Is it just me?

Or does this guy…

remind you of this guy?

The mannerisms, the voice, even the clothes?

125 Responses to “Is it just me?”

  1. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, I see some simalarities but both have their own unique style. Danny isn’t quite as raw as Taylor is, he does have the Michael McDonald sound to him. Don’t like the way folks are comparing them in a negative way towards Taylor. The show has not been the same since Taylor graced the stage, he changed the whole makeup of the show and I don’t think they ever recovered, and Simon will never let it go. When he mentions comparisions of other Idols to contestants he doesn’t have the tone he does when the same is done with Taylor. I hope Danny does well he has a tough match-up with Adam as far as the guys go.

    JI

  2. Arrow2Soul Says:

    I agree Ji. Taylor is in his own league, always will be, but he is still developing his facets. His diamond will shine in time. Why is that guy wearing Sarah Palin specks? He could have chosen McCain’s at least.
    His clothes are in the style of Taylor’s but Taylor is a clothes horse, looking fabulous in everything. And you cannot compare, not even come close to comparing this guy to Taylor when it comes to the “it” factor.
    He just has it, Taylor that is, has it. It’s nice to be home, wish I could see. I am correcting all my typos before submitting, as there are too many. lol.

  3. Yep, I totally see Taylor in that guy’s performance. So, of course, he can’t win, right? 😉

  4. I’ll have to say that Hicks did a good job on Ellen today. Made me actually like that song. Josh and Brian G all dressed up, too. No goofiness…no SP shoutout. Just singing…and a hell of a job.

  5. Well, I know last week, Simon compared him to Taylor Hicks and the crowd booed. Not sure what to make of that. I think he’ll probably go pretty far. He has the entertainment quality about him. But, man, I was watching him..and I kept seeing him move like Taylor, even make facial expressions like him. I thought for sure Simon would say something again, but he didn’t.

  6. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Ellen comes on at 3 right? Did I miss it?

  7. jerseyirish Says:

    BL, Ellen comes on at 3:00 this afternoon.

    JI

  8. It was just on here at 9am.

  9. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, I think Danny will do well, read in my local paper yesterday they had a write up about the final 13 and the writer said Danny annoys him because of the constant reference to his late wife and the guy said now he is bringing Taylor Hicks into in his references and performance. I do see some simalarities but do think they are very different in presentation.

    JI

  10. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Cool.

  11. It hasn’t been on yet here, either. Looking forward to it!

  12. I was just kidding, of course. I don’t watch Idol and (dare I say it?) don’t really care who wins.

  13. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Taylor sounds really well! I love how he chimes the album is me and I was being myself on the album. (good job) WRIR sounded great, it fits in perfectly with the radio tunes they were playing. And they said it was doing great on DL’s, is that true?? If it is I am so proud of him. He must feel good about it. The best part about staying home?? Taylor and Oreo’s.
    I LOVE how he gets applause from the studio people, they just love him.
    Got milk?
    BL

  14. Snowstorm Says:

    I don’t like Danny. He used his dead wife to get famous. But, put that aside, I don’t see anything that says “pop star” here.

  15. Arrow2Soul Says:

    it’s over. 😦
    But I am smiling so it was worth it. 🙂

  16. Badfantoo Says:

    Smarmy, annoying, mediocre voice, using his dead “SP” wife to garner sympathy votes, zero charisma. No, he doesn’t remind me of Taylor at all.

  17. Smarmy, annoying, mediocre voice…

    I’m nearly certain the same has been said for Mr. Hicks!!
    LOL!!

  18. Snowstorm Says:

    Taylor didn’t use his difficult childhood to get sympathy votes and he could have, but he didn’t.

  19. jerseyirish Says:

    BL, Did I miss it? My schedule says 3:00 today, rats!!.

    JI

  20. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, Didn’t know about his difficult childhood until I read it in People magazine after he won, so he never let on about things during the competition.

