King of Grey…

Wake in the morning Lord I’m drunken with the dawn
Waiting on a train that I know runs no more just outside of Baltimore
Or Chicago well I just don’t know
Everyday it’s harder when you spend your time alone
Then there’s no one ever there to say hello
When the sweet morning sun does come
And it always seems to come

One day I will rise
High above it all
She will catch me if I fall
And I know I will always be the King of Grey

Sweet promises of springtime turn the brown lies of early fall
Orbiting around a love that I once called my own
Never have I felt so small
And maybe it’s the wintertime come to make me feel so cold
But there is just a slight chance that this pain comes from watching smiles fade away
They fade away

One day I will rise
High above it all
She will catch me if I fall
And I will live today
And I will watch her dancing in the sun
My whole world’s come undone
And I know I will always be the King of Grey

Bring me summertime and take away this pain of mine
This emptiness is far too much won’t somebody please come pick me up

45 Responses to “King of Grey…”

  1. Grey, my comment is are you avoiding the Casualfan thing? Bottom line is my wish is that CF let us know by what means she heard such nonsense and that you defend her and your posters.

  2. Rosie, I have discussed the situation with Casualfan and she knows how I feel.

    I’m not really sure what you mean by me “defending her and my posters”. From what? From people who need psychiatric meds? I’ve been around the block a time or two with the Soul Patrol and nothing good will come out of this situation. Casualfan is an adult. If she doesn’t want to post here, then I am sorry for that. As you know, I welcome everybody here, so if people have quit posting here because of her, then that’s their problem, not mine, and not CF’s.

    I’m just over the ridiculousness of grown adults acting like 12 year olds.

  3. mamaforpeace Says:

    Amen!!!!

  4. Enough said on you behalf Grey, but still WTH is wrong with those TH fans who have their own problems! Sorry, but perhaps I’m still too new to get it. CF was an asset to this blog and to Taylor. Pardon me but I think 12 yr. olds need guidance and lectures and sometimes need to feel shameful. CF. sorry but you need to now be ballsy now and continue with contibuting to Hicks and this blog forum of opinions.

  5. My personal King of Grey (or rather GRAY)
    David Gray, love his sexy voice!!!

  6. ……….and don’t you just love the “possibly related posts”????:
    Skincare for Sun Worshippers…….WTH
    πŸ™‚

  7. Rosie, what you don’t understand is that there are some members of the Soul Patrol who cannot be shamed. They will lie, cheat and deceive to get what they perceive to be “closer” to Taylor. Thing is, Taylor doesn’t give a shit about these people. They are the hanger on’s of a fan base that barely exists anymore. In fact, as far as I can tell, most of them are completely obsessed and have pushed away all the “normal” fans. Any time any criticism is made of Taylor, they will jump to his defense. And God forbid if you don’t agree with their assessment of Taylor as a musical genius…there will be hell to pay. I’ve hung around for a long time and now I think the only thing keeping me here is just to piss off the crazies.

    It just gets very, very old.

  8. casualfan Says:

    *****lurking, smiling and deeply appreciating all the good thoughts*****

    πŸ˜‰

  9. Just spent some time reading and catching up on the blogs, Grey. Nice reading last several posts.

    It’s when the bickering starts though, my eyes glaze over.

    Isn’t this a damn fine tune.

  10. There really is no escaping from the bickering among Hicks fans. Earlier today I was going to make my first chat post on TH new official site, ning. First I decided to read what they had been talking about the prior hr. or two. To my amazement some poster I didn’t recognize posted that on one blog A holes were whining about one poster who left because someone said they wouldn’t post while she was there. This blog, CF me and the other Aholes were not mentioned by name. The poster said we need to get a life and know what is really important, meaning Coder’s grandson. They then went on to discuss someones huge phone bill and grandchildren. I was going to comment that Hicks official site wasn’t the place to refer to other fans as Aholes but decided that may just cause more bickering. I posted on the prior thread the sad news about Coder’s grandson. Apparantely the chat person had a problem with what we were discussing. Elsewhere fans have been discussing AI rewind, other Tay vids, photos, and other Idols etc. I feel weary from the entire fandom.

  11. casualfan Says:

    I have not seen any bickering on this blog. Only strong sense of opinions which I believe is essential to maintaining the balance. All comments have provided me with food for thought and have helped put things in perspective.

    Having that said: A huge heartfelt THANK YOU to all who has shown their support-it’s really appreciated. All of you are right….why let the bullies win.

  12. casualfan Says:

    rosie, those few posters aren’t worth the energy it takes to respond.

  13. hicksfan7 Says:

    iag – NICE vid – thanks!

  14. I don’t think this kind of behaviour is limited to TH fans at all. If people are inclined to nitpick and bitch about fans on a blog they are inclinded to do so in every walk of life…there is just no pleasing some people,,, better to ignore.

  15. Sooooooooo…. where’s our man tonight????

  16. hicksaholic Says:

    Thanks for coming back CF. I for one hate the ALL RAINBOWS and ALL KITTENS all the time. There should always be give and take or it’s a dictatorship with no room for free thought. I know that sounds crazy for something as mundane as a a fansite but still the concept holds. I don’t trust people that agree with the majority all the time. They are either very stupid or don’t have the guts to have defend their own opinion.

