Finally, he’s listening…

thvid

…or not. Ok, so Jake Davis told us a couple months ago that there would be a behind the scenes video of the making of “What’s Right is Right”. I actually forgot about it, must be the unfulfilled promises thing, but lo and behold, there it is on HQ. Taylor is funny, relaxed and personable in this video. He starts out by saying “Today is January 12, 2007. That’s the last date that I remember.” πŸ˜† Some other random things:

1. There was a blizzard in Chicago, and that’s perfect for this video.
2. We get to hear about Taylor’s makeup and hair, which she calls “contemporary.”
3. The “spiderbelly” is a camera designed by Jake et crew, using such materials as a military vest and pillows from the hotel.
4. “The main ingredient of the song and this video is that these are people who have true love.” ~Taylor
5. The older couple concept was not in the video until 48 hours before the shoot.
6. At one point, it sounds like Alvin the Chipmunk singing.
7. Taylor discusses the concept of preproduction of the album.
8. He felt the need for this album to go back to a certain place, back to “the people that knew me when.”
9. There are several reasons why he chose “The Distance” as the name of the album. He goes on to say that sometimes there is a distance between all of us, and in his career he’s going to “go the distance”. Thank God he doesn’t say the sprint/marathon thing again.
10. “Happy New Year to all those people who actually know what year it is.” Then he collapses in the chair.

Very nice, Taylor.

Oh, and how much does it crack me up that he’s twittering from the ice cream cone? πŸ˜†

115 Responses to “Finally, he’s listening…”

  1. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Thanks for the wrap up of the behind the scenes not a member of HQ wonder if Jake will put it up at his blog, haven’t gotten any alerts for him lately. I heard he twittered from the cone, got a kick out of that, didn’t realize he had that much time in there before he sings.

    JI

  2. How cute. πŸ˜€

  3. I’m a member of HQ, so I’ll have to go and watch it. BRB.

  4. casualfan Says:

    I thought he said in an interview once that while in the cone he catches up on his emails…LOL

  5. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    Wonderful video- I wish we could get more of those! But this was very well done and I also love the twittering thing!

  6. How long is the video?

  7. I think about five minutes.

  8. I read that it’ll be up on public sites in a few days or so.

  9. spinshack Says:

    Oh goodie. πŸ˜›

  10. taylorfan06 Says:

    First of all, that’s not the best picture of Taylor, but it’s all good.

    When I saw Grease, I was really surprised how long that scene was before the “cone” opened. Taylor definitely has quite some time to check e-mails or twitter himself or anyone before he comes on.

    Did that sound a little dirty???

  11. I like that pic. He looks annoyed in it. πŸ˜†

  12. Really? I thought it was a special perk for the paying fan base….

  13. I really laughed when I opened this and saw that he Twittered from the cone. I didn’t believe it at first. I thought maybe someone was pulling everybody’s leg. I’ve been following him since the first day he said he joined Twitter. (I didn’t even really know what it was before that.) Someone joked about it on BB, but I never imagined he really WOULD Twitter from the cone! Maybe he reads BB? LOL It’s pretty hilarious to imagine him in there reading email and Twittering. I too wondered when watching one of the Grease videos if he has ever dropped the harmonica. I’m sure it has probably happened. They probably all just laugh, and the audience too. Those kinds of moments make theater fun.

  14. It would be fun some day for the cone to open and he be talking on his phone, or texting! LOL

  15. Or sleeping!

  16. LOL! And he holds his finger up to the crowd as if to say, “Hang on a minute!”

  17. You know what would be fun? If he never ever has to step foot in that blasted ice cream cone again!!

    Hey, a fan can dream, right?

  18. So…like…if the cone opens and he’s not there? Ooooo…!

  19. casualfan Says:

    I think the idea for HQ is for members to get the FIRST peak before us lowly folks get to see. I’m surprised it’s not up on Utube yet. Things have a way of finding themselves over there.

