In A Perfect World…

“This album is all love songs,” he said. “These are the songs my fans really want to hear me sing.”

Probably wondering who said that, aren’t you? Well, it was Ruben Studdard, the less maligned American Idol winner. After three cd’s, two of which did not sell well, Ruben has decided to make a cd of what his fans want to hear. What a genius idea. 😐

It was also in this same article where a synopsis of the Idol winners was published.

Where are they now?

“American Idol” has far from guaranteed superstardom for its winners.

While Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood have sustained success, Taylor Hicks and Jordin Sparks have nearly disappeared from the pop culture radar.

Here is a look at what the former winners are up to now:

Kelly Clarkson, season 1.
Clarkson has sold more than a whopping 10 million records, and is adding to the total with last month’s release of her fourth album, “All I Ever Wanted.” Fortunately, she hasn’t returned to the big screen since her poorly received “From Justin to Kelly” in 2003.

Fantasia Barrino, season 3.
Barrino is in the studio working on her third album due out this fall. Afterward, she reprises her role as Celie for the film adaptation of the stage musical “The Color Purple.”

Carrie Underwood, season 4. The country artist has enjoyed immense success since winning “Idol,” with multiplatinum albums “Some Heart” and “Carnival Ride” and multiple Grammy Awards. She recently covered Mötley Crüe’s “Home Sweet Home.”

Taylor Hicks, season 5. The face of “The Soul Patrol” is on tour with “Grease” as the Teen Angel and released his second album, “The Distance,” last month.

Jordin Sparks, season 6. The youngest “Idol” winner has popped up singing at a variety of charity and sporting events and President Barack Obama’s inaugural ball. She has a book, “One Step at a Time,” coming out this fall and is working on a second album.

David Cook, season 7.
Last season’s winner currently is on the road with his “Declaration Tour.” His self-titled release went platinum two months after its November release.

So, I”m wondering…if Taylor followed in Ruben’s footsteps, and decided to make a CD that his fans wanted him to make, what would be on it?

Something like this?

Oh no, wait, that’s just what Taylor’s “real” fans like to tell others to do.

Let’s try again:

No? No puppies and rainbows?

How about this?

Ick. Let’s go to some real stuff that would be good on a cd….



And this…I think I’ve posted before, but I love it.

Oh, and FYI, I’ve removed the nesting comment feature. Some posters didn’t like it and it was really messing up the comments. 🙂

And this…just because…

shytaylor

112 Responses to “In A Perfect World…”

  1. Definitely like Tweeps better than Tweeples! LOL

  2. “Ruben has decided to make a cd of what his fans want to hear. What a genius idea.”

    Yea, too bad Taylor never did that…. I guess he just made one that he THOUGHT his fans would like….

    Well, I REALLY like the Jon McLaughlin video, and of course the Stones – what’s not to love there? THAT was incredible! Will watch the others later.

    Should get some rest – spending the whole day at the Jazz Fest tomorrow!! We’ll just wander around for the first hour or so, then target “Big Sam’s Funky Nation” first, then “Astral Project” at the Jazz Tent, “Galactic” a the Gentilly Stage, then Johnny Winter in the Blues Tent at the end of the day. Really “jazzed” to be going again this year! It’s been a long time. Might even go back by myself next weekend while hubby is out of town. Hope to take a few video’s and lots of pics.

  3. Forgot to click the “Notify Me” box…..

  4. casualfan Says:

    Thanks for the Jon McLoughlin vid Grey. I LOVE that song.

    rajrae, Taylor hasn’t heard what his fans really think of his music because of the censorship and all the fawning that has went on over on his fansites. How can he truly evaluate what his fans REALLY want to hear when all the sites are dominated by mindless drones who fawn over every thing he does?

    IMO, more blogs such as this one need to be created so we can all talk about it. Constructive criticism is a good thing.

  5. DIMYP? Ha ha ha. Not in a million years, thanks.

    If I’m going to choose a single song, I would want the one song I’ve wanted to hear him do live since 2006: Try a Little Tenderness.

    It wasn’t even an AI song. It was from his own repertoire. It was part of his history. Have never understood why he hasn’t performed it or recorded it. Where ever I lay my hat…but not TALT? It’s a mystery.

  6. mamaforpeace Says:

    Rajrae, I so envy you being at jazz fest! Was planning to go this year, but it didn’t happen. Hope you catch John Boutte (I think that’s next week-end).

