A peek into the life of Idol…

Found this article today. It just brings a few insights into the shitty wonderful life behind the Idol curtain. Taylor is mentioned in this article, only for the fact that Adam Lambert has “broken Taylor Hicks’ record for spending the most out of your own pocket.”

Also:

Oh come on…you knew that was gonna happen. Taylor knew how to work the camera, didn’t he? The thing is, Taylor’s version is the epitome of “less is more”. You don’t have the distraction of the background vocalists, plus, over all, I just think Taylor showed more emotion in his version.

But this…this has to be my all time favorite performance of a ballad from Taylor on AI:

And here’s an old mystery somebody could clear up for me…does he really say “it’s fuckin’ great” at 3:09?

87 Responses to “A peek into the life of Idol…”

  1. NolaMar Says:

    Thanks for that inside look article IAG. Really interesting. In HFOS T talks about the pace and craziness of it all too. Funny how they mentioned Taylor’s record spending out of his own pocket. LOL “Now broken by Adam” Faded denim shirt – $695? Jeans $855? Don’t think Lambert bought those, but the white Rat Pack suit was $1700!!!! Yikes!

    Michael Orland is mentioned in the article. He, along with Dorian Holley, gives the contestants vocal and musical advice for their performances. Check out this Taylor SD radio interview: http://www.kson.com/morning/OD-Interviews.aspx

    Now to watch the vids. YASB – one of my favorites.

  2. ‘Something’…it kills me every time. Every time.

  3. jerseyirish Says:

    Read the articel earlier today, what a schedule they have to keep!

    I really thought Danny over sang YASB, I know they called it a masterpiece, I didn’t get it. Taylor’s version was crisp, high in emotion and just drew you in.

    Lookiong forward to tonights show to see who the final two will be.

    JI

  4. spinshack Says:

    Ahahaha I said about the same thing with Hicks and Hokey! Like minds baby, like minds. Hokey sucked big ones.

    Good article.

  5. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, At the 3:09 it sure does sound like he says “its fucking great” maybe he slipped one by!!!

    JI

  6. casualfan Says:

    hahaha! Sounds like our soul man did drop the f-bomb! wooooohoooooo! He was so fricking cute with that chubby face. LOVE IT!

    I don’t get why they all think that Gokey sang YASB great either. He murdered the song just like he did with Dream On. And Gokey is NOTHING like Taylor!

  7. Taylor’s decision to do “Something” was brilliant. He performed it amazingly (and I’m VERY VERY critical of anyone who tries to do a Beatles song — eg: Kris’s version of “Come Together” Last week.. was uninspired and horrid… and he’s my favorite this season!!) Anway, it’s what got me in to Taylor.. made me vote for the first time ever… (and only… well, except the couple of times I voted for DC last year during the finale… )

    As for Gokey YASB v. Taylor YASB.

    Taylor’s version STILL makes me blush! Which FYI.. I don’t blush easily! Gokey’s version was dull and overdone.. really he didn’t need to tweak it that much!

    Oh and Hi btw!! haha

  8. Seven Days Says:

    I think Danny did OK technically, and he avoided comparison by completely changing the song. But to me Danny looks bored when he performs, so he doesn’t have that emotional accessibility that draws me into his performance or into the song. Taylor on the other hand has that in spades. The way he grips that mic stand for dear life during YASB gets me every time. Controlled emotion can be just as powerful as “belted out” emotion.

    Oh, and yeah Taylor definitely dropped the f-bomb lol. Look at Ryan’s face when he does it. That, and Taylor’s head shake after he sings “woo-oo-oo-s me” are my two favorite parts of “Something”.

  9. Hey Miriam!! Good to see ya!

    Oh Something…God I love the way he did that song. Everything about it…the head movements, how left hand is “reaching” for that someone. It was just done so well. You could see the emotion pouring out of him with this song. And that’s what I miss so much about Taylor on Idol. I knew that he was going to be “on” every week, letting everybody peek inside his soul, so to speak. Even he was pretending to let us peek…that’s more than we get nowadays.