    JI

  21. Virtual Speak Says:

    I think it’s the goofy dancing that throws everyone. Danny really has no rhythm and dances to stiff. However, he does take every chance to casually mention that “His wife was a HUGE Taylor fan”

    Of course, my cynical side says he’s playing up the whole “Taylor thing” to gain Taylor’s fans votes.

    http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=181608028

  22. Arrow2Soul Says:

    VS…what exactly is your avi? Is it a dragonfly? I can’t make it out.
    Please don’t say it’s Taylor playing the harmonica or anything close to that, because it surely looks quite like a dragon fly to me.
    smile
    BL

  23. Arrow2Soul Says:

    He can play up the whole Taylor thing to gain votes but he is not Taylor, he is Danny. I wish him luck though.

  24. Virtual Speak Says:

    I think it is a dragonfly or a butterfly acrossed a woman’s mouth. Sort of Silence Of The Lamb-ish.

  25. jerseyirish Says:

    VS, Got the same feeling when he started to mention Taylor with his wife. To me Danny is trying to create something through Taylor and his wife, guys got to pull it off on his own. I liked him at his audition and through Hollywood Week, but he seems to have changed.

    JI

  26. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Do you like that movie? Sorry but that movie freaked me out. I have had nightmares of the scene in the dark basement with the night vision goggles. Thanks for letting me know (covering one eye.) It’s a classic though but scary all the same. I think Foster played her best role right there! Unarguably her best role.
    BL

  27. Arrow2Soul Says:

    It’s been nice to hang with the gang today but I have to get going, and life gets so crazy busy so I might not be back for awhile again. Waving…
    Have a nice day all. ((((((hugs))))) Still listening to KOST and Madonna is playing “Holiday” and I am dancing like an 80’s fool that I surely am.
    Be well.

    BL

  28. spinshack Says:

    I am not a fan of Hokey-Gokey. Matching goggles with everything he wears and he’s completely trying to cop a Taylor Hicks and utilized his dead wife to gain attention.

    Snow, notice last night how he did not mention his wife?

  29. spinshack Says:

    I love that movie, the whole series. Good writing.

  30. spinshack Says:

    Feel better Bright! I’m heading out too.

  31. Arrow2Soul Says:

    NO! JI I was referring to the radio show, even with my blurry eye I can see that you are thinking that you missed Tay on Ellen, but I was talking about the radio show KOST. Ellen is on at 3 here but I am going to the doctor so I will miss it. booooo. Oh well, I will just have to survive that’s all. lol.
    Have a great week, and I will try to check in again before next week. The computer time here is a premium, try to chare your cpu with three teenagers.
    lol
    Smoke pours out of the cpu tower by the end of the day. Between my daughter and her bf/IMing, and my youngest and FB/Iming, and my son and his french chat rooms/guitar/youtube/making music programs I am like pond scum around here when it comes to the cpu.
    lol
    Be well my friend.
    BL

  32. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Thanks. hugs “spinny” lol
    omg
    dodging rotten tomatoes.
    Hey folks we ARE all people sharing the planet, as Taylor sings, let’s bridge the distance and get along.
    Bye.

  33. I’ve never seen it because it looks too creepy.

  34. Was Taylor on before Carol Burnett? I just turned it on and Ellen is talking to CB.

  35. Snowstorm Says:

    The more I hear that song, the more I dislike it. Wow, it’s even more boring live, how could that be possible? Everytime he says “marching side by side” it reminds me of my aerobics class, where we march in place, hahahaha!

  36. I actually like the live version better. But that doesn’t surprise me. I think his vocals live are waaay better than recorded in the studio.

  37. To each his/her own, but I think Danny is terrific — and yes, he has some elements in his style and voice which remind of me Taylor, but he also has a little Robert Downey Jr. thing going on that I dig even more. ha ha
    (And yeah, that has nothing to do with singing…and I don’t care).

  38. jerseyirish Says:

    Could never watch it either, just hearing the music when my kids watched it scared me.

    JI

  39. I like Danny. I didn’t really care for “PYT”, but I like his voice. Last night I thought the clothes were very Taylor-ish, but other than that they seem pretty different to me. Simon actually compared Matt G (who reminds me of Justin Timberlake) to Taylor, not Danny (if anyone’s keeping score, LOL). I really don’t think Danny is using his wife to get famous. Maybe I missed something but I haven’t heard him mention her since the auditions. It’s sad people would think that… But I guess they’re going to do that no matter what. Just like the girls are using the “single mom” approach to get famous, Adam’s using his over-the-top broadway singing and skinny jeans to get the gay vote, and Anoop is using the success of “Slumdog Millionaire” to win over America’s hearts with his Indian heritage. LOL!

