Over the Rhine…

I’m thinking it’s time for some new music. Check this band out..

They’re known as Over The Rhine.

After more than 15 years making music, it’s obvious Ohio duo Over The Rhine is in it for the long haul, and for keeps. Their commitment is underscored by their latest, The Trumpet Child, and its opening track, “I Don’t Wanna Waste Your Time,” a manifesto of sorts for the artists recently named to Paste magazine’s list of 100 Best Living Songwriters. Look no further than the lyrics to this track for what animates Linford Detweiler and Karin Bergquist, the married couple at the heart of Over The Rhine: “I hope this night puts down deep roots / I hope we plant a seed / ‘Cause I don’t wanna waste your time / With music you don’t need.”

“Believe me, we don’t want to waste anybody’s time,” elaborates Detweiler. “When we stop believing we’re doing our best work, we’re done. Every song has to be good, every record has to be great, every concert has to have some spiritual significance—something that we can’t quantify, something bigger than all of us.”

Awesome.

See if you can catch them in a city near you…

6 Responses to “Over the Rhine…”

  1. Karen Bergquist’s voice is intoxicating. I’m definately going to check these guys out… love their version of “Hallelujah”.

    btw, here’s the top 10 from Paste Magazine’s Top 100 list:
    The Top 10

    10. Prince
    9. Joni Mitchell
    8. Elvis Costello
    7. Brian Wilson (The Beach Boys)
    6. Leonard Cohen
    5. Paul McCartney (The Beatles, Wings)
    4. Tom Waits & Kathleen Brennan
    3. Bruce Springsteen
    2. Neil Young (Buffalo Sprinfield, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young)
    1. Bob Dylan

    Go here to see the entire list:
    http://www.pastemagazine.com/articles/2006/06/pastes-100-best-living-songwriters-the-list.html

  2. Great list! I woulda put McCartney higher but number 5 aint bad at all!

    That song “I Don’t Wanna Waste Your Time” is very very nice. Sounds like “The Right Place”

  3. The piano intro sounded a bit like either “Georgia” or “Desparado” to me … but it was pre-coffee, so who knows!! LOL!

  4. Yeah, it sounds like Desperado to me.

    I’m not big on women singers…not sure why, but I do like her voice.

  5. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Waht a lovely voice she has, so full of emotion, thanks for the find!

    JI

  6. NolaMar Says:

    Just finally able to come check these out – very nice! Yeah, her voice and singing style are really good. I especially love the end on Hallelujah.

    Cool to see the top 100 list of living song-writers YKW. Thanks for posting that link.

    IAG, I’ve often wondered if you didn’t care for women singers. Also, you never seemed (to me) to be too impressed with Grace Potter. I don’t know IF that is true, but if so, let me say that if you could hear her live in a small intimate venue (like I did here at The Parish) you might change your mind. She (her voice) was mind blowing. She was great the whole concert, but I was especially amazed when she came out and sang “I Shall Be Released” for the first encore song, alone with just the organ. Incredible! It was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