    And honestly, as nice as Taylor looks now, all trim and such, I still like the old Taylor look better. *sigh*

  10. casualfan Says:

    And honestly, as nice as Taylor looks now, all trim and such, I still like the old Taylor look better. *sigh*
    ============================================
    So do I Grey. That’s what made me fall in love with him…such a cutie.

  11. suze4158 Says:

    Gokey does not have the emotional sizzle that Taylor brought…and I did not care for the church anthem vibe he put into YASB, much as I like and cut my teeth on gospel music.

    Never knew about the f-bomb after Something…..hahahahaha! I do believe he slipped that in!!!

    I melt every time I see that performance of Something. Sealed the deal for me with Taylor. I loved how Paula slid back her chair half way through as though she was blown away.
    I am trying to remember what else he sang that night…was it PTFM?

  12. NolaMar Says:

    Seven Days: “”But to me Danny looks bored when he performs, so he doesn’t have that emotional accessibility that draws me into his performance or into the song. Taylor on the other hand has that in spades. The way he grips that mic stand for dear life during YASB gets me every time. Controlled emotion can be just as powerful as “belted out” emotion.””

    Agree 100%! I like Danny. I like his voice. But he just doesn’t bring me into it like Taylor! He does look bored, just like you said. To be fair the guy just went through a HUGE personal loss very recently. That kind of pain makes you emotionally dull for a while. I see things in his performances every now and then that sort of give a taste of what he might be capable of. I think he has potential. He’s just not THERE right now for me.

    GO KRIS!!!

    Did anybody listen to that SD interview? (First post above)

  13. jerseyirish Says:

    cf, iag, I agree I like Taylor with a little pudge, think he is almost getting too thin now.

    JI

  14. Oh my. I’ve never heard Taylor’s version of “Something.” I can see why you’re all in love with him.

    And, oh yeah! He slipped in the f-bomb! I turned it up loud, replayed it three times and finally laughed out loud. He said it and I dig him for it.

    Gotta get back to being my family’s slave.

  15. *not saying a word about pudgy Taylor* LOL!

  16. casualfan Says:

    JI-I agree on him being a little too skinny now. Taylor may have had a roundish face during AI but I think he was adorable and very lovable looking back then…not that he isn’t now. He just looked healthy at that point. When the exhibit was unveiled at the Music Hall of Fame last year I noticed the size of the purple jacket which I believe was a 38. That’s not big at all considering his height. The camera puts at least 10lbs on a person.

  17. Gotta agree about missing the chubby face and the pudge. He’s too thin for me now.

  18. I’ve always thought he said it.

    But maybe I just wanted to believe. Heh.

  19. casualfan Says:

    I love him dropping the F-bomb on AI! ROFLAMO! I bet Ryan was aghast!

  20. I just remember that part not being on the west coast feed. That just helps to confirm my suspicions. ahhahah

  21. I vote for Taylor as he looks now and I would not call him thin. As long as he has those great legs and the broad shoulders, well that isn’t too thin in my book. I had to listen 3 times before I heard his slip of the tongue. Yep , he said it and it was f’ing great. Just one more piece of Tay info to clog my mind.

  22. dancingqueen Says:

    I like my Taylor somewhere between the idol weight and today’s. Both of those clips are reminders of why I’m still following his career.

    There is nothing about Danny that reminds me of Taylor – I just don’t understand the constant comparisons. I hope he gets the boot tonight & it’s a Kris/Adam finale. Kris’s version of “Heartless” was the best performance last night, imo.

  23. I hope that some of you who have watched these two videos that Grey graciously posted know you were seeing examples of Taylors ability to show emotion and act. He even shows his great, fun personality when he listens to and responds to the judges critiques. It’s that face and soul man. He mentioned in a new interview that Simon told him to do more Broadway and a movie. Tay is also out there telling the interviewers that he would love to do more roles and as soon as his Grease contract is up he will have his name put back on the lists for consideration. BTW Gokey go home.

