Spoonful James/Taylor Hicks

DSC_5475

DSC_5652
(thanks to 4tay for the pictures)

Thanks to Seven Days for showing me this from the Boogies.

Oh yes. You can have it on your iPod now.

It’s a beautiful thing…

53 Responses to “Spoonful James/Taylor Hicks”

  1. taylorfan06 Says:

    Taylor Hicks is Amazing!

  2. pearlpattie Says:

    Downloaded and done….crystal clear – this is one of the best shows, I wish I could have been there in person….me thinks he’s found his nitch….

  3. Seven Days Says:

    Yeahhh, I’m so glad you found this! That guy had some serious taping equipment set up on a tripod there at Smith’s and the audio quality shows, doesn’t it?

    I would love it if Taylor would start making some of his live shows available for download from places like archive.org. Shows from there always have a professional sound quality and are shared free of charge so little or no bootlegging goes on. I know Spoonful does this on a regular basis, as do hundreds of other artists such as Derek Trucks, Jason Ricci and Ryan Adams. I think Taylor could tap into a whole new audience, and it would get the word out there as to what an exciting live performer he is.

  4. casualfan Says:

    pearlpattie Says:

    August 19, 2009 at 6:34 am
    Downloaded and done….crystal clear – this is one of the best shows, I wish I could have been there in person….me thinks he’s found his nitch….
    ===============================================
    pearlpattie-Taylor hasn’t found anything new. He’s in the same “niche” as he was before AI-bar singer playing his same old venues. Sad indeed.

  5. pearlpattie Says:

    I’m not referring to him finding something “new”….I’m glad he’s doing what he does best – he seems happy not having to answer to anybody and is in charge of his life and career….we benefit for having great shows to go to….isn’t that what its all about.

  6. I’d rather see him in a smaller venue than a big stadium.
    I always get bad seats and the performers are the size of little bugs.

  7. hicksfan7 Says:

    Barb – so TRUE – a very small percentage of the audience gets a good seat/view when it is a huge stadium type venue.

    Thanks for the link – love it!

    off topic – anyone wanna help make Tay the WORLD Mr. Twitter?

    http://tweeterwall.mallplace.com/tw/worldwide/ultimate-world-mr-twitter

  8. Taylor looks anything but sad. And given the lateness of the shows following Grease, Clubs are the only choice.

  9. casualfan Says:

    On another note-Kelly Clarkson is going to be on an After school special with President Obama this fall. Now that’s an American Idol. whooohooo!

  10. Casualfan’s “Sad Indeed”, struck a chord with me. You know she is right. Plus we have no idea if Tay is happy, sad or somewhere in between about his career or life. We just know what he says in press releases, how he looks, his schedule for the next several months, his tweets and lately small talk with the audience during his gigs. I do find it sad, given his talent and win. But hey, I’m one of those who thought, Vegas Baby, after he won. Don’t know what he thought then or now…..

  11. Daughtry will be appearing on Americas Got Talent tonight.

  12. hicksfan7 Says:

    Casualfan – Taylor should be HUGE! He SHOULD be way more ”famous” than he is – he IS a Star – but not recognized as much as he deserves. JMHO.

  13. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    August 19, 2009 at 11:45 am
    Daughtry will be appearing on Americas Got Talent tonight.
    ============================================
    Great news Rosie! These musicians are going out and promoting themselves as they should. They love their music and they are BIG STARS because they worked their assess off to earn that title.

  14. casualfan Says:

    hicksfan7 Says:

    August 19, 2009 at 11:49 am
    Casualfan – Taylor should be HUGE! He SHOULD be way more ”famous” than he is – he IS a Star – but not recognized as much as he deserves. JMHO.
    ===========================================
    hicksfan-the only circle Taylor is a “star” is with the small faction that is still following him. He’s not recognized because he settled for something other than the one thing he claimed to love more than anything else.

    I find this whole thing tragic that his self proclaimed devoted fans are happy seeing him drunk up on stage playing the same venues he started out with. People want Taylor to be successful, but not too successful where there’s no longer the chance of an eyefuck, hand holding or glimpse of his big brown eyes seducing the audience. As long as people think they have a shot at getting close to him, they want him to be in those bars.

    For a fandom that claims to want him to succeed, y’all sure are content seeing him spin his wheels over and over again in the same old shit.

  15. That was unfair Casualfan- what can the fans do other than buy his album and go see his shows? They can’t do anything more than that to make him famous.

  16. hicksfan7 Says:

    Sierra – I totally agree with you – my biggest gripe and what I blame his lack of ‘fame’ on is stupid radio airplay – he got none originally and still gets very little even today. I hate the fact that this is a factor but that seems to be the way the music ‘business’ is.

  17. casualfan Says:

    Sierra-I have always said that I want to see Taylor excel in his music. I don’t care about Grease, Teen Angel or ice-cream cones. Those are secondary to what he sold to millions of people who voted for him in the first place.

