I love the smell of cougars and napalm in the morning…

homecoming_20061104163621-1

Random observations while watching this interview:

1. At 25 seconds in: “Me and my elderly aunt loved you!!”
What the hell? Is that supposed to make him feel good?
Taylor: “I love that!!” Yeah, right. Sure you do.

2. The background music is really annoying. Yes, I know it’s Taylor, but I don’t care.

3. How many times can the word “exciting” be used in one interview?

4. Way to research at 39 seconds in..”He sang the beauty school droupout, right?” πŸ™„

5. At 1:53, Taylor says that he’s “planning on doing something with the show this season.” We’ve heard this before, so hopefully it will come to fruition.

6. Taylor says he’s spent a lot of time writing with people from Nashville. I guess we’re never going to be able to hear those songs that he has written, though. Looks like the album is mostly covers.

7. At 2:43, my favorite part of a Taylor Hicks interview…the “Now, are you still single?” question, along with the obligatory “Yes, and looking.” By the way, check out Bill Will sitting behind Taylor.

8. I don’t think Taylor knows what a “cougar” is. πŸ˜† Did you see that look on his face? I don’t think he could even begin to fathom why mountain lions were chasing him.

9. I can’t even begin to tell you how happy it makes me that he refers to his last album as “my Idol album.” At least, by acknowledging that, he doesn’t have to shoulder all the blame for it.

10. Why, oh why, the Soul Patrol shoutout??? Why??

So, I hear he’s touring Grease until the end of the year. Not surprised, just more disappointed. I was hoping this Grease thing would just be a passing fad for him. Interesting how what started out as a three month gig has parlayed into an 18 month assignment.

182 Responses to “I love the smell of cougars and napalm in the morning…”

  1. Ha ha…funny headline, IAG. πŸ˜‰

  2. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, The video kept stopping then starting but got the gist of it. I thought he did good, the usual questions, don’t think they will ever go away, just standard. He always skirts the single question can’t blame him for that. I think he knows what cougars are, but like you said he doesn’t have know how widespread it is. Did see Bill in the background.

    JI

  3. Snowstorm Says:

    I’ll cut Taylor some slack here. He’s actually lucky he has any fans at this point, considering how much he has fallen. I think he’s got a lot of fans, like me, who are barely hanging on..still hoping I’m going to get blown away by him.

    Granted, middle age groupies who follow you wherever you go is something a 32 year old singer does not want, at least they are funding his career. I still say most of these women want to get with him.. I kinda doubt they are in it ONLY for the music, but that’s just my opinion. OK, let the stoning begin.. I got my shield ready, lol!

  4. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think Spin might be the only one here who said she was ONLY about the music…that looking at him didn’t really do anything for her.

    Personally, I think she’s crazy…:lol:

    πŸ˜‰

  5. Snowstorm Says:

    iag, I’m also all about the music. Sure, I think Taylor is a handsome dude.. not that alone does NOT hold my interest…there has to be something more than that.

  6. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    Poor baby. Now he’s got mountain lions chasing him too. LOL!

  7. Call me crazy, too, then. I don’t want to get with him. I already have one pain-in-the-ass man in my life. I keep this to myself because I know it will make people mad (OK, I guess you drew it out of me) but the weight thing is a turn-off for me. His face can be a killer sometimes, but then his personality gets in the way. LOL!

    I’m sure Taylor knows what a cougar is. He’s pretty good at keeping a straight face when he’s not sure how to react. And I agree, the music in the background was annoying.

  8. Well, yeah, Snow, there needs to be something more than that. But what is that exactly? The lure of his old music…just waiting to be rekindled? Or is it the new stuff? Whatcha waiting on?? πŸ˜†

  9. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, I’m with you, I’ll keep my hubby over anyone. Made my choice many years ago and have never regretted it. Would never give up what I have, yeah we have our moments but in the end we always work it out. I just think Taylor is a package deal he’s got the looks, talent and charms all rolled into one. Not following him because I would want to be with him, just enjoy watching/hearing what he is doing.

    JI

  10. I just want good music and songs I can connect with that touch my heart and soul. He’s a decent singer, but I don’t buy music based on someone’s voice. I’m not big on a cd full of obscure cover songs, if that’s the case, but I’ll be fair and reserve judgement when I hear it. If I only end up liking just a few songs, then it will make sense to only download the songs I like.

  11. Spin and I have actually talked about this a little. I got what I want from him at Martyr’s. It’s the same old thing we’ve always said: it’s all about the live show. You can’t take your eyes off of him when he’s on stage and he’s so good at assembling a band that the music gets inside you, swirling around in your chest. The feeling stays with you for days. I don’t know why. I don’t care why. Woman’s got to have it.

    *smoking a cigarette*

  12. HAHAHAA Caryl!! Yeah, I agree with you about the live performances. He is amazing on stage, especially when he’s really into the music.

  13. ji, don’t take this the wrong way, but in reading your post… you are a fan of a celebrity, not a musician. You would be happy with anything Taylor does. I think Taylor has a lot of fans like you and there’s nothing wrong with that. I think at this point, Taylor doesn’t care what kind of fan you are, as long you support him and spend money.

