Best of The Grammys

Watching the Grammys this year was pretty interesting. It definitely had a throwback kind of vibe to it. There was a lot of blues and jazz…which isn’t really typical for the show. There was also a fair amount of melding of the genres, where artists from different genres come together and just sing, which is kind of typical, but cool nonetheless.

Coldplay and Jay Z

I love Coldplay and I love Viva la Vida. Nice.

Stevie Wonder and the Jonas Brothers

Yep, one of those Jonas brothers forgot the words. Oh well. Stevie is still awesome.

Sugarland and Adele

Stay is my favorite song from Sugarland…and Adele? She is incredible. She has a hell of a voice. I did a post about her not too long ago. I love her look…I love that she’s not 100 pounds and she just seems real. So glad she got the grammy. Good for her.

Paul McCartney with Dave Grohl

Damn, he’s still got it.

The Four Tops, Jamie Foxx and Ne-Yo

Well, two of the Four Tops anyway.

Al Green w/Justin Timberlake, Keith Urban and Boys II Men

Tell me, what was your favorite performance?

37 Responses to “Best of The Grammys”

  1. I loved Paul — he’s can teach those young whippersnappers a thing or two, no? He has such exuberance on stage; you can tell it’s still fun for him and even though he’s sung “I Saw Her Standing There” a million times before, he still belts it out as if he’s back on Ed Sullivan. He understands his audience…

    Worst performance — Katy Perry. A bunch of fruit, a retro costume (with more fruit), and a descending banana does not equal entertainment. I’m not sure how the fruit related to the song anyway, but then again, maybe I’m too old to get it (even though I admit I kind of dig the song).

  2. Um, that should be HE can teach, not he’s can teach. Damn, it’s too early for me.

  3. spinshack Says:

    I love the quality of Chris Martin’s voice. That duo with Jay Z was actually very cool. That percussionist with Coldplay is just The Stuff. I have to say that one is my favorite video.

    Jonas Bros with Stevie were bringing on being grown up – they did alright.

    Love the Four Top gig, Jamie Foxx (from Dallas, you know) is a definite triple threat! He can act, sing and he’s funny as hell. Really enjoyed that bit too.

    Adele has a great voice, haven’t followed her at all so will check out more about her.

    Paul and Dave are showing no longer available, I’ll have to check it out – I love me some Dave Grohl. Here’s a concert video of them doing “I Saw Her Standing”

    Last vid was good for that throw back insertion; just not a big Timberlake fan.

    We did not watch the awards, we had something else going on last night. Thanks for bringing the vids up.

  4. I missed The Grammies, so thanks for this. I’m going to comment as I listen:

    Ah..Coldplay. love ’em.

    Ha! Stevie and The Jonas Bros works, surprisingly. Those boys supposedly wear virgin bracelets, don’t they? Maybe that’s what Taylor’s mysterious bracelet was. (haha)

    I’m not very familiar with country music but that Sugarland-lady has a hell of a voice. (Don’t you love me for not being afraid to show my stupidity? ha)

    I just read something about Adele. She never expected to make it as a performer, she planned to work at a label helping other people get their music out there. That would have been a waste, she’s phenomenal.

    OMG, hearing Paul McCartney sing “When I Saw Her Standing There” takes me back to my big sisters spinning records in their room and my Dad telling us that all those rock n roll musicians were “on the marijuana.” Me? I was listening to the Monkees down the hall.

    Shoot, gotta go. I was really enjoying this. It seems I never catch The Grammies, do they throw musicians from different genres together often? You implied that in your post. Well, they should. They have all that talent together on the same night, it’s a unigue opportunity to make some magic.

  5. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    U2 opening was great! Bono rocked the house! For me the best performance was McCartney (how does he manage to look so young?) but I also enjoyed Cold Play, Radiohead (the dude blew me away), the whole 4 Tops performance, Sugarland and Adele was great! And even Kidrock’s performance turned out much much better than I thought it would be. I must say the Grammys were pretty good this year.

  6. spinshack Says:

    Here’s Grohl with an Elton cover. While choming gum hahaha! “Tiny Dancer” He is SO hot on so many levels. Fangurl, out.

  7. RRS, I was thinking the same thing about McCartney. He has the same haircut now that he did when they made the big splash in the States, albeit a tad bit thinner…but still cool!!

  8. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    I loved the crack about Coldplay recycling the Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band outfits! πŸ™‚

  9. Snowstorm Says:

    The Grammy’s were awesome this year. Great mix of old and new. Loved U2, Coldplay, Sir Paul, Kenye, Lil Wayne, etc. rapping with MIA, Robert Plant and Allison Krauss, Adele – all excellent!

    I’m so happy that Robert Plant & Allison Krauss won for ‘Raising Sand’. I have that album and it’s excellent…I highly recommend it. Also Coldplay’s ‘Viva La Vida’…excellent cd!

  10. spinshack Says:

    I have the Coldplay CD, Snow, it’s a solid work from start to finish.

    Here’s a cool song from Plant and Kraus. I’ve got to get that CD today.

  11. There was a really good interview with Chris Martin last night.

    http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=4784037n

    “We rely on enthusiasm more than skill. Do it with enthusiasm and people will like it more.”

    He says he can’t write like Elton John, but I beg to differ.