  40. hahahha..I get that.

  41. You’re right about the Matt thing. That was Matt, not Danny. And I have to agree with you. I don’t think he’s using his wife. I think AI tried that until they got called out on it. Although his family did have the picture of his wife a couple of weeks ago. I mean, that’s really what makes AI more of a personality competition than a singing competition.

    Everybody uses something to get famous, as you pointed out.

  42. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, thanks for posting, I’m still gonna watch it at 3:00.

    SS, I thought he sounded great!!!

    JI

  43. Virtual Speak Says:

    Okay.. The “Slumdog Millionare” thing made me laugh.

  44. Virtual Speak Says:

    Intersting comments about Adam. I wonder if middle America will vote for the androgynous Freddie Mercury/Ziggy Stardust/seventies glam rocker type? He is very talented. But, the early ass kissing by the judges may hurt him.

  45. Snowstorm Says:

    I laughed at that too.

  46. Honestly, I don’t think AI will allow an openly gay performer to win. I mean there have ones that have been questioned (Clay, Taylor) but nobody has actually come out before the season ended.

  47. Snowstorm Says:

    Amercia is not ready for a gay Idol, so scratch that.

    The only one who’s got my attention so far is Matt, but it’s still early.

  48. Snowstorm Says:

    He’s not dumb. He’s checking the internets and he knows he’s getting disapproval. So, it won’t be mentioned anymore, but the damage has been done…too late!

  49. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    Well that would be a shame. Being gay or not should not decide who wins. IMO Adam has the best voice. But I guess we’ll see what happens.

  50. jerseyirish Says:

    I don’t think Danny started out that way, but AI used it to promote and he did it for a bit. It was Matt that he compared the dancing, but also without mentioning names he did it again with Danny last night. I think he has a nice voice I just think he needs to find himself and work from there.

    JI

  51. Snowstorm Says:

    Best voice???? HAHA! Well, I guess if you like screeching hyenas.

  52. Virtual Speak Says:

    SS- To me, Matt seems to be the most like Taylor. Danny.. not so much.

    Megan Joy CawCawkorey needs to go.

  53. Snowstorm Says:

    I think Danny’s dead wife liked Taylor, so now people are saying he’s like Taylor, I guess. But, I agree with you, I don’t see any Taylor in Danny.

    I’m not sure who Matt is like. All I know is that I liked his performance last night. I liked his voice, his song selection, the piano…everything was cool!

  54. I completely agree with you, RRS re: gay. However, when you are talking American Idol, you are talking about middle America, honestly. Oh, and don’t forget the South.

  55. Virtual Speak Says:

    Not a whole lot to chose from as far as these contestants getting and keeping tards.

    Single Mother
    Married Mother
    Gay
    Widowed and Christian fundie

  56. Virtual Speak Says:

    SS- What I said Danny takes every opportunity to mention his deceased wife was a Taylor tard. There was even an article about it. Why wouldn’t he play up to Taylor’s fanbase?

  57. Snowstorm Says:

    Oh sure, he should use every opportunity to buy into the fanbase. But, I’m too smart to get deceived.

  58. I don’t think he’s deceiving anybody. It’s pretty damn evident what he’s trying to do. He’s doing what everybody else is doing, trying to get fans the best way he knows how.

  59. Virtual Speak Says:

    Yep. Of course he is IAG. It’s a singing game of Survivor.

    Speaking of which.. there’s enough winners and runners up now..

    Survivor needs to get them all on an Island. Who wouldn’t watch Taylor in nothing but a loin cloth running for his life because Ruben would probably eat all the contestants.

  60. Snowstorm Says:

    Oh Lord, this is manipulation at it’s best. I do not buy into it.

  61. AHHAHAHAHHAAHAHA!!!

  62. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, It seems to me anything someone mentions Danny picks up on it and uses it to gain. Not that it is a real bad thing but sometimes your just better off being yourself, I liked him at the audtion he seemed real there.