  7. spinshack Says:

    True, he’s a mystery wrapped in an evasive wrapper. lol

    Why too on Twitter does he not do like so many other stars do? They gather followers, they talk to the fans, they send out -oh noez! vids of themselves, song bites, what a marketing tool and he sticks with talking about that cone and tweeples? ahahahhaa. Is he just scared shitless that there are mobs of crazed maniacs lying in wait to kill him?

    Man, it’s about connecting and growing and relating to others, being a success in the lime light. The twitter thing for him just not working out.

  8. Mamaforpeace, did I turn you on to John Boutte? I did someone in Hicksville…can’t recall who. Anyway, he’s local, and it sounds like Rajrae is too….? I’m dying of jealousy as well…

  9. spinshack Says:

    ahahahaha I just did this twitter thingy that my new shiny internet “boyfriend”, Stuart sent me – plugged in Taylor’s Twitter account and this is what it said about him:
    Personality: Reknown Sociopathic, Vain
    Style: quiet coherent
    Celebrity
    Link to see:
    TaylorRHicks Twitter

    Beauty.

  10. spinshack Says:

    I’m labeled a garrulous networker. ha.

  11. mamaforpeace Says:

    True, it may have been you. I know it was on the C2WHAT blog. I must thank you if you were the one who helped me find this incredible artist. Tried to se him twice. Once the second leg of my plane got cancelled, the second time, my husband and I drove to New Orleans to see him at D.B.A.(it became part of a great 7500 miles thfough the US), but he’d gotten a gig somewhere else. Saw Paul Sanchez instead. Nice. But I am not giving up on seeing JB. Hope to try again this summer.

  12. He’s teeny teeny tiny. A tiny man. Makes it all the more impressive that all that comes out of him.

  13. JumpedtheShark Says:

    Spin, you mean twitter is not working out for Taylor like myspace, facebook, HQ……..LOL

  14. Hallelujah, Taylor actually twittered from someplace outside the cone last night. It sounded like he was at a Trailblazers game, or maybe afterward.

  15. He seems to like Portland… “Portland Rocks!!!” These are the kinds of twitters I hope he starts doing more of. Give him a chance to get comfortable and get that hang of it. I bet he’ll be better at this than MS or FB. He can do it from his phone – no computer required. LOL

  16. Yeah, I’d love a CD from Taylor consisting of music his fans want him to make. Oh, wait a second! Based upon the diversity of opinion within his fanbase, maybe that’s what The Distance is!

    At this point, I am much more interested to see if he will continue to be a “working musician” in the future. And sadly, even that question doesn’t intrigue me that much anymore.

    I try to get all a-twitter about his musings from the cone, but I think I broke my tweet. I’m being facetious, but it kind of makes me a little sad, really.

  17. Oh, and I forgot to mention . . . I choose Puppies and Rainbows. Mainly because of its poignant examination of the greater societal ills our time. Or because I like Puppies and Rainbows. I can’t remember.

    Unless, of course, Taylor promises to wear the kneepads . . . then I totally pick Beast of Burden.

  18. hicksaholic Says:

    True
    I wish he would do Try A Little Tenderness too- full version. He would kill that song. In fact I think it is one of the selections for AI this week. I’d love to see one of the contestants do it Tuesday nite and Taylor come in Wednesday and show them how it is done.

  19. At this point, I am much more interested to see if he will continue to be a “working musician” in the future. And sadly, even that question doesn’t intrigue me that much anymore.

    It’s madness, isn’t it? With the economy taking down everything from CD sales to concert revenue, with fans not traveling as they used to (economy, again), statements like the one Soulaz made should scare a ‘working musician’ sh*tless. Any fan’s interest is their lifeblood, it’s their bread and butter for god’s sake! And the bitch of it is that there’s always someone with talent and (more importantly?) better marketing skills ready to fill your shoes when your fans get bored and drift away.

    Thanks for the cool tunes, IAG! Beautiful weekend to everyone!

  20. Snowstorm Says:

    Well, I’m going to give Taylor some credit for at least attempting to Twitter. The tweets have been steady, so far…maybe it’s more up his alley and feels more comfortable with it. We all know that blogging is a lost cause with him.

  21. mamaforpeace Says:

    True says, re. John Boutte:
    “He’s teeny teeny tiny. A tiny man. Makes it all the more impressive that all that comes out of him.”
    I know! it’s like every inch of his body feels the music. Talk about passion.