  24. I remember he excitement the night he sang YASB and Something. And here in the south we heard the F-bomb loud and clear…. we were all questioning each other did he say just say Fuck… yeah, I think he did, I could not wait to have the song up to rewind and check that one out.

    And the way Taylor did YASB took me, for the first time, into the dreaded thud territory. The way he used his eyes on that song … he knows what kind of reaction he will get with those big brown eyes and long eyelashes.

    Danny did not nail it imho, I am ready for him to head home….

  25. littlewing Says:

    Yes oh yes, I remember the f-bomb analysis way back when, someone actually slowed up the video so we could all scrutinize it like a bunch of detectives on the case, hahaha. Taylor has a way of capturing the feeling and the subtle nuances of a song that Gokey cannot. Gokey by his own admission is used to singing with the crowd as part of being a praise leader – not to the crowd, and it shows. All in all though, I think he’s talented – just needs some work. I feel sorry for him that he recently lost his wife of 11 years…man, he’s got to be completely drained at this point.

    As for Taylor’s weight, he be looking these days! But then again, I prefer the long and lean look.

  26. littlewing Says:

    He is looking *fine* these days meant to say.

  27. NolaMar Says:

    Yes, I agree he’s looking really fine these days too. 🙂 He seems not as thin now as he was when first in LA. Just about right I’d say. Just look at those studio vids from this week. Not too thin at all. He looks like he’s been working out.

    Did anyone read the “Peek into AI” article IAG linked at the top? It’s really good. A bit long but really worth the read if you are watching this season. Go down to the part where they are in the studio. Sounds like Danny has a lot of respect for his talent over there. Even from Lambert. (And Lambert had some trouble with his recordings.) AL will be a rock star. I love rock, but I won’t be buying any AL unless he stops the screeching in every song. To me he peaked at “Mad World.” (Though I did love his “Crying” last night!)

  28. Yes, he said it there. “Just fuckin’ great.”

    He did NOT say it at the Capital 4th thing everyone was buzzing about a few days ago. No, I’m sorry, you’re wrong, he didn’t. It says so right here in True’s Big Book of Facts as They Really, Really Are. So there.

    But yeah – dropped the f-bomb after Something, on national TV, coast to coast, no doubt about it. *sigh* – I was so hopeful then.

  29. casualfan Says:

    rosie Says:

    May 13, 2009 at 5:37 pm
    I vote for Taylor as he looks now and I would not call him thin. As long as he has those great legs and the broad shoulders, well that isn’t too thin in my book. I had to listen 3 times before I heard his slip of the tongue. Yep , he said it and it was f’ing great. Just one more piece of Tay info to clog my mind.
    ============================================
    You wouldn’t think that if you had seen the man when I did. He seriously was in need of a few good home cooked meals. 😉

    Him dropping the f-bomb well…just makes him human. I think it’s great!

  30. Yep, had my arm around him recently and he really needs a few days of three squares and some chocolates. Also, when food was mentioned, he brightened up and said “BarBeQue!”
    But chubby or slim, he’s a babe!
    (But he doesn’t appreciate having his writing called chicken-scratch. Oops)

  31. And Gokey is gone!! Yay!!

  32. NolaMar Says:

    Oh, I’m sad for Danny! Really I am.

  33. I agree grey…. yea!!! Hokey Gokey gone. Go Adam..although Kris brought it last nite. Should be a good finale.

    Something and YASB were two of my favs from Taylor. He definitely knows how to work the camera. But you can actual feel the pain in his voice during Something. Awesome video’s

    Chubby Taylor is huggable, cute.

    Thin Taylor is hot, sexy, fu@#able.

  34. Nolamar…

    Eh. I’m not. Although I just told my husband, “You’ll never hear from him again. He sings the same AC stuff like Taylor.”