    I also wonder why so many married women like Taylor. Is it just escape and fantasy from a domestic existence? What do your husbands think about this or do they even know you spend all this time on the internet obsessing about Taylor Hicks? What if the tables were turned and your husbands started obsessing about some hot, sexy singer? How would you feel about that? I’m not being mean to you, btw.. I’m just really curious.

  14. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, I totally enjoy his music that is what caught me first was his voice just the raw talent. Yes my husband knows I enjoy Taylor and talk on blogs with other fans, he has no problem with it, becasue it doesn’t effect us or our marriage in any way. This whole Taylor thing came about during a rough time for me it was an outlet, hubby had cancer and I found the online world of Taylor and just enjoy following what he is doing. I also have an advatage I work full time at home, during transmissions while I am waiting for prints I just go around and check the sites, thats why i am around alot.

    I am not offended by what you say, I am a fan and thats it.

    JI

  15. But, would you be bothered if your husband suddenly had a thing for a hot female singer?

  16. taylorfan06 Says:

    ss, it sounds to me like you have trust issues.

  17. I’m not married, but if I was and my husband was obsessed by some hot, sexy singer, not only would I be bothered by that, I would put an end to that. Don’t get me wrong, it’s normal to be a fan and like performers and actors, but once you go overboard, then there’s something very, very wrong.

  18. The thing is, SS, that I bet everybody has a different definition of going “overboard”, ya know?

  19. I already said I don’t want to get with Taylor, so I have nothing to say about that snow.

    My husband does get pissed about me being online so much, but that’s another issue. Don’t get me started!

  20. Ha ahha! So Caryl could you call him ‘Pauncho’ ?

    I’m not obsessed so much with the physical of someone, period. Back before my DarlingMan, friends use comment they never knew what I’d be dragging around, concerning love interests… I have always had a thing for musicians and artists, that’s been the consistent point.

    That interview was pretty good, love your Bill Will reference. ha. He’s always there isn’t he? I actually missed him when I watched it. I’ll go look again.

  21. taylorfan06 Says:

    I enjoy hearing Taylor’s voice on any song he records. Period. I love the emotion and the soul. Plus he is easy on the eyes.

    I find myself enjoying songs performed live better when I’m familiar with the song. That’s why I have no problem in buying Taylor’s new CD, or any artists CD that haven proven to have good track record with song selection, cover or not.

    James Taylor has a huge track record of doing covers, yet he is one of my all time favorites, ditto for Linda Ronstadt. It’s what is done with the song that matters. I put “Taylor” Hicks in their company, cover-wise of making a song their own (many times better, i.e., Tighten Up, Dance To The Music, Badge, etc., etc.)

    Taylor sang all covers on AI, and I loved all his song choices. I also loved all his originals on IYT and UTR. He knows how to sell a song. The performance of “You Send Me” on AI was amazing, and so was TITTS, Trouble, and so on. Taylor’s stage presence (and good looks) can’t be denied.

    Familiarity of music performed live, by any artist, is always more enjoyable. I don’t think Taylor will be letting us down with his song choices on “The Distance”, whether their covers or not. The man has shown to be “magic” on stage.

    Even songs, like “The Runaround”, that many people dismiss, is a show stopper when performed live. My point is that if you do decide to buy the whole CD, Taylor may change your mind about a song you feel is “just ok” after seeing him perform it live.

    I am curious though, since he performed all the songs from “TH” on his tour (except PIB, a personal favorite), and they were all received well, from what I saw, which songs from that CD are the ones that are so bad?
    I love them all myself, but that “idol cd” always seems to get slammed.
    Which songs should no longer be performed live by Taylor? Again, just curious.

  22. tf06, regarding tunes I really don’t care for on that Idol CD, “Dream Myself Awake” was one, also that disco sounding one. ( name escapes me at the moment)

  23. Oh, I think we all know what going “overboard” means. I would disagree with that.

  24. I don’t listen to it anymore, but I have the cd in front of me. I liked Dream Myself Awake, The Deal and I thought Places I’ve Been is a very pretty song.

  25. taylorfan06 Says:

    To be honest, those are probably my 2 least favorites from Taylor, but to see “Give Me Tonight”, performed on “Whomp At The Warfield” you may change your mind. I did actually. Brian Gallagher had a great sax solo on the song. That’s my point, that Taylor can sometime improve a song when performed live.

    I can’t wait for everyone to finally see WATW when it’s released in March. And I can’t wait to own my own physical copy. It’s a must buy! Trust me. AMAZING CONCERT!!! I recorded it from HDNet on 10/07/07 (Tay’s BD). Seen it too many times to count.

    Regarding DMA, I don’t care for Rob Thomas much (he wrote the song). That’s my least favorite Tay song. I do like the line “I can’t get enough of you baby”, though. Kind of ironic, don’t you think?

  26. taylorfan06 Says:

    It would appear though if there were only 2 songs that you didn’t care for, it was a good investment anyway.

  27. I LOVE Dream Myself Awake. The part where his voice gets quiet and sort of yearning. wow, it hurts my heart. I’m surprised you don’t like it, spin, but music is subjective.

