The Broadway Graveyard?

Seems that there are more Idols joining the ranks of the Broadway world.

Wow. Add them to the list of musicians who are becoming “entertainers”. Is this where Idols whose singing careers are over go? I mean, think about it. Ruben, Frenchie (who was totally ripped off, but that’s another subject), Ace, Clay…

But it looks like our little entertainer was named “rookie of the year” for Broadway. That’s great, but why does it make me shudder just a little bit?

wareaglesupperclubwithrollininth-11

I came across this interesting article the other day…


Taylor Hicks will probably be the most unique winner in Idol history for all eternity. Whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing, well… everyone has their own take on that. What is indisputable, however, is that he left his mark on the Idol age chart.

There’s not much about Season Five we didn’t say back then. If there’s any lesson from Season Five, it’s that song age may be more important – and predictive – of post-Idol success. After all, Hicks and Katharine McPhee both made it to the finale despite posting high song ages – and were largely overshadowed by the much more contemporary Chris Daughtry.

There is a lesson to be found, though, in the success of Hicks despite his geriatric song choices. Hicks was picking older songs, true, but he was doing it very deliberately – as part of his style, as it were. The lesson is: if you pick older songs, you have to do it in the context of a greater Idol strategy – as Hicks did, and as Brooke White just did in the last season. What you cannot do is use older songs willy-nilly, and not have the strategy or image to boot.

So, even though Taylor won Idol because of this strategy, was it a mistake? Did it set him up for failure for the long term?

84 Responses to “The Broadway Graveyard?”

  1. Snowstorm Says:

    Everyone on Idol sings old songs. It’s a karoeke singing and performing competition. It has nothing to do if you are successful after Idol. It’s what you do after that counts. And Taylor’s post-Idol just wasn’t very good and most people that voted for him, did not buy it.

  2. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, I agree with you that it is a reality/variety show. Also agree it has nothing to do with whether they are successful after Idol. that the winner has to make it happen for themselves. But with Taylor no one will ever know if his CD would have been more successful had he gotten what other winners did, radio play and promotion. That is a big part of a record deal, radio play and promotion, he got neither. Hopefully him doing things his way on his own he will see a better return on this CD.

    JI

  3. Snowstorm Says:

    No, radio play is NOT part of the deal. A recording contract with 19 Recordings/Arista is part of the deal. I am not going to speculate why he didn’t get radio play, but I suspect it’s a number of reasons and the biggest reason being that radio didn’t like it. Let’s be realistic, how were they going to fit that in between Akon, Kelly Clarkson, Pink, Fergie and Rihanna? Taylor’s post-Idol CD is adult contemporary, and does not fit in. You are right that if he had gotten radio play, he would have sold more, but that obviously did not happen.

  4. But SS, I think “promotion” is part of the deal. Obviously, you cannot force radio to play what they don’t like (and I know I’m risking a tangent into the payola scandal here, but I’m not going there… 🙂 ).

    I think that Taylor was “promoted” to a certain extent; he did get coverage on many prime time and day time shows, along with radio and internet press coverage. But when people heard the CD, and sales went flat, the label decided to cut its losses.

    And Taylor has a great sense of showmanship, and I would say THAT is what garnered him a win with a TV-based audience. I would venture to say that he gained himself fans of MUSIC with the AI shadow tour, and those are the fans (the Music crowd) who was primarily disappointed with the CD and the Grease tour.

    It’s the Music crowd who is hoping for more with the new CD.

    If anything “set him up for failure” it was the rallying cry of “We’re bringing REAL music back to f***in’ pop music!!” and then to release what was in essence a POP album.

  5. brightlite Says:

    He does have great showmanship. He is at his best in front of a camera imo. That is why a music video of him, a well thought out, message inspired, soul infused music driven video would be a great thing for him, as long as he makes eye contact with the camera. He has to look at the camera, and set those eyes upon this nation once again in a big and profound manner. He did it once, he can do it again and score once more.

  6. I’ve wondered if the PERSONA he created for Idol set him up for failure. He came across as a squeaky-clean, God-fearing, family-friendly entertainer. The first time he dropped the F-bomb, he lost some fans. Then we found out he smokes. Scandalous! Jetting off to Hawaii with a beautiful nympette? You could practically hear the wailing.

    I couldn’t care less about those things, but you have to admit fans peeled off with every new peek at the real Taylor. (Frankly, those peeks made me like him more!)

  7. Snowstorm Says:

    brightlite, his looks and showmanship are not enough..that only worked in the context of a TV show (AI), which is mainly visual. To have a successful recording career, it must be the music that makes people take notice of him.

