Random thoughts…

Concerts33

My ADD is in high gear today, so I’m just going to throw some thoughts out there.

1. What is the big hubbub over Idletard? It’s gone. Good riddance. I got over people like that a long time ago.

2. Is the balloon boy hoax more harmful to the American public than Taylor Hicks’ hoax that he’s going to bring “real music back to fucking pop music”?

3. Don’t hate my brilliance.

4. I have decided that Taylor Hicks fans need a sense of humor. Somewhere, somehow, their collective sense of humor got lost. He’s a reality TV winner. I mean, let’s not go choosing our lottery numbers by his birthday or anything. That being said, it’s not blasphemy when I post about other musicians. Expanding horizons are a good thing. Expanding waistlines, not so much.

5. When did grownups start thinking Halloween was for them? Martha Stewart and Southern Living Magazine did not invent Halloween.

6. I’ll close here by saying I have never forced any staff members of this blog to sleep with me to keep their job. Granted, it’s just me…but I’m not pulling a Letterman.

89 Responses to “Random thoughts…”

  1. I’ll be the first to say it. Your Number 2 is stinky. That said I’m fine with the rest.

  2. Rosie, read #4. Then #3. 🙂

  3. hicksfan7 Says:

    LOL iag – all 6 made me laugh (or at least chuckle a little)….

  4. hicksfan7 Says:

    OH and I don’t follow Country Music very much, never heard of Billy – but enjoyed the song!

  5. All funny, giving you #3, love #5. Now I’ll have another cup of coffee.

  6. Awe Grey, Your brilliant, you knew when you did #2 this morning that the SP would fart gaseous fumes and be pissy besides. I’d love to read the quote where Tay said that and the context. Love Tay’s music and real is relative when it comes to music.

  7. taylorfan06 Says:

    rosie – taylor yelled that out at a workplay performance of “why does love have to be so sad” back in 2007 – GREAT SONG!!!

  8. taylorfan06 Says:

    he also told j records to “take that to the bank” – BALLSY Taylor!

  9. taylorfan06 Says:

    “and it eat..” the crowd loved it.

  10. taylorfan06 Says:

    I loved it too! Gotta love that Taylor! He IS the man!!!

  11. I have searched for video proof of this moment, as I have seen it before. However, I think Taylor has beat me to it. He has destroyed all recorded evidence of him saying those words. However, if you have the Workplay CD, it’s on Disc 2, Track 12…at the 2:20 mark. Yes.

  12. … Halloween isn’t for adults? When did this happen? Is it like Trix then and rabbits? :cries

    Consider me perpetually 10 yrs old this time of year, every year.

    Trick or Treat!

  13. Well, here’s the download link for Why Does Love Got to be so sad.

    http://www.sendspace.com/file/s9b6y8

    Enjoy!!

  14. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, I do recall seeing a video way back where Taylor does say something to that effect. I truley believe that was his intentions, but the music world had a completely different idea of how Taylor should present himself and he had to alter the way he originally wanted to do things. When Taylor performs live there is nothing like him, he takes to the stage and he creates magic with his music.

    The post made me laugh!

    JI

  15. taylorfan06 Says:
    “and it eat..” the crowd loved it.

    Actually, the quote is:
    “You can that to the bank, and email J Records!”

    *sigh*

  16. casualfan Says:

    Is the balloon boy hoax more harmful to the American public than Taylor Hicks’ hoax that he’s going to bring “real music back to fucking pop music”?
    ======================================
    Oh my….

  17. Something must have been going on behind the scenes for him to say that. Perhaps he leaned towards more soul and blues music for the CD and the execs didn’t want him to even include Soul Thing, The Deal and Hell Of A Day. They probably pushed for DIMYP and more pop. Perhaps by then he had words with them over promotion and videos and they said well you didn’t listen to us and look the CD stopped selling. Who knows. Where is the SP regarding #2?

  18. littlewing Says:

    IAG, you are in rare form. “Don’t Hate My Brilliance”; is that kind of like “Don’t Hate Me Because I Am Beautiful?” LOL. (from that obnoxious 70’s shampoo commercial).

