He brought out the fangirl in me…

taylortucson21

I just watched Studio C. Wow. I have to admit, I’m going to give Taylor his props on this one. He was relaxed, personable, funny and serious when he needed to be…and spot on with his music. No goofy persona, no soul patrol nonsense. He sang a song I’ve never heard before called “Bus Back to Birmingham”. Really great song..and I’m wondering why it didn’t get a spot on The Distance. Next up was The Fall, which he did really well and Alabama Frame of Mind, where he speaks dirty french, or something like that.

Things I found out:

1. He gets nervous singing the National Anthem.
2. He misses his own mattress.
3. He said Simon was mean on AI, “kind of”.
4. He’s not quite where he wants to be with his guitar playing.
5. The harmonica is his favorite musical instrument.
6. Taylor’s two aunts were the first bluegrass group to appear on NPR.
7. He said, “If it weren’t for Grease, I wouldn’t be here.”

Really good mini-concert. Make sure and catch it this weekend. Soon it should be up in the on demand section.

Oh, and for those who didn’t catch it earlier…a little Bill Will sighting…

taylortucson3

54 Responses to “He brought out the fangirl in me…”

  1. I clicked on the link and got some cowboy nonsense. Sorry, I’m not feeling very patient! maybe Taylor comes on after it, I’ll have it to check it out in the morning. Sounds like a really good one.

  2. Studio C airs on the following days and times:

    Friday
    9:00pm Midnight

    Saturday
    8:30pm 11:30pm

    Sunday
    11:00pm

    Thursday
    2:00pm

    That’s Arizona time, though.

  3. I saw it.
    He killed me.
    And I died.

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, I will catch it when it runs hopefully tonight. Thanks for putting it up. Sounds like he was really on can’t wait to see it.

    YKW, Wow, I am getting really excited to see this, knocked you over!! šŸ™‚

    JI

  5. hahaha….Bill…….*giggles*

  6. “Really good mini-concert. Make sure and catch it this weekend. Soon it should be up in the on demand section.”

    Sorry. You were very clear about the fact that it wasn’t up yet. *sigh* I hate when people don’t read with comprehension. I hate me.

    haha! I’ll check out Taylor later. I’m looking forward to it.

  7. That song you never heard before…is it this one?

    http://tandjam.wordpress.com/2008/04/13/marc-harris-back-to-birmingham/

    And ‘dirty French’ ….mmMMMmm…

    I wish hadn’t missed this.

  8. Never mind…I see it was a different song.

  9. You can catch it tonight…It’s on at 8:30 and 11:30…but that’s Arizona time. I’m not sure where you’re at, so make sure you adjust. But try to catch this, it is sooo good!!

  10. It’s starting again now!!!

  11. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Thanks, just watched it, he sounded and looked great.

    JI

  12. Dayum. I haven’t seen him look that hot in a long time. And he sounded wonderful.

    NICE!!!

  13. I watched it and that guy Taylor Hicks is nice and real and hard working. He was hugging himself and some of his body language showed he was protecting himself from a complete reveal of his emotions and thoughts and even ideas. But we already knew that about him. I read on the BB that a relative of Julie Courtney, claims they have been emailing back and forth daily. Other than a Grease cast member, how can Tay have any female relationship, so perhaps it is true they are emailing. C. Lyders must have reached out and grabbed him and we know the results of that. Caryl said music is his mistress and it seems his music/career is still his main passion. But his 4 plus year girlfriend told people that news in the June, 2006 issue of People Magazine. Anyway he was in good voice and seemed sincere in the studio C thing and was nice to the children.

  14. What was interesting to me was how comfortable he was talking to those kids. He was very open with them. I thought his voice was incredible!

  15. Iag, I have noticed he always talks to kids like they matter to him, and have importance. Sometimes he goes out of his way to pay attention to kids who attended his Grease performances. Maybe the “good guy”, or smartest doesn’t always win the prize but in the end they can feel good about themselves and their efforts and the journey.