  22. Exactly which fans should Taylor listen to when deciding what songs he should record? If he took heed of some of the above posters he would believe he should include more jazz. I’m not a fan of jazz. He would also read that some scorned DIMYP, while knowing that was his biggest seller. He knows some hate country and some love country. He has radio play and yes even pop to consider if he wants wide appeal. I know two fans who liked TH the best, followed by The Distance and did not care for his Early Works. There is no consences regarding what “Fans” prefer. Should one of the songs on The Distance sell big then he’d draw in some new fans. Taylor was influenced by the music he listened to growing up in Bham where there are more country stations, more blues and southern rock. Radio there is way different than in Mass. or Washington State. Don’t wait for him to take a poll or change what he wants to do and believes he should do. Thank God he chose to do Grease since it is another money making outlet to showcase his innate talent, comedic timing, instincts and ability to entertain. How many times have many of you read and heard him say he loves to entertain people, begining with the first time you saw him on AI? Some just don’t get it yet and want to change him to their liking.

  23. Snowstorm Says:

    I think people are confused by Taylor. They don’t know what he is. Is Taylor trying to please everybody…it won’t work.

    Taylor should play on his strengths – he has a country twang in his voice, so go with that – country rock or southern rock. This is a genre similar to Kid Rock and Sheryl Crow’s music.

  24. spinshack Says:

    Hoge reminds me of Elliot Yamin. You have a thing for those soulful guys in newsboy caps don’t you? (see Foy Vance)

    Puppies and rainbows – haha ‘come be a rainbow with me’./ giggles

  25. Mamaforpeace, did I turn you on to John Boutte? I did someone in Hicksville…can’t recall who.

    One of those people would be me, True! And thanks for that. You said when you saw him perform he cried when he sang the Annie Lennox song “Why”. …and with that I knew I had to look him up.

  26. Snowstorm Says:

    Found a couple of interesting tweets..

    “Anyone want to be an extra for 3 hours on monday @5:30pm for a taylor hicks video in ojai ca?”

    Looks like they are trying to find extras and they are filming in Ojai CA!

    “Got so much done today!!! Taylor Hicks vid is gonna be awesome!!!”

    Cool! This must be someone working on the video.

    http://search.twitter.com/search?lang=en&max_id=1613771039&page=2&q=taylor+hicks

  27. That’s cool, Snow! Ojai, huh? Desert country, right?

  28. taylorfan06 Says:

    Here’s the link to Taylor singing SMB at The Roxy on 3/18/09.
    (Courtesy of soulpatrol (Gina)).

    It was the BEST show! 11 minutes!!! I can’t for him to “tear” it up on Wednesday on AI. Enjoy everyone.

  29. Snowstorm Says:

    YKW, yes, I’m sure Ojai can mimic very well a dusty, sultry Southern road!

  30. Ojai is in Ventura County . . . it’s definitely not desert country. It’s on the wrong side of the mountains to be desert. It’s located kind of in between Santa Barbara and Ventura, but a bit more inland. As far as greenery and scenery goes, it’s very similar to both of those cities.

    It’s kind of a quaint little town. Very cool place for a SMB video!

    I lived in that part of California for a long time . . . 😀

  31. spinshack Says:

    Scenery not exactly Mississippi or Alabama but yeah, hot and dusty. Certainly we can all see where this vid is heading.

  32. So, hot, green, and sultry? Nix on the dust?
    Makes me thirsty… where’s that Patron, Spin?!?
    😉

  33. spinshack Says:
    April 25, 2009 at 11:46 am e

    Hoge reminds me of Elliot Yamin. You have a thing for those soulful guys in newsboy caps don’t you? (see Foy Vance)

    I know, right? Except I’m not really a fan of Elliot Yamin. Go figure.

  34. Mississippi should be HOT and SULTRY with humidity, not dusty. LOL Oh,well, I’ll pretend I don’t know it’s in CA instead of the south…..

  35. Spin, I’m labeled “quiet, coherent and a lurker.”

    Um, so wrong in so many ways.

  36. Remember – you can “cut the air with a knife.” PERFECT description!

  37. mamaforpeace Says:

    T&J, we can both thank True for turning us on to Jonh Boutte since this is the comment I remember also.

  38. 1.How do you figure out your twitter personality?

    2. If Mississippi is anything like Louisiana (and it sounds like it in the song) it’s nothing like a desert. It would be swampy and hot, with the sound of cicadas in the air (you know- that kind of buzzing sound).

  39. Guess I’m gonna have to check out John Boutte. He’s at Jazz Fest next Friday, but I can catch him at a lot of places around here it looks like. He’s at DBA tonight. Too late and too tired for that one!

  40. No worries about Ojai . . . it’s not desert at all. Trust me, I live in the desert, and I used to live near Ojai.

    I think they usually describe that part of California as being like the Mediterranean. Lots of trees and whatnot.