    One of my dearest friends considers Halloween his fave day of the year. He relishes in dressing up and scaring lil chillren. He’s a jolly guy year round til Halloween. My niece wouldn’t go near the place when she was little, lol.

    the SP would fart gaseous fumes and be pissy

    rosie you are hilarious!

    -Bringing this over from the other thread

    On DIMYP, Dee Says: Personally, I liked the song but Obviously Taylor didn’t. LOL.

    Just had to say…I love DIMYP, dude took a blase song and put his own stamp on it and to my shock I loved it. It’s one of my faves by Taylor.

  19. Not that anyones interested but here was my take on it. Taylor had a couple drinks in him, was feeling on top of the world and a little cocky at that paticular moment. And as usual loves to give his audience what he thinks they want. What totally boggled my mind was that anyone took it seriously. My reaction was “Oh sure, that’ll happen. When pigs fly”
    I would never had given it a second thought, if people hadn’t carried on about it. Like they thought he was superman or something. I guess there were emails to Jrecords and I doubt that did him any good either.

    Very talented man he is. But he was a bar singer from Alabama, just won a tv reality show, little money, absolutely no power at all and hes going to take down or change the music business. Some of the richest and most powerful people in the entertainment world? Get real.
    If there was any part of him that believed that I bet he knows better now.
    I mean I wish he could have, but how, how in hell could it happen?

  20. Snowstorm Says:

    henry8, how do you know he had a couple of drinks in him? Were you there?

  21. Whats your problem snow? No I wasn’t there, ask someone who was.

  22. I’ll rephrase that, he PROBABLY had been cheersing. But if not, I’m sure someone can straighten me out.

  23. Snow Henry was giving her opinion creating a scenerio like I did. By the time Tay said that, he had read months worth of G.C. and posters such as Grey, saying his pre AI stuff was the good stuff. He had been preached to by TPTB as to what sells big and while he won AI singing DIMYP and classics he ws hearing people fault the AI Tay and dissing DIMYP. Don’t blame him for saying such a thing to please his audience, who were most likely posting like mad about Daughtry selling more and who should they blame. Look how Grey and others are still blaming him for not turning pop music around and taking one statement as gospel from the divine. Lucky he still is sane and able to tweet photos of where he is and what he sees. Normal , as in non idol singers musicians and song writers, don’t have to deal with crap from fans, like the AI group does. Adam better come close to Elvis or the Beatles or there will be hell to pay. See, I can fart and piss all by myself…

  24. Oh Snow. I wasn’t there either, but it’s pretty obvious from the videos that are out there of that night that he was drinking….well, what resembled alcohol anyway.

    You’re probably right, Henry. There was no way that he could do it…and he still can’t change pop music. But for me, that phrase means so much more. I have my own meaning wrapped up in it, I guess. It just takes me back to a time when I thought he was going to change music for the better, if only by recording a good cd or two. Granted, good music is a relative term. I think I really had a faith in him to produce music more like he did pre AI. Eh.

  25. I vaguely remember this, but wasn’t this during the Idol tour? He was at the height of his popularity. I think the fame went to his head. If you’re a nobody who’s trying to make it and you’re suddenly playing packed arenas, things like that tend to make someone over-confident and then things pop out of your mouth that you later regret saying. I think you should cut the guy some slack.

    I also don’t think it’s fair of anyone to say he was drinking or drunk when you simply do not know. He has a tendency to fidget and jump around on stage, so trying to figure out if he had one too many would be difficult to tell.

  26. I didn’t really mean that he was drunk, Storm. I only meant that at those early shows and in a celebratory mood, he seemed to have a beer or two which can make you a bit more talkative. That was all I meant by that.
    I think Taylor thought that maybe he could have some effect but I was sure that it would not be on the first CD. I remember when the first CD came out, I knew he would have to compromise on what was on it. Lack of time and being under the control of the label dictated that. And I was also sure that if it was not a success that he would have no power on the next one. I think he must have fought like a dog to get a few of his originals and Gonna Move on there, and he needed total support in order to build power for the next one. He didn’t get it. His only chance to change anything would have been to build power slowly but that didn’t happen. Too many fans had to have instant gratification.