  20. casualfan Says:

    LOL!-He twitters himself in the cone? I LOVE it! I’m sure his gf of the moment would love to “twitter” in that cone. **blushes**

  21. casualfan Says:

    Taylor can’t sit or stand still for 5 secs so I’m sure he’s doing lots of things in that cone. As he gets more comfortable with the twittering, he will twitter even more. I hear it’s addicting.

  22. casualfan Says:
    April 10, 2009 at 3:29 pm e

    I think the idea for HQ is for members to get the FIRST peak before us lowly folks get to see. I’m surprised it’s not up on Utube yet. Things have a way of finding themselves over there

    Don’t think I haven’t thought about it.

  23. Wouldn’t that be nice? πŸ˜‰

  24. I watched the video. It was really good. Jake Davis must have produced it, right? I mean, that was more than just Bill standing there with a camcorder. It was very nicely done. I’m assuming we didn’t see this sooner because Jake didn’t have it ready?

    THAT’S the kind of thing that’s been missing from HQ! But we would also be happy with something Bill shot with a camcorder, don’t you all agree? Just a small crumb of what it’s like backstage or getting ready to move on to the next city or whatever. The kind of thing normal, everyday, non-show-biz people never get to see.

  25. Yeah, I bet it was done by Jake. He was the one who said something about having a behind the scenes video.

    Exactly. Something Bill shoots with a camcorder, cell phone or just about anything. Shouldn’t promotion with what’s left of his fanbase be on the top of his priority list? Is that really asking too much?

  26. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    It surely would be funny!

  27. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    Definitely

  28. More vids like this would be awesome.

  29. jerseyirish Says:

    I checked Jake’s site nothing up there, thought they would put it on the other sites in a few days thats what they usually do.

    JI

  30. casualfan Says:

    well said IAG

  31. casualfan Says:

    Bill should hide a camcorder in the cone! Let’s find out exactly what Taylor is “twittering”

  32. casualfan Says:

    I just had a creative moment! TAYLOR-IF YOU READ THIS: HOW ABOUT A COOL T-SHIRT THAT SAYS: “I TWITTER WITH TAYLOR!”

  33. casualfan Says:

    or about this one: “IT’S ALL ABOUT THE TWITTER”

  34. casualfan Says:

    the new name of his fanbase “Taylor’s Twitters”, the “TWITTER PATROL”

  35. When they get rid of Gypsy at HQ maybe I’ll join again. Everyone has the video anyway – she is the reason no one reups.

  36. jerseyirish Says:

    cf, your on a roll, too funny how about “Soulfully Twittering”.

    JI

  37. casualfan Says:

    LOVE IT!

  38. casualfan Says:

    “TWITTER FOR THE SOUL”

  39. casualfan Says:

    “TWITTER WHOMP”

  40. casualfan Says:

    “WHOMP THE TWITTER” ***hmmmmmmmm***

  41. casualfan Says:

    “ONCE UPON A TWITTER”

    ok, now back to work…..ROFLAMO!

  42. redrosespeedway Says:

    LOL! I love it! I’m a twittering twit for tweeting Taylor

  43. casualfan Says:

    Gypsy is high on T’s “PITA” list about now.

  44. Wha? Who’s this Gypsy person?

  45. casualfan Says:

    “twittering twit” LOL!

  46. jerseyirish Says:

    Where is the video looked at the BB and Soul Lounge didn’t see at either place.

    JI

  47. redrosespeedway Says:

    It’s at HQ

  48. Tweet is the word.

  49. redrosespeedway Says:

    I remember a Gypsy on Mystery Science Theatre

  50. OH! OH! Don’t anybody use that! I need that for something.

  51. spinshack Says:

    She’s an Idol contestant stalker in the extreme. Lives for the moments of following them around and taking vids. She had been dedicated at one time to capturing every concert, every move. She may have slowed down on the following Idols since working on the HQ site as a Mod.

    Before Taylor she was a Bo Bice fan. I call her affectionately, “Miss Manners”. You want to know how to act, just ask her. πŸ™„ Please, no vulgar cussing. Ever.

    You can delete this Grey if you want.

  52. spinshack Says:

    Bwhahahaha!

  53. spinshack Says:

    I guess I’ll have to check out Twitter. *groan* but I am not going to be a Twitter Tard! (famous last words….)

