Did Taylor take The Fall on WGN this morning? ETA: video link

Taylor, Taylor, Taylor. *sigh*

I just finished watching Taylor on WGN this morning. Yes, he did sing. No, he did not sing the new single, or Beauty School Dropout (Thank God). He sang the Fall. Here’s the link…

1. Why would you choose a media outlet to sing a song that his major fanbase has heard for the last three years?

2. The Early Works CD is in the background. Why wouldn’t there be a picture of the new CD? Wouldn’t that be beneficial?

3. The good points are that he didn’t mention the words “soul” or “patrol” and there was no wooooooing, along with the spastic backbend.

4. But he looked good. And he wore his boots.

Thoughts?

And from righthickssave this morning…

righthickssave-nationalanthem-pete-thumb

65 Responses to “Did Taylor take The Fall on WGN this morning? ETA: video link”

  1. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Thought it was a good marketing tool, sing a song from that CD having in the background. People lilke what they hear they might just go out and buy it. Thought he looked and sounded great. The man knows what he is doing, got to give him credit to showcase his early works before introducing the new CD.

    JI

  2. Iag, I loved him singing that is a higher key and for me it was the best he ever sang that song. I think he knows what he is doing this time around and I agree with JI’s opinions.

  3. My guess is the new CD isn’t ready to promote, so this was sort of a dry-run.

    Didn’t we hear once that Taylor wanted The Fall to be his first single, but AI wouldn’t let him? Wait, that doesn’t sound right. Maybe he wanted The Fall to be on the B side of DIMYP?

  4. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, I’m sure he isn’t ready to start the new music yet, but showcasing/promoting Early Works was brilliant. That was probably the best I’ve heard him sing “The Fall”. got shivers listening to him sing this morning.

    JI

  5. I’m sorry to continue yesterday’s discussion in this new thread, but I was misunderstood.

    I HATE the fact that Taylor’s doing “Grease.” I hate it so much that I haven’t even watched a video of him singing BSD, I don’t want it in my head. But I understand why he’s doing it and I can wait for Taylor’s new music and hopefully, a tour.

    I was getting tired of Snowstorm’s negativity and the constant cry about how he needs younger fans. That’s what my comment was about but I shouldn’t ler her get to me. Other than that, I was enjoying the conversation.

  6. Snowstorm Says:

    caryl, why do you have a problem with Taylor having a younger audience? He will not make it in the business until he has a diverse audience. The business does not cater to a mostly middle-age audience. Same thing happened to Clay Aiken, although Clay is very talented, they will never play him and his music career is basically over.

  7. Snow..I think Caryl’s point is that…we get it. We get what you’re saying. It just doesn’t have to be brought into every single comment. WE GET IT.

    That being said…what do you think about Taylor singing the Fall this morning?

  8. Yes, that’s what I’m saying: I don’t want Taylor to have a younger audience. *deep breath*

    I don’t have a problem with it. I think it would be great. But there’s nothing wrong with having older, more musically savvy fans as well. The way you speak about Taylor’s current fans makes me feel irrelevant. Yes, I’m being too sensitive but, sheez, cut us some slack. Our money’s as good as a 20-something’s.

  9. There was another interview later this morning..they had “extra time”…It’s on page 3 of the videos…

  10. sorry, itsallgrey. I DO get it.

    I love The Fall. I think that new CD isn’t ready, so he sang something he likes from EW.

  11. Snowstorm Says:

    I thought it was very good. The Fall is one of his better songs. I don’t think he’s ready to sing the new song and perhaps he’s testing the reaction to the new song and so far the reaction has not been that good. Of course, his hardcore fans will say they love it, no matter what, but people who might be casual fans are saying they don’t like the lyrics. But, anyway, he could change his mind about the single.

  12. And Taylor is a big fan of the Grand Prize Game from Bozo’s show…ahahhahah

  13. Snowstorm Says:

    Don’t you want Taylor to have success?

  14. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, The station put up the segment from this morning, do you have the link? If you like I can put it up.

    JI

  15. Yeah…I added it to the article.

    They also have a web exclusive interview…where they ask if he’ll come back on the 17th..to sing the single. He says..sure…but right now is too soon to sing it.

    *holds breath*

  16. Snow…of course we want Taylor to have success. But as we discussed before, there’s plenty of ways to be successful. Just having younger fans does not guarantee success. And actually, Taylor is successful. He’s on TV, he’s in a broadway show..it might not be everybody’s idea of success, but in the grand scheme of things, he’s doing pretty damn good, a lot better than he was before AI.

