H is for Harp

bigbirdH

H is for Harp

And this, from this morning…oh and Taylor, you started Idol in Feb 2006, not 2005. πŸ™‚ *sigh*

98 Responses to “H is for Harp”

  1. mamaforpeace Says:

    Yessss!!!

  2. mamaforpeace Says:

  3. jerseyirish Says:

    Wow, Simply amazing how he makes that harp scream!!! πŸ™‚

    mamforpeace, That was a nice clip, Thanks!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  4. NolaMar Says:

    Well of course it is. πŸ˜‰

  5. NolaMar Says:

    I think this was overlooked in yesterday’s post, but there is a documentary coming out about the harp called “Pocket Full of Soul” and Taylor was supposed to be in it. I hope he is! Love this picture of him with the article from a couple of years ago.

    http://www.pocketfullofsoulmovie.com/press02.html

    Lets hope they didn’t edit his part out! He’s not on the list of “Players” but it says those are “some” of those interviewed for the movie.

    http://www.pocketfullofsoulmovie.com

    http://collect.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=filmmaker.screeningDetails&screeningID=64922&FriendID=113378576

  6. NolaMar Says:

    M4P, You beat me too it. That CDN harp clip is my favorite!! Of course I have not seen ALL of Taylor’s harp videos yet, but that’s the one I would have chosen to put up too. MORE MORE MORE!

  7. NolaMar Says:

    Back in Feb when I was “rediscovering” Taylor, this video played a huge part in what became my fascination and daily obsession with Taylor YouTube videos. I just sat here with my mouth hung open the first time I watched it. I think I deleted it, but I commented on the video “Is that really Taylor Hicks playing the harmonica on the song?” And the dancing! I never knew Taylor Hicks was that hot! LOL It still makes me smile. I’m sure you have all seen it. It’s a fan video made completely of Taylor Harp clips and put to his performance with Widespread on Fishwater. I still LOVE IT! I often work out to this song. (And I also love “Stop Breaking Down Blues” where he also sat in on the harp with WSP.)

    Oh, and that LIMBO Jam!!! Wonderful!!

  8. Holy hot!
    I remember going positively fanamaniacal (word?) when Taylor came out in that leather jacket playing the harp. That was our ONLY wish during the show is that they would let him play!
    Squeeeeeeeeeeeee!
    I’ve been on vacation myself and am reading like a demon trying to ketch up…..love holidays, hate when they’re over. hehe

  9. I must be hungry, see how I spelled catch up?

  10. NolaMar Says:

    What’s Right is Right w/Copperline Tag at the Magic Bag. This was SO beautiful!

  11. AHHA!! Barb!!

    As much as I love to watch him play the harp, there was nothing like watching him on the Idol tour. It was like he had this sense of freedom..and he played it with an almost reckless abandonment. On his knees alot…god I miss that.

  12. mamaforpeace Says:

    IAG, I think maybe, if you can, you should try and catch one of the shadow tours. You might find some of that same joy watching him now. Just saying….

  13. spinshack Says:

    “And this, from this morning…oh and Taylor, you started Idol in Feb 2006, not 2005. πŸ™‚ *sigh*”
    Technically he did start in 2005, that’s when the actual auditions began for him. The show started 2006.

    Nice clip from yesterday. No time to listen right now, will catch up later. Just skimming through RL Big Real calling. Adios.

  14. Taylor hasn’t been on the road touring since 2005, he just thinks he has and I’ve heard him say it about a half dozen times this past year. Thanks Grey, Mama and Nola for the harp videos. Taylor loves his harps and some of his wrinkles are due to his blowing, sucking and scrinching his eyes while playing. I hope to see him in that documentary.

  15. NolaMar

    Thanks for the link to the movie Pocket Full of Soul, and Taylor is listed under the list of players. Something I will look forward to seeing… and Guy Forsthye is mentioned on that list as well…. that was a pleasant surprise!

    and thanks for the fishwater video too… I have the mp3 but have not seen this fan video!

