Well, I’m kind of impressed…

Woke up this morning and noticed that Taylor had an announcement. The old taylorhicks.com is out the window, and a new revamped website is up. It’s kind of like a Facebook for Taylor fans. You can add photos, videos and become “friends” with other fans. It’s an interesting concept, and may help the fandom in the long run. Kudos to Taylor and his crew for doing this!! Here’s some great pics that Taylor posted:

The harps…how cool is this pic?

T_HicksSanFrancisco87

Concerts33

T_HicksSanFrancisco353

Check it out!!

105 Responses to “Well, I’m kind of impressed…”

  1. I know, I was like, huh? How did his management get so cool all of a sudden? And now he’s sending interesting twitpics, too. I think it’s great.

  2. Oh, I forgot to say I love the photo of the harmonicas. Why so many? I want one.

  3. I love the whole thing- it is totally awesome.

  4. Snowstorm Says:

    It’s too late to repair the fanbase. I see all the real die-hards are joining, but everyone else took a hike and not coming back. The fanbase was not welcoming to all kinds of people and viewpoints. You are way too insular and narrow-minded.

  5. I think it’s great. I love that it has chat instead of a forum. At least if fan wars get started on the site it will be over without a permanate record. LOL. Looks like when they are satisfied all the kinks are worked out it will have the Taylorhicks.com address. This site looks way better than anything he has had so far. I love that he tweeting pics and the pics with sound open up sooo many possibilities.

  6. I love the photo of the harmonicas. Why so many?

    They are in different keys .. that’s why you see him picking up and looking at them sometimes during shows .. he’s looking for the right key.

  7. Oh Snow, I don’t know who you are referring to when you say “You are way too insular and narrow minded” but that is one thing I try to avoid on this blog. But you’re probably right. It’s too late to repair the fanbase, the initial one anyway. But everything changes, and so do his fans. So, he will get new ones…eventually.

  8. Snowstorm Says:

    The only way he’s going to get new fans is if the music improves, but he has to stop pandering to older people. But, I honestly think his shot at music came and went a long time ago. AI is not forgiving to someone who was given his shot and basically did nothing with it.

  9. I doubt if Taylor wants to “repair” the fanbase. I think maybe he just wants to give all us “broken” people a place to hang. lol

  10. Snow, I’m not going to get into the old argument again. It is what it is.

    hahhahaa, Sweetay. Maybe that’s the truth.

  11. RebelRouse Says:

    Snow when you’re a musician you embrace everyone no matter what their age. They pay your bills.

    A.I. is without a doubt, partially to blame for Taylor’s “non-existence.”

    No, he didn’t help the cause. But, for whatever his reasoning, allowed them to continue to gaslight him with no promotion, taking him out of opening credits etc.

    Back on topic. His new site looks really great! I hope he continues to share great pics!

    Yes, AH is right. Harmonica’s come in all different keys. His suitcase full must be a fulltime job to keep in order. lol

  12. Snowstorm Says:

    His fanbase is tiny. There’s not enough of them to pay his bills, hence his Grease gig. C’mon now, you know I’m right.

  13. Well, Snow. It’s a bigger fanbase than you’ve got. And that’s all I have to say about that.

  14. Snowstorm Says:

    Also, AI was under no obligation to promote him, whatsoever. Taylor did not sign with 19 Management. I’m sure it was in the contract that there was no liability there, whatsoever.

  15. Snowstorm Says:

    Just setting the record straight, iag.

  16. RebelRouse Says:

    I won’t get into a war of words with you over your biased and daft behavior.

    “One never needs their humor as much a when they argue with a fool.”

    Chinese Proverb.

  17. Snowstorm Says:

    Rebel, you make no sense. Knowledge is power… remember that!

    Also, point made this fanbase is completely narrow-minded and insular in their thinking… the reaason so many have disappeared.

    I’ll leave now, but hey, it’s great fun to visit this blog.

    And, I will leave with this…. Snow, is ALWAYS right!

    Bye now!

  18. RebelRouse Says:

    When exactly are you going to make your great escape for good?

    You do realize you do exactly what you acouse others of?

