Some new music to discover…

I accidentally found this guy, but he is awesome. I love this first video. He asked his fans for help…and got it.

I was watching that lyric show the other night, and this artist was on there, playing for charity, along with her dad.

Yep, that is Scott Ian from Anthrax playing guitar.

This is her dad.

I love Meatloaf more than I should. I can remember the very first time I heard Paradise by the Dashboard Lights. My friend and I looked at each other with astonishment, said, “What the heck is this?” and turned it up. Granted, it had been around a long time before I heard it, but it was just a different kind of music for me.

Anyway, Pearl Aday is Meatloaf’s daughter, and she seems to have a pretty good voice.

134 Responses to “Some new music to discover…”

  1. Driving home from a big family event had me feeling nostolgic and a little sad. I thought immediately that I would blog out my feelings, but when I got to the computer, nothing came out. When I read this new post, I felt such relief. What great tunes! Thanks Grey! Without giving out my actual age, Meatloaf reminds me so much of High School! I remember riding wth my friends on graduation night blaring out Paradise By the Dashboard Lights. Jeebus, I feel old! Whenever you feel like giving up Grey, I hope you realize how much pleasure you give to others and reconsider!

  2. Thanks, Momo!! 🙂

  3. No, thank YOU Grey! So where is Meatloaf in the sound track of your life (the universal you)? This reminds me of that movie High Fidelity.


  4. Jack Black’s ass crack is my most favoritest part 🙂

  5. I remember going to see Meatloaf in concert probably about 15 years ago. We saw him at this beautiful place called The Fox Theatre.

    http://www.fabulousfox.com/photo_gallery.aspx

    This place was perfect to see him in…very dramatic in appearance. Anyway, listening to Paradise that day on the radio opened up a whole new world of music for me. I think I was about 16 when I first heard it. This was the late 80’s, so it had been around for a while. Meat Loaf has a hell of a backstory too. He lost his voice for a while..and went through a pretty bad time.

  6. That song was so cool for me as a kid. There are certain songs that bring back those childhood memories…Meatloaf, Elton John, Bowie, all classics…Not sure about Meatloaf’s backstory, but I’m glad he seems to be making a comeback, a least as far as his health goes. Just wish Kat wasn’t such a horrid bitch when they performed together in the finale Hell, I’d be nervous singing with her too!

  7. His daughter definitely has some pipes, though.

  8. This is one of my favorite songs of his…

  9. Yeah, her voice is incredible if you can get past the hair tossing and sweat pants! She really seems so confident which is a definite plus!

  10. Ok, more Meat Loaf love..here he sings/acts Paradise with Megan Mullally. Cracking me up!!

  11. Ok, didn’t get to watch the video yet, but Megan Mullaly has to be my favorite talk show host ever. How her show got cancelled is a mystery. She had such chemistry when Taylor was on and was such a charming lady!

  12. By the way and waaaay off topic, for the first time, two threads ago I did notice the A B C D poster thingie. That is a part of life. Groups form and there are leaders and followers and the in between people. At least in America all can speak and there is no caste system in society which one is stuck in for life. A very good thing! Carry on with the Meat.

  13. Say, thanks for posting those Chris Mann vids. Very nice.

  14. NolaMar Says:

    Listening to Pearl on her MS page. Like her! (Agree I don’t like watching her hair-tossing and fiddling with it constantly in the videos. Very distracting.) Sorry, not a big Meatloaf fan. Two out of Three – Ugh! It might just be that I got sick of it but I hate that song. LOL Have to watch the Chris Mann ones again. Didn’t get into them the first time, but will try again.

  15. NolaMar Says:

    Sorry, just HAVE to do this! I voted for Allison to win until she got voted off in 4th place. She’s just amazing. Can’t wait to see what she does. She just turned 17 on the show the other day. Her clothes and hair were pretty weird sometimes but I just could not get over that voice!

  16. casualfan Says:

    Love Meatloaf…thanks Grey!

  17. NolaMar Says:

    I’m trying to find a good recorded video of her singing this the night of her elimination because it was phenomenal. There is one I found on YouTube but it’s a terrible capture.

  18. Nola…because of kids like Allison, that’s why I think AI should raise their age limit. I mean, here she is, barely 17. Just think what could have happened if she would have been given a few more years to mature, musically and personally. I hope she sticks around, though…I really like her voice.

  19. jerseyirish Says:

    Loved Chris Mann’s voice he has a very easly listening sound. Pearl, very talented young lady. Was never a Meatloaf fan his voice and sound just never did anything for me, but his daughter has it!!

    JI

  20. I really like Chris Mann’s voice . . . and his version of Heartless is really cool. Interesting though, this is the version that Kris sang on AI, right?

    I was under the impression that it was his arrangement! I wonder how many other people thought that? Interesting.

    Oh, and Meatloaf was ubiquitous in the 70’s, when I was a teenager. I had the (Good lord, I hate to admit it) 8-track tape of Bat Out of Hell.

    I like him, but I was more of a trippy-skippy Pink Floyd fan. I still listen to Dark Side of The Moon on a regular basis.

