Dear Taylor, I’m back….

and I see all it took was for me to go away for a week. Oh sure, then you start listening. Watching these videos made me all warm and gushy. What did I see? I saw you sit down on a stool and pour emotion into a song, a song that I think I incorrectly said you never would sing in front of an audience. Oh yes.

I’ll overlook the part where you kind of screwed up the lyrics. We’ll call it “artistic license”. I don’t think I’ll ever understand why people feel the need to scream out their love for you during a song. At least this one was at the end of it.

Maybe You Should…tell the audience to shut up when you’re talking. Anyway, I love how when you’re really into a song, you sing out of the corner of your mouth. Nice little quirk.

While this isn’t one of my favorite songs off the album, I love it in this setting. I love the harp, I love the emotion, I love the tagging. Well done. Your voice is amazing in this one. Here’s where that tag came from…

Nice.

This has always been one of my favorites that you cover. You and Brian Less really complement each other vocally. The whole “audience singing thing”?? Good. Very good. Nice job of interacting with the audience.

Ok, let’s review.

1. You did an acoustic gig.
2. You sang openly and with much emotion.
3. You sang Indiscriminate Act of Kindness and Maybe You Should.
4. You were awesome.

This is what you should be doing every night, Taylor.

Yours in conditional love,

Straw

93 Responses to “Dear Taylor, I’m back….”

  1. Yay! You’re back!! I missed you so! Hope your vacation was everything you wanted it to be!! I was floored by IAOK and MYS being performed as well. Maybe he’s listening?? Nah!

  2. Welcome home Straw, and wonderful post! Good to have you back. 😀

    Oh, did you catch that look he made when he sang “All I ever got from you was always just enough for me”?? !!!!! Or how about “Sugaree”??? OMG! The whole place moaned when he did that. Really – even the group of 90 something people on the cellcert heard the collective moan from the audience when he sang “Shake it, shake it, Sugaree!” OOOOO!! (Calm down NILS!!)

  3. Thanks, guys…I had a great trip, but it is definitely good to be home.

    If Taylor’s listening, I’m planning a trip somewhere warm in the fall. If he’s going to do a shadow tour, I need to know about it early. ahahhahahah

  4. Suagree is in Gonna Move above. !!!! Loss for words!! (If someone can make out what he says right after please post it. I can’t make it out. )

  5. Welcome back! Taylor pulled Magic out of his Bag! Wait…that didn’t sound right.

  6. Cheese n rice!! That was awesome. I think I’m going to have to go to one of these shows.

    Does he say Johnny Curtis right after?

  7. Caryl…you always have a way with words, don’t ya?

    AHAAHAA!!

  8. LOL Caryl!!

  9. mamaforpeace Says:

    Welcome back, AIG:) Glad you had a good time. I wish I had been at the Magic Bag, but hopefully, Taylor will do more of these shows. He is ready, now I hope the audience is ready to listen!!!! They seemed to do pretty well this time.

  10. I meant what does he say just after he tags Suragree, around 3:30…

  11. Amazing show- I’m SO glad someone got IAOK! Welcome back IAG!

  12. Hey have you guys heard this?

    SHOULD SEXY ASSISTANT SARAH GO OUT WITH TAYLOR HICKS? YOU BE THE JUDGE!

    http://my.wrif.com/mim/?p=2274

  13. Pipsmom Says:

    IAG is back . . . Taylor sang IAOK and was awesome . . . and I’m posting here for a change.

    🙂

    It’s a good Monday.

  14. NolaMar Says:

    Sierra: “Hey have you guys heard this? SHOULD SEXY ASSISTANT SARAH GO OUT WITH TAYLOR HICKS? YOU BE THE JUDGE! http://my.wrif.com/mim/?p=2274

    We were talking about it a little on the previous thread… Could he really have gone through with it after that? Brave soul! (Unless he didn’t know what they did.)

  15. Well after that radio fiasco I really don’t think he’d go anywhere near her, but who knows? I could be wrong.

  16. Hope they don’t show up in photos in Hawaii! LOL

  17. spinshack Says:

    “Yours in conditional love,”

    Great ending. hahahaha Indeed.

    I had nice things to say about him too and at him on twitter. He done good. I positively Squee’ed like a little fangurl over IAoK when that vid came up.

