I’m bullish on Hicks…

Came across this interesting site this morning. It talks about Kelly Clarkson and Taylor Hicks releasing their CD’s on the same day. They are giving Taylor a 15% probability that the Distance will debut in the top 5 on the Billboard charts, but Clarkson has a 98.2% probability of landing in the top five. This begs the question, how smart was it of Taylor to release on the same day as Kelly Clarkson? Does it matter, in this time of recession, when people just don’t have money to burn? Or is it that even though they are both Idol winners, they aren’t even in the same class?

Wish I would have known about this site earlier, I would have sold, sold, sold when he peaked at $34.89. Too bad, because he’s only going for $14.99 now. *sigh*

thchart

61 Responses to “I’m bullish on Hicks…”

  1. taylorfan06 Says:

    Just to clarify, Kelly’s people changed their release date to 3/10 (the same as Taylor’s) from 3/31 because of an internet leak. Kelly will most likely debut at #1 on the Billboard 200, and I would be happy to see Taylor debut at #1 on the Indie chart. Who knows, it could happen during this time of a Depression, not a recession.

    Regardless, after to listening to “The Distance” further, I do think that Taylor may a pretty good CD, unfortunately not a GREAT CD. But I think he still has a chance to get some respectable numbers overall. As a fan, I will always wish him the best. We’ll see what happens.

  2. jerseyirish Says:

    taylorfan06, Thats what I thought Taylor had his release date first and she changed hers. I think the CD represents him, I hope it does well, do I think it will hit #1 no I don’t. Taylor’s music seems to appeal to only those that enjoy old school music. I am in that category.

    JI

  3. Well, initially his first date was February 10th.

    Got Indiscriminate Act of Kindness…and I’m telling you what…Maybe you Should, Seven Mile Breakdown and IAoK make this cd for me.

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, have you checked out his myspace a new message, he says they are going to overhaul HQ and make it better that he is getting more comfortable with leaving messages.
    I know his date changed also. I went to Walmart this am and they didn’t have the CD or Kelly’s out. Going to Target later today to see what they have. When my daughter wakes up gonna have her show me how to do the downloads.

    http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendId=55986260&blogId=475775625

    Take a look.

    JI

  5. I saw that, JI. Overhauling HQ? Sounds like a fantastic idea…;)

    Target had probably ten cd’s out this morning. The Target version is a must just for IAoK alone. For real.

  6. taylorfan06 Says:

    And Taylor then moved to 3/10 (before Kelly).

  7. Snowstorm Says:

    I think my membership ends today.. nope, not rejoining. I won’d be fooled twice.

    Now what’s the deal with different bonus songs on this cd? If I buy it at Target, which song do I get? Doesn’t he have a different song if you buy it at Walmart? This is Taylor milking his diehard fans again because I’m sure they will buy each and every version of this cd.

    I think the cd will sell poorly. I doubt it will even be in the top 10. The promotion has been practically non-existent.

  8. Well, Snow, I’ll have to agree with you on the promotion. He’ll be on Ellen tomorrow though.

    Oh, get the Target version. That’s the indiscriminate Act of Kindness one. If I had a real email address for you, I would even let you hear it. ahahhaahah

  9. Snowstorm Says:

    So, you like that song? Is that the same song you showed a vid of a while ago? I liked that song.

  10. This song makes the whole CD for me. After hearing Yes We Can this morning, I was not hopeful at all. But, finally, Indiscriminate Act of Kindness…yes. And yeah, it’s the same song that Foy Vance sings in the video. In fact, Foy Vance is the writer.

  11. According to the liner, Hicks has writing credits on The Distance, New Found Freedom, Once Upon a Lover, Seven Mile Breakdown, Maybe You Should, Keepin it Real, and Wedding Day Blues.

  12. spinshack Says:

    What a great name, Foy Vance.

    Snow it’s not that unusual for artists to market CDs like this, next he’ll have the super big CD with all bonus tracks. Egad, maybe the DVD will resurface and be an added special!

    Read on a board that he was showing better numbers at Wal-Mart already than Clarkson. Not sure how accurate that is since I’ve not gone to check it out myself.

  13. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, will get to Target later today, not close enough to sneak during lunch:( Maybe I can bribe my daugher to go when she gets up.

