D is for Dancing

d-count-alphabet-letters-to-print

D is for Dancing

When Taylor Hicks was on American Idol, he was known for his dancing, or lack therof, skills. He was made fun of and taunted, but yet the groove prevailed.

After AI, the dancing continued.

On the AI tour:

On his own tour:

On TV:

Watching these makes me cringe, though.

57 Responses to “D is for Dancing”

  1. casualfan Says:

    I LOVE “Play That Funky Music”. Him hitting the floor is priceless. LOL!

  2. jerseyirish Says:

    His dancing is part of his quirky charm, loved all the video’s shown, just Taylor being himself, how can one not love it!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  3. NolaMar Says:

    You forgot the Shake N Bake (starting around 1:55)!

    (Posted this under “B” for Blues but it was after everyone had moved on…)

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    Nola, Remember that one, great. Love his spinning!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  5. blueberry Says:

    “Watching these makes me cringe, though.”

    I get what you’re saying here. Technically, I suppose he is not a dancer, although what I love to watch is the total abandonment, the joy, whatever it is some of us lose as we get older. I don’t know if I’m alone in this, but that is what I see and enjoy. I remember seeing a video of him and Melanie singing Dancing Queen and his dancing in that is what I remember.

  6. They don’t make me cringe- I just love that about him. He’s fearless.

  7. NolaMar Says:

    When I got back from my TX road trip in Feb (where I re-turned on to Taylor,) I started watching YouTube videos. One of the first ones that really got me hooked was a fan video using Fishwater by WSP. I was going to post it but after watching it again I guess it’s more for “Harp” than “dancing”. (Remember that IAG if your “H” word is HARP.) Whoever made it did a GREAT job of fitting the visual to the song. And there is a dancing segment in the middle that just did me in, quirky or not. LOL

    I agree with blueberry – it’s that total abandonment at times that just gets me. I guess that’s why I love that Huntsville CTW and the Shake N Bake videos so much. I think he’s a more reserved now in his latest concerts as far as dancing goes. At least from what I can tell from the videos.

  8. You forgot this, Grey. Perhaps the greatest example of Mr. Hicks dancing moves:

  9. jerseyirish Says:

    I agree with all, he just gets lost in the music and moves naturally for him to the music, just love his dancing!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  10. NolaMar Says:

    I went to HQ at 3:00 to get my tickets for the Workplay show in Sept. By the time I got to the ticket page at 3:04 it said that all the pre-sale tickets were sold out! I was SO disappointed! About 10 minutes later I went back and this time it did not say “sold out” so I was able to buy 2! But it’s weird how that initial disappointment hit me so hard that I’m not even feeling the excitement I would have been otherwise. I have been waiting for months for a chance to see another live show. Now to decide if I will go to Atlanta AND B’ham. I will go to GA if there are no shows in Texas. But I can’t imagine him being in three cities in TX and not doing a concert.

  11. NolaMar Says:

    Thanks YKW. I was going to go find the Dancing Queen video but you beat me to it. πŸ™‚ Love that one too!

  12. jerseyirish Says:

    YKW, Dancing Queen one of my favorite vid’s, thanks!!! πŸ™‚ Never get tired of watching it.

    JI

  13. rjcharris Says:

    He makes me smile. Everytime, I just smile like an idiot. I love him. He is one of a kind…no one can compare. Thanks for all the great videos.

  14. Meg Collins Says:

    β€œWatching these makes me cringe, though.” Thus *SPAKE* IAG/

    So…IAG ??? Is Bluberry Correct about why you cringe???

    Why… why do you cringe?

    As for me… I love watching him dance because for me Taylor seems to brim over w/music — uncensored, unbridled, music –voice/soul/harp.. tags … grove and the dancing is just like his body must be in the act too. The music TAKES him… all of him.

  15. casualfan Says:

    Don’t worry about that Nola…HQ only has a few tkts anyway and it’s general seating. You probaby could have called SMiths and got the tkts from there.

  16. Snowstorm Says:

    His dancing is just plain awful, buffoonish and amateur. I’ll never forget the sexual dancing he was trying to do at his show. My girlfriend who came with me, could not stop laughing. I’ve said this before, he either needs lessons or he needs to stop.

  17. I loved that one of him on the AI tour. You never know what he is going to do but for me it always works. The music and dancing are who he is and I just love him.