  16. On a friend’s computer. Dying to click on these vids, but I can’t. No doubt about it, Taylor made the harmonica sexy.

    Question: when is a harmonica called a harp?

  17. From Wikipedia:

    The harmonica has other nicknames, especially in blues music, including: “harp,” “blues harp”, “french harp”, and “mouth organ.

    Why does the term Mouth Organ make me giggle? ahahahah

  18. NolaMar Says:

    Thanks Legacy! I did not realize there was a scroll button on the “Players” list! How great he’s gonna be in it. I would love to see the movie even if he wasn’t. I would also love to go to the premier. The pre-show is probably going to be great.

    Caryl, they will still be here when you get back. Some good stuff!

    Don’t overlook my WRIR video with the Copperline Tag! It’s REALLY nice. I didn’t film most of WRIR. We weren’t supposed to video, but I started when he was playing the harp, then caught the last two choruses, then Copperline with more harp. It almost makes me cry when I watch it. Caryl, you might not be able to watch that one. It was a stirring performance. πŸ˜‰

    You know, I remember that AI guys medley very well too! I LOVED that Taylor played the harmonica and especially Tobacco Road. I remember that song from when I was a little girl. I must have been about 7 or 8 when it was a hit on the radio. Of course there have been many of versions of it since then but I do specifically remember it from then too. I do wish I would have gotten more involved in AI that year, and followed Taylor’s career afterward.

    You know, I really do see a difference in the way he performed back then (Idol tour and after) and now. There was an abandonment that makes it seem more raw and uhhhh… well, raw… LOL Yeah, IAG said “freedom.” Is he more “reserved” now or just more “polished?” While he certainly cuts loose on the SMB videos from CA, he just seems younger and more “wild” in some of those earlier performances.

  19. NolaMar Says:

    Do you have email Caryl? I’ll send you a SEXY harp picture. It’s a screen cap from one of those performances yesterday.

  20. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Taylor was just on a local Philly station and explained that he left his apartment 2/05 and never went back, his folks had to go and clean out his apt after Idol. He was just on the road the whole time doing gigs across the south then Idol.

    JI

  21. Don’t mean to HARP on the subject, but Tay and his team are doing a great job of setting up all these tv and radio appearances in the cities he visits. He is looking and sounding great and has been showing off his good personality. I do tend to harp on the positive. My mom called her harmonicas mouth organs and I had not heard of them being called harps until Randy Jackson mentioned that Taylor playing the harp was hot. I could have a great time working the term mouth organ with regards to Taylor instrument, ah what beautiful music— low down and bluesy, and thrilling! Mouth organs are meant to be played by experts for best results. But even novices can enjoy playing around with them. I shall refrain from writing all that comes to my mind with regards to Taylor’s stated favorite instrument, and just wish all y’all like thoughts.

  22. jerseyirish Says:

    NolaMar, Nice pic!!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  23. Let’s be real NolaMar and other posters. Had Taylor looked as hot and slim and handsome as he now does, and been as polished a performer as singer as he now is, AI 5 would have been no contest. You can’t buy charisma, music knowledge and instincts, drive and personality and even Michael Jackson found out money can’t buy a sexy good looking male. Daughtry, Yamin, and Kat had good smooth voices and Kelly had personality and the voice for potential good country songs and sales. Taylor had drive and still does. His good looks are a huge asset. Being real, most including myself, did not think of him as handsome or sexy when he was on Idol. It was the way he sang and his drive and personality which motivated me to pick up the phone and vote. His drive and efforts, being a never quitter, and his ballsiness do to whatever it takes, and his honeing his talents makes me a current Hicks fan and admirer. Bonus points from me to him are for his working so hard, his fashion sense, his improved and more relaxed interviewing skills, his diet plan, and for choosing a good team to help him maintain and further his career. Oh, and props for branching out and taking risks and settling in well to celebrity.

