C is for cone. ETA: Picture

Oh yes, there are several possibilities for C. Country, controversial, capable…but the one that stands out for me the most?

300px-Cisforcookie

C is for cone.

Like it or not, Taylor gets in a cone eight days a week, sings a song and calls it a day. But lately, we’ve been treated to tweets where he refers to himself as “The Cone Ranger”. Seriously, Taylor? Oh, the lovable dork strikes again. What’s next? He could write another book…he could call it “Memoirs from the Cone Ranger.” *sigh* Wait, if Taylor’s the Cone Ranger, does that make Bill Will Tonto?

lrtcolor

As much as it hurts me to do this, I am…

OHHELL. I was trying to find a picture of Taylor in the cone, but I can’t find one. There was fifteen minutes wasted. Ok, so, pretend I just put up a picture, ok, kemo sabe?

Hi Ho Silver…away!!

ETA: Photo found by YKW

TayHandToEarLiz

69 Responses to “C is for cone. ETA: Picture”

  1. Christa Says:

    Cone ranger, lol I love him 🙂 Adorkable.

  2. spinshack Says:

    Blazin’ saddles Grey! He actually tweeted about a book…the other night. lol With a hearty Hi Ho Silver!

    Just because I love old flicks.

  3. Oh hell, he did?

    Dammit, I need to keep up more.

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    That was a funny tweet “The Cone Ranger Chronicles”, he is gettng very witty with his tweets! 🙂

    I get a big kick out of the vids I’ve seen when he opens that cone and has that bar hoding him in. I know many don’t like the whole Grease thing, but I think it has been very good for him.

    JI

  5. He wore a cheeshead during BSD in Wisconson, the audience roared and Frenchy said something like, as if this number wasn’t cheesy enough and Tay just hammed it up even more. He loves entertaining people, has a new audience every performance, sings his single, travels, does the shadow tours and makes good money. What’s not to love? Don’t knock it, if you haven’t seen it. He is loving it, I truly believe that. It keeps him out there, and allows him to work on his music. The recap is on the BB and his tweet was his next book will be Chronicles From The Cone. Katja, did one of her cartoons of he and Bill in the cone and one of him in a cheeseball, since he tweeted he was off to that great cheesball in the sky. Guess you can see I’m going to make a positive alphabet soup of all the letters. Bill’s new nickname is Pronto, as in ready to quickly aid the Cone Ranger.

  6. Just noticed JI gave the exact tweet/book title. Some on the BB are actually suggesting he will and or should write such a book and that Katja should illustrate it. Haha.

  7. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, That would be awesome, his adventures in the cone, and her drawings, perfect!!!

    JI

  8. But seriously, what kind of adventures could he have? The cone opens, he sings, the cone closes.

  9. casualfan Says:

    You read my mind IAG! Not interested in any “cone chronicals” Pretty boring stuff.

  10. Grey, this series is hysterical. I’m totally loving the Sesame Stree gang!!
    Also, really enjoying all the wonderful music coming from everyone, great links!!

    As for this:
    Guess you can see I’m going to make a positive alphabet soup of all the letters
    Well, thank god we have Rosie to keep this from being a true “hate blog”, b/c ‘acoustic’, ‘bromance’, and ‘cone’ are all so fucking negative. Shame on you, Grey. *rolls eyes*

  11. There are his adventures in traveling around the Country. It has occured to me that some who did not like him taking the role on Broadway, may not have the appreciation that I have for Broadway and theater. I know it is a small role but he mostl likely was wise to start small. He knows he has been a huge success in that role. His timing, voice, stage presence and comedic flair are super. The Tonys are on now and so many great actors and actresses have graced the Broadway stages. Living in Maryland I started seeing Broadway shows when I was 7. Went when I was 10, 15, 17, and even insisted going to N.Y. for my honeymoon. I was only 19 and wanted hubby to experience Broadway. I still have all those old Playbills with autographs and some were huge movie stars and Tv stars. Tay may joke about the part, Cone Ranger, because he knows some of his fans do. It will be interesting to see what if any roles he takes in the future. I’m sure he was joking about writing a book, but who knows, maybe he journals.

