A is for Acoustic

Today, I’m starting a new series called “The ABC’s of Taylor Hicks”. Each post, I’m taking a letter of the alphabet and exploring a topic somehow related to, you guessed it, Taylor. Obviously, we’re going to start with the letter A.

200px-Martians-lettera

A is for Acoustic

Ah, acoustic. This is the music that I want to hear Taylor sing. I want to hear him slow down, grab a chair, and just sing.

*sigh*

Oh yes.

The great thing about acoustic music is to me, it’s just music, stripped down to it’s simplest form, allowing all the feelings to pour out. It’s just the bare essence of art, like a pencil sketch by daVinci, or a poem by Shakespeare. There’s no great instrumentation to take the place of emotion because the emotion becomes part of the melody.

48 Responses to “A is for Acoustic”

  1. Listening to Pink, I think I now believe in reincarnation!

  2. I love the little changes to The Fall……….the run he does with the word “fall” is so charming!
    I’m all fangirly again!
    Thanks, Grey.
    πŸ™‚

  3. A is for Awesome!!

    I can’t believe how quite it was on a couple of those videos.

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    Love an engerized Taylor on stage, but Taylor and guitar is awesome. 3am what a beautiful song tribute to his Mom, and Pinks Janis Joplin fantastic!! Thanks for the ABC’s

    JI

  5. JumpedtheShark Says:

    Does anybody have “My Home’s in Alabama” he did in B’ham during the 07 tour? There was a lot of cackling and yelling, but his voice was so emotional. Would love to hear it again.

  6. Accoustic MASTERS from “back in the day”
    Jim Croce, “I Got A Name”

    the perfection of Cat Stevens, “Father and Son”
    A THING OF BEAUTY, never equalled, IMO

  7. speaking of MASTERS………..one word: Clapton!!!!
    I have the honour of owning “Me and Mr. Johnson” it is mahvelous!
    Though not on the album, here is the master at work in
    “Outside Woman Blues” (God I wish he’d come to my house to jam!!)

  8. jerseyirish Says:

    Barb, Thanks, love Cat Steven and Clapton great video pics. Father and son was the first song I learned to play on guitar back in the day.

    JI

  9. I was watching the studio C videos on youtube- I love the one about his girlfriend being on the bus back to Birmingham- all those songs are great. Just Tay, his harp and his guitar.

  10. NolaMar Says:

    LOL! I went to an amazing, high energy rock/blues concert last night (Grace Potter and the Nocturnals at the NOLA House of Blues) and it’s going to be really hard for me to watch these acoustic videos today. πŸ˜€ I’m sure I’ll love most of them but I’ll have to get myself in the mood – later….

  11. Celestial Soul Says:

    Cyndi Lauper from “A Body Acoustic.” I won’t be right till Taylor duets with her.

  12. Celestial Soul Says:

  13. Celestial Soul Says:

    Not really acoustic… but..sort of in an innovative hooky kind of way.

    That’s it. I won’t inflict anymore. lol

  14. NolaMar Says:

    I’ve always loved Jim Croce! Still working on my GPN pics and vids so will watch all this later I hope.

  15. I love Beck because he’s so………………..unusual!

  16. casualfan Says:

    Gordon Lightfoot: Sundown

  17. casualfan Says:

    My favorite!

  18. 911. I want to report a theft. Videos gone missing!!!!!!

  19. jerseyirish Says:

    Dee, Thought it was me, just came back to check again. Really wanted to see the Gordon Lightfoot, Sundown always loved that song.

    JI

  20. casualfan Says:

    well hell! WTH did everything go?

  21. casualfan Says:

  22. JumpedtheShark Says:

    Thanks casualfan. My fave Taylor acoustic. I love the crack in his voice when he sang this.

  23. NolaMar Says:

    I’m thinking all the videos crashed IAG!! LOL

  24. I see all the videos. A word to the wise: anyone going to Detroit take along Duct tape. A few were wooing and squeeing thru out My Home’s In Alabama and if they weren’t drunk they are either crazy or inconsiderate. My preference is when he has the two guys with him. He will be in Detroit almost 3 weeks and the economy really is lousy there with GM so it should be interesting to see how Grease does.

  25. JumpedtheShark Says:

    LOL rosie. Miss you from Morph’s….*muah* πŸ˜‰

  26. jerseyirish Says:

    cf, Thanks for the Gordon Lightfoot video’s they wee wonderful!!! πŸ™‚

    Rosie, I agree folks got to learn when to wooo and when not to.