    And YES, why didn’t he perform Places I’ve Been on tour?

  28. And, btw, I’m trying very hard to get some work done online, but you all are too interesting.

  29. I won’t be buying the DVD. The one concert I attended – I didn’t really care for the majority of the songs on the cd. It’ll just be a waste of money.

  30. taylorfan06 Says:

    SS, were you near the front of the stage at WATW? Maybe I can find you in the crowd. I could make the sacrifice and watch it again.

    The more I watch it, the BETTER it got. Think about giving it a chance. I would love to see a concert on DVD that I was at. Money well spent!

  31. I am not ashamed of the fact that I think Taylor Hicks is gorgeous. I very much enjoy looking at pictures and videos and all that. I mean, RHS is one of my favorite places. Am I older than him? Yes. Do I consider myself a creepy cougar? Hell no.

    I don’t think I’m gonna “get with him” nor would I ever try to get with him, or one of his associates, to get close to him.

    I love his music and stage performances first and foremost, but I still think he’s cute as hell. So shoot me . . .

    I met him back in 2007, and had a short conversation with him about Van Morrison’s celtic music and The Chieftains. It was cooler than cool, and was in response to his telling me that the spelling of my name was pretty. When I told him I had been named after a Scottish folk tune, he shockingly knew the song I was talking about and it went from there.

    My point is this . . . you can love the music and think he’s hot, and still maintain your dignity and not act like a fool around him. I did, and so therefore, I am not a cougar.

    Well, I did kind of walk around in a haze for a little while, purring, “He said my name was pretty.” Yes, I purred. But it was not a cougar purr.

  32. AHHAHAH Soulaz!!

    TF06, I agree with you on Whomp at the Warfield. I saw that a few months ago and loved it. It is a very good representation of how he is on stage. He makes every song on that cd better when he does it live.

    I never understood why he didn’t release The Right Place as a single. I thought that was probably closest to his style.

  33. “soulaz” IS a beautiful name. πŸ˜‰

  34. taylorfan06 Says:

    TOTALLY agree, iag!

  35. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, Not at all, if he liked someone’s music as I like Taylor’s no I wouldn’t have a problem with it. I’d probably tease him the way he teases me. Its all good SS we have a great relationship and marriage. He is in local politics and in his position he gets lots of calls/meetings with both men and women, I don’t feel threatened by all these folks around him, I am very secure in our relationship as he is with me.

    JI

  36. I’ve never watched WATW and to be honest, I don’t have any interest in watching it. Unlike most of you, I’m really am about the music.

  37. taylorfan06 Says:

    Love your post, soulaz. Very fitting, very cool “soul”az. Always identify with your thought. I was also lucky enough to meet/talk with him in ’07.

  38. taylorfan06 Says:

    WATW IS SO “ABOUT THE MUSIC”. Get real. Were you really there?

  39. Snowstorm Says:

    ji, I’m not talking about liking someone’s music. I’m talking about my significant other being so obsessed by this person, that they spend all their time on the internet. That would actually be fine with you? That would not bother you?

  40. Snowstorm Says:

    Listen, I am about the music. Taylor is a good performer, but that is secondary to me. Give me GOOD music, dammit, then I’ll come see your show!

  41. bamahotpocket Says:

    WATW might be all about the music but the editing sucks. They pan the audience and show empty seats.

    Soulaz your story is way cool!

    The marriage thing.. let’s see.. guess the whole trust thing and what’s deemed overboard would depend on the couple themselves. Fantasy is healthy for marriages. It’s a lil thing call maturity. Comes with age..

    πŸ˜‰

  42. snowstorm says: “Unlike most of you, I really am about the music.”

    Unlike most of you? Where do you get that from? Grr!! Are you reading our comments? (why do I let you get to me?)

  43. Let’s speculate here . . . so imagine, if you will.

    Taylor Hicks comes out with the new CD and gains that awesome audience that he so needs. Young women, really young women. Women who need fake IDs to buy a beer. Women who haven’t had their 1st high school reunion yet. Women who still put stuffed animals on their bed when they make it in the morning. You know . . . cool women.

    Let’s further speculate that those really totally cool, young women want to “get with” Taylor. Well hell, what’s a man to do? He tosses “Binky the Stuffed Panda” off that twin bed and goes to town, right?

    What is Taylor at that point? What is little Cyndi Lou? I think they deserve animal names too, don’t you think? We could go for the obvious and call Taylor a “Dog.” But what about poor Cyndi Lou? What does she get to be?

  44. taylorfan06 Says:

    WATW RULES! Who has info on the cover art, the extras, and is the release date of 3/17 confirmed? I would love everyone to see it! (I’m actually watching it right now). All are welcome. Come on over.

  45. Snowstorm Says:

    LOL, I do read your comments and the first thing you all list is how gorgeous he is.

  46. Oh, and thanks for enjoying my little meet and greet story . . . it honestly was a very nice thing for me.

    Back to the music, since that is what I love most of all. I totally understand how people who were there love WATW even more, because it brings them back to that place in their lives. I feel the same way about the Workplay CD. Not so much about the DVD, because it didn’t have enough concert footage to suit my taste.