  24. NolaMar Says:

    Rosie, you have such a great way with words! I wish I did. It would take me 4 pages to try to say what you just did in 1 paragraph. πŸ˜€

  25. NolaMar, You contribute so much both here and on the Boogie. I’m selfish. When I first decided to give my thoughts online, about a year ago, I vowed I’d never post links, give a recap of any Tay performance, post or even take photos of him, and just would give my opinions here and there. I have followed his career, journey since his win in my own way. I do some promotion of him but just do not want to be involved any organized fan thing. I enjoy other fans recaps and vids and photos and their ideas of promoting him and getting radio play. I just enjoy him in my own way and have been stating my thoughts. Iag, Lisa, and other bloggers have been a blessing, a plus, and food for thought and have motivated me to give my opinion. But I just have to be able to be open and have freedom and fun when commenting on blogs and be able to poke fun and say what I feel.

  26. Yes. Rosie, I too think it would have been a big plus for Taylor if he had been as thin as he is now when he was on Idol. In fact I heard him say something about it not too long ago on a radio interview I think. He said something to the effect that he wished he’d lost those 20 pounds before Idol instead of after. LOL. I think it would have made him look younger and maybe gained more young fans. But that’s water under the bridge. LOL. I would take him either way. LOL.

  27. Christa Says:

    That guy sure can play a harmonica, he was self taught correct?

    Loving the TV appearances he’s made the past few days.

    Ugh though, look at this interview-
    http://www.phillymag.com/arts_events/articles/qa_with_taylor_hicks/
    The interviewer is an @$$ so unprofessional, good job to the publicist for stopping it and likewise to Taylor for giving a good answer.

  28. Christa, that interviewer is an ignorant slob. He was trying so hard to make a fool of Taylor. Well Taylor tweeted not to sweat the small stuff.

  29. NolaMar Says:

    Very, very unprofessional! What a jerk. I also agree that the Phylly TV interviews have been great.

    Thanks Rosie, but sometimes I think my “contributions” are nothing more than wasted space. LOL I’m glad you DO jump in and give you opinions! You and so many others too.

    Yes, Christa, it is my understanding that Taylor is self taught on both the harp and the guitar. I wish to learn guitar myself. It’s probably too late….

    Where is everybody? I thought for sure this subject would generate a lot more posts.

    Random: How do you get an avatar on this blog?

  30. jerseyirish Says:

    NolaMar, You have to go into wordpress then you can pick the section for an avi, pick you picture and crop it.

    That interviewer was an “obnoxious ass” there is always a few out there trying to make themselves look good at his expense, they were smart to end that one quick.

    JI

  31. pearlpattie Says:

    What is wrong with people who set out to make a fool out of him….Taylor never bad mouths anybody….so unfair.

  32. casualfan Says:

    Tactful
    Posted by Anonymous | Jul. 11, 2009 at 2:54 PM

    COMMENT:
    Victor what you asked him wasn’t asked tactfully. It’s not that it wasn’t a fair question. It was. It’s no secret that the media doesn’t like him outside of his Grease role. Which is a damn shame. He’s an excellent musician. I, personally would have liked to have heard his answer. Printing what he asked you not to print, not to cool. For those that think Taylor “handled” this well. He didn’t handle anything. His handler got him out of there. Which is so ridculous. His fans defending him to the ends of the earth play a huge factor in why he isn’t liked. They’re mostly empty nesters with their babies all grown and nobody left to protect.
    ===========================================
    I have to agree with this posters comment-Taylor should have taken the hit and answered the question…I would love to hear his thoughts on that. Yes it should have been worded more tactfully but it was actually a valid question. It goes back to Taylor being shielded from certain information of what is being said in the media. Maybe if he would become more informed then he would be prepared for such questions when and if the arise.

    I do think that printing what Taylor asked to not be printed was a tacky thing to do.

  33. Casualfan, what makes you say that Taylor is “shielded from certain information of what is being said in the media?” How would you know that, or is that just your opinion? (Based on —-?)

  34. Christa is no empty-nester. LOL She has not even built her nest yet. I would think fans of all ages defend their objects of idolization, but I have to agree that that TH fans go way too far – I was going to say “sometimes” but it’s more like “frequently.”