  18. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosei, I agree his dancing is just part of who he is and what has kept alot of folks interested. I love to watch the way he works the stage with all his moves. πŸ™‚

    JI

  19. NolaMar Says:

    Casualfan, I got tickets for Smith’s yesterday on Ticket Alternative, and for Workplay this afternoon from HQ on the pre-sale page.

    I did not follow Taylor from AI until I saw his concert here at HOB, maybe a year later? What amazed me (besides his voice & his band) was his energy – he never stopped moving. He was soaked in sweat by the end. (Changed his shirt for the encores.) (Yes, I know that is common now that I’ve seen all the videos.) I’m just saying you can tell how much he loves the music, and he puts a lot into his shows. I don’t remember him trying to be “sexual” with his dancing – just groovin to the music.

  20. NolaMar Says:

    MegC said: ” I love watching him dance because for me Taylor seems to brim over w/music β€” uncensored, unbridled, music –voice/soul/harp.. tags … grove and the dancing is just like his body must be in the act too. The music TAKES him… all of him.”

    Yes, very true and I can relate to that! I can’t NOT listen to music without moving. Even if it’s just my hands while I’m driving. Seriously, my kids get upset with me sometimes. LOL I can’t video concerts either because I just HAVE to MOVE. Even just standing in one place, not on a dance floor, I can not keep still. I appreciate the people who made the videos of the recent concerts. I’ll not be able to do that. I will take stills, and maybe excerpts, if it’s allowed, but most likely no complete songs. (I’m SO hoping to be at the very front.)

  21. mamaforpeace Says:

    Hey, Nola, got tickets too for Atlanta. I hope I can make it! I’ll still be on vacation, so I’m not totally crazy… I have a PLAN! Now, to get my husband to sign up on it:)

  22. I love the way he moves to the music. I thought his moves on Dancing Queen was very sexy. I played it for by 24 yr old daughter who claims to not like him and as I was trying to tell her the story behind the song as it was playing she SSSShushed me and watched intently LOL.

  23. casualfan Says:

    I don’t think T’s dancing is awful. He gets into himself and moves with his emotions…there’s nothing fake or wrong about that, after all isn’t that what dancing is all about…self expression?

    If anything he looks goofy when he plans his moves. He’s a free spirit who needs to move at free will on the stage.

    ***now back to my Codeine induced slumber***

  24. I think his moves are sexy because he is not trying to be and even when he does the silly sexy moves, and butt shaking, he come across as a fun sexy guy. He needs no dancing lessons just as he needs no singing lessons. Tay understands people and knows what works.

  25. NotaTard Says:

    A. He can’t dance.
    B. He shouldn’t try.
    C. WTH does it matter his technique anyway since it’s him
    D. Get tanked and parTay.

  26. NolaMar Says:

    Dee can you explain the Dancing Queen thing to me? I don’t know the whole story. I know it was his last concert, and I heard he had never sung DIMYP at a concert. LOL about DD! I’m trying to get my oldest DD interested too.

    Hope you can go M4P!

  27. mamaforpeace Says:

    I’d posted this in an earlier thread, but look at John Mayer’s face and body as he gets into the music:

    Is that any different? I so agree with you, Meg, nothing better than watch the music take over!

  28. mamaforpeace Says:

    Was this posted before? It really belongs with A for acoustic, but it shows that he can too stand still. Maybe a preview of the next show?

  29. casualfan Says:

    Is that any different? I so agree with you, Meg, nothing better than watch the music take over!
    ====================================
    Guess my post’s are now being ignored because this is exactly what I was saying. πŸ˜‰

  30. I personally like his moves. You can tell it’s the music coming out through his pores. People can laugh, make fun, whatever… it’s what makes Taylor …Taylor.

    I would rather see him spastically moving on stage, than standing there like a bump on a log.

    Surprise!!!…Snowstorm doesn’t like it!!!

  31. Snow is self-contradictory………dislikes Taylor so much she buys a ticket to a show and brings a friend, then stays on a Taylor discussion board to tell the fans he stinks.
    I share the same contradictions sometimes, too.
    It’s what makes people human I guess.

    Love the dancing! We should all move more! (Especially me LOL)

  32. mamaforpeace Says:

    CF, I always read and appreciate your posts:)

  33. CF I always read your posts too. πŸ™‚

  34. Snowstorm Says:

    Feeling the music and dancing are two different things!

