Hot Ass Throwback Monday!!

A friend sent me this link tonight…and when I started watching it, I was like..oh cool, Spoonful James back in the day…but then, I saw that they brought their friend with them for this gig.

Then, I found more!!

76 Responses to “Hot Ass Throwback Monday!!”

  1. That’s the coolest f*cking thing I’ve seen in a long time. I don’t even know what to say. I’ll just go back to ‘Wow’.

  2. Caryl…I can’t believe you’re up!! hahaa

  3. uhhh….. Wow. Oh… WOW!!!!

  4. Holy shit, I am so glad I couldn’t sleep tonight.

    His “dancing” in these totally reminded me of his “taking it to the streets” performance on AI…one of my favorites.

    WOW is right!

  5. rajrae Says:

    I saw one of those earlier today!! WOW is RIGHT! I just recapped my Susan Tedeschi concert, so I’ll look at the others tomorrow. (Or I should say later today after I sleep a little, since the sun will be coming up soon if I don’t go to bed.)

  6. Ok, in the third video, at the 2:40 mark, is that BW sitting in the chair with his hat backwards?

  7. So, what would this dude say if someone told him that in 6 years time, he’d be touring the country playing Teen Angel in “Grease”?

  8. I think that dude would say, “No fucking way. I’m not gonna sell out like that.”

  9. Wow, who is the cute harp player with the greying hair?
    LOL
    I actually liked his mop top look……was very uhm, youthful.
    I love the moves too!

  10. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    He is just too cute in these vids! The dancing is great! And Wynn is a great guitar player- enjoyed watching these very much.

  11. hicksaholic Says:

    I think at least 10 lbs of Taylor’s weight loss can be attributed to getting his hair cut. LOL

  12. rajrae Says:

    Fun fun fun! Loved watching T dancing in that last one. You can just see how into the music he is. (Like me at HOB last night!) The mop-top was funny but cute. That boy was in serious need of a haircut. I wonder where these came from all of a sudden? I hope there are more out there that people are going to discover and upload. It’s fun to see him before anyone knew who he was.

    Watching the concert last night, and then SJ now, I was thinking “now this is MUSIC – the way it’s supposed to be!” (Did I say Susan Tedeschi was amazing? LOL) How dare those record companies cram their garbage down the throats of the world, and totally loose site of what it’s really all about? (I know, they dare because they get rich off it and don’t care.) Here’s to all the artists who are keeping it alive! The record companies are going down. I hope – there are a lot of people who let them tell them what is “good” and popular, and they swallow it like a drug. Hoping more and more young people, like Crista, wake up to it.

    For some reason this makes me think of Jamie Foxx. On Tuesday I was like “Wow” he’s a respectable musician – he’s got some credentials to be a mentor to these AI contestants.” I was very surprised. Then I proceeded to loose all respect for him the next night when he sang (lip synced) his “#1 hit song.” THAT was the sell out to me. It was all the worse that it came on right after Taylor performed.

    But sorry IAG, I still don’t see taking the TA part as being a sell-out like you do. It’s theater, and theater is different than (just) music. I think T’s trying to do both and I don’t have a problem with it if that’s what he wants. I would prefer just the music too, but that’s his choice.

    Did you hear he’s doing SMB after the Grease shows now? I wonder if it’s the acoustic version or if he has a track?

  13. spinshack Says:

    He is so hot in those videos, so CUTE! LOVE his hair. /fantarding

    Grey what fantastic finds!

  14. These are such fun to see . . hope the archival sites like tay-online pick these up.

    Seems like the uploader is making them available now because of the attention SMB is getting doesn’t it ?
    There was no activity – not even favorites or playlists – before now.
    fmr3
    Joined: August 05, 2006

    Tend to agree with IAG that 2003 Taylor wouldn’t have touched Idol with the proverbial 10 ft pole . . or maybe even known it existed. If it wasn’t for his brother, Sean, pushing him he probably wouldn’t have auditioned in 2005 either . . or at least that is the impression we’ve been given.

  15. Snowstorm Says:

    When will you people realize… pop rock, dance music and rock and roll will NEVER EVER go away! Yes, music fads come and go, but it always comes back to pop/rock. Why you say? Because the MAJORITY likes it!

