A musician’s life…

TAYLOR HICKS

Beat up and kicked around
I pick myself up off the ground.
I head east to another town
I’m movin’ on.
Bar room fights and breakin’ glass
A broken nose and a smoker’s laugh.
I’m sure I probably cut my life in half.

With a suitcase full of empty dreams.
A guitar with broken strings.
A busted heart that longs to sing the blues.
A mind that always leads me wrong,
A head full of Hank Williams songs.
I’m sorry, honey, but this highway’s home.

I’ve loved pretty women and some that ain’t.
I’m a burned out junkie truck stop saint,
So check the tires and fill the tank,
I’m movin’ on.
Interstate markers and highway signs,
Eighteen wheels and thin white lines.
Dodge a speed trap one more time,
I’m gone.

With a suitcase full of empty dreams.
A guitar with broken strings.
A busted heart that longs to sing the blues.
A mind that always leads me wrong,
A head full of Hank Williams songs.
I’m sorry, honey, but this highway’s home.

So hard to leave you here this way,
With a white dress and a goodbye wave.
But theres mouths to feed and bills to pay,
I’m sorry, honey, I’ve got to go.

With a suitcase full of empty dreams.
A guitar with broken strings.
A busted heart that longs to sing the blues.
A mind that always leads me wrong,
A head full of Hank Williams songs.
I’m sorry, honey, but this highway’s home.
I’m sorry, honey, but this highway’s home.

49 Responses to “A musician’s life…”

  1. Oh, my…I am a bucket of tears listening to that. That was heartwrenchingly great…
    Especially palpable: “A busted heart that longs to sing the blues.”

    *sigh*

  2. jerseyirish Says:

    Very touching song, sung from the heart, wow!

    JI

  3. Really nice. Makes you wonder why anyone would choose that life, but actually I get it. When you’re a creative person, it’s something you’ve got to do. It nags at you, pulls at you, it will not be ignored. You know you’d be more miserable if you DIDN’t do it.

    Well, that’s what I’ve heard, anyway.

  4. love the lyrics – anyone know who wrote it? Or did this singer – Will Hoge write it too? I have not heard of him beforel. I thought he was going to fall over there for a second…lhahahha

  5. Caryl I think you’re right. and I think the lyrics describe Taylor pretty well. Woe to whoever marries him.

  6. …..I believe he has even touched on this subject (in his book? or a print interview, and losing a love or two in the past because of this traveling musician lifestyle…

  7. I posted this a while back under another discussion but it’s just so fitting for this one wanted to share it again. I just watched some of this guys other acoustic covers and I think he is quite talented.

    Highways and dancehalls
    A good song takes you far
    Your write about the moon
    And you dream about the stars
    Blues in old motel rooms
    Girls in daddy’s car
    You sing about the nights
    And you laugh about the scars
    Coffee in the morning cocaine afternoons
    You talk about the weather
    And you grin about the rooms
    Phone calls long distance
    To tell how you’ve been
    Forget about the losses, you exaggerate the wins
    And when you stop to let ’em know
    You’ve got it down
    It’s just another town along the road

    The ladies come to see you
    If your name still rings a bell
    They give you damn near nothin’
    And they’ll say they knew you well
    So you tell ’em you’ll remember
    But they know it’s just a game
    And along the way their faces
    All begin to look the same
    And when you stop to let ’em know
    You got it down
    It’s just another town along the road

    Well it isn’t for the money
    And it’s only for a while
    You stalk about the rooms
    And you roll away the miles
    Gamblers in the neon, clinging to guitars
    You’re right about the moon
    But you’re wrong about the stars
    And when you stop to let ’em know
    You got it down
    It’s just another town along the way

  8. Oh, I found him on the web. He released a cd in August. Listening to it now on http://www.davidallenslater.com/fr_index.cfm.

  9. That’s such a beautiful song, NolaMar. Brings back memories of listening to Jackson Browne over and over and over. My friends used to think it was weird that I liked to just sit and sing along to his albums. Nothing more satisfying than singing poignant lyrics to a gorgeous melody. It fills up your soul.

    Now you all think I’m weird! LOL! I don’t care. I’m off to find my “Late for the Sky” album.

  10. Better yet, I’m gonna go buy it at itunes. One thing I’ve learned as a Taylor fan, you have to support the artists you love so they can keep making the music you love.

    Let’s hear some more “road songs.” Can’t forget Bob Seger, “Turn The Page”

  11. Caryl you’re not weird. I still sit and listen and sing along to songs that are meaningful to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Thanks Caryl! “Turn the Page” – one of my all time favorites!