  17. mamaforpeace Says:

    CF, πŸ™‚

  18. casualfan Says:

    well ya know-Griz looked somewhat bored so I wanted to give her something to talk about with her sidekick on ning.com (never fails) πŸ˜‰

  19. I’ve been following all of the SP “characters” for over a year now and still can’t figure out what’s going on!!! Who is Griz? And who’s her sidekick? So they’re bitching on Taylor’s ningy thing? I am so lost!

  20. Went over to the ning thing and there are a ton of folks on chat. Are they waiting for confrontation???????

  21. For all you people who don’t believe me…this is what I’m talking about. When you don’t drink the koolaid…people like to do things like this:

    http://twitpic.com/photos/BSCopp

    by someone obviously mature enough to not put their real name. They could at least get a recent picture. Gee.

  22. Taylor Hicks does not have the market cornered on crazies believe me. LOL. They are online in every fan club, chat room etc. As well as in the real world too from the PTA, church, & the work place. I have watched friends or co-workers squabble and breakup friendships over the most idiotic things. In stead of looking inward we project outward and nit pic others. We are all on our own path in life. Some are stuck to wallow in drama and chaos while others have learned to rise above it.

  23. casualfan Says:

    They could at least get a recent picture. Gee.
    ============================================
    That would entail too much work on their part.

  24. hicksaholic Says:

    Fairhope,I’m with you. Lost. I guess if you don’t get on chat you must be missing something.

  25. Some are stuck to wallow in drama and chaos while others have learned to rise above it.

    Amen, sister. Amen.

  26. Hallelujah, I am home! Was a bit worried, but decided to spare you all from my 2 cents………this is why I left TOSP………too many stepford wives!
    Long live Grey! Where? On Grey Street!

  27. Embedding disabled. Shucks.

  28. casualfan Says:

    hicksaholic Says:

    October 14, 2009 at 5:56 am
    Fairhope,I’m with you. Lost. I guess if you don’t get on chat you must be missing something.
    =========================================
    Your not missing anything. Same crap, same people who create the crap, same drama….the beat goes on…..

  29. casualfan Says:

    Barb-I hate when it does that! I found several cool vids to bring over but the embedding was disabled.

  30. IDK The crazy ones are bad…but the whiney ones bug me even more. Post or don’t post. Stay or leave. One fan does not make or break a site.

    So can we just get back to the music and Taylor!?

  31. casualfan Says:

    Maybe your on the wrong blog then…all we do here is whine, bitch and complain about everything. We do however managed to throw in some music every now and then and it’s not even Taylors!….OMG!!! πŸ˜‰

    Sweetay-I’m just kidding with you. I hear what you are saying and you are right. GREY! WHERE’S THE M U S I C!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  32. casualfan Says:

  33. casualfan Says:

    “Yellow Moon”-possibly the BEST Neville CD in existance.

  34. hicksfan7 Says:

    CF – great Dr. John vid – LOL – had never heard that song before!! Too funny (and a tad violent!) ha

  35. mamaforpeace Says:

    Saw these two at the Mondavi Center yesterday (BEST acoustics!!!). Fun. Lots of bantering, both with e/o and the audience. Talk about people who can write good lyrics!

  36. mamaforpeace Says:

    And this:

  37. hicksfan7 Says:

    Sweetay – ask and you shall receive! Great choices mamaforpeace – enjoyed listening to both of these – didn’t even know they were performing together – THANKS!

  38. casualfan Says:

    It’s taken me till my adult years to appreciate the likes of Lyle Lovett but I’m there now. Great music and great talent.

  39. mamaforpeace Says:

    ok, then! This is GREAT!

  40. hicksfan7 Says:

    Well that was fun! Lyle has such a strange stance in this video, with his hands flat on his thighs – not that it’s bad, just really ‘different’ looking. Especially for someone who is used to watching Mr. Taylor Hicks perform! ha

    Didn’t he used to wear his hair much taller and even more straight up?

  41. mamaforpeace Says:

    Yes, his hair used to be much taller! But he always had his hands at this side, that a pretty usual stance when he isn’t playing the guitar. A very “contained” man. Very, very funny too, though it is pretty dry wit he serves.

  42. Well you know I can’t let all this Lyle talk go by without saying something…

    intelligence + soul + a bit of humor = Lyle Lovett.

    I love the way he writes, and I love the way he sings.

  43. mamaforpeace Says:

    I even love the way he looks! Unique in every way.
    Thanks for posting this. Really enjoyed it.
    See, guys, we can get along just fine when there is no new Taylor news…. so much great music out there to share!

  44. Nice tunes ladies. I’ve been a Lyle Lovett fan since he started out. Good ol’ Texas boy.

    I keep forgetting about that .ning site. Certainly don’t have any need or desire to hang out with nitpicking gossipy old bags. lol

    I completely understand Dee your point; our elementary school’s PTA ran by a tight group that simply rotate positions and don’t let anyone different into the group. None have ever had to work outside the home and all spend their afternoons and weekends up at our neighborhood country club.

    Glad my kiddo is now in middle school. It’s not as prevalent at this level as it was in the elementary mom’s crowd.

  45. Sunny…the ning site is actually very nice you should give it a whirl. At anytime the conversation is not to your liking you can just click off., but there is some good info and a lot of interesting things dicussed.
    I have met some (not all) of the ladies and none of the men that post there and they a great. Lots of fun and very nice.
    Maybe you could try it sometime. It’s always good to at least try something new.

Leave a Reply

