Don’t tell me it’s happening again…

Yesterday, it was noted that the play button from the snippet of “What’s Right is Right” was gone. Ok, could be an Amazon error, who knows? But today, when trying to go to the myrocketscience page with the promo of Taylor, I get a message stating that this page could not be found. Seriously? Now what?

Wow. Is this yet another pushback in the career of Taylor Hicks? Say it ain’t so…

24 Responses to “Don’t tell me it’s happening again…”

  1. ut-oh. Well, he kept saying during our phone call that he wanted to take the time to get the music right. (sorry to bring up the damned phone call again, but I didn’t type up everything he said because some of it was redundant. Getting the music RIGHT was repeated a few times.) I was surprised when all of a sudden the CD was coming out in a few months.

    I guess that’s cool. As long as the music is what he wants it to be in the end. That’s really the most important thing.

  2. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, I noticed the rocketscience site was gone yesterday. Could be that it all got released earlier than they wanted it for the 1/20 release of the single. If the date changes I have no problem with it, when he feels he is ready to release to the public he will, everything they are doing is leading up to the release of his CD and single, the date to me doesn’t really matter. I believe he is worth waiting for.

    JI

  3. spinshack Says:

    I posted this topic too on my site, Dee commented that it’s gone because the promos started with the initial Jan. 6th date still in play. Frankly, the longer the information on-line to promote the product the better.

    Granted, JI, many will feel that way, ‘he’s worth waiting for’ but think in terms of movie releases, other artist’s music releases, often they begin promotion months in advance with snippets, trailers, MySpazz plays. Waiting until the very moment it is released just doesn’t make sense to me, anyway.

  4. Snowstorm Says:

    I think he’s having second thoughts on the single release and he should be concerned if that’s the song. Please don’t let that be the best song on the cd – that’s all I have to say.

  5. Seven Days Says:

    This may be a stupid question, and pure conjecture — but do you think perhaps they’re not too fond of the Soul Patrol snoops who find stuff like this and post it all over the place before they have a chance to? As excited as I am to find this kind of information, there are times when I wish the fanbase would calm down and let Taylor’s mgmt/promotion people do their jobs without all the hoo-ha.

  6. Snowstorm Says:

    Seven Day, No. If it’s on the internet, then it’s fair game. If you don’t want the information to get out, then don’t post it.

  7. brightlite Says:

    I can’t wait for the the song from the title track “The Distance.”
    That is all I can say about that. So the snippet is gone and myrocketscience is gone…maybe these sites did not have permission to post these things in the first place. Just a thought. Anyone can post anything, doesn’t mean they have the right to…
    I found a coupon for Dick’s Sporting goods, $25 off any purchase over $75.
    it had the Dicks logo, and exclusions, and the bar code for the store to use on the register. Got there and they said “No that is not honored, the site that posted it had “no permission” to put that coupon out there.
    So they would not honor it, until I argued a bit, and then fianlly they did accept it. HA! i told them if there is a site using the Dick’s logo, and offering deals, and you know about it, then have your high paying corporate attourney put the kabash on it, or people will come her expecting the discount. Well the next few days later, the coupon diappeared.
    Just sayin…
    BYE
    BL

  8. Virtual Speak Says:

    I kind of think Taylor’s people did it as a teaser. They wanted a test audience in the SP and to see if it went any further reaching than the SP.

    But, Seven Days makes sense too.

    The SP has a rich history of converging anywhere Taylor is mentioned be it good or bad. They have to be right and or have the last word. Check out Jake Davisโ€™ blog. Nothing better than telling a professional how to make a video or interrupt his creative process by offering their unsolicited advice. The best is the singsong of make it appeal to younger fans. Never heard that before.

    How utterly shocking that Jake himself is young seems to get Taylor.

  9. Snowstorm Says:

    I think they did it to test the reaction, but what do I know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. jerseyirish Says:

    My take on it is that they never changed the date from 1/6 to 1/20, thus the info was released earlier then they wanted.

    Seven Days, Could be, but I think the internet is also a took they use to spread the word.

    BL, You may have it right that they did not have persmission to put the info up. Just recently was given a BP gas card when my hubby went to a BP station said they wouldn’t honor it. Go figure.

    JI

  11. It was probably an Amazon.Com error – they didn’t get the message that the single is now being released on Jan 20. It was originally scheduled for release on Jan 6. Amazon made the same error with Melinda Doolittle’s album – put out samples of her entire album prematurely. This is why he isn’t singing the single yet – it’s not released. Simple.

