Who do you want Taylor to cover?

Taylor does a fair number of covers, but the question was posed to me recently, “What do you want to hear him record?” I want Taylor’s voice to be the focus of the song, not the instruments. I think that’s why I was so impressed with Under The Radar. It was so raw, and you could just feel the passion oozing out of him. When Taylor said in interviews that his voice was going to be the thread that wove the songs together on The Distance, I thought…ok, either that means the songs don’t “go together” or Bill Will taught him a good new line. Obviously, it was the first one. However, as much as The Distance is an improvement from TH, I still don’t think it’s going to go down as his best work. I think he has so much potential and he just needs to find the right songwriters to work with.

Take this song, for instance, Shelter by Ray LaMontagne. Watch him sing this song, and you can just hear the aching in his voice, the desire. His voice leaves no question of how he feels to the person he’s singing to. This song could be in another language and I think you could get the same heartache out of it. Some voices just lend themselves to that effect, and I think Taylor is one of them.

This next one is by Marc Broussard called Lonely Night in Georgia. I think Taylor could really tear up this song…adding tags during concerts, and just giving the song his own touch. Maybe throw a little harp in there. Awesome.

The lyrics in this next song are fantastic…The Weight of It All by Matt Nathanson.



i’m weak when you miss me
when you roll me on your tongue..
when you whisper me your best moves
i almost believe you
but you don’t know me at all

i’m covered by lovers,
who recite lines
convinced their bodies
are gonna save mine
but you don’t know me at all..

show me where the sun comes through the sky
i’ll show you where the rain gets in
and i’ll show you hurricanes
and the way that summer fades
underneath the weight of it all
…the weight of it all

i spent days stupid nailed to your floor
and i spent nights pushed against you, baby
trying to keep warm
but you don’t know me at all.

show me where the sun comes through the sky
i’ll show you where the rain gets in
and i’ll show you hurricanes
and the way that summer fades
underneath the weight of it all

show me where the sun comes through the sky
i’ll show you where the rain gets in
and i’ll show you hurricanes
and the way that summer fades…
underneath the weight of it all

…show me,
show me where the sun comes through the sky
i’ll show you where the rain gets in
and i’ll show you hurricanes
and the way that summer fades

so you can pick me up just to put me down again

underneath the weight of it all
…the weight of it all

This is a really cool song that I just came across. Foy Vance and Be With Me. I think Taylor could sing the hell out of this song.

I’m not sure any of these songs could actually garner airplay, and I think that, as a fanbase, is something we need to come to grips with. It’s ok if his song doesn’t reach the top of the charts, it’s ok, really. The kind of music that Taylor plays and the kind that he seems to be gravitating to isn’t radio material. It just isn’t. No amount of calling, emailing or bugging radio stations is going to cause them to say…”Oh, ok. We didn’t know it was so wonderful. We’ll play it around the clock now.” It just doesn’t work like that.

47 Responses to “Who do you want Taylor to cover?”

  1. I love Ray Lamontagne, and especially Marc Broussard. I really like his version of “Yes We Can” so I am interested in hearing Taylor’s version. I’ve thought about Taylor singing “French Cafe” or “Gavin’s Song”… and “Lonely Night in Georgia” as well. Would be interesting! Marc Broussard’s Must Be The Water EP is awesome!

  2. I’ll have to check that album out…I’ve only heard a few songs from Marc Broussard, but what I heard, I liked a lot!

  3. Cool! I’d definitely recommend his Save Our Soul album while we’re on the subject. 🙂 There’s very few songs of his that I’m not too crazy about.. He makes great albums.

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Could see Taylor doing anyone of those songs and changing them up to Taylorize them. To me Taylor is a live performer, he is at his best with an audience in front of him. I have heard him say several times he really didn’t care about air play, coming out and seeing him is what he wants. I think this new CD is highlighting his vocals with more radio friendly songs then before, whether he will see it, only time will tell. WRIR is now up to #23 on media base he is getting the airplay and new stations are being added, so hopefully he will see radio sucess this time out.

