Acoustic Taylor…this is what I’ve been missing..

taylortucson

Looks like Taylor made a little trip to Studio C in Tucson.

Here’s a little snippet of what to expect…

The video should be streaming over the weekend. Check out the website for times.

It says something about playback this morning, but I can’t get the stream to work for me.

89 Responses to “Acoustic Taylor…this is what I’ve been missing..”

  1. hicksaholic Says:

    Even the posters on The Boogie didn’t find any redeeming qualities in this snippet- a little too high and screechy. Hopefully the real version will be better.

  2. I actually really liked this snippet.

    Huh.

  3. taylorfan06 Says:

    I think that snippet is great but way too short. What song is that?
    That’s the “raw”. gritty sound I was looking for on the new CD.
    I would LOVE an acoustic Taylor CD. Maybe I’ll be getting some of that next week at the Belly Up. I hope so!

  4. That’s Seven Mile Breakdown. I love that song…and I love that he did it acoustically. I think maybe you and I were looking for the same kind of CD. šŸ˜‰

  5. Acoustic cd’s don’t sell.

  6. Neither do Taylor’s…hahahahhahahaha…just kidding…ish.

  7. jerseyirish Says:

    I still see the same raw gritty Taylor, just a little more polished for the recording studio. When he plays live there is nothing like him, don’t think you’ll ever see that Taylor on a CD unless it is a live show CD. I still hear the same passion and his love of music on the new CD, just a more marketable approach this time out.

    JI

  8. hicksaholic Says:

    Really? Y’all didn’t think that was too high and shreeky? I love Seven Mile Breakdown but I thought it was too high. Oh well maybe I wil change my opinion when I hear the whole thing.

  9. I really didn’t think it was that high and shreeky. I thought it sounded good, actually.

  10. He’s pitchy and off-key. Can’t you hear how he’s straining his voice?

  11. The bad fan in me can’t stop staring at that pic long enough to listen to the snippet.

    *goes back to staring*

  12. Eh.

    Personally, I think he might have sounded more strained on the CD with some songs.

  13. taylorfan06 Says:

    I hear ya! I love that Taylor – in the zone, with a guitar (and the harp brace).
    Now that’s my kind of nirvana!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. taylorfan06 Says:

    BAD iag! BAD iag! *slaps hand*

  15. taylorfan06 Says:

    Killjoy.

  16. taylorfan06 Says:

    That means you, snow.

  17. Ok, the harp brace kind of skives me out. And no, I don’t know why.

  18. LOVE everything about Taylor here, the acoustic guitar, the expression he has aka his soul on his sleeve, and the harp brace…smelling salts…hurry.
    THUD

  19. It looks like some kind of weird retainer.

  20. Can’t you come up with a real word other than “Thud”? It’s such a stupid made-up word. Invented by delusional Claymates. I really detest that shit. Taylor hates it too. I recall even his Grandmother spoke up and said how much he hated it. Get a clue, ladies.

  21. I think it’s GREAT that he has these opportunites to play acoustically. I’m sure there are a lot of people (even now) who didn’t realize that he plays guitar. One thing that can’t be deinied is that Grease is giving him the chance to “take his music to the people.”

  22. šŸ™„

    And I mean that with the utmost respect, Caryl. I just think Grease is ugh…like it somehow takes away from the real Taylor. It does get him out in the mix for sure, but I wish he could have thought of another way to do it. šŸ˜†

  23. (I’ve never thudded, btw. šŸ™‚ )

  24. That’s cool. For some reason I’m in a brightlite kinda mood. (No offense, brightlite!)

  25. Hello???? We are in a recession. Do you have any idea how much money you need to tour? If you’re not recouping the cost thru record sales, then you are fucked. Taylor is smart to do this. In the scheme of things, Grease is a small sacrifice. You have to look at the big picture.

  26. Hey!!! Watch who you’re calling a “lady”!!
    LOL!

  27. Good! Just say he’s a sexy animal and don’t use stupid words! We are not 13 year old girls, for God’s sake.

  28. well SNAP!

