J is for Jam

Continuing on in the series…

J

J is for Jam

One thing that Taylor loves to do is jam with his fellow artists. Here’s a few:

The Robert Randolph Band

Keb Mo

The Mixed Nuts and Journey

Chris Tompkins

Christmas Jam

Rollin in the Hay

These are just a sampling of some of the great artists that Taylor has played with over the years.

23 Responses to “J is for Jam”

  1. He provided some awesome hand-clapping in that video of “Mixed Nuts with Journey”! (Just kidding!)

    It was so fun that year he was the reigning champ and he kept popping up on stage with various artists. I wasn’t around when he jammed with Snoop Dog, but I hear it caused quite a stir. Even though they were from different musical worlds, I think Taylor made it work.

  2. jerseyirish Says:

    Remember all of those videos, all great jamming vids. For most musicians jamming is probably their second favorite thing over performing at their owns shows. It was great to see him with some many different groups and genres.

    JI

  3. LOL Caryl! Yeah and some incredible pointing was done by all!

  4. hicksaholic Says:

    My nephew who books bands, should see some of these videos to know that other artists can appreciate Taylor’s talents. Too many people in the music business dismiss Taylor just because he was on AI. Really frustrates me- it was a mixed blessing.

  5. I don’t have time to watch all the videos right now, but I love to watch Taylor jam!!

  6. His Sweet Home Chicago blows me away! LOL Last year I recorded his harmonica solo on my telephone and made it my video screen saver!
    Good stuff!

  7. FYI Shadow tour show 9/14 Houston,TX Warehouse Live. Presale tomorrow 12PM venue time at HQ

  8. pearlpattie Says:

    Brian Less posted on FB that he had a good time jamming with Taylor and some others last night at the Rogue Tavern….wish I was there…

  9. Thanks Grey for jamming Tay. I never heard of C. Tompkins. Did he write Kerry’s song? I also hadn’t seen two of the other videos and I bet there are many others I’ve missed viewing. Taylor seems to love jamming with others and you can just see him on the edge of his seat to jump in on the harp. He is not just a band leader and solo artist but his knowledge and love of music lends itself to being a participant. The more I learn about him, the more I get how far away he was from main stream pop when he appeared on AI. He put his flair and own personal touches on his AI tunes and performances, but they were far removed from ‘My Friend’ or ‘In Your Time’, or really from jazz, blues or funk. After viewing the Magic Bag performance I saw what he could do with even some of the songs I didn’t care for his CD’s. And now seeing Tay jamming on an Underwood song shows me he could take country to a whole new level.

  10. Haven’t been online in a while, thanks for the vids! Taylor knows how to JAM!

  11. It is Kelly with a K but Carrie with a C. I knew that! damn it my dammies…..

  12. I get all gushy and nostalgic any time I think I’m getting a glimpse of the real man and jamming is a good time for that because there’s no practicing the notes first, just raw talent and instintive reaction to the other musicians. Love it!!!!!

  13. taylorfan06 Says:

    His 12+ minute version of SMB at The Roxy in L.A. last March was phenomenal. It was a great show and SMB was a major highlight of that show. Too bad there is no video of that one. Jam city, FOR SURE!!! Taylor again in his element!

  14. rjcharris Says:

    My fav is Taylor singing I Shall be Released. I just watch it over and over. The voice, the passion….wow!

  15. casualfan Says:

    taylorfan06 Says:

    July 31, 2009 at 2:01 am
    His 12+ minute version of SMB at The Roxy in L.A. last March was phenomenal. It was a great show and SMB was a major highlight of that show. Too bad there is no video of that one. Jam city, FOR SURE!!! Taylor again in his element!
    ===========================================
    Oh-yes there is 😉

  16. I thought there was one too! (SMB at the Roxy video)

    Good to see you drop in Christa!

    This is the ultimate jamming I think – just sitting at the table drinking beers at The Rouge Tavern after the show the other night. What I wouldn’t’ give to have been there!

    Taylor Rogue’s Tavern 07/28/09 from Samz on Vimeo.

  17. casualfan Says:

    Nola, I recorded SMB at The Roxy in it’s full glory. I chose to not post it anywhere because there are a few people on the tape who don’t want their faces on any boards and I respect that.

    I’m sure there are a few vid’s out there of that epic event. TF is correct in saying that Taylor’s performance on SMB was unbelievable.

  18. CF, I must be thinking of other concerts because I know I’ve seen two different CA live versions of SMB. I thought one was the Roxy…maybe I have not seen that one after all.

  19. Casual fan, is there a way we could blur their faces. I would love to see that video!!!! lol

  20. casualfan Says:

    Legacy, I wish I knew how to do that. My education is very limited when it comes to editing of tapes.

    Oh what a night!

  21. I’m speechless!

  22. Whoops! It was already up there. LOL I guess I never made it through the whole list. I thought I had. Been a busy week. Better check to see see what else I missed.

    Well, Taylor better better singing the blues!! No doubt about it…. that was incredible! Who here saw that live??

  23. Best.concert.ever.

    That was the best one I have ever been to. Even better than my front row experience.

Leave a Reply

