Allison Iraheta

Wow. This girl has some pipes, no doubt about it. She also seems a little more comfortable being interviewed than she was on AI. Thank goodness. šŸ™‚ What’s really hard to believe is that her voice is only 17 years old.

Like the message of this song, too. Don’t waste the pretty on pain.

Dust it off, break it down
Get to what we’re talkin about
Do what we’re talkin about
Don’t try to hide it now
Why keep on working it out?
You keep on working it out

‘Cause I see how it’s putting you down
I just can’t be around
What you doing this for?
‘Cause the light in you started to fade
Don’t let it get away
Girl you’re worth so much more

Don’t waste the pretty on him
Don’t waste the pretty on pain
When it gets too much to take
Don’t give it away
Don’t waste the pretty on life
Soon it’s gonna fly on by
Whatever way you got to see
Don’t waste the pretty

Sit back and breath it in
Look at how lucky we are
Look at how lucky we are
This life we’re livin in
You got to follow your heart
You know I’m never too far

Away from the pain in your eyes
I can see your disguise
But it’s not too late
‘Cause I know you can turn it around
Don’t let it get you down
Don’t be scared, work it out
And listen when I say

Don’t waste the pretty on him
Don’t waste the pretty on pain
When it gets too much to take
Don’t give it away
Don’t waste the pretty on life
Soon it’s gonna fly on by
Whatever way you got to see
Don’t waste the pretty

And just incase you need reminding
Well you’re beautiful, beautiful, beautiful
And every noticed sin, you hide it
‘Cause you’re beautiful, beautiful, beautiful

Don’t waste the pretty on him
Don’t waste the pretty on pain
When it gets too much to take
Don’t give it away
Don’t waste the pretty on life
Soon it’s gonna fly on by
Whatever way you got to see
Don’t waste the pretty

Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t, don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t , don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
(Yeah you’re beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, beautiful)
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t, don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t , don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty
Don’t waste the pretty

36 Responses to “Allison Iraheta”

  1. I agree. This young lady can seriously rock her a$$ off! Musicians her age are busy doing bubble gum pop and swirling around on stage like minx’s but Allison is truly into her music. Kind of reminds me of a young Stevie Nicks.

  2. mamaforpeace Says:

    Amazing voice and composure for someone so young!

  3. Loved Allison on AI – always looked forward to her performances. Haven’t heard a thing about her since – LOVE her voice.

  4. Soul lost and found Says:

    You guys know no music do you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Soul lost and found Says:

    I love this girl but, educate me on others , not AI relayed I love this blog….by the way. Foy Nance is good .

  6. Soul lost and found Says:

    Sorry I do know this is a Taylor hicks blog!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Soul lost and found Says:

    December 10, 2009 at 4:47 pm
    You guys know no music do you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ===============================================
    I’m guessing all the exclaimation points means that you do. Perhaps you would like to tell us what music is.

  8. Soul lost and found Says:

    December 10, 2009 at 4:55 pm
    Sorry I do know this is a Taylor hicks blog!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ===========================================
    Maybe this post got lost in translation. Who R U apologizing too?

  9. Wow! Allison reminds me of Elliott Yamin-alot of heart and soul! Soul lost and found, if you are truly a newcomer, well then, Welcome! If not, hope you have other productive outlets in your life! Let’s all say Amen to healthy living and the recuperative powers of music~!!

  10. May I strongly recommend Allison’s “Scars”. I love the texture of her vocals when she tackles a ballad. She reminds me of Pink with a little more sand in her voice.

  11. MN, I went on YouTube to find some vids of Allison but really didn’t see much. Adam kept popping up under her name for some reason and that was a few blogs ago so I didn’t want to revisit that.

    She has a great voice and IMO very under rated. There is so much good talent out there that is overshadowed by what’s considered “cool” today. Even though I enjoy all kinds of music, I feel the music industry is one hot mess.

  12. Hi everyone. I hope Taylor puts on a good show tonight and has a decent crowd. Allison has a good voice. I think she won some contest before AI.

  13. Hi Rosie. Last I heard anything about Taylor was at the tree lighting event in Florida. Have no idea where he is or what he’s doing these days. Is he still doing Grease?