  27. Post-Idol cds are never that good because there’s not enough time. I think perhaps Daughtry and Carrie Underwood got it right with their post-Idol cds, but that’s about it and they are the exceptions.

  28. Got it right? Carrie put out a country CD . D put out a pretty much run of the mill rock CD. They did as they were told. Can’t see that they gave anyone any problems. As a result they reaped the benefits of full-fledged support from the label and total support from their fans who didn’t expect anything special.

  29. They also made cds with great songs in their respective genres. JMO, of course. Whether or not they got support from the label is beside the point.

  30. I was at Workplay that night. People were sending lots of beers and drinks up to the stage, and Taylor definitely sipped on a few. Why wouldn’t he? It was a fun night in his hometown and he was probably in the mood to celebrate. Maybe Taylor really thought he would be free to do whatever he wanted to do with his music. Maybe he had no clue how heavy the yoke of an AI win would turn out to be. Maybe it was just a kind of “yeehaw” moment, but with more words and stuff.

    Who the hell knows? But it was a fun and exciting moment to witness, that’s for sure.

  31. casualfan Says:

    Snowstorm Says:

    October 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm
    They also made cds with great songs in their respective genres. JMO, of course. Whether or not they got support from the label is beside the point.
    ============================================
    Perfectly said Snow.

  32. Hicksaholic Says:

    I was there too. It was the shadow tour at Workplay with Limbo and Ace, Bucky, and Elliott. Taylor had not released his cd and I feel sure there was likely some bad blood already between Taylor and the record company on the cd’s direction. Also I read thet TPTB were not happy with the shadow tours in general. I will have to say it was a heady time to be a Taylor Hicks fan and I bet more people than not thought he could change the direction of music at least to the degree that his album would be a huge success. Remember when Taylor came off AI it was the most successful season, he was hugely popular, got the People cover. I bet Taylor believed he could change the music business at least as far as his future was concerned. It would be hard not to be a little cocky given his success to that point. And yes, I would bet money he had had a few drinks although he was still professional and put on an incredible show. I’m scared to think what amount of money I would pay to see it again.

  33. I’m scared to think what amount of money I would pay to see it again.

    Even though I wasn’t at that particular show, I agree with your statement. Back then, seeing Taylor at a shadow tour was a magical experience and every fan wanted to be a part of it. Listening to that CD yesterday, I was amazed to hear the difference in that Taylor. So talkative, so confident, so in charge. Now, it’s just different. I really can’t explain it. It’s almost like now it’s just a job.

  34. hicksfan7 Says:

    regarding:

    Author: casualfanComment:Snowstorm Says: October 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm They also made cds with great songs in their respective genres. JMO, of course. Whether or not they got support from the label is beside the point.
    ============================================
    Perfectly said Snow.

    ***
    I respectfully disagree with Snow – I think the label support is VERY important. But I am pretty freakin’ naive, so pay no attention…..

  35. Hicksaholic Says:

    IAG
    I don’t know- Workplay a few weeks ago was magical too. He has a lot of conficdence in Bham for sure. He knows Birmingham loves him.
    But I will agree that his confidence level pre cd release was at a sky high level compared to now when reality has taken its’ toll.
    However, I imagine Taylor is still quite confident in himself given his success in Grease. I also notice in his most recent interviews posted on the Boogie. he keeps referring to the possibilty of acting jobs either tv or film. I really think that is the direction he will head post Grease. I guess that is kind of a no brainer given the lack of sales for TD.

  36. Hicksaholic Says:

    Sorry, confidence

  37. hicksfan7–Of course support or lack of it from a powerful label can make you or break you. To believe otherwise is very naive.
    But whether or not that fact remains in effect forever remains to be seen.

  38. “”Even though I wasn’t at that particular show, I agree with your statement. Back then, seeing Taylor at a shadow tour was a magical experience and every fan wanted to be a part of it. Listening to that CD yesterday, I was amazed to hear the difference in that Taylor. So talkative, so confident, so in charge. Now, it’s just different. I really can’t explain it. It’s almost like now it’s just a job.””