  13. I know it’s been ages since I’ve posted, and it’s not really fair to just do a drive by post, but I’ve kind’ve been obsessed with a new band, Fleet Foxes. Indulge me, please… :~) These are a lovely and amazingly talented bunch of very young (about 22) and incredibly talented musicians. I haven’t stopped listening to them for the last 5 days. Just give them a try! They have much of the integrity that I love so much with our Taylor!

  14. PS… I dare you to just walk away from the computer with the volume up high… I guarantee you’ll play it again… it’s THAT good!
    It’s been so quiet around here lately, I figured nobody would mind my indulgence here :~)

  15. mamaforpeace Says:

    Momo, I think it’s always ok to share music you love. Really interesting… lots of different influences, a bit of Irish music, some Beatles, even Gregrorian chants in parts. Unique. Thanks for putting this up. I’ll look for more. And I always love seeing my home town:Paris:)

  16. Thanks mama! I didn’t know you were born in Paris! Tres interesante!! Haha! These guys are from Seattle and I’m so glad you took the time and appreciated all their subtleties..I hope these unique guys make it, or “a living” in this wacky music business!

  17. Good posts . . agree with Mama . . sharing music is always welcome. Never have understood why some have a problem if it’s not all TH all the time. Having a group of artists you enjoy listening to is sort of like having a circle of friends and family . . it doesn’t detract from one if you have a lunch date with another.

    Like your Mr. Slater’s cover of The Road, NolaMar . . had been a while since heard the song. Will listen to more from him.

    Good choice Caryl . . . Turn the Page is a classic imho. One of Seeger’s songs that is a playlist staple for me . . never get tired of it.

    momo . . Fleet Foxes seems to be developing a solid following . . I’ve known about them for a while now via someone in the GPN fanbase.
    They played the Newport Folk Festival this year . . great exposure for them at a prestigious ‘all about good music ‘ event. Can hear their set on NPR’s site . . would definitely recommend checking out the many other artists’ sets they have archived from that festival too.
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=111379436

  18. AH I KNEW I had heard of them. That must be where……

  19. In the theme of “road songs” have to add Marc Broussard’s Home.

    Not sure if it will embed from the way the code looks. Chose this video especially for NolaMar btw . . the opening will explain ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. I love that song, AH. It’s one of my favorites from Marc Broussard. And oh, how I love his accent. I’m a sucker for accents.

  21. ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. And for what it’s worth, I’m all about sharing the music!

  23. You all are sure distracting me from getting anything done again!! I’m trying….

    Does anyone know why there are no longer “Download” bar under embedded YouTube vids? I used to get them that way all the time.

    I think I saw that Marc B is coming here soon. Maybe in one of my HOB emails?? It caught my eye and I meant to check it out but I forgot about it. Will have to check into it. Ah!! Too much NOT getting done again today!!

  24. Aw, yes, the Gretna Festival!! That’s where I saw it. I’m excited…. http://www.marcbroussard.com/tour.cfm

  25. AH-thanks for the NPR link-I’m definitely going to check it out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. momo, It is refreshing to see those young guys follow their hearts. They harmonize well and a few have very good voices but I didn’t see great musicians from that video. I’ll trust you that they are great musicians since you have heard more of their stuff. If they can write or obtain a really good song I think they will find success.

  27. Grey were the M&Ms (alphabet) money and musicians?

  28. rosie . . . no one is everyone’s cuppa tea . . and as has been noted many times over – the definition of success is relative . . but you – or others – might be interested in Fleet Foxes MySpace stats . . in their music world they aren’t doing too shabby for how long they’ve been around now.
    http://www.myspace.com/fleetfoxes

  29. AH, I checked it out, wow they are doing great.

  30. Since am listening to Wilco I thought I’d post this 8/23 CBS Sunday Morning interview with their leader – Jeff Tweedy.
    They are often referred to as the “greatest band you never heard on the radio” and to me Jeff epitomizes the independent musician spirit that rejects record company molds and makes their own way.

    Wilco is already a success in the eyes of many, many people but the more readily accepted form – i.e. “commercial success” – is probably close at hand. That would scare me a little if I wasn’t pretty darn sure Jeff Tweedy is already committed to making his own music his own way.

  31. mamaforpeace Says:

    Love Marc Broussard!!!
    Rosie, i was wondering the same about M&M:)

  32. rosie . . thanks for doing that . .
    I’ve only been really into exploring the indie band world for about 18 months and am continually amazed at the amount of “unknown” talent that’s out there making seriously great music to cover just about anyone’s taste. Many have a large and loyal fanbase but are relatively unknown outside the tour and festival circuits.