  16. . . . that was supposed to read . Grease or even Idol

    shouldn’t post while on phone :{

  17. jerseyirish Says:

    Vintage Taylor, that right leg always tapping, thanks for posting!!! 🙂

    JI

  18. Snowstorm Says:

    OK, I suffered thru most of those videos. I’m sorry, it did not hold my attention. Most of it is a snoozefest. But, they are fine as a bar band. I loved how some of them were trying to dance in the second to last video. How in the heck do you dance to that music? That’s not dance music!

  19. Oh snow, what are we going to do with you?

  20. Snowstorm Says:

    Sorry, but that’s my opinion…very, very, very boring.

  21. While I’m not surprised that you would say that, I’m just wondering what you would like to hear Taylor sing. Would you rather he go all country?

  22. spinshack Says:

    Ahahahaha! Snow that’s so funny!!! *scream*
    “I loved how some of them were trying to dance in the second to last video.”

    I was in a rush after scanning the vids, I didn’t sit through them all either, FF more like it but that one with the “Charlie Brown” dancers is a hoot. I watched it the most. 😛

    I did love his moppy hair, I’d stop on those parts. ha.

  23. casualfan Says:

    100% PURE music at it’s best! Thanks for the vids IAG!

  24. Snowstorm Says:

    Taylor should definitely go country, but not twangy country. He should aim for country rock or country pop, similar to Rascal Flatts/Travis Tritt/Charlie Daniels/Johnny Cash/Keith Urban type of country artists.

  25. Snowstorm Says:

    Spin, HAHAHA! The Charlie Brown dancers…. you got that right, girl!!

  26. casualfan Says:

    As always, T will put his own spin on his music 😉

  27. casualfan Says:

    All of those artist are now considered Americana Roots which is a fusion blend of all described music-Taylor is in that genre.

  28. Snowstorm Says:

    Again, most of Taylor’s fans focus on how “good” taylor looks…tsk, tsk! The general public doesn’t care about that… it really is about music… no, really!!

  29. I agree with Snow it was very average bar band stuff and other than watching Taylor and listening to him play harp it was boring. It was so far from mainstream 2003 music, very Alabamaian. It was Taylor 2003 and he’d never want to go back to that but he is the same person he was then. We don’t change who we are from age 26 to 32 but his circumstances have changed. The hair and his moves were great. I think he started to think about AI when Bo was on and the age limit was raised.

  30. jerseyirish Says:

    Spin, Loved the “Charlie Brown Dancers”!!! 🙂

    JI

  31. rajrae Says:

    Snow, what DO you like about Taylor Hicks? It seems like everything you say about him is negative, yet I think you are a fan…?? You confuse me. You said he should aim for country rock or country pop. I think that’s exactly what he is already doing. SMB??? Do you like SMB? You seemed excited after the AI performance. Do you think that is a good song? That is a SJ song.

    I enjoyed watching SJ for the most part. (I guess I like bar bands… 😉 ) I think they are little better than “average” though.

    So, what else did Taylor do besides play with SJ in those days before AI? Did he play solo or with his OWN band? Isn’t LIMBO the band he played with before AI? It seems like there should be lots of videos of that out there. I guess I should finish reading HFOS. I started it the other day.

  32. rajrae Says:

    Snow, what DO you like about Taylor Hicks? It seems like everything you say about him is negative, yet I think you are a fan…?? You confuse me. You said he should aim for country rock or country pop. I think that’s exactly what he is already doing. SMB??? Do you like SMB? You seemed excited after the AI performance. Do you think that is a good song? That is a SJ song.

    I enjoyed watching SJ for the most part. (I guess I like bar bands… 😉 ) I think they are little better than “average” though.

    So, what else did Taylor do besides play with SJ in those days before AI? Did he play solo or with his OWN band? Isn’t LIMBO the band he played with before AI? It seems like there should be lots of videos of that out there. I guess I should finish reading HFOS. I started it the other day.

  33. Very Alabamian, Rosie? Seriously?

    And how do you know that he wouldn’t want to go back? *At least back then he didn’t have a crazy fucking fan base to deal with you.

    *not directed at you, rosie.