    *sigh*

  35. Oh come on Trixi…if you had chubby Taylor where you wanted him…you know he’d still be fu@#able!! ahahahahha

  36. “He definitely knows how to work the camera.”

    What the hell? Did I just dream of all that cringing?

  37. True, you’ve lost me. What are you talking about?

  38. jerseyirish Says:

    NolMar, I am sad for Danny too, but kind of felt the final 2 would be Adam and Kris, for a couple of weeks now

    JI

  39. Gokey was over rated and Adam has the charisma and seems nice and comphy with who he is. Kris just kept on keeping on and has some talent but overall I have not seen a star this season as far as a great singer. Perhaps Allison will sell well. It is my opinion that of all the past winners they have had on this year Taylor sang the best followed by Reuben. Maybe Fantasia will be on the finale. I thought Jordin’s song and performance sucked but watch it sell. You may or may not have heard that many country stations told fans who have requested SMB that they can’t play it. It is true that money talks and while it may not be payola per say something is amiss in the music business. Tay has picked up some spins this week so I guess it is wise to request it. Maybe, since so many DJ’s have said SMB is not country, hahaha, we could request it elsewhere. Where is SS, since she’d have the answer to this? That is not to say her answer or thoughts are always on target, but I do respect her input.

  40. I don’t know about you, IAG, but experiencing Taylor performing on TV is rarely a confidence builder from my point of view. More often, I’m cringing and feeling frustrated and embarrassed for him. As a result I surmise that his good camera work during YASB was a result of good direction, rather than his inherent talents with a camera. That would make that one of the few times he gave his mouth a rest and took some direction. But that’s just my opinion. It’s not actually int he Big Book of Facts or anything.

  41. Gotcha True…

    On Idol, he did play to the camera…Trouble, In the Ghetto, YASB. He seemed very aware of it. Not sure if he really took direction, or if the camera was in the right place at the right time. I wonder, if Taylor could go back to AI, if he would do, or not do anything differently.

  42. Oooh, interesting question, Grey. Although doing what he did, gave him the title.
    And True, I can appreciate that feeling. When he did that little jivin’ motion with his head a few weeks ago, during SMB, I had that same cringing feeling, like “Oh gawd…” *hides eyes*

  43. Something must be wrong with me, because I kind of liked the head bob.

  44. True what you said at 9:39 pm, OMG what have you been smoking and thus been seeing for the past 3 plus years? I could not disagree with you more. Ricky Minor said Tay was the only one who did not need direction. Hicks is the only one who has expertly used every part of the stage to move, dance and perform, and has used every muscle in his face, every nuence to show folks at home, the AI Tv audience what a song’s lyrics mean. Where are you coming from with such a statement? And now Tay is doing interviews well even from the golf course.

  45. NolaMar Says:

    rosie, that’s so frustrating to hear that country dj’s are saying it’s not country, when all the people I’ve played it for of given it to say is sounds like he’s gone country.

    I thought Jordin was pretty good. She did better than 95% of the guest artists this season IMO. That other chick – Kelly-something or something-Kelly was it? Wow, how horrible!! She’ll be a big hit!!

  46. Head bob was great and Taylor is one unique and ballsy singer/person/entertainer.

  47. Christa Says:

    Katy Perry was awful, Sparks was okay.
    Sad to see Danny going home but yay I hope Kris wins!

    As for Taylor’s single, just gotta keep requesting. E-mail, calling, etc. It’s gonna be hard for him.

  48. Rosie, I wouldn’t dream of taking you on re Taylor. You’re a True Believer, and God bless you. Taylor’s lucky to have fans like you. Any performer would be.

    IAG, yes, he had direction on AI and did better when he took it. (My post mentioned Trouble, as well, before I edited to shorten.) But how many, many times have we been pumped for a TV appearance only to have that sinking “oh Taylor….” let-down?