  21. “Trippy-skippy!” LOL Me too. Traffic, Pink Floyd, Yes… Space Rock. (In the bedroom with the black-light posters? A little “trippy-skippy myself?) I still love it too – the music that is. I don’t know WHY I never became a Meat Loaf fan. I remember liking his voice on Two Out of Three but hated the lyrics of that song, so maybe that’s why I never bought or listened to his other music. TOOT was on the radio constantly and I got very sick of it. (LOL Some of the song acronyms are funny. Try “Taking It To The Streets.)

  22. Nils . . . I totally had the black-light posters! I used to listen to Traffic and Yes, as well.

    While reading The Lord of the Rings AGAIN. 😛

  23. jerseyirish Says:

    Soulaz, Nils, Used to listen to the same with the black light going to. My girlfriend is an artist she painted one of my beauras in day glow paint, lightening streaks, a volcano eurupting just very eye catching. My brother still has it today in his vacation home in Fla.

    JI

  24. Did anyone notice this? Robin mentioned it on the previous page…. VERY INTERESTING.. sounds like someone we all know…. but it’s Adam Lambert who’s talking here…

    What kind of album does he plan to put out? “We’re at the drawing board right now, trying to figure it out. My view of the record industry is that it’s a little too specific lately. The labels tend to try to put one box around every artist and keep them in one genre. To me, I’m so fortunate because I got to use this show to get myself out there, so we don’t have to go about it that way. Obviously, we want the album to have a cohesive sound, but I think it can kind of be a collection of different styles with me at the center of it. Everybody knows who I am singing it, so that’s the common thread.”

  25. NolaMar Says:
    May 24, 2009 at 1:25 am

    I’m trying to find a good recorded video of her singing this the night of her elimination because it was phenomenal. There is one I found on YouTube but it’s a terrible capture.

    Just time for a drive-by look but here you go . . Allison’s reprise of Cry Baby.
    Think she has truly only just begun . . . . .

    Don’t know if the embed will work so also linking . . . http://tinyurl.com/r45wjd

  26. casualfan Says:

    I didn’t see the interview with Adam….did he sign with J Records?

  27. I love Meatloaf….

  28. NolaMar Says:

    Thanks AH. I wish I could download that!

    Well, Adam sounds like he’s in agreement with the Modern Whomp concept. That whole answer sounds exactly like what TH has been saying for a long time. Even as far back as HFOS. (Ha ha – too bad Taylor can’t sign him to his label!)

  29. NolaMar Says:

    SMB has been getting some more spins on country radio. If you really want to see Taylor’s album succeed, the way you can help the most as a fan is to REQUEST that song to your local country radio station. He MUST get played on the radio or TD won’t sell, won’t be considered a success. They won’t play it unless people ask for it. Fact of life. I agree Taylor is fighting hard for his career. Even if you don’t like the theater gig, if you want him to make music he needs to have a successful song and album. Most of you have agreed that SMB is a great song that should be heard. SO, Request it. And often.

  30. I am just not into requesting music. Not my thing.

  31. jerseyirish Says:

    NolaMar, Been requesting for a couple of weeks now. Have a few statins that are not playing it yet, they say it is in review because he is considered a new artist. Just drop them an e-mail once a week to see how the reviewing is going. But the other stations I have been requsting they have been playing it is on their playlist. Doesn’t take long, you are right if he doesn’t get the airplay, he won’t see the success he should from this CD. If everyone pitched in I think the results would be very favorable for Taylor.

    JI

  32. casualfan Says:

    Neither am I Grey. I don’t listen to radio much so I wouldn’t even know where to begin nor do I have the patience.

  33. NolaMar, You’ve been a very active and great fan both here and on the BB. For those who don’t wish to call or email radio stations, maybe you will consider playing his SMB video a few times to keep the numbers up. He is mighty fine to look at full screen on SMB. His eyes are all twinkly in the close up of him singing in the field, and his profile in the vette shows his best side. Ever notice that the best side of his face is the side without the nose freckles? He has a slight bump on his nose on the side with his freckles and that’s why his nose seems larger when shot from that angle. Just knew you were all dying for this info!

  34. I will request SMB and hope I am more sucessful than I was with Just to Feel That Way. I called the station with the format that it would fit ,at request hour…when I asked for JTFTW by Taylor Hicks the DJ told me it didn’t fit their format,,,it was exactly within their music format. When I said (nicely) “oh I would think it is great for your station, maybe you could give it a listen” ..DJ reply. “We will NOT play him” period, no explanation, no sorry about that…. nothing, I really wanted to tell her she was a b**** and hoped she spent her payoff wisely. But I politely thanked her for her time and said have a nice day. Boy was I Po’d

  35. Honestly, I think requesting SMB is just a waste of time. But we’ve had this discussion before. Here’s what I think…when Taylor goes back to the basics, that’s when he’ll get music played on the radio. Or maybe he won’t. Who knows?

    If SMB can’t get played on the radio, I don’t think that there are any others on The Distance that will either. I think The Distance might have already gone as far as it’s gonna go.