    Talk about insular? Are there any other words in your most awesome verbose vocabulary, aside from his fanbase is old? Or you’re always right? Because, to be honest, I’ve yet to see one person agree with you.

    Whatever..

  19. Snow, its ok. You are welcome to your opinion. But only a fool thinks that he is always right. If you think you already know everything that leaves little space for learning. I wonder… did you have this opinion of yourself as a two year old?

  20. Snowstorm Says:

    HAHA! You guys love it when I come here. I liven things up here and shake it up and MAKE you think and provide you with FACTS.

    OK, bye now.

  21. Snowstorm Says:

    Sweetay, it’s a fact.. Taylor did NOT sign with 19 Management.. he signed with The Firm. AI was under NO obligation to promote him.

    Thems are the breaks, folks. Taylor took a chance and it ended up biting him in the ass.

    These are facts… I’m not making this up.

  22. Snow in August??!? Damn you, Al Gore!!! LOL.

  23. LOL! I for one love it when you come around Snow. You crack me up royally! Love ya! LOL

  24. RebelRouse Says:

    YKW

    Sometimes, I guess we need to be reminded of the “Inconvenient Truth” it’s a necessary part of fandom. Or in my case, maybe the “Incontinent Truth” being over 40 and all.

    Damn you to hell Al Gore!

  25. Snow.. I know Taylor didn’t sign with 19. But I do not have any insider info as you apparently do… so I can’t say if it was a good thing or a bad thing.

    Can you imagine if Taylor was locked in and they still did nothing to promote him?

    I really don’t see Taylor as stupid. I imagine he had a pretty good handle on what was going down. He took the hard road.. but it may have been the only way.

    Taylor made 300,000 last year. Much more than me! And he is having so much fun! So am I!

    Cut him and us a bit of slack. And never say never.

  26. I am glad Tay is moving with the times…maybe we may start getting vlogs on the youtube channel soon!

  27. ifyousayso Says:

    Snowstorm….your M.O. is showing again; you might want to tuck that away. When you use the words “you” and “they” in describing Taylor’s fanbase, it makes it pretty obvious that you don’t consider yourself part of said fanbase. I would wager that you never were. I don’t understand the need to continually post negatively about Taylor here. Or the need to be in continual wars-of-words on Twitter. Seems attention-seeking to me, but whatever.

  28. Seems attention-seeking to me, but whatever.

    Obviously it is all about s/he – TH/SP are just the button topics – and yet it continues to work . . .

    While stuck on “we value your business” ignore I amused myself by looking for a simple more than you wanted to know about harmonicas guide.
    This is pretty good :
    http://www.harmonicalessons.com/recommended_def.html

  29. Snowstorm Says:

    ifyousayso, are you just figuring that out? My goodness.. you are smart one aren’t you!

    Soul Patrol and Woo is lame cheese… I was never part of that.. I guess that’s part of some older woman mantra.. but not for me to partake. I wonder if Taylor ever realized that he had people who liked him but wanted nothing to do with Soul Patrol. My guess is that he was clueless. Another minus.

  30. ifyousayso Says:

    Hmmm…I thought you used to claim you were a fan. I may be wrong. I am also smart enough to be able to admit it.

  31. Yeah, I know harmonicas come in different keys, but still- why so many? Remember when you could buy one of his at the shows? ($300!) Maybe that’s his left-over inventory. OK, that was a stab at humor, not snark. I still want one! (Just for being me, not for $300)

    I still think his biggest problem is lack of radio play. He has several songs that are radio friendly despite what snow is about to say about that. I’ve been told payola doesn’t exist anymore but I don’t believe it.

  32. Hey, Taylor, when you get done reading whatever mean thing snow is about to write, how about doing a harmonica give-away?

  33. Oh, I’m with you on that Caryl…I still believe payola exists too.

  34. Snowstorm Says:

    Casual fan… still am sort of, but have slowly, but surely, lost interest. I was not part of the Soul Patrol… I never was. Thought the shoutouts were lame and still do. Also disliked the Ray C. “woos” and “bends”. Why Taylor chose to be that is beyond me. I think it turned off lots of people.

    He never turned into his own person… big mistake.

  35. Snowstorm Says:

    Reality bites… what can I say?