    JI

  14. spinshack Says:

    We’ll see I guess when and if that happens. Surely his peeps realize the intelligence of that move. Of course could be just the hype. Naturally some fans will take umbrage with anyone even thinking Mr. Hicks owes fans any improvements on his “Official Site”. Bloody demanding mob fans are, to request such a thing.

  15. Snowstorm Says:

    Cool! Target for me!

  16. spinshack Says:

    Did you read Sherry Lipp on Blogcritics? Said she wished Achy Breaky Keeping it Real had been omitted. hahahaha I *heart* Sherry.

    I still don’t have my copy. Want a physical plastic disc with the liner to hold in my hand.

    When I first saw your post title I thought you had written, “I’m Bullshit on Hicks”. Spit my coffee and choked. Bwahahaha.

  17. I did read that!! hahahaha

    The inside of the liner is a big ass picture of Hicks with his signature. And I am happy to report that he thanks Bill Williams in the notes. πŸ™‚

  18. Snowstorm Says:

    So, are we going to have some rearranging of the sales racks? Will they take all of Kelly’s cd’s and hide them and put Taylor’s cd’s at eye level? I hope they get caught and security kicks their asses out of the store. HAHA!

  19. spinshack Says:

    Does Hicks and BW have ‘friendship’ rings yet? πŸ˜€

  20. spinshack Says:

    *Do*

  21. Snowstorm Says:

    Really? He thanks Bill Will? HAHA!

  22. spinshack Says:

    Ut oh, Where’s BrightLite? *grins*

  23. Oh boy, I’m still recovering from “Indiscriminate Act Of Kindness.” I cant’ type or spell or think. That song feels very intimate, when his voice get quiet it’s more effective than any loud wailing. Putty. I’m putty in his hands. dammit.

  24. greeneyes Says:

    Kelly’s date was changed a number of times — not just once. It was also changed to the 17, 10th, 17th and back to the 10th.

  25. greeneyes Says:

    He’ll be on KOST tomorrow, too.

  26. Exactly. He definitely did that song justice. Soooo good.

    Anybody want to hear it? Email me. This song is too fantastic not to share.

  27. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, I’m thinking I will have to sneak out and go get the CD at Target soon, gotta hear it..

    JI

  28. Mr. Williams deserves the thanks. I too have nothing in my hands so I’m heading out to Target. This is the first time I will be buying 3 CDs of Taylors. Guess I’ll give the Amazon one away to someone I know who is an Elliott fan. Do I need to duck if I mention Bulls have big (you know whats) ?

  29. THAT’S a serious musician. I feel like weeping, it wrecked me.

  30. I’m on my way to buy now and am still melting from listening to his vocals with the piano on ‘Maybe You Should’.

  31. hicksaholic Says:

    WILL YOU EMAIL INDISCRIMATE ACTS OF KINDNESS TO ME? THANKS

  32. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Could you e-mail me also have my daughter seeing what she can find right now, have a confernece call coming in can’t sneak out now.

    JI

  33. And that is why I keep hanging around. Because I know he is capable of this…this ability to completely turn me inside out with a song.

  34. Snowstorm Says:

    I’m sneaking out of work, too. They won’t miss me, lol!

  35. I’ve BEEN sneaking around, avoiding my son.

  36. Thanks for turning me on to that song, btw. I’ll be buying the CD (at Target!!) later.

  37. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    Overhauling HQ? Oh I can’t wait for that! πŸ˜€

  38. You’re welcome. I had a hunch that you would like it.

  39. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    Oh crud. I’d better save my money for that one then. I hate it when they jerk us around like that.

  40. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, OMG, thank you, thank you, it is beautiful, daughter is on her way to Target now for me. Just got to get a hold of the other two extras tracks. She downloaded it for me, this computer has a media player my old one didn’t.

    JI

  41. I’m probably one in a few that like Keeping It Real. It’s just a fun song. If it sounds like “Achy Breaky” it ‘s a slower version. I don’t think it sounds that much like it.

  42. taylorfan06 Says:

    I’m so glad you “won’d” be fooled twice.

    Thanks for sharing! LOL

  43. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, Now, now, I do the same sometimes when mine gets intense.

    JI

  44. taylorfan06 Says:

    ditto’ iag. Thanks!!!