  35. NolaMar Says:

    Well, I just caught up on the comments, and I find most of them to be very well thought out and well stated. I don’t see the “mommy defenders” you mentioned for the most part cf. That one ChrisD fan actually threatened someone! That is scary.

  36. Christa Says:

    What’s a ChrisD fan doing on a TH article? 0_o

    ‘Yes, Christa, it is my understanding that Taylor is self taught on both the harp and the guitar. I wish to learn guitar myself. It’s probably too late….’
    —–
    Cool! It’s hard to be self taught.
    Guitar isn’t that hard to learn tho. πŸ™‚ It’s never too late to pick up an instrument.

    Oh and I seem to have left 2 comments on that article. I thought the first one didn’t go through so I typed another one out, rofl my bad!
    I went a little bit defensive on this because the guy was pretty much trying to make him look like an idiot, and it was kinda crappy that the interviewer still printed out what TH said when he clearly said not to print it. Bad journalism on his part. Like Taylor knows the answer to why people seem to want to ridicule him? It certainly isn’t because of his talent, he’s got tons of that.
    Here’s my take on it. When the mainstream media shoves something down your throat over and over, the masses tend to follow to be cool or whatever. Baahhhh sheep.

  37. Seriously, what a stupid question and incorrect grammer, “Why do people hate on you so bad.” Taylor is not a hated world figure or celebrity. There is no answer to such a stupid question. Taylor was there to promote Grease and in so doing himself and he feels the love 8 times a week from the audience who by no means consists of just SP. Random bloggers, radio DJs, a few comments from Simon and lack of radio play and TMZ, does not point to Taylor being hated by the masses as a person or singer. Taylor is a nice guy who was unprepared for such a nasty interviewer who posed such questions as how long are you onstage and why are you the most ridiculed Idol and so hated. He will be prepared the next time, should there even exist another such jerk.

  38. Personally, I think it looks a little ridiculous that his “handler” ended the interview. I’m sure Taylor can hold his own with this guy…too bad they didn’t let him.

  39. I just thought it was a pretty lame question – no matter who it was asked to.

  40. NolaMar Says:

    IAG, IMO the handler sensed that it was a “hostile” interview overall, and I think was right to end it. The fact that the interviewer left in parts that he asked to be left out alone shows it was hostile. Also, the attitude, or inferences, from ALL the questions, not just the hate one, also indicate disrespect towards Taylor. The guy acted like a major asshole. Better for Taylor to have left than gotten into it with a hostile member of the press. He’ll be better prepared for that kind of stuff in the future I hope.

    But maybe it would have been better for Taylor himself to say “Shove it – this interview is over!” LOL

  41. mamaforpeace Says:

    Did I not understand the answer at the very end: “I’m not really worried about the people that don’t like me. I worry about the people who do”? Wasn’t that his final answer? If so, I think it’s a pretty good one!
    Now, for more harp!!!

    Like this one, Nola?

  42. mamaforpeace Says:

    And for some AMAZING harp:

  43. mamaforpeace Says:

    More:

  44. mamaforpeace Says:

    One of Boolz favorites:

  45. mamaforpeace Says:

    Come on, people! What else? I like the harp!

  46. NolaMar Says:

    Yea! More harp! Thanks Mama4Peace!

  47. NolaMar Says:

    Haha, Mama, that is my own video of MSL harp.

  48. mamaforpeace Says:

    Nola… I know:)

  49. NolaMar Says:

    I remembered seeing some female names on the Pocket Full of Soul movie list, so thought I would check some out. The first one is Cara Cooke from Austin. She plays bluegrass “Fiddle Harmonica” and it really does sound just like a fiddle! She’s been doing it for 30 years. Could not find any YT videos, but you can hear a sample song on her MySpace page. http://www.myspace.com/caracooke You might not like that style of music, but she’s REALLY good.

    Oh, and LOVED your three embed Mama4peace! Great picks.