  16. taylorfan06 Says:

    Taylor is a good “soul”. He deserves the world.

  17. Snowstorm Says:

    If that’s true, she’ll soon be history. Taylor does not like people babbling about this personal life on the internet. Or this could be about publicity – isn’t she a wannabe singer?

  18. It’s about stretching 15 minutes into 20 minutes.

  19. Barnes and Noble have 28 second audio of the 11 songs on their site. I’m feeling up about this CD and the press he has been getting. The song ‘The Distance’, has been the one that has stuck with me the most, and since I’m pretty mainstream perhaps that should be a single.

  20. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, Got to hear the CD three times before it was taken down, I think it has some really good songs on it. I can see many of them making radio play. What struck me with the CD is that they really highlighted is vocals and range, he was clear and on pitch throughout. The songs all seemed to complment his voice and his comfort level in singing them.

    Well I hear he is flying in from Ariz after the afternoon show today for the R & K show tomorrow, we are bracing for a major snow storm here starting later today and into tomorrw, 18 plus inches possible. Not looking forward to that, hopefully he won’t get snowed in in NY and not make back for Grease on Tues.

    JI

  21. taylorfan06 Says:

    I Loved the acoustic concert. I would of been beside myself if I was in that room with Taylor. You know I’d have been up front and center! 4 more days until the Belly Up!!! OH, YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I really couldn’t get a read on the crowd though. The kids seemed into it from what I saw.

  22. I went on over to the Barnes & Noble site and read the credits. Do you suppose this is a mistake?:

    “Performance Credits
    Taylor Hicks: Primary Artist, Piano, Vocals”

    Piano?

  23. Surely there’s harmonica on the CD, right?

  24. Caryl, I think they mixed up Climie, the pianist with Tay on acoustical guitar. I did see him play the organ like a mad man at Ramshead in Balto in 2007. He was great on the organ!

  25. That kind of thing drives me nuts! I’m just being nitpicky. I actually proof my comments, that’s how nitpicky I am. (And I was surprised to see “nitpicky” in the dictionary!)

    Nitpicky! (I felt I didn’t use the word enough, we needed just one more.)

  26. JI, Poor Taylor and the snow and his tight schedule. If he has a 6pm flight from Arizona, he won’t get into NY until about 3AM NY time. I’ve done the dreadful coast to coast thing dozens of times to visit my son in CA and hate the 6 hr flight with a passion. I know it hard to get a flight straight thru. He may arrive in the midst of the heaviest snow. and barely have 2 hrs sleep before doing R&K. He shouldn’t have any problem getting back to CA for his 8pm Tues performance, because he gains 3 hrs CA time. Maybe no one will bother him and he can sleep on the plane tonight. Does B. Will schedule the flights? Hope there are no delays , since I read that Amazon Distance sales went way up after his date on R&K. Lots of women watch it and schools may be closed and some may miss work and be watching R&K. Some will want to buy the CD. The entire east coast is getting this snow, so I went and bought myself some munchies.

  27. Now, hold everything! Does he play harmonica on this puppy or not? I just listened to the snippets again and didn’t hear any. He must have played some harmonica on “Seven Mile Breakdown,” didn’t he? This is freakin’ me out, man. Someone’s gotta talk me down. The harmonica is part of his “brand”, like the gray hair.

    Harmonica!

  28. Why is he going on R&K again? Is he going to be the center square on their version of Hollywood Squares or something?

    (Why so many comments from me? My husband’s on his way home after being away for a few days. Gotta get in whatever’s on my mind before he walks in and demands all of my attention. Guess he kinda likes me or something.)

  29. taylorfan06 Says:

    rosie – you said “organ”. huh huh

  30. taylorfan06 Says:

    SO true, caryl. I only heard the harp on one song (not enough for me)
    AND no sax to be heard anywhere. Maybe LIVE. That will be my only salvation.

  31. taylorfan06 Says:

    speaking of snow… when does that storm blow in?