    That’s all I was talking about. It came to mind when someone up-thread talked about what a genius T is on camera. It was a WTF moment for me.

  49. Yeah, True…I have experienced that “oh Taylor” feeling too many times to count. 😉

  50. I dig the head-bob too. It’s NATURAL, not fake. It’s stuff like … oh… grinning inappropriately…seeming disconnected from the material… doing FAKE shite. I won’t specify further, as I see the conversation’s about the current AI thing, mainly. Not meaning to hijack that.

  51. Now I’m intrigued, True!! *pouts a little*

  52. True, feel free to hijack anything you want.

  53. I’m so not that interesting. Pouting’s definitely an over-reaction. Heh.

    DWTS anyone? Ha ha. Just kidding.

  54. Can’t believe I’m doing this, but I’m tired and weak tonight.

    Rosie, I wouldn’t dream of taking you on re Taylor. You’re a True Believer, and God bless you. Taylor’s lucky to have fans like you. Any performer would be.

    That was extremely condesending, and Taylor works the camera better than most I have seen.
    I have never watched him do one thing that made me cringe.
    That makes him sound like he is your child and every little twitch reflects on you somehow. Strange.

  55. True, and others, I don’t think I’m delusional about Mr. Hicks. I just hope that those fans who once decided on their own that they heard and yes saw something special in Taylor do not get swayed by all the negative crap that is out there. John Mayer is successful but anyone could pick anyone of his interviews, performances or life apart if they chose to do so. That is just the way the entertainment business/ singers/ celebs/ movie stars and public life people know and live with. You once liked what you saw and heard. We all cringe over even our family members. How many have cringed seeing photos of Hicks in his Teen Angel Nudie suit? This blog is Great, because we who post our opinions and the thoughts that cross our mind feel free to do so and rather safe from scorn. When there is disagreement it is lively. We even have some laughs. So while I believe I’m not delusional or over the top, I do respect the more critical or discerning commentators. I will say Taylor does tend to fib and boast and get facts and dates wrong and being a stats minded number person that drives me up the wall. His Grease performance numbers seem to jump by the hundreds and he is now stating he has toured for 4 and a half years!

  56. Henry friend, You must be in a weak moment to comment. Well thanks. True and some others can’t admit that it was not just his voice on AI5 that they loved but some feel a need to say they purchased his earlier stuff and that is and was the Taylor they loved and who he should be. Henry you and I both think he is a natural actor, has a natural talent just as he never took a singing or music lesson yet won AI. We will never convince some that Taylor should do what he wants and likes and is good at doing. However I don’t find True’s comment or others condescending to me. Hey Henry, the same guys who feel free to say go Tay for saying the F word after his Something Performance, think him sayin SP and raising his arm was lame as he was requesting votes. That thinking is beyond reason to me. Just know this blog started with way less positive posters than at present. I’m not crazy Henry and you are not and yet we have never felt like cringing when we have seen or heard Taylor. GO FIGURE.

  57. spinshack Says:

    Henry8 that comment wasn’t sounding condescending to anyone but you likely. It was a meant statement toward Rose being such a fan that she is. True, T knows how to work the camera but yeah, he’s had some cringe worthy moments. The guy can fuck up just as well as he can say the word. That said, we’re all just people and we all screw up now and again.

    My query to you is why you read here everyday yet only post when you see an avenue to something snide? Granted the rehashing of T’s every movement rather unnecessary but seriously let’s look at the heart of some of the contributors who do this versus yours as you stand in to just post negatives and cast your judgment on them. Strange.

  58. spinshack Says:

    I just read Rose’ s take and she doesn’t read condescending either – she as her usual sticks to the real. One reason I took a liking to her in the first place. Good on you, Rose.

    Rose, you are not crazy. Well, that’s coming from me, so take with salt.

  59. casualfan Says:

    Tonight was interesting on AI indeed! Looks like the Dark Horse is striding up to the front and going head to head with Mr. Lambert! Will be a great competition next week.