    JI

  63. Danny reminds me very much of Taylor and he seems to have quite a bit of personality. His voice is good and his moves were fun. VFTW and Idletard do a number on Danny and Adam. I don’t think America would have a problem with a gay contestant, but Adam does gay gigs, cross dressing crotch grabbing and guy humping from what I’ve seen. He tries to tone it done on AI, but it seeps thru. He will make the top 5 for sure and have a good career. Megan and Anoop were weak. Lil Rounds was good and the red haired girl Alyison. I think 2 will leave tonight. Taylor was in fine form on Ellen, but his days of being an A lister are past. He will be on Chelsea Lately Mon. evening so all and all he is getting out there. The man loves the limelight and the TV cameras love him. Looking good there Tay, good hair day!

  64. OT, I read an interview where Tay said there were some sparks between he and Julie and they have been popping emails back and forth.

  65. Virtual Speak Says:

    rosie.. I believe the “guy humping” falls into the gay category.

  66. Well, there are “A listers” and then some these days. I really believe it’s just what circles you travel in. With the popularity of cable and internet shows, the “A listers” are not just the Brangelina’s nor Julia Roberts any more.

    I honestly don’t think AI would have an issue with an openly gay Idol. Prop 8 has shed a great deal of poor press on the issue of stigmatizing homosexuality; being anti-gay is the new “racism”, if you will.

  67. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, I’m glad to hear that he said they are e-mailing back and forth and there was some sparks. I had read at one point it was all her trying to get him to e-mail her. So that is a good thing, maybe things will work between them.

    JI

  68. Snowstorm Says:

    Ro, what else is he going to say, “I did this for publicity”. The thing is everybody knows he did it for publicity to sell his cd. You gotta stop believing everything that comes out of his mouth. He’s not going to show his personal persona to the world… he keeps that to himself.

  69. Mmmm hmmm. And I bet “The Distance” goes gold next week!!!

  70. Maybe it’s just a “bro-mance”, VS. 😉

  71. Virtual, I meant he does it in his stage acts and dance movements. Most Americans accept that some people are born gay. He got a lot of screams from the young girls in the audience. Paula went wacko over his Jacko!

  72. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Ohhhhhh yeah! Just watched Taylor on Ellen (thank YOU caryl and soul thing) and WOW! he just looks WOW! The california sun is really making that boy shine! I don’t know if that’s all there is to it but it is nice to see him look so positively smashing!
    I have to say again that I am concerned for the state of the health care system in this country. Without too much detail, I am warning everyone that things are changing, and it isn’t good changes. Even with insurance, providers are denying services to patients, and it seems that the insurance companies are tightening up. (Another Tay fave of mine!) and to boot, Corzine announced plans today to enact a law that if it passes will deny the tax writeoff for homeowners in our fabulous (cough) cancer ridden state that pay huge tax dollars for their homes. I wonder sometimes, but not too much, what is happening here. Where is this country heading? Sorry to go OT there.
    Seriously Taylor is hanging tough in the entertainment world, doing what he loves, and living it up to boot. He is a star and a shining one at that!
    Go ahead snow, tell me I am off my rocker. It IS okay, Rosie thinks I should only come out for the full moon and howl and spinshack agrees that I am guilty of rearranging shelves in Target lol, so I am OK with all of it.
    And they mock genius…
    LOL
    BL

  73. jerseyirish Says:

    BL, I hear you, scary stuff going on with the health ins, you are right they are denying requests and changing things without notifcation.

    Taylor sounded great on Ellen today, so happy that things are going his way.