    Just the night before I was whining away @TaylorRHicks (lol) about crying in my pillow if there wasn’t a vid about it and just like some sort of Magic Bag – *poof* – there it was the next day.

    All the vids came out really well. Who is that edjorg anyway?

  18. I don’t know anything about this Sarah fiasco, and I’m sure that I don’t want to. *puts fingers in ears* lalalalaa…

    I have to admit that I was a little speechless watching IAoK. Kind of like watching your child ride a bike for the first time. Ok, that really wasn’t the right metaphor. But does anybody get what I mean? We knew it was in there the whole time, just waiting for him to find it. And then, there it was.

    *happy sigh*

    Now, go screw something up Taylor…just so all can be right with the world. 😉

  19. spinshack Says:

    “Hope they don’t show up in photos in Hawaii! LOL”

    Me… on the other hand… NO I kid.

    Seriously though, why would he want to actually date that Sarah chick after that conversation on air? hahaha.

  20. hicksaholic Says:

    Twenty seems a little young for Taylor. But I guess it’s only a night out not a lifetime commitment. If he heard the interview he ought to run fast. If he goes out with her she may be spouting all over the radio a lot of stuff he doesn’t want everyone to hear. But whatever, Taylor’s a big boy. I am sure when he asks people out at a radio station he is aware this could happen.

  21. jerseyirish Says:

    Sierra, They are having an update with the Sara thing today, don’t know when it will be posted. I thought she should have said when he asked her if she was still in shcool and she said yes then he asked her out for drinks at that point she should have said I’m not 21, but she didn’t.

    iag, Magic Bag was my first cellcert, it was wonderful then seeing the videos afterwards made it even better. I still believe he is following the path he finds best for him that he is not at a place where he can just do shows like this all the time, just my opinion.

    JI

  22. He says King Curtis, King Curtis, Soul Serenade. Is that what you’re talking about?

  23. casualfan Says:

    I hope T did take Sara out. He deserves to have a good time and the lady is over 18 so why not? Besides, I’m sure he will have someone else along for extra company. 😉

  24. Come on Grey, you gotta read about this one. Start in the previous thread with Rossie’s post at 2:27.

    Maybe he really did go out with her and she came to the concert? Maybe that’s why he was so happy? 🙂

    Hicksaholic, you have a great point about dating someone in radio. I thought that he and that beautiful dark haired woman who interview him in Hollywood (forget her name EW I think?) looked really hot together and there seemed to be chemistry. But then I thought, how could he really trust a reporter not to just play the part then use it for her own benefit after?

    Oh, no JI! They are doing an update? Dreading that one…. I hope they are at least fair to him about the concert.

  25. So they are doing an update? I guess we’ll find out what happened.

  26. Oh, I have no desire to get that involved in his dating life. If he’s happy, he’s happy. If he’s not, then he’s not.

    We’ll see.

  27. You know what I want? A picture of his boots he wore at the Magic Bag.

    Yes, I am that superficial. 🙂

  28. I had fun listening to the 41 minutes of radio about Tay and Sarah. I was impressed he had gone to the Magic Bag the Fri. before his gig and bought everyone shots and hung out and threw back a few with them. Some of those guys I believe then went to see him Monday night. He is still doing his agressive self promotion. I was also surprised they said he had brought a big entourage with him to the station. Also I forgot how young (some) 20 yr old can seem. The DJ”s were sexist IMO and lastly I got a kick out of the guy using the phrase his Staff Of Justice. If Taylor can get this much time in each city on the radio by getting the phone number of some female staffer, I bet he does so.

  29. Grey welcome back and glad you have had a chance to check out the videos. I Also thought he did a great job on WRIR and even OUAL which I usually skip on the CD. Taylor and the Grease cast are on vacation this week but he has that gig on the 4th.

  30. The boots were awesome! There are pictures. I’ll find. I have them on my computer in fact but have to find them online.

  31. spinshack Says:

    I couldn’t listen to that whole radio schtick with that gal and DJ’s going on and on about the date. Guess they needed to utilize airspace. lol

    Made it through a few minutes and that was sufficient to get the general idea. The Copperfield lecherous comments were hilarious. 😛

    Now c’mon y’all we’re not gonna go the route of China patterns next are we? Gah, the whole debate about who looks good with him, if there’s chemistry – certainly the poor guys needs to date occasionally. I’d go nuts without, you know, some action on a regular basis. 😉

    Back to the music, I really hope in B’Ham he does this sort of thing. I’m wondering if vids w/b allowed – considering the viability of free advertising they provide the artist, they should never be banned.