    JI

  5. I think Taylor might have some radio success with this album, but I don’t know if he’ll get it with WRIR. I think Nineteen actually might have a better shot on country radio.

  6. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, You could be right, but WRIR isn’t doing too bad. Did you hear that Taylor is scheduled to be on Idol next Wed 3/11 for the elimination show? I read it on another blog, but haven’t seen anything confirming it.

    JI

  7. No, I hadn’t heard that…I’ll try to do some research on that.

  8. Snowstorm Says:

    Kelly Clarkson is scheduled to appear on Idol on 3/11, so I think you are mistaken. I doubt they will have both of them on.

  9. Snowstorm Says:

    I would like for Taylor to stick to one genre. He’s all over the place and it won’t work. Let’s see on the The Distance he has Blues, Soul/R&B, Country, AC/Pop. Why not add some punk, metal and hip hop too? 😉 Then he would have ALL the genres covered.

  10. Um, Taylor’s already tried his hand at rapping…it’s um, interesting, to say the least.

  11. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, I read it on MJ’s blog didn’t say it was confirmed thats why I asked if anyone else had read about it.

    JI

  12. Snowstorm Says:

    Taylor should team up with a rap artist like what John Legend did with Andre 3000.

  13. Snowstorm Says:

    Link please.

  14. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, It was in a google alert I got this morning already deleted.

    JI

  15. Snowstorm Says:

    Oh man, do I have a scoop… Ray Lamontagne is going to be on SNL!!! It’s about time!!!

    Ray will perform this Saturday, March 7th on Saturday Night Live with host Dwayne Johnson! Tune into NBC at 11:30pm EST!

  16. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, I found the alert here is what it said:

    IDOL TONIGHT will premiere Wednesday, March 11, 2009 at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT with special guest Taylor Hicks, season five winner of “American Idol.” New IDOL TONIGHT episodes will air Wednesdays at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT through the duration of the …

    JI

  17. Snowstorm Says:

    It says here that Kelly Clarkson will appear on Idol on March 11.

    http://mjsbigblog.com/kelly-clarkson-i-dont-hook-up-released-to-radio-april-7th.htm

  18. NICE FIND, SS!!

    It is about time!!

  19. Someone online somewhere (out of the fandom) referred to WRIR as an “I Do” song. That would be a huge coup to have a song be a popular wedding song. Do you think that was a calculated move? (Keeping in mind that TRP got him back on R&K during wedding week.)

    We already know I want Taylor to do “I’m on Fire” by Springsteen, but I’ll give your question some thought.

  20. Wait…hold the phone. There is more online than the fandom?

    Shut up!!

    😆

  21. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, Was just showing you where I saw it.

    JI

  22. TV Guide Network ordered a fourth season for “Idol Tonight,” its pre-show for Fox’s “American Idol.” The program will return with hosts and former show contestants Kimberly Caldwell and Justin Guarini. The show also will have Taylor Hicks, winner of the fifth season of “American Idol,” on its March 11 season premiere, TV Guide said in a statement today.

    http://cs.entertainmentcareers.net/blogs/tvbiz/archive/2009/03/02/idol-tonight-gets-fourth-season-on-tv-guide-net.aspx

  23. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Thanks, he will be on that show 3/11.

    JI

  24. hicksaholic Says:

    I think there is a possibility he will be on Idol March 18th not yet confirmed.

  25. Seven Days Says:

    I would love to see Taylor cover more Marvin Gaye songs. I loved his rendition of “What’s Goin’ On” and “Wherever I Lay My Hat”, and of course he’s tagged “Let’s Get it On” on numerous occasions.

    However, I was completely mesmerized at Ram’s Head when he launched into “Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)” just before The Maze. Unbelievable! Not many people can touch Marvin for pure vocals and song interpretation, but his songs are right in Taylor’s wheelhouse.

    Would especially love to see him do a cover of “Mercy, Mercy Me”.

  26. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    I disagree. I love how he has so many different genres. To me it makes the album a lot more interesting and enjoyable.