  36. Why didn’t he try MYS as a single? My fave on the core album! Could it be that it sounded too much like Bonnie Raitt’s, I Can’t Make you Love me? Not sure…

  37. Probably the same reason he didn’t release The Right Place. I don’t know that reason…kind of wish I did.

  38. casualfan Says:

    I agree with you 100% Grey…SMB to me IS the hit of the cd and if that doesn’t get radio play he’s went the distance with that cd. “19” won’t get played because people don’t want to hear war songs right now.

    Rosie, I don’t care for the video so I have no intention of giving it hits…sorry.

  39. Why should I spend my time requesting songs and playing videos when he obviously isn’t giving his music that much time?

    I’m sorry..but until he gets done with this theater gig, I don’t think he’ll have any radio play. First he’s AC, now he’s country…and going nowhere fast with either.

  40. So Susan Boyle got the pimp spot on Britain’s Got Talent… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgTx6xPgcCo Good for her! and all she wants to do is be able to perform for the Queen! Oh, and Simon called himself stupid! Whaaaa??

  41. CF, I said as soon as the album came out, that 19 was off as far as timing…People don’t want to hear about something they’ve tried to put behind for the last 8 years… not that the sentiments aren’t appreciated and heartfelt, but bad timing…

  42. casualfan Says:

    I have maintained the believe from the beginning that him doing Teen Angel is hurting his music career and I continue to stand by that. He’s not in any position music wise to not put his music first.

  43. IAG, I don’t know what you mean by going back to the basics. A few of the songs on his TH CD and a few on TD CD are pretty basic radio type songs that would fit some format. Sounds more like radio just chooses not to play him. If you mean by basics his pre AI CD’s, I doubt the radio people ever heard them and none picked anything from EW to play. Most AI 5 watchers who voted for Tay probably think of basics for him, those songs he sang on AI. Right about now, he may have more success with a CD such as Taylor Hicks sings old Standards or TH Sings The Great Love Songs With Soul. When Clay didn’t get radio play he went that route.

  44. casualfan Says:

    rosie, I think Grey is saying that Taylor needs to get back to his music roots and stick to one genre that he knows and his good at and tour with it. He’s all over the map.

  45. casualfan Says:

    momo Says:

    May 24, 2009 at 9:56 pm
    CF, I said as soon as the album came out, that 19 was off as far as timing…People don’t want to hear about something they’ve tried to put behind for the last 8 years… not that the sentiments aren’t appreciated and heartfelt, but bad timing…
    ===============================================
    EXACTLY!

  46. You know, I’m all about conspiracies. Ask me about Kennedy, ask me about Crystal Skulls, ask me about Roswell, but I refuse to believe that there is a conspiracy in the radio world involving Taylor Hicks. I just don’t buy it. When Taylor figures out who Taylor is, I’m telling ya, that’s when he’ll get played.

  47. I have maintained the believe from the beginning that him doing Teen Angel is hurting his music career and I continue to stand by that. He’s not in any position music wise to not put his music first.

    Amen, CF. Amen.

  48. I really hesitated to post this a few times, but when your albums tank, maybe you should look at why instead of pointing to outside parties. I know there’s a killer album out there for Taylor to make, but I’m not sure he is focused enough (hello ADHD) to put it out yet. I have a couple of stories about conversations this weekend that put some things into perspective, to be shared at a later date. Oh, and an Amen to that Amen CF~)

  49. Exactly, momo. It’s like…radio won’t play him, AI hates him, he gets bad press. How about he’s just releasing shitty music that he obviously doesn’t even care about enough to tour?

  50. So should we put our SP proof helmets on now?

  51. Haha…***silence***more silence***chirp***chirp***

  52. No Y’all just will be called “bad fans”, that falls somewhere between SP and haters. lol

  53. NolaMar Says:

    I’m sorry, but you don’t make any sense. You say you want him to concentrate on his music, yet you refuse to do the things that will help him be a success with his music. Taylor will NOT get played unless he gets requested. That’s pretty much the only thing that’s going to do it. Doesn’t sound to me like you really want TD to succeed. Radio play is the way to do it. I believe that if TD were to take off, from a successful song on the radio, then he would be able concentrate on it (his music) more. If you don’t like TA and theater, don’t bother with it. Don’t go, don’t support it. But if anyone likes his music and wants him to keep making it, I’d say as fans we had better support him as much as possible. Request the song. Hit the videos on AOL and yahoo. You don’t even have to watch them. He’s been on the top of the “Most Viewed” for a while on the AOL music channel.

    Oh, and country is nothing new for Taylor. You know I’ve only heard his EW music for the first time recently. MANY of those songs are country. TH has always believed that he can sing a variety of types of songs. This is nothing new either.

  54. casualfan Says:

    Actually I think we are the good fans. We are the ones keeping it real and everything that has been said has come to pass….;)

  55. No Rosie, I’m a Good Bad fan! and lol back at y’all!

  56. casualfan Says:

    Nola-it’s not to us to make him succeed. Taylor is the one who has to lay the ground work and he’s the one who is in control of his career. We can request till the cows fly to the moon, but it doesn’t work…haven’t you figured that out by now?