  32. mamaforpeace Says:

    Oh, man! I have zero interest in the girl story, but I am just so happy with these vids. A great big thanks to all who defied the rules and got them for us. Anyone else who thinks that Taylor must have been working very hard at his craft? In the last few shows, he seemed so much more “polished”… and I mean that in a very good way. He does seem more comfortable on stage, and his voice, his emoting of the songs, the whole thing! OMG!!! Great job indeed, Taylor!
    I have a ticket to the show in Atlanta. It was only $25, you know! Now the flight from California is a wee bit more than that. If all works out, I’ll be able to tie this in with a vacation with my husband, going to see John Boutte in Nola (keeping fingers crossed that he will be there), and then on to see Taylor. Next step is to convince my husband it is the vacation HE wants to take.

  33. No living artist does this kind of music and performance as well as Taylor. I think he has a raw talent a true love of music and is willing to bust his buns to succeed in the business.

  34. Ah, sun, that’s not what I meant. (China patterns?) Guess I better learn how to better express my thoughts. 1. I don’t care who he dates but I only hope he does get the opportunity because like you said, everybody needs that. 2. My point was meant to be that my personal thought at the time was that it would be great for him to go out with her (for reason #1) but then wondered if dating a reporter would be such a great idea. This radio thing is the perfect example. Look what happened when he only aksed her out! They made a 45 minute radio segment just of that.

    OK, subject dropped….

    Mama4P, hope your vacation plans work out for you! We still never made it to see Boutte. Did you see ALL the vids? These are just some of them. There are more. Lots of great photos too.

  35. NolaMar Says:

    Ok here are the boots. I did not take these but put them in my album just to show you. I gave credit… this picture and the one right after..
    http://rajraesmusicsite.shutterfly.com/459

  36. jerseyirish Says:

    NolaMar, Nice find!!! Those were some boots.

    JI

  37. casualfan Says:

    itsallgrey Says:

    June 29, 2009 at 10:48 am
    Oh, I have no desire to get that involved in his dating life. If he’s happy, he’s happy. If he’s not, then he’s not.

    We’ll see.
    ========================================
    You should know by now that whenever there’s talk about a girl with Taylor it will be milked too death.

    Now on with the music and welcome back!

  38. casualfan Says:

    NolaMar Says:

    June 29, 2009 at 1:33 pm
    Ok here are the boots. I did not take these but put them in my album just to show you. I gave credit… this picture and the one right after..
    http://rajraesmusicsite.shutterfly.com/459
    ============================================
    I don’t think these are boots….T’s black socks are peeking out the back-haha

  39. NolaMar Says:

    You may be right!! Snakeskin shoes?

  40. casualfan Says:

    Looks like it Nola. He wore some hot shoes/boots a few years back we all thought were boots that weren’t. They still look good though.

  41. casualfan Says:

    My ex hubby always referred to them as pansy boots.

  42. Christa Says:

    Loving all these Magic Bag videos, Taylor was awesome! Then again he’s always awesome when performing, hahaha. Maybe You Should was my favorite, that should be the next single.

    I’m not sure if Taylor wants to go out with Sarah after she told everyone, but good luck to them if he did take her out.

  43. I’m going on vaca now, so you won’t be hearing from me for awhile. I’m gonna unplug and be out of the loop on purpose. Hope y’all have fun. (But not too much! I don’t wanna miss anything good!)

  44. *scuba-diving*

  45. Hey Y’all, I like talking about all things Taylor from his music, his love of buying many pairs of (out there) shoes/boots to the fact some 20 yr old girl thought he asked her out and had a special interest in her and listening to on air people and radio personel talking about him like a celebrity. China patterns suck in general as does talking about fans marrying him off to anyone. I only brought the topic over here because I found the entire thing amusing, 41 minutes devoted to a casual comment by Tay and the unique and humorous label of Staff Of Justice. Sure the Nils in me heard the comments of nice guy, and hung like a horse and could visualize one great Staff Of Justice, but Rosie only wanted to give y’all a chance to listen to the commoners talk about Mr. Hicks on a Detroit radio station.