    I don’t think they have cicadas, but there are lots of grasshoppers and crickets and stuff . . . and they make creepy, icky bug noises too. 😛

  41. Well, that twiiter analyzer thingee just insulted me! Here’s what it said about me:

    Personality: lonely incurious unremarkable
    Style: chatty coherent
    VOYEUR

    I’m NOT chatty! LOL!

  42. Sounds just right, soulaz.

    I wanna be in the video! *pouting* So what if I’m too old and too far away and too uncool? Wouldn’t it be fun to tell people you’re in a music video? You could just let them think you’re like those women in ‘Addicted To Love.’ (yeah, I know, my age is showing with THAT reference. *pouting again*).

    Hmpf!!

  43. Oh, Caryl..I was just going to show you the link: http://twanalyst.com/ but I guess you already found it.

  44. Thanks, anyway!

    Boy, it’s quiet on the internets! Finally got my sick hubby to go to bed and now I’ve got nothin to do.

  45. Yeah…I’m headed to bed. Long day tomorrow.

    🙂

  46. casualfan Says:

    Have y’all read this from AOL today? LOL! Sadly, Simon was right.

    http://television.aol.com/american-idol/2008/01/25/simon-says-nastiest-cowell-quotes/?icid=main|main|dl2|link5|http%3A%2F%2Ftelevision.aol.com%2Famerican-idol%2F2008%2F01%2F25%2Fsimon-says-nastiest-cowell-quotes%2F

  47. mamaforpeace Says:

    Rajrae, John Boutte is at d.b.a most Saturday nights when he is in town. Nice little club.

  48. mamaforpeace Says:

    And some day, I’ll see him there! Lucky you, living in New Orleans… most times anyway.

  49. casualfan Says:

    2. If Mississippi is anything like Louisiana (and it sounds like it in the song) it’s nothing like a desert. It would be swampy and hot, with the sound of cicadas in the air (you know- that kind of buzzing sound).
    ———————-
    Caryl, MS has many faces of landscaping. Vicksburg is very lush with greenery, hills and valleys, McComb is covered in Magnolia trees, live oaks and hills, while southern MS has the beaches. Mississippi is also known for it’s long stretch of highways that seem to lead to nowhere at times. That state definitely is in it’s own world with much history and culture. Very underrated IMO.

  50. Wow..this is from that article, CF.

    “They [Paula Abdul and Randy Jackson] loved him. I couldn’t stand him [Taylor Hicks] I didn’t get it. At the end of the day you have to find a bona fide recording artist. Just because you win the show doesn’t mean you will sell a lot of records. Chris [Daughtry] is the one who sold the albums, not Taylor.”

    — confirming that no, he (Simon) is not a fan of Taylor Hicks

  51. Simon is full of it………quite the hypocrite!
    When he took the video clip of Taylor to the Tonight Show, (to show the likeness of Tay to Jay) he said “and I quite like this fellow”.
    PLUS……you know what you’ve done, you’ve just sung your way into the semi finals, young man”……….I think Simon likes the “idea” of having a feud with Taylor.
    On a spooky note: Just now Hubby listened to Beast of Burden in the car (on his way home), the song was over & he changed stations, then Beast of Burden came on the other station, so he came in the door singing it. Of course I was on here listening to Beast of Burden…………
    (Twilight Zone music plays…………….)

  52. blueberry Says:

    Please, please if you can, get some video of John Boutte. I am so very jealous!!! This guy can bring out my inner fangirl or whatever it’s called everytime I hear his name and I have never seen him in real life (please come further north), have only seen still photos and listened to audio. Whoever first mentioned him in Taylorland, thank you!
    I know absolutely zero about his personal life, I just know his sound reaches me.
    To bring this back to Taylor, no amount of gimmicks (blogs, Tweets etc.) will make me like him more than I do if his sound doesn’t reach me.

  53. I will make an effort to see John Boutte and get some video if they will let me. But my video has a lot to be desired as I found out from yesterday. LOL I think I somehow turned off my stabilizer function. I TRIED really hard not to move but sometimes the dancing just started automatically. LOL Later in the day I noticed the Steady-Shot was off and turned it on. I did get two pretty good ones of Johnny Winter! What a legend he is! Not sure of the sound- we were front row but off to the right-just in front of the speaker.