  36. RebelRouse Says:

    Payola, and greasing palms exist as much roses and whiskers on kittens.
    So does Snow being a fan yet saying she’s not smitten.
    Back door deals and nasty tweets to other fans.
    These are all some of the favorite SP things.

    Now where’s the harmonica give-away?

  37. Snowstorm Says:

    RebelRouse, what the hell are you talking about? Are you in fantasy land? What is back door deals and nasty tweets to other fans? hahaha

  38. Snowstorm Says:

    Well, enough entertainment for today. You people are too weird, but you’re good for laugh.

  39. ifyousayso Says:

    I think I hear the sound of music….

  40. Payola, and greasing palms exist as much roses and whiskers on kittens.
    So does Snow being a fan yet saying she’s not smitten.
    Back door deals and nasty tweets to other fans.
    These are all some of the favorite SP things.

    There’s a song in there somewhere, RR…. 😉

  41. Snow you too are always good for a laugh! 😀

  42. I’m trying to live in the now. Today he was all over the Orlando media and he just keeps moving forward while seeming to enjoy his ride.

  43. casualfan Says:

    caryl Says:

    August 26, 2009 at 2:23 pm
    Yeah, I know harmonicas come in different keys, but still- why so many? Remember when you could buy one of his at the shows? ($300!) Maybe that’s his left-over inventory. OK, that was a stab at humor, not snark. I still want one! (Just for being me, not for $300)
    ==========================================
    Taylor is endorsed by Hohner so there’s no shortage of harps for him. 😉

    Welcome back Snow!

  44. casualfan Says:

    Rosie, That doesn’t surprise me. Florida has always been a strong supporting state for T. When the tour goes to Virginia he will be taken care of too.

  45. casualfan Says:

    Social Networking sites are the new fad on the Electronic Hwy. Micro-blogging can be a good move for him-if he commits to it. But to be honest, he should give some attention to the site where people are actually having to pay for memberships-don’t ya think?

  46. I too am wild about that harmonica picture! And just when I’m getting away form the Smith’s videos hold on me, someone throws this one at me: http://twitpic.com/fbpey Pure hottness!

    The site looks really cool. Wish I had more time to explore it right now. It was in bad need of updating to make it more attractive to a wider variety of people, mainly younger. It’s so much more modern & exciting. It seems he’s now not shying way from the sexier type photos too. Not sorry to see t hat other pic GONE, I hope for good. (Of course it’s still on the cover of the CD.. Too bad.) I hope it draws in lots of new and “lost” fans. I believe there are a lot of them out there. My friend in ATL, a “lost” AI fan, sent ME a Smith’s video she found on YouTube herself. Face it – Taylor is very talented and the eye candy is a plus. He just needs to be re-exposed to the masses, and I believe, from the crowds and responses in just about every city he visits, that Grease is helping.

  47. IAG, you need to teach me how to get those pics that are not downloadable.

  48. Casualfan said: “Social Networking sites are the new fad on the Electronic Hwy. Micro-blogging can be a good move for him-if he commits to it. But to be honest, he should give some attention to the site where people are actually having to pay for memberships-don’t ya think?”
    ================================================
    I think this open one is really, really important. To me, the paid one should be all about the perks, not the networking. There has to be enough cool stuff in the free area to keep it exciting and alive. But I would join (again) just for the access to special pre-sale tickets or discount ones, or “special” treats for members like audio blogs. I noticed the M&G prices are higher there, so I think being a member still has some extra benefits. I hope they keep those prices the same. Maybe they will do away with the paid membership all together? I guess we’ll see.

  49. casualfan Says:

    Hopefully he will get a new fan crop, which is indeed a good thing.

  50. Oooh me likey! Better than the initial taylorhicks.com in fact! This will definitely grab some interest in more fans, more younger audience possibly too. 🙂 David Archuleta’s official site has the same format now too

    I’m in love with the harmonica picture.

    And yes payola definitely still exists, how do you think the crap ‘artists’ under a major label get big time radio play?

    I hear MYS is on hold for a big star, very interested in seeing who it is, but it’ll still always be Taylor’s song.