  50. NolaMar Says:

    Ha ha! I was looking for “cool” harmonica clips and found this:
    Harmonica Madness

  51. NolaMar Says:

    Annie Raines: (No embeding)

  52. NolaMar Says:

    OK, first of all, it said embedding was disabled but then the link embedded it anyway. LOL 2nd, she is GOOD! Wow! I had not watched it all the way through when I posted it. It’s long but very worth it! There is short wiki article about her: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annie_Raines

  53. Iag, I agree it would have been nice to see how Taylor would have handled the questions and situation. The PR person had not only heard the antagonizing questions, but saw and heard Taylors pauses and perhaps they panicked when he said don’t print that, I need to think about my response. Hindsight is easy, but I wish he would have asked the interviewer who he thought was hating on him. That way he could have adressed his quirks on AI, the SNL paradody, little promotion or remarks by Simon or bloggers. It was way too of a general statement and only specific things can be adressed. Unless someone was a huge Hicks fan and follower and blog reader, they wouldn’t be aware of how Taylor has been treated. It is my opinion that Victor should have been more specific. As negative as the guy was, I’m amazed he didn’t try to exploit Tay’s Elvis remark. Grey, although none of us are famous, if someone asked me why do people hate me, I’d ask Who Hates Me. Wouldn’t that be your response? The same goes if someone asked me why I was ridiculed. I can respond to specifics, not so good with generalizations.

  54. You gals and your Mouth Organ loving are too funny!

  55. NolaMar Says:

    OK, I could do this all night so someone else jump in here! LOL
    Kim Wilson:

  56. Just having some fun with the harp fans. My mom, who was 44 when I was born way back when, fancied herself as proficient on the harp. But I never knew of it as the harp. As far back as I can recall, she’d pull open an end table drawer and show whoever her latest mouth organ. Even as a teenager I was way too naive and innocent to see the humor. My dad died when I was 13. I was raised Catholic and had 13 yrs of Catholic schools, talk about inhibitions! IAG, reminded me of the term mouth organ. Until AI5 and Hicks I knew that little music maker was called a harmonica, by professionals and the public and that my mom called it a mouth organ. Bottom line for me is OMG, one has to really have an ear to imitate any sound at all, much less any song or background music. I do know, due to CF one can learn to play the harp. Just wonder about those who are gifted in picking up or self teaching any musical instrument

  57. jerseyirish Says:

    Just got back from Grease a little while ago, the show was great, got to meet Taylor after the show. He was very sweet held my hand for a bit. He was great with everyone there. The lobby was packed with folks waiting to see him!!

    JI

  58. NolaMar Says:

    Rosie, that is so cool about your mom! Was she musical in any other ways?

    JI I know it was a very special afternoon for you! Glad you go the chance to meet Taylor and talk to him.

  59. I think this was his final answer to the question. “I’m not really worried about the people that don’t like me. I worry about the people who do”?
    I take it to mean he’s just concerned with pleasing his fans. After all there would be no point in trying to please the haters.. right? He also asked Taylor how long he was actually on stage. I’m surprised he didn’t make a deal out of the fact he was billed as the star with a small part. Who knows maybe that was what he was going for but Taylor didn’t give him the right answer to lead into that. Also just because the so called journalist (I use that term lightly, given the bad grammer) said his handler put a stop to the interview doesn’t mean it happened that way either. Could be they were pressed for time. Given the way this writer put a negative twist on the whole article, I wouldn’t take his word for it.

  60. casualfan Says:

    Moma-Thanks for posting that video on Jason Ricci. He is one of the most powerful harp players of our time and shows a true passion for not only the craft but the instrument itself. Jason takes each harp he plays and spends hours reconstruction the reeds and other mechanics to ensure that he gets the best out of the instrument. He’s sharp, young, very talented and highly intelligent. He has gone above and beyond many times in giving free harp lessons to children and adults among other things. He’s a great guy and I look forward to seeing him in concert in a few weeks.