    My complaint isn’t about playing in small venues. My complaint is going back to the same trough over and over again and repeating the same type of behavior that he fought to get out of in the first place.

    Following Taylor Hicks’s career is like playing Pin the tail on the donkey.

  18. if you say so Says:

    Casualfan, if you think “working your ass off” is all it takes to make it big in the music business, you don’t know as much about the business as you think you do.

    It’s the same old argument that goes on in this fanbase….what constitutes success? Filling huge stadiums and making millions of dollars, or doing what he’s doing and making a comfortable living? Guess it depends on what Taylor wants, not what we want. Interestingly enough, Taylor’s “success” or lack thereof really doesn’t factor in my life, in the grand scheme of things. I don’t think we need to worry about him; he is a big boy.

  19. hicksfan7 Says:

    I have heard, many times, that ‘success’ is getting paid to do something you LOVE and would want to do anyway – by this definition Tay is a huge success! We should all be so successful – ha!

    (still deserves to be more famous though – even if that actually has nothing to do with him being successful in his chosen career)

  20. casualfan Says:

    if you say so Says:

    August 19, 2009 at 1:30 pm
    Casualfan, if you think “working your ass off” is all it takes to make it big in the music business, you don’t know as much about the business as you think you do.
    ===========================================
    I’m not stupid or dense. I know it takes much more than that.

  21. Well I find it fun and challenging to discuss him and his career, so don’t lump me in with the “we” need not worry crowd, or he is so happy group and everything is A OK with his career. He was the headliner on the AI5 tour and from vids I’ve seen he set the house on fire night after night and that group of 10 still hold the record. He did shadow gigs afterwards with his old band and now he is performing shadow gigs with some of those same guys. Unlike the other top 4 guys Tay had no “job” and had for years played whenever and whereever he could. He wrote music and self made 2 non selling CDs and slaved away and was 29 freaking years old when he got the chance of a lifetime. Now he is an independent artist again with Brian as his musical director and playing gigs at Workplay, and Smiths for an audience made up hard core SP and whoever else remembers him from AI and buys a ticket. Let’s be real people. If I get frustrated, worried, sad and angry there could be the possability that the so called, “he is a big Boy” also does.

  22. if you say so Says:

    casualfan Says:
    August 19, 2009 at 12:13

    Great news Rosie! These musicians are going out and promoting themselves as they should. They love their music and they are BIG STARS because they worked their assess off to earn that title.

    =================================================
    I didn’t call you stupid or dense. Just going by what you said…they are big stars because they worked their asses off. Maybe I misunderstood…if so, mea culpa!

  23. hicksfan7 Says:

    Rosie – “If I get frustrated, worried, sad and angry there could be the possability that the so called, “he is a big Boy” also does.” – I agree – I HOPE HE DOES feel those emotions – he is HUMAN after all – but I think he handles it well BECAUSE he is a big boy! LOL and maybe his ‘muses’ use these emotions to help him in song writing also.

  24. Real life isn’t the game called Career, where you have to choose among happiness, fame or fortune. Some never get any, some get one or two and some get all 3. Did Taylor want all 3 and did he expect all 3 after his crowning on AI?

  25. Wasn’t it at some club in Calif on a video where I saw him say almost pleadingly to the audience: “I don’t want to be back where I was 10 years ago”? Anyone remember that?

  26. Aside from playing in some old haunts, (nostalgia – and pleasure?) I don’t see Taylor as being “back where [he] was 10 years ago.” Then, he had to fight to get a gig; sometimes he had to pay his band and go home without a paycheck himself; he had no record company, he had no recognition as a musician, actor, “personality”; he had no attorney or business manager helping him plan for his future in the entertainment business. I could add more, but I think everyone can see my point.

    Is he where he thought he would be after the Idol win? I don’t know, but probably not. Would I like to see him have a stronger presence in the music scene? Of course. But for whatever reason, apparently it’s never going to be easy for him. Why? Any number of reasons can be given, all of them subjective and arguable. It’s frustrating because we see the raw talent and wonder why so many others don’t.

    Taylor continues to work hard to make things happen. Those who don’t approve of some of the directions he takes along the way may just have to move on. Ultimately, though, he IS indeed in a better place than he was 3 years ago in many ways. I’ll take that.

  27. hicksfan7 Says:

    Meg – “he IS indeed in a better place than he was 3 years ago in many ways. I’ll take that.” – I agree and I will take that also!

  28. hicksaholic Says:

    Plus I doubt he was headlining a show that cost $25 a head to get in back then. I wish it was better but as someone associated with the music business pointed out to me the only truly successful idols, at least commercially, are those in popular genres, something Taylor is not in.
    I believe 10 years from now he will still be doing what he loves, maybe not making music but producing it or in some way involved. He should be proud of his progress. He worked his ass off to get to where he is now.