  51. casualfan Says:

    If Taylor was cranking out number one hits and getting constant radio play, this so called payola conspiracy wouldn’t be an issue. The Theorists would be supporting it. 😉

  52. casualfan Says:

    And yes payola definitely still exists, how do you think the crap ‘artists’ under a major label get big time radio play?
    ===============================================
    It all gets radio play because the people are requesting it. The music industry is giving the public what they want to hear. As long as the public is buying and downloading that “crap” music-it will be getting the pr and the play.

  53. I hear MYS is on hold for a big star, very interested in seeing who it is, but it’ll still always be Taylor’s song.

    Did I hear correctly (from where, I have no idea…) that the “big star” is Carrie Underwood? As much as I love Taylor’s version, or even a dude singing it, I could totally get behind Carrie bringing that to a #1 spot.

  54. correct me if I’m wrong. I am not always right. But didn’t Taylor say that Maybe You Should gave him goose bumps. Didn’t he say that it could be HIS signature song?

    And now he wants to give it away? I am beginning to think Taylor likes staying under the radar. dang

  55. Hope you all sign up on the new site.

  56. casualfan Says:

    YKW-I agree. I’m not wild about Carrie Underwood but she could do the song real justice.

    Rosie-I have no plans to join any sites. This blog is more than enough for me.

  57. hicksfan7 Says:

    I like the new site too – definitely thought it was worth signing up!
    LOVE the harps!

    Snowstorms are SO out of season! I really enjoy the milder weather.

  58. hicksfan7 Says:

    Carrie has a beautiful voice on most songs – how about a duet?….’maybe THEY should’ – LOL

  59. I thought someone was just guessing it was Carrie. Don’t know what kind of song he can record that would get radio play. He is releasing Nineteen to Armed Forces Radio and at least THEY will play him.

  60. Rosie, just to clarify… yes, it was just a rumor I have heard that Carrie would be the one recording MYS. I have long thought that “Nineteen” should be released as for many Americans, it is a song in their conscience.

  61. Would love to see someone get a hit on one of Taylor’s songs. That would sure take away their excuse that Taylor’s songs aren’t radio friendly!! LOL.
    He could then release his own version of it. It’s done all the time. It would be great for him to be able to introduce a song in concert as “This is a little song I wrote that “So and So” recorded and won a Grammy”

  62. hicksaholic Says:

    Snow,
    I enjoy you coming back every so often. I always like a little controversy.
    I don’t disagree with you about Taylor taking a chance that perhaps hurt him commercially when he turned his back on 19 and signed with The Firm. That is just pure logic that AI was not going to support an artist that made that decision. I am betting at the time Taylor thought he could have it all- not be tied to AI and still have a great deal of commercial success. Certainly his wild popularity on the show and Ford commercial and People cover supported that. Unfortunately that didn’t happen. But maybe Taylor would make the same decision today if he had it to do over. I’ m not sure how comfortable he was being a mega celebrity(for that little bit of time after AI that he was).
    New site looks incredible- I don’t know about the chat though. I don’t think I am a fast enough typer to keep up.

  63. Snow come back! We need some more laughs! And I agree- Snow is ALWAYS WHITE! LOL! 😀

  64. hicksfan7 Says:

    Sierra – LMAO – ‘snow is always white’ – well around here snow doesn’t STAY white for long, it gets dirt and mud spattered on it, car exhaust turns it a nasty brown, dogs do their business on it too and I’m quite sure the occasional drunk turns it yellow!
    So basically Snow is White until it finds itself full of SH*T!

  65. I did not hear the rumor about Carrie being the one. I don’t like the idea of someone else making that song a hit. To me that should be Taylor’s all the way. But if that’s what he wants, then so be it. But it makes me kind of sad.

  66. hicksfan7 Says:

    NolaMar I get what you’re saying. After thinking about it a little more, I realized all the awesome musicians/songwriters that have written for others, or whose songs have been recorded by others (first one I thought of was Willie Nelson – and the songs he wrote recorded by Patsy Cline – beautiful songwriting and beautiful delivery also) – it is an honor for another singer to want to sing a song you wrote An honor I think Tay deserves as well.