    JI

  74. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Things are more than going his way. I am not ashamed to say I always predicted his rise, and although it isn’t apparent just yet, he is poised to go up from here. It is no different than riding a wave, essentially you have to have luck in getting on one, timing to hang it just right, and skill to keep it going even when the energy turns low. He is just hanging ten all the way into the shoreline I think!! Very proud of him and even if there are people here who dislike him or think he isn’t deserving of what’s to come, I don’t give a rat’s behind about that. Sour grapes makes bad whine. lol.
    Hey I am stoked for the CD, but I was unable to get out there today, to get it, just yet. Doctors are mamby pambies if you ask me, cow-towwing to the insurance companies. By doing so they are denying their own incomes, and losing business. Since when does a doctor tell a patient “I can’t do a procedure because of paperwork.” WTH? Paperwork? We have freakin computers don’t we? Nothing is paperwork anymore.
    For reals we are in serious trouble. But I smile anyways, because I can’t cry through my freakin sty! lol
    Spin…pass the drill. lol
    My kids are watching the TV right now…hehehe.
    smiles
    BL

  75. spinshack Says:

    According to US Weekly, one of the mags my DM oversees Hokey Gokey is trained or learned or whatever Salsa dancing. Bah on his not knowing how to dance. He was imitating Hicks.

  76. spinshack Says:

    Hahahaha!

  77. spinshack Says:

    Faux Downing. Y’all go ahead. I’ll just pass. lol

  78. spinshack Says:

    Y’all are sucked into the whole Hokey Gokey thing, *sigh* what about his cult church affiliations? Still think that he’s not pimping that dead wife? It’s part of that whole church mentality, use what you can to get what you want. My gal at TopIdol has done a whole expose’ on that topic.

  79. spinshack Says:

    Liked that too.

  80. spinshack Says:

    I love Adam. *tossing hearts and flowers*

  81. spinshack Says:

    Gal, he’s no screeching hyena. Just energetic. LOL I *heart* Adam. He’s uber Fabulous.

    Matt kinda sexy – needs lose that Justin Timberlake hat and the scarf. He looks VERY much like a friend of mine I met on-line a while back. Part of the rhymes with Toya group. 😎

  82. spinshack Says:

    BWHAHAHAHA!

  83. spinshack Says:

    Man, you’ve bought it Hook line and sinker haven’t you, Grey? I will pray for your relief from the guise that is the Hokey Gokey. ha.

  84. spinshack Says:

    *clapping wildly*

  85. spinshack Says:

    So what, he kissed a guy. Not like I’ve never seen that before. 🙄

  86. spinshack Says:

    JI you are a hopeless romantic.

  87. spinshack Says:

    It’s only ’cause I loves you Sweetie. And you did do that and that was awesomely funny, Bright. You knows I love me some Spirit Momma.

  88. spinshack Says:

    Docs today overall SUCK and I can attest to that too Bright. I’m learning some herbal remedies for some things that work better than Rx. I can’t find one right now to put in my hands. Seems only the on-line venues are open for Biz at this moment. AH, eventually I’ll get one. (Hicks CDs)

  89. spinshack Says:

    Two different topics up there, one the CD, two the meds. Forgot to separate because I’m a Tard. LOL

  90. spinshack Says:

    BTW since I’m the only one here right now, I wrote a rather clever piece about last night Idol on my blog. JFYI. In the event you’re bored. LOL

  91. Arrow2Soul Says:

    I am not bored, never bored. I read a piece you wrote last week, and it wasn’t flattering of Taylor, but after coming from IdolTards site a few minutes ago, you look like the flying nun if you just would leap across the room. What is wrong with those people? ROFL. Again, where is this country heading??? Straight to the bowels of hell I think. lol. My Lord in a flat bed Ford. I just have to laugh out loud again. I will read your piece sunny, but I am not watching Idol this year for no particular reason. Just don’t have an interest in it? Still guffawing over IdolTards. They sure perv over there. It’s positively goofy. Who exactly writes that? jackie Collins? I mean it is so funny I can’t stop cracking up. I can’t believe I can get on here tonight!!! My kids are all otherwise preoccupied. Good thing because I if they saw what I was reading they would ground me and restrict my Internet use for sure. rofl.
    BL

  92. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Regards Taylor’s CD…I will mist likely get out and cop a few of them for myself and two or three friends who are new fans. I’ve been through hell the past three months and these people are there for me, and they will get a copy of it. I want every song though, since IAoK seems to be the real hit on there. WRIR is a really nice song, but since he didn’t write it, I am not as crazy about it as I thought. I just love to see what’s inside, and aside from his voice on that track, it really isn’t what’s there, but what was there in someone else.
    The Distance will probably be my favorite tune, although I am hoping NFF sounds as good as the lyrics make it out to be. It has to be sung in such a way, so it doesn’t sound corny or canned. I am hoping he achieves the right amount of passion blended with inspiration, but still has the grittiness that I think prompted the muse for the song in the first place. never lose your grit.
    Listen I got to get running here. Much to do before I can sleep tonight.
    MwwwwwwwwwaaahhhhhhMwahhhhhhhhhhhhh,
    Those are kisses!
    lol
    BL