  29. OK, I guess I’ll call you an “it”.

  30. Wow, Snow. If only the world went your way…;)

  31. I’ve already made an influence. šŸ˜‰

  32. thud and onion – A perfect example of how a fan can kill someone’s career. People outside of this fanbase, pointed and laughed at you.

    If you think he’s sexy, just say it, dammit! Don’t use stupid made-up words!

  33. You can’t possibly believe that a fan can kill an artists career by using made up words, can you? Come on, Snow. Let’s not be over dramatic.

  34. Of course, I do. The SP and the Claymates killed careers.

  35. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, Totally agree with the recession he is making a lot of good choices, he is getting his voice heard in all types of settings. Don’t think that would be happening without Grease,it would be a financial strain for him to do what he is doing on Grease’s money. He is making it work for him.

    JI

  36. Arrow2Soul Says:

    THUD
    Swoooooooooooooooooooooon.
    Too bad I don’t listen to the voice of t-reason. Blasphemy I say. If I want to faint, swoon, or “thud” when I think of Taylor, by golly I will, and no one can do a darn thing about it. At least I AM a lady and don’t go around dropping the F-bomb like a truck driver. I DO have some dignity. I don’t throw THAT word around too often, at least not in public as it isn’t fitting for a decent woman to say. You may laugh but I teach my girls who are teens, and my students, who are also young ladies to talk decently. So SS you may take offense at my THUD, but touche’….I take offense at your CUSS. So it works both ways. You say what you like, and freedom of speech guarantees that I say what I like without fear of reprecussion. Please refrain from “correcting” me if you don’t mind, and I won’t correct you. Although your language IS more offensive, sorry to inform you, but I will in this case disregard that fact, and forgive you for your slip if the tongue.
    BL
    THUD!

  37. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Good caryl, I am in brightlie kinda mood too for some reason…whatever it means darling, let’s just be brightlites together shall we?
    (Caryl and A2S last seen holding hands…running through the breeze and catching butterflies with bare hands!)

  38. Oh, ok. I see. So, a group of fans can kill a career? It doesn’t have anything to do with the business choices of said artist?

    Snow, you just crack me up sometimes.

  39. taylorfan06 Says:

    A2S (BL) – You go, girl. We definitely need to “rise up”, as Taylor puts it. And you definitely have. Well said!

  40. Snow, let’s see if you can repost without calling names.

  41. Yes, they did. The SP scared off any normal fans that Taylor had in the beginning, They didn’t want to be associated with the crazy Soul Patrollers, so they left and probably won’t be back EVER.

  42. “Normal fans” as you like to refer to them, have probably never been on an internet site for Taylor Hicks and have no idea about the antics of the Soul Patrol. Let’s get some perspective.

  43. LOL! Weeee!!!

  44. taylorfan06 Says:

    I do have to say that I am really digging snow’s vibe on the new release including the video. I like the positivity she has sprouted.

    There is always a honesty in her posts but she can take it too far sometimes with her “dissecting” of Taylor. Others are guilty here as well. But I still love reading here.

    I like to appreciate the good of Taylor and what he’s about, I really love reading from Henry8.

    I’m not a huge fan of the new stuff on the initial listen, but now that they’re gone I REALLY want to listen to them again. I get the chance soon enough next Thursday at the Belly Up when I’ll be seeing THE MAN LIVE!!!! I’ll definitely have a report to bring back.

    Maybe I’ll see some of you there… I’ll be the one with the “GOT SOUL?” button on.

  45. Of course they were. Taylor had millions of fans in the beginning. Don’t you remember the AI boards? Taylor is the only Idol to have over a million posts. But slowly, but surely people came to realize what a silly, crazy and over-obsessed fanbase Taylor really had and they ALL dropped off like flies. Don’t tell me. I was there from the very beginning.

  46. Oh, Snow..you’re not the only one that’s been there from the beginning. Don’t forget, I was the biggest fan ever until it wasn’t cool anymore. Well, at least that’s what Badfantoo said. šŸ˜†

  47. It was only cool at the very beginning, until the fans made a joke of themselves and, of course, Taylor paid the price.

    a shrinking fanbase = shrinking $$$$$

  48. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    The whole reason that stuff started was because you couldn’t say certain words on the AI site, so they had to make up their own words (or steal them from Claymates apparently).