    We thoroughly enjoyed EVERY band we watched! Wow, what a day it was! Best day at Jazz Fest I ever had, probably because I researched &targeted certain acts. I might dust off my own long-abandoned blog & put some photos & video up there. I did get a lot of great pics. I sure wish Taylor and his band could play the fest!!! During one act the sax player played a harmonica solo. Though it was pretty good, all could think was – “he’ no Taylor Hicks on that thing!” I’m a lost cause I’m afraid. Taylor Hick’s voice “reaches me” with just about anything he sings. He’s mighty fine to look at too. (Get back in there fangirl!! 😉 )

  54. mamaforpeace Says:

    blueberry, lots of John Boutte on Youtube.

  55. spinshack Says:

    So, hot, green, and sultry? Nix on the dust?
    Makes me thirsty… where’s that Patron, Spin?!?
    😉

    That went Friday night, now last night…. Need stock up on my B12 today. Picking up kiddo from sisters later. Must be as normal… as I can manage. lol

    Hangover Blues.

    I’ve got to check out that John Boutte guy. Feel so uninformed.

    rajrae sounds like you had a blast. Saw Johnny Winter once, great show.

  56. spinshack Says:

    ^^forgot italics on YKW’s question. Too dim witted this a.m. to copy paste and install italics simultaneously.

  57. Snowstorm Says:

    Simon is completely correct! There is no guarantee you will sell records if you win the show. Fact of the matter is his post-Idol cd was middle-of-the-road crap and that’s the reason people didn’t buy it. People who are STILL denying the facts are delusional and being laughed at.

  58. Snowstorm Says:

    I also think Adam Lambert might have a problem selling records too. Of course, it depends what kind of music he decides to do. But, his image, so far is campy and theatrical, but who knows, with acts like Lady Gaga, maybe it’s making a comeback. Certainly, there’s room for dance music.

  59. blueberry Says:

    Thanks mamaforpeace. I like most/all of his stuff, but my absolute favorite is his cover of You Haven’t Done Nothing and, of course, I can’t find it anymore. I think I heard it at C2what.

    Snow, Adam will find his way. He is so talented (to me) and he seems very intelligent. He might not go the record selling route, but I expect him to be successful in whatever career path he takes. Again, it should be his definition of success; not ours.

  60. Snowstorm Says:

    Any contentant on Idol wants mega-star success. Trust me on that.

  61. Snowstorm Says:

    Why is it I always notice typos, right after I post?

    contestant

  62. OT – just got home from an Orthodox Greek baby baptism, and then a reception following. Cathedral – beautiful! Ceremony – very interesting and full of tradition. Reception – think “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” on a smaller scale – Ouzo, Greek food and dancing, throwing money and rose petals and all! VERY fun people. Baby’s GF (my husband’s employee) constantly bringing me a new cold beer when the other was barely half empty. I WILL get back on my diet tomorrow! Time for a nap now, then maybe put up some Jazz Fest stuff. And have some Taylor time with my mp3 player when I do my walk/run later.

    I love TH cd. Did you ever think maybe it didn’t sell millions because its NOT like all the crappy pop music out there? So Lady GaGa sells millions – does that make it good? So which is it? Big sales is a sign of good music or isn’t it? We seem to say it is sometimes and it isn’t sometimes. (And since when is selling 750,000 – 1,000,000 cds a failure? Wouldn’t it be great if TD sold that many eventually?)

  63. I like the TH cd, in fact there is not one song on it that I skip. Can’t say the same for TD. as I usualy skip WDB, NFF, KIR and OUALOM and sometimes WRIR.

  64. Snowstorm Says:

    Oh please…the TH cd has some of the most bland and boring songs on earth. Why can’t you face the facts that most people didn’t like it??

    AC/middle of the road music does not sell!!

  65. I’m with Rosie, I like the TH CD. Music is subjective.

  66. pearlpattie Says:

    Anything AC radio plays over and over becomes a hit, people are sheep and the perception is if you’re hearing it ten times a day then it must be good….Taylor was never even given that chance, the Runaround could have been a major hit for him – its much better than most of the crap thats played today….

  67. Snowstorm Says:

    The Runaround was crap – worst song ever!

    AC radio does not play new music! They play old hits from the past!

  68. pearlpattie Says:

    Well, all I ever hear is Daughtry, The Fray, Michael Buble, Archuleta (which is like needles in my eyes) and every other piece of crap run of the mill groups who you can’t tell apart….

    Thankfully I have a listener sponsored fabulous station which I hope will turn Taylor on very soon….7MB and most of TD will fit their format perfectly.

  69. Well Snow says it’s crap so it must be crap! Right?

    Runaround was not my favorite on the CD but I still listen to it most of the time when I play the album.

