Attention Snowstorm!! Taylor does want younger fans!! ETA: Link for video shoot

I was browsing around at the Soul Lounge today…and saw this on the front page of Taylorhicks.com:

“We are looking for Taylor Hicks fans to come be background in his video. Age range 16-40”

Ok, so fans aren’t the same as extras in a video, but I saw it and couldn’t resist. And seriously, asking his fans to be in the video with him? Is that really a safe option for him?? πŸ˜‰

Well, maybe they’ll get a glowstick out of it. πŸ™‚

taylor

ETA: The video is going to be shot in this cool, vintage bar. Very nice.

72 Responses to “Attention Snowstorm!! Taylor does want younger fans!! ETA: Link for video shoot”

  1. Wow!

  2. You think I could pass for 40? ROFLMAO…..

  3. I just felt a disturbance in the force…as if two thirds of the Soul Patrol cried out in excitement for being in a Taylor video, and were suddenly silenced. πŸ™‚

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    Could turn out very interesting, my first thought was why? Why wouldn’t he just hire extras. He knows his fan base can be a little over the edge. I think it is great that he wants to include his fans in this venture, just not so sure of the outcome. I know for those that get to be in it, it will be very exciting and fun for them. I wish him luck tomorrow………

    JI

  5. Snowstorm Says:

    Wow, that’s funny! They are looking for “young, sexy and modern… classic fans. That leaves out about 98% of the soul patrol, lol. I hope the soul patrol does not show up thinking they will have a chance and only get turned away… that would be quite embarrassing. They will probably end up using people who are not fans.. models and wannebe actors.

  6. That was my thought, Snowstorm. Are they just not wanting to pay for extras?

  7. iag, extras usually do not get paid, only if you have a major role in the video. But, it’s a good way to get exposure.

  8. Well, that makes it even more interesting.

    Huh.

    By the way, the place that they’re shooting is really cool. I updated the post with the link. Even has it’s own ghost. πŸ™‚

  9. What a f*cking cool sounding place. man, grape martinis no TV, board games. :cry Why can’t Dallas have a plce like this? Digging the band line up too. Man, is this a Jake pick I wonder?

    Regarding the age limit, should have stipulated too, No puffy paint shirts or bedazzled blazers, multi-colored hair a plus. hahaha.

    Age 16 a bit young to hang ina club scene, but the cut off at 40, priceless. lol

  10. Link to the True Historians. Honky Tonk :cry some more. I wanna go Chicago. 😦

  11. jerseyirish Says:

    Spin, Wish I could just click my feet together and be there, it is going to be something to watch. I also thought about who came up with the idea, maybe Taylor gave him guidelines of what he was looking for and Jake took off with it.

    Does anyone know if the video will be released the same day as the single or at a later time?

    JI

  12. I wanna go, too. I’ll be arriving in Chicago on the 16th- too late to hang around OUTSIDE the club during the shoot, haha. As snowstorm has repeatedly reminded me, I’m too old. But that’s OK, I know I’m adorable anyway.

    So, I guess they’re not going for a retro look if the extras won’t be in costume, huh?

  13. “We are looking for Taylor Hicks fans…Age range 16-40”

    What if they threw a video and nobody came? LOL!

  14. My thought is there will be some hired actors and as stated the fans will just be background in the video. It seems like very short notice and it is a work/school day. This whole video thing is exciting no matter how you look at it, and so far Snowstorm isn’t gloating too much, lol.

  15. Snowstorm Says:

    There are many ways to get extras for video shoots, ie: trade papers, modeling schools/agencies. Don’t worry, there will be plenty of interest and many people will, no doubt, get turned away. I think it’s a great gesture to include fans, even though most would not fit in.

  16. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, I agree that is was nice of him to put it out there to the fans to be extras. Also like you said alot won’t fit the bill and thats ok, it was just nice of him to think of his fans that way.

    Rosie, This is so exciting for him and the fan base, can’t wait to see the finished product!!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  17. I bet you that there are plenty of fan’s whose heads are exploding right now. Gotta love that Karma wheel…

  18. spinshack Says:

    willpen, ahahahaha!

  19. I don’t get it. 😦 (and my head’s not exploding!)

  20. My 47 year old head is still intact, I’m proud to report. While I can fairly say that I am RELATIVELY young, modern and classy, and perhaps MARGINALLY sexy, if the lights are dim and I stand up really straight and tall and don’t breathe . . . I can see why Taylor would want to set the bar higher than the likes of me for his video.

