Feeling the need for a little Foy today…

Two Shades of Hope

Check out the Irish guy talking like a Southerner..kind of funny. This is an awesome cover of Billie Jean.

He says in this clip that his dad was a preacher, so he has an inborn sense of guilt.

And this…is just awesome. It’s a ten minute long video. But the last four minutes are cool. Just kind of gives you that warm fuzzy feeling, ya know?

35 Responses to “Feeling the need for a little Foy today…”

  1. Damn, he has a pretty voice. He seems to be entertaining, too. I’ll bet his shows are fun.

    Thanks for posting these. I think he just gained a new fan. I mean, a SPENDING fan. I’m gonna go look on itunes.

  2. jerseyirish Says:

    His has a wonderful voice, but his songs are always so sad. Loved the Billie Jean one and the last one the best, thanks for posting!

    JI

  3. I highly recommend his album “Hope”. It is fantastic. I was reading a blog entry somewhere where the author said…I fell like when I listen to Foy Vance that we should be married, because he makes listening to his music that intimate.

  4. I don’t know if I would call his songs sad…I think they are songs with messages. Unfortunately those messages are sad because that’s the kind of world we live in today.

  5. Hey, he’s got a pretty nice website:
    http://www.foyvance.com/

    I enjoyed reading his blog, too.

  6. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, Took a look he does have a nice site!

    JI

  7. casualfan Says:

    Thanks for the vid Grey…enjoyed it very much.

  8. NolaMar Says:

    Have not had a chance to watch the videos but hope to later tonight. I was not impressed with the video of him singing IAOK, but then LOVED the one you posted a while back of Sometimes. Looking forward to watching these. Did read the most recent entry on his blog. “Wurdamouth” records. Cool. LOL It would be interesting to know what he thinks of Taylor’s version of IAOK. I sort of looked back a little to see if there was an entry about it but didn’t get very far. My messy kitchen and soon to be home hungry family calls for now…..

  9. NolaMar Says:

    New Tay tweet:
    “Kris Allen has stars in his eyes!! I know how that feels!! I’m really happy for all the idols. Now its time to go to work.”

    If you don’t want me to report them, just say so..

  10. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, You know maybe its not the songs themselves that are sad its the sadness I hear in his voice as he sings you can just feel it. With Taylor I hear passion never sadness.

    JI

  11. Grey, I loooved that last video! Must be the Irish that brings out the guilt, but I fast forwarded to the last four minutes (forgive me). He has a great sense of humor and seems so comfortable with himself. Free time is so rare these days. Can’t wait for summer vacation! Only 20 more working days!!! Yay me! Nola, I would love to hear what our favorite dork twitters! 🙂

  12. Celestial Soul Says:

    Foy is pure love.

  13. NolaMar Says:

    I usually would try to follow the philosophy “If you can’t say something nice don’t say anything at all,” but I know that doesn’t apply here anyway, so I’m going to be honest. I was totally bored by these videos. (Running for cover!!!) Honestly, I could not watch any of them in total. This acoustic stuff is just NOT my thing. (Four minutes of “Never, never let the spirit die” and then just looking at an empty stage? I don’t understand the appeal!) Sorry!! I tried, honestly I did…. I do respect Mr. Vance’s song writing ability and I did like that one song the other day. He’s just not the type of performer I enjoy watching. I’m curious to know how TH hooked up with IAOK.

    (I should have used an unknown alias. 🙂 )

  14. My best bud is seeing Keane tonight. She texted that they’re Incredible! This was the only song that I thought Blake didn’t dahdahdemonlish! No really, he did it justice. Taylor would do this song some Serious justice, too bad he’s not an anglophile! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmXY2MSrguE

  15. Nola, to each her own, to each her own. All opinions are welcome and musical taste is all about subjectivity!

  16. Since Nola was brave, so will I. I listened this morning and he is not my thing. He has that Irish folk singer vibe but I found him boring. His little crowd seemed into him and I assume he makes a decent living. Tay is on a 24 hr tweetathon! He is in a revealing mode. Next he will be tweeting about his grooming habits soon to be followed by tweets of his love life.

  17. Rosie, Nola, spill!!! I had a twitter account a few months ago, but got bored. You must reveal the details! And Foy is not for everyone, but I think he is very soulful.

  18. musical taste is all about subjectivity!

    Damn straight it is, momo!!