  8. Snowstorm Says:

    caryl, people who care about an entertainer who swears, smokes, drinks or goes on vacation with a woman, are not music fans and if they honestly and truly care about that stuff that much, maybe it’s a good thing they are gone. I also remember when Taylor sang with Snoop Dog and how the majority objected to it.. pretty laughable!

    People are confused with AI (TV show). They think the contestants are perfect people with no faults, which could not be further from the truth.

  9. SS, I don’t think that everybody thinks the contests are perfect people. I think Taylor set forth that image, and in doing so, set himself up to lose fans when he let himself show through.

  10. Snowstorm Says:

    Well, of course, he did – remember this is a TV show.. it’s a fantasy, it’s not real. You have to be likeable, so that people will vote for you. Since I do not know Taylor in real life, it’s not my place to make any judgements about him or his personal life. I only care about the music.. period.

  11. Oh, I thought you only cared about younger fans, SS!

    Are you diversifying?!?

    ahahhahahahahhahha…

  12. Snowstorm Says:

    To have a music career, but must have younger fans and to have younger fans, you have to make music they will like. They go hand-in-hand.

    You’ll see. I’m always right! 😉

  13. I can’t believe nobody’s commented on his Rookie of the Year status.

  14. I posted that “Rookie of the Year” thing at my blog a couple of days ago and asked if we’ve lost Taylor to Broadway. Of course, nobody thinks so, but it worries me. I mean, he’s obviously good at it. He has had greater success as AI/Broadway Taylor than he has as musician Taylor.

  15. I think Taylor’s unique voice and his ability to ENTERTAIN is what won Taylor the AI title.
    I beleive that he was not properly promoted and AI PTB slammed him at every opportunity.
    Taylor IMO is a true musician,but he is also an entertainer. I don’t see why you have to be one or the other.A lot of excellent musicians have gone into acting. The music business is changeing rapidly and if you can’t be a well rounded entertainer in the coming years your career will be short lived. You can sell a million cd today…but the public is fickle tomorrow they move on to someone else….unless you keep reinventing yourself..IMO very few have this ablitity. Yes ..for these guys the music comes first, but we’d be fools to think in this day and age that it is enough. I’d say it is a very smart thing to deversify.

  16. I have to agree with caryl. It seems like it may be a lucrative fit for Taylor. We’ll have to see how this new CD sounds and sells.

  17. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, I agree I could care less that he smokes, swears and has relationships that is his right, geez I fling the F word I think we all do. If you have men in your life the F word is part of their speech, it just flows so naturally from them.

    I know I said a few threads back about my son’s friend working at a radio station, they never received a promotional package from his record company thats why they didn’t play him. That told me alot that they didn’t promote his CD.

    YKW, The Grease role is a good fit for him. I think there will always be other things he will do to keep the cash flowing so he can work to perform his music, he is not where he can depend on his music to that just yet, hopefully the new CD will give him what he is looking for.

    JI

  18. spinshack Says:

    I read that piece calling him the Rookie of the Year and felt like you, IAG. I mean, on one hand, it’s very cool the guy’s turning this into something good to represent him; according to the Summer reviews he was The It Factor for the show. On the other hand it made me somewhat sad for some reason.

    Hopefully this national tour will continue the positive mojo he began with his Summertime in the city.

  19. Welcome, Gigi!

    But Taylor as only a Broadway star? Ick. Just ick.

    Ok, so it’s not the most mature response, but it’s all I have for that possibility.

    Talk about being stifled.

  20. Well as always I enjoy reading other fans opinions. I just never ever thought Taylor was putting on an act on AI. I just saw a person who so loved having the chance to be on TV in front of millions, singing, doing his thing, performing, that he almost became larger than life. There were some who overlooked his good vocals because they could only see his sometime over the top performance. For me there has always been only one Taylor Hicks. Perhaps that is why I so easily accepted his journey onto the Broadway stage. I enjoyed the clips of him at Marty’s and seeing him on the beach with CL, and the photos of him visiting his dads dental office. I do not get upset by other fans thoughts or their opinions and suggestions about his future career choices or their opinions about his song choices. Somehow, for some unknown or at least unexplainable reason, I just became entralled with the man we know as Taylor Hicks. I find him so entertaining, interesting and unique. However I only know him from seeing him on AI and following his career his interviews, music and photos, and reading his book. I continue to like and enjoy him, in fact I greatly admire him. It is my opinion that winning AI5 and his Broadway success speaks volumns about what may lie ahead for him, old fans or not.