    I’ll just sit back and patiently wait for his next video, and hope the theme is “middle-aged, mature, fairly current, and not half-bad looking.” Believe me, I’m gonna totally rock that video shoot.

    Now, my gorgeous daughter is another story . . . too bad she lives in California.

  21. spinshack Says:

    I find it funny the age bracket stipulation.

    So…. some may be a wee bit over the mark, will they card? Will it be based on number of wrinkles? Gray hair (now that’s funny, c’mon)? Walkers?

  22. Well, I guess they just don’t want the usual audience in the video. And I’m not saying another word. I’m sure snowstorm will fill in the rest of that thought.

    What did those fans whose heads are exploding do to deserve having their heads explode? I’m SO out of the loop. *pouting*

  23. spinshack Says:

    You certainly are not one of them, Caryl. Your head should remain intact. ha.

  24. Well, it sounds like Taylor is missing out on a few very cool chicks for his video. Yes, I mean you guys. And me. But not snowstorm. Oh, snap! (Don’t you hate it when old people try to talk cool?)

    Stop entertaining me, people! I’m packing for my trip. Gotta go.

  25. Snowstorm Says:

    caryl, what makes you think I would be interested? Or, are you joking?

  26. spinshack Says:

    She’s kidding with you Snow. lol

    I wish I was packing to go too. Caryl, stop by and pick me up.

  27. Snowstorm Says:

    I just don’t understand Taylor’s fans. You do realize he is a single, 32 year old man, don’t you? You do realize his career is almost non-existent, don’t you? You do realize that he is in an entirely different phase of life than most of you, don’t you? If you are a music fan, than just enjoy and buy the music, that’s all you need to do. But, to cary on about this, makes no sense to me.

  28. If you say so Says:

    For a guy with a non-existent career, he sure seems to be busy.

  29. spinshack Says:

    Hahahaha. Snow, you’re an interesting conundrum.

  30. Who is carrying on besides you, Snow? It seems to me the rest were just having fun with the situation. Its called a sense of humor, and even some young people have been known to have one.
    I bet the video shoot will be interesting. As for me, not young, not sexy, no nice cocktail party clothes, and no desire to freeze my ass off in Chicago….so I guess I’m out!

  31. Snowstorm Says:

    Excuse me? I have not been carrying on. I don’t get Caryl sense of humor. Why aren’t you happy being the age you are?

  32. I just got back from Chicago…and let me tell you, if you like snow, it’s great!! Got twelve inches yesterday.

    But I think the snow will add a cool backdrop for the video.

  33. My fan reference was to the small contingency of control freak fans who like to think that they are the beginning and end of all that is Taylor. The ones that I like to think of as the Secret Soul Patrol Police. The ones that like to make up the rules and then punish anyone who does not maintain the prime directive.

    The funniest part of it all is that they are mostly the ones that Taylor DOES NOT want in his video and I am finding this so damn funny that I can’t get over it. I don’t want to sound mean or anything, but like I said before, that Karma Wheel can sure spin in any direction. I am sure there are a few names that come to mind immediately for anyone that’s been around from the beginning.

    Payback can be such a bitch…

  34. … like you said alot won’t fit the bill and thats ok, it was just nice of him to think of his fans that way.

    JI, I think the point is that Mr. Hicks DID NOT think of his fans at all. He’s been hosting meet & greets and touring for the past year and half, and he surely recognizes the demographics of his fan base. To state that age limit is, IMO, a real slap in the face to the majority of the SP.

    Snow, I think the reason we’re all kinds of LOLs over the video in relation to you is that you’ve been the one all along insisting Mr. Hicks needs a younger fan base. Apparently, he’s beginning to agree with you.

  35. brightlite Says:

    Age again? Give me a break please. Isn’t THAT getting old? It may be the only thing older than us and more boring than a particle of precipitation that crystallizes in temperatures below 0 degrees celsius in the upper portion of the troposphere. Now that is boring. All I know is when I was 28, I wasn’t sitting around on some computer every night. My dancing card was full!

    Good night all!
    Hugs to JI and Spin! Waving πŸ™‚

  36. spinshack Says:

    YKW, I agree it being almost like a slap. Especially in light of the M&G’ers and the demographics involved. Makes ya wonder what goes on in his gray head sometimes.