  17. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, Didn’t see it before, he was just perfection this morning, I hope the 17th is the date he sings it, he starts his shadow tours that night. Fingers crossed XXXX πŸ™‚

    JI

  18. Snowstorm Says:

    Caryl, I don’t know how old you are. But, I’m going to guess you are around 50. I have worked in the music business and your demographic does not spend a lot of money on music. Your age group has other priorities in life, most likely you have children in college, elderly parents, mortgages, etc.. That is a well known fact in the music industry, therefore, that is the reason they do not cater to you. They cater to people buying music. Taylor will have a very tough time selling his music to the masses, because it’s niche market.

  19. Snowstorm, it doesn’t even matter what age Caryl is. This post is about Taylor’s appearance this morning on WGN. We aren’t talking about the age of his fans.

    Any other thoughts?

  20. Snowstorm Says:

    I didn’t even bring up the subject. Caryl is the one bringing it up and I’m telling you what the facts are. But, I am done with the subject.

  21. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, I totally agree, he is successful any way you look at it, he is in a better place then he was 3 years ago, that in itself shows he has had success.

    SS, Studies also show folks in that age bracket have more cash to spend on shows/concerts then the younger folks, I’ve seen over the years with my kids when they were younger and wanted to go to a show i footed the bill, they didn’t have the money. So the older generation still is in play because they have the cash to spend.

    JI

  22. Taylor did a great job this morning! He can’t sing any new music yet – it hasn’t been released and apparently he doesn’t want bootleg recordings of the new songs circulating before the actually record is put out there. Great cross promotion tho with the EW CD in the background and the mention of “The Distance”. Looked drop-dead gawgeous and as charming as ever.

  23. iag: I have another comment about the age thing, but you can delete it if you want to.

    I think it’s fine to discuss the pros and cons of older vs younger fans as long as it’s done respectfully. Here’s the thing. I have more discretionary money to spend now than I did in my 20’s.

    I worked in advertising at one time and know that ads are targeted towards the young, but as far as music goes, I’m going to more shows and buying more music than I did when I was younger. Does anybody else find this to be true?

  24. Snowstorm Says:

    But, you are spending the money on your kids, not on yourself. Why do you think Miley Cyress and Jonas Bros are so popular? The parents are shelling out the money for their kids because they do have the money. Record companies are targeting you.

  25. Virtual Speak Says:

    Why did he do “The Fall?” why? πŸ˜₯

    He has all this positive energy coming his way, and what does he do? The Freaking Fall? He’s toying with us…. yep.. that’s what he’s doing..

    I, for one, am.. fully reeled in again.

    Bastard.

  26. Caryl, I’m only in my mid thirties, but I spend waaay more money now than I did in my twenties on music and concerts…

  27. Yes, VS…he is toying with us.

    But, I’m still here…waiting for him to do whatever. He is a bastard, but a sexy one. πŸ™‚

  28. Snowstorm Says:

    Caryl, your age group, as a whole, does not spend money on music and concerts. Maybe you do, but others in your age group do not. Most people in your age group do not own an i-pod and do not download.

    A perfect example is Taylor Hicks, if his music appeals to the middle-agers, than he should be the richest man of earth, shouldn’t he? Where are all those middle-agers? The facts are they didn’t buy.

  29. Virtual Speak Says:

    Snowy- The kids that like Miley Cyress etc are usually children of late thirty-somethings. Taylor’s fans are empty-nesters remember?

    Empty-nesters have much more disposable income than ones with children still at home. If your fanbase is made up of that demographic, why not pander to them? They’re lining the artists pockets.

    Just because someone is in their 40’s or older doesn’t mean they’re dead or doesn’t like music. For God sakes, the late 60’s and 70’s had some of the best music ever.

    You whippersnappers might actually learn a thing or two from the biddies that witnessed bands such as Led Zepplin, The Rolling Stones, Queen and the like.

    Franky, this conversation is getting tiresome.

  30. Yeah, it IS tiresome. But, shoot! I sound like I’m 50? That’s just cold, dawg. I’m doing some cool hand signals now, aiight?

  31. Snowstorm Says:

    Then how come all those empty-nesters didn’t spend their money on Taylor Hicks?

  32. Virtual Speak Says:

    Caryl you just rock on wit yer bad self..

    Me, I’m just rocking the polyester and slipping on my earth shoes so I can go in the next room to borrow my kids iPod.. Because, I don’t own one..

    Apparently, we’re tech tards too.

    Yours In Rockin The Polly,

    VS

    P.S.- Sorry IAG.. just having a bit of fun.. πŸ˜‰

  33. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, When my kids were little we gave to them and didn’t go, now that they are both working, son full time daugheter part time, they buy for themselves and I will say they are much more selective than when I was paying. The point is we have extra we can now spend on what we want. Most kids in the late teens early 20’s don’t have it, Mom and Dad are footing the bill, and by the way you would never catch either of mine at a Joans or Miley concert not their type of music.

    So what did you think of his performance today?

    VS, He is not ready to perform the new stuff yet, maybe on the 17th when is back on the show, and his first shadow tour starts.