  46. Hey, I can identify with Nils. It is ALL about the music, but man oh man, that singer showed some thighs while sitting on that stool. That singer showed emotion in his voice and persona which outshown both the music and lyrics. That guy became one with music and lyrics yet managed to surpass both.

  47. I saw the boots.

    *dies*

    thanks, Nola.

  48. Have a great time, Caryl!!

  49. “That guy became one with music and lyrics yet managed to surpass both.”

    hey, Rosie, that was really well said!

  50. NolaMar Says:

    Well, I know I said I wold drop the subject but now I want to know what happened with the follow up today. Can anyone point me to a blog or thread about it? And I understood you thought it was all funny Rosie. I guess after the other dating/girlfriend disasters (which I had no knowledge of prior to coming to this blog a few months ago) no one here can stomach any talk of dating/girlfriends when it comes to Mr. Hicks – even when a radio DJ refers to his private parts on the air.

  51. Yes Caryl, have a great vacation. I will miss your blog and comments elsewhere.

  52. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, Just saw that about Ace getting engaged, very happy for him!!!

    Have a great relaxing vacation!!!!

    JI

  53. Thanks for the well wishes, you guys!

  54. NolaMar, The funny part is no way would Taylor have any long term interest in a 20 yr. old girl, yet she and the other radio guys and the call ins discussed him, her and the subject as either he may or was out for what he could get in Detroit. I also am curious to hear the follow up since I do not think there could be much to follow. The most outstanding thing to me that for 3 plus years following Taylor, there is no scandal, no so called tell alls from women. Is it because he is nice guy and no one wishes to tattletale , or is it because he is not a big enough celeb for the mags and rags to report? Nolamar, all we know as fans is who he went with to his senior prom and as in reported in People, who he dated for four and a half years. We learned about CL thru Splash and both he and she were trashed on the net. They soon after broke up. His love life has never ever been big news for magazines or TV. Who knows if that is good or bad for him as a person or as a singer or celeb? If I were in his position, I’d say the hell with it and let it all hang out. Guess I’m of the theory of being honest and doing what I want, and in Tay’s case letting my music, talent and so called fame ride with the tide of the public.

  55. NolaMar Says:

    Oh, so Ace is engaged… how nice for him.. Did I tell you that on the HQ questions for Taylor page I asked Taylor to marry me? LOL Then I said I was just joking because I was already married. I did then ask two legitimate questions. (Maybe I should go erase the proposal part…… )

  56. I don’t know, Rosie…it’s interesting the way the media plays things out, isn’t it?

  57. NolaMar Says:

    Rosie quote:
    “Who knows if that is good or bad for him as a person or as a singer or celeb? If I were in his position, I’d say the hell with it and let it all hang out. Guess I’m of the theory of being honest and doing what I want, and in Tay’s case letting my music, talent and so called fame ride with the tide of the public.”

    I agree… I think. I mean, I don’t blame someone for wanting to be private, but on the other hand what a way to have to live. And maybe a little scandal or even just gossip would be good publicity for him? LOL

  58. I haven’t checked in for a long time, but was reminded of the site while I was in Detroit. Why did I ever lose track of y’all? Anyway, I’ve caught up over the last few days. You’re a fun bunch! I’ll have to stay tuned in.

    Detroit was my fourth Taylor concert. Without question, it was the best. For those who felt that Taylor had forgotten his roots and why we initially were so taken with him and his music, the show was clear evidence that he hasn’t changed. This kind of music is in him; it is who he is. I’m just so happy to have experienced it. (And to have met some of you while there)

  59. casualfan Says:

    I think Taylor is playing it smart and close to the vest concerning his private life. He’s no doubt had plenty of opps to date celebrities but he has chosen to not go down that road for privacy reasons which IMO is the smart choice. It seems T wants to be known for his MUSIC and his TALENT and yes as “Cone Ranger” and NOT for who he dates. (wise move) 😉

  60. IAG, I do believe if you and I met in person we’d have much to talk about. I have no clue what you meant by ” it is interestiing the way the media plays things out, isn’t it.” Maybe I Should, after all these months of reading and posting. I do know from reading your blogs and enjoying the discussions, that you are against him touring as Teen Angel, and want him to be out there only touring his music, especially in an acoustical venue. I gave up the discussion, about 3 or 4 months ago, as to how he could or should do that from a finacial point of view, I post here because I know you at one time were captivated by his talent. You do provide povacacitive topics. You may not be behind him 100%, Grey, but you have allowed this to be the most open for discussion Hicks forum.