  12. YKW, What I meant is that some that I know of do not like him doing the role and I intend to point out the positive aspects. Let’s say D would be for dorkiness well being dorky could be good or bad. Get the drift? I was negative about the orange and brown shirts in the B thread, so I’ve filled my weekly quota of negatives.

  13. It really doesn’t have anything to do with whether or not I “appreciate” Broadway. It has to do with what seems like, to me, time taken away from his music, from the concerts. That’s why I don’t like him in Grease. It’s just a personal feeling, not one that needs to be justified to anybody else, really.

    Eh.

  14. I am with you my Grey sister, Eh.

  15. mamaforpeace Says:

    The Cone Ranger, ha! He is showing that he does have a great sense of humor!

  16. casualfan Says:

    I have to agree with IAG on this one too. I am personally tired of having to defend my feelings to people who consider what I say as being negative towards what Taylor does. I’m done justifying anything to anyone period.

    I hope Taylor does find success in his acting venture because his music career is pretty much going down the tubes. For the folks who are happy that Taylor is doing Smith’s and Workplay….I don’t take that as a compliment-Taylor should be past those bars and well into bigger venues and not having to go to “friends” to call in favors, especially in the south where his biggest fan base concentration is.

  17. casualfan Says:

  18. Ernie gets a special ice cream cone!

  19. Photos of Mr. Hicks actually INSIDE the Cone are difficult to come by. I’ve heard rumors that the Cone is a bit of a diva and dislikes being known only as a vehicle for Mr. Hicks, insisting instead that the Cone is a character in its own right. I suppose that point is arguable, but don’t think that this is the place for that discussion. (And yes, the Cone insists on refering to itself in the 3rd person… draw your own conclusions… )

    I did manage to find this rare photo; note, the railing inside the Cone which Mr. Hicks must cling to, to remain safely inside the twisty swirl. You just never know when the Cone might go into meltdown mode, and all, including Mr. Hicks, would be swept out in the deluge of cream and calories.

    (Check above in original post for picture)

  20. Tay covered in cream and calories would be a delicious treat! LOL

  21. NolaMar Says:

    “C” is for Chest Hair!

    Loving these ABC IAG.

    Barb, thanks for the Ernie video. I love Ernie!! Fun watching the Lone Ranger clip too Sun.

    The “C”heesehead recap really cracked me up Rosie. I did not get that tweet joke at first. Not a football follower, and I’ve never seen the movie Grease all the way through, even though my kids have watched it a zillion times. Thought I had seen most of it from the kitchen or walking by, etc. I saw part of BSD recently, (first time ever for that scene in the movie) but didn’t know the words to the song. So the whole joke went over my head till someone explained it all to me. LOL It makes even more sense, and fun, when reading about what he did in the show. The recap sounded like the audience was kind of lukewarm when T first came on, but went wild when he did the cheesehead stunt, and the extra jokes, etc.

    YKW, where does the Cone do all this talking about itself?

  22. NolaMar Says:

    Do we need a moderator in here? (Or should I say “Counselor”? Where’s Troi when you need her?) Sometimes we are all a little too defensive, myself included. I would think one reason we are all here is to “justify” our opinions. Just need to do that in a way that doesn’t sound like we are attacking the other person for their point of view. I don’t think Rosie meant to do that. Just a little eager to point out the positives of the cone….. IHO..

  23. Christa Says:

    I don’t see anything wrong with Mr. Hicks performing in the workplay theater, the shadow gigs are meant for smaller venues. This one carries like 400 people from what I’ve heard.

    He did a gig there post AI too.

  24. NolaMar Says:

    CF said: “I hope Taylor does find success in his acting venture because his music career is pretty much going down the tubes. For the folks who are happy that Taylor is doing Smith’s and Workplay….I don’t take that as a compliment-Taylor should be past those bars and well into bigger venues and not having to go to “friends” to call in favors, especially in the south where his biggest fan base concentration is.”