    JI

  34. spinshack Says:

    Bozo.

    Killed me when he seemed so excited about playing the Bozo game and said, “I think I’m gonna cry”. Bastard had that little boy face going on. He was funny, genuine, gave a well-played, savvy, damn great interview.

    Reeled you in Virtual? Hell he hooked me like a catfish when he did The Fall. I’m still flopping around on the boat deck.

  35. It was a pretty damn good interview, but it kind of cracked me up. He looked terrified whenever the guy was asking the questions…until he heard what it was…then he seemed ok.

    Of course the funniest part was when the guy asked him if the soul patrol thing was scary. You know he was pondering that question!! ahahhahaha

  36. WELL…. he went and did it again….

    All I have to see is Taylor Frickin Hicks sitting on a stool with an acoustic guitar, singing THE FALL , and I am toast. For me…. this is Taylor at his best and he can still reel me back in…….. and ultimately in the end… that personal connection that he can make,when he is on, is all he needs to make fans.

  37. jerseyirish Says:

    iag, spin, You too are making me laugh, getting all gushy over him today, can’t blame you I’m there myself, he was just perfection today, wow!!! πŸ™‚

    JI

  38. Do I wish he had sung the single off his soon to be released album? Well, hell yeah . . . of course! But right now, I’m just so happy to hear him sing anything other than BSD! Seriously . . . it just gives me hope, and a reason to keep on hanging in there.

    Oh, and by and large, the conversation so far here has been honest, with diverse opinions stated without malice and without being attacked. I’ve been enjoying it so very much so far.

    I have, through my great powers of discernment, gotten the slightest glimmer of an idea that SS doesn’t want Taylor to have too many fans of my age. Yeah, I get it . . . younger fans are the key to happiness, success and eternal salvation . . . can I get a witness?

    I’ll try my best to like him, but not “like him like him” and hopefully, that way, I won’t further derail his career.

    Oh, and one more thing, I hope that Bozo comment doesn’t encourage more interesting “prop photos” . . . sometimes that Taylor is his own worst enemy. Maybe I should use all my massive “old lady disposable income” to buy up all the clown noses and bright orange wigs in the Chicago metropolitan area.

  39. havingfun Says:

    SS-You are WRONG about me.
    I am not in my 20’s or 30’s.
    When I was – I did not go to concerts or buy music.
    I have spent way more than I should have in the last three years on music and concert tickets.
    And not just for Taylor’s stuff.

    And I have an iPod.

    So – please refrain for speaking for “us”.

    Taylor singing the type of music that he has longed to sing – all of his life – is what is important to me.

    I loved what I saw and heard from Taylor this morning !

    I will be spending $ to see him in Grease this weekend, and his late night show the weekend of Jan 24.

  40. Soulaz,

    Have I told you today how much I love you…..

  41. Soulaz is pure love. Nice to see you havingfun! πŸ™‚

  42. Welcome, havingfun!!

  43. Snowstorm Says:

    havingfun, I’m not talking about YOU.. I’m talking about your demographic (40-60) and I know I’m right.

  44. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, I know you keep saying the same thing over and over about the age group, you may be right, but I am right that that age group has the money to spend. I think we agree to disagree on the subject, lets just wait and see the outcome of the new CD and where it places. πŸ™‚

    JI

  45. Holy cow – SS is still talking about age? OMG! Talk about beating a dead horse.

    In two weeks we get the buy the entire song and the start of the massive promotion!! Can’t wait, baby! This is going to be fun!

  46. jerseyirish Says:

    Griz, I am with you, can’t wait to hear the song complete, and see the video that will probably go with. Yeah Taylor!!!! 😦

    JI

  47. I posted this before, but what the hell, it’s the same converstation so I might as well post it again:

    http://www.swivel.com/graphs/show/29298580

  48. Golly gee, Willpen and Harp . . . back atcha!

    I tried to beat my dead horse today. But then my arthritis kicked in and I couldn’t raise my arm high enough. When I cried out in pain, my dentures fell out. While crawling around on the ground looking for them, my bifocals fell off and I accidentally crushed them with my arthritic right knee. I finally got my teeth back in, and my crushed bifocals back on my face, and went to soak in a vat of Icy Hot for an hour or so. I got out of the vat, all ready to go to town on that damned dead horse, and noticed there was a Murder, She Wrote marathon on TBS . . .

    I’m sorry, what was I talking about again?

  49. Ya, the director of the video has worked with some great artists, so I bet he’ll do right by Taylor! I wouldn’t be surprised if the video was ready on the 20th as well.