  21. Rosie, this is where you and I will have to agree to disagree. I think Taylor put on his whole “aw shucks” persona the minute he stepped into that room to audition. Granted, I don’t know Taylor, but I do know that he was in bars for 10 years of his life, playing gigs. While he may be a gentleman, I’m sure he can just as well be a jackass. He played up the southern charm, for sure. So many of his fans were upset when they found out he smokes and drinks. Why was that? Well, possibly because they were naive…but also possibly because he played the good boy card.

  22. IAG, Smoking and drinking in his real life, off stage AI, does not mean the singer, performer, talker we saw on AI5 was not the real Taylor Hicks. It was known when he was on AI, Taylor and Randy mentioned it that he had performed in bars, etc for 10 years. How can you, or anyone say he played up the southern gentleman or “aw shucks” charm? We don’t know him and in interviews, TV performances, even his July 4th performance and face to face after Grease, I still see the Alabama born and raised guy. I have not seen a fake Taylor, but for awhile I did see an On Gaurd Taylor in some interviews, but not for the last month. Having only posted on blogs for about 6 months, I’m still enjoying the debates and differing opinions. Taylor was smart in his song choices and performances on AI, but he was real, he was himself. He sang the music he enjoyed and which he believed the audience would relate to. He did it his way, which I think came from within the person who is Taylor Hicks.

  23. jerseyirish Says:

    Rosie,iag, I think the real Taylor is somewhere in the middle of what you both say. I do think he turned on the charm on Idol but do bellieve he is just a nice person. One of my son’s friends works for a company that designs and builds sets in the Theatre disctrict in NY, he was on the set of Grease in July and met Taylor he said that “Taylor was a cool guy, very down to earth, talkative, and laughed easlily” he said he didn’t find anything put on about him just one of the guys. So that is from somone who has no interest in Taylor other than he met him doing his job, and found him a very likeable person.

    JI

  24. Rosie…I agree with you 100%, the “aw shucks” was not an act. When you see Taylor at the stage door ,etc. He is still the “aw shucks”southern gentleman. But he his also the bar guy.however seeing him perform at Ona’s with his buddies he dresses more casual and has drinks and may let a swear word or two go (who cares) but you can still see the “aw shucks” guy. It’s not like he gets up there and turns into a slease. Heck..we all have a lot of sides to our personalities Taylor is no different. Iwould find a person with no complex to them pretty boring.

    IAG…I don’t think Taylor ever said or ever intends to be just “Broadway Taylor” that is a means to an end. My hope for Taylor he that he DOES IT ALL.

  25. Seven Days Says:

    I have to admit that it broke my heart just a little bit to see the words “our little entertainer won Rookie of the Year’ juxtaposed next to that incredible pic of him playing in the War Eagle Supper Club. Sometimes being a Taylor fan can be such a push-pull experience for me.

    As for person vs. persona…I think that Taylor is actually all of those things — from goofy cutup to intense singer. He probably just chooses to emphasize one part or another of himself depending on any given situation. I still think it’s interesting to look back and see how hard he tried to emphasize the musician side of himself right after Idol — from the release of the old live sets to the sit-ins with respected musicians, etc. For some reason, that faded away, and now he’s back to emphasizing goofy way back Soul Patrol dude (maybe because it pays better).

    As a matter of personal preference only, do I like some aspects of him better than others? Of course. But I think it’s probably all “him” in there.

  26. jerseyirish Says:

    GiGi, I think Taylor showed himself as he wants everyone to see him Just like him, we all act different in different situations he is the same. We all have our outside the house personna and we have our just being ourselves he is no different. I think sometimes folks have an image in their heads of who and how he should be, he should just be himself which I think shines through. He can be just one of the guys and in the next breath a perfect gentleman no different than my husband/son or any other male I know.

    JI

  27. Does it make me a bad fan if I WANT to see the sleazy Taylor??!!!?!?

    *ahem*
    *shakes it off*

    Seven Days, I really like the way you asked “person v persona”. Why is that so fascinating to us? I don’t feel that way about any other artist I follow … why Mr. Hicks? Is that part of his gimmick? Does he keep those parts of himself so close to be an enigma to us? Moreso, was he doing just that on AI tour … playing the “aw shucks Southern Gentleman” v the “hot, dirty bar singer”?

    And tell me, now that we’ve had months of Mr. PG Teen Angel, do we have an “R-rated” CD tour to look forward to?

  28. He seemed so open, friendly and ready to laugh in interviews, too. When I first met Taylor on his solo tour, I was taken aback. Disappointed, if I’m being truthful. Yes, he took a picture with me, but the only time he smiled was when the camera was pointed at him. He barely spoke.