    Thanks for deflating me CF. 😦 I don’t know how big Smith’s or Workplay are. I saw Grace Potter and the Nocturnals last Wed in a what seemed a very small venue, which surprised me. AH told me it had a capacity of over 350 – It shocked me to realize that Taylor’s concerts have been in similar sized venues. Just like GPN, it doesn’t seem right. I was surprised to see that David Cook will be performing at HOB too (but in the bigger room where I saw Taylor in 2007.) With having sold over 5 million, I figured he was doing larger places, arenas, etc.

  25. Sierra quote: “Tay covered in “C”ream and “C”alories would be a delicious treat! LOL”

    Oh, you naughty thing!! 😉

  26. jerseyirish Says:

    YKW, Thanks for the cone picture, I know there aren’t many around with him coming out of the cone!!!

    JI

  27. Christa Says:

    I read about the cheesehead during BSD, that’s so funny lol

  28. spinshack Says:

    Yeah, that whole, “Isn’t this cheesy enough” line shows the level of fun the cast has with Mr. Hicks and each other. Interactive theatre has its merits.

  29. spinshack Says:

    BTW have no clue why I came in last night as “Sunny” rather than Spin, but hey you all know who I am. lol (Even if wordpress was confused.)

  30. Snowstorm Says:

    The Cone Ranger crap Taylor tweets about is about as interesting as paint drying.. dull, corny and cheesy pretty much describes it. He’s not winning any new fans and he gets very few replies, of course, it’s the same people replying over and over again.

    Taylor never tweets about his real life or personality, except the few times when he dissed The Bachelor and said he liked Feist and he even made fun of his own fans, because some of his idiot fans keep saying “safe travels” on his myspace, like he’s a 5 year old child! …he obviously doesn’t like it!.

    I’m convinced the ‘real’ Taylor is just a snarky SOB, who likes to play his fans. Notice how some of his tweets are like a riddle for fans to figure out…NOBODY CARES TAYLOR! His tweets only confirm my suspicions about him…he’s a fake!

    Edited by IAG

  31. Snowstorm Says:

    casualfan, his biggest fan base concentration is probably the Northeast/New England, and perhaps the Mid-West area. I honestly do not think it’s the South anymore. Other than the small group of fans he has, I think the South has completely forgotten about him.

  32. jerseyirish Says:

    Snow, You never tell anyone you know going away to have a safe trip? Geez I’ve been saying that to folks since I was a kid, I was always taught to wish folks well when they travel. Don’t see it as a sign of treating anyone like a 5 yr old. My kids always say the same to any of their friends going away or to hubby and I if we are going away. I find it as a sign of caring that you arrive safely.

    JI

  33. The Cone Says:

    YKW darlin’ I am not in third person. I will accept nothing less than first person. I hold the diva twenty feet above the rafters, if he gets to bitchy, I have total control. It’s me that decides to let him descend.

    The piquant tweets are privacy protected.

    😉

  34. Snowstorm Says:

    jersey, I tell people I know “safe travels”, not total strangers! You are a complete and total stranger to Taylor Hicks and he is a stranger to you! You talk about him like you know him and you don’t! The reality show he was on has clearly manipulated you. He does not care about your “safe travels” and he clearly snarked on and made fun of people who wish him “safe travels”.

  35. Well I don’t find the tweets dull- I enjoy them. And although I think there is definitely a snarky side to him, I don’t see him as only being that. There’s many sides to him. So he only gets a few replies? Maybe I’ll start replying to him. 🙂 Thanks Snow.

  36. The Cone Says:

    This didn’t seem to go through the last time.

    YKW- I refuse to speak in or be spoken about in the third person. I’ll except nothing less than first person.

    Why, yes. Yes, I do house the diva twenty feet about the stage in the rafters above. Never underestimate the power of an inanimate object thats in total control of his descent. What goes in inside of me is conflicting. But, I can tell you that the piquant tweets are private. Much like the diva.