    And how interesting that he watches the exits to see how he’s doing during a concert…the silhouette factor. Wow.

  12. Snowstorm Says:

    Forgot to mention.. also loved Lill Wayne and Robin Thicke performance! Wow, who would have thought those two would go together, but it worked!

    Spin, Raising Sand is excellent and so deserved to win! Both voices so haunting and great songs..amazing work!

  13. Already working on the next album…while still on tour.

    The thing that’s interesting is that he’s so fidgety…like some gray haired guy we all like.

  14. IAG, Thanks for posting these! I was only able to watch certain parts of the Grammy’s last night. We had an unfortunate mishap with the Tivo. I have to say that of the ones you posted, I loved Coldplay’s performance the most. I also loved John Mayer, Buddy Guy, BB King and Keith Urban’s collaboration. That was pure awesome. πŸ™‚

  15. He’s (Martin) absolutely adorable in that interview. Such a brilliant mind. You can just imagine those wheels and cogs turning continuously in his head. I’m a rabid note taker understand where he’s at. Should see this desk I’m parked at right now. Needs paint too. hahaha

  16. jerseyirish Says:

    Didn’t get to see the Grammy’s last night, thanks for all the great recaps and video’s.

    JI

  17. hicksaholic Says:

    Loved most of the ones already mentioned. I was not very impressed with The Jonas Brothers but a lot more impressed with them than Miley Cyrus and Taylor Swift. I just don’t see what anyone sees in either of them as far as singers go. I thought Stevie Wonder sounded as good as he ever has. Paul McCartney is good but to me he has definitely dropped from his younger days. I love that Coldplay song(La Vida or whatever). I couldn’t help thinking I wish Taylor was there and being recognized but it is not to be at least not at this point.

  18. What would Taylor be recognized for at the Grammys? As fans, I guess we could tag a TBD on that but let’s wait and see what he’s got coming in this new CD.

  19. Voice wise my top pick is Adele. Loved Stevie Wonder-not the Jonus bros. I also enjoyed radiohead, Coldpay and Sir Paul. All the fruit could be suggestive of that old word used to tag gay people.

  20. What fruit, rosie, am I missing something?

  21. Hey CJ, thanks for posting…

    Yeah, I loved that one too..with Buddy Guy and John Mayer. In fact, I looked for it this morning on YouTube, but couldn’t find it.

  22. Oh, spin, she’s talking about Katy Perry’s performance of “I kissed a girl”…she came down and popped out of a banana..which totally reminded me of somebody…hmmm..:lol:

  23. Adele’s voice is one that makes me feel comfortable. Does that even make any sense to anybody? When I hear her, I can automatically relax. Ray LaMontagne does the same thing to me. Not really sure why.

  24. Yeah, I agree, IAG… Adele has a very soothing voice, as does Allison Krauss…God, she’s amazing. James Morrison is also a real gem, although he’s not caught on that well in the states. How good is this song???

  25. hicksaholic Says:

    I loved Adele too. Although the female half of Sugarland is great when she sang with Adele I thought Adele blew her away.

    The first thing i thought of when I saw Katy Perry’s banana was Taylor’s ice cream cone, too. LOL

    Spin, I never thought Taylor would or should be recognized for a Grammy but I see people at those events that are very popular but don’t have a whole lot of talent IMO. I guess I think Taylor is more talented than some of people up there. Maybe one day(although I will admit highly unlikely) he will put out music that is both good enough critically and popular enough to at least be invited to the Grammy’s

  26. Appearance-wise, Morrison could be Martins’ brother. Great tune, Doc, he’s got such a nice voice, talk about a throw-back kind of sound.

  27. Wow..I’m digging James Morrison.

    It seems like songs like this don’t really catch on over here, and it’s too bad, because it could pave the way for Taylor to have a little bit more critical success. Just like Adele.

    He really does look like Chris Martin, doesn’t he?

  28. jerseyirish Says:

    When I first looked thought is was Chris Martin also. Guess I missed a pretty good Grammy show. Maybe Taylor will be recognized later, with CD not released yet I wouldn’t think he would get any mention.

    JI

  29. No offense to anybody, but he’s gotta do something before he gets a mention at the grammys.

  30. Yeah, I couldn’t find the video either.. sadness.

    Oh, and James Morrison is amazing. IAG, if you still have that link for my mediafire account, I believe I have some of his stuff in there.

  31. Ooohhh, really??

    I’ll have to look for the link. πŸ˜‰

  32. Saw only briefly last night.
    Jennifer Nettles (sugarland) tops my list of female vocalists right now.
    She is amazing.
    Surprisingly, I did not get ill when watching JT sing with Al Green.
    He should sing more of that genre…suits him. Thanks for the vids.

  33. The best performances were T.I. and Lil Wayne. Is is weird that I like Taylor Hicks and Rap?

  34. No, felicia, I don’t think it’s weird. I think you just have varied tastes. But the question really is…do you like Taylor Hicks rapping?

  35. Ha ha, I enjoy anything Taylor does, but I definitely wouldn’t recommend any kind of rap album. One Joaquin Phoenix is enough for now. πŸ™‚

    P.S. I really enjoy your blog.

  36. Thanks, Felicia.

    Having heard Taylor rap, I think he should probably stick to blue eyed soul. πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