  67. Oh, yes, it’s a definite honor! I think he’s written many songs that could be great for others to record. It’s just that this one is so special. It seems like everyone thinks it could be a hit for HIM. But if someone else makes a hit out of it, I only hope he’ll get the recognition for it (and the other two co-writers).

  68. hicksfan7 Says:

    I’m sure he would get as much recognition as any songwriter would, especially if they won an award for it. Unfortunately, the songwriter recognition and appreciation is often not felt by a real large group of people compared to the artist performing the song.

  69. So do we think that that’s why MYS wasn’t his first single? Because someone else may record it? Clearly, it should have been the single.

  70. Snowstorm Says:

    The reason Taylor does not get played on the radio is because he doesn’t have a pop voice.. he has a COUNTRY voice! Therefore, Taylor’s next cd, if there is one, should be pure COUNTRY. For heaven’s sake, do not do a mixed genre cd.. ONLY an established artist can get away with that, and even established artists have a hard time pulling that off. Do I have to remind you that I was the only one who kept telling you.. mixed genre CD’s do not work! You cannot please everyone. But ultimately it’s Taylor’s life and Taylor’s career and I really do not care.

    As far as the rumor that Carrie Underwood wants to record “Maybe You Should”. If a fan started this rumor, it’s probably false, but on the outside chance that it might be true, how in the world does somebody turn this down? This is tons of money in his pocket. What do you think songwriters write songs for free?? I don’t care what anybody says.. Carrie Underwood has got pipes and can pull off a song like that.

    OK, this is it… I’m not going to be pulled into this again. Nice blog to read once in a while, but that’s it for me.

    Peace out!

  71. hicksfan7 Says:

    “Taylor’s next cd, if there is one” – ROTF LMAO if there is one? duh

    hey who forgot to announce the ‘snow advisory’, it’s already getting deep!

  72. Snowstorm Says:

    I can assure you Taylor made no money on his last cd, but hopefully broke even. You all seem to forget he pays for EVERYTHING. Making records is a costly business. I know what I’m talking about.

    At least he’s making money with grease! 🙂

  73. hicksfan7 Says:

    well, gee, maybe you should be talking directly to Taylor about this – I mean there is nothing WE can do about it. Hey….wait a minute…are you trying to trick us? Are you really his ACCOUNTANT? Accountant’s assistant? Cleaning lady eavesdropping in his accountants office??

    Hey – anybody know what time the snowplows come through?

  74. LOL Hicksfan7! Snowstorm I love it when you say you’re leaving and then immediately you come right back- you are so funny! 😀

    Anyway, I hope you’re right. I hope he broke even at least on this last CD. Truthfully, I wouldn’t like him to go PURE country, it’s just not my favorite music, but if he feels this is what he must do, well then. Maybe he could make it pop or soul flavored country, and then I could listen to it. I love his voice but I mainly started listening to him because of his blues/soul thing.

    I guess we’ll see what happens.

  75. I agree, MYS sounds good on Taylor and should have been his single from the Distance. It will probably be a hit for someone else, but I think it should be Taylor’s hit.

  76. And since we are doling out advice, I would like to see a blues-oriented album for the next TH release. His beautiful rendition of IAOK, Georgia, and live, acoustic WRIR …as well as live tagging points to this approach for me.

  77. Love chillin on the new site…just created one for the band I’m currently booking not that there Myspace, twitter, blog, and facebook aren’t enough…lol innovation is always good!

    TF1

  78. casualfan Says:

    MYS is a beautiful song, but a little too slow for my taste. Taylor-at least for me does better with faster, blusey songs. I really like the title song “The Distance” on the cd and with a little remixing, it could make it onto the pop charts.

  79. casualfan Says:

    7MB-still my favorite!

  80. It’s way too early to be pronouncing the CD a break even venture. He said not too long ago he expects it to keep selling and eventually hit 100 thous which is great for an independent. If he was just breaking even I don’t think WATW would be scheduled to drop. He seems to be very happy and He knows alot more about his finances and deals that are in the works than we do. I would love to see him get a foot into acting. To make connections with TV and Movie people would be great for his career. A foot in the door could get his music played in a TV or movie score. That could take sales to that next level.