    To think of the irony, the guy having an age limit – and including 16 year olds (??) when he’s often insulted because of his older looks. Seriously though, 16 year olds? Not in the real world. hahaha. Perhaps he should have just said, no puffy paint, no glitter and please, no bedazzeled shirts. Stopping at 40, that’s some harsh reality for some gals to read. *smile*

    Yeah, Snow, as YKW wrote, apparently Mr. Hicks is reading you, babe.

  37. spinshack Says:

    Hey Bright! We’ve been discussing Hicks’ attendance specifications for his vid shoot tomorrow. That’s where the age issue started today. *grins*

  38. brightlite Says:

    ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    wake me up when this is over

  39. good grief. I can’t believe some are feeling vindicated and some insulted over the age thing. I don’t fit the age bracket and I don’t feel insulted at all or feel like I was slapped. Its a video , its called film making, you are going for a certain feel and look, sometimes that calls for older, sometimes for younger. Big deal.
    I think they are very wise to maintain a certain age level for a the type of video they seem to be doing here. I have a very strong feeling if someone slightly over the age level showed up but had the right “look” they just might make the cut. But they would need the right look.
    When a film is being made and they need older people they advertise for older people , when they need younger ones for the type of film they are making they advertise for younger ones. Its all very simple.
    If they were making a video ABOUT his fans and said only the young need apply that would be different. But the video is not about his fans. It seems to be about a fancy cocktail party setting. So thats what you look for. Not understanding the big deal.

  40. Oh henry. It’s not a big deal. It’s called a discussion. All we’re doing is discussing Taylor Hicks. And if you will read my original post, I state “fans aren’t the same as extras in a video”…

    And if Taylor said he didn’t want fans over 40 at Martyr’s, most of the SP would say…oh, ok. Because Taylor can do no wrong in the eyes of some.

  41. BL, wake up!! There’s no loitering and besides, you’re snoring too loud!!;)

    hahahahaha

  42. jerseyirish Says:

    You know guys I’m in that 50+ age group, I didn’t take it as an insult, just that he wants a certain look in his video and not all age groups would fit into that mold. Lord why would he want women in my age group in his video, I think if he didn’t put an age group in he might have alot show up he would not be interested in and that would be insulting turning a certain age group away. This way everyone knows what he wants in the video. Like BL said too much is put on the age thing. We are all fans no matter our age. I just enjoy the man’s music and following his carreer, I find him most interesting.

    JI

  43. brightlite Says:

  44. Well sorry IAG but I really thought some sounded like it was some sort of a big deal to want a certain type for a certain video. I would imagine the filmmaker himself is handling most of these type of decisions.
    I have trouble imagining him going to Taylor and saying “Do you prefer younger beautiful woman at your cocktail party or are you looking for old broads?” Kind of a no-brainer, don’t you think?

  45. brightlite Says:

  46. brightlite Says:

  47. jerseyirish Says:

    Henry, Well said it is a no brainer, but the age was put in to verify what he is looking for, not an insult just what he wants to make his video.

    JI

  48. brightlite Says:

    Been looking for a vid of Running on Ice for awhile, the sound is bad but the song is great. I especially love the mention of the acrobats. πŸ˜‰

    All I can say is best of luck to Taylor tomorrow in his video! He will shine!!
    The video will be his creation and as I said before, it doesn’t matter to me what Taylor does, I love it all. There were so many Billy Joel songs that he made that no one liked really, but I loved them all. When you are a fan, you can’t help but be positive and enjoy all the work of the artist.
    Good night all.
    BL
    waving to JI!!

  49. I don’t really care about the age limit. I was just fooling around with my earlier comments. Those of you who know me got that.

    But snow…? I don’t even know what you’re talking about. Being me sucks on so many levels, but none of them have to do with age. I’ve aged well and I have a lot to look forward to in the future. I don’t know if that has anything to do with this discussion, but there ya go.

  50. Caryl…I got you were joking around. I mean, that is a good thing. Everything about Taylor seems to have to be so serious in this fandom…and I just don’t know why.

  51. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, I also knew you were joking around, love your sense of humor!!! πŸ™‚

    BL, Waving back, loved your video’s, the kitty one was so cute. Some nights the cats start snoring, then the dog chimes in and lastly my husband, it sometimes turn into quite a musical!!!!

