Just a reminder…

sjandtay

On Sunday, Spoonful James will be opening for Taylor at Smith’s…please, somebody get some vid for me!! I love those guys!

Taylor sent a shoutout this morning for Spoonful James!!

38 Responses to “Just a reminder…”

  1. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Saw the interview and the shoutout to Spoonful. also heard him change up SMB to include Atlanta!

    JI

  2. mamaforpeace Says:

    I am so sad I won’t be there:( Nola, I hope we get a great recap from you and that you have a FABULOUS time!

  3. Thanks Grey for posting the interbiew. He was in fine voice but I don’t think he should change the song to fit the city. It is a great song written as it was and he needn’t be ho ing himself or the song for the locals.

  4. Now, Rosie, that’s funny!!

  5. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, You are too much!!! 🙂

    JI

  6. Eh, Rosie, people eat that up! He knows what he’s doing.

  7. hicksaholic Says:

    mama
    I’m sorry you can’t be there too. I am really looking forward to it! I just hate Taylor won’t come on til so late. It will be a long night but it’ll be worth it.

  8. Caryl said, “Eh, Rosie, people eat that up! He knows what he’s doing.” I agree with what you said. My frustration is that it is a good catchy well written song and he sounds great on the recording and when he does it live, and it should be selling more, be given radio play and he should be more successful in the music world. Were those things a fact he wouldn’t need to be changing the lyrics in each city. Sigh and dammit! My guy still has balls, brains, brawn and blood in his veins, but is doing what he’s gotta do to prove it still.

  9. Dee, I really hesitate to get excited about this…again.

  10. LOL Grey. Me too! But seeing that there was a cover shot this time gives me hope. LOL.

  11. Taylor looks gorgeous on that cover. Since he said it in the interview a few days ago and now there is a cover and a release date, I’m a believer. I’ve never seen WATW.

  12. jerseyirish Says:

    He did say in that one interivew they held off releasing it because of the new CD, I believe this time it is a go.

    JI

  13. I don’t believe the excuse of why they held off releasing it. The first time they set a date and everything was good until the day came and it was cancelled for some unknown reason. Whatever that reason was, I bet a million dollars it had nothing to do with the Distance coming out. Something happened there that we’ll never know, but now when people ask him why he waited so long, he has to come up with some kind of answer.

  14. TayTayFan Says:

    I wouldn’t hold my breath for the release of WATW. It would be nice if it gets released but…

  15. “I don’t believe the excuse of why they held off releasing it.The first time they set a date and everything was good until the day came and it was cancelled for some unknown reason. ”

    I don’t think there is any unknown reason. Pure economics. The Distance sales were not good enough to risk putting another product out for sale at the same time. It’s all coming out of his pocket so it only makes sense. The last article quoted him as saying he felt it was possible the CD could reach 100 thous. So the Grease sales must be doing well enough to project those sales numbers. I’m sure it made him more comfortable to go out on the limb and release the DVD.

  16. taylorfan06 Says:

    WATW is amazing!!! I do hope it is released and that everyone will buy it and watch it over and over and over, and over again – like I have. It gets better and better with each viewing. I have it saved on my DVR but will definitely buy it when/if it’s released.

  17. casualfan Says:

    I think the chance for any real success of WATW is a bit in The Distance. No pun intended. 😉

  18. I agree with you, CF. When/if released, WATW will appeal to the diehard fans. I think Mr. Hicks has become a “niche market”, meaning that he sells primarily to those who have followed him since AI.

    It’s going to take some kind of mega-hit to bring him “diehard” new fans at this point. And by my definition, “diehard” = those willing to plunk down $20 on a dvd of a 2 year old concert and “watch it over and over and over, and over again.”

  19. Actually he is making some new fans through Grease. Here’s an encouraging article I saw:

    http://artzapalooza.blogspot.com/2009/08/chang-chang-ah-chang-itty-chang-shoo.html

  20. Sierra when I read that my first thought was I hope the guy can find it in the stores to buy or is interested enough to go on line to order if he doesn’t. I too think via Grease and his hot looking and sounding TV segments he is grabbing some new fans.

  21. Mama4Peace just dropping in to say the ticket came. We are still working on it. Thanks again!

  22. I am SO out of touch! I lost my wireless connection up in my room and now have to borrow the family computer. So WHERE is this cover for WATW???? The link does not work!!

    Drove by Smith’s yesterday just to “find it” and check out the parking situation etc. Can’t wait till Sunday!!

  23. I think Taylor HAS to be very guarded with what he says to his fans or when he answers interview questions because of the sort of “precariousness” of his career at this point. He’s very popular in Grease, & so far the media have been very kind to him. It’s helping his CD sales, but it could all turn on a dime with bad publicity or if the critics turned on him I believe. These fan battles are ridiculous! I find it embarrassing and I bet if he knew about it (or if he does know about it) he would too. I don’t take sides and don’t even know about all of it enough to, but I do know I thoroughly enjoy BB. It’s such a wonderful place for up to date information and sharing this mutual admiration. I wish the official fan site was so active and alive.