  45. taylorfan06 Says:

    Well, I just picked up my copy of “The Distance” at Target and to my HORROR, “Indiscriminate Acts of Kindness” is not on the copy. I’m so bummed.

    I did download “Yes We Can” from iTunes though, for a quick pick me up.
    That’s one funky tune. “Smart choice of song” for Taylor! I’ve always loved that song from The Pointer Sisters, the first time around, and Taylor definitely did it justice. Very funky groove. I hope he does that one LIVE at The Roxy.

    I do have to mention how GREAT the production and SOUND are on the CD. It sounded so good on the way back home from Target. I was blasting it of course. Hearing the songs on a good stereo made the songs sound so much better to me. The latin groove of “Once Upon A Lover” has really grown on me, and so has “New Found Freedom”.

    On listening to the CD today, I feel these songs really do fit Taylor and hope he’ll have some great success with them. I do need to get IAOK though. I wonder if other Target stores are only selling the CD without that exclusive track. That’s not right! My TH collection won’t be complete without it.

    Enjoy the tunes, everyone. I REALLY am myself. I’ll be listening to “The Distance” on my way to the Pantages tonight for the opening of “Grease”. I’ll make sure to get a recap on that later for those interested.

  46. I’m back and it is a great song. Wish he would have left off Wedding Day and Keepin It Real and used the 7 + minutes to include IAOK on all the versions. I do feel suckered in for buying the plain white vanilla Amazon version. Guess reading those gals at the BB made me feel obligated. If he has all these so called old lady fans, aren’t any of them rich enough to go out and buy 50,000 CDs. This man deserves commercial success and more critical praise. I did crank up the song ‘The Distance’ on my way home and it would sound great on the radio, IMO. Do any of you music experts see that and ‘Nineteen’ as hits?

  47. Tayfan06, Take it back. It is advertised as on there. It was on all the ones at My Target. Demand your rights!

  48. jerseyirish Says:

    My daughter just called from Target they are sold out, 18 copies had been stocked all gone, have to look for another one nearby.

    JI

  49. That ain’t right, taylorfan06!

  50. You know, you can exchange the cd for the same cd…I would try that.

  51. taylorfan06 Says:

    TOTALLY, Rosie!

    And you are SO right. I did get get shortchanged on my “vanilla” copy from Target. I thought maybe it would be there as a hidden track or something.
    I feel that I have be violated. LOL

    I will definitely be demanding my rights for that advertised “exclusive” track version. I need my IAOK!!!

  52. JI, Yikes, that is not good! I noticed they had 2 shelves of Tay and about 8 of Kelly. In fact they had 2 shelves of that stupid Hough guys band from Dancing With The Stars. That ain’t right, I tell you, give Hicks More Shelves, dang it!

  53. casualfan Says:

    IAG-Thanks for sending me the song…U R right, it does complete the cd and makes me want to purchase now. THANKS πŸ˜‰

    Kelly Clarkson’s single off this new cd shattered Billboard records when it released so count on her cd going into the top 5 πŸ˜‰

    (That’s my girl!)

  54. casualfan Says:

    I meant her single shattered Billboard records, not her cd…sorry

  55. Read on the BB that many Target stores have not received the shipment of the CD and others have recieved the wrong ones, minus the bonus. Also it does not seem to be at Walmart. So some huge fans are going CD less today. Not good and I expect Snow will get on Tay and his teams case before sunset.

  56. greeneyes Says:

    My Target had one row of Taylor’s CD, and 3 were left after I purchased two. There were 6 rows of Kelly’s, and only two missing from all of them.

  57. greeneyes Says:

    Taylor will be on KOST 103.5 in LA tomorrow, 8:15 a.m. Pacific Time.
    http://www.kost1035.com/main.html

  58. casualfan Says:

    Jeff Lopez is here in LA (arrived today) and will be doing something with Taylor tonight. So if anyone knows the location of Mr. Hicks or where he will be tonight you may want to hook up. Anytime Jeff and Tay get together it’s a par-TAY for sure.

  59. *hopping on a plane*

  60. Oh, wait. I don’t know where to go!

  61. Hey, I think Ellen tapes a day ahead. Maybe Jeff is helping out with that.

Leave a Reply