  27. icallbs Says:

    As long he doesn’t cover My Life Would Suck Without U

  28. casualfan Says:

    I agree with you on WRIR. The song is OK, but I’m not wild about it. However, I’m not into “nineteen” either. He did an awesome job with the tune but IMO this country needs upbeat, uplifting music and I feel “The Distance” would make a great single for him.

    Overall, this CD is a step in the right direction for Taylor.

    Re him doing covers…I would LOVE to hear him do old Doobie Brother music. 😉

  29. casualfan Says:

    And don’t rely on other information JI untill he confirms it. Last year he was scheduled to appear, but a schedule conflict prevented him doing so.

  30. casualfan Says:

    Taylor will be at The Roxy on March 18th. I’m going to that show so I hope that will be him and not Bill up there singing.

  31. casualfan Says:

    I hope he doesn’t either IC. Afterall, that’s Kelly Clarkson’s music and IMO, she’s the only one who can see it. 😉

  32. I’m not sure any of these songs could actually garner airplay, and I think that, as a fanbase, is something we need to come to grips with … No amount of calling, emailing or bugging radio stations is going to cause them to say…”Oh, ok. We didn’t know it was so wonderful. We’ll play it around the clock now.” It just doesn’t work like that.

    AMEN. I’d rather hear great MUSIC, than anything commercialized/fabricated for radio. I happen to like most of the selections on “The Distance”, but honestly, I’m much more interested in hearing them live. I think the real flavor in Mr. Hicks’ music is found onstage.

  33. 1. Mmmbop by Hanson
    2. Best of Both Worlds- Hannah Montana
    3. Best Day Ever- Spongebob
    4. She Bangs- Ricky Martin
    and 5. Can You Feel the Love Tonight- Elton John,.

    What? Don’t think he’d rock Hanson? HAHAHHAHAA!!

  34. hicksaholic Says:

    Although he will be at the Roxy on the 18th someone on another board said there would still be time to do AI too. I just hope Taylor is on an AI results show with plenty of pimping for WRIR. It may not be “the best Taylor has to offer” but it’s better than a lot of the crap that IS being played plus it would give America a chance to experience Taylor live again.

  35. Snowstorm Says:

    Releasing his cd the same day as Kelly Clarkson is a big mistake. I can see the jokes and put-downs coming from critics… “is Kelly Clarkson worried going up against Taylor Hicks cd”.

    When are you women going to realize… teenage girls dictate music trends.. the middle-age women have no say, whatsoever.

  36. Towanda! Right of Wrong, Queen Beyond Compare!
    LOL!

  37. spinshack Says:

    ahahaha, I’d go for “She Bangs”. Add to his Latin flave.

  38. I really wanted to go to that Roxy show, but it ain’t gonna happen. That’s an iconic (there’s that word again!) club on Sunset Blvd. I just have a feeling it’s going to be one of his best shows. There could be industry people there, dontcha think?

  39. Maybe…you never know.

  40. I guess nobody is as impressed with Foy Vance as I am. *sigh*

  41. I’m partial to the Spongebob cover, myself. hahahaha

  42. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Had never heard him until you posted his video. Think he is very talented, you can hear him bearing his soul like Taylor when he sings. Thanks for intfoducing him to me, played a couple of the vids for my son, he also said he is going to check him out.

    JI

  43. Yeah, JI…the only reason I found him was because he sings Indiscriminate Act of Kindness. Yet another artist Taylor has “introduced” to me. 😉

  44. casualfan Says:

    I think Daughtry also has a cd being released this spring. March is a big month for CD releases and tours. Kelly attracts a different type of audience than Mr. Hicks does, so I don’t see that as being a problem for him.

  45. Snowstorm Says:

    Of course it’s a problem for him sales wise. Kelly will sell thousands and thousands of cd’s and downloads the first week. Taylor will be lucky if he sells 5,000 units. Everybody seems to forget all the bad media Taylor has gotten, not to mention we are in a recession. People do not spend money when they don’t have a job and especially on someone like Taylor, who has not proven himself in the music world.

Leave a Reply