    I got online right away, went to gray charles chat and told whoever was there that the guy we all fell in love with on TV doesn’t exist. Boy, did I get jumped on. “He’s sick!” “We expect too much!” blah, blah, blah. So I just never mentioned it again. (I’ll admit, he probably is never sure what a fan might do to him in person, so I understand why he would be stand-offish.)

    I guess we’ll never know who the “real” Taylor is and it doesn’t really matter anyway.

  29. Seven Days said:

    I have to admit that it broke my heart just a little bit to see the words “our little entertainer won Rookie of the Year’ juxtaposed next to that incredible pic of him playing in the War Eagle Supper Club. Sometimes being a Taylor fan can be such a push-pull experience for me.

    I know. I am still trying to break the cycle of the Taylor Hicks Attraction. I don’t understand it most of the time.

    As for AI, Taylor said that he had a strategy, a plan…that he played up this innocent, niave southern boy gimmick, and I don’t think anybody could convince me otherwise. And honestly, I think that’s what has hurt him…in more than one way.

  30. When I first met Taylor on his solo tour, I was taken aback. Disappointed, if I’m being truthful. Yes, he took a picture with me, but the only time he smiled was when the camera was pointed at him. He barely spoke.

    I couldn’t agree more with you, caryl. It smacks of Mr. Hicks being less than genuine about his appreciation for his “Soul Patrol”. There are those who will argue the point with me, but it’s the way his actions are perceived.

  31. Iag, I just thought he said he had a strategy as to what music to perform week by week and how to perform it to appeal to a wide range audience. I must have missed where he stated he played up an innocent, naive southern boy. Anyway, he let it all hang out in his book, about the women, booze, partying and foul language. Taylor has a hold on me that I can’t put into words, but I am happy to know there are some others who were bitten by the Taylor Hicks bug. If I am insane, at least I won’t be lonely!

  32. No, no rosie…that’s just my interpretation of his plan. He never said that. 🙂

    YKW, he does seem aloof most of the time with fans. Maybe he’s protecting himself or something. I don’t know. I just wish he would open up more, maybe then we could stop speculating about him all the time! hahaha

  33. Snowstorm Says:

    Taylor seems to me to be naturally shy and reserved and maybe moody. At least, that’s the impression I got from him, when seeing him at the Grease stage door. What is it that you want him to do with a fan? He’s not going to be best friends with any fans. If you like the music or want to go to a show, then buy the music or go to a show. If you’re looking for some kind of relationship with him, you will not get it. All he owes you is entertainment.

  34. jerseyirish Says:

    SS, I agree, the only thing he owes anyone if they pay for a ticket to see him, that he gives his best on the stage whether it be a concert or Broadway. I have heard he is very shy also, which people can mistake for someone being aloof. I agree he is not out at the stage door to make friends with anyone, just to sign playbills and smile for the cameras. I think sometimes folks expect way too much of him personally. When I went to see him people near me said come on we are going to the buses to wait for him, and I said no, thats his time not mine I got mine right here tonight and left with a smile from all the enjoyment I got from the show. That was enough for me he owed me no more.

    JI

  35. I feel as though I’m being misunderstood AGAIN. I don’t want a relationship with Taylor. All I’m saying is that he acts differently in person than he does on TV or on stage. That’s it. I don’t want anything from him, I was just surprised by his stoneface.

  36. (And I’m a nice, polite, respectful person, by the way!)

  37. I understand where you’re coming from, caryl.

    My main complaint was his aloofness during concerts. On the rare occasion where he says more than a couple dozen of words, it’s always better. If he could add anecdotes or just some insight, it would just make the concert that much better.

    Trust me, I am not one of the delusional ones who think they can have a relationship with Taylor. I’m not sure that having a relationship with Taylor would be as easy as some people think.

  38. littlewing Says:

    I just saw a person who so loved having the chance to be on TV in front of millions, singing, doing his thing, performing, that he almost became larger than life.

    Agree, Rosie. That impeccable sense of showmanship, highlighted week after week. This was augmented by his outstanding bandleading capabilities. As I’ve posted many times before, Taylor is the consumate bandleader. I am so excited about hearing the new band he’s assembled.

    As many have said, Grease is a means to an end. “Rookie of the Year” – I’ll take it. I had a good feeling when the Nat’l Grease run was announced; only good can come from it.

    I think the AI peeps were short-sighted to not latch on to his rendition of Ray Lamontagne’s “Trouble”. It was a brilliant interpretation and would’ve fit nicely into the resurgent wave of new soul, as was alluded to previously. They had a goldmine, IMO, and were too blind to see it.