    It does feel really special to listen to the music and remember the look of the crowd, and the way you felt at that moment.

    I totally agree that The Right Place would have been a far superior single. I loved that song from the first listen, and I still do. And I would be happy as a clam if he never sang JTFTW again in concert. I don’t hate the song. I just think he doesn’t perform it well live.

  47. bamahotpocket Says:

    Why does objectification of Taylor bother you so much Snowstorm?

    Soul music is as much about the artist being sexy and making women swoon as it is about the music itself. Perhaps you really don’t “get” Taylor.

  48. Snowstorm Says:

    What are you smoking, Soulaz?

  49. 10. Why, oh why, the Soul Patrol shoutout??? Why??

    I shared that radio interview with some friends last night. The effect:

    Some cute/nice comments. No biggie. He didn’t do anything to hurt my slowly rising interest. Until… his very. Last. Comment. And you know what that was. Now…I’m like, what was I thinking? He’s not changing shit.

    Interest: killed.

    The guy really needs to get this through his head. Every single time the words “Soul Patrol” pass his lips, he repels the market he’s trying to reach. He becomes again an AI contestant, and a piece of pop-meat.

  50. hicksaholic Says:

    Entertaining conversation.

  51. True: I found it interesting that when he signed my Grease paybill he also wrote “Soul Patrol” on it.

    soulaz: LOL! I sent you an e-mail, btw.

  52. caryl – Yeah, he’s ruined a lot of perfectly good memorabilia that way.

  53. Marlboro’s, SS . . .

  54. Snowstorm Says:

    bama, I don’t think you can have one without the other. I need the full equation.

    Outstanding Music + Your Sexy Good Looks = NOW YOU GOT! I’M YOURS!

  55. taylorfan06 Says:

    I agree. The SP shout needs to stop. Who wants to him?

  56. taylorfan06 Says:

    I meant, “who wants to tell him?”.

  57. Snowstorm Says:

    Please stop with the SP shout outs! Nobody cares about them anymore! Gimmicks do not work.. only GOOD music works!

  58. Interest: killed.

    The guy really needs to get this through his head. Every single time the words β€œSoul Patrol” pass his lips, he repels the market he’s trying to reach. He becomes again an AI contestant, and a piece of pop-meat.

    AMEN!! I am so over that whole thing. He needs to realize that AI is over and get to making real music.

  59. He’s gorgeous. So are many men….you can enjoy the looks, (And I do!) but it’s the music/voice that makes me wait…and wait…I missed all the music leaks…haven’t heard anything yet. I’m going to buy the CD and hope for the best. I really like Taylor on stage… he does not translate nearly as well to CD. I don’t know the real Taylor.. don’t really care..LOL, I think a lot of AI fans still think he’s the guy he represented on AI…I think he did what he had to to win. Sadly he seems to be saddled with Soul Patrol shouts and can’t quite shake it. Maybe afraid the $$$$ will dry up without the “soul patrol”. That’s sad…take a chance Taylor…go for it.

  60. taylorfan06 Says:

    We all know the GOOD (GREAT) music is there. The stage presence IS there. The entertainment IS there. The SP shout DON’T need to be there.
    It was ok on IA, but not NOW! I’m actually agreeing with SS. (or did she agree with me???).

  61. taylorfan06 Says:

    I forgot to mention THE VOICE is there! The looks go without saying. So obvious!

  62. taylorfan06 Says:

    Good call caro.

  63. taylorfan06 Says:

    I’m happy to have the cds there when I can’t see him live. Definitely, the next best thing. The tunes are good both ways (live preferred). And yes, JTFTW is more enjoyable on CD than live. But he did actually pull it together on the second half of the song (WATW). I’ll take it either way. He does always “sell” it. That’s what keeps me a fan. I wouldn’t be here otherwise. Love reading the posts here on our guy.

  64. taylorfan06 Says:

    Where did everybody go?

  65. Oh, I’m around.

    I definitely prefer listening to mp3’s from concerts than from his cd’s.

  66. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    Oh, I just wanted to say that the weight is a turn on for me *sticks tongue out at Caryl good naturedly*

  67. taylorfan06 Says:

    Have any to share, aig?

  68. I’m trying to get some stupid, no-fun work done, that’s where I am! 😦

    I haven’t seen WATW, so I can’t comment on that. I’m not preying on any young guys, so I can’t comment on the cougar thing. Mostly I’m just wondering at what point in the Grease tour Taylor’s going to snap and start shotting up the theater.

  69. RedRoseSpeedway: LOL!

  70. bamahotpocket Says:

    Taylor go postal from the cone.. now that’s an interesting thought caryl.

  71. I cannot believe he has extended his grease thing….oh, ya I can. Sigh.

  72. AHHAHAAH Caryl!!

    Watch it…the Soul Patrol will be after you in no time! πŸ˜‰

    I’ll have to share some in a post soon, tf06…wonder if I’ll get bashed for that. πŸ™„

    The Grease thing makes my tummy hurt.

