A Modest Proposal… SP Style

ohyestaylor

I recently ran across this post at another website.  The “Grease” tour is headed out to the Detroit area later on this summer, and apparently there was an earlier announcement from Team Hicks that after the CD release there would be a shadow tour show in every venue city.  This quote is regarding that shadow tour show, which had yet to be confirmed at the time of the original posting:

I’m sure you have heard by now that Chrysler is filing chapter 11 bankruptcy. This affects not just Chrysler employees and retirees but companies that supply Chrysler too.

I have many friends AND family affected by this and yes some are Soul Patrollers. Financial analysts have been telling some of them they may not only just lose their jobs but their retirement funds. What are these people going to do? The depression and stress Detroiters’ and all of Michigan is going through has just increased.  Public officials are trying to say it will make Chrysler a stronger company but that doesn’t help the people who work for them or supply them with parts or service.

Most can’t afford the $65 and $75 Grease tickets price that the Fisher Theater is asking.   (A shadow tour show…) … may not provide jobs but people here need some happiness…some stress relief.

Taylor recently announced that not only will there be a shadow tour when “Grease” skids into Detroit, but that the show will be a solo acoustic gig, something he’s never done before.  That got me thinking, how cool it would be for the beleaguered folks of Motown, and for Taylor, to continue in the theme of “never been done” before… what if Taylor did another gig for free?

It’s not like other artists aren’t doing it, lending a helping hand by offering some free entertainment during these stressful economic times.  Jay Leno recently put on a free comedy show at the Palace of Auburn Hills as part of his “Comedy Stimulus Plan”.  The city will host other free shows by the likes of Willie Nelson and Phil Vassar during its annual Downtown Hoedown.  And let’s face it, the PR for Taylor would be incredible:

“American Idol Winner Taylor Hicks is offering a free concert in Detroit this Saturday afternoon.  The Leader of the Soul Patrol claims that it’s an “Indiscriminate Act of Kindness”, one of the songs featured on his new CD “The Distance”.  Taylor is calling for other AI finalists to join him in bringing the music back to Motown, while offering this beaten down city some glimmers of hope in what has been a bleak Spring.”

It’s the music business, it’s politically savvy, it’s a helping hand, and it’s a good thing.

 

 

36 Responses to “A Modest Proposal… SP Style”

  1. suze4158 Says:

    O.k., that is really cool. A free concert for a struggling area.
    Way to go, Taylor!
    That’s a fun picture of him, too….he loves a golf course!

  2. spinshack Says:

    That’s a brilliant idea. Should tweet that to T. ha.

  3. Way to go, Taylor!

    suze, just wanted to make sure you read that correctly. IAG is proposing that a free concert would be cool. Taylor has not announced a free concert.

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    That is a great idea and great pr for him. Spin’s right get a tweet to Taylor!! 🙂

    JI

  5. I doubt T reads his tweets. ahha

  6. NolaMar Says:

    Great idea IAG. Hope someone gets that idea to him somehow. I don’t think he reads his tweet replies either. LOL

    BTW, I recall recently seeing a website (that makes fun of fans) mocking what I think was the very post you quoted above.

    Nice picture. Where did you get it? Are there more? 😀

  7. Snowstorm Says:

    Taylor is not popular enough to hold a free concert. He would still struggle to fill a venue. Tons of people hate Taylor for winning season 5.

    Now, if Taylor had a hit song play on the radio, then that would be a different story.

  8. Snowstorm Says:

    You have no idea if he reads his tweets.. maybe he does and maybe he doesn’t.. none of you know.

  9. Snowstorm Says:

    That’s a great picture of Taylor, btw. He looks much better slim than overweight.

  10. Yep, you’re right Snow. That’s why I qualified my statement with “I doubt” and NolaMar said “I don’t think.” 🙂

    And I don’t think he would struggle to fill a venue in Detroit. There’s a bit of difference between Michigan and California, where he did have problems.

  11. It would certainly be a nice idea if he had a free concert. Nice butt in that picture! Yum.

  12. Snowstorm Says:

    Even if all the hardcore fans got on an plane, it still would not fill a venue. I would bet any kind of money on that.

  13. taylorfan06 Says:

    Snow, I’ve always loved your optimism!

  14. NolaMar Says:

    Lol Sierra, I was not looking at his butt. Nice smile! I like that picture because he looks so happy and like he’s relaxed and having a good time. (But now that you mention it, the whole deal is nice. 🙂 )

    I think Taylor has plenty of other fans who aren’t what you’d call the “hardcore” ones. It’s not like someone has to be either “hardcore” or a “non-fan.” There is a middle ground. I was there for the past 2 years. Never looked at a TH fan board or blog until 3 months ago. Would not have even considered driving out of town very far, or especially FLYING someplace to see him. But I would have gone to see him in a concert in my home town in a heartbeat if he came back here. I was upset to find out he did a 2nd HOB concert here and I never even knew about it.

  15. jerseyirish Says:

    Snow, Always seeing the black clouds overhead. We are just saying it would be a nice thing for him to do.

    JI

  16. casualfan Says:

    Taylor has always done well on the East Coast and will do extremely well with these acoustic shows. And I also think he reads his tweets. He’s always been interested in feedback even if it is constructive criticism especially if it benefits him in becoming an even better musician.

  17. I agree with Snow in that I absolutely think it is great he is slim. Snow I don’t think his lack of current popularity has anything to do with people hating him for having won AI. He’s just fallen back under the Radar since mid 2007. His name is still drawing people to Grease so I think a well advertised concert in most States would have plenty of takers. Well at least I hope it would. BTW, does having meaty thighs have anything to do with a guy having a butt?