  54. spinshack Says:

    What’s PITA? Not a sandwich…

    Mebbe Persons I Try Attack? Nope that’s not it… People I Think Ass? Nope not it. Person Idiot To Anyone? Nope.

  55. spinshack Says:

    Ya gotta fork up the dough, JI.

  56. spinshack Says:

    Twittering Tard? If I get hooked that be me. ha. *scared to join up*

  57. Lol Twitter is really nothing to tard over, but many do become a victim of addiction to it. :p

  58. Oh wow. She sounds… pleasant. :S

  59. Yeah. I’m not gonna bother.

  60. spinshack Says:

    Call David Blaine or Criss Angel. πŸ˜›

  61. Dammit!!I just signed up for twitter. I said I wouldn’t. I meant it. I got curious. I caved. 😦

  62. spinshack Says:

    That’s like Tarding Christa. I think I have a personality disorder that predisposes me to random fascinations. LOL

  63. PITA = pain in the arse

  64. spinshack Says:

    Caryl, you are a continual contradiction. hahahaha.

    *going to go peek at twitter*

  65. spinshack Says:

    Signed up. Now what? I’ll check back later, going to the movie. I’m Suns39 on Twitter. Found willpen right away.

  66. Once you sign up you go to http://www.twitter.com/TaylorRHicks and click on ‘follow’ or something like that.

    And thats it. You can sign your cell phone up to get updates and to update your twitter.

  67. I ❀ “twitter”.

    Hhahahhahahahha

  68. I know!!!!

  69. “update your twitter.” Does that involve some kind of surgery?

  70. I didn’t know about the Bo Bice deal, Spin.

    Hmmmmm….

  71. Famous last words, Spin?!?

    Kind of like “I am NOT watching stupid inane AI this year!!!”
    LOL!

  72. *runs to stalk Spin gypsee-style on Twitter*

    πŸ˜‰

  73. I mean seriously, what the hell is he doing with all the free time? I don’t see THAT much media, and he’s certainly not consumed with details of the shadow tour.

  74. Caryl, you’re exactly right. Mr. Hicks needs to start doing more to keep the attention of members of his fanbase. For some of us, the occasional shadow tour, and the same regurgirated city by city interview just isn’t enough.

    Whether it’s blogging, vlogging, twittering, or commenting on myspazz or FaceBook, I’m waiting to be whomped!!

  75. Omg, Caryl… it’s perfect!! LOL!!

  76. pearlpattie Says:

    Never say never…dumb as it seems, I have to say I’m enjoying looking for Taylor’s tweets….at least its much less complicated than Facebook.

  77. “Taylor tweets.” Sounds like something you’d find in your Easter basket!

  78. pearlpattie Says:

    I only wish….LOL

  79. You wanna know what’s wrong with me tonight? You really wanna know? (well, do you?) I had a glass of wine. Now I’m acting all weird, signing up for twitter, writing goofy comments …yeah. ONE glass of wine. I’m such a lightweight.

    Did I tell ya I saw Bruce Springsteen last night? Wait, I need more wine… πŸ™‚

  80. casualfan Says:

    There ya go Spin…tell it like it is…ROFLMAO!

  81. pearlpattie Says:

    Love Bruce, was it good for you??

  82. Seriously. I’ve heard of that.

  83. casualfan Says:

    “GOT TWEET?”

  84. SO good. Taylor needs to have a guy in the band with a silly name, like…Little Joshie. And Little Joshie needs to tie a woman’s scarf around his head. And then Taylor needs a large black man to play the sax. Just a couple of tips I picked up at the show.

    Well, the big, bad husband wants me to go to bed. You know what that means. Well, if you do, then tell me, cuz I don’t know. Is it hot in here?

    That’s right. ONE glass.

  85. pearlpattie Says:

    Good advice for Taylor – why don’t you tweet it to him….I’m gonna hit the sack with my big bad husband too….and yes, it is hot in here….LOL

  86. casualfan Says:

    WTF! ROFLMAO….what kind of wine you drinking there caryl?

