Do you really like Otis Redding or are you just happy to see me?

A friend sent me this video, and I knew I just had to blog about it.

Oh the tags, I love the tags. This video is a good one for just that. Taylor starts off this segment with something he mumbles…and I’m pretty sure the next few lines come from “If you got Love” by Neil Young. After that he flows into “I Love you More than I can Say” by Otis Redding.

The next part Taylor sings about going down to New Orleans. Oh, he’s going to see Dr John.

Then, of course:

Oh, the harp…oh yes. “You Send Me” is up next…

Here’s Taylor’s version…

Taylor also throws in there a line from “Touch the Hem of His Garment”, a gospel song sung by Sam Cooke. He ends this fantastic “concert within a concert” with some lines by Van Morrison.

I would love to be inside his head while he’s tagging all of these different songs..they are from different time periods, different styles. What a talent he has for bringing it all together. Very cool.

13 Responses to “Do you really like Otis Redding or are you just happy to see me?”

  1. I was a fan of The Maze on the TH CD…but hugely so as he added the plethora of tags onstage….it just fascinated me that he added the “hem of his garment” to the tags when I saw this. And the harp was melt in your mouth good….yowza.Thank you, also for the great originals.
    You make it hard for me to get my work done. Speaking of that….
    Yes, I do beleive he was quite happy to be performing that day. lololol!
    Oh, that Taylor Hicks LOVES his music.

  2. I was wondering if anybody else caught on to that. 😆 He was pretty damn happy. 😉

  3. When Mr. Hicks is happy, I’m happy!!
    How I love it when he’s happy.

    I suddenly want to leave work early. Hmmmmm.

  4. Music really is his mistress.

  5. hahahhahhahahaah!!

  6. Is everybody feeling a little burned out (like me)? Is that why there are so few comments?

  7. jerseyirish Says:

    iiag, Great video, he does it all with such ease. Yes he seemed very happy, music and the man they go together.

    JI

  8. So is that the infamous package?

  9. Package? I was listening to the tags.

    What?

  10. I feel a song coming on: “I got a package full of tags.”

    (I don’t even know what that means, but it makes me laugh!)

  11. “Tag! You’re my package!”

  12. Taylor wear shorter shirts or tucked in tees….

  13. Taylor…can I have some of what’s in your package?

Leave a Reply