  73. And RedRoseSpeedway, I like Taylor a little pudgy myself. πŸ˜‰

  74. I don’t think I’d be so “taken” with Taylor without all the internet ‘FUEL’ to feed my interest. The fans have provided a huge pile of gorgeous shots of the man in action.
    Am I “overboard” about him….that could be argued…but my hubby definitely appreciates the extra inspiration that stirs my hormones. Hubby knows I would NEVER endanger our relationship by trying to make time with another man!

  75. There was a time when I thought the Soul Patrol shout outs were harmless and fun . . . a long, long time ago. Hell, I even got into a fight with someone about it, believe it or not. Defending Taylor’s “right to woo” or whatever.

    Boy, when I am wrong, I am so, so very wrong. Soul Patrol needs to go, like yesterday.

  76. Iag, you mention that BW was there for the interview, right after you mentioned that Tay admitted he was single and looking. Does anyone who reads or posts on this blog question , lets she how should I state this, Taylors interest in women? I don’t, but from reading around the past several months, I believe some do… Also his cougars seem to be all female. Someone who knows I am an on-line fan asked me if he had a big gay following. I stated as far as I know, he doesn’t. Does he?

  77. “Soul Patrol” shout outs were a means to an end, an AI win and a chance to do better financially than his previous 10 bar years. Little did Taylor know, or myself that it also could hamper him in his future. I enjoyed his shout outs on AI when the voting was all that mattered…it made me feel a part of his plan to win. I knew he was doing it for the votes, I knew he was doing it to win. I was okay with being “used” in that way. I liked the guy, but part of me knew all along that he really wasn’t that “Aw shucks” kind of man. The shout outs have to go…. please Taylor take a chance to get some new fans in your life. Oh, and my wishlist is NO more Grease….so much for that!

  78. Rosie, the gay thing has been around a while. I took a friend to a show and that was the first thing she said afterwards. “He’s gay!” But most of his fans think he isn’t. Who knows? I don’t care.

    soulaz: I forgot to comment that I loved your story about talking to Taylor. (I thought it in my head, but didn’t type it up. ha!) It’s amazing how much he knows about music. It sounds as though he enjoyed talking to you, too

  79. I honestly don’t know whether Taylor Hicks is gay or not. As we have previously established, I am not a cougar, and so therefore it does not matter to me. I am not even sure why it needs to be discussed.

    I’m much more interested in what piece he chooses when playing Monopoly. Because if he chooses the iron there could be real trouble. I am always the iron, dammit.

  80. soulaz, some things are very, very important. I understand.

  81. Snowstorm Says:

    He’s had girlfriends, so, I don’t think so. What about the photos fooling around with a hot blonde at the beach? Rosie, the “he’s gay” posts are from Daughtry fans, who like to see a rise out of Taylor’s fans.

    There’s just no solid evidence and when I saw him in person, he didn’t give off any gay vibes to me. Clay Aiken, on the other hand, I knew he was gay when I saw him on Idol.

  82. What do “gay vibes” look like? Are they sparkly? Or is that too stereotypical?

  83. Sadly he seems to be saddled with Soul Patrol shouts and can’t quite shake it. Maybe afraid the $$$$ will dry up without the β€œsoul patrol”.

    Try to imagine the SP person who would abandon him today because he stopped saying “Soul Patrol.” There is no such. Surely he must know this.

  84. Snowstorm Says:

    My gaydar is very keen and I’m always right. No gay vibes with Taylor.

  85. Just have to say he likes having a soul patrol and I do not think it has kept anyone from enjoying or buying his music. Let the guy say whatever in the hell he wants in any interview.

  86. True, I totally agree. It just seems that way….perception, I guess. Who knows? You are right, the soul patrol ain’t going anywhere. I am not surprised though, that whenever he does utter that phrase…it’s met with such happiness in SoulPatrolLand. Ah, Taylor…you keep them hanging on…. I just want more for him, he has a hell of a voice. Wasted on BSD.

  87. Um, I go away for a little bit, and we get into a Taylor is gay discussion? How in the hell did that happen?

    Wow, Snowstorm, you need to see if Barack will give you a job…since you’re right about everything from music to homosexuality.

  88. I just want more for him, he has a hell of a voice. Wasted on BSD.

    I couldn’t agree with this more. I think that’s what I’ve been trying to articulate. I really think this whole Grease gig is beneath him. I think he’s better than that. There. I said it.

  89. Snowstorm Says:

    um, yeah. πŸ™‚

  90. IAG, yes. But he is georgeous. Just sayin’

  91. But not in Grease.

  92. OK, I know he isn’t gay, although sadly I can’t prove it in a carnal way. Just wondering if he has a big gay following, and if not, then why not, given his looks and performances.

  93. Snowstorm Says:

    I sometime think Taylor makes fun of his fans in a back-handed kind of way. “Look I put on a sparkly suit and look like Liberace.. that means I’m gay.”

    I always liked Taylor’s dry sense of humor.

  94. I don’t know the ins and outs of gay fandom…but he doesn’t really play “gay” music., although he did play Dancing Queen. πŸ˜†

    But, if he was, would it really matter? Would the Soul Patrol turn away from him because of it?

