P is for performer…

79 Responses to “P is for performer…”

  1. taylorfan06 Says:

    TAYLOR HICKS = PERFORMER. Period!

  2. taylorfan06 Says:

    Thanks for the great videos iag.

  3. taylorfan06 Says:

    I just LOVE that voice.

  4. taylorfan06 Says:

    Get Back, indeed. I love it!!! Always full of surprises!

  5. Wow! Very Nice! Performer– that is right.
    I had no idea something was up on youtube already. I must go look.

  6. givenchance Says:

    well, i want to thank you for these videos. I like watching them (videos I mean) in general, so it was ncie to find some of them at one place. lol!

  7. casualfan Says:

    Nice vids Grey! Thanks πŸ˜‰

  8. casualfan Says:

    The video from Epcot is great! Love his deliverance of “The Distance”. Of the harp was sweet as always.

  9. casualfan Says:

    That would be “of course” πŸ˜‰

  10. Listening to the Epcot performance it really struck me how Country flavored the songs were. Why Country hasn’t embraced this man I’ll never know. Maybe it will take a little more time and a few more collaborations.

  11. “P is for Performer”… you get it right, every time Grey!! The vids are fantastic. “Somehow” you always go “The Distance” and know “What’s Right is Right” for this American Idol.

    πŸ˜€

  12. casualfan Says:

    100% agreed YKW. Speculations, opinions and even rumors are welcomed here and is appreciated. We laugh, some cry but it’s all good.

    Some of us may at times can be critical of T and even some of his career choices, but we do know what good music is and there’s no denying this man is one hell of a live performer. I hope that he does more live music as a musician and continues on spotlighting his true calling and talents. πŸ™‚

    It is indeed ALL ABOUT THE MUSIC

  13. Thanks so much. I’ve only watched Epcot so far and loved it. Hope he continues to include Get Back. They say the place was packed and some there had only seen him on AI and were thrilled to see him again. I will watch the others later.

  14. Once again I don’t have time to enjoy all the vids but thanks for putting them up. Taylor Hicks IS one hell of a performer and it’s about time the rest of the world realizes it. It was these types of performance videos that got me hooked on him in the fist place earlier this year. The Epcot video is great and I’m surprised whoever did it got it compiled and uploaded so quickly. They must have stayed up all night! He must have been all hot and sweaty at the end. Didn’t notice it the first time but Henry brought it to my attention. πŸ˜€

    A “talking trash can” saw a fan’s TH shirt in the Magic Kingdom yesterday, and gave a hint that Taylor would also play at the last show of the AI Experience that night, or something to that affect. I wonder if there was anything too that? Have not heard anything so far but have not “made the rounds” yet this morning.

    NOW, please bear with my indulgence and pride here. This is another performance video of a different sort, and lets just say that one of my kids is the star of the show..LOL I just found a 2nd video so I’m putting them both up. (Forgive me, I’m just “thrilled. Haha)

  15. jerseyirish Says:

    These were all wonderful vids, thanks. Especially liked the Epcot one he was outstanding as usual, he is definetly a “Performer”, thanks.

    NolaMar, Love Mike the Tiger. It must be exciting to see one of your own center stage!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  16. Does anyone know if any of the performers were allowed to set up a booth to sell their merchandise?

  17. PurpleButterflies Says:

    “A β€œtalking trash can” saw a fan’s TH shirt in the Magic Kingdom yesterday, and gave a hint that Taylor would also play at the last show of the AI Experience that night, or something to that affect.”

    He is supposed to be at the AI Experience around 1pm today. But I don’t know if there will be performing or what it entails.

  18. I couldn’t help but think of Rosie when Rod said you gotta grab the audience by the balls! LOL
    Magic!
    P is for Performer, amen!
    Nola, you must be so proud!

  19. Nola did you do those vids of Mike? I haven’t time to go hit the Youtube to see. Figured you must have or have done some with the way you love to take all those Taylor Hicks pics and vids and The Tiger your kid and all.

    Do you guys go to any of the games? College ball is almost more intense and exciting than the pros anymore.

    He certainly has a good groove going on in the tiger suit.

