Well, here we go again…Seven Mile Breakdown it is.

roxy_tongue

Just when we thought we’d have to wait another 6 weeks for buzz, when Taylor takes to the stage again with his music, some fan randomly comes up with information. It’s like a scavenger hunt all over again with this guy. Here’s this tidbit of info (thanks, Snowstorm):

Seems that there might be another video in the works. Not that Taylor would tell his fans that, not that he’d want to generate too much interest or too much buzz…heaven knows.

Spence Nicholson sent a tweet out…

Directing a video for American Idol winner Taylor Hicks on April 27th! if you wanna help out hit me up, it’ll be a fun one.

Check out this dude’s website. Interesting…

And here’s another tidbit learned from Twitter: There is a Taylor Hicks elementary school and their mascot is the cougar. Sad and ironic, no?

Yep, somebody actually twittered that.

90 Responses to “Well, here we go again…Seven Mile Breakdown it is.”

  1. brightlite Says:

    I love Keepin It Real. If he does a video, that would be my choice for a fun video. SMB isn’t a bad choice either.

  2. From twitter:

    “spencenicholsonis in full prep mode for Taylor Hicks “Seven Mile Breakdown” video”

  3. Yes SMB! Keep on imagining how the vid will look… hmmm….

  4. spinshack Says:

    I can see it now, an old van, a country highway, heat steaming off the blacktop. What else might be in store? Guess Jake was busy…

  5. So, it’s SMB, huh? That’s interesting.

  6. Snowstorm Says:

    Oh, WOW!!! Cool!!! Can’t wait for SMB vid!!!!

  7. Snowstorm Says:

    I guess that would be the next single too!

  8. Country and AAA could embrace this song, plus it’s totally Taylor.

  9. jerseyirish Says:

    Wow, so much excitement for a Sunday afternoon, thanks SS and Caryl. It should be a great video, I can only imagine his take on this!!!

    Spin, Thought the same thing about Jake, maybe you are right he is busy and couldn’t do this one with him.

    JI

  10. Did he have a contract with Jake Davis? I’m confused.

  11. Off topic, but holy shit. Listen to this kid sing “Who’s Loving You” by Michael Jackson.

    Wow!!

  12. New video!! Great news! LOVE SMB at CDN, But I HATE THAT PICTURE!!

  13. Oh my god, that kid can sing!!!!

  14. I know, right? He is amazing!! Damn, they grow some pretty good singers across the pond.

  15. Awww, it’s a good pic. He’s all intense…;)

  16. Well, he’s been singing it a lot on his TV and radio appearances. I think he’ll do it on AI too if he goes on. Great!!!

  17. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Wow that kid has some voice, and is as cute as a button, those dimples will melt the young ladies!!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  18. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Someone said for WRIR Jake won the contract bid so I’m not sure how it works. If these video makers are in a union they may have to bid for the contracts.

    JI

  19. mamaforpeace Says:

    yeah, I was thinking how great that picture was. And I love that SMB will be the next single and video (or so it seems!).

  20. casualfan Says:

    SMB is a great song and I can most definitly see that hitting the country airwaves including the video. Taylor has a winner with that one….KUDDOS TO TAYLOR! WOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  21. casualfan Says:

    definitely not “definitly”…sorry

  22. suze4158 Says:

    Glad to see you so excited CF! (I like SMB, too)

  23. suze4158 Says:

    Lots of news today.
    Just picked up from a poster at the Boogie, that Taylor’s gonna appear on AI….ummm…THIS SEASON! lol.
    Said she asked him at a Grease performance, he said “yes” and said that it would be “fun”! No indication of when.
    Don’t know how substantive the info. is, since it isn’t posted on official sites, etc.
    But, all are speculating that the song will be SMB, of course…unless they make him do a group dance to Taking it to the Streets.

  24. spinshack Says:

    Prefer that over WRIR.

  25. spinshack Says:

    Likely it will change video to vid depending on the contract worked out. I was just being snarky re: Jake.

  26. suze4158 Says:

    Just read backwards to yesterday’s blog and see that someone else mentioned this.
    I am usually late when it comes to Taylor news, though.
    Hope this appearance is true!

  27. spinshack Says:

    Good singers, hilarious comics and fantastic actors. It’s a beautiful country too.

    That was really fun watching. Thanks!

  28. casualfan Says:

    Taylor took me to church with that tune at The Roxy. Great song!