  24. mamaforpeace Says:

    Thanks, Nola, for letting me know you got the ticket:) Hope you can give it away. I KNOW you are going to have a great time you lucky girl!

  25. Nola, hopefully by now you have viewed Tay’s WATW cover and Nils even has had some sex driven female thoughts about His Hotness. Kudoos to Tay and whoever for getting it that sexy in action shots of a handsome, well known guy, is the way to go. The cover of The Distance showed a pale faced, average looking gray headed guy doing absolutely nothing. Had it been all over every store who would be enticed to buy? With this hot looking cover of the real Taylor in 2009, and to the unknowing, the NOW newly intriquing word “Whomp” could be considered a genious in advertising. Taylor has finally learned how to best sell his product and even when and where. Who wouldn’t want to Whomp with that guy and now Whomp =’s fun, mystery, excitiment, some music and best of all sex.

  26. casualfan Says:

    YKW Says:

    August 14, 2009 at 5:54 am
    I agree with you, CF. When/if released, WATW will appeal to the diehard fans. I think Mr. Hicks has become a “niche market”, meaning that he sells primarily to those who have followed him since AI.

    It’s going to take some kind of mega-hit to bring him “diehard” new fans at this point. And by my definition, “diehard” = those willing to plunk down $20 on a dvd of a 2 year old concert and “watch it over and over and over, and over again.”
    ==============================================
    I really enjoy reading your post’s YKW. You are in touch with reality and as usual, hit the nail on the head.

    Hicks and his die-hard fans seem content with rolling back the clock instead of moving it forward. Too little, too late.

  27. hicksaholic Says:

    Rosie,
    Your thought that you hoped that person would be able to find Taylor’s cd in the store was exactly what I was thinking. I am guessing it would be difficult. Nice that somebody wants it though.
    I agree about the cover photo on The Distance and don’t even get me started on the inside shot. Whoever did those photos should be shot. How you could take a great looking guy like Taylor and come out with those photos as the best you could get is beyond me.
    Nola I can’t wait for tomorrow night too. Maybe I will meet you.

  28. casualfan Says:

    The way I heard it-Taylor’s the one who picked out the shots and chose the way he was photographed. Perhaps you should point the gun at him. 😉

  29. I have no trouble finding The Distance in every Target I’ve looked. The one out here in Powder Springs (GA) has both TD and EW. My friend bought TD last night when she was in the store.

  30. Many think the new cover photo was shot during his Cafe de Nord gig. At least he looked a little impish and cute on his single cover and I was good with the TH CD pixs. Taylor, you were nuts for approving the photos for The Distance. Nutty Nuts!!!

  31. Like I said on twitter, call me Missouri. (For those who need clarification, The Show Me State, lol) As an addendum, comparing myself to an idiom connected to a state is in no way an insult to anyone either on twitter or here. Apparently I can be misunderstood at times. 😉

    If the WATW dvd comes out great. I notice he’s getting happy comments from his long time fans. Other people are just wondering WTH is WATW.

    Dee, I certainly hope his business projections are cast by a reliable source and it happens for him. Your theory about his now releasing the DVD makes a lot of sense in this context.

  32. Whomp could be a noun or a verb. The non fans who are not familiar with Tays use of the word, could be intiqued by the combo of the word and a very hot looking guy. Am I once again giving an overly positive spin? Anyway he was wise to go with that cover and I agree had it come out right on top of TD, he would have had two slow sellers at once. This way his multiple purchase fanactics will have had 8 months to save up their dimes.

  33. I was at Target today and noticed a good amount of both CD’s more than the last time I checked. So that is promising. I’ve seen them in Best Buy too but I haven’t been there for a while.

  34. Two quick things then bed…

    I’m THRILLED about seeing Spoonful James tomorrow night!! Getting very excited. IAG, I have not yet figured out how to do video with my new camera. I might work on that in the AM but I really don’t want to spend a lot of time taking videos. I hope someone else with catch a lot for you.

    The other thing – my friend bought TD at Target last night, which was exciting but alas, I just looked at it tonight and it is not the Target bonus version – no IAOK. We will go to the store tomorrow to see if they have any with the bonus. If not, she’s OK with that.

  35. mamaforpeace Says:

    I had to buy the cd with IAOK on ebay. If he does that song tomorrow, someone PLEASE tape it… please!!!

  36. hicksaholic Says:

    mama
    The Boogie Board is supposed to do a cellcert if you are interested. I am sure Taylor won’t be on before 11PM possibly later though.

  37. mamaforpeace Says:

    Thanks, Hicks:)

Leave a Reply