  57. Nola, I’ve been saying what you just did for three years, THREE years! After a few sessions with Dr. Fender, I am now cured!

  58. casualfan Says:

    momo, I more than did my share of begging, pleading and hyping up Mr. Hicks in the beginning. Between the haters in the fanbase who have done nothing but bash and lie about innocent people and Taylor growing glitter wings I had to step back and look at the big picture. Now I see things for what they really are and so proud I did.

  59. NolaMar Says:

    So it sounds like many of you have already written TD off as a failure. Very sad. Only two singles released. He’s doing everything he can to get SMB played on the radio. He’s promoting it. He’s been to dozens of radio stations. It needs to be requested by the stations that are willing to play it. It is now on the Mediabase request lists of MANY stations. If you like SMB now is the time to do something about it. His fans are the ones who are going to get it played more, and hopefully it will pull in new fans as it gets heard. If it doesn’t get heard, well, then that’s it for that song. Don’t write it off yet if you care at all.

  60. casualfan Says:

    It is now on the Mediabase request lists of MANY stations.
    =======================================
    It’s not getting play is it?

  61. I actually just occasionally visit the last site I just mentioned, and when I last checked, they happened to mention us. Whatever, but no disrespect intended, just a reality check! Me too CF, me too!

  62. casualfan Says:

    hahaha! momo-I can only imagine what’s being said. Their MO is to do super marathon thud on Taylor, bash this blog and it’s posters then cycle back to the super marathon thud. Some even write long novels on conspiracy theories and rants about why they are the only “true” fans of Mr. Hicks.

  63. NolaMar Says:

    CF said “Nola-it’s not to us to make him succeed. Taylor is the one who has to lay the ground work and he’s the one who is in control of his career. We can request till the cows fly to the moon, but it doesn’t work”

    So what would work CF? How is he suppose to do that? He can’t make the radio stations play his song. He can promote it, and it seems to me he’s working his ass off to to that. The radio says WE WON’T PLAY THE SONG UNLESS IT GETS REQUESTED. That’s exactly the opposite of what you just said. So what’s your answer?

  64. casualfan Says:

    Then you have some “fansite” owners (and I use the term “fansite” loosely-to stalk out IP addresses and get all paranoid about who’s looking at their forums…LOL! They then retreat to their Admin forums to trash their own members and other blogs.

  65. CF that makes my head hurt!

  66. Nola and I are more invested in him than some of you. We want him to succeed because he is a damn fine singer and there were some damn fine songs on both CD’s. Several reported that DJ’s said they won’t play him when they have requested his song off of both CD’s. Other Dj’s have said when the song becomes a hit they will play it. I doubt Tay is capable of writing a song as good as The Right Place, Wherever I Lay My Hat, Gonna Move, 7 Mile , The Maze etc. Maybe he will be able to someday, but what difference does it make if radio doesn’t play it. You act like if he holed up somewhere and wrote a song to your liking, radio would be playing him round the clock. He and his fans have to work with what is now. I do think MYS will be his next single and it is a great song he co wrote, but will people ever hear it. Raj/Malamar is frustrated and I know the feeling!

  67. casualfan Says:

    NolaMar Says:

    May 24, 2009 at 10:59 pm
    CF said “Nola-it’s not to us to make him succeed. Taylor is the one who has to lay the ground work and he’s the one who is in control of his career. We can request till the cows fly to the moon, but it doesn’t work”

    So what would work CF? How is he suppose to do that? He can’t make the radio stations play his song. He can promote it, and it seems to me he’s working his ass off to to that. The radio says WE WON’T PLAY THE SONG UNLESS IT GETS REQUESTED. That’s exactly the opposite of what you just said. So what’s your answer?
    =============================================
    NO-I’m on the same path as always. Taylor needs to get back to the genre that he’s good at and stop running all over the place. He says one thing yet does another. YOU tell me what would work. Obviously what he’s doing so far isn’t.

    And if he was ‘working his ass off’ as you state we wouldn’t be having this conversation because his ASS would be out on tour promoting HIS CD as he should be. Radio interviews and such don’t mean shit if people can’t hear his music. Radio play comes with people listening to what they hear and calling in to request it.

  68. CF said:” Between the haters in the fanbase who have done nothing but bash and lie about innocent people and Taylor growing glitter wings I had to step back and look at the big picture. Now I see things for what they really are and so proud I did”. Bravo, CF, Bravo…

  69. NolaMar Says:

    “It’s not getting play is it?”

    It is getting some play. NOT ENOUGH. It will get played more if it gets requested more!!! That’s what I’m trying to tell everyone. You already know that, but say it won’t work so don’t bother trying. I know I’m not responsible to TH’s success or failure. Or his career. But I do think that as fans we can have an impact on certain things. If you aren’t a fan why bother coming here to read and post about him, good or bad? Glad you are not overly invested in him any more – that’s healthy. But I don’t understand the reluctance to do what FANS do. Request his music. Specifically, SMB if you think it’s a good song and deserves to be heard. If not, don’t bother.