    JI

  27. pearlpattie Says:

    Thanks for the Cat Stevens…made me cry….I love him and that song…will be in Detroit for the Magic Bag show and will definitely sit quiet and listen….

  28. mamaforpeace Says:

    Pearl… Lucky you!

  29. Poke Salad Annie Says:

    Thanks to all who posted these vids….I had never seen “My Home’s In Alabama” video…..Good stuff, despite all the audience noise.

  30. NolaMar Says:

    I sure would like to hear “My Home’s in Alabama without all the screaming and yelling going on. 😦

  31. NolaMar Says:

    Oh, wow! Love that Clapton clip! Awesome. (Working my way back up the page. LOL)

  32. NolaMar Says:

    When I saw Taylor at HOB here I don’t recall the name of the opening act, but I was trying to listen to him, and this young woman near me was just GABBING away with someone she ran into. I mean LOUD. It nearly drove me mad. I just kept throwing eye daggers and she finally shut up an moved on. I was very close to saying something to her. I would not hesitate at the MB if I was going to be there. LOL

  33. I can’t tell you how many captures of Taylor’s performances I’ve deleted from my download files due to banshee cries. They embarrass me. The “notice me” outbursts killed any special moment Taylor may have created. I swear, if you made me listen to them, I’d spill state secrets just to stop the bleeding. What a loss.

  34. Nola, I would have set her straight in a heartbeat. Hell, I took a clicking pen out of my boss’s hand during a staff meeting the other day. Yes, I’m still employed.

  35. NolaMar Says:

    Yea, Rosie, I was also wondering how Grease would do in Detroit with the state the economy is in there.

  36. and who can forget this young fellow!
    James Taylor “Carolina In My Mind”

  37. pearlpattie Says:

    Cat Steven, James Taylor – the best – and our own Taylor in two weeks….

  38. hicksaholic Says:

    I don’t have links but the Shelby Lynn song- something about crickets in the bayou and Father Pat- with Jon Cook at The Wharf in Orange Beach was great. Also Georgia at Smith’s (although Taylor was definitely either smashed or high and people were definitely making way too much noise). I was at both and at Bham too. That Bham crowd was so proud of him when he came for that concert. I wonder if he would get the same reaction today. I like to hope so but I’m not sure.

  39. When I view the vids on here, some have other vid links below, so I’ve been hovering on Jim Croce, “New York’s Not My Home”, “Operator” and “Bad Bad Leroy Brown”………….all were acoustic (Oh I learned how to spell acoustic, thanks to this thread!! LOL)
    I’m just wondering, all of the Jim Croce vids show the same young man, kind of John Lennony looking chap.
    I wonder who he is (awesome guitarist, back-ground singer).
    Anyone know who this guy is?

  40. OK, didn’t take long for me to find out that the other fellow with Jim Croce was his music partner, Maury Muehleisen, who also died in the crash that took Jim’s life.
    How terribly sad.
    😦
    They died too too young.

  41. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, NolaMar, Been thinking the same thing Detroit has been hit hard by the economy crunch. Hopefully all will work for him for Grease and the shadow date!

    JI

  42. hicksaholic…Alabama Frame of Mind…

    not the actual set you’ve mentioned..but still good.

  43. RIP David Carradine.
    Who can forget his 1976 portrayal of Woody Guthrie in the film “Bound for Glory”

    and his brother Keith’s hit tune “I’m Easy” from the film Nashville.
    You can see a young Geraldine Chaplin (Charlie’s daughter) in the audience.

    My heart goes out to this talented family.

  44. jerseyirish Says:

    Barb, Read that he passed, very talented man, always enjoyed his work.

    JI

  45. Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi have been mentioned several times on this blog . . ran across this for an “A” entry . . ” Anyday ”

  46. NolaMar Says:

    OH, just loving it AH!! LOVE IT! Wanted to be at the Wanee this weekend to see them and Grace Potter. Is there some kind of a DVD for this concert? The filming looks professional. Susan was so great at the HOB a month ago.

  47. NolaMar Says:

    Here is another one from the same concert, but it should be under “B” for blues. LOL

  48. Not to make you feel worse about missing Wanee . . but when you have the family all in the same place . . you’re liable to get hubby, wife and Uncle Warren jamming

Leave a Reply