  95. SS, he’s putting on the sparking suit for MONEY. Bottom line.

  96. Snowstorm Says:

    I don’t think it’s just for money. I think he really does want to try acting. Why not? All of the Idols are getting their feet wet, even Daughtry is trying it.

  97. Soulez and all Y’all, The magic that is Taylor Hicks- is due in Great Part, to the fact he can not be stereotyped, no way, no how! He is different. He has charisma and a music knowledge and taste one can not buy. He has guts, balls, determination and is just in a sense way out there. Was his decision to do Grease and wear the midnight blue sparkly suit and hamm the hell out of the role, desparation or incrediably smart and savy? He has stated recently he has been offered dozens of other roles. Has anyone else from AI, been offered the same? Any of you who for whatever reason sell short “charisma”, are missing the entire point of success, fame, celebrity or even our current president. Charisma plus knowledge and work ethic, OMG then add to that good looks and being tall, and add in a little thing like a good voice and well you have Taylor.

  98. He was forced to play Dancing Queen – I heard there was some blackmail involved.

    signed, a hetero

  99. Rosie, I don’t know if any of the winners from AI have been offered multiple Broadway roles, because I don’t follow them. However, I bet that Taylor wasn’t thinking the night before the finale…”Hey in a couple of years, I get to be Teen Angel on Broadway!! Woohooo!!”

  100. If Taylor is gay, and not being honest about it, he won’t have any following in the gay community at all unless he follows Clay’s example and comes out. If he is not gay, he’s doing a great job of keeping fans guessing, but why would he do that? I think he likes women, but is very comfortable with not having anyone closer to him than Bill right now. And I don’t see anything wrong with discussing this subject. It’s not like we’re wondering whether he’s an axe murderer.

    On another note, I see that RollingStone gives What’s Right is Right zero stars out of five.

  101. Snowstorm Says:

    What about good songs, Rosie? You don’t think they count because you left out the most important ingredient.

  102. Grease was money, money, money. It’s needed to fund your life, career, what ever. I like Taylor, I do. I love his voice. I love his look. I am a fan, but I don’t have to love Grease. I don’t. So I’m not going to see it, but I sure will see him in a “shadow tour” nearby if I get a chance. That’s the Taylor I like. Rosie, I love that you love all things Taylor. More power to you, I just can’t go there with Grease. I saw clips of BSD, and I just didn’t smile. Not my thing.

  103. charcoal…bribery, huh? Bands make paybacks a bitch.

  104. spinshack Says:

    Well, Wanda, aren’t you the bearer of bad tidings. So R.S. critic hated it? Interesting to see what some of the others will have to say next.

    Blackmail, charcoal? Hmmm something like play it or wear a pink tutu? Well as long as he did not sing it while wearing blue eyeshadow. And fishnets.

  105. I don’t see a review on the RollingStone page, it just says “no stars” where the RS rating is. Maybe they just haven’t listened to it and rated it yet.

  106. Blackmail? Remember, I’m an unreliable source. I believe the RS review is “unrated” not “rated 0”.

  107. Wanda, I don’t give a crap about RollingStone’s opinion, but I agree there is nothing wrong with discussing the subject. I also agree BW is just a close trusted buddy and right now Taylor is all about his career.

  108. bamahotpocket Says:

    He did enjoy the eyelash curler when he was on A.I.

    That must be a clue. πŸ™„

  109. jerseyirish Says:

    Wow, go away for a couple of hours come back and the talk is gay. Do I think he is gay no, would it matter to me as a fan if he were no. What he does in his private life is his business.

    Went and looked at the RS page didn’t see anything myself, unless I wasn’t looking in the right place.

    Rosie, I think we will hear good and bad reports on the song, some will love it and some won’t, just like the fans.

    Has anybody heard anything about the sale of WRIR were the numbers good so far?

    JI

  110. I’m getting a gay vibe from charcoal.

  111. and it IS glittery.

  112. Snow, I love his voice, most of his song choices and greatly respect his knowledge of music, musicians, and how he was able to put together a band, lead them and make a living. What he is doing now with his own label, using Grease as both a vechicle to promote his new CD plus as proof he is worth big bucks to Broadway or cinema, shows he is savy beyond compare. Anyone who thinks he was not savy on AI is nuts. Charisma + Talent + Knowledge + Savy = T. Hicks.

  113. caryl sez:

    I’m getting a gay vibe from charcoal.

    I suggest you wait for the prescience of SnowStorm to make a ruling here.

  114. bamahotpocket Says:

    Yes, Snowstorm is right about everything. Just ask her.

  115. WRIR has dropped to #73 on Amazon’s MP3 list; I think it got as high as the 50’s or maybe even 40’s. The Distance is in the 700’s; it has dropped considerably since becoming available for pre-order. It might go back up when the CD actually drops.

  116. AHHAHHAHAHAHHAHHAHAHAA Charcoal!!

    She’s our resident crystal ball!! We all know what’s going to happen if we just listen to her. Gotta love her. πŸ˜†

  117. spinshack Says:

    I think she’s just using a Magic 8 Ball.

    I went, checked for myself, looks like simply not rated yet. (As I see you all have already determined. I feel so last 10 minutes.)