    *********************************************************

    Here’s another reason I have a major musical crush on Jeff Tweedy.

    Taj Mahal did something similar at his concert I went to earlier this year. Wouldn’t it be lovely if demanding respect for the music and the people who are there to hear it became a trend.
    Or we could all take guys like the 6’7″ very fit gentle giant that stood beside me at the Wilco concert to all our shows . . his solution was to look down at the incessant yakkers and advise them the next time he spoke to them there would be pain involved. ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. mamaforpeace Says:

    And on the subject of sharing music… I am sad to see that the blog C2What is no more. I found a lot of good music there.

  34. AH-Amen on the Wilco love!! They’ve been my favorites for years! Love Jeff Tweedy’s fragile and tender voice… “Jesus, don’t cry, you were right about us honey, …each star is like a setting sun….” Good stuff! Love Sky Blue Sky so much too ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. Bringing this musician topic back to Tay, he tweeted something that Van Morrison said in August. Van’s entire quote is on the BB under tweets. Seems Van thinks rock singers can’t really sing and we are brainwashed by radio and the music business. Tay bringing this up and calling Van’s words interesting leads me to believe Tay is about ready to beat his head against the wall out of frustration. Many fans think Taylor is happy with his career but I think he just can’t believe some of his good songs from both CDs haven’t received radio play and he is at his wits end. Now I could be projecting my feelings onto him. Seriously, I voted for David Cook, but his songs that get repeated radio play are sub par and not nearly as good as some of Tay’s. So the life of a musician if you are Hicks is harder than he expected.

  36. rosie – what you have said here makes a lot of sense – regardng your last line –

    ‘So the life of a musician if you are Hicks is harder than he expected.’

    I would say Thank God Taylor still wants that life – and lucky for those of us who are fans that he does!

  37. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, A musicians life is never easy, they are very complicated beings themselves. I agree it will never be an easy ride for Taylor, he is going to have to fight for every inch he gains and to hold onto it. As long as he has a “fan base” maybe not the largest but folks who believe in him and his music, don’t see him going away anytime soon.

    JI

  38. I never thought Taylor was happy with the way things are now. He put everything he had into “The Distance” and it’s gotten little attention. Yes, I know he LOOKS happy, but please, this is show biz. You always have to put on a happy face.

    But having said that, I do believe he’s very grateful for Grease. It’s been a big success. But he’s probably looking past it, trying to figure out how to get back to the music fulltime. At least I hope that’s the case.

  39. For AH ๐Ÿ™‚

  40. That was awesome momo.

  41. Here’s an interesting article about Richard Thompson, an artist who’s been hailed by critics yet who has never had a top 40 hit. Maybe Taylor will become this guy someday.

    http://www.cnn.com/2009/SHOWBIZ/Music/09/07/richard.thompson/index.html

  42. jerseyirish Says:

    Sierra, Sounds alot like Taylor and his course. The live music is his passion also. Thanks for posting!

    JI

  43. AH Says:

    September 4, 2009 at 12:09 pm
    Good posts . . agree with Mama . . sharing music is always welcome. Never have understood why some have a problem if itโ€™s not all TH all the time. Having a group of artists you enjoy listening to is sort of like having a circle of friends and family . . it doesnโ€™t detract from one if you have a lunch date with another.
    ===========================================
    People easily forget that Taylor himself shares his love for other musicians and different styles of music all the time. I find it really sad to be tunnel visioned into one Artist and not be open to other music. They only cheat themselves out of some good music by doing that.

  44. It can’t be more than a very small percentage of Taylor fans who are ‘tunnel-visioned’ when it comes to music/artists. For me, Taylor is definitely my favorite, but I loved so many other artists before I heard of him, and listening to Tays music certainly does not diminish my enjoyment of their music in the least. I have also come to really enjoy certain newer artists as well (and not through AI) – usually from friends or family playing them.

  45. I love tons of other artists and… *cue the trumpets of doom* Taylor is not my favorite…. *hides under the table*

  46. AHHAHAAH Sierra!!

  47. My favorite all time Artist is Steve Perry-the ORIGINAL Steve Perry from Journey. But I do enjoy many other Artist’s and support them. It will be a cold day in hell before anyone dictates to me who I should like and not like.

  48. cf – seriously? who would try or want to dictate to you who you should like or not like musically?

  49. […] A musician's lifeโ€ฆ ยซ It's All Greyโ€ฆ […]

Leave a Reply