  34. Snowstorm Says:

    7 Mile is an awesome song…best song on the cd, in my opinion. Yes, I am a fan, but I do not fall at his feet and I do not love everything he does..I give honest opinions. I don’t do soul patrol or fan club activities because I think they are lame. I am fan that none of you know because I keep a low profile.

    I am a normal fan…no where near crazy and obsessed (with his looks) like I’ve seen from most of his fans.

    Did I answer your questions?

  35. rajrae Says:

    I guess that sounded like I had an attitude but I was simply curious. You are right, I don’t know you and we can only come up with impressions on a site like this. Based on that I guess I’m surprised you like SMB. You don’t like SJ but that’s a SJ song, both written and performed. And (I think?) you tend to defend pop music and he’s so far from that. That is why I asked.

    You are right about the over emphasis on his looks and the lusting. I DO try, and I think a lot of us here do, but sometimes you just can’t help your natural responses to someone so sexy and attractive, and that stuff just has to be vented. I could not stand it if that was all that was emphasized here, but now and then it’s gives us a good laugh when fangirl jumps out. (Then we stuff her back in and go on with our discussion. 😀 )

  36. I gotta agree with Snow here…Very average performance. Hate the acid washed jeans, flabby, dorky, very insecure in his own skin, Moe haircut lovin’ Taylor. There are glimmers of brilliance in his harp playing, but , really, he’s only a backup here. It’s amazing how Taylor stepped up his game in the next two years since AI and this video. I totally appreciate this video in the sense that it show how far Taylor has come. I love Taylor now more than then.

  37. rajrae Says:

    I commented on Charlie Brown Spin, but it never showed up. Charlie Brown Christmas was my favorite Christmas movie growing up, and that scene I especially loved. Thanks for the laugh! I have to go back and see what you mean in the video. I was probably tuned into Taylor and didn’t see it.

  38. Thanks for your sensibility and ability to see both sides Raj. And I’ve been fangirly too!

  39. rajrae Says:

    momo, you said he stepped up his game between the videos and AI, but he really did look JUST LIKE THAT (as far as appearance) when he auditioned. That’s why I was asking about other performances during that time period, where he was more than a back-up singer and harp player. The TH in these vids does not look like someone confident enough to be a lead singer in his own band, or a song-writer who put out two of his own records. I perceived a real lack of confidence, especially where at one point he picks up the mike stand and moves himself more into the background. Maybe I read too much into it. I think the lack of confidence is VERY noticeable in the audition too. He perked up when Randy and Paula liked him, but he was almost scared of what they were going to say after he sang the first song.

    Grey, I get the feeling (based on my few weeks here) and would not be surprised if you WOULD want that Taylor back. ??

  40. Raj, I was thinking he looked more like the Spazzed out, totally feeling the music Taylor like here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xR7TNOKXLB0… and in some ways I miss that Taylor too…*sigh*

  41. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    [quote]I gotta agree with Snow here…Very average performance. Hate the acid washed jeans, flabby, dorky, very insecure in his own skin, Moe haircut lovin’ Taylor.[/quote]

    Awww, but that’s what I love about him! LOL (seriously, I do)

  42. rajrae, yep, I would take that Taylor back. I wish I had been lucky enough to see him before Idol.

    I just find it interesting that he spent all those years toiling, not willing to change his music or himself, yet when AI came around, he jumped at the chance, and changed himself all up. Huh.

  43. And I don’t see insecurity in those videos. All I see is a guy totally getting his groove on. Insecure people don’t dance like that.

  44. I also had to laugh at all the dudes who were dancing like drunkin fools in these videos! Where are these guys now? I have to believe that some of them are still TH fans.

  45. Snowstorm Says:

    rajrae, you base what you like on the genre… I don’t do that. I look at the song, not the genre. To say everything on pop radio is bad is not a fair or accurate statement. Most of the songs have good hooks… that’s what makes them popular. Majority wins.. that’s how it goes… especially in music. Don’t be offended, but most of Taylor’s fans are like you.. a little close-minded when it comes to music.