    Nice blog IAG. Been readin’ awhile. I’ve almost gotten to the point where I just don’t care anymore…too many other artists to keep me satiated. If his sophomore effort is another over-produced piece ‘o shit, I’ll deal with it, but I really have high hopes that he can do a better job of defining ‘modern whomp’.

  39. jerseyirish Says:

    Caryl, I know you are a very sweet, nice person. I know that I am a very shy person and have been known to just not talk when crowded by alot of people I don’t know, it takes me time to warm up to big crowds of folks, I am not being anti social, just my shyness prevents me from joining in easily. He may get overwhelmed at times by all the people, or if he is not feeling well just may not want to be bothered and I can’t blame anyone for that. Myself, I have read more positives than negatives from folks that have met him.

    JI

  40. Welcome, littlewing!!

    I agree with you about Taylor’s leadership skills when it comes to the band. He definitely knows how to make them all work together well. I just wonder if there is a tour this year, who the band will be.

  41. I have been trying to keep up here but it seems that I have a lot of catching up to do.

    With just having browsed over what has been said here, I want to make a statement which in no way denigrates what anyone else thinks or feels.

    For me…. I was happy that Taylor set out on his tour with the desire to leave the whole Soul Patrol mantra behind. I happened to be one of the lucky ones to have seen the first 4 shows of his tour when it started in Jacksonville then went south from there. In those first few shows he was really just interested in the music and the vibe in the audience was great.

    Even the show in Coral Springs which was basically a 65 and over venue other than the Taylor fans, had an amazing energy. All the seniors were up and dancing by the end…. and if my memory serves me correctly (you can correct me if I am wrong) he did not do any major Soul Patrol shout outs. He may have thanked us for voting for him, but I felt that he was really trying to leave that part behind.

    Now as the tour went on…little by little the shout outs started to enter the picture more and more. Was this a bad thing? Probably not. Was it over done sometimes? Probably so. It just somehow always made me sad on some level that he felt that we, as his fans, would not move past that with him.

    But I guess it all goes back to what has already been discussed here before, and that is the fact that Taylor actually had two types of fans. The American Idol TV fans and then the music fans. This is where I think he is right now and maybe just maybe he is ready to move past the whole Idol TV thing and really garner some real music fans now.

  42. Just wanted to add my agreement to what littlewing has said. I agree with you completely.

  43. To quote what YKW said up thread..

    >>>>YKW

    Does it make me a bad fan if I WANT to see the sleazy Taylor??!!!?!?

    *ahem*
    *shakes it off*

    Seven Days, I really like the way you asked “person v persona”. Why is that so fascinating to us? I don’t feel that way about any other artist I follow … why Mr. Hicks? Is that part of his gimmick? Does he keep those parts of himself so close to be an enigma to us? Moreso, was he doing just that on AI tour … playing the “aw shucks Southern Gentleman” v the “hot, dirty bar singer”?

    And tell me, now that we’ve had months of Mr. PG Teen Angel, do we have an “R-rated” CD tour to look forward to? >>>>>

    Very… very interesting point that you made here. I have always considered him very savvy maybe just maybe he is THAT smart….. I had to quote this because it just me smile. 😀

  44. brightlite Says:

    Just got home from work, it’s late and I am tired but I came on and read, I would just like to add something to the discourse. It’s hard to be in the spotlight, unless you have actually been there. If you have never been a star, had the lights shone on you constantly, been judged by critics, slammed by the press, followed by fans, dogged by stalkers and obsessive people, hawked for your autograph, torn apart by the very people who purport to be your supporters, had your private life invaded by cameras and cell phones, etc, etc…well I would say it is difficult at best to ascertain how you, yourself would behave under similar circumstances. Even an outgoing personality may develop a guarded way about them, and they should if it makes life in the spotlight more palatable. Many might say that this is part of the celebrity lifestyle and it comes with the territory, and I think that may be true to some extent, but he is who he is, and he should be allowed to be that, if it is shy and unassuming, quiet and withdrawn, or perhaps moody or pissy if it were, well then that is okay if that is who he is, and he is being true to himself. Let’s just let the guy be happy, and live, and cut him a break, he doesn’t do us any harm, he just does what he does, makes music, sings, is trying to cut in a really tough industry. He had my vote on Idol, he’d get my vote tonight if he were in a contest, and I am a forever kind of fan, a die hard, till the end, “no matter what” kind of worshipper, and I am proud of that, because he is worth it.
    So let’s just let him be himself, that is what makes him so damn sexy afterall gals.
    I can say that he would not intentionallly hurt anyone’s feelings, he isn’t the kind of person to do that, but like us all he has his good days and bad days. I have seen him several times and I have been fortunate to see him on good days, although Staten Island I think was a bad day, for some reason, but that is life and we let it ride, and let it roll. I have a friend I met recently and he told me something very important for living, he is very successful and very kind as well, a gentlman that is, and he said to me “Live and let live.” Read those words carefully. Live by them.
    Good discussion.
    Goodnight all.
    BL

  45. I know this particular subject is probably finished and IAG has posted another subject, but I just had to say to Willpen that I was at the Coral Springs show and your recollections are dead on (and who knew there were THAT many seniors in Coral Springs? they must have bussed them in! 🙂 haha)

    YKW wrote:

    And tell me, now that we’ve had months of Mr. PG Teen Angel, do we have an “R-rated” CD tour to look forward to?