  81. LIVE VIDEO CHAT next week at Tay’s new place! Stay tuned for details!!!!

  82. Off topic but….what the hell ever happened to Bill Will?????

  83. hicksaholic Says:

    I think he moved to Georgia with a girl named Katie. Guess he got sick of the road life.

  84. Another question: Clay took Bill’s place but who are the rest of the people in Tay’s entourage? They keep mentioning his large entourage when he visits the local radio and tv stations. How can he afford to pay all these people ?

  85. hicksfan7 Says:

    well….he wouldn’t have to pay ME! HAHAHHA – well…maybe just room and board!

  86. Ads for AI5 rewind suck.

  87. casualfan Says:

    Good for Bill! Wishing him great happiness.

  88. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    August 30, 2009 at 12:08 pm
    Ads for AI5 rewind suck.
    =========================================
    What has AI done now? Seems no one is ever happy with anything they do. Was T not advertised? Does it really matter? We all know for a 100% fact that he won-unless I’m missing something.

  89. I’d like to watch that, rosie. I’ll have to look for it.

    The ‘entourage’ could be hangers-on or just whatever buddies of his are around, don’tcha think? I think I remember once he said he had a hair person with him, tho. yes, a hair person for a radio interview. ?

  90. Bill is still in the fold. Him and Wes were at Smith’s, and they have been at many performances by Spoonful James. What would be awesome is that if Spoonful was the first band signed to MWR and Bill managed them…that would bring everything full circle! Just sayin!

    TF1

  91. OK, I didn’t see the ads when I posted that last comment. AI Rewind is totally dissing Taylor. I hear what you’re saying CF, but it’s still disrespectful. The ads have Daughtry up front, practically filling the page, next biggest is Kat, then Kelly, THEN Taylor. What’s their problem?

  92. It gets even worse caryl.
    I’ve saw two ads, a video promo, and a schedule. If its true and it seems to be instead of a Carrie Underwood special like they had after the season 4 rewind, they are going to have a Chris Daughtry special after season 5 rewind.
    I mean, I haven’t seen it yet, but watching the video promo, I got a very strong feeling that season 5 rewind is being set up to be a America got it wrong show. Or America lost control to the SP show.
    They can’t make Chris the winner, but they can make him the rightful winner.

  93. Wow and after Taylor has said nothing but nice things about Idol! That is soooo messed up and Elliott is not even in the promo pic.
    AI can go suck it, I won’t be watching their stupid rewind show. We all know Taylor won fair.

  94. casualfan Says:

    Doesn’t matter if you watch it or not Christa. Fact is that millions of people will be tuning in to watch Daughtry and that’s exactly what AI is counting on. 😉

    Hicks won the crown but Daughtry won everything else.

  95. And Bluz, I hope you and Daughtry live happily ever after.

    Maybe he has some stuff to give away.

  96. CF, Henry posted a whole series of the promos on Chills and at first I was livid. I’ve calmed down. The rewind show is exactly how it was week by week but with recent comments made by some of the contestants. Many of those who watch the rewind show never watched the original show and or did not catch all the seasons. Taylor charmed people from his audition and frankly Daughtry’s audition sucked. Yes Daughtry has talent and is already a well known huge selling singer. Taylor has more to gain from the rewind show than CD. They can’t change the show or the judges comments or the week by week results. Tay not only looks better now, but is more confident and charming than he was then and I’m certain he charm some once again and may pick up some new fans. The ads do suck, blatant favoritism and are meant to promote the AI money machine, 19 et al, but people will see Taylor sing and perform and see his personality. Some new people may wonder why he isn’t the more successful. I hope all Tay fans watch as that helps Taylor most, he won the thing and he needs the support.

  97. Henry is upset.

  98. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, The ad’s do suck, they are still promoting CD over Taylor. Doesn’t matter who the money maker is, Taylor won the season and should be shown that repsect. I hope this move on their part back fires on them. Just goes to show that the folks behind AI have no class what so ever.

    JI

  99. jewell earth Says:

    ‘D’s sells are down, AI needs to showcase ‘d’ so he can sell more cds. I won’t be watching…from the reviews I’ve read the cd it it is not worth the money.