  60. mamaforpeace Says:

    Many times I cringed too when TH was on TV, especially since I know how good and natural he is live! I don’t get it, except maybe he gets nervous??? He was much better on AI when he wasn’t doing over the top stuff, like the leaning and wooing. That man really baffles me. If he wasn’t so damn great at times, I’d be out of here. But when he is good, oh, man, he is so very, very good. And there is that quality to his voice that gets me right in the guts. Strangely enough, I’ve never been able to pinpoint exactly what it is.
    As far as the way he looks right now, he is a young man. He should be in great shape and he is.
    I liked his performance of SMBD, a lot, head-bob and all.

  61. casualfan Says:

    LOL mama! From what I have read and learned about Taylor I think every move on AI was calculated and planned right down to the last grain of wooo dust.

  62. mamaforpeace Says:

    You’re probably right, CF. Wooo dust… so that’s how we all got enchanted? I am picturing TH as Tinkerbell, and it’s really cracking me up. Oh, well, it’s late!

  63. jerseyirish Says:

    cf, I agree always felt Taylor cacualted his every move on the show, he had the experience the others didn’t and knew how to work it.

    Rosie, Didn’t like Jordin’s song either, but you are right it will sell cause they promote her. Katy Perry wow what a mess she was off key and just annoying.

    JI

  64. I never said Taylor hasn’t had a cringe worthy moment. I was merely speaking about the videos Grey posted. I can remember a video from a fairly recent interview at a radio or tv station, where he sang one of his old songs (early works) and totally bombed it I thought. He was playing acoustic guitar and even forgot the lyrics. For the life of me I can’t remember the song. But I did say to myself WTF was that?

    Okay.. Grey you got me…. yeah I probably would chubby Taylor too!!

  65. Want a laugh? Read this: http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/2009/05/idol_beat_the_top_three_result.php

    My favorite part?

    Bye-bye, Danny Gokey. At first I felt pity for you. Then I realized that your dead-wife backstory was keeping your dreams alive. Then I realized that you were kind of a dick, the sort of dude I’ve come across time and again in life, convinced that doggone, you’re a good person and people like you – when, in fact, everybody sort of wishes you’d die a slow and painful death in the intestines of some gruesome creature. Also, your singing? Your singing was like the worst Taylor Hicks impression, ever.

    Yet if I’d had my druthers, you’d have hung on for one more week so Lambert could’ve stomped you, then scraped you off of the sole of his silver spray-painted stadium boot. There’s no denying it: Allen’s ballsy “Heartless” gambit paid huge dividends.

  66. henry – “That was extremely condesending…”

    henry, you’ve put a spin on my comment which doesn’t reflect what I was thinking. Could I ask you (and Rosie, if she was affected by your comment, or mine) to take another look?

    I find Rosie to be tolerant and resilient. As far as I know, she resides quite happily on a board that permits the free expression of all opinion, and I respect that above anything else. Despite her enthusiasm as a “True Believer”, she does not insist on prohibiting opinions that conflict with hers. And my statement, which you judged to be condescending, was actually intended to defer to her.

    PS – as I glance up before running out the door this morning, it seems Rosie’s taken the worst view of things as well. I’m sorry Rosie. Not my intention.

  67. Spin – “My query to you is why you read here everyday”

    Well, that’s quite an a presumption. And it’s wrong.

    Spin – “yet only post when you see an avenue to something snide? Granted the rehashing of T’s every movement rather unnecessary but seriously let’s look at the heart of some of the contributors who do this versus yours as you stand in to just post negatives”

    True` Says:
    April 29, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Taylor Hicks got it all completely right tonight. Beautiful job!

    Good entrance. Great wardrobe. Low dork-rating. No exaggerated mugging. Good moves. Nice guitar. No Soul Patrol, no lean, no SP guitar strap, in good voice, nice band interaction. check, check, check. Just a perfectly satisfying appearance. Congratulations, Taylor!