  61. jerseyirish Says:

    CF, I agree about Taylor wanting to have his music talents exposed and not his private life. I also think he is smart to keep that aspect of his life out of the public eye.

    JI

  62. NolaMar Says:

    Well look’it here! Now we know what those photos were for – the very one you used in the previous thread Straw!

    http://rajraesmusicsite.shutterfly.com/463

  63. jerseyirish Says:

    NolaMar, Saw the cover a little while ago did you get to read the article? took a look at what you had but couldn’t read it.

    JI

  64. NolaMar Says:

    Yes, I’m in the process of reading it now but wanted to show everyone. I know my pictures of the scans are not readable. Not sure what else to do. It’s at the BB everyone, and very readable there.

  65. jerseyirish Says:

    NolaMAr, Thanks I’ll take a look over there!!!

    JI

  66. Oh, rosie, I think we would have a lot to talk about. I was once just like you in my tay fandom…but now I have a little bit more cynical attitude. It’s all good.

  67. I think Taylor prefers to keep his personal life private for himself but also for the woman’s sake. Look what happened to poor CL. All she did was date a guy and photos of her were blown up and scrutinized, her schedule was researched, etc…Taylor must have felt bad that that garbage was part of the deal when you date him.

    Yeah, I’m still here, but just barely! I’m checking in before I go to bed.

  68. Caryl…you planning on checking in while you’re gone?

  69. Birmingham is diced potatoes and small change in the fame game, and call me lame but how sad that the 25O,000 home town folks have not supported his win with buying his Cd’s. What the hell Alabama is up with that? Are you folks into yourselves that you can’t reach out to support and promote a talent from your State an AI winner? There was R.S and then Bo took 2nd place. I watched Taylor and his homecoming and the hoopla concerning his win. Alabama citizens need to get off their duffs to support their recent hometown celebs. Hate to tell you all, but I am of an age when Alabama was very negative in the USA news. Many of you were not born then or of age or consent and most of the rest would have said OMG, and no way. Sorry, Grey and others who read here, but I just do not understand Alabama’s lack of support for Taylor Hicks and so many of those state citizens have the money to purchase his CD’s. Given the attendence and recpeption of his AI in town appearance and his win and all the hoopla, I just do not get that states lack of suuport for his CD’s.

  70. Ok, color me confused. Just because people are residents of a state does not require them to buy CD’s of AI contestants.

  71. I don’t know how much I’ll be able to check in, but I may pop in from time to time.

  72. Grey, Sorry but I”m still somewhat puzzled about B’hams and Bama’s and the deep south’s lack of purchase and support of Hicks Cd’s.

  73. Caryl, My goodness, go girl and no need to post your thoughts. We all respect your past blogs and have found 95% of your posts/ comments to be not only fun but right on target. You are not only an asset to this blog but claim your own well written blogs and are a positive force on others. When I vacate later in July I shall inform no one. No one will miss me,

  74. OMG, Rosie, you’re not gonna believe the new post I JUST put up. Thanks for what you wrote. Every now and then a girl needs to hear that she’s appreciated.

    And B.S. that no one will miss you! We’ve all been whining that you’re not on twitter. You would be a fun addition.

    Sorry I keep dragging out my goodbye! haha! We’re gonna be on the road for a while and my family always frowns when they hear these words from me, “Can I use your computer?” I know they’re thinking, “There goes Caryl with her Taylor Hicks thing again. What’s WRONG with her??!!”

    Well, this is really it. Gotta turn the old computer off and go to bed. See ya!

  75. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    June 29, 2009 at 11:15 pm
    Grey, Sorry but I”m still somewhat puzzled about B’hams and Bama’s and the deep south’s lack of purchase and support of Hicks Cd’s.
    ===========================================
    rosie, Taylor was part of the music scene in B’ham for over 10 years so he’s really just part of the fixtures now. The AI win fairy dust wore off right after his win. Southern people for the most part are just wanting to live their lives and raise their families. People who live in TN don’t fall over themselves with the country stars either.