  29. casualfan Says:

    I think SMB is THE diamond in the rough in that CD. That song shines way above the rest and it’s gritty, southern and country-blues. Taylor was born to do music like that.

  30. Is that Taylor’s actual tongue in that photo above? Is he doing an impersonaton of Gene Simmons?

  31. That videographer better brace himself for lots of online attention. *prayin’ for ya, dude*

  32. That picture made me laugh out loud, it’s just…. I don’t know! Lmao!

  33. Snowstorm Says:

    HAHA! Looks like he’s already being followed on Twitter! Doesn’t news spread fast in soul patrol land!

  34. Hey…I didn’t do anything to the pic. That’s how I found it.

  35. JumpedtheShark Says:

    WoW, this kid is amazing. Made me miss Michael lol. Britain’s Got Talent has blown AGT away this year. *ducks*

  36. brightlite Says:

    Hmmmm a tongue driver?
    SMB is going to make great video. It is a catchy tune andthe visuals will be easy to put to a video, espcially if here is a country flare to it. It will have to be funny. I can see it including some good looking chick, an almost empty bottle of water, a strategically placed bandana to catch her sweat, and some great sunset shots that careen in and out of her walk down a lonely highway until she meets Taylor, and his entourage. wink.
    I volunteer to breakdown in my old jalopy anytime. LOL
    Seriosly I hope he has fun wth this one. WRIR was good but he took it way too serious and he just needs to hire some bad ass girls and just have a blast!
    There are plenty of lonely roads in AZ and utah which SMB will most likely find thweir niche. Do you know how many people lose their way out on those roads? lmao.
    Have a good night all.
    πŸ™‚
    BL

  37. brightlite Says:

    The kid is very cute and can sing. Nice song. I never heard it before but I stopped following Jackson after he molested little boys.
    THAT does not detract from this kids talent however. Very good find. My daughter loved it! She is 13, and she said “Who is that? and How old is he?”
    BL

  38. brightlite Says:

    Forget it I looked it up and saw that WLY was sung with the J5. I guess they were before my time a bit too. I only recall the most popular songs. Still a great find and really cute kid. Hope he gets far in the BIZ!

  39. casualfan Says:

    LOL! R U serious? Looks like someone has taken Jake’s place.

  40. jerseyirish Says:

    BL, I was just saying that he can really rock out with this one, hope he doesn’t hold back, and just has alot of fun with it. I could understand WRIR the serious tone to it, it matched the song and the feeling of it. SMB is completely different from the first and I can see him just letting loose with it.

    JI

  41. I have a Friday M&G…what do you want me to ask him?

  42. spinshack Says:

    Intensely long tongue…. wowser. πŸ˜›

  43. spinshack Says:

    I just commented on that tongue. 😯 hahaha

  44. LOL Yea, that’s why I don’t like it. It makes me think of Kiss and I never liked them. I like tongues but inside the mouth. πŸ™‚ (That’s one thing I don’t like about Adam L either – too much tongue when he screeches. LOL)

  45. spinshack Says:

    1. How long does he plan to continue “Grease” or is there no line on the horizon at this point.

    2. Other Broadway interests right now or just open to speculation?

    3. Recording vs live performances, why does he handle the song approaches consistently so differently?

    4. Has he thought about doing any filming by a pro of any of his future live appearances for publishing on his website, either Myspazz or HQ.

    5. Why hasn’t he done that already, certainly would keep the fans coming back (not counting the same 5 or 6 that do everyday now).

    6. A.I. appearance date? Song he will do on the show when he’s on.

    7. Does he take guitar lessons or just teaching himself?

    8. “Whomp at the Warfield”; so is that dead in the water?

    I’ll think of some more later. There was something else that’s escaping me right now. . . .

  46. spinshack Says:

    I like it. πŸ˜›

  47. When will he be on AI! What song will he sing? When is the SMB video coming out? How did he get so sunburned? Will he ever do MYS live? (Why hasn’t he?) OK, so that’s more than my fair share of questions…. take your pick. πŸ™‚ Oh, and ask him to tweet more often!!

  48. Oh man, that SMB video! Sure gets me going! Wouldn’t it be awesome if he could do that whole SMOKING HOT 8 minute version on AI??????? PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE LET HIM! He’d sell some records for sure – lots of them!! He’s going to rock the house and the world with that on TV. (no it was not the first time I watched it……but it just might replace the full CTW as my favorite live performance video.)