    😉

  37. YKW, I have never called this a hate blog. If you read what I posted, I was pointing out the positive aspects of Tay’s cone gig and included it helps him make good money to fund his music. Did anyone say acoustic or bromance or the cone were negative topics? Have I ever implied I’m the only positive poster? Surely by now you must have noticed that I am a big fan of Taylor and would be likely to have something positive to say about all aspects of his career, life and music. I allow others to give their opinions. Well, I’ll just get to the point. I did not enjoy your snark.

  38. Okay, I’ll bite.
    Snowstorm how do you know Th gets very few replies on Twitter ?

    I looked at some pages of people I follow and who follow me . . I can’t see any way to know what they get for replies from people I don’t also follow . . short of checking the individual pages of each person to see If they responded to someone I don’t follow. Whew . . did you follow all that ?
    Is there a Twitter app that gives you information on how many responses someone gets ? . . if so would you please tell us what it is ?
    Otherwise we are left to assume that you follow all 2,431 of Taylor’s followers . .. which would be – well – kinda weird.

    —————————————————

    YKW . . . is it just Road Trip Cone that has the Diva attitude ? . . you know, because it is newer and fancier than poor old retired Broadway Cone.

  39. jerseyirish Says:

    The Cone, hahaha, thanks for giving us the inside info.

    JI

  40. Snowstorm Says:

    AH, it looks like you don’t know very much about Twitter. Twitter has a search engine. All you have to do is type taylorrhicks in the box and click on Search and you see ALL his replies.

    http://search.twitter.com/

  41. LOL! Taylor the cheesehead…

  42. Yea, Cone, I had guessed that there are the “Cone” tweets and there are private “piquant” tweets to the lucky few. Tell Taylor we REALLY liked the Memorial Day tweets and wouldn’t mind a lot more like that. Maybe you can set up your own twiiter account and you can give us more scoops? (OH DID I JUST SAY THAT???? ROFLOL!! )

  43. Cone, did you have to spray some glade in there after transporting the cheese?

  44. jerseyirish Says:

    Nils, Saw the pic, someone put it up on twitter!!! )

    JI

  45. casualfan Says:

    Thanks for deflating me CF. I don’t know how big Smith’s or Workplay are. I saw Grace Potter and the Nocturnals last Wed in a what seemed a very small venue, which surprised me. AH told me it had a capacity of over 350 – It shocked me to realize that Taylor’s concerts have been in similar sized venues. Just like GPN, it doesn’t seem right. I was surprised to see that David Cook will be performing at HOB too (but in the bigger room where I saw Taylor in 2007.) With having sold over 5 million, I figured he was doing larger places, arenas, etc.
    ========================================
    awwwwwwwwww-NOLA, that was not my intention. I was only pointing out the fact that if Taylor has all these new fans that some claims he has then he would want to play in a larger venue to accommodate them. Smith’s/Workplay are old stomping grounds for Mr. Hicks and it seems that he remains stuck in the same vortex as before he won AI. Stopping by to “jam” there is one thing but for a shadow tour he should be well past the stage of those venues.

    Having all that said-if you do get the chance to go to any of these venues by all means go. Seeing Taylor perform live is indeed a treat. 😉

  46. jerseyirish Says:

    cf, Isn’t his shadow tours listed as “intimate” dates that says to me smaller venues. I didn’t expect him to large places with these tour dates only small venues to keep it more like up close and personal.

    JI

  47. casualfan Says:

    Sierra Says:

    June 8, 2009 at 3:28 pm
    Well I don’t find the tweets dull- I enjoy them. And although I think there is definitely a snarky side to him, I don’t see him as only being that. There’s many sides to him. So he only gets a few replies? Maybe I’ll start replying to him. Thanks Snow.
    =======================================
    I doubt there is a shortage on Tweet responses to Taylor’s tweets. Anyone can go fishing into the public profiles of his followers and see that many tweet him back. I’m not seeing where he’s responding to anyone. I would think that would show up on his tweet account if he is.