  20. AND how hard it must be to dance in that Tiger costume!!??
    way to go Mike!

  21. Having a busy day so I have only gotten as far as Wilkes Barre. It is one of many I’ve never seen before and I assume by the date it was at or near the end of the AI tour. Taylor it seems just had to get out there and do the shadow gigs after having gone thru about 10 years of trying to get a crowd attention, he was in his glory. AI and the tour were scripted and limited but here you can see the joy he had doing his own thing with his old band. I don’t think any of the other idols did shadow gigs or at least not to the extent Taylor did. Thanks again for posting these and to those who post things elsewhere thanks. It is a great way for me to eventualy get caught up and I’m never disappointed. Music is first and biggest love.

  22. I have realplayer on my computer, and thankfully watched Feelin’ Alright (love Joe Cocker)………have now discovered I can:
    1) save the video using realplayer
    2) covert the song to mp3 (yayyy)
    3) put it on my cell phone to play on my car stereo via bluetooth!
    I love technology!!
    The last time I saw him do Feelin’ Alright was his homecoming on AI, and it was a pretty poor copy I had back then.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

  23. Just watching that You Send Me video brings back so many memories. I can remember sitting watching him sing that live…I remember thinking…ok, I like it, it’s good, but then he got to the end. I was like…WOW…I hadn’t had that kind of experience with music for a long time until then. It actually left me breathless. Good times. πŸ™‚

  24. I’m amazed at how comfortable he was at Wilkes Barre. He was having so much fun on that stage with the crowd, his friends and the music.

  25. Nola!! Just watched the Thriller vid!! How awesome it that?? Soooo cool!!

  26. Grey, You Send Me is what I remember put me 100% behind Taylor too. It blew me away.

    Sun, no, I did not film that. I did not even know about it until yesterday (Sunday), and it was played at the game Sat night. That is a professional video I think. A fan or mom must have filmed the one of the video playing on the screen at the game. I have not been to any games this year! I was going to go to the Auburn one weekend before last but it did not work out. I’m BEGGING him to get me a ticket to the Bama game this weekend but I know he won’t be able to. Believe it or not, even Mike himself is not privileged when it comes to getting LSU game tickets!! You would think so, but no. I know he is going over to Bama, but he does not have a ticket. That costume is something else. Not sure if he’s just wearing the MJ duds over the regular one but the regular is thick, heavy, and hot, and the head has a football helmet inside to stabilize it. I have actually made repairs to the Mike costume on occasion. LOL

  27. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, “You send Me” was one of the ones that really caught me. My Mom and Dad loved that song and my Dad would play it and dance my Mom around the house, had tears streaming down my face that night. Was very emotional for me, and he did such a great job with it!

    JI

  28. This is the song that brought a tear to my eye, when Taylor made it to top 3.
    I was actually expecting to hear this during love song week.
    Otis Redding’s Try a Little Tenderness:

  29. For the purist:

  30. Has anyone seen this?
    Taylor & cast of Grease doing curtain call, then Taylor sings a bit of “Grease” (…is the word) then Taylor does 7 Mile Breakdown:

  31. PurpleButterflies Says:

    “Having a busy day so I have only gotten as far as Wilkes Barre. It is one of many I’ve never seen before and I assume by the date it was at or near the end of the AI tour.”

    Yep, the last AI concert was in Wilkes Barre. I can’t remember the name of the hotel we stayed at, but he sang at that hotel at night. Wilkes Barre was where I met a group of people who I am still close with today. It was a blast.

  32. hicksaholic Says:

    I LOVE those videos particularly “Try A Little Tenderness” and “You Send Me”. Those were the days. Watching them now still gives me chills. You could tell Taylor wanted the win so bad. I guess he wanted his talent confirmed. Thanks for putting them up.

    Nola, great videos of Mike the Tiger too. My daughter was at the LSU/ Auburn game. She graduated from LSU and loves Mike the Tiger. I will have to send her the videos.

  33. Don’t have time to watch all the vids at the moment but yes, Taylor is one hell of a performer and entertainer. You don’t see something like that every day.

  34. And ps thanks for posting the vids!

  35. hicksfan7 Says:

    IAG – great selections showing a perfect variety of Taylor PERFORMING! Which we all know he LOVES to do!

  36. Hey Barb, good video, nice find.

  37. Nola, man would be so cool if he could get tickets to the Bama game! Boo. He should be able to score a certain number of tiks being the Tiger man!

  38. Nola – that is too cool – what a great job Mike & the girls did!

    IAG – great selection of vids – ah. memories!