    NOT CRAP:
    Lay My Hat
    Heaven Knows
    The Maze
    Give Me Tonight
    Soul Thing
    The Deal
    Places I’ve Been
    Just to Feel That Way
    The Right Place

  70. jerseyirish Says:

    I agree with Rosie, which fan(s) does Taylor try to please. I think he tried with TD to please using different genres, can’t say there are any songs I absolutley don’t like, I always listen to the CD without skipping. Also loved the TH cd also, never had a problem with that one.

    JI

  71. Hey, jersey! Are you home?

  72. Snowstorm Says:

    I only liked these songs:

    Dream Myself Awake
    Give Me Tonight – except the lyrics were stupid
    Places I’ve Been – pretty song, but needed more work

    The rest of it was terrible. I would also like to add that I gave the cd as Xmas presents to a couple of people. They told me they played it once and never played it again. Mine is collecting dust and I will probably end up throwing it away in the trash, cause I doubt anybody wants it.

  73. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, Yes, yes got home late this afternoon. The weather was beautiful high 80’s yesterday and in the low 90’s today. Hubby was the only one that made it on the beach and in the water just in and out the temp was 48 degrees. Me and my daughter just watched even though it was warm it was alot colder by the water.

    JI

  74. You didn’t like The Deal, Soul Thing, Gonna Move or Wherever I Lay My Hat? Wow! Well, everyone’s taste is different. (I just don’t like it when you call it crap because you and your friends didn’t like it.)

  75. Snowstorm Says:

    The Deal is OK. The other songs I don’t like.

  76. pearlpattie Says:

    Different strokes for different folks…..

  77. Need stock up on my B12 today. Picking up kiddo from sisters later. Must be as normal… as I can manage. lol

    Too dim witted this a.m. to copy paste and install italics simultaneously.

    Spin is living my life, again! LOL! I didn’t start feeling normal today until I had a wee hair o’ the dog. I need detox. Ha!

  78. I like The Maze. I know I’ve let you down, Snow, and I’m sorry.
    😉

  79. Exactly, pearlpattie.

    I always find it interesting when anyone states thier own opinion as fact. I like this, I don’t like that, therefore this is good and that is not good. Really?

    If there is anything more personal and individual than musical taste, I’m not sure what it would be. We all bring a host of personal views, beliefs, and preferences to the experience of listening to music. Snowstorm names only three songs that she likes on the album and calls the rest, alternatively, bland, boring, crap, or terrible. And yet, to me, the album is pretty decent overall — but Dream Myself Awake and Places I’ve Been (two of the songs Snowstorm prefers) are the most bland and boring on the entire CD. Just my personal opinion — no better, but certainly no worse than anyone else’s.

    I think The Right Place is a spectaculary good song. I also love the version of Hell of a Day that (unfortunately) appeared only on the Walmart release. What a great bass line! Good, driving song.

    I’ll add my $.02 to those who would love to hear Taylor do a full version of TALT. And I’ll add that I’d love a new recording of Hold on to Your Love, which to me is the best song Mr. Hicks ever wrote, but has sadly been heard only by core fans who bought UTR or Early Works.

  80. Badfantoo Says:

    Damn. You all are rehashing the Taylor Hicks cd debate again? Seriously? You must be bored shi*less. Hopefully Taylor’s performance on Idol will give us something new to bitch about–er celebrate soon…

  81. casualfan Says:

    Simon is completely correct! There is no guarantee you will sell records if you win the show. Fact of the matter is his post-Idol cd was middle-of-the-road crap and that’s the reason people didn’t buy it. People who are STILL denying the facts are delusional and being laughed at.
    —————————————————————–
    I do agree with Snow on this one. Simon is seeing the winner as an investment to make money when he judges the contestants as well he should. He has a vested interest in J Records that offers the winner a million plus contract and wants to see a return.

    I don’t agree with Taylor’s post Idol cd being crap, but I didn’t care for it and obviously the public didn’t either. I feel that J Records didn’t pour any more money into the PR of it because they didn’t see the point of contiuing to fuel a sinking ship. That cd ended up as a bad write off on taxes.

  82. pearlpattie Says:

    This discussion is exactly why AI is becoming the downfall of good music…KD Lang on Ferguson stated just this fact….making money is what Simon is about….most of the last 40 years of rock and roll would have never happened if Simon were in charge….not to mention the hijacking of music by all the 8 yr old fans who download their bubblegum music and then that becomes the standard for success…..its become work to find good musicians to listen to but thats the fun most of the time, right….at least for me it always is….