  48. NolaMar Says:

    You can see the replies to Taylor by putting @TaylorRHicks in the search box. He would only see them himself if he checked that page. Unless he is following someone they don’t go to his main page.

  49. The Cone Says:

    Nils.. I have a Twitter. http://www.Twitter.com/DairyCone

    I don’t use it often though.

  50. mamaforpeace Says:

    Lots of great musicians play small venues, which I prefer, both because they are intimate and cheaper. For example, I love Van Morrison, but the last time he came in my neighborhood, I couldn’t shell out $200 per ticket!
    I think maybe we expect too much for Taylor. Not many artists can fill out big venues. We wanted a shadow tour, and so far, he has done one show in most big cities he has been through.
    As far as Grease, it feels like a “Groundhog Day” conversation… we keep going over the same stuff, some think it’s good, some not, we have all given our reasons. Fact is TH is doing it, so good luck to him. Bring on as many shadow tours as possible is what I say!
    I really like the conversation with the Cone, though!

  51. I think it’s going to continue being the same conversation, until Taylor starts doing something different. 🙂

  52. NolaMar Says:

    I bought 2 tickets to the Atlanta concert tonight. Now I have to figure out if I’m going or not. If any concerts come up in Texas I’m going there and probably sell these.

    C – Concerts! How many has everyone been to? Me, only 1!!!

  53. casualfan Says:

    A friend sent me this tonight. Thought some would enjoy this article…funny stuff and VERY ACCURATE!

    http://tech.msn.com/products/slideshow.aspx?cp-documentid=19445651&imageindex=11

  54. casualfan Says:

    mamaforpeace Says:

    June 8, 2009 at 10:33 pm
    Lots of great musicians play small venues, which I prefer, both because they are intimate and cheaper. For example, I love Van Morrison, but the last time he came in my neighborhood, I couldn’t’t shell out $200 per ticket!
    I think maybe we expect too much for Taylor. Not many artists can fill out big venues. We wanted a shadow tour, and so far, he has done one show in most big cities he has been through.
    ==============================================
    Ok mama I get what you are saying. If Taylor wants to continue on the same bar circuit that he’s played in since before Idol for the rest of his music career than more power to him.

    After all, Taylor is either on a first name basis or face recognition with almost every fan that goes to his shows-intimacy indeed.

  55. jerseyirish Says:

    Hey Snow, Took a look at Taylor’s tweets found this, you are hiphop144 on twitter, you come here and make fun of folks for wishing him safe travel and look who does it also even with lol you still wished him well:

    hiphop144: @TaylorRHicks Safe travels! LOL! 😉

    JI

  56. casualfan . . love that online types piece you found !

    I do understand what you’re saying about the venues, but I don’t agree that size is a big deal for these shadow shows . . or that it is necessarily what Taylor wants . . but the venues fit what he’s doing now.
    The earlier ones had both new band members and new music being worked out . . there was probably very little time to rehearse as a group and don’t care how good people are – it takes time to gel as a band.
    Now he’s going to try something else that is probably best worked out in a smaller more intimate venue.
    In short, these are more like a series of one-offs with pick up musicians than an album tour with a set band. Also the places he’s played have been places that regularly book live music . . where I’m from that is different than the neighborhood bar having music on Saturday night.

    But will acknowledge I’m possibly prejudiced . . I much prefer the smaller venues and have heard some wonderful music in them by people whose names are familiar to people who love music . . but they aren’t going to attract the screaming masses needed to fill a stadium . .and somehow I think most of those artists are okay with that.
    I’m sure if we all contributed to a list of artists we’ve seen in small venues, we’d be seriously impressed with the names involved and think TH is in pretty good company.

    ……………………………………………………………………

    AH, it looks like you don’t know very much about Twitter. Twitter has a search engine. All you have to do is type taylorrhicks in the box and click on Search and you see ALL his replies.

    Hmm, I’ve used the search engine for topics . . didn’t occur to me to check up on who responds to Taylor . . guess you’re a much more dedicated fan than I am, sno w.