    Tay is on a 24 hr tweetathon! He is in a revealing mode. Next he will be tweeting about his grooming habits soon to be followed by tweets of his love life

    I wouldn’t hold your breath, Rosie.

  19. @TaylorRHicks:

    Kris Allen has stars in his eyes!! I know how that feels!! I’m really happy for all the idols. Now its time to go to work.
    about 7 hours ago from txt

    I have a 4am call time tomorrow to fly to San Fran. I might as well be Crab Fishing.
    about 23 hours ago from txt

    I’ve got it.” Celebrity Deadliest Catch”..Some people wouldn’t mind a celeb “going over the rail”
    about 23 hours ago from txt

    How does anyone watch the Bachelor. My bad..People watch it because the success rate is so high.
    about 23 hours ago from txt

    Happy Memorial Day!!
    5:19 PM May 25th from txt

  20. Yeah, I’m guessing someone was a wee bit toasty… Hey, I could be wrong!

  21. Maybe th was just feeling the Teen Angel dust floating around. Ok! I’ll stop…

  22. NolaMar Says:

    You might have missed it on the previous page when I posted those three random tweets from last night…. Caryl and I almost simultaneously tweeted back to T, suggesting that Simon Cowel should be the celebrity who should “go over the rail.” LOL (Great minds……….) Sun, Caryl, AH and I were all on Twitter at the same time when it happened so it was really fun. I hope this is a new trend in Taylor tweets. These are in a totally different league. More casual, and more like I imagined twittering would be like. His Kris tweet made me wonder if he had some kind of Idol thing in SF today?? But he most likely just saw Kris on TV or the internet.

    Yea, Momo, that’s what I thought too – a little bit of Mem Day celebrating got him nice and loose.

  23. Not into Foy. Like some of the others who he doesn’t appeal to, I got bored 1 or 2 minutes into the videos. I can handle a few slow tempo songs but not a whole concert.

  24. I liked the Foy vids, a nice intimate show!
    At the end of the last one I wondered where the heck he went until he hollered……….THE SPIRIT’S IN THE BATHROOM!

  25. spinshack Says:

    I love some Foy Vance, Grey knows that. Heard him on 93.3 one of the Dallas stations. It’s in a new format and calls itself “Quality Rock”. I was completely shocked yet really pleased.

    Have gotten DMan into him as well, he’s had to listen to him through me in our office. He really likes the guy’s sound.

  26. Thanks for the heads up, Barb! Don’t want to start a whole THING here, but if the show can be broadcast then you would think licensing isn’t the problem concerning getting the DVD out for sale.

  27. I would think that this might be something on Taylor’s end. I don’t know what…but something is going on.

  28. yeah, Spin..I was so pissed that I missed him in Nashville. He doesn’t come to the states all that often and he was in driving distance? Damn.

  29. NolaMar Says:

    I too wonder why WATW it was never released for sale.

    Two things I have speculated:
    Is it good? I mean are the quality of the recording and the performance good? Something Taylor should be proud of? I have no idea – have not seen it
    OR:
    Is that he didn’t want it to compete with TD at the same time he’s trying to get it off the ground? He did just release EW too.

    Just thought of this – maybe there is a problem with the rights. HD-net might have them but not T to release it for sale? How could that be? Is it a Modern Whomp production?

  30. Oh, it’s good. I’ve seen it. It turned me into full on-all out fangirl. It’s that good.

  31. “someone” perhaps could “ahem” copy it and “ahem” pirate/upload it onto “ahem” the web for free……not that I condone that, but, “ahem” I may be so inclined as to “ahem” “mumble” download it accidently.
    …………accidents happen, right?

  32. casualfan Says:

    NolaMar Says:

    May 27, 2009 at 11:27 am
    I too wonder why WATW it was never released for sale.

    Two things I have speculated:
    Is it good? I mean are the quality of the recording and the performance good? Something Taylor should be proud of? I have no idea – have not seen it
    OR:
    Is that he didn’t want it to compete with TD at the same time he’s trying to get it off the ground? He did just release EW too.

    Just thought of this – maybe there is a problem with the rights. HD-net might have them but not T to release it for sale? How could that be? Is it a Modern Whomp production?
    ============================================
    Since he tags other Artist’s music I would think there are copyright issues.

  33. Then you wonder how they could show it on TV at all! That would be a bummer if they can never get that worked out and get it on the market.

  34. spinshack Says:

    Barb, I love pirates. Wish one lived near who could, ahem do that very thing. *cough*.

Leave a Reply