    JI

  52. Willpen and a few others think a few select members of the soul patrol will be insulted and upset by the video age thing. It is a film. I can’t imagine that any fan would be upset. Perhaps some who show up to be in the video will become new fans. The bottom line is we all want Taylor to do well, have a good selling single and a cool vid. If there are such nuts who feel slighted by the age limit glad I don’t know them. The question for me is I hope enough decent looking well dressed males show up. I still think they hired a few local actors to interact with Taylor in the video. The notice said bring several accessaries , haha, snow boots, earmuffs, gloves, scarves and tobaggans.

  53. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, I would think the main shoot of the vidoe will be with hired actors/models, the extras will be just that to be in the scene in the bar or in the street. Just faces and bodies to fill the space.

    JI

  54. Tayfancier Says:

    What’s best for Taylor’s video is what counts. Even though I am a long way from meeting the age requirement I totally understand it. They want a certain look to the video. While I don’t fit into the 16-40 age group, I too would prefer to see Taylor acquire some younger fans. I think this will happen for him and I think his fans should understand that what’s good for Taylor is good for his fans.

  55. spinshack Says:

    I don’t see the necessity for age specs myself, the director could just pick and chose from the crowd present for what he wants in the vid. That was one of the points I was kidding around about – the posting of these specs on his freaking website is funny in a twisted way. Ah but then maybe I’m just twisted. lol

    Regarding ‘what’s best for Taylor’ may be just what we’re discussing, Tayfancier. “Yes Men” are nice to have around but they won’t tell you when you’ve screwed up, or when you’re walking about naked after having some schister sells you a non-existent suit. πŸ˜›

  56. JustForFun Says:

    Who thinks Bill will be in the video? I do πŸ™‚

  57. Would that include a rhinestone suit, Spin? πŸ˜‰

  58. JustForFun, thanks for posting.

    I had that same thought myself. I could see him with slicked back hair and suspenders with a wet rag wiping down the bar.

    Please, oh please, let him be wearing knickers. πŸ˜€

  59. jerseyirish Says:

    I think Bill will probably be in it, in the background.

    iag, I hope he keeps his hair as usual, not slicked back, knickers would be funny, but I don’t think so, I was thinking a 40’s era double breasted suit, making an entrance.

    JI

  60. Bill Will with knickers and a newboy cap on is my hope.

  61. Bill Will with a newboy cap and knickers on is my hope.

  62. Sorry about the double post.

  63. “Would that include a rhinestone suit, Spin?”
    Complete with pompadour wig… πŸ˜‰

  64. Hey guys I’m hoping for a woman or two featured in the video, kinda a Tay love interest. I do hope Taylor gets to do some strutting and acting in this video but most of all I hope the vid makes it to TV. I wonder if he will lip sinc to pre-recorded music, nah, not our Taylor!

  65. I just hope the vid makes it to Youtube. (I kid. lol)

    I’m not feeling a big strutting around love scene from what I heard those brief moments the sample was up on amazon.com.

  66. jerseyirish Says:

    Spin, I’m with you, think it will be centered around him and no one else.

    JI

  67. Spin, the man knows how to keep us in suspense. Well at least I hope he struts and can show some acting chops since this is a video. Bet he is having fun with it and hope we hear from some fans how it went.

  68. What about ugly young people? Will they be allowed in the video, LOL? Please somebody, give us an update on this crucial situation πŸ˜€

    Seriously, I hope it works out well for him, and gives a few fans a big thrill. My boyfriend’s sister has a two-second appearance in a Squeeze video from the 1980s, and her kids think it’s hysterically funny now.

  69. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, I hope we get some feedback from someone that was there, I am sure it will be a great video.

    JI

  70. No news about the video, huh? hmpf!

  71. JustForFun Says:

    I’m not sure about Bill in knickers.

    Bill in a crisp white shirt with those arm bands from back in the day would look great as the bartender.

  72. spinshack Says:

    Anonymous source (that’s along the lines again of my friend’s friend’s friend said…) cited on another site has Hicks in a dream sequence (?) and some gal in the audience mooning over him, as he flicks in and out of reality. Then they swap spit.

    Guess we have to hear the rest of that tune, since from what I heard did not imagine this…

Leave a Reply