  118. Bottom line for me is that I’m hooked on Taylor Hicks. Let those who read IAG’s blog state that they aren’t and state why not!

  119. Snowstorm Says:

    um, yeah. πŸ˜‰

  120. I’m hooked on a feeling.

    Oooga chaka, oooga oooga oooga chaka . . .

  121. Snowstorm Says:

    I actually prefer the Ouija board.. much more reliable. πŸ™‚

  122. I’m hooked on phonics!

  123. Dammit. The ouija board. Should have known. πŸ˜†

  124. You know what? I’ve decided that I don’t care if charcoal is gay or not. It’s not as if it will ever matter to me, personally. I get everything I want from him right here in his comments. And damn! they are sexy! But please understand, I don’t want to get with him.

  125. Rosie equals reality where Th is concerned. Just keepin it real!

  126. Those pictures you saw of me and caryl on vacation? Photoshopped. She is about a foot taller than me and everyone knows it.

    Plus, after the accident, I was left with very visible scars. Where are those I ask you?

  127. Thank you! Finally we can get that cleared up.

  128. Caryl and all of you all, listen up! How many women do you think would turn down Taylor? Also is a cougar a female 40 +? Let us be moral and exclude the married gals such as Caryl and JI and just include single attractive females. Would he have an age limit as in 18-40? Does he prefer them to be less pretty than him? We know about Suzanne and CL and they demonstrate no common theme or preference. Music or not, how would Tay do in the real world with women?

  129. bamahotpocket Says:

    You’re not serious about the common theme or preference are you Rosie? He totally has a “type”

    He was a bar singer in the “real world” for 10 years. I’d bet a Florabama tip cup chock full that he didn’t go home alone very often. πŸ˜‰

  130. Rosie..you are obsessed with this topic tonight.

    I don’t think any of us know what Taylor wants or doesn’t want…

  131. bamahotpocket, are you calling Taylor a whore?

    ahhahhahaahhaha…just kidding…ish.

  132. bamahotpocket Says:

    Call it like I’ve seen it.. πŸ˜‰

  133. Calling it like you wish you had seen it, you mean. πŸ˜‰

  134. I think I can answer the question.

    From my observations I’ve seen Taylor “use” his walk as it were. This walk makes it clear that he’s a woman’s man. He’s a man of few words – he has little time for talking. He seems most comfortable when the music is loud and, if there are women around, I believe he likes them warm. Remember Taylor’s childhood? He was kicked around since he was born.

    I think that pretty much explains it.

  135. bamahotpocket Says:

    Well.. yah.. that pretty much sums it up.. no need to expound on that. Thanks Charcoal. πŸ™‚

  136. (I’ve gone into hiding due to the beach photos)

    After giving this ample thought, I believe Taylor likes his women invisible.

  137. Caryl…or notcaryl…I think you’re right. That would explain all the women we don’t see him with. πŸ˜‰

  138. Maybe Grey, it is true none of us know what Tay wants, but charcoal above has one hell of a sense and I thank her for her opinion. As for me IAG, I’m not obsessed with any T.H. topic. In your blog topic, you put the cougar thing out there for discussion, as well as the BW thing. I am only posting on your topics. I avoided the good versus bad fans discussions and cellcert crap because that bores me. This blog topic was of interest to me so i gave my thoughts and ?’s to it.

  139. That’s good, rosie. But I just want to make it clear that I did not bring up the “BW thing.” All I said was that Bill was there.

    As for charcoal, “one hell of a sense” remains to be seen. πŸ˜†

  140. I wouldn’t say it’s my opinion as much as it’s BG’s.

  141. BG’s? Hmm…ok, you lost me. I’ll be back after I consult my ouija board.

  142. 9. I can’t even begin to tell you how happy it makes me that he refers to his last album as β€œmy Idol album.”

    Lemme just say hell yeah. I caught it. I liked it.

  143. Virtual Speak Says:

    In great charcoal form.. the SP researchers are now on a scavenger
    hunt to figure out whose initals are BG. πŸ˜†

  144. Don’t know BJ. Wish like hell there were some men, real males who posted on these blogs, as in guys who liked T.H. and his music. Women often are so lame and wimpy and congenial in order to be liked and accepted. Females also tend to be catty and lack self esteem. Cougars are just bigger than a house cat and smaller than a tiger. They say the lion is the king of the jungle. It is the male lion. All I can say is I want to remind all of you that you are only important in that you post online about Taylor. Bottom line is how important are anyone of us to his success or failure? For what it is worth to most of you who post on this blog, and I like and enjoy you guys, as far as the “soul patrol”, shout out the latest and greatest from your idol T.H.’s is f u all, MFK’s, I’ll do and say what I want, and when I want. I’ve said before he has some hefty balls!

  145. Do not know BG, not BJ.

  146. Rosie, I’m gonna need some of what you’re smoking…hahahhahaha

  147. I can’t be bothered trying to figure out BG. I’m too busy with just stayin alive.

  148. Somebody fill me in on what I missed, a hundred comments are just too much for me. HAHAH

  149. ok, rhonda…

    1. Taylor needs to stop yelling Soul Patrol.
    2. Grease may not be the brightest way to tour a new record.
    3. Taylor may or may not be gay.
    4. Caryl is hiding because there are pictures of her and Charcoal on a beach somewhere.