  12. I think it’s ridiculous to blame the SP for ferreting the information out. SS is right. If it’s posted on the internet it’s fair game.

    So Caryl, did you talk with Taylor on the phone? Who knew?

  13. It won’t be delayed, there are way too many appearances on his already extremely tight schedule. When I read his schedule it had him appearing in LA and flying back to N.Y. to appear on Regis and Kelly, and back to CA. again in a 24 hr period. He is going to be one busy guy. I also couldn’t figure out a time slot for him to appear live on AI8. The guy is doing 8 shows a week in Chicago, making early morning Tv appearances, doing interviews, filming a video on his 1 day off and appearing at Martyrs on the weekend when he has 4 Grease performances to do. No wonder he told fans he only wants to see the back of his eyelids while in Chigago. Now who was it that said he should not go on the road with Grease?

  14. I just read at Daughtry Are Hot, that some gosh awful rap group recorded a song titled What’s Right Is Right! She gives the link to the group and the song in the comments on her SP Awards blog. It’s true , I listened to the song. I don’t know much about the music business, such as can two songs have the same title. God I hope this is not the reason the song snippet is gone. My stomach is begining to churn!

  15. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, I googled the name of the song and the only artist it came attached to was Taylor, so I don’t know if it means anything or not. I saw where they said all the promo was pulled becasue of this, but somehow I don’t think that is the reason the promo was pulled.

    JI

  16. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, From what I have been told only the contents of a song can be copyrighted, the titles are not copyright protected.
    If you go to the us copyright site and put in any title you will see that there maybe more than one because titles are not protected under us copyright law.

    JI

  17. JI, Well that is a relief, thanks.

  18. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie, That group is just trying to stir up trouble, I believe what Griz and I both said Amazon put it up using the 1/6 as the release date never changed it to 1/20. Nothing to do with what that group is trying to say.

    JI

  19. eysial: I can’t tell if you’re being satcastic or not, but I won the phone call from Taylor through HQ and posted the conversation on my blog. I don’t claim to know anything special because of it, but I thought it was germane to this thread to mention again how much he said he wanted to get the music right. Frankly, I’m sick of myself and won’t bring it up again. Scout’s honor. ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. brightlite Says:

    Titles are not copyright protected, the content of the work is, however. Relax Rosie, Taylor did nothing wrong. he has done everything right and what’s right is right. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Got to run to work.
    Have a good night all.

  21. Why can’t it simply be what it is? Why does there always have to be a reason behind everything Taylor? Maybe it is just something that they decided to do for reasons unknown to us, even though there are some who will dig and dig until they can come up with some conspiracy theory.

    Just a thought…l

  22. spinshack Says:

    Frankly, I was thinking along the lines of Snow, that ‘they’ were possibly testing reactions. That happens.

    It could also be likely that it was not to be out yet, but again, folks, think about other artists and their releases of new material in anticipation of their CD releases – they’ll have stuff out to listen to – sometimes months in advance. Same with other creative endeavors such as movies, books.

    Hardly anyone starts promo the day the stuff’s ready to market. You want to get folks interested and to pass the word. Blaming bloggers for finding out information and passing it along is ridiculous. Take the past election process for anyone who follows politics, the internet is a massive free tool for folks to use promoting their causes, their products and their art. Bloggers pass this info for free for them.

    I’ll tell you Jake is pleased with the attention and the focus on Hick’s project, doubtful he’s unhappy with anyone posting on the site.

  23. spinshack Says:

    willpen, I doubt there’s anything as elaborate as some conspiracy theory behind the pulling, again, of Hicks’ material. I mean, seriously what conspiracy would there be? What has happened is it’s generated talk in and among the fans, but other than that, nothing else. I simply believe the product would be better off with longer promo plans not last minute, “Wait! Here it is!”.

  24. jerseyirish Says:

    Spin, I agree more promo is better than not enough, I think they should have left it where it was, instead of pulling it and causing alot of talk.

    Rosie. Just al little more to put your mind at ease about the song title, someone did a search on Chris’s song Home see how many others have a song with the same title:
    Shawn Mullins
    Sheryl Crowe
    Breaking Benjamin
    Collective soul
    Mark Broussard
    Zero 7
    Foo Fighters

    Nothing to worry about just someone trying to stir up trouble.

    JI

Leave a Reply