    And I’ve never seen Simon look gayer.”

  68. True…Spin was directing that comment to Henry, not you. 🙂

  69. NolaMar Says:

    MFP said:”But when he is good, oh, man, he is so very, very good. And there is that quality to his voice that gets me right in the guts. Strangely enough, I’ve never been able to pinpoint exactly what it is.”

    “You’re probably right, CF. Wooo dust… so that’s how we all got enchanted? I am picturing TH as Tinkerbell, and it’s really cracking me up.”
    ===================================

    Mama4P, what you said about his voice hitting you in the gut – couldn’t think of a better way to describe it! That whole post at 12:47 = my thoughts exactly (except I was not crazy about the head bob.)

    Funny I didn’t catch the Taylor Woo from AI5. Yea, I really liked him… his voice, song choices, and delivery grabbed and held me, but didn’t find him nearly as sexy as I do now. And I had plenty of “cringe” moments as the show proceeded bit still loved him and voted for him. I got a taste of the woo dust at HOB concert here 2 years ago and I would say TH has been my most played CD since then. But when I really got hit with it was when I started watching the fan videos from his post-idol tours on YT several months ago. I freely admit I’ve got a bad case of it right now, cringe moments be damned. (And yes, there are still plenty of them – several on the AI performance this year for me.) But he’s one extremely talented, sexy, underrated and underappreciated performer. That wipes out all the other stuff for me. I guess a little woo dust goes a long way to counteract the cringies. LOL

  70. True and some others can’t admit that it was not just his voice on AI5 that they loved

    Rosie, I’m glad you weren’t offended. I’d like to reply to your comment, above. In all my commentary back in the day, I always said that the Taylor-“body-part” I loved the most was his mind. (This applies whether it’s Taylor, or anyone else. Intelligence is my #1 attractor, and without it…the attraction withers quickly. Looks simply cannot compensate for that.)

    For various reasons I thought in the early days that I was seeing in Taylor a savvy strategist, and a very bright mind. But I’ve since learned that I was seeing him through GC’s filter, and I was simply guessing wrong (too hopefully) about what was behind various things. That’s become obvious. “Taylor smart?” Definitely not smart enough for me, thanks.

    His use during the show of the SP shout-outs was part of what impressed me so much. DURING THE SHOW. TO GET VOTES. I thought he knew he’d do best by connecting with a fan base, and was quick off the mark to accomplish that. A wicked sign of smart, I thought. I was very hopeful, indeed, especially when he let slip the mask (e.g. the f-bomb), indicating he was not the clown he was playing on TV.

    So as you see, I don’t have any problem remembering that I liked more about him than his voice. And there’s a very good reason to applaud the f-bomb, and still have applauded the shout-outs when that was appropriate. It’s just not what you thought it was. Things are seldom simple,eh?

  71. IAG, No, I think Spin WAS addressing me. My name’s the one that comes before her comment….

  72. True no need to apologize to me and I did not take your comment to me as condescending. I was the one who accused you of smoking something. Just to clarify why I went a tad off was not that I wish to dictate to others they should never cringe when they see or hear anything Tay does. That would be crazy. I was responding to your suggestion that Tay looked and performed YASB and Something well, or not cringe worthy, due to having received some direction from someone. I find that laughable, since I beleive Taylor is a master when knowing how to put over a song. Thinking about Henry’s comment this morning, I think she also found that laughable and may have percieved your lack of willingness to debate the issue with me as condescending. Anyway it is all good and I do enjoy a debate now and then and this is a fun blog.

