just been a little anemic for me. there’s just too much of the same thing out there. i kind of miss the “hair band” days of yesteryear.

    i actually received a great classical box set for christmas. 8 discs of many, many classical treasures that i’m still in the processing of downloading to my new computer, which was also under the tree. i will have to check out “the soloist.” i did hear it was good.

  116. taylorfan06 Says:

    MARK YOUR CALENDAR. Peter Gabriel has an orchestral cover album, “Scratch My Back”, due out (dropping… whatever!) on February 15th.
    Very eclectic mix of songs from, Bowie, to Lou Reed, to Paul Simon, to Randy Newman. Check out billboard.com for track listing. Can’t wait to hear this one!

    Love TH’s versions of “Birmingham” & “Louisiana 1927” – would love to hear more Newman from him. …but I digress.

    I love his style and I love his voice. Peter Gabriel, too!

    Maybe not commercial, but who cares? It’s Peter Fucking Gabriel.

  117. casualfan Says:

    To classify anything like “A” list to “D” list is very narrow minded, but that’s my opinion. A’s drop to D’s or off the map completely. As I have said many, many times….music is music and there isn’t any bad music out there. We like what we like and that’s that. If someone doesn’t listen to a musician because he or she is on the “D” list, they are missing out on what could be the best they ever heard.

    TF6, I’m no Peter Garbriel fan but I’m amazed at his talent and creativity with his music and song writing ability. πŸ˜‰

  118. hicksfan7 Says:

    cf – all so very true, and it also made me stop and realize that because I am not one who can make the music myself, I am grateful to all musically inclined for sharing with those of us who don’t have the talent…

    well I CAN push the ‘play’ button….and the music begins – LOL

  119. casualfan Says:

    Right on HF7! Just listen to the music…..

  120. casualfan Says:

    ***quietly sobs***

  121. casualfan Says:

    ***full blown sobbing*** sniffles…..

  122. hicksfan7 Says:

    I know cf – SOMEBODY’S gotta do it! – without us listeners where would all those musicians be? hahahh

    perfectly place vids – thanks!

  123. casualfan Says:

  124. That Peter Gabriel album sounds cool! I’ll have to check it out. πŸ™‚

  125. casualfan Says:

    Here ya go Rosie πŸ˜‰

    #WhoRemembers Taylor Hicks? dude from American idol with saltnpepper hair lol.. Coulda sworn he was gay but apparently he’s dating my cousin
    about 1 hour ago from Tweetie

  126. taylorfan06 Says:

    cf – thanks for “Run Baby Run”. Taylor totally owned that one! And Brian Gallagher on sax. Magic. (snap)

  127. CF. those are some of my favorite Tay performances. Thanks for the twitter tip. Interesting.

  128. casualfan Says:

    Mine too Rosie.

  129. hicksfan7 Says:

    cf – from the twitter Tweetie – “Coulda sworn he was gay ” – I have heard that before on a rare occasion but I never got that feeling myself…

  130. casualfan Says:

    I wasn’t referring to that. Apparently the guy’s cousin is daiting Taylor and Rosie said she wanted to hear about T daiting. LOL! Good to see he’s got someone.

  131. hicksfan7 Says:

    CF – I am happy about that part also – it is good and hopefully true.

  132. Maybe it is that woman he follows on Twitter. I wasn’t around for the beach thing, but do you think if people knew who he was dating, they would look up the woman and post her info and pics? They seem to do that with just about everyone he has contact with.

Leave a Reply