  83. casualfan Says:

    rajrae Says:

    April 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm
    You didn’t like The Deal, Soul Thing, Gonna Move or Wherever I Lay My Hat? Wow! Well, everyone’s taste is different. (I just don’t like it when you call it crap because you and your friends didn’t like it.)
    ——————————————————————————
    rajrae, I liked WILMH and think that would have possibly gotten some airplay with a little remix. It’s a pop tune with a Rod Stewart feel to it. PIB is another favorite. ST is a good one too, although I like the original version best. I’m sorry, but I’m in the minority of not caring too much to TRP. He does an excellent job of that song, but I just don’t care for it. The other songs to me just don’t work. To me at least, the cd was over produced and very karaoke-ish. His latest cd is much better with SMB being the gem that could be THE hit. His original music is best because it reflects who Taylor is and his passion really flows such as in his pre-Idol cd’s.

  84. casualfan Says:

    pearlpattie Says:

    April 26, 2009 at 8:50 pm
    This discussion is exactly why AI is becoming the downfall of good music…KD Lang on Ferguson stated just this fact….making money is what Simon is about….most of the last 40 years of rock and roll would have never happened if Simon were in charge….not to mention the hijacking of music by all the 8 yr old fans who download their bubblegum music and then that becomes the standard for success…..its become work to find good musicians to listen to but thats the fun most of the time, right….at least for me it always is….
    ———————————————–
    I get what you are saying but Simon is not to blame for the entire music industry being as it is…he’s just an easy fall guy to blame that on. The music industry has fallen on it’s ass because it has become all about the bottom dollar and not about good music. I think that’s why alot of musicians are now packing up their gear and moving to the Indie field.

    Having that said, I wouldn’t be to quick to judge what AI is doing to the industry because that show brought us Taylor and now Adam Lambert is hot on the scene. If Adam actually sells records remains to be seen, but he’s gonna be HOT on Broadway. 😉

    Someone made the comment on another blog: “Move to the side Adam because Taylor Hicks is taking the stage again!” I seriously find that statement delusional. Taylor and Adam are two separate entities and different fanbases. There is no comparison of the two.

  85. Have any of you watched the Cafe du Nord videos? I watched a few tonight that I had not seen yet. Talk about passion! Soul Thing and Hide Nor Hair… WOW!

    What is TALT? I did not know there was a bonus (HOAD) on TH. I don’t remember where I bought it.

  86. Hey pearlpattie…..very well said.The bubblegum rock they play on the radio by artists that all sound the same is what has ruined the pleasure of radio listening for me. For most of these artists being touted as “great “baffles my mind. Give me a little heart & soul with some raw emotion and I’m ready to listen.

  87. rajae, TALT is Try a Little Tenderness from AI.

    And yes, HOAD was a Walmart bonus, which I loved.

    I was at CDN. Those may be my videos you’re watching…not sure what all is out there. Don’t miss ILOAB.

  88. mamaforpeace Says:

    Question: han anyone been able to find a cd with the bonus tracks Hide nor Hair or IAOK? If so, where? Thanks.

  89. pearlpattie Says:

    IAOK is sold at Target and you can download HidenorHair from I-tunes…

  90. casualfan Says:

    I got HNH on the cd I got from Wally World

  91. rajrae, check your PMs on another board.

  92. HDN=Walmart
    IAOK=Target
    Yes We Can=iTunes

  93. mamaforpeace Says:

    Thanks:)

  94. I know it isn’t cool to say you like the TH CD and some of my buddies here are probably surprised, but that’s OK. I like what I like.

    Dream Myself Awake is my favorite. I love when his voice gets quiet at the end.

    I like the Runaround. C’mon, how can you NOT like the drums and the wild piano licks at the end?

    The only song I don’t like is Give Me Tonight which is too disco for my taste. But alot of people like it and considering how often Taylor has performed it, I guess he really likes it, too.

    There. I’ve outed myself. I like the TH CD. (And I like his older music, too.) Guess I’m just a music whore. I’m easy. *shrug*

  95. LOL, Caryl. I’m with you. Except I’ll swap you GMT (which makes me moan in a good way) for DMA (which makes me moan in a bad way). 🙂

    Seeing Taylor perform The Runaround in Bham at the Alabama Theater with the drum corp from the Homewood High School band marching down both aisles to the stage? Too fun for words.

  96. haha, my post is late. I wrote it but got called away from the computer before I hit submit. I came back like, an hour later and hit submit. I had to explain because I didn’t want you to think I couldn’t let the subject go. haha!

  97. pearlpattie Says:

    Caryl, I’m with you also…love most of TH with the exception of GMT….but he’s still performing it so what do I know….WILMH I love and although we’ve all seen some weird versions of JTFTW I do love that song and also feel that could have been a big radio hit….in the Meatloaf vein.