  73. True, just to clarify my last post was written before your 1:40pm post. We seem to be having a momentary mind/love fest. lol

  74. mamaforpeace Says:

    True said: ” In all my commentary back in the day, I always said that the Taylor-”body-part” I loved the most was his mind. (This applies whether it’s Taylor, or anyone else. Intelligence is my #1 attractor, and without it…the attraction withers quickly. Looks simply cannot compensate for that.)”
    We are in sync here, True. But I think Taylor is more confused than not smart. He did a lot of things after AI that gave me hope too, like the shadow tours. And the rehearsal videos… I loved those. Then it all seemed to backfire on him, powers that be, AI fans who wanted the good Southern gentleman, I don’t know. It must have been disconcerting though to try and be who you are and be so soundly rejected and made fun of. A hell of a roller coaster ride for a young man. So hey, he may not be smart enough for you, but I really don’t think he is as dumb as the dumbass things he does at times. What can I say… I am an optimist and I tend to give people the benefit of the doubt!

  75. Want a laugh? Read this:

    “Favorite Audience Sign” brought back a few memories… Heh.

  76. but I really don’t think he is as dumb as the dumbass things he does at times.

    That’s going to be my siggie somewhere. LOL. Loved that.

    Hey, I don’t mind if he is a dumbass. I have a dumbass friend or two whom I love the hell out of. I just can’t be a big fan, is all. Because he’s never going to write anything astounding. Because he thinks he’s a songwriter. Right now. He knows it all already, so how’s he going to learn? He’s a master of the oversell, and under-deliver. He’s Bush-like in his misplaced confidence…and his public speaking skills. He got elected, but he’s not qualified to do the job.

    And so on blah blah blah. You know what I mean, mfp. And it’s all just my opinion, and probably desperately wrong.

  77. mamaforpeace Says:

    Bush-like! Damn, you are a hard hearted woman, True!

  78. Yeah, that was harsh if we are talking his level of dumassedness. But really I was only referring to unfounded confidence and incredible claims. And public speaking. He’s working hard.

    But in terms of sheer criminal negligence and stupidity? No. Not in Bush territory.

  79. mamaforpeace Says:

    I’ll give you the public speaking and the incredible claims. Never really got the Modern Whomp thing! But I am not sure it comes so much from unfounded confidence as from insecurity. Sometimes, they look very much alike.

  80. Excellent point about insecurity, but it’s already considered. E.g. of unfounded confidence: his view o his own skills as a songwriter. His belief that he’s too slick to be caught doing some of the really lazy ass, unethical bullshit he pulls.

    Still, the Bush thing was harsh cuz, Bill Will, you’re no Dick Cheney.

  81. mamaforpeace Says:

    Now, that’s funny!!!

  82. Damn True’, I am loving this discussion… Much of what you’ve written hits home with me.

    He’s a master of the oversell, and under-deliver. He’s Bush-like in his misplaced confidence…and his public speaking skills. He got elected, but he’s not qualified to do the job.

    The oversell and the under-deliver – acoustic tour, weekly blogs, even twittering, it seems. Oh, and let’s not forget bringing real music back!!

    Your statement is not only succinct, it’s dead accurate. Bravo!!

  83. Hard headed, but dead accurate? I’ll take that. Thanx, YKW.

  84. spinshack Says:

    “Well, that’s quite an a presumption. And it’s wrong.”
    It seems that you, “True” are being presumptive. I looked back upthread and my comments fall below henry8 and rosies’ not yours and I wasn’t addressing you at all. Nor had I read anything much you had written. How you could think I was addressing you I can’t imagine.

    Presuming and assuming do more than rhyme.

  85. rosie Says:

    May 13, 2009 at 10:02 pm
    Head bob was great and Taylor is one unique and ballsy singer/person/entertainer.
    ===================
    I love how we all feel different about the “head bob”.
    Personally, I cringe! Reminds me too much of this:

  86. AHAHAHAHAH Barb!! That’s probably where he picked it up from!!

  87. I like this discussion. But I disagree with you True. I think he’s sharp, but the sharpest people do stupid things all the time. Bill Clinton anyone? Insecurity, inexperience and fear equals bad decisions.

    If he was arrogant about his songwriting abilities he would have written the whole album himself. I think this is a lack of confidence not arrogance.

Leave a Reply