  50. Soulaz, You win the prize for humor, loved the thought that the Chigago fans may gift Tay with some Bozo props so they can take special photos. I saw the graph Tandjam linked to and looks like in 2005 the 45+ group spent twice as much on music as the 25-30 yr olds. SS can we put the age thing to rest and just discuss Taylor and wait and hear the CD and see how it sells? It doesn’t matter who is right or wrong about the age issue. Taylor seems happy, confident and relaxed, is one busy guy and trying his best to make it work. His rendition of the Fall was supurb!

  51. I stumbled on this place a few weeks ago and have been following several of the discussions.
    I am a male heterosexual fan of Taylor Hicks. My sister is actually a bigger fan but that is neither here nor there.
    During the last couple of years I have had lengthy discussions about Taylor’s fans with friends of mine. The one thing that amazes me is how a lot of you change your attitudes & behaviors depending on your audience.

  52. Soulaz, soulaz, soulaz! (I said in my best Jan Brady voice.) πŸ™‚

    Im feeling better. I got a little Botox and a breast lift, so I’m good for a while.

    Fun interviews today from Taylor. But why does his nose look so big?

  53. Oh, by the way, did you notice that he mentioned the Parrot Heads?

  54. I’m not sure, but I think it’s because he has a big nose. Either that, or maybe it’s just that he has a big nose.

    I’m no expert, just stating my opinion.

  55. Soulaz, you made me laugh so hard my breasts fell again.

  56. haha! My breasts took The Fall! haha!

    OK, I’m fine now. (hope you realize I was kidding about the Botox and the breast lift. It was like…ya know…an AGE reference. I had it done because I’m OLD. Remember? Old, old, old. Wrinkly and saggy. Yep, that’s me. Age. Old. An age old reference.)

  57. Rosie knows the nose says: The two sides of Tays nose are not the same so sometimes it looks larger, fatter depending on the camera angle and maybe even the lighting. Most often to me it looks just perfect, especially in complete profile and the dead center shots.

  58. Hi JohnJ, It could be that we women aren’t as frank as men. You would need to give some examples or explain in more detail what you mean. Did you like his morning performance of The Fall? Did you hear the snippet of Whats Right Is Right? If so I’d love to hear your opinion of both.

  59. JohnJ: Hmm.. that’s an interesting thing to say, though I’m not sure I follow. I don’t think it applies to me, anyway. I’m always getting into trouble just for being honest.

  60. spinshack Says:

    That’s rather an odd approach JohnJ the poster. You declare your sexuality, veer off topic of the post, declare your fandom, then say nothing about Mr.Hicks, rather you prefer to target the fan subject. (Of which small novels could be written, lol.) Not something my male heterosexual or metrosexual friends would immediately do on a fan board. Especially on a first post. Just saying.

    Caryl, honesty the best way to go. His nose in the Bozo segment in that interview looked really large. Gee Soulaz you’re right he has a big snoz. lol Actually I thought perhaps the camera angle was partially to blame. Like those dog and cat big head cartoon distortions. ha.

  61. Oh great . . . I’ve destroyed Taylor’s career AND Caryl’s boobs? Somebody needs to stop me, before I kill again.

    And for the record, I think I just about always sing the same tune. It’s usually the theme song to Reading Rainbow. But for the sake of total honesty, I must confess that I also occasionally belt out a few bars of “God Save the Queen” by the Sex Pistols.

    But really, they’re nearly identical songs, so I don’t think that counts.

  62. brightlite Says:

    Geez guys, I just wandered in and I haven’t seen any of the footage of taylor yet from this morning, but after reading here I am wondering if it will scare me?
    Bozo the clown? Where did that come from? I also wonder about the big nose comments. I read recently that the proboscus swells when a man is um, eh…ecstatic. lol It is true, I read the other day on aol about it, and I was thinking…maybe Taylor is a big fan of Bozo? just kidding.

    He was wonderful from all the reports, and I am still waiting for the NA performance at the Eagles game to surface somewhere. I can only imagine how beautiful his performance was if a sports critic mention it and called the performance “stirring.” They just is amazing actually. But he looks so well and happy, and he is in a good place, so for all of that I say Amen.

    BL

  63. brightlite Says:

    Wow so many grammar errors in that up there, I need to proofread.

    Bozo? rofl.

  64. brightlite Says:

    That was so cute! Now I see the Bozo connection. He was cracking me up there with that one. My video and audio were not in perfect synch so the interview was difficult to fully enjoy…but the Fall was exquisite, his very best performance ever of that in my opinion, pure magic there, so much emotion, and perfect guitar skills. I noticed a higher pitch to the refrain, and a very very shiny guitar. The lights were bouncing off the neck and the body of that guitar. It kept twinkling. He is such a star, such a shining bright star.

    Good night all.
    BL

  65. jerseyirish Says:

    BL, I also thought it was a brilliant performance today, he was just perfection. I noticed how the lights bounced off of the guitar too. I think it was the angle of the camera with his nose, the interview he was very relaxed and it was most enjoyable.

    JI

Leave a Reply