  46. rajrae Says:

    Definitely getting his groove on and I love seeing that! 🙂

  47. Rag, when you finish reading his book you will have your questions answered and learn he had his own band for years and was lead singer in a few other fairly succesful bands. He is frank about his pre AI years. When I watched the above videos I was relating them to the time period he mentioned in the book. He said his asshole years were from 24-27 and he was 26 in Jan 2003 in above vids.

  48. rajrae Says:

    snow said: “rajrae, you base what you like on the genre… I don’t do that. I look at the song, not the genre.”

    That is SO not true about me! LOL I love all kinds of music except twangy country and hip-hop. Rock and blues are my favorites. But you are correct – I’m close minded to pop. The majority wins statement, I’m sorry just not buying it. People are being FED that stuff. It may win in the money department, but as for being GOOD music, no, it’s not for the most part. (IMO)

  49. You guys, I don’t think the one night that these vids were done is representative of pre AI Tay. He was 18 and the front guy with Passing Thru for a few years and they were pretty successful and more professional looking than these guys. He was with Flech Lives and had the Taylor Hicks Band with different players for years. He made the rounds in Nashville for a year and went to LA. I like Spoonful James now and the more recent vids of Tay and Wynn singing. It is just this particular night, the song choices, the lack of Tay vocals that I find average and boring. Tay was working with his own band in 2003 and may have just joined SJ on occasion to pick up some extra $. He is standing by and letting Wynn be the lead, but still we get a glimpse of show boat Tay.

  50. rajrae Says:

    Let me clarify that Snow. I don’t love every song in rock or blues nor do I hate every hip-hop song, or country. I’m only discussing my taste and what I personally TEND find appealing and what I don’t. I don’t like or dislike a song BECAUSE it is a certain genre. I like a song or I don’t, but I’m talking about tendencies. That’s why your statement is very wrong about me.

  51. Oh, I Soooo do not see any insecurity in these videos or in his AI audition. It is funny how we each see different things. Tay was always ballsy and I recall one music guy who Tay pestered said Taylor was agressive. He even mentiones in his book, the lengths he went to in order to get gigs and be seen and heard.

  52. Snowstorm Says:

    They are being fed that because that’s what they like. It based ALL on surveys, studies, what people are spending their money on and trends.

  53. casualfan Says:

    rajrae, Please don’t feel like you need to clairify anything. Your opinions and insightfullness are well respected.

  54. Snowstorm Says:

    Do you dislike pop radio because they don’t play Taylor? Because like most fans, that’s the reason they dislike it.

  55. I liked some pop music before Taylor, and I continue to like some of it after Taylor. It doesn’t matter to me whether they play Taylor’s music on the radio or not. It might matter to some, but I’m not in that category.

  56. casualfan Says:

    I think everyone in the entire SP knows (or should know) that T is NOT a pop Artist and never will be. Even when he was on AI it was clear that pop wasn’t his thing.

    And I don’t think that “most fans” are like that either. I think part of the allure with Taylor is the fact that he is real with his music which is not common in today’s music industry. Those of us who enjoy the real down to earth music finds that in Taylor-hence the attraction.

    Most of today’s pop is pre-fabricated noise that makes no sense.

  57. Snowstorm Says:

    What are you talking about cf? Taylor has tried time and time again to be a pop artist. Didn’t you listen to his post-Idol cd?

    The Idol powers tried to make him into a pop star, lol, and he didn’t resist. But we just don’t know what was forced on him and we never will.

  58. Snowstorm Says:

    They wanted him to be the new “Michael Bolton”! Yuck!

  59. casualfan Says:

    Trying and being are two different things. I never said that he didn’t try. I think J Records tried to sell him as a pop Artist but obviously it didn’t work.

  60. casualfan Says:

    I have to agree with you on Michael Bolton-I was never a fan of his.

  61. I think part of the allure with Taylor is the fact that he is real with his music which is not common in today’s music industry. Those of us who enjoy the real down to earth music finds that in Taylor-hence the attraction.

    Actually CF, I think that’s why some fans felt like they “bonded” with him, for lack of a better word. But as for Taylor being true to his music now? I’m not too sure about that.

  62. casualfan Says:

    I don’t know anything about any “bonding” that is going on or went on but when Taylor is up on stage he is true to his music.