  49. So, Taylor has no responsibility for how his career turned out?

    *sigh*

    The Soul Patrol has consumed their first victim, and it’s their reason for being. Yes, friends, the Soul Patrol has consumed their own soul. Poor Taylor Hicks, the victim.

    /sarcasm

  50. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    LOL! I gotta applaud that one BL

  51. Of course he has responsibility, but the fans contributed greatly to his disintegratation.

    TMS anyone? Nuff said.

  52. So, the powers that be at AI are really the ones responsible for killing Taylor’s career. Just what I thought all along. šŸ˜‰

  53. Wow. I’m surprised Taylor’s still walking around. He certainly outlasted TMS. Huh.

  54. No one can convince me that the SP did not damage this man’s career, because they certainly did. This is the same fanbase as the Claymates. Where is Clay Aiken these days? Dropped from his record label and apparantly went back to reality TV. HA! You cannot win this argument.

  55. Oh, sadness for me.

  56. TMS was a trainwreck in the making.. all the signs were there. Never posted there, but it was fun to watch, lol!

    Who ran the fansite, um fans. Who posted on that fansite, um fans. Nuff said. THe silly fanfiction was the worst part. Anybody writes that shit, you need mental help, pronto.

  57. Snow, if you want to badmouth TMS, you’re going to need to find another place to do it. There are plenty of other places for that. This is not one of them.

  58. Well, just speaking the truth, there, iag.

    That fanfiction was not normal. You claim to be fans, but how disrespectul was that shit?

  59. I think you are on the wrong forum to make this statement, but I give you a B for balls šŸ˜‰

  60. Yeah, I’m not afraid to speak. Hopefully, some fans saw the error in their ways, but the damage has already been done, unfortunate for Taylor.

  61. I do agree that parts of Taylors fandom is responsible for his downward spiral. There’s been way to much hate between the factions and many lies about other posters being told. Anyone who is new to the fandom that see’s that behavior will turn away. Most of his real dedicated fans that really are about his music have fled. I don’t blame them.

  62. snowstorm loves to get us riled up! Another day, another fight.

    I don’t know if this has any relevance, but I HAVEN’T been here from the beginning. Nobody scared me off. I just avoid the sites that turn me off, but I’m still a TH fan.

  63. Uh oh, looks like a Bill sighting…I think.

    At least it looks like him.

  64. caryl, you are definitely the exception. But, it’s safe to say that many TH fans have moved on for whatever reasons.

  65. And really, how is that different from any other artist? Things slow down between releases and tours, and now that there’s an upcoming release, many of the fan sites are seeing a resurgence.

    Snow, you’re not saying anything new that hasn’t been said before.

  66. Arrow2Soul Says:

    Weeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!
    lol
    šŸ™‚
    Have a great night…off to work again!

  67. Did you know that Taylor says the F-bomb constantly? Aren’t you offended by that? Or, is Taylor so fine, that stuff like that does not apply to him? Or, is it because he’s a man?

    Edited by IAG

  68. Once again, Snow. How would you know that Taylor drops the f bomb “constantly’?

    Reeling out the bait, once again, I see.

  69. Yeah, I still cruise the fansites and it’s ALWAYS the same fans. What happened to those old posters of the past? They did not come back. The worst one is TOSP. It’s shocking how few people post there. It once was a site with lots of activity and now it’s all but dead. I keep waiting for the announcement that it’s closing.

  70. I would argue that many sites take their “success” too seriously. They become moderated to death and any dissenting opinion results in warnings and bannings. How many of the posters here have expressed relief in being able to come to a place where they can speak freely?

    It’s too much to expect that all fans (however that word is interpreted) will be 100% positive, 100% of the time. Add that to the general lessening of hype, and you have results like fewer posters on TOSP.

  71. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    LOL! šŸ˜€

  72. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    I went there one time. I started reading one of the “stories” out of curiosity. It made me want to vomit. I never went back.