    The difference between fantasy and reality, its a bitch.

  39. Some random thoughts of my own:
    The balloon hoax makes me wonder what is next?
    Halloween makes me long to be a child again! But we hardly get any kids at our house anymore……….so sad.
    Personally, I love your brilliance, Grey.
    Downloaded the Hicks tune, off to view it now, thanks for sharing!

  40. Since you guys brought up other AI contestants and their records I have to say Daughtry’s tunes that get a lot of airplay don’t appeal to me; the newest one is near boring. Cook’s ‘light’ song what ever the title I can’t listen to, if I’ve the radio playing, it comes on I flip stations. Boring. So that said, it’s not that the songs are brilliant works of musical art rather these artists DO have the monied backing setting their tunes on the airplay rotation.

    (Not hating on Chris D., I actually like his music pretty much, but not the radio tune representing him on the air.)

  41. Now that you all have explained he made the statement during the AI tour, I understand his cockiness. Working and believing in himself for 10 yrs and then winning the biggest contest in the world had to blow his mind. Having an ancient puter and dial up in 06 I missed all the on line action. I played DIMYP and UTR over and over waiting for his CD. When I finally saw him at the AMA looking gorgeous, slim and confident, I was not only shocked by his new look but his demeanor. I squeed and my mind wondered to him winning his own award the following year. Since he had been living the life that summer, he may have thought the sky’s the limit. Me, I was still thinking of Bucky’s remark about Tay being a hit in Vegas.

  42. Sunny, I actually don’t mind Chris’ songs on the radio, even though they all sound alike to me. (His songs, not every song on the radio). I can’t tell you the number of songs that I have found that will never be on radio. It all comes down to money, just like everything else in life.

  43. Don’t have time to read all the posts right now but to comment on #2. Personally I’m tired of hearing that random comment made in the joy of the moment brought up ALL THE TIME and treated like he called a F…… Press Conferance and announced it to the WORLD. Let’s get real.
    Yea I’m in a bad mood today but now I feel so much better . LOL.

  44. “Of course support or lack of it from a powerful label can make you or break you. To believe otherwise is very naive.
    But whether or not that fact remains in effect forever remains to be seen.”

    The label will support the money-makers. It’s not going to put any money into flops. That only makes sense.

  45. The point is the public liked Daughtry’s & Underwood’s post-Idol cds and bought them. Taylor’s fans might not have liked them, but the majority did. CD sales count a lot in getting songs noticed and played on radio.

  46. Dee, I will tell you what I told Rosie.

    Read #4. Then read #3. 🙂

  47. RE: Snowstorm Says:

    October 20, 2009 at 11:09 am
    The point is the public liked Daughtry’s & Underwood’s post-Idol cds and bought them. Taylor’s fans might not have liked them, but the majority did. CD sales count a lot in getting songs noticed and played on radio.

    ***
    but sometimes I think, in my own naive way, the radio play can DRIVE the CD sales as well.

  48. Sunny I agree with you about Daughtry & Cook. Loved Cook on the show and when his song came out I was like WHAT did they do to his voice? He sounded like everyone else on the radio. Daughtry too. All his stuff on the radio sounds the same to me. He might as well be singing one song over and over.

  49. IAG. Yea, I knew #2 was you being you. LOL. Couldn’t resist commenting because of the frequency this subject is brought up in fan discussions.

  50. Random video:

  51. Awesome vid, Nola!!

  52. Is that or is it not fucking MUSIC? I didn’t want to leave, even at 2am when we had an hour drive home and had to be back in Austin 6 hours later. I Wish I lived in Austin so I could go watch those guys every Wed night. (I would do it too. Well, almost every Wed.)

  53. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    October 20, 2009 at 10:37 am
    http://go2.wordpress.com/?id=725X1342&site=itsallgrey.wordpress.com&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.popeater.com%2F2009%2F10%2F16%2Fkatharine-mcphee-had-it-all%2F%3Ficid%3Dmain
    A little Kat McPhee anyone? With blond hair?
    ===============================================
    Not wild about the blonde hair but Kat has a beautiful voice on her. Hopefully she will do well and have her day in the sun. She deserves it.