  87. LOL!!!

    After I signed up with Twitter to follow Taylor, I found one friend and one nephew were on there. So far I’ve heard NOTHING from them, and all I Twittered was that Twitter seemed kind of lonely.

    Taylor Twittering from the cone – now THAT made it worth signing up.

  88. Where’s that recap! I’m waiting….. πŸ™‚

  89. Taylor will only get the tweets from people he signs up to follow. Can you imagine if Brittney got tweets from the 650,000 following her? LOL

    I’m posting at 4am! Too much competition for the computer around here today. Eleven people here, counting me.

  90. http://abclocal.go.com/kgo/channel?section=view_from_the_bay&id=5755208

    That’s the View from the Bay segment with Taylor on Friday. He did great! I’m liking the acoustic SMB more and more every time I hear it. He looked great too! And relaxed.

  91. jerseyirish Says:

    Thanks, He sounded wonderful, loved the song just him and the guitar!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  92. hicksaholic Says:

    Stupid question- what the hell is twitter? Is it sending out a mass message to a bunch of people?

  93. Exactly! You sign up for your own account, then choose who to “follow”. It can be your personal friends or celebrities. I didn’t know a thing about it till Taylor signed up. Only two people matched in the search of my address book. Neither of them have sent out any tweets since I started following them. LOL I’ve sent out a few boring ones. I hope Taylor starts sending them more regularly or I might just drop it. I use FaceBook and keep up with friends and family. But my own daughter blocked me! She said I was stalking her. LOL

  94. redrosespeedway Says:

    Shoot, I do that without any wine at all.

  95. I don’t think they are actually called “tweets.” I like that though.. Guess I need to get Twitter savvy.

  96. Oops, I was wrong. They are called “tweets.”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twitter

  97. jerseyirish Says:

    I signed up, but really have no clue how it all works, I just look to see if he has left any other messages.

    JI

  98. I don’t think the audience would like it. LOL If I went to see Grease it would be to see Taylor. I would be mightily upset if the cone opened and he was not there. πŸ˜€

  99. redrosespeedway Says:

    LOL!

  100. redrosespeedway Says:

    Well it was just found out on the Boogie that he’s sick. He almost didn’t make it for the 7MB song on the View show, so hopefully he’s getting some rest and recovering from his illness.

  101. spinshack Says:

    His being sick might explain his not looking so chipper on the show, too his vocals slightly affected. Still, he was good, overall. Poor baby. 😦

  102. spinshack Says:

    I’ve not said that, YKW ’cause that’d be a lie. I. just. can’t. stop. πŸ˜› Maybe next year….

  103. spinshack Says:

    Found you!

  104. Snowstorm Says:

    I remember her on the AI boards, she gave me hilarious gems like this, “I have pics on my site. Get your drool buckets ready”! HAHA!

  105. I will DEFINITELY stop watching if “someone” doesn’t get invited to make an appearance this year.

  106. View From The Bay was great.

  107. casualfan Says:

    off topic….isn’t technology great! LOL!

  108. casualfan Says:

    LOL! Even burglars aren’t safe from Big Brother anymore…

  109. jerseyirish Says:

    CF, That was pretty good, caught in the act!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  110. spinshack Says:

    Snow said, “I remember her on the AI boards, she gave me hilarious gems like this, β€œI have pics on my site. Get your drool buckets ready”! HAHA!”

    I know! ahahahaha! Whether it was Bo Bice or then Hicks she had to try and claim fame. She loved it when folks would kiss her ass over her vids.

    I have a story about her, but will restrain myself tonight. It is Easter. Must go hippity hopping and finish my “bunnying”.

  111. spinshack Says:

    Saw that last night. Craziness.

  112. Well, I see Cone Boy left us another goodie.

    *sigh*

  113. spinshack Says:

    Jelly beans?

  114. I know why Taylor like to tweet. Because it’s short and sweet. Limited to 140 characters. He doesn’t have to write a whole paragraph, or think of something to say for 5 minutes in front of the video camera. It’s perfect for him. I see him tweeting more than anything else.

Leave a Reply