    To that I say: OHPLEASEOHPLEASEOHPLEASEE!!! 😀

  46. Caryl, I think we’re trying to say the same thing regarding Taylor’s persona AS PERCEIVED by some of us in his meet & greets and performances. The perception, defined by his ‘aloofness’, would be that there are better things he could be doing with his time. I mean, would it kill him to crack a friendly relaxed smile, hold out his hand, and BE the “aw shucks, southern gentleman” he shows to the media?

    And Willpen, I’m glad I gave you a smile and some food for thought! This statement rang so true for me:
    Now as the tour went on…little by little the shout outs started to enter the picture more and more. Was this a bad thing? Probably not. Was it over done sometimes? Probably so. It just somehow always made me sad on some level that he felt that we, as his fans, would not move past that with him.
    The “Soul Pah-trol” shout outs rank right up there with “Thanks for voting for me!!” I mean, it’s been almost three years, we know Mr. Hicks won AI because he received the most votes. I just want him to move on, into something real.

  47. Snowstorm Says:

    I think the shout-outs are definitely overdone and he needs to stop them completely. To me, it’s like a desperate attempt to hang on to the AI fans. I feel sad that he feels that way and that he’s not confident enough to use his talent to hang on to people. To me, people that care that much about the shout-outs, that they would stop being fans if he stopped, are not worth holding on to.

  48. spinshack Says:

    YKW, spot on in your comment regarding Mr. Hicks’ sometimes demeanor when meeting fans at the M & G’s and otherwise. Now I know there are many who disagree, who will come up with that old mantra, “he owes us nothing”, etc. but in reality, how he is perceived, in person to the fans while not on-stage, counts much in the way he’s viewed. Without fans you are without a career. Shouting out ‘Soul Patrol’ not enough to cut it this long after Idol.

    Charming various media personalities and radio station people, one thing – but charming just a regular Sue from Peoria just as important. I’ve read some complimentary stories from fans but I’ve read many like Caryl’s as well. It all adds up and all of it matters.

    I’m not saying he need swap spit or hand out his phone contact or let you read his Dear Diary, but impressions made off-stage, with that performance mask off, very important in marketing, especially when you’re a struggling musician trying to capture a permanent niche in the wall of fame. It’s part of dancing with that devil.

  49. Taylor has said that he’d love to have a following like the “Parrot Heads.” I think he gets a kick out of having a fanbase with a name. Could it be that simple? But even now in interviews he seems happy when he says “The Soul Patrol is in full effect” or when he said that “The Soul Patrol has invaded Broadway.” I’m not sure he does it to hang on to AI fans, but who knows?

  50. VirtualSpeak Says:

    If he’s truly looking to reinvent himself, he should stop the bendy “woo’s” and the SP shout outs. It looks ridiculous. It’s more gimmick that he doesn’t need.

    I’ve had a few M&G’s and for the most part, they’re cattle calls. Taylor obviously doesn’t like them, and it just made me feel weird and creepy afterwards.

    As far as his “Aww shucks” persona goes.. He played a game of singing survivor and that was part of his strategy. He’s admitted himself to going on the AI message boards and reading what fans (women) wanted to see. In my opinion, he’s a people pleaser. He chameleons himself into whatever the audience wants.

  51. Here’s what I thought to myself as Taylor walked away after that odd stone-faced meeting: “Geez! You turn on the charm for every interviewer that comes along but you can’t do it for somebody who actually spends money on you?” But I shook it off because it doesn’t really matter to me. I’m here for the music and that’s what makes my heart soar.

  52. Virtual Speak Says:

    If he’s truly looking to reinvent himself, he should stop the bendy “woo’s” and the SP shout outs. It looks ridiculous. It’s more gimmick that he doesn’t need.

    I’ve had a few M&G’s and for the most part, they’re cattle calls. Taylor obviously doesn’t like them, and it just made me feel weird and creepy afterwards.