  61. casualfan Says:

    Another great

  62. casualfan Says:

    Topper Price-another legendary harp player

    http://www.bhamwiki.com/w/Topper_Price

  63. casualfan Says:

  64. casualfan Says:

    Of course, this ALWAYS get’s me on the floor πŸ˜‰

  65. casualfan Says:

  66. casualfan Says:

  67. casualfan Says:

  68. casualfan Says:

  69. casualfan Says:

  70. casualfan Says:

  71. casualfan Says:

  72. casualfan Says:

  73. casualfan Says:

    I can obviously take this into well the infinity of time but for me these are some my top harp players.

    KUDDOS to all of the musicians who continue keeping this awesome little but powerful pocket full of soul instrument alive!

  74. mamaforpeace Says:

    Thanks Nola and CF for sharing these. No time to see them all now… I’ll come back to it later.

  75. NolaMar Says:

    I woke up in harp heaven! πŸ˜€ (Thanks CF)

  76. mamaforpeace Says:

    cf, where are you seeing Jason Ricci? On his tour schedule, it shows he’ll be in Sacramento in August, but the club’s website doesn’t have him!

  77. casualfan Says:

    I’m seeing him in LV on July 30th and the 31st. He will also be at the SPAH convention in Sacramento from Aug 11-15.

  78. casualfan Says:

    mama-He’s also playing here and giving harp workshops

    http://www.fireonthemountain.com/bluessch.html

  79. Anyone “thirsty” for more harp? I always forget what an awesome harp player Bruce Willis is…………..I couldn’t find any good vids showing him harping it up, BUT, I always like seeing Bruce Willis strut his stuff!
    The harp player is pretty good, too!

  80. casualfan Says:

    Thanks Barb! I totally forgot about Bruce Willis.

  81. With BB King, Bruce Willis & Billy Preston.
    The blues harp starts around 1:20
    LOVE BB KING!!!!!!

  82. Had no idea that BW played the harp! Will watch later but thanks for more vids.

  83. The Harpdog rocks! Enjoy!

  84. I’ve enjoyed watching all these Tay harp vids once again and I also watched half of the other players. There is just something about Taylor that does it for me. He seems to go into a higher plane at times when he looses himself in the music. His instincts on the harp are great. There is no doubt in my mind he’d rather be touring his music instead of Grease. Damn, I hope someday he will be able to afford a super tour bus. Right now he needs to make a come back impact on the public. That may have to be a movie or a bigger Broadway role if he can’t get a hit song. He is way too good to be forgotten or ignored.

  85. jerseyirish Says:

    Loved all the harp vids, thanks for finding and posting!!

    JI

  86. (sorry, couldn’t resist)

  87. suze4158 Says:

    lol, Caryl.

    I will post my favorite artist, Billy Joel, first with some early harp (and a hideous moustache), and then this link for much later with his read on American Idol with some interesting advice (notice it was in 2006 that this was made!)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwdfBKcE4fE

  88. suze4158 Says:

    Trying that BJ link again.

    And I am on the floor with cf watching Taylor do Take the Long Way Home. Ummmmmmmm….

  89. I have always loved that Take the Long Way Home clip. Thanks for posting it.

    Thanks for the rest of those harp vids, too…those are great!!

  90. casualfan Says:

    Taylor’s harp intro on Take The Long Way Home is the very source of inspiration in more ways than one πŸ˜‰

  91. Just catching up on some of these that I had not had a chance to watch yet. i LOOOOOOVE Jason Ricci! Fabulous!

  92. CF that blues festival looks awesome. And the SPAH convention…. I wonder if Taylor is involved in that? He ought to be. I agree about that TTLWH video – it about does me in to watch that!! Inspirational indeed…. πŸ˜€

  93. casualfan Says:

    I’m excited about the blues fest. It will give me the chance of catching some really good blues acts and harp workshops. I plan on taking lots of video to test out my new hybrid camcorder πŸ˜‰

  94. casualfan Says:

    I totally agree about Taylor being involved in blues fest’s. I think he would truly shine in those types of venues. I would give anything to see him and Jason Ricci on stage together.

  95. Thanks for all the vids! Billy Joel still does IT for me! LOL
    and Steve Tyler rocks that harp like no other!

Leave a Reply