  76. hickasholic Says:

    Well I am one Alabamian who supports Taylor by buying his cd’s – I think I bought 5 of The Distance. It might have been 7. So far I’ve purchased 12 of his concert tickets to the three concerts around here. That I am going to have to stop doing because unlike a cd a concert ticket is a little pricier and if i don’t sell the unused ones for face value I’m out some money. I just get so excite when the concerts are announced and have visions(very rarely realized) of all of these people that might want to go with me and then they wouldn’t have a ticket to get in.

    Rosie, I can’t believe I listened to that whole 41 minute interview but it was almost worth it to get the “Staff of Justice” phrase. I’ve already had occasion to use it.

  77. spinshack Says:

    Rose, you can’t expect the whole of B’Ham or Bama to commit to buying his music. That would be like expecting everyone here in Texas to buy all of Willie Nelson’s or Los Lonely Boys or Blue October’s. Just because they’re from the region the region doesn’t need financially dole out the financial support. It’s a nice thought though.

    I for one Can’t wait to return to Alabama in the Fall. YAY!

  78. Taylor knows how to pick ’em!

  79. spinshack Says:

    Off topic, IDOL BLUES has been put in blogger jail! That Mean Guy I love to torment flagged her! We’ve been handcuffed and spanked… for 2 days. Just thought I’d let you all know if anyone ventures there ever.

    Apparently “Someone” hates thinking I’m making fun at their expense. Boo.

  80. mamaforpeace Says:

    Such an awesome picture there on the side!

  81. NolaMar Says:

    Say what mama4p? What are you talking about? What picture on the side of what? LOL I’m lost!

  82. mamaforpeace Says:

    Nola, look on the right side of the screen before you hit the comments bar.
    And you should check out John Boutte, really… you are so lucky to live in a city with such great music! He plays at DBA on Frenchman Street every Saturday nights at 7, just for tips. This is another musician I can’t believe isn’t getting more recognition!

  83. mamaforpeace Says:

    Wait!!! Now the pic is gone! What are you doing to us, AIG? Or did I just imagine it?

  84. NolaMar Says:

    I’m not seeing whatever I’m supposed to see. LOL

    And you know we had plans that one night to see him, that our lovely daughter ruined, but we have not gotten our act together since then (meaning I did not arrange it).. I do want to!

  85. spinshack Says:

    That was a good photo, I stole it yesterday when I first saw it. It was a big one, the pic, I mean.

    I love New Orleans, we’ve not been since shortly before Katrina but are planning to come sometime later this yearl. I’ll give you a holler Nola when that firms up.

    Off topic, my blog has been set free apparently. Also my issue with a certain acquaintance appears to be on much better footing. 😉

  86. NolaMar Says:

    Well, shoot, now I want to see it. Tweet it or something. Please? At least tell us what it was of.

    I hope you come in the fall when the weather cools down, and after hurricane season is over! I should have not mentioned the H word. I want a NO EVACUATION season this year. Please God!

    Glad your blog has been liberated.

  87. NolaMar Says:

    Great news – SMB is still #1 Video and #1 Country Video at muvids.com. And now, WRIR has moved up to #25 under the Pop category. I think Taylor’s people and fans are doing something right. Just hope the radio takes notice of all this and opens up to him soon.

  88. Good news Nolamar! I sure hope radio gives him a break.

  89. SMB was also the second most watched video on AOL, right after Thriller. The top 10 most watched are just about all MJ’s except for Taylor. How can that be, since it just can’t be the ardent fans watching. Hopefully is will be on the On Demand station soon. Did anyone read the interesting article in Bham magazine about Tays business affairs and people? There are quite of few peeps on his payroll. People are ordering the magazine from all over the country. Oh and the MJ story is getting bizaar.

  90. Just happened to catch a very talented country singer on America’s Got Talent. Not certain but think his name is Kevin Skinner. He moved me. Should he obtain success it would be the ultimate rags to riches story. His last job was being a chicken catcher. This guy shed on air tears of sincerity and joy. The audience gave him a standing O and the judges loved him. I’m no country fan but this hayseed has the voice for country love songs.

Leave a Reply