  70. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    May 24, 2009 at 11:02 pm
    Nola and I are more invested in him than some of you.
    ========================================
    don’t go there

  71. Oh No she didn’t!!

  72. NolaMar Says:

    “Radio play comes with people listening to what they hear and calling in to request it.”

    Isn’t there a catch-22 there? How can they hear it if the radio wont’ play it? But the radio wont’ play it if it’s not requested. But people won’t request it if they’ve never heard it. So how are they going to hear it?

  73. Nola, the radio request angle has been tried ad naseum, It just doesn’t work! It hasn’t worked for three years! Why would people start playing him now after three years of SP haranguing??

  74. casualfan Says:

    Nola-your allegience to Hicks is a beautiful thing but why are you getting so upset? Definitly a Soul Patroller.

  75. Look NolaMar, its simple really. IAG and friends are only interested in Taylor when he does what they “approve” of, because they know what is best for him and he is a dumbass who will never have any kind of career unless he wises up and does things the way they think he should.
    Or, they are only interested in themselves and they think he should live his life for their benefit and amusement. And they have no intention of helping him with anything, because its so much more fun to bitch and criticize. And. in some odd way, I think they believe that they are getting revenge for slights(real or imagined) that they feel they have suffered at the hands of other fans.
    And they love the attention their bitching and complaining brings them, because really, as they see it, its all about them.

  76. casualfan Says:

    well hell msmxup-you uncovered our true intentions…LOL! IT’S ALL ABOUT US!

  77. cf…I visit several fansites of Taylor Hicks and I don’t see any that have bashed this one at all. Maybe you could be more specific so we could avoid it. I do see several that are very supportive of Taylor, may not like everthing he does, but tries to be positive rather then take the negitive approach. If that is what you mean by thudding then yes I have seen a lot of that. It is often mentioned that Taylor is very handsome, I don;t think there is much wrong with that..he is. Just wondering if you could clarify these terms for me . Thanks. and I would really like to read some of these posts you mention ,where can I find them

  78. casualfan Says:

    NolaMar Says:

    May 24, 2009 at 11:13 pm
    “Radio play comes with people listening to what they hear and calling in to request it.”

    Isn’t there a catch-22 there? How can they hear it if the radio wont’ play it? But the radio wont’ play it if it’s not requested. But people won’t request it if they’ve never heard it. So how are they going to hear it?
    =============================================
    He gets his ass out there and tours it! That’s how people hear it! What do you think tour is? Musicians actually TOUR their cd’s to market it.

  79. Hahahaha!! That’s rich Ms.Mxup! But why are you so angry?

  80. Anne, I was the one who referred to the other site-Idletard. They make fun of overly invested fans who forget to feed their children and make posters and act completely childish. It’s a pretty funny site if you sane enough to handle it. I only visit when I need a tune up and am overly “tarding” as they put it. It definitely puts things into perspective…

  81. NolaMar Says:

    Ah, so everyone will flock to TH concerts and then love the songs and request them on the radio and buy his CD?? (That worked real well for him before AI.)

    If this is the case, why do the record companies spend thousands of $$$ promoting new songs/singles to the radio? Why not just tour the new albums and screw radio play?

  82. casualfan Says:

    momo-the natives seem to get extra restless around the holidays. That makes two that have come here in a defensive mode. Either it’s the same poster or they are working in pairs. Another trait indeed.

  83. Now on the conspiracy theory….maybe you could tell me why I was told point blank WE WILL NOT PLAY HIM!!! Why every press write up is negative!!! Why Simon still brings his name up in a derogatory way at every opporunity. Maybe not conspiracy but definately an agenda shed a very bad light on Taylor Hicks and his career. And don’t bother insinuating that I’m a SPer. I’m a die hard Taylor Hicks fan , if that means I’m a Soul Patroller ..then yes damn it I am and proud of it thank you.

  84. casualfan Says:

    LOL! I LOVE Ideltard! They remind me somewhat of MadTV.

  85. casualfan Says:

    I meant Idletard

  86. CF, I’m not so keen on the current topic and was about to post in defense of our girl, but my sane side said, “don’t go there”…hahaha. I love ya Grey and I know you’re strong enough to ignore the hate!!!But if you want me to, I’ll cut a bitch! 🙂

  87. NolaMar….I agree with you. I will request SMB..I don’t think it is unreasonable to at least give requesting a shot. Might not help…can’t hurt.

  88. casualfan Says:

    yeah momo-it is getting a little fuzzy here. Time to go back into the real world. Take care!

  89. NolaMar Says:

    OMG! I’m devastated – I’ve been officially branded a SP’er!! 😦 I would deny it, I would argue that I read SP things that gag me, but you wouldn’t believe me – I’ve been branded….

    This is a quote from yesterday’s blog by soulaz: “Fast forward again to 2004, when Aerosmith released Honkin’ on Bobo. From the moment I heard a song from that CD on the radio, I knew that this was music I had to own and I ran out and bought it. I went to see them in concert and was once again blown away by the music.”

    Let’s see – she heard the song on the radio and then went to buy the CD and then to the concert………..