  54. jerseyirish Says:

    Nola, That was just wonderful, Taylor and the band.

    cf, I agree the blonde on Kat just doesn’t do anything for her, she was much more attractive as a brunette. She does have a powerful voice, hopefully something will break for her also.

    JI

  55. casualfan Says:

    I think #2 is fricking hilarous! Good snark IAG! 😉

  56. hicksfan7 Says:
    but sometimes I think, in my own naive way, the radio play can DRIVE the CD sales as well.

    An interesting music blogger/pundit by the name of Bob Lefsetz posted this video a while back . .

  57. casualfan Says:

    Y’all can hate on daughtry all you want, but fact is he’s very radio friendly and I love to listen to him in the car. As sad as it is, Taylor’s music puts me to sleep when I’m driving.

  58. hicksfan7 Says:

    AH – LOL LOL

    (Taylor Songs – 0 plays – still love them and DID go out and buy) – Not sure about tatoos, but he could probably work out a way to get a “bloodshot right eye” – hahhahahha

  59. hicksfan7 Says:

    cf – then you should definitely NOT drive with Taylor playing in the car!

  60. casualfan Says:

    hahaha! I don’t. I listen to his music on occasion at home where it’s safe. I’ve always been more of an uplifting, rock, pop music kind of gal on the road.

  61. NolaMar .. thanks for the video . . glad you got to be there.

    Saw the Greyhounds open for Taylor in Myrtle Beach and Asheville (March 07) . . struck us as a work in progress at the time so was curious to see what they would be like now. They played as a trio then also but according to their website Andrew Trube and Anthony Farrell are the only true Greyhounds . . maybe that’s why they use Trube, Farrell & Sniz when add the drummer for these club gigs.

    Trube and Farrell do stay busy . . they became part of JJ Grey & Mofro last June and are back out for a short run with that band now. One stop is The Orange Peel in Asheville where they opened for TH in 2007.

    And especially for NolaMar . .
    According to their Calendar section part of that run includes 2 Nov 1st shows in NOLA . . Voodoo Fest and a place called Tipatinas 😀

    Greyhounds website . . http://greyhoundsmusic.com/news.html
    JJ Grey and Mofro . . http://www.mofro.net/about/ . . (Tour page has links to tickets )

  62. IAG: Is there any video of that??????

  63. definiton of “radio friendly”
    DJ’s are very friendly to whatever they are told to play. 🙂

  64. Put the Greyhound vid on Chills a couple days ago, LOVE that drummer and whoevers playing that harp ain’t bad either.

  65. AH, thanks for the heads up about JJGrey & Mofro coming to Tipitinas! Awesome! After Taylor mentioned “The Greyhounds” the week before Austin, I was researching them and found out the same things you did about JJ Grey & Mofro etc. But I did NOT see Tipitinas on the schedule. This is great news. Will be there for sure. My Honey Island Swamp Boys were playing there the Sat night of the Birmingham shows. Hated to miss them, but they will be at The Blue Nile in November too, I think on the 7th. Also missed them at DBA’s the night we were hoping to catch Grace Potter sitting in with Marco Benevento at the Blue Nile. Blue Nile and DBA’s are right down the street from each other.

    A little story about Tipitinas. The day I found out I was pregnant with my first child, the daughter I’m here with now, we went out to Tipitinas to celebrate. The food took forever to get to us and by the time it did I was feeling too sick to eat it.

  66. Yes, that harp playing about blew me away. LOL Who was that guy? Can’t see him in the dark. 😉 I tell you, it was almost as much fun watching that harp player just sitting there enjoying himself, really digging the music, as it was watching him play. I did not stare, did not take any pictures except when he got up on stage and barely glanced his way occasionally. (Couldn’t help that.) But it was easy since he was about 15′ away from me.

    I can’t believe someone says Taylor put them to sleep in the car. Not me,at all. But much as I love Grace Potter & the Nocturnals, I have trouble in the car with the cd’s (not the live ones, the regular releases.) There is just a lot of mellow blues that I love but do not help me stay energized while driving.