  93. Virtual Speak Says:

    Sunny you’re well on the way to recovery. The first step is admitting you’re a tard. 😆

  94. I never quiz the folks at the stores about Taylor’s CDs, but this guy working at Target just starting rambling when I asked if they had it in stock. He said they were sold out. He said that in today’s economic climate, they only order small supplies (of everything) to see how they sell. He said they ordered more.

    I was surprised to learn that SOMEbody *looking around* living near me is a Taylor fan. He hasn’t done well in Texas, but SOMEbody snatched up those CDs the minute they hit the shelves. Fess up! Who out there lives south of Houston?

  95. Use what you can to get you want…I think everybody who’s been on Idol has done that. That’s the way the game is played.

  96. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, Same thing happened with my daughter, she asked if they had any left and the youngman said they got 18 copies in and that was it.

    JI

  97. jerseyirish Says:

    BL, Still can’t get on idletard even with a new computer i get sent to some other place about a biography.

    JI

  98. jerseyirish Says:

    BL, Got my copy yesterday from Amazon, listening to the CD in the car is a different experience for me, I seem to absorb more when driving. I love the whole CD some songs more than others. Hearing him sing WRIR live drew me even closer to the song seeing his passion singing it.

    JI

  99. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Excuse me but how does a musician allot 18 copies for one location? I siad a long time ago that Taylor needs to capitalize on the scarcity principle. Hey, I didn’t think he would listen! But it does set up in the old mind that what you wanted has value, and since they are all gone well, we think it has added value I guess. lol. Also we want to buy more of the damn disc if we percieve that they will be gone the next time. If people go and see them off the racks, they will think “Hey this shit must be hot!” (sorry to cuss) to themsleves of course, then when no one is looking they come back for it, and secretly get a copy. Or they go home and DL it on Itunes. Either way it works.
    I could be wrong too, nahhhhhhhhhhh.
    Never wrong 🙄

  100. Arrow2Soul Says:

    lol JI
    Well they let me on and I think it was to lead me to Sodom and Gomorrah. I promise I didn’t really read that stuff. it was all blurry anyways, through my limited one-eye view today.
    Oh the benefits of being a fan, free Tayporn. lmao.
    😀

  101. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Good night all.
    One-eyed willie is heading off to dreamland.
    Be well.
    BL

  102. Arrow2Soul Says:

    virtual…one thing before I go. Answer if you can, but how do you get your smilie to twitch its lips like that? It is cute and I want to use that sometime.
    Thanks.
    BL

  103. spinshack Says:

    Bright, that is Tard fiction. It’s copy pasting from online fan boards. lol It’s real life Fan Tard stories of …fiction… hahaha.

  104. spinshack Says:

    That’ s why I subscribe to Dr. Fender’s site. LOL It’s a continuing process and I slip sometimes. LOL

  105. jerseyirish Says:

    BL, The CD had two slots on the shelf each slot held 9 CD’s, she didn’t ask if they were to get more in or not.

    JI

  106. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Geez that is too much! What kind of biography JI?
    Do you mean like a bio of Taylor? Or like one of some unknown woman wearing a hoop skirt and stays that are laced so tight her eyes bulge? I read one of those recently actually. It was about some woman who grew up in France and was beheaded. I fell fast asleep with that one.
    smiles
    BL

  107. Arrow2Soul Says:

    I did not believe it if that’s what you are saying darling. I could not laugh hard enough though, at the women who write (think) of this stuff.
    I was there once before, a few months ago and it left an impression. It only took me several months to return to satiate my curiosity once more.
    The world is plain crazy. I am totally sane, but the world is totally effing mad.
    lol
    Again, good night my fine friends.
    BL

  108. *still weeping*

    I’ve got “Indiscriminate Act of Kindness” playing in a loop in my head. Hurts so good.