  150. Did Rosie say she knows BJ’s??

    hehehehehe…

    god, I hate it when the middle schooler in me comes out.

  151. you mean people can talk about the possibility of him being gay without getting their face ripped off?

    Impressive!

    πŸ˜€

  152. Ah ha ha ha! Somebody help me.

  153. yes, Rhonda. It’s a new concept we’re trying out. Seems to be working so far.

  154. Iag, Don’t you know that BJ is (Bill’s Joy)? I thought we all understood that.

  155. Virtual Speak Says:

    rosie how do you know he has hefty balls? The jury is still out on that.

  156. I thought BJ stood for blow jobs. Of course, I guess that could be Bill’s Joy…I don’t know.

  157. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, You are wound tonight, making me laugh. The mystery of BG don’t know either.

    iag, This post has been all over the place today.

    JI

  158. I agree, JI. You people need to tighten up.

    πŸ˜‰

  159. OK, I came out of hiding. Some famous forensics lady confirmed that it’s not me on the beach. But the jury’s still out on whether or not it’s me in the WRIR video. Dudes! I’m too old, remember? Ask snowstorm, she’ll tell ya.

  160. ComeIWannaLayYa Says:

    BG is to giraffe as TFH is to The Big Bang Theory.

  161. Caryl…it might not be you in the video, but it might be somebody that looks exactly like you. Just younger. πŸ˜‰

  162. I tried to get Taylor to plop those hefty balls on a postal scale one time, but for some reason he refused. So, I cannot attest to their weight.

    But that comment is probably stupid and I should just delete it. Because I just want to please you all. Well, except for the beeyotches that I totally hate because I feel so bad about myself.

    I wish there was a real man here to get me out of the mess I’ve made for myself by trying to increase my importance in the universe by posting in this thread in the first place.

    I should never have forgotten that I am merely a medium-sized cat.

  163. as far as the β€œsoul patrol”, shout out the latest and greatest from your idol T.H.’s is f u all, MFK’s, I’ll do and say what I want, and when I want.

    If he’s actually made this kind of explicit public commitment to to the Mr. Soul Patrolman role, I wish you’d link me up to it. It would be a real time-saver.

  164. See…that’s how rumors get started.

    Taylor said fuck you to the SP? Oh, what a novel idea. ahahah

  165. ShadowlessSoul Says:

    I think I’ve entered some peculiar alternate universe where Taylor may or may not have hefty balls.. may or may not be gay.. may or may no go postal.. may or may not like cougars.. and.. charcoal may or may not be that fine colored line that I’ll buy the vowel a instead of e..

    WTH happened to this thread? πŸ˜†

  166. We’re not sure what happened, Shadow, but you summed it up pretty well!! πŸ™‚

  167. WTH happened to this thread?

    I blame Barry Gibb.

  168. 1. Taylor needs to stop yelling Soul Patrol.
    2. Grease may not be the brightest way to tour a new record.
    3. Taylor may or may not be gay.
    4. Caryl is hiding because there are pictures of her and Charcoal on a beach somewhere.

    Thanks for the synopsis . . .

    and Caryl is making me laff

  169. Caryl needs to get a life!

    This may be the most important thread in the history of Taylor Hicks.

  170. ShadowlessSoul Says:

    I totally blame Barry Gibb too. We have him to blame for penning the ever popular BSD. Afterall, he does nothing but Jive Talkin’ about Nights On Broadway. Tragedy…

  171. ShadowlessSoul Says:

    I take that back.. I think he wrote Grease Is The Word.

  172. Poor Barry. Getting blamed for shit he didn’t do. πŸ˜†

  173. I’m really sad now. 😦 My husband/daddy said it’s time to go to bed. And we all were SO close to figuring out this gay/shout out/Grease/BG/huge balls thing. Can’t wait to check in tomorrow and see how it ends!

    SOUL PATROL!!

  174. Damn, caryl. We’ll let you know who you are, too. And let’s just make sure it’s you checking in tomorrow and not that damn double of yours. πŸ˜‰

  175. The Big Balls thing is easy to solve. There’s a song about it . . .

  176. Soulaz, and the rest of you with less than Taylor approved names. I stated a week ago that he had hefty balls, That is way more scientific information, from my point of view, than silly snowstorm saying he will never be successful without younger fans. Do you put your faith in big balls or does your faith in Tays’ success depend on younger fans? To me , Big Balls, the heftiest of male balls, in the competitive music business , equals success. For those of you who believe he sold out by doing Grease, especially the tour, I say that took hefty balls and a belief in himself. All of you do know the man has had balls. You saw and heard him say at his AI audition, “I want my voice heard.” You have seen him in recent interviews. Is it brass balls you see, or just tactics?

  177. I want to listen to AC/DC all of a sudden….

  178. RedRoseSpeedway Says:

    I like you Rosie

  179. spinshack Says:

    To sum up this thread.
    “Watermelon in Easter Hay”.

Leave a Reply