  39. I have the answer about Taylor’s appearance at the AI Experience. First I will have to preface how I got my hands on this info. Tonight after Taylor’s last HOT performance , I took my granddaughter’s to wait by the ropes in hopes of getting their pic made with him. After Taylor came out to sign autographs, one of my grands wanted an autograph too but I did not have anything for him to sign. Clay was standing near and started searching his pockets for anything that Taylor could sign for her , he pulled out a paper and handed it to me. We got the pic and the autograph and we were all happy. After we left the park , I pulled out the paper and lo and behold, it was Taylor’s schedule breakdown for his stay at Disney. On this schedule it states that at 1:45 he arrived at AI Experience for hair and make-up, and met with Greg Bell, Disney Talent Relations and from 2-2:45 Taylor surprised contestants and viewing audience by appearing on stage.

  40. SCORE!!! Lynelle, how exciting that you got the schedule, AND autographed! Too cool. I got something similar but not as exciting at my first Grace Potter & the Nocs concert here. I grabbed the set list Grace used (and stomped all over) during the show. I found later it was printed on the back of a schedule for their previous gig up east. I was a bit too shy at that time to seek out autographs but will try to remember to bring it if I have a chance to go to a future show.

  41. I had never seen the Wilkes Barr video…. I was there and just did not look at many videos back in those early days. I remember thinking I had to go to that show because I really thought it would be the last time I would ever have the pleasure of seeing Taylor live away from AI… little did I know what the following years had in store for me!!!

    Nola, love the Mike the Tiger video. I have been invited to a ticket for the next LSU game from my ex- husbands — new wife’s — ex-husband. lol Wish I could take you along!!!!

  42. hicksaholic Says:

    Legacy
    There needs to be a term for that. My ex husband’s wife and I are good friends. She refers to me as her wife-in-law.

  43. hicksaholic Says:

    Legacy
    If you are going to the LSU/Bama game you might keep a lookout for Taylor. If he is off I wouldn’t be surprised if he is at that game.

  44. LOL. Lynn I hope it was stuff on his schedule he had already done. Otherwise they may be wondering what to do next. LOL. We know Taylor can’t keep an iternary in his head. LOL.

  45. Legacy, do you mean the Bama game this weekend?? If so, I’m so envious!! LOL

  46. hicksaholic Says:

    Nola,
    I can’t believe Mike the Tiger isn’t comped a couple of extra tickets. I think he should protest.

  47. This is the Tao Rodriguez-Seeger Band. They opened for Mofro at a club uptown (Tipitina’s) on Sunday night. I liked them! The fiddler was a guest I think. (Their MS page shows a woman fiddler.) Sorry it cuts off. My camera only records 5 min in HD. I should have pushed record again & edited them together like I did at the Kase Lounge but I think I was just so ready to dance at that point I was glad it finished. LOL I’m NOT a good videographer! Want to MOVE. Also, I panned too much.. I could not zoom out because of the particular lens I was using for pictures at the moment. But wanted to get some of the action of all the players. I also have 3 MOFRO videos up at YT. Oh, BTW, Tao is the grandson of Pete Seeger.

  48. superhare Says:

    Why Country hasn’t embraced this man I’ll never know. Maybe it will take a little more time and a few more collaborations.
    that’s my opinion
    but we’ll see
    have a great day

  49. Lynelle- awesome story! How cool is that?

  50. After watching these Tay vids, including Barb’s Grease one. and seeing the huge media blitz Tay is doing tomorrow, I think he deserves two P’s for Professional Performer. He shows up on time prepared and gives people a good professional performance every time.

  51. taylorfan06 Says:

    You said it Rosie! I agree 100%.

  52. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, Bravo!! You said it perfectly!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  53. Interesting band at Tipitina’s. That hole in the wall has launched some historic bands, great music and an awsome Foundation that has helped to put instruments and music back into the NO schools for children….love that place!

  54. nice post, thanks for sharing, it is smth i was looking for

  55. There are four fabulous videos from the Day2 Epcot concerts!! I’ve not time to embed them now but you MUST SEE THEM ALL. One is another compilation, my favorite parts being Use ME and the harp solo in Get Back. Then his new jazzy WRIR – tags When You Wish Upon A Star and Tupelo Honey. Feeling Alright and Down Let Me Down. Great harp!! Amazing. Also Brian G in DLMD and Brian Less in Feeling Alright – fantastic performances. The band sounded really tight.

  56. Love this one paragraph especially in a Grease review from Florida this morning. I think we can ALL agree on this one!