  98. Yes, Robin, most of the videos I”ve watched have been yours! I had seen ILOAB and SMB, and part of MSL already. Tonight I watched HNH, ST, and all of MSL. So great!

    I just did my walk/run. I have T on random play so it switches between songs from EW, TH, and TD and I truly love almost all of it. He does sound “different” from one album to the next but I can handle the changes. Snow, maybe your friends only listening to it once or twice is part of the problem? There are songs that I just didn’t get into the first couple of times either but then after listening several more I came to appreciate the full flavor of them. (In fact the ones I liked the least at first have become some of my favorites. The Maze, Give Me Tonight, WGTHI, NFF) I have that experience with just about any new music.

  99. The drums are what I don’t like about Runaround! LOL That repetitive beat.. I like the song more as it goes on and love that sax. I did love it when I saw him do it at HOB, and also I saw a live TV version that was good. (I think in NYC just before or after the TH cd came out.) I like the vocals in JTFTW but for some reason not the song in general. Not sure why. I think I don’t like the verses but do love the chorus. And the bridge. Sort of funky jazzy blues or something. LOL I don’t know how to describe it…

  100. rajrae

    Did you check your PMs at the other place?

  101. Yes Robin! Thanks! (Go check yours now. :D)

  102. taylorfan06 Says:

    I don’t understand all these people (you know who you are) have to trash the TH CD and still say they’re fans. Shit or get off the pot. I know I won’t miss any of you here. With fans like you, who need enemies?

    Talk about diarrhea of the mouth! Blah, blah, blah. You’re just unhappy bores. Move on, PLEASE!

  103. And I’ll go check my answering machine. (just wanted to feel involved!)

    🙂

  104. casualfan Says:

    rajrae Says:

    April 26, 2009 at 10:45 pm
    The drums are what I don’t like about Runaround! LOL That repetitive beat.. I like the song more as it goes on and love that sax. I did love it when I saw him do it at HOB, and also I saw a live TV version that was good. (I think in NYC just before or after the TH cd came out.) I like the vocals in JTFTW but for some reason not the song in general. Not sure why. I think I don’t like the verses but do love the chorus. And the bridge. Sort of funky jazzy blues or something. LOL I don’t know how to describe it…
    —————————————————————————–
    You should have seen his performance at the Alabama Theater in March of 07! OMG-He brought in a drum corp from a local high school to perform that drum set. It gave me the chills. Him performing the song live is different from the cd indeed.

  105. spinshack Says:

    “taylorfan06 Says:
    I don’t understand all these people (you know who you are) have to trash the TH CD and still say they’re fans. Shit or get off the pot. I know I won’t miss any of you here. With fans like you, who need enemies?
    Talk about diarrhea of the mouth! Blah, blah, blah. You’re just unhappy bores. Move on, PLEASE!”

    Love it when the SP police wake up and hit the keyboards. 🙄
    /sarcasm

  106. Big Head Todd and the Monsters, anyone??? This band fucking rocks ass…If anyone is familiar with their work, this is the kind of feel I half expected from Taylor.

    P.S. Tay is burnt the fuhhhck out. lol, so Is Bill. The poor dudes.

  107. I flove them!! Dr. Spin. I didn’t know they sang this song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFOKVSN7030

  108. Not here to judge anyone… but yeah, Snow is a harsh little bitch, but at least she tells it like SHE sees it with no holds barred. She’s not all stardust and puppies and doesn’t feel the sun shines out of the almight TH’s butt, and I like her, a little, for that. You gotta have your ying and your yang, you know? or else this place would be pretty boring.

  109. VERY nice momo! Yea, I loved that vid. (I can see Taylor doing a song like that for sure.)

  110. Thanks Rajrae! I’ve so enjoyed your posts on the Jazz fest, just haven’t had much time to respond. Work is super duper specially busy lately. I soooo love Wilco! Too bad you didn’t get to see them.

  111. I’m working on getting my pictures and videos uploaded. Some great stills and a few OK videos, but not great. I regret missing Wilco too but it was worth it to see Johnny Winter. Who knows if we’ll ever get to again? He’s been pretty sick. Very frail now but put that guitar in his hands and off he goes! Still has his long white pony tail.

    Did you know you can get a FREE mp3 download of BHTM album “All The Love You Need?” http://www.bigheadtodd.com/music/ Just got it myself….

  112. No I did not! Why are they giving it away the whole album for free? Well that’s a discussion in itself! Off to check it out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