  14. NotYourGrandMa Says:

    Guess I’m in the minority but I’m not really a fan of her voice (or hair). If I want that kind of tone I’d rather listen to Joplin. She reminds me of an oompa loompa from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

  15. Another great rocker/blue artist

  16. I know this isn’t a thread about Joss Stone, but I love this version of “Angels” with Robbie

  17. Susan Tedeschi is one of my favorites of the “Janis Genre” – bluesy female singer with awesome guitar skills…

  18. She has a fantastic voice, but she is over the top. I saw her in the Idols Live show, pretty close up, and her movements on stage looked fake and exaggerated like she is impersonating a rock star. JMO.

  19. CF and anyone out of the Taylor loop, he did an acoustic concert last night in Madison Wisconsen. He sang Clapton’s “Forever Man” and Elton’s “Border Song”. I’m sure when the vids are available someone will bring them over and infiltrate the Allison thread. He and Ace and the entire cast go a snow day from Grease on Wed. due to the 18 inches of snow and minus degrees weather. I just read a good review of his concert, but the author think the AI machine and AI fans stilt his great gift of music, presentation and being himself. She kind of knocked his fans but called it a no win situation. Well, that was what I got from the review. Much food for thought, should anyone get bored with Allison.

  20. The old ladies that follow him around is the reason Taylor is a failure. After his Grease gig, Taylor should disappear for a year and figure out what he wants. If he wants to continue in music, he needs to get signed by a label and line himself up with the major players in music, exposing him to an entirely different audience other than middle-age housewives, otherwise there is no success for him. He’ll actually have more success playing bars in Birmingham where there is a younger audience. Soul Patrol is an albacross around his neck. I knew at the beginning that this would be a huge failure and he should have dropped the stupid gimmick right after he won.

    I see no acting gigs for Taylor in TV or movies. He’ll either be in another Broadway show, in another small role or possibility back to reality TV, but I highly doubt he would ever do another reality TV show. It’s also possible Taylor will drop out of the entertainment field and do somthing else with his life, perhaps performing on the side. Money and will wear thin and people give up and do other things with their lives.

    The entertainment field is very, very difficult and if you’re a fomer Idol, it’s 100 times more difficult because it’s not taken seriously by the industry.

  21. Hey SS – if you have time, could you please check your crystal ball and tell me if Santa is bringing me what I want for Christmas? :>)

  22. I love how the writer of that article made fun of that dumb woman who brought Xmas cookies at a concert. WTF! Who brings cookies to a concert… grannies that’s who! You set yourselves up to be made fun of over and over again.

    Another old lady bought him a drink, hoping to get in his pants, no doubt.. haha!

  23. rosie, Thanks for the recap. It’s comforting to know that he is stepping out of his cone to entertain his small, but dedicated fanbase on occasion. No doubt some will be feasting on this latest round of video for months to come…at least till the much anticipated WATWF is released.

    Snow I think that all the Idols are finding out just how hard it really is.

  24. Snow-I gave into temptation and read the article. It was wonderfully written and spot on in the assessment. Most people that have stepped away from the SP have done so for those reasons described. I feel sorry for Taylor, I really do.

  25. The giant container of cookies, sitting on the stage in front of him is a bit much. It doesn’t give him the rock god image for sure. The reviewer could tell he knows his stuff and has a great voice and was wondering what more he could do without having the Idol tag and SP. I just wish the die hards would not always have to sit in the first two rows. even though some of them flew there to see him in frigid weather. The University is nearby and perhaps some students attended. One guy tweeted that Taylor was great. While I know he hasn’t gotten offers to appear on TV music shows or as a guest on a talk show, I do think he can use his Grease Creds to get other acting or musical theater roles. Glad you are comforted CF.

  26. They are nuts to get on a plane in horrible, cold and icy weather conditions… absolutely nuts!

  27. NotYourGrandMa Says:

    I think the writer pointed out something that is very much the reason he hasn’t succeeded – which is that he panders to these same fans – and by doing so hasn’t remained true to himself and it’s backfired. Yes it’s icky.

  28. Maybe I missed the link, but where is this review at?

  29. Oh, and I found some video. šŸ™‚

  30. Taylor reminds me of someone standing at the railing of a bridge not knowing if he should jump and test fate or remain in the same rut that got him to that bridge in the first place.

    I say jump Taylor and spread your wings to fly in the winds of your true talent! šŸ˜‰

  31. Grannies…Christmas cookies…LOL!

  32. It’s a good article Grey and I think you will appreciate what was written.

Leave a Reply