  67. henry8 Says:

    October 20, 2009 at 8:54 pm
    definiton of “radio friendly”
    DJ’s are very friendly to whatever they are told to play.
    =========================================
    And they are generally “told to play” songs the populace will like and buy. 😉

  68. I can’t believe someone says Taylor put them to sleep in the car.
    =============================================
    Well I did Nola and I don’t see why that is so unbelievable. Not everyone bows down to his music all the time…sorry to disappoint.

  69. Don’t get all snarky about it. I didn’t mean it that way. I meant that it surprises me because it does not put me to sleep. Other music I love DOES put me to sleep so I can’t listen to it when I’m driving. I said that in my post, didn’t I? You’re being a bit over sensitive there…..

  70. Don’t mean to come across as snarky Nola but it’s getting old that some people can’t fathom the belief that some people just don’t get into Taylor 24/7.

    Oversentivity is when people take up target practice on the ones who don’t worship Hicks.

  71. You are still totally misinterpreting or misrepresenting what I was saying.

  72. Ok Nola

  73. Now, girls…

    Nola, I’m curious. Did you know Taylor was going to be there? Or were you just lucky?

  74. On another note….Looks like yet another “idol” makes it to the silver screen (Congrats to Constantine!) Hopefully, he will star in the movie version.

    http://www.upi.com/Entertainment_News/Movies/2009/10/20/Rock-of-Ages-film-in-the-works/UPI-90951256091000/

  75. Hicksaholic Says:

    Make me puke! I can’t stand Constantine.

  76. Nola..I totally get what your saying, Taylor does keep the music hopping and different…not same old tune over and over and over.

  77. I usually listen to my seventies rock when I’m driving. I like the classic stuff, plus a little BeeGees, and usually sing my head off with The Guess Who.

  78. I really dig Mofro; the singer, Rob, in our band turned me on to them. The guys do a lot of Mofro covers like Orange Blossoms.

  79. I can’t stand Constantine either, he’s a douche.

  80. Good grief….the beat indeed goes on….

  81. That’s awesome Sunny! I just bought my ticket to see them at the “Voodoo after dark” show at Tipitinas in NOLA on the 1st. Did you see the two videos of Trube, Farrell and Sniz from the Continental Club?

  82. Grey, in an interview in Durham the week before (I think) someone asked him where they might find him enjoying the Austin music scene or sitting in with someone. He mentioned the Greyhounds at the Continental Club. It was the same night as the Grease opening night Cast Party so I really didn’t think he was going to show up. He must have made a very brief appearance at the cast party and headed straight over to the club after Grease. My sis and I missed most of it. We were in a different part of the club but when we went up there Taylor stayed for about another 45 minutes, did the one song and left. Sis and I stayed around another 45 minutes just loving the band. I could have stayed all night but we had an hour drive home, then up at 7 for a trip BACK to Austin for the mini-concert in the radio lounge. That was fabulous too. He did acoustic Hell of a Day, The Fall, and SMB. (The full song.)

  83. Nice vid Nola!! Thanks for posting!!

  84. Just to clarify – at the Continental Club he sat in for I think three songs with Trube, Farrell and Sniz. I was only there for the “one” that I captured and posted above. There is a video of one of the other songs he played harp with them on.

  85. Great video of SMB! The clarity of sound and video amazes me, for me after 5 minutes of taping, my had would be shaking like a dog shitting razor blades!
    Good work.
    🙂

  86. hicksfan7 Says:

    omg Barb – ha – that is quite the description of hand shaking – ow ow ow!!!

  87. Barb, my vids do not usually come out as good as this one did. Camera’s heavy, or I don’t have the focus right, or I just tape partials because I want to enjoy the music. This time was easy. I was sitting on a sofa so just rested the camera on the arm rest. Did have to hold it tilted up just a bit but it was pretty steady for me this time. LOL Wish like hell I would have recorded the other two songs! I thought the station would put them up but so far they have not.

  88. Good video Margaret, you are getting to be quite the Hicks’ videographer. lol Yes, I did see the video with the Greyhounds. I rememeber long time back when Hicks sat in with them; he looked so cute in this gray woollen cap.

Leave a Reply