    Ok, now I’m going to take a shower and cool off…..Have to get all dressed up for a fancy business dinner, but I’ll have Taylor in the back of my mind the whole time. LOL Oh, and last night I met my hubby’s new boss’s wife and found out she loves AI and she and her husband both “like” TH. I kind of gushed over seeing him live – said to go to you tube and watch some vids. I can’t believe I forgot to mention his new CD!! I did say I was not going to watch AI any more if they don’t have him on this season. LOL I was just down at the pool with her but didn’t want to bring him up again so soon. She’ll think I’m a bit off. Actually, it was hubby that brought him up last night in the first place. He told them how much I like him and that he really thought he as great in concert when we saw him 2 years ago too. πŸ™‚

  49. Taylor Hicks Elementary School is here in Arizona, in the lovely town of Prescott. It was opened back in 1963, and I think it was named after an orthodontist or dentist or someone like that. It was definitely not named after “our” Taylor!

    Oh, and the school mascot is the Bobcat, not the Cougar . . . not exactly the same animal, but Cougar would have been funnier were it true.

    I did find the school song, which is kind of hilarious, when you think about it . . .

    “STAND UP FOR TAYLOR HICKS”

    Stand up for Taylor Hicks
    Someone in the crowd is cheering.

    Stand up for Taylor Hicks
    Our loyalty is everlasting.

    We’re the kids you can’t hold back,
    Bobcats all show red and black.

    We’re proud of all we’ve done,
    We’re number 1!

    I think the audience should sing this at every Taylor concert from now on. Wouldn’t that be totally awesome? πŸ˜›

  50. jerseyirish Says:

    Soulaz, Too cute, thanks for posting!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  51. jerseyirish Says:

    How about did he go out with Ms. Julie after his appearance on her Dad’s show? Enquiring minds want to know. Not that I think he would answer but its always worth a shot.

    JI

  52. Brightlite Says:

    Thank god he got the call. He deserves his spotlight up there. I have not tuned in once this sea.son but when he is on i will tune in and watch him do his than.g lol. He is hotter now than when he won. For sure. But be current dude. Young. Modern. And work that beat. Rock it out. Turning in early tonight. Its back to work on the morrow. Only 45 days left and i will be free to do as the romans do. Some roman. πŸ™‚ bl

  53. I remember back during season 5, that school really had a fun time with the fact that Taylor Hicks was on AI. They all watched the show each week and cheered on their namesake . . . it was all over the news here. The kids were so excited about it. πŸ™‚

  54. I’m certainly hoping these two pieces of news (SMB video and AI performance) are connected. Trying (really trying) not to be too hopeful, but can’t imagine anything I’d enjoy more than seeing him perform SMB with band on AI. I first saw him perform it with Wynn Christian at Smith’s in ’06. I think the album version clearly reflects his comfort level with the song. It’s real. It’s him. And if I had any doubt what he could do with the song it was dispelled last week when I captured this at Cafe du Nord.

  55. So, none of this has been confirmed, right? So we could all be excited for nothing, and some yahoo behind some random computer could be laughing his ass off right now?

    *fear*

    Of course, he’d be pretty stupid to take on the likes of the Soul Patrol. Ha.

  56. Very nice!! Thanks for taping that!

    I’m just holding back any excitement on the AI thing until there is official confirmation. I mean, honestly, this is the guy who told us last year he would be on AI, and so many other things that just didn’t happen. Ya know?

    Thanks for posting, Robin!

  57. Snowstorm Says:

    The guy has his own website, so he looks legit to me. I just can’t imagine someone pulling a prank like this. What would be the purpose?

    I love what he say here, “it’ll be a fun one”. That’s exactly what Taylor needs. He needs a fun, rocking, upbeat video!

  58. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, Agree he needs to let loose and rock out on this one and just have fun with it!!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  59. casualfan Says:

    JI, Julie was for PR purposes only. T has a real live gf who looks NOTHING like Julie.

  60. Snowstorm Says:

    Another website I found on Spence. Looks like the real deal to me.

    http://www.abovetheline.tv/profile/Spencefilms

  61. casualfan Says:

    How about not asking him anything Linn…just enjoy the time you have with him. πŸ˜‰

  62. casualfan Says:

    How about not asking him anything Linn…just enjoy the time you have with him. πŸ˜‰

  63. spinshack Says:

    That would be hilarious. Seriously should do it! Needs a few new lyrics…. hm…

  64. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, Thanks for the link, looks like he has a good background in doing video’s.