  109. Arrow2Soul Says:

    WRIR is a very nice song and I am proud of how he sings it, live and recorded. It sounds great and hopefully it will garnish that much needed radio play he probably seeks. let’s hope for him. For me, since he did not write it, I can’t see it as a favorite or standout on the Cd.
    IYT had his work, his songs, as does UTR and Early Works and I love the covers he does, and I know , I know WRIR is not a cover….its an original recording of it, but I follow an artist for his creations, not the creations or visions of another. That’s just me. I thought it was his song until just a day or so ago, that is how out of the loop I am.
    I still like it, just isn’t the same for me since it isn’t his “baby.”
    Looking for lots of love in the Distance. That’s his child I believe.

  110. Caryl, I am right there with you. I keep thinking..ok, I’m so going to get tired of that song, but so far, I just want to keep listening to it. It’s like I get something new from it every time I hear it.

  111. spinshack Says:

    I’m Tarding Big Time. Going to listen to it again.

  112. The label pays for shelf space and Tay is the one paying. There are still plenty of Early Works in Target,but he did not have to pay musicians and singers for that as he is doing with the Distance. While you maybe onto something Virtual, some may not buy if they don’t see it when they are first hot for it. Some may just download some of it. Tonight he was on Idol Tonight for the first half hour and gave a lot of woos. He looked good, hair is now all white. Everyone there and in Ellen’s audience got a free CD. Ryan said tonight that all the winners of AI will be on this season. I expect Taylor to make the most of his converstion with Ryan and with his performance. He seems to have his old confidance back full force. I know some mock me because I said he will sell 500,000 by Sept. but I’m a believer. And having his own label and putting himself out there shows determination and balls. Who else from AI has done that?

  113. You three weeps have proven you are bigger Tards than me. Even BL doesn’t have her copy although she can still listen via the mystical force of air travel via a full moon. Just kidding BL, but it was a full moon when you were there at Ramshead, Feb. 7th, while in your bed at home! Get well BL and all the rest of the nuts in Tay Tay Land.

  114. spinshack Says:

    He’s breaking my heart every time I hear it. My God how is it he doesn’t do this every song? The man would slay people.

  115. spinshack Says:

    You’re funny Ro.

  116. spinshack Says:

    BTW Love you, Ro.

  117. Thanks IAG.

    I listened to IAOK with an open mind, but I much much prefer Foy Vance singing this. I don’t like the way Taylor pronounces the lyrics. At one point he says ‘holdin’ her hand’ with an Irish accent. What’s that? It’s like an imitation. “as i aaammmm” It also becomes very repetitive to my ears yet i never felt that when FV sings it. That’s because FV is much more subtle and quiet.

    Taylor has a great sound, and there’s great intensity, that’s a given, but this is karaoke to me. Not a reinterpretation. Shoot me!

  118. jerseyirish Says:

    Spin, I hear you, everytime I listen it just moves me, the passion, pain in his voice, wow!

    JI

  119. I’ve always wondered that, too! BTW, feel better BL. I have “allergy eyes” and it’s driving me crazy!!

  120. hicksaholic Says:

    Blue,
    I’m with you on the pronunciation on IAOK and also the “splattered, battered, shattered, tattered, whatever” on LOAB. Some times it seems like Taylor tries so hard on his albums whereas he just lets it flow live. I said once before he might be better off touring the album first and then recording it. And I stick by that. When you hear him sing SMB it is obvious he is so much more comfortable singing that song and it comes across in the recording.

    I love Matt and was really pissed when Simon compared him in a negative manner to Taylor. I like Danny too and can see how some could compare their dance moves although Taylor is much more coordinated than Danny.

  121. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    What? Tay singing with an Irish accent? I gotta hear that again.

  122. Fairhope Says:

    Watch it!!! Don’t go dissing the south! We are very gay tolerent! I hate it when people who have never lived or even been in the south thinks they know how we all behave!

  123. I didn’t say every single person in the South was against gays. I would say that in the urban areas, it probably is more gay tolerant. But when you’re talking the Bible Belt…tolerant isn’t the word I would use, overall.

Leave a Reply