    “You have to mention American Idol Taylor Hicks, although he’s there for just one song. Hicks steps into Frankie Avalon’s shoes to sing “Beauty School Dropout” – complete with a parade of angelic backup dancers wearing silver glitter headpieces fashioned out of over-the-head hair dryers. I didn’t watch one second of his season, but it is obvious why he won; he can – and does – sing down the house.”

  57. casualfan Says:

    Was Taylor the only performer at the Epcot event? If not, I would love to see other video’s from the performers. I enjoy different types of music and them all coming together for an event such as this had to be great.

  58. Taylor was the only performer on Sunday and Monday CF. He did three back to back shows on each day. I think they lasted about an hour each. I understand he did a lot of standards but also changed up a few songs for each show.

  59. Well, I don’t know if they had other performers before he played to tell the truth. This “Eat tot he Beat” thing goes on for weeks and they have different artists over the whole thing. He was scheduled for Nov 1 & 2, three shows each day. They filled the theater, then made everyone leave and filled it up each time.

  60. OK, I finished what I was doing so now can give you the “P”erformances from Epcot Day 2. Sit down and relax & enjoy.

  61. OOOO, looks like a new one is up too. Whoa, these were some GREAT shows! The whole band was incredible. More awesome harp…

  62. CF, he was the only performer scheduled for those two days and 5 of his 6 shows were standing room only. Someone was talking to a local who goes to lots of the Eat TO The Beat concerts and she said some acts only draw less than half filled. An usher told some fans that Epcot keeps track of the attendence and comments of the performers and the popular ones are invited back. This was a good gig for Taylor and on Sunday he appeared on stage at 2:00 pm before the crowd at The American Idol experience which opened in Feb. He got a big applause there and they showed his Distance CD. His shirt with the vest seems to be his new favored professional performer look. At the end he was held together with just one shirt button. I must admit I want to be front row for 1 of his 1 button songs.

  63. hicksaholic Says:

    Rosie,
    Maybe that could be a request- Taylor, will you please play 1 button?

  64. casualfan Says:

    Great videos! Taylor rarely-if ever puts on a sub-standard show. I would love to see him in his own Christmas special on TV-

    ****Attn Paul or Greg-can you hear me?**** πŸ˜‰

  65. casualfan Says:

    “Rock The Blues” Christmas special-woooohooooo!

  66. casualfan Says:

    “White Christmas” Hicks style…..

  67. casualfan Says:

  68. I was watching the Washington one last night and had forgotten how good he was. Thanks CF for including some Christmas music and I do wish he would get to appear on TV to sing more Christmas songs.

  69. casualfan Says:

    Tis the Season and I’m ready to do the Christmas boogie πŸ˜‰

  70. The 1 button show comment made me laugh!! I love “in shape” Taylor, but must admit his additional weight gain recently has its advantages.

    and no, I am not going to the Bama game. He has season tickets and they are only good for the LSU home games. But I will wave and cheer for Mike the tiger for you Nola!!!

  71. hicksaholic Says:

    I will also be cheering for LSU and Mike too.

    I love when Taylor does his look right before he’s getting ready to change the tempo like he does in the White Christmas video above. He has done it other times too but I can’t recall when. Now I know to look for it, like looking for the sssshhh when he does it.

  72. Taylor did the White Christmas song on a morning show, and OMG, the harmonica solo was out of this world.
    It was on The Early Show, and I’ve not been able to find it since.

  73. Taylor gets a twinkle in his eye an almost unnoticeable smile when he’s about to do something like that. You see it in You Send Me too. LOVE IT!

  74. And thanks for the Mike/LSU support! I hate to cheer against the Tide, but it can’t be helped this weekend.

    Yes, lets all tweet Taylor and ask for some more one-button performances. πŸ˜€

  75. ROLL TIDE! We’ll just have to be at odds this weekend NolaMar. ha. (We will win, just steel yourself!)

  76. That’s OK, I know I’m going to have to hide out this weekend. It will be me against everyone else. LOL

  77. hicksfan7 Says:

    NolaMar Says:

    November 5, 2009 at 10:37 am
    Taylor gets a twinkle in his eye an almost unnoticeable smile when he’s about to do something like that. You see it in You Send Me too. LOVE IT!
    **
    I believe that is his OWN genuine excitement/enjoyment showing for what’s coming up in the song that he just loves!

  78. it’s called a script. it’s shtick. everyone of them is in on it to get idiots like you talking about it the next day. god this show needs to go away. i stopped watching after glambert lost and don’t regret it one bit

Leave a Reply