  32. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, He is on R & K tomorrow to perform WRIR, I’m thining maybe he will cancel. The storm is tracking and looks like we will get hit. right now there is an erie stillness in the air, so I don’t think the storm is far from us. They are already talking delays and possible shut downs at the airports. He may make it in, but might not make it out until Tues when the storm passes. I guess he has folks checking all this out and he will do what works best for him. In 94 we had a real bad one like this where NY & NJ govenor’s declared state of emerengies shut down airports and highways for 2 days. My hubby was on the road trying to get home when the police forced him to get off the highway and find shelter somewhere. Luckily he wasn’t far from his sisters and stayed the night there, he made it home the next day by taking all back roads a twenty minute ride took him 4 hours, but he made it.

    JI

  33. Did you hear the one about the burglar in the church? He got caught by the organ! haha

  34. Snowstorm Says:

    Snowstorms are fun! šŸ˜‰

  35. So is cabin fever!! LOL!

  36. Well, geez! Let’s hope Taylor’s smart about this.

  37. Glad you have those munchies on hand, Rosie! You’ll probably be needing them!! Hope he gets a free pillow on the plane, they limit those pretty strictly these days. šŸ˜¦

  38. Taylor Smart!! I bet Bill carries a scraper and shovel in that backpack during the winter.
    šŸ˜‰

  39. jerseyirish Says:

    They said the storm was supposed to start around 6 it is almost 7 and nothing has started yet. I’m hoping maybe it moved the little bit they said it might and will blow by us and Boston will get the brunt of it, not that I wish that kind of snow on anyone, I’ve had enough snow this winter I am more than ready for Spring. Friday it was 70 degrees here, now this.

    JI

  40. Yeah, I hate to say it, but I didn’t hear harp either. I know he’ll add it in a live setting, so I guess I’ll have to use my imaginary Taylor to play it when I listen to the CD.
    Heh. šŸ˜‰

  41. casualfan Says:

    Taylor does play keyboards Caryl. He’s not that great, but he does play. He has the gift of playing by “ear”.

  42. casualfan Says:

    Out of all his endearing qualities, his gift with children stands out with me more than anything. He has a genuine interest in kids and his eyes totally light up when he’s around them. I would really like to see him do more in the way of musical education with the young ones.

  43. Fairhope Says:

    Hope he doesn’t go thru Atlanta. My husband’s flight from Salt Lake City was one of the 300 cancelled today. He is rebooked for tomorrow.

  44. Hey, where’s soulaz? I’m afraid she may be bumming out because Taylor didn’t do a club date in Tucson.

    Soulaz! You OK?

  45. jerseyirish Says:

    Well if he made it in he may not make it out today. I am about an hour and a half outside of the city, woke up about 2:00am and it was blizzard like out, blinding snow and wind. This morning (6:00) we had about 9 inches and have just added almost two more and it is still coming down pretty good. Someone said they saw at the end of an R & K show last week a clip of Taylor singing WRIR so maybe they have a pre-recorded segment of it if he didn’t make into NY.

    JI

  46. jerseyirish Says:

    They just announced on R & K Taylor had to cancel couldn’t get out because of the weather, he will be rescheduled.

    JI

  47. Thanks for that, JI. I’m going in search of the CD stream.

  48. jerseyirish Says:

    YKW, If you find the stream let me know, would love to listen to it again. Yeah it is pretty bad out here, even though hubby shoveled I feel entombed can hardly open my front door the snow has piled back up.

    JI

  49. I’m alive and not too bummed out about Taylor and the lack of concert opportunity here . . . I’ve mainly been absent because I am in a play next week and I’ve had rehearsals just about every night after work. No need to worry about me. Thanks for asking though! Speaking of which, I have to head out for another rehearsal soon, dagnabit.

    I’m tired . . . šŸ˜›

  50. She’s alive!! She’s alive!!

    Come back when you have time, Soulaz!

  51. The video from Studio C is up in the on demand section. GAH!!

Leave a Reply