  100. hicksaholic Says:

    I have been looking forward to this ever since Season 5. I don’t know if I can NOT watch it. I hate AI is screwing over Taylor. I am hopeful there will be some who see Taylor and wonder where he is and check him out. They cannot change his performances and those were incredible, week after week. Will they interview Taylor and people watching get to see him as he looks now. Damn AI- it was a blessing and a curse.

  101. Well at least we will get rid of Daughtry early on. lol

  102. Where in the heck are you Grey? When you check in please do a blog on this subject as the shit has not only hit the fan, but scenting the scene, and it t’aint a Yankee Candle. Hicksholic, I also have long looked forward to season’s 5 rewind. They showed season 1 and 2 for so long I thought I’d have to wait to 2011 for Tay’s season. While I’m 100% with those who say the ads suck, call foul, and see supposed $ signs in Simon’s eyes and all who gain from the big, CD sellers, I’m so into looking for the positive for Taylor. I post too much, although I took a few days off. This new, and shocking thingie just is peroxide on an open sore, or bleach in the eye and ear wax in ears, and even silence of the lambs!

  103. itsallgrey Says:

    Sorry guys…I have been out of town. Checking in on my phone. Will weigh in on this when I get home tonight.

  104. I’m not upset, rosie. 🙂
    I’m done with this nonsense, I have other things to take care of, it is what is is , it will be what ever AI makes it. I hope the rewind show turns out to be wonderful and showcases Taylors talent. But if the editing is anything like it was on that promo it could be shall we say………. different.
    But I’ll keep a good thought.

  105. In reference to the new .ning site it could be a very good idea but will work best if Hicks’ occasionally participates.

    On the other hand (I am a Libra) it could possibly become disasterous with the mixing of the spectrum of the fan base from the casual fan to the frenzied fanatics who have axes to grind etc..

    I signed up hit the chat to see what was up and discussion was around someone’s comforter that did not make it through the wash well. I just had a moment so did not stay.

    Regarding the MYS and Underwood rumor, I’m with Dee, think it a good think and like the Willie Nelson example, could lead into better reception in the radio field for Hicks.

    As far as AI 5 Rewind, doubt I’ll watch it as limited time to do TV anymore and have some other favorite shows coming into play like Sons of Anarchy and Dexter. I am considering taping it on the DVR to hit as I can. Only so much time in a day. I have to say in all my years watching that bloody “unscripted reality” show, season 5 still the best for me. Reason, Taylor Hicks of course and his brilliant win. NOT watching it because the show is playing up their version of success stories is rather like snipping your nose from your face. You liked that season? Loved seeing Hicks do what he did on the show? Then watch the damn thing. lol

    I had more to say on this over at Taylor Tuesday, Caryl’s blog: She focused on it seeming more like The Daughtry Show.

    Basically I wrote: “…the show will focus, as the ads show, on which contestants reflect the most positively back on it. The success of the contestants in today’s music industry provides A.I. with bragging rights to help propel this next season’s new show, sort of a ‘look what we can do for you’ self-promotion.

    Regarding Taylor’s lack of backing from the show that’s no surprise either; they never (they being the producers, and of course, Simon Cowell) wanted him to win. He was simply this guy who was savvy enough to maneuver himself into a runaway train they could not stop. We, who watched the show, saw Cowell repeatedly do what ever he could to put the cabosh on Hicks.

    Regarding the details on the show and management not fully promoting Hicks, there are a few different stories behind that which to date, we’re not privy to. I’m thinking too, Taylor’s shadow tours that year lead to some issues as well.

    Blaming the lack of fiscal investment in his eponymous CD and absence of promotion fully on 19E’s shoulders might not be the fair and accurate path to take, but certainly did not aide him in any way whatsoever. He was basically on his own during that ‘unscripted reality’ show and has been ever since.

    What has always held my interest in Hicks is his ability to dust himself off, pick himself back up and get back on that horse. Certainly some fans have disagreed with the current sparkley horse he’s riding, but man it’s the horse I think he needed to mount to ride further up the road to his goals. He’s certainly inspiring.”

    There, now that I’ve worn everyone out, I’m out. Cheers everyone.

Leave a Reply