  63. For me there were no dogs on the TH CD but there are a few barking on ‘The Distance”. Therefore the desicions of TPTB and which Taylor agreed with or compromised resulted in a pretty decent CD. It is a decent CD that should have had a few decent hits, but we’ve been over that 1000 times.

  64. casualfan Says:

    I’m a firm believer that things always have a way of working themselves out and it’s my observation that Taylor is indeed finding his own way, especially with songs like SMB. Taylor is not a pop Artist and I doubt he ever wanted to be. I feel that he’s looking for his own distinctive sound and to simply have his voice heard and entertain people.

  65. “It’s amazing how Taylor stepped up his game in the next two years since AI and this video. I totally appreciate this video in the sense that it show how far Taylor has come.”

    But he was not the lead singer in these videos. This was Spoonful James’ gig. So it makes sense why he’s not stealing the show. He’s just backing up, playing harp.

    I’m guessing Grease is a vehicle that allows him to play his single every night on someone else’s dime. He must be pretty interested in promoting his music if he got that included in the deal. After hearing his latest CD, seeing his AI performance and noticing that the “Soul Patrol” gimmick is a thing of the past, I feel confident he has some bigger plan here.

  66. casualfan Says:

    rosie, I totally respect your opinion and I know a few others who feel the same way. But I like The Distance much better because at least for me, it’s more Taylor than the first one.

  67. casualfan Says:

    After hearing his latest CD, seeing his AI performance and noticing that the “Soul Patrol” gimmick is a thing of the past, I feel confident he has some bigger plan here.
    ========================================
    Gimmick yes! Taylor was taught by a very savvy business woman who raised him. He knows exactly how to market gimmicks! LOL!

  68. Snowstorm Says:

    The “gimmick” only worked to get votes, so the gimmick was successful in that context. After he won, people saw through the “gimmick” and were turned off, because it wasn’t about the music, it was about the”gimmick”. Flash in the pan novelties don’t work in music.

    It was more about selling t-shirts and other crap. It was about the money.

  69. jerseyirish Says:

    I’ve always said I liked both CD’s. Both are different but easy listening. His post Idol CD was not what I was expecting, but after a listen loved it.

    JI

  70. casualfan Says:

    Flash in the pan novelties don’t work in music.
    ==============================================
    Today’s pop world is built on “flash in the pan” novelties.

  71. Snowstorm Says:

    “Flash in the pan” novelties wear off in music. They are NOT successful. Soul Patrol was about his fanbase.. not about Taylor Hicks. Giving more attention to your fanbase is a big mistake.

  72. IAG QUOTE “Actually CF, I think that’s why some fans felt like they “bonded” with him, for lack of a better word. But as for Taylor being true to his music now? I’m not too sure about that.”

    I have been reading HFOS this evening (sick in bed). I was struck when he mentioned him not fitting into any genre because he does so many different ones. He doesn’t WANT to fit into any certain one, and that is exactly what he did on TD. According to what I just read, he is def being true to his own musical desires.

    Snow, I have only been an “active” TH fan for a few months. I did not like or listen to pop before this time period either.

    Again, I concede that I was wrong about the confidence part. I was only speaking to that one move I noticed. He was back up here like you said and not trying to be in the limelight. I just read about this period of time for him and I now understand he was anything but under-confident. This book really makes me laugh at some points! It’s very funny but very poignant too. And “enlightening.” When I mentioned the audition, the only thing I’m talking about is the look on his face just after he sang A Change Is Gonna Come. Like he’s expecting to get kicked in the face. I’ll have to keep reading to see if he talks about what he was feeling at that moment. What I wrongly sort of saw as under-confidence may have just been intense anxiety at a “moment of truth” for him. It really was a very pivotal moment in his life.

  73. casualfan Says:

    He doesn’t WANT to fit into any certain one, and that is exactly what he did on TD. According to what I just read, he is def being true to his own musical desires.
    ============================================
    I totally agree with this raj as I also don’t think for a moment that T is wanting the glory and fame that some are convinced that he’s looking for. He was sincere when he said that AI was simply a platform to get his music/voice heard. Just another ingredient in the soup mix….

  74. Pipsmom Says:

    One word about those vids: DAYUM!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