  29. Oh, my I’m so far behind! I did not even notice this earlier. Took me all day to get one stupid video loaded. WEll, I was there so I should not complain if I can’t watch the videos and read everything just yet. LOL My WDLGTBSS is up at vimeo.

    Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (Partial) Smith’s Olde Bar from rajrae on Vimeo.

  30. Can anyone tell me why my vimeo embeds never work?

  31. There are plenty of talented recognizeable musicians who do not have careers like Carrie or Kelly. It is possible to make a decent living without that huge sucess. It’s really unfair to lump him in that AI group just because he won. He’s different and maybe that’s a harder sell. But he is way better off that before AI. He has choices now, some may not like the directions he chooses but it’s his life. He’s still plugging away and we all know one radio hit and his career could soar. It could still happen I’m not giving up and I don’t think he is either. It’s all about keeping your name out there in this business and his name has sure been out there a lot.

  32. casualfan Says:

    IAG,as always-thanks for allowing us to post our thoughts here. It’s greatly appreciated that we are allowed to be diverse and have interesting conversations. This is the only blog in Tayland that I don’t find boring or contrived. 😉

  33. Most people never make it to “arena stardom”. Marc Broussard comes to mind. I had never heard of him until becoming a Taylor fan. I had never heard his music on the radio. He doesn’t do his shows in giant arena’s, but I bet if he was asked if he considers himself successful he would say yes. I saw him at a Harrah’s VooDoo lounge, I don’t know how many people it holds but it’s small. I also saw him at small music venue in Lawrence KS, it was an awesome show. Personally I prefer small venues, they’re cheaper, and much more intimate. You can actually see the person.

    The way I see it, whatever works for Taylor is fine with me. I will stay a fan for as long as he puts out music.

  34. You know, I love the videos that people take of the shows but I myself couldn’t stand there and do that. To me it’s like you miss the whole show just to record it. No fun, you know? I’d much rather live in the moment and enjoy what I’m seeing and hearing. For those of you who take videos: how do you feel about that? Do you feel you are still enjoying the whole show?

  35. hicksfan7 Says:

    I, for one, am so immensely grateful to all who DO take videos and make them available for others to view. Due to lack of funds, and excess of responsibilities, I rarely get to see Taylor live. The videos keep him ‘live’ in my heart and soul! Thanks to ALL who do this.

  36. These vids are exactly why I don’t waste my time while at a concert trying to capture my own footage. I just can’t stand there through an entire song trying to keep the camera still.

    Best ones yet.

  37. I agree Sierra! That’s why I only end up with clips. And I think I won’t even bring my camera next time so I’m not tempted.

    But having said that, check these out. LOL These are only 4 candid of the Jager Bombs. Many more to come. I’m having to crop out the head in front of me. Oh, I’m just having some trouble right now working through my pics. !!!!!

  38. hicksfan7 Says:

    NolaMar – looking forward to your pics – and don’t worry – ‘clips’ are awesome too, seems like ‘rain or shine’ there is always some wonderful soul willing to film and share!

  39. Cute photos NolaMar. Cheers!

  40. OMG, Nola. I’m having a hard time keeping the fangirl in with those four pics.

  41. hicksfan7 Says:

    Cheers indeed! excellent – and definitely worth waiting a few mins. for the link! LOL

  42. Nola!! I sent you an email!

  43. Nolamar- cute pictures! And I AM grateful for all those who do bring us videos- I just couldn’t do it myself because I would feel like I was missing the concert.

  44. I’ve done it both ways. Problem is when I’m videoing, I’m always thinking that I shouldn’t be, but when I’m not, I feel like I should be. *sigh*

    Story of my life.

  45. “OMG, Nola. I’m having a hard time keeping the fangirl in with those four pics.”

    I’m working through the rest of them, and you’re not kidding!!!! Gawd, it’s killing me….. Dying to get these uploaded! Wish I didn’t have to spend so much time cropping out the heads that got in the way. Need to go shopping and to the bank. Neglecting my real life. LOL

  46. Nils is fighting awful hard to get out about now. I have one more uploading. I don’t want to put them ALL up until I have them all ready but I’m doing these “special” ones as I go along. LOL

  47. Oh, man, I need a break! Almost done though.

    http://rajraesmusicsite.shutterfly.com/518#518

  48. hicksaholic Says:

    Nola
    Great pictures! You would never know anyone was in front of you, it looks like you are so close.

  49. “Thanks to Seven Days for showing me this from the Boogies.”

    AWESOME! I was so wrapped up in my stuff I overlooked this! I saw the taper there. Wonder if he will put the rest of the show up? Listening now instead of sleeping….

  50. Another vid of the Spoonful James guys with Taylor from Smith’s. This is WDLGTBSS, the whole song! On Vimeo it’s sideways, but I just discovered that if you download it and play it in Quicktime or iTunes it is turned the right way. (I don’t like the looks of either of vids on those players but at least they work.)

    Taylor Hicks w/Wynn & Quinn from Tim DePalma on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