  90. Not angry at all, just keeping it real…but yall know all about that. Difference of opinion is welcomed here is it not? It just puzzles me why anyone would invest as much time and effort into running a blog about someone that they don’t seem to like very much. At least they don’t seem to like Taylor the way he is very much…
    And you do get more attnetion by being controversial, so maybe its the attention and not Taylor thats the real attraction? Or not.

  91. NolaMar Says:

    Could just be anecdotal evidence, but I do believe that is the way it usually happens. Radio, cd, concert….

    I agree BB can be a little stomach turning at times, but there is much useful information over there, especially regarding requesting, not to mention current news. You have to have patience with me because I was never involved in all the fan wars crap. It all seems so silly to me.

  92. Nola, I still think you’re great. This place is about keeping it real, so I’ve learned to have thick skin. I believe 9/10 of the people here truly love Taylor, we’re just at different evolutionary stages of fandom. No judgement intended 🙂

  93. casualfan Says:

    You are not seriously going to compare Aerosmith and Taylor Hicks are you?

  94. CF, Sorry but most people who would go to his concerts are already fans and many have already bought his CD. Also he may not fill the venues as present. He is much better off doing his Grease tour for now, where he does reach non fans who hear SMB and he said he sells about 80 CD’s a show times 8 shows a week, He can’t do 8 tours a week. When you are not doing great in the music business you need to get creative and singing his songs after a musical is creative. Nolamar is correct because your logic also makes no sense to me. Taylor’s work ethic shouldn’t be questioned as he is busting his buns to keep his music and career alive. For any of you Adam fans, I predict within a year his fans will come to blows with one another and will make what is left of Tay’s fandom seem like a lovefest by comparison.

  95. It’s definitely time to turn the lights off CF! Take care too!

  96. casualfan Says:

    I agree-the Aerosmith/Hicks comparison was enough for me.

    Night momo

  97. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    May 25, 2009 at 12:18 am
    CF, Sorry but most people who would go to his concerts are already fans and many have already bought his CD. Also he may not fill the venues as present. He is much better off doing his Grease tour for now, where he does reach non fans who hear SMB and he said he sells about 80 CD’s a show times 8 shows a week, He can’t do 8 tours a week. When you are not doing great in the music business you need to get creative and singing his songs after a musical is creative. Nolamar is correct because your logic also makes no sense to me. Taylor’s work ethic shouldn’t be questioned as he is busting his buns to keep his music and career alive. For any of you Adam fans, I predict within a year his fans will come to blows with one another and will make what is left of Tay’s fandom seem like a lovefest by comparison.
    ==============================================
    HUH? He just dropped a new cd that took 2 years to produce and you are saying that he’s better off with Grease right now and not out touring his music?

    and your logic has never made sense to me either so we do have one thing in common afterall.

    *turning off lights now*

  98. Virtual Speak Says:

    I don’t see where Taylor was compared to Aerosmith. I see that Soulaz said she heard “Honkin On Bobo” which is a kick ass CD by the way.. and ran out to buy it. She then in turn went to an Aerosmith concert because she liked the music.

    I believe this was in context to getting airplay. Not a comparison.

  99. NolaMar Says:

    Oh, wow, I never compared Aerosmith to Taylor!! LOL Where did you come up with that? I was talking about the PROCESS of how people hear songs on the radio and THEN decide to buy the music and see the artist in concert. You totally missed the point.

  100. casualfan Says:

    For all the LOVE here tonight!

  101. casualfan Says:

    VS-I wasn’t referring to Soulaz post. I was referring to the poster who made the comment in reference to Aerosmith/Hicks.

  102. NolaMar Says:

    I repeat…

    “Oh, wow, I never compared Aerosmith to Taylor!! LOL Where did you come up with that? I was talking about the PROCESS of how people hear songs on the radio and THEN decide to buy the music and see the artist in concert. You totally missed the point.”

  103. Virtual Speak Says:

    I still don’t see where she compared them. She is talking about what airplay can do for an artist.

  104. NolaMar Says:

    “Why do the record companies spend thousands of $$$ promoting new singles to the radio? Why not just tour the new albums and screw radio play?”

    Because (and this has been my whole point) you sell records by having it played on the radio FIRST.

    Sorry to have rekindled the fan war by suggesting his fans request SMB. It’s a good song and I thought that most everybody here thought so.

    Goodnight. *lights out*

  105. casualfan Says:

    Nola-I do owe you an apology if I misread your post in comparing Areosmith/Hicks.

  106. taylorfan06 Says:

    cf – you can be very quick to judge. I’ve seen this before.

  107. littlewing Says:

    wow, it saddens me that SMB is getting minimal radio airplay. What more can Taylor do? I know he could/should be just touring his music, but I don’t think he can afford it right now. And don’t forget he’s building his biz MWR. Or maybe it’s just the ADHD in full swing. I dunno, it’s all speculative anyway.

    I’m not the requesting type, but I would consider req. SMB with my local DJ, if I can suffer through listening to some of that other shizz. It wouldn’t hurt anything to buzz him up on online either. Others surely will be charmed by his authenticity and cuteness. Don’t know why CMT doesn’t grab this vid up, for real. WTF is the prob anyway?