    As far as his “Aww shucks” persona goes.. He played a game of singing survivor and that was part of his strategy. He’s admitted himself to going on the AI message boards and reading what fans (women) wanted to see. In my opinion, he’s a people pleaser. He chameleons himself into whatever the audience wants.

  53. Snowstorm Says:

    Parrot Heads?? Are you serious? So, Taylor wants a cult following? So, what that tells me is he is not confident enough to rely on his talents, alone. No, that is not the way to go. That’s a gimmick.. does not work, IMO. And, in the end, it did not work, because he is the lowest selling Idol.

  54. spinshack Says:

    One thing, Snow, Parrot Heads not necessarily a cult following. I mean, it’s Jimmy Buffet, not a faux religion. hahaha

    That said, the Parrot Heads have Buffet, and he’s one very interactive entertainer who when in concert and at meets n greets seems truly happy to be there in every capacity. That’s the main reason for his seeming ‘cult’ like following, I’m sure. It’s not just a shout out to Jimmy. lol

  55. Someone back me up here. Taylor said he would love for his shows to be a social event, like Jimmy Buffett’s, right? He would be very lucky to have a following like that. Jimmy Buffett filled a 30,000 seat stadium here in Houston recently.

  56. Snowstorm Says:

    I’m not a fan of Jimmy Buffet and Parrot Heads, Spin. Lol, I’m 28, not 50. Definitely, not my thing.

  57. Wow, the age thing again. What if I told you I’m in my 30’s but never mentioned it because I think it’s irrelevant? Just because a person is knowledgable about lots of different music doesn’t make them a senior citizen. Exhibit A: Taylor.

  58. spinshack Says:

    Snow, baby, you don’t have to be 50 to appreciate a fun and interesting entertainer of the same age. Buffet concerts are a blast to attend. I don’t get into artists determinate of age, color or creed. It’s about the talent, the art and the interesting factor with me. I don’t get into a musician because he sexually turns me on – it’s more than that, so age doesn’t play a part.

    I adore Willy Nelson, fell for him years ago, he’s over 30 years older than I, not important to me.

  59. Snowstorm Says:

    caryl, Jimmy Buffet has a middle-age audience. Are you denying that? Demographics are important in music, but for your information, I like a lot of the old music, but I like mosly soul music like Stevie Wonder. I just don’t happen to like Jimmy Buffet’s music. But, I just asked my parents if they like Jimmy Buffet and they said, NO!! My Dad just said, “He sucks”!

  60. Snowstorm Says:

    Spin, I have heard Jimmy Buffet’s music and songs about hamburgers and getting laid when you’re drunk are not my thing, lol.

  61. By the way, I’n NOT in my 30’s. I just said, “what would you say if I said I’m in my 30’s.” Yeah, yeah, semantics. It was childish of me but I didn’t like your condescending tone.

    I’m not here to fight, so I’ll move on.

  62. Snowstorm Says:

    Sorry, if you thought I was condescending – I didn’t mean to. Just when someone mentions Jimmy Buffet – that beings to mind someone who is, most likely, much older than me. But, music is subjective, my parents like the old rock and roll, like the Stones, U2, kind of stuff and they don’t like Jimmy buffet.

  63. spinshack Says:

    “Spin, I have heard Jimmy Buffet’s music and songs about hamburgers and getting laid when you’re drunk are not my thing, lol.” hahaha

    Snow Buffet like Frank Zappa can be misunderstood. lol He’s more than Margaritaville. Here’s one example.

  64. spinshack Says:

    Here’s tune he wrote, other singers have covered, in honor of tomorrow. Just sayin’ he’s more than a cheeseburger in paradise.

  65. Snowstorm Says:

    I don’t like it, Spin. Sorry. Are you from the South? Maybe more people like him down there, but here in the NE, I don’t know of one person that likes him, but then again I’m not in that age group that would like him.

  66. spinshack Says:

    Well, at least you gave him a listen, Snow. lol

    I’m currently in Texas. Regarding where I’m from, that’s another matter. I have spent a fair amount of time in the SE; Destin, Florida and also Georgia.