  18. casualfan Says:

    rosie, he’s a runner and runner’s have meaty thighs and butts.

  19. NolaMar Says:

    Some good news – I’ve been getting hijacked from the muvids site so could not watch SMB from there. Just went to the AOL video page, http://video.aol.com/category/music. SMB is at the top of the “most viewed” videos. Hope this keeps him front and center for a while longer. AND hope those DJ’s are paying attention!

  20. I need to marry a runner I think.

  21. “Great idea!”
    “Great idea!”
    “Great idea!”
    Snow: “Taylor is not popular enough to hold a free concert.”

    LOL! Damn, this place is hilarious sometimes. Snow, you mean-ass nasty bitch – don’t ever leave. LOL.

  22. Itsallgrey, I like that idea as well and the “ad” was very well written, most professional…. no wonder Suze confused it with the real thing.

    Sierra, you made me go back and look at the picture again… lol

  23. mamaforpeace Says:

    Hey, Guys, you should check t&jam’s blog. Ryan Bingham played in San Fran recently. I would have loved to go, but couldn’t. So thanks to t&jam for recording the evening:) Check it out, and check him out on iTunes, “Mescalito”. You won’t be sorry, I promise! Tickets in SF were $8.00, almost free I say.

  24. mamaforpeace Says:

    And while I am at it, I’ve got to give another plug to my man, John Boutte. If you go to New Orleans, he plays at D. B. A. on Frenchman Street most Saturdays for the price of a beer (good beers too) and a tip if you wish.

  25. Three things:

    1. I think a free show is a good idea because it would bring him some positive press, don’t you think? Or would those a**hole journalists put a negative spin on it?

    2. I’m trying to find a video. Taylor did an interview with a guy who was obviously gay (not that there’s anything wrong with that!). It was after the TH CD came out. (and after that guy came out. Ooo..stop me!) I know it was on brightcove.com, but the video part of that site is gone now. Does anybody have that video? I’ll give a free…um…let’s see…what can I give?. I’ll let you touch my husband’s thighs if you can find it.

    3. My husband’s a runner.

  26. casualfan Says:

    mama, You got me cravin’ a good old fashion roast beef po-boy smothered in gravy! (damn, I miss that food!)

  27. spinshack Says:

    Picked this up from previous thread to make certain “True” reads since it seems there was a misconstruing of my remarks made on that thread:

    “Well, that’s quite an a presumption. And it’s wrong.”

    It seems that you, “True” are being presumptive. I looked back upthread and my comments fall below henry8 and rosies’ not yours and I wasn’t addressing you at all. Nor had I read anything much you had written. How you could think I was addressing you I can’t imagine.

    Presuming and assuming do more than rhyme.

    Hope that clears the air.

  28. I just saw this info on mj’s blog:

    Taylor is back on the charts with The Distance:

    The Billboard 200– Re-entry at # 180

    Top Indie Album– Re-entry @ #21.

    Maybe some of those video plays are helping?

  29. Mr. Hicks really is going “the distance”!!!

    ‘ba-rump bump!’ Thanks folk, I’ll be here all week!!
    (oh wait, it’s Friday…. hmmm… )

  30. spinshack Says:

    TGIF. It’s been a loooong week. Feels like a month. Sleep deprivation taking its toll. *yawn*

    “Mr. Hicks really is going “the distance”!!!”

    Now that really did need a drum thump, YKW. ha.

    Good on Mr. Hicks getting back in the saddle. Noticed he did a tweet possibly per requested from a few fans regarding contributions to Kid One. Perhaps he does read his tweets. *shrugs*

  31. NolaMar Says:

    Trixi, I think that is the bump he got from the AI appearance and then the AOL home page link to the popeater article and the new video.

    Spin, true and rosie, henry8 – you might need to go back and reread all those posts, or else start that conversation over. Some of you responded to the wrong responses to the wrong persons. 😉 I gave up even trying to make sense of who said what and what they meant and who thought they were talking to someone else…….. LOL

  32. NolaMar Says:

    i want my runner’s legs back! Working on it…. 😀

  33. spinshack Says:

    I’ve been working out like a madwoman. Up to 45 minutes straight going full out on my elliptical bike. Doing that twice a day and running. Bench presses and incline sit ups. I burn a couple of hundred calories each spin on the elliptical and man it feels so damn good. ha. My sister wants me to join her in the next marathon event. I just might. She’s a runner. Okaaay, enough about that.

    Yeah NolaMar I reread that earlier thread but had no problem with discerning who had what, I think a few Quick Draws just skimmed, took what they want to read and went with it.

  34. NolaMar Says:

    “mama, You got me cravin’ a good old fashion roast beef po-boy smothered in gravy! (damn, I miss that food!)”

    Oh, please, no roast beef po-boy talk! Seems like everywhere I go online everyone is talking about food. LOL DH brought home fried chicken for DD last night and I was in torment. Good for you spin. You’re way ahead of me. I used to run 3 miles a day but let it go. No desire to ever do a marathon, but WOULD like to run the 10k CCC next year.

    What tweet are you referring to spin? I only saw the cone tweet from last night saying thanks to Regions and he had fun at home.

  35. spinshack Says:

    I thought as long as he tweeted something according to what I read from Hicksified, JI and BL talking about they were doubling their contributions to Kid One.

  36. suze4158 Says:

    Lovely. I started comments yesterday without a thorough read.
    Hey, Y’all.

Leave a Reply