    Thanks for the videos IAG, can’t wait to hear Scott Ian and daughter. Was never a big ML fan back in the day, I too was into Pink Floyd, along with Van Halen, AC/DC, and way too many others to mention:)

  108. Pearl Aday being Meatloaf’s daughter…………I thought, gee that name Aday sounds familiar.
    No wonder, tho, Meatloaf was on House playing a dying man (who’w wife was in a bed in his room apparently dying too……..weird story line)
    and when the credits rolled I shouted to hubby, “Hey, they have his name as “Meatloaf Aday” on the credits!!
    Now an apple a day will keep the doctor away, but Meatloaf Aday is probably not good for the cholesterol.

  109. My post didn’t show. Booo.
    Anyhoo, I was blathering on about Meatloaf being on House the other week.
    What a great actor.
    The credits showed his name as Meatloaf Aday, which I didn’t know.
    I like Pearl’s voice alot, and I’ve seen other singers way more twitchy than she is………Joe Cocker for example? LOL

  110. No wonder my ears were burning . . . 😛

  111. jerseyirish Says:

    littlewing, I am actually finding I like alot of what is being played on the Country stations. I hear alot of Rascal Flatts who I enjoy. When something comes on I just can’t take the twangy sound I turn the volume down. Everyday SMB is being added to stations playlists. Its going to be slow, but I think he will get airplay which he never had before.

    JI

  112. NolaMar Says:

    LW It’s being added to more Medaibased request forms every day. On the ones that don’t have it you can add it at the bottom. A lot of them have added it under “Newer Music.” You really only have to put your name and the code, but when I do my local country station I include my zip code and city so they know I’m a local. I only request from them every 2 or 3 days. I do listen for it when I’m driving in my car.

  113. NolaMar Says:

    Sorry soulaz. 🙂 We were discussing whether radio play was important to the success of an album. CF was saying TOUR it first. I saw your post and to me it was a classic example – People hear a song they like on the radio, THEN buy the music and go to a concert. I believe that is why the first thing the big record companies do is promote a new single to the radio, and spend big bucks doing it. Modern Whomp is small but I believe is promoting the song to radio as much as possible. I may be too optimistic, but I’m hoping a little extra push from the fan base will help launch the song on a larger scale. A lot of people seem to have already written it off as a lost cause. But I think now is a critical time to be requesting the song and hitting the videos. I won’t bring it up again…

  114. Wow. Guess I shouldn’t have went to bed so early.

    momo Says:
    May 24, 2009 at 11:54 pm e

    CF, I’m not so keen on the current topic and was about to post in defense of our girl, but my sane side said, “don’t go there”…hahaha. I love ya Grey and I know you’re strong enough to ignore the hate!!!But if you want me to, I’ll cut a bitch!

    Oh, thanks, girl…but don’t bother. That’s what they want and it’s really not worth it. I’ve been around this fandom long enough to know that. 😉

    I’ve just never understood why Taylor’s fanbase has made it their mission to buy multiple cd’s, make numerous requests and traverse the internet searching for somebody “talking bad” about Taylor. And should anybody dare do that, they must bear the wrath of the self appointed SP police. Whatev.

    As for Taylor and radio…I just don’t know what else he can do. I was listening to Under the Radar this morning, and I just kept trying to figure out what it is that makes me love those songs so much. I think it’s the simplicity of them. Maybe it’s the fact that Taylor can actually play them on the guitar. I don’t know. I also listened to how easy his vocals seemed. I could just tell he was very comfortable with these songs, the comfort being the product of singing night after night in bars and restaurants. I don’t have the answers, but I just don’t think The Distance is going to be the answer to his career, especially if it isn’t going to be toured for another year.

  115. Christa Says:

    I’m not a radio person but I’m doing my share of requesting and filling out those mediabase forms. Since fans have started this, spins and adds have increased slowly but surely. And yes the DJs have specifically said that they won’t play it unless it gets some requests.

  116. Anyhoo, I was blathering on about Meatloaf being on House the other week.
    What a great actor.
    The credits showed his name as Meatloaf Aday, which I didn’t know.
    I like Pearl’s voice alot, and I’ve seen other singers way more twitchy than she is………Joe Cocker for example? LOL

    Yeah, Barb..I think his name is Marvin Lee Aday. Not that I know a little too much about him. 😆 I like Meatloaf better.

  117. NolaMar Says:

    The Wikipedia article said he changed his name from Marvin to Michael in 2001.

  118. Virtual Speak Says:

    IAG- He was 19 (maybe the pun is intended..not sure) when he penned those songs from UTR. He was in a different place in his life than he is now.

    The question I always wonder is did the fans stifle his muse? Did we as fans put such high expectations on him as a songwriter because of those early songs? Did he ever really have a muse at all?

    The songs from “The Distance” aren’t bad. They’re where he is now as a person- as an artist.. so he says. He’s a grown man. We either take him or leave him at face value. Anything beyond that is just putting to much credence and investment into a stranger we don’t even know.