  67. Virtual Speak Says:

    Spin- Frank Zappa equals love. 🙂

  68. brightlite Says:

    Jimmy Buffet rocks btw, he is a doll and so much fun to listen to.
    Age makes no difference here, or anywhere for that matter, it is just a number and if we are lucky enough to survive year to year, we all grow older and hoefully wiser. Being 28 is wonderful Snowstorm, enjoy it while you are “youngish” right now. Pushing 30 is a great time, and you are embarking on the very best and moist fruitful year of your life in some ways. In other ways, you are not quite yet where some of us “older” fans are, perhaps in wisdom and maybe even patience and experience. I am proud to be in my 40’s, it is absolutely better than 30’s, and beats the heck out of 20’s, so I guess it really does depend on what you got inside and out. Develop your inside along the way, and when your youth fades, your insides will shine brightly and you will be beautiful and young forever. Inside beauty has no number to it, the soul knows not time, feed your soul and forget your shell, the shell melts away to reveal the pearl, if there is one there.
    For all of you out there, all women reading and posting, be happy with who you are, let your soul shine, stick together as women, support each other, and age becomes nothing to worry about and something to celebrate.
    Cheers!
    BL

  69. brightlite Says:

    moist fruitful? rofl, wow that was a Freudian slip I think…lol.
    sorry (blush)

  70. So, Jimmy Buffet has a middle aged audience and is extremely successful. Guess age doesn’t matter all that much.

    The Soul Patrol shoutouts just make me cringe. It’s like he’s hanging on to a different time. We know he’s grateful that he won. Get over it already.

    As for his not wanting to be photographed or stopping for autographs, he wanted this. Otherwise he wouldn’t have tried out for Idol. Unfortunately in the music world, you have to take the good with the bad.

  71. Wow just found this blog. This is so interesting. Have seen Taylor for years in Birmingham before AI. Even then he came off as aloof and at times arrogant. Very little interaction with his audience, which was usually very small. I thought maybe he was just so into his music that he didn’t realize how he was coming across. The AI persona was quite different from the person I had seen. But I have always remained a fan of his music and his ablility to entertain on stage. He does like being the center of attention, otherwise he would not be in the entertainment field. I’ve never really understood why he didn’t interact more with his audience. Maybe that is his way of keeping the private Taylor separate from the work Taylor.

  72. Adell2, thanks for posting.

    That’s pretty interesting that even before AI, he had the same kind of stage presence. Guess it really doesn’t have anything to do with fame, then, huh?

  73. I never bought that Taylor is shy, but maybe he is. I’m EXTREMELY shy but people have misinterpreted my behavior as cold and arrogant. Thanks for giving us something to mull over, Adell2.

  74. Hi Littlewing, Your thoughts about him singing Trouble and TPTB not seeing him as a gem in the renewal of soul music, just blew my mind. I so agree but had never had that thought. The man is a talent, and his age, grey hair, stage presence and discovery by the public from AI could have been, should have been, exploited by AI for their sake and Taylor’s.

  75. …he is the lowest selling Idol.

    I’m not entirely sure this is accurate, SS.

    As for the Parrot Head v Soul Patrol discussion, the thing that interests me is that both groups are a sense of community for their fans. From non-concert get-togethers, to charitable work, both groups extend their appreciation for their musician to other interests beyond music. The social dynamic is interesting.

  76. Snowstorm Says:

    YKW, Taylor is the lowest selling Idol winner. Jordin Sparks has passed him up and all the Idol winners have had cd sales well over a million and it’s still too early for David Cook, but my guess is that David Cook will also pass Taylor up given more time.

    As far as the sense of community, not as far as I’m concerned. I don’t do group activities with SP’ers and I don’t give to fan related charities, because I don’t trust them, besides I’m too poor. Because I’m a younger fan and there are not enough younger fans in this fanbase, I don’t have anything in common with the SP, who are all married with families, but that’s fine with me anyway, I’m only interested in Taylor, not the fanbase.

  77. I think that’s a pretty extreme generalization, SS. Not ALL of the soul patrol are married with families. I mean, come on.

  78. Snowstorm Says:

    If there are single women in this fanbase, they do not post. I really do not think he has very many single women, w/no children, in his fanbase. Maybe he did in the beginning, but they all disappeared. They probably moved on to other Idols.

  79. spinshack Says:

    Snow, I don’t do the group activities like meet up to see him or bunk together at a show location. I never have given to any of the fan charities, won’t get into that subject right now. lol On the other hand, I do enjoy finding folks like on this blog, to talk about Hicks with – so I guess that’s somewhat of a group activity isn’t it?

  80. Snowstorm Says:

    That’s true, Spin, but I have felt many times that I just don’t fit in here and that’s one of the reasons I have backed away.

    I feel that the SP has ended up hurting Taylor because there were many times when it was about the fans and not about Taylor. It’s like the fans want the limelight.

  81. The title of his single is What’s Right Is Right and all the promotion details are on the rocket science site. Just make sure you scroll down to read it all.

  82. Rosie…great minds…I just posted a new post talking about that. 🙂

  83. spinshack Says:

    Snow, never is it more evident the fans turn the concerts into about themselves than those who push, shove, scream and make noise rather than listen to the music and get into the moment. lol

Leave a Reply