    …………………………………………………………………….

    The Cone Says:
    June 8, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Nils.. I have a Twitter. http://www.Twitter.com/DairyCone

    I don’t use it often though.

    Now that right there is funny !

  57. hicksaholic Says:

    Nola
    How much were the Atlanta tickets? I forgot to buy mine yesterday but I am planning on doing it tonite.
    How many concerts- 13 for me but several were afterparties in the same town as the concert I attended. Two of them were Workplay and Smith’s. Both were great.
    I haven’t figured out who I will go with. I’ve used up all my favors with friends. They enjoy Taylor live but are not really into taking vacation or traveling to see him. I will buy the tickets and figure it out.

  58. jerseyirish Says:

    Nola, I’ve only been to one also, so hoping he will have one in Philly in July!!! 🙂

    AH, I agree when I saw Taylor the place held 500, for me the smaller the better, everyone I spoke with after the show loved the smaller venue they all felt connected to him and the music.

    JI

  59. NolaMar Says:

    hicksaholic, they were $25 plus a $3.50 fee. It came to $57 for two. I liked that Ticket Alternative only charged $3.50 whereas Live Nation hit me for like $10 extra per ticket for the House of Blues.

  60. NolaMar Says:

    JI I would be surprised if he doesn’t do a shadow show in Philly. Keeping my fingers crossed for you. Here, I’m having to drive 5-8 hours away to see a show. LA or MS are not on the Grease schedule that I can see.

    I mostly saw the big name bands so 99% of the concerts I saw growing up were in big arenas or stadiums. I had a blast, but the concerts I remember as being the best were in the smaller Music Hall (Santana 1970) or the even smaller Liberty Hall (Bruce Springsteen before he was famous). Went to the AI7 tour concert last fall and though our seats were fairly decent (we paid a ton for them – never again!) I enjoyed my recent (and Taylor’s 2 years ago) HOB concerts much more.

  61. NolaMar Says:

    C for country – it seems that country is really where it’s at these days…

    Not about Taylor or the cone -BamaJam……
    http://consequenceofsound.net/2009/06/08/cos-at-bamajam-09-country-comes-home/

  62. jerseyirish Says:

    NolaMar, I also remember the biggies in the 60’s & 70’s that I attended, but found seeing shows in smaller venues for me is much more enjoyable.

    I’m about 40 miles from Philly, 10 miles from the Pa boarder. I keep looking for a date hopefully he will. I think Rosie said she might come to Philly that would be great!!! 🙂

    JI

  63. Snowstorm Says:

    jerseyirish, you are confused. I am not hiphop144! I have a Twitter account, but I have NEVER replied to Taylor’s tweets!

  64. casualfan Says:

    It’s understandable why everyone wants and prefers smaller venues-I prefer them also. What I meant by my post regarding T playing at those venues is that at this stage in his career-performing in Grease, winning American Idol one who expect him to have the fan base to sustain him in a larger venue, that’s all I was implying and I apologize for any confusion.

    I didn’t mean to sound cynical in my prior posts. I really am happy that Taylor is even doing shows and I’m grateful for the ones that I have been fortunate enough to attend so far.

    For what it’s worth-I’m recovering from strep throat and high as a kite on medication =(

  65. This is my favorite comment. THIS.

    I hold the diva twenty feet above the rafters, if he gets to bitchy, I have total control.

    I need to go back to working on a new post.

  66. casualfan Says:

    LOL! Having the POWER is a wonderful thing! hahahaha!

  67. NolaMar Says:

    Fangirl is just dying to scream something out here but I’m repressing her!!!! Ach!! Crude girl go away… 😉

  68. NolaMar Says:

    She’s strong! She typed it but I deleted it before she could send it…. nasty girl!!

  69. mamaforpeace Says:

    CF, one of the things I like about this community is that we can all have our opinions and still show respect to each other, so it’s all cool!
    I hope you feel better:)

Leave a Reply