    JI

  65. Ok, I have to go back to the 12 year old kid in Britain, and as I was watching the video again, I was kind of taken aback by Simon. Say what you want about him, but that man has an ear for talent. By getting that kid to sing a different song, he opened up the floodgates of talent.

  66. Sunny… I think you should just call Taylor up for an interview. LOL.

  67. Yep. I agree. I would love to hear a Sunny interview with the Man.

  68. spinshack Says:

    ooo stop. I thought that too. *shudder*

  69. spinshack Says:

    Oh yeah, I have his number. Not. lol

  70. spinshack Says:

    And that would happen how? LOL

    Man I think we’d be in a fight within minutes but it might be entertaining. lol

  71. taylorfan06 Says:

    That’s Taylor some personality on stage. He does that in spades!

  72. Robin, my hero! OK, so yours is the video I posted about above. LOL Fabulous! Got me all worked up before I had to go out to dinner tonight. πŸ˜€

  73. Although I do think he’s too harsh (and downright mean sometimes) I find that I agree with Simon more than the other judges most often. He’s just too brutal sometimes. But then sometimes I can’t believe some of the songs he’s never heard before… FAMOUS songs. I think it’s because sometimes a hit here is not a hit in GB, and vise versa. Simon seems almost like a different person when I watch him on BGT compared to AI.

  74. I never saw him hang his tongue out like that before in any other videos. LOL This is a NEW thing I think, isn’t’ it??

  75. 1-900-GET-BILL.

    πŸ˜€

  76. hicksaholic Says:

    Robin
    I agree with you about Taylor’s level of comfort being greater with SMB than other songs on the album. I think I posted somewhere that I wondered if Taylor would be better off touring his album songs first and than recording it. He seems to need quite a few live performances to really come across as loose and flowing with the music. He seems so natural and free live but some of his recordings are stiff, almost as if he is trying too hard. I often wondered if the reason UTR is so good is just that – he toured the songs on that album for years before recording them.
    I think Taylor would be much more comfortable on AI with SMB. It would really be great if Wynn was there to perform it with him. And of course Bill watching from behind the curtain.

  77. I completely agree. This was the one song on the album where he sounded “comfortable.” And your reasoning makes sense. I mean, he’s sung this song for years, so he comes across as relaxed in the studio.

    I’m still not too sure about the AI thing. I’ll believe it when I see it.

  78. hicksaholic Says:

    I’m surprised Rosie is not here commenting on the “tongue picture”. I’m sure she will have some interesting commentary.

  79. rajrae, is this your little guy?
    OMG, so cute! ………….. plus there’s been so much talk about Taylor needing younger fans!

    What a sweetie!

  80. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    Nah it isn’t new. There was an old AI photo of him sticking his tongue out just like Gene Simmons. The gals went nuts over that one for weeks! LOL πŸ™‚

  81. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    So what DOES she look like? Can you tell us?

  82. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    It would be hysterical! I think he’d love it!

  83. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    I’m forced to agree with that one

  84. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    LOL! πŸ˜€

  85. jerseyirish Says:

    How adorable, love when the little ones get into the music!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  86. taylorfan06 Says:

    I LOVE the “Taylor at work” picture! (tongue out)
    He is one intense performer that’s so hard not to love.
    He keeps me smilin’… EVERYDAY!!!!

    I do hope he’ll a “rock out, balls out” version of SMB on AI!
    May 6th maybe??

  87. taylorfan06 Says:

    …oh, and when, or, if Taylor performs SMB on AI, I hope he gives it plenty of harp! He took it to the MAX with the 12 minute version at The Roxy.
    OMFG!!!
    Now THAT was a show!!!!!!!!!

  88. Yes, that’s my grandson. πŸ˜€ Glad you enjoyed it. I was playing SMB and turned around and there he was rocking out to it with is “guitar.” LOL

  89. hicksaholic Says:

    That’s part of the problem with a shorter version- it takes Taylor a little bit of time to get into it for the full effect. But on AI he was able to ramp up nicely with limited time so maybe it will work….

  90. taylorfan06 Says:

    I think he’ll do fine either way. He is a professional and knows how to work an audience!

Leave a Reply