  73. Arrow2Soul Says:

    What other people do is no concern of mine Snow, as I said I won’t correct you, nor would I correct Taylor. I seriously doubt that Taylor would drop the f-bomb around me, as he understands the notion of southern gentleman manners, so even if he does use the word, it most likely would not be used in my presence.
    A gentleman would no better is all I am saying. I slip sometimes, so I am not a saint, but I really dislike the use of it in everyday speech. It still is offensive to many people who are of decent upbringing if you ask me. Besides, it isn’t professional, and I am hoping to teach my children and students proper and professional ways of conducting themselves, for thier own benefit down the line.
    I am done with this.
    Have a nice night all. šŸ™‚
    THUD
    BL
    lol
    šŸ™‚

  74. omg, I’m laughing! I didn’t see him at first, but then, there he is , standing in the background with his arms crossed. Too funny.

  75. But I’ve also noticed blogs coming up in TH google alerts that I’ve never seen before. They aren’t fansites, they’re personal blogs, but many of them comment that they’re Taylor fans.

  76. I’m going to a charity event tonight where Chris Sligh is the entertainment. I don’t know anything about him. What do y’all think? Will I enjoy it? (Didn’t he call his fans the “Fro Patrol”?

  77. Yeah, I think he’s pretty good…and funny, from what I remember.

  78. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, I thought Chris was very good, had a good sense of humor and could laugh at himself, I think you will enjoy him.

    JI

  79. hicksaholic Says:

    Oh shit
    Now I gotta go find TMS and TOSP so I can better understand how Taylor’s fans screwed him over as far as his career goes.

    FWIW. I will agree, at least to a degree, that Taylor’s fans are all PERCEIVED to be washed up housewives. Actually that follows around a lot of the AI performers. Taylor being older probably has more than his share. But I like to hope that most of his older fanbase is there to enjoy the music and the live performances and are not out chasing the bus or staking out the hotel room. I am sure there are exceptions.

  80. Oh, good! I’m sitting here in my black dress pants and bra (TMI?), putting on my make up. If I get a photo with him, I’ll show y’all. Are you all a-twitter? Hey! If he has a sense of humor, maybe I can stand next to him with my back facing the camera. You guys won’t recognize me otherwise. (I know, I will beat a joke to death!)

  81. And many of them have closed memberships, meaning they only want their “own kind” in discussions. Seems awfully boring to me. *shrugs*

  82. Are you going to wear a shirt, Caryl? B/C he’d be a fool to pass you up in your current attire.
    šŸ˜‰

  83. Well, don’t look too hard for TMS. It’s gone like Camelot. šŸ˜€

  84. damn! I knew I forgot something. see ya!

  85. I’m baaaack! I know, that was quick. I had to leave early to pick up my son. Chris has a BEAUTIFUL voice and he’s very good at working the crowd. He made us stand up, he made us sing along, he made us clap. (I think a certain somebody could take a lesson, if ya know what I mean…)

    I made an ass of myself to get a picture. I told him I needed it for my blog. *slapping my forehead* I’m such a nerd. He was on a break and I had to leave, so someone asked him if he’d come out of the green room for a photo with me. Why? Why did I do that? I’m not even a fan of his. Well, maybe I am now. He was very good. I’m rambling. Better go.

    Did I kill this thread?

  86. Forget Bill sighting, this picture strikes me as being exactly what I think Taylor is about. He is in God’s country right now, and he could be doing alot of things with his time–and what is he doing? he is performing for kids, inspiring music in younger people, and working to spread his gifts as far and wide as he can. That is what I see in this picture.
    He makes me proud.
    I am so tired tonight, just got home. I have to get on to bed now.
    Good night.
    BL

  87. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, Glad you enjoyed Chris, he seems like a nice guy really down to earth and has a very nice voice.

    JI

  88. I thought I might see “Acoustic Chris” (trying to bring it back tot he topic!), but he had 2 other guys on guitar and a drummer. Plugged in. Loud. I keep wondering what my friend must have paid him to do this. It was a charity event. Maybe Chris performed for free? Nah, couldn’t be. He’d have to pay the other three guys, right? I’m gonna do a little bloggity-blog about it.

Leave a Reply