    Oh, and Meatloaf.. totally awesome and theatrical as they come on stage. Love, love, love him. I still listen to him quite frequently.

  119. casualfan Says:

    Virtual Speak Says:

    May 25, 2009 at 1:03 pm
    IAG- He was 19 (maybe the pun is intended..not sure) when he penned those songs from UTR. He was in a different place in his life than he is now.
    ==============================================
    He did have alot of passion in his music back then. People seem to like “Under The Radar” the best but I’m more of a
    “In Your Time” fan although UTR is great.

  120. casualfan Says:

    I was under the impression that it was his arrangement! I wonder how many other people thought that? Interesting.
    =============================================
    I though so too Soulaz. Listening to Chris Mann’s version now and they do sound like similar.

  121. NolaMar Says:

    Just read an interview with Kris this morning that my sister sent me. Heartless is mentioned but he does not mention the Chris Mann version at all.

    http://www.usatoday.com/life/television/news/2009-05-22-allen-exit-interview_N.htm?csp=34&POE=click-refer

  122. NolaMar Says:

    Above, the song “19” was mentioned as being out of date. Well, I understand people feeling that way but it is not out of date to me and other people with military ties. When TD first came out I read that 19 was being played a lot on bases. Two of my sons will most likely be going to Afghanistan early next year. 9/11 might have been 8 years ago, but we are still fighting the people responsible. Please, not interested at all in a war debate here, but just saying “19” is still relevant to a lot of people. My 18 year old son had just joined the Marines 10 months before 9/11 happened. He’s still a Marine and involved in it all. Afghanistan is heating up big time and that is totally tied to 9/11 no matter how long ago it was. (And “19” is most definitely relevant today, on Memorial Day. My son lost 2 buddies in Najaf, and it could have been him.)

  123. NolaMar Says:

    Do you all not hear plenty of passion in IAOK, ILOAB, or WRIR? TD? I sure do. Those and a couple of others….

  124. I agree with CF I enjoy In Tour Time more than UTR and it was In Your Time that came out in 1997, when he was 20 or 21. He put out UTR in 2005 when he was 28. He is better now on arranging, performing, producing, his voice is stronger, he sings better and he just know so much more about the business. Back then he could never have figured out how to do a duet such as he did with Elliott of TD.

  125. Nola, I personally lost loved ones on 911. That’s what I was speaking of. I think there were so many of my neighbors who did too. I thought this was a loss for our country as a whole, not just the NY metro area. That’s why 19 is too painful for ME.

  126. NolaMar Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your losses on 911 momo! Truly I am! (We have family up there too. My husband was born in Brooklyn.) Yes, it did affect the whole country for sure, but not as much as you guys right there in the middle of it. But as much as I am sympathetic to your desire to put it in the past, I struggle with the idea of putting it behind us, or wishing to “forget it.” Not that I wouldn’t want to, but I honestly feel that we are in as much or more danger now then we were back then. IMO forgetting is the last thing we as a nation should do.

    On another note, I have wondered how people who actually did loose a Marine or soldier over these past 8 years felt about the song. For me it’s very relevant because it reminds me to be thankful that my son has come home unharmed from 4 deployments during this time of war, and especially to appreciate and grieve for the ones who did not. I guess everyone reacts to if differently based on their own experiences.

  127. Wish I had more time for a thoughtful response Nola. Thank you for being so kind. I’ll catch up after the kids are asleep, hopefully!

  128. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    May 25, 2009 at 4:11 pm
    I agree with CF I enjoy In Tour Time more than UTR and it was In Your Time that came out in 1997, when he was 20 or 21. He put out UTR in 2005 when he was 28. He is better now on arranging, performing, producing, his voice is stronger, he sings better and he just know so much more about the business. Back then he could never have figured out how to do a duet such as he did with Elliott of TD.
    ============================================
    That is what is so cool about his first cd’s…especially IYT. It was raw, natural and 100% pure Taylor. Not saying his currant cd isn’t all him, but more hands in the pie.

    I agree with you on him singing with Elliott and I forgot about that song. I haven’t played the currant cd in awhile so that song escaped me.

  129. Virtual Speak Says:

    Nola.. I made a “pun” about “19” because Taylor wrote those songs when he was 19. I, too was affected by 9/11. I lost loved ones myself.

    I never said it was or wasn’t relevant. There certainly seems to be a great deal of miscommunication here.

  130. NolaMar Says:

    Virtual, No miscommunication… I was not referring to your joke. There was some talk about the song 19 itself farther up.

  131. Virtual Speak Says:

    My apologies then Nola.

  132. NolaMar Says:

    VirtualSp, wow, I just realized I did not read your post thoroughly the first time. Completely missed the part about your having lost loved ones. I’m very sorry.

  133. littlewing Says:

    Hi JI, I like some country artists, (Jason Aldean for one) and maybe will discover a few more that I like…

    Thanks for the info Nola, won’t hurt anything to help get some buzz going. Non SPer’s would love him, I really do think that.

    Words can never seem to do justice, but so sorry to hear of your loss Momo.

Leave a Reply