  35. Snow, I don’t understand how feeling the music and dancing are two different things? Isn’t feeling the music really the definition of dancing?

  36. jerseyirish Says:

    Snow, The two go together you got to feel the music to move to it.

    JI

  37. casualfan Says:

    Snowstorm Says:

    June 10, 2009 at 10:45 am
    Feeling the music and dancing are two different things!
    =======================================
    Tell this to Madonna!

    “Get Into the Groove”…..

  38. casualfan Says:

    Did “The Boss” get it wrong too?

  39. casualfan Says:

    And how can we forget THIS classic….

  40. I think this guy totally got it right.

  41. casualfan Says:

    OMG! I just lost my dose of Codeine……ROFLMAO!

  42. casualfan Says:

  43. casualfan Says:

  44. casualfan Says:

    Even this silly ass song has displays emotion=dance

  45. jerseyirish Says:

    CF, Great examples of feeling and moving to the music!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  46. suze4158 Says:

    A crowd favorite, here, is the CTW clip.
    What would that performance be without Taylor dancing?

    Although I find Taylor’s dancing funny and entertaining, I think it adds to his dork quotient, in general, and may hurt his quest to be considered a serious musician.
    As a fan, I want to keep seeing him play, dance and emote onstage….but does it help him?
    Kind of a philosophical question, since part of him winning AI was based on those onstage moves.

    Wondering if dancing is not much a part of the shadow tour performances? I have not noticed much dancing, if any, in the clips I have seen.

    And my reply to the donna summer clip is at 4:04 here…
    http://www.truveo.com/Simmer-Down-Now/id/574814413
    tee-hee.

    See ya.

  47. NolaMar Says:

    Suze “Wondering if dancing is not much a part of the shadow tour performances? I have not noticed much dancing, if any, in the clips I have seen.”

    I said the same thing above Suze……… he’s not…

  48. I see my earlier post supporting CF did not appear. People read and pay attention to your comments CF, they were just stating their thoughts on the matter in their words. Dancing In The Dark Night was the night I fell in love with Taylor Hicks music and performance style and became one of his big fans. His joy, talent and enthusiasm just got to me.

  49. That bird dancing was one of the funniest things I’ve seen! Hope it didn’t injure its brain.

  50. hicksaholic Says:

    I love Taylor’s moves. They may not be perfect but they seem to fit him. I think if he consciously tries to stop it will be like a little part of him is missing. I got tickets to Smith’s. Unfortunately despite repeated valiant efforts so far I don’t have tickets to Workplay but I will be trying tomorrow.
    I LOVE this alphabet series! Great idea IAG.

  51. I love Frostie the bird. He reminds me of Taylor….. just shaking whatever part is feeling the groove!!!!!!!

  52. suze4158 Says:

    Nola said: I think he’s a more reserved now in his latest concerts as far as dancing goes. At least from what I can tell from the videos.
    ________________________________________
    I missed that comment, Nola!…I am hoping to find out for myself at Smith’s, too! (working with DH and kid’s schedules)

  53. suze4158 Says:

    I know no one is looking here, but I ran across this video of a spontaneous dance party. OMG, this is classic. And funny. And telling on group mentality.

    http://video.msn.com/?mkt=en-us&vid=f84e921d-e950-41a3-a021-f45350e7e038&playlist=videoByUuids:uuids:00bfcfed-c817-4904-8a9c-38834cf39524%2C5b0d4240-6861-4a7e-9e2b-2c1121806aeb&from=MSNHP&tab=m137&gt1=42007

  54. suze4158 Says:

    I give up…it won’t go to that video… if you look on that page where the cop is playing, you will see one that says… “Out of Nowhere, a Dance Party”. Hope you find it.
    Can’t write on blogs worth a cr**.
    Bye!

  55. BabyDoll Says:

    Taylor’s dancing is part of his legend. It’s part of who he is as an entertainer. Anyone who says he should stop does not understand his style of entertaining at all. It is not a concious thought. It’s just what he does, like the soul singers he has studied. When he feels it, he moves, rather than the JustinT robots who have to have a choreographer. He does not need one, and that is his charm. I like to think of it as his way of making love to the music he’s feeling. Wheeeeeewww!

  56. I hate choreographed dancing. It’s boring as hell

Leave a Reply

